View Full Version : Best 07 lineup according to the fans

Pages : [1] 2

Merv
6 Mar 2007, 14:39
The early results are in...

Tuesday, 6 March 2007
We asked for who you thought made up the best 2007 Bomber line up, and the early results are in. Mal Michael is the overwhelming popular choice at full back, releasing the ever-reliable Dustin Fletcher to centre-half back. While at the other end of the ground 97% of supporters believe Matthew Lloyd will fit back in perfectly at full forward after missing last season.
David Hille polled remarkably highly, securing the first ruck position as Jason Laycock was named on the bench, and Patrick Ryder missed out on selection.
New recruit Alwyn Davey also makes the team as the only first year player in the side.
Senior players who are not in the side include Damien Peverill, Mark Bolton, Chris Heffernan and Kepler Bradley.

The Essendon side as selected by our supporters:

B: Welsh - Michael - McVeigh
HB: McPhee - Fletcher - Lovett-Murray
C: Camporeale - Watson - Dyson
HF: Hird - Lucas - Lovett
F: Johns - Lloyd - Monfries
Foll: Hille - J Johnson - Stanton
Int: M Johnson - Laycock - Davey - Winderlich

For what it's worth heres what i submitted

B: McVeigh - Michael - M.Johnson
C: Bradley - Watson - Lovett
HF: Hird - Lucas - Houli
Int: Dyson - Laycock - Davey - Winderlich

gillyrulz
6 Mar 2007, 14:46
very good side...... lets hope there isnt any injuries and we will / should just make the 8

our backline is awesome now with big mal and fletcher and our forward line of lloyd hird and lucus is un stoppable........ lloyd will get coleman...

drew_j
6 Mar 2007, 15:03

And mine, very similar (I know there are 4 billion of these but I haven't done one yet :D)

C: Bradley - Watson - Winderlich
Int: Dyson - Laycock - Davey - Campo

gillyrulz
6 Mar 2007, 16:39
is this stuff from essendonfc.com.au

drew_j
6 Mar 2007, 16:48
is this stuff from essendonfc.com.au

Yes (http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5053) it is

mcphee_is_a_gun
6 Mar 2007, 16:52
Campo isnt anywhere near our best team.

jules101
6 Mar 2007, 16:57
C: Heff - Watson - Lovett
HF: Hird - Lucas - Davey
Int: Campo - Laycock - Dempsey- Ryder

jules101
6 Mar 2007, 16:58
Kepler bradley is lucky to be in the bendigo reserves best team

foj1
6 Mar 2007, 17:06
Kepler bradley is lucky to be in the bendigo reserves best team

What a stupid comment.
Obviously possess outstanding footy knowledge pal.

thebigboy
6 Mar 2007, 17:14
That overall team is similar to mine except it had no Laycock and Campo and had Bradley and Ryder

jules101
6 Mar 2007, 17:46
What a stupid comment.
Obviously possess outstanding footy knowledge pal.

Please tell me why you think Bradley should be in our team, PAL?
He can't kick, he can't play on a man, too slow to play on the wing..

drew_j
6 Mar 2007, 17:52

He's not a KPP we've found that out, but he has some smarts, he's a young player who needs more experience. I say give him a year to prove himself or fail in the position he is suposed to know and then ship him off. To early to cut the umbilicle cord just yet. A little patience might be all he needs.

jules101
6 Mar 2007, 18:07
He's not a KPP we've found that out, but he has some smarts, he's a young player who needs more experience. I say give him a year to prove himself or fail in the position he is suposed to know and then ship him off. To early to cut the umbilicle cord just yet. A little patience might be all he needs.

Fair enough if he is improving but I rated him in his first year and he seems to have gone backwards. He needs a big year this year.

drew_j
6 Mar 2007, 18:26
Fair enough if he is improving but I rated him in his first year and he seems to have gone backwards. He needs a big year this year.

Yeah, I wouldn't really say backwards. Last year he was put in a roll he can't do, which was CHB, he just looked lost. I've though he's been good from what I've seen in on the wing in these pre season matches. (which admittedly isn't much). I think we've been tainted by Bolton and Henneman and now judge Bradley on what is familiar. A big problem for the Bombers last year was the backline. McPhee and Bradley had to take a real front line forward and hold him to 1 or 2 goals. And that is truly a specialist role. When either was on the key CHF then other was continually forced to back him up. I think this hamstrung McPhee a lot who does his best work as the floating 3rd key defender. He couldn't do this last year as he always had to make sure he was blocking the run of the guy Bradley was on. With Fletch at CHB I think we'll see a better McPhee this year as he'll have to confidence to run off his man and make a 2 on 1 from the side scenario that we all know he can do so well. With a bit of luck Bradley can find his feet as a player with less direct responsibility, and I think he can find that on a wing. If it works it's like a free ruck man floating a kick behind or in front of play. And that would be an awesome link up.

Merv
6 Mar 2007, 19:15

I disagree with that, and if you watched the west coast game you would have seen that some of his diposal was good.
Of course he isn't going to be as quick as a speedy winger, but he is also going to have height on his side, and can push forward or back and help out where needed.

He needs to get his decision making better, but i reckon he is a slow maturer.

You are way too harsh on him imo, and i reckon in time, he will prove you wrong, as i have already stated in the thread i raised saying exactly that.

I even go as far as to say he will be a top CHB, but not now....

Merv
6 Mar 2007, 19:18
C: Heff - Watson - Lovett
HF: Hird - Lucas - Davey
Int: Campo - Laycock - Dempsey- Ryder

BTW, I didnt critisize your line up, although i don't agree with it

hulld
6 Mar 2007, 19:38
i am very pleased with the team on essendonfc.com.au
it is exactly the 22 players i had hoped for.

although for round 1 campo and dyson shouldn't be picked. neither will be fit enough and they should each play a few games for bendigo. once they are match fit they should be automatic inclusions. dyson's runs and pentrating kicks are great, whilst campo's composure will be invaluable.

until that time two of houli, jetta and dempsey should be picked. there is no need to play heff, pevs or bolts as we would just be living in the past.

i am also very happy that kepler wasn't in the side. why are some of so keen for him to play on the wing???? surely the match against west coast proved that we have plenty of guys capable of playing on the wing. we don't have to play kepler just for the sake of it!

also i would like to add that lovett should play on the wing. his run and carry will be dominant this year.

jules101
6 Mar 2007, 20:39
BTW, I didnt critisize your line up, although i don't agree with it

I should have quoted mcphee cos it wasnt a go at any1's line ups

jules101
6 Mar 2007, 20:49
I disagree with that, and if you watched the west coast game you would have seen that some of his diposal was good.

I haven't watched the west coast game yet but that was against a 2nd's team. From all reports he had an OK game and was nothing special.

Of course he isn't going to be as quick as a speedy winger, but he is also going to have height on his side, and can push forward or back and help out where needed.

You are way too harsh on him imo, and i reckon in time, he will prove you wrong, as i have already stated in the thread i raised saying exactly that.

I hope you're right and he will become a star however if he is in our current best 22 then we are not a finals side.

hulld
6 Mar 2007, 20:52
I haven't watched the west coast game yet but that was against a 2nd's team. From all reports he had an OK game and was nothing special.

I hope you're right and he will become a star however if he is in our current best 22 then we are not a finals side.

absolutely spot on!

and in regards to the west coast game, he took a couple of nice grabs and turned it over a few times. he had no impact on the game.

Shane Hird
6 Mar 2007, 21:06
The early results are in...

Tuesday, 6 March 2007
We asked for who you thought made up the best 2007 Bomber line up, and the early results are in. Mal Michael is the overwhelming popular choice at full back, releasing the ever-reliable Dustin Fletcher to centre-half back. While at the other end of the ground 97% of supporters believe Matthew Lloyd will fit back in perfectly at full forward after missing last season.
David Hille polled remarkably highly, securing the first ruck position as Jason Laycock was named on the bench, and Patrick Ryder missed out on selection.
New recruit Alwyn Davey also makes the team as the only first year player in the side.
Senior players who are not in the side include Damien Peverill, Mark Bolton, Chris Heffernan and Kepler Bradley.

The Essendon side as selected by our supporters:

B: Welsh - Michael - McVeigh
C: Camporeale - Watson - Dyson
Int: M Johnson - Laycock - Davey - Winderlich

Houli:rolleyes: jesus christ,the guy has only played about 200 minutes of league footy..and thats just practice matches.

I reckon Jetta will just slide into the taem as easy as Monfries did when he first started. By rd 5 or 6 he will get a shot and just stay there for good,building up form as he goes along..the X factor as they say.

Paddy will be in our side every week sooner or later, going by what I've seem in the last few weeks and on sat night. He's a vastly improved kid from last year and his body is almost in the right shape to handle the knocks...imo of course..:)

Tony Delaney
6 Mar 2007, 21:35

I think he does need time but also agree he is no better now than he was in his first year. In his first year he played CHB and did fairly well. He then put on 5 or 6 kg of muscle and did nothing the next year. Going on his first year I think he could be a good player but you have to be kidding putting him on the wing.

If we have a big lumbering wingman we are not going to do much damage.

Also there is no such thing as direct responsibility. Everyone is responsible for their opponent and any opponent can hurt you and cost you a game. eg Dean POLO vs Richmond last year did his opponent think he had less direct responsibility. Silly comment drew.

Merv
6 Mar 2007, 21:42
Houli:rolleyes: jesus christ,the guy has only played about 200 minutes of league footy..and thats just practice matches.

I reckon Jetta will just slide into the taem as easy as Monfries did when he first started. By rd 5 or 6 he will get a shot and just stay there for good,building up form as he goes along..the X factor as they say.

Paddy will be in our side every week sooner or later, going by what I've seem in the last few weeks and on sat night. He's a vastly improved kid from last year and his body is almost in the right shape to handle the knocks...imo of course..:)

That's quite funny Nobby, as the guy you picked to just "slide" into the team, has actually played less than Houli?

The difference between Houli and Jetta, at this stage anyway, is that Houli gets quite a lot of the ball compared to Jetta, but Jetta doesnt get much really.

I have no idea who will be better in time, but Houli would be in my best team and in for round 1 imo

Merv
6 Mar 2007, 21:46
I think he does need time but also agree he is no better now than he was in his first year. In his first year he played CHB and did fairly well. He then put on 5 or 6 kg of muscle and did nothing the next year. Going on his first year I think he could be a good player but you have to be kidding putting him on the wing.

If we have a big lumbering wingman we are not going to do much damage.

Also there is no such thing as direct responsibility. Everyone is responsible for their opponent and any opponent can hurt you and cost you a game. eg Dean POLO vs Richmond last year did his opponent think he had less direct responsibility. Silly comment drew.

He has actually played some good football while on the wing.
My reasoning is to give him some freedom and confidence.

He could also be damaging and cause some mismatches

Merv
6 Mar 2007, 21:48

I Don't believe we are finals side this year, but i can guarantee you that Kepler will not be the difference as to why we are or not.

jules101
6 Mar 2007, 21:54
I Don't believe we are finals side this year, but i can guarantee you that Kepler will not be the difference as to why we are or not.

No I am saying that if there are not 22 players betetr then Kep at this stage in his career then we not a final 8 side. Not that he is the reason...

Longy413
7 Mar 2007, 07:20
The difference between Houli and Jetta, at this stage anyway, is that Houli gets quite a lot of the ball compared to Jetta, but Jetta doesnt get much really.

He does?

Lonergan should be ahead of Houli.

drew_j
7 Mar 2007, 07:39

I'm sorry I don't follow your argument. This statment is to indirect.

DaSawx
7 Mar 2007, 07:56
Kepler could be a very good link up player on the wing floating forward, more games like the Brisbane game would be nice.

Everyone shouldn't discount Campo, although not fit and not best 22 material right now, at least he can hit a target and should be given a chance when fit

Houli and Dyson are still very much over hyped

PHX
7 Mar 2007, 08:24
Hislop not up to the mark?

DaSawx
7 Mar 2007, 08:29
Hislop not up to the mark?

Not yet no, no point rushing everyone in before they are ready. Lonergan deserves a spot before Hislop.

Tony Delaney
7 Mar 2007, 08:57
I'm sorry I don't follow your argument. This statment is to indirect.

You said maybe he could play wing and have less direct responsibility and I said every player on the field has the same responsibility for their opponents. Not being responsible for a wingman could mean the opposition wing man cuts you up.

My example of POLO was that he was playing his first game of AFL and his opponent most likely followed your theory of not being too responsible for him and he ended up best on ground and won them the game. Just an example that players playing their first or 200 th game can be just as damaging.

Merv
7 Mar 2007, 09:02
He does?

Lonergan should be ahead of Houli.

I think for the gametime Houli has had, he gets a fair bit of the ball.
Also i said a fair bit of the ball compared to Jetta.
I think Jetta will take longer, and maybe will never be a prolific ball winner, as he seems to go long periods with out touching it.
Of course it's too early to judge this for sure.

I think Lonergan looks...ok, but he isn't quick, and seems more of an in and under type to me, although in all honesty i havent seen enough of him to label him with any tag yet.

Houli's disposal seems very good, he brings others into the game and can kick a goal.
For mine he is ahead of Jetta and i think both him and Davey have earnt their spots.

Of course this team was a "best of 07" team, so it's hard to say how they will hold up as the season goes on.

Whether those 2 and for that matter any recruit that starts to play good footy are in the best 22, they should be played with an eye to the future

drew_j
7 Mar 2007, 09:12
You said maybe he could play wing and have less direct responsibility and I said every player on the field has the same responsibility for their opponents. Not being responsible for a wingman could mean the opposition wing man cuts you up.

My example of POLO was that he was playing his first game of AFL and his opponent most likely followed your theory of not being too responsible for him and he ended up best on ground and won them the game. Just an example that players playing their first or 200 th game can be just as damaging.

So by that statement I could infer you think that Chris Judd is responsible for manning up on his tagger. Not the case, he's given free reign to do as he wishes, if his opponent kicks a goal too bad, you hedge your bets that he'll hurt the opposition more going the other way. Bradley may shine if he's given the freedom to run on the wing without the weight of stopping the power CHF on his shoulders. This doesn't mean I think he should be unaccountable for defensive pressure.

Longy413
7 Mar 2007, 10:46
I think for the gametime Houli has had, he gets a fair bit of the ball.
Also i said a fair bit of the ball compared to Jetta.
I think Jetta will take longer, and maybe will never be a prolific ball winner, as he seems to go long periods with out touching it.
Of course it's too early to judge this for sure.

Jetta will make an impact by doing 5-6 things. I don't think he's ready yet either, but I'd play him ahead of Houli, just because I think Leroy is actually ready to turn a game, Houli isn't.

I think Lonergan looks...ok, but he isn't quick, and seems more of an in and under type to me, although in all honesty i havent seen enough of him to label him with any tag yet.

Lonergan is strong over the footy, a good mark and is good around goals. He's not a pure in and under footballer, bit closer to Jason Johnson in that he can break from stoppages as well.

He's much more ready for the rigors of AFL footy than Houli or Jetta.

Houli's disposal seems very good, he brings others into the game and can kick a goal.
For mine he is ahead of Jetta and i think both him and Davey have earnt their spots.

Houli's disposal has the potential to be very good. A bit like Ricky Dyson, it can be hit or miss. I still think he's a fair way away from adjusting to the pace of the game, he needs a decent stint at VFL level before coming up.

Jetta has some freak ability, he can do things that very few can. He has brilliant vision and awareness, he's much more likely to be able to come in and make an impact because he makes the game, or breaks it open. Houli doesn't do that, he isn't that sort of player.

Whether those 2 and for that matter any recruit that starts to play good footy are in the best 22, they should be played with an eye to the future

I'd play Davey, wouldn't have Jetta or Houli in my round 1 side.

Ealesy
7 Mar 2007, 11:36

that is the problem Bradley has had. He played his junior footy on the wings and flanks.

In his 2nd year on our list he was rushed into the team to play on monsters like Hall, Tredrea, Pavlich etc etc in a position he had no experience in, in a role he had no idea how to play and without the body size or strength to be able to play the position successfully.

As a result last pre-season he was helped to bulk up a enormous amount, too much in fact. He bulked up so much that it robbed him of his greatest natural talents of speed and agility!!!

He has been completely mismanged by the coaching and fitness staff at the club and the fact his career is at the crossroads is due to the fact that they tried to turn him into a CHB when he neither had the body or football brains to be able to play the position!!

Nuts4Bolts
7 Mar 2007, 11:43
Houli and Dyson are still very much over hyped

Agree.

donsman4eva
7 Mar 2007, 14:37
I reckon Bradley can match up on the third forward and play a role similar to that of Soloman in 2000. Giving assistance to the other Defenders. He is quick enough to be able to leave his man if need be and tall enough to be able to take any tall forward in the league. Having said that, I feel that this is his "Ideal" position, but he will not get a game first up

FB: Welsh MM MJ

HB: NLM Fletcher McPhee

C: Stanton Watson Lovett

HF: Hird Lucas Monfries

FF: Johns Lloyd Davey

Rucks: Hille JJ McVeigh

The Pine: Ryder Winderlich Heffernan Slattery

jules101
7 Mar 2007, 16:26
I reckon Bradley can match up on the third forward and play a role similar to that of Soloman in 2000. Giving assistance to the other Defenders. He is quick enough to be able to leave his man if need be and tall enough to be able to take any tall forward in the league. Having said that, I feel that this is his "Ideal" position, but he will not get a game first up

The Pine: Ryder Winderlich Heffernan Davey

Davey's a gun but he isnt good enough to be in two possie's at once :D

donsman4eva
7 Mar 2007, 17:16
Davey's a gun but he isnt good enough to be in two possie's at once :D

Lol, I didnt notice that, I'll fix it. Cheers. (he may be good enough, You just never know....)

hulld
7 Mar 2007, 18:52

The Pine: Ryder Winderlich Heffernan Slattery

why are some people so keen to play heff. what does he offer to our side. i would much prefer us to play dempsey, houli or jetta. these guys have the ability to be match winners. the best we are going to get out of heff is an honest game.

i 100% agree with you that kepler shouldn't play round 1. there isn't a position that suits him at the moment. give him a decent run in the VFL before playing in the seniors.

although paddy has the ability to play in defence, he isn't ready to play in the ruck just yet. and there is no way hille can ruck the whole game effectively. therefore i think that laycock will be picked ahead of paddy. i have no problems with this, as he has shown in glimpses what he has to offer.

i can't see mcveigh playing on ball. i think welshy is more likely to push into the midfield. i think that they are keen to have mcveigh play in defence as he rarely gets beaten. he will also take the majority of the kick ins as fletch will be around the 50m mark.

Shane Hird
7 Mar 2007, 19:19
why are some people so keen to play heff. what does he offer to our side. i would much prefer us to play
dempsey, houli or jetta. these guys have the ability to be match winners. the best we are going to get out of heff is an honest game.

i 100% agree with you that kepler shouldn't play round 1. there isn't a position that suits him at the moment. give him a decent run in the VFL before playing in the seniors.

although paddy has the ability to play in defence,
he isn't ready to play in the ruck just yet. and there is no way hille can ruck the whole game effectively. therefore i think that laycock will be picked ahead of paddy. i have no problems with this, as he has shown in glimpses what he has to offer.

i can't see mcveigh playing on ball.
i think welshy is more likely to push into the midfield. i think that they are keen to have mcveigh play in defence as he rarely gets beaten. he will also take the majority of the kick ins as fletch will be around the 50m mark.

Have you read Jetta's interview on Bomberland? The kid himself realises he has a long way to go yet before he gets a regular spot in the firsts.

Paddy is noy being groomed tp play in the ruck....Hille can't ruck all day,who can these days? Laycock will partner him mostly this year.

Welsh will never be a full-time midfielder....part timer at best.

McVeigh is too valuable to be moved up the ground on a full time basis..we need him in defence....once again i quote the favorite big footy saying...

In My Opinion.

hulld
7 Mar 2007, 19:29
yer i read the jetta interview and he seems done to earth. this is great as his knockers, after the draft, said his attitude was his major weakness. he really seems to be fitting in down at bomberland.

agree with you about laycock. all i was saying is that laycock should be in the 22.

i know welsh won't play full time midfield, the point i was making is that mcveigh won't start in the midfield.

Shane Hird
7 Mar 2007, 19:48
yer i read the jetta interview and he seems done to earth. this is great as his knockers, after the draft, said his attitude was his major weakness. he really seems to be fitting in down at bomberland.

agree with you about laycock. all i was saying is that laycock should be in the 22.

i know welsh won't play full time midfield, the point i was making is that mcveigh won't start in the midfield.

No worries mate.

Laycock looked in top shape as did Hille close up at Subi...this year we might finally reap some rewards from the two of them..can't wait:thumbsu:

Shane Hird
7 Mar 2007, 19:57
Was gunna start a thread called "Paddy Paddy,Where's The Best Position for Paddy";)

But seeing we are talking possible line ups here........

I didn't see a live EFC game in 06' and havn't really seen Paddy much in the flesh till Saturday night. Out of all the EFC players vs WCE, the one that impressed me the most was Ryder.(Jetta too,but thats another issue)

I've been trying to figure out the best spot for him or the type of different roles he could play.

You guys back in Vic have seen heaps of him,what is the opinion back home?

DaSawx
7 Mar 2007, 20:14
why are some people so keen to play heff. what does he offer to our side. i would much prefer us to play dempsey, houli or jetta. these guys have the ability to be match winners. the best we are going to get out of heff is an honest game.

Heff can find the ball, he can use it under pressure, he can hit targets so he is usefull, i wouldn't totally discard him.

Houli and Jetta are quicker, but can also float in and out of games, can't use it as well and can sometimes struggle with the pace of the game

There's pro's and con's for a lot of players

donsman4eva
7 Mar 2007, 20:34

i can't see mcveigh playing on ball. i think welshy is more likely to push into the midfield. i think that they are keen to have mcveigh play in defence as he rarely gets beaten. he will also take the majority of the kick ins as fletch will be around the 50m mark.

Heff is calm under pressure, something alot of Essendon players are not. Hopefully his influence can calm other members of the team.

McVeigh on the ball is something I wasn't totally sure about, but when I thought about it, he was a good option. He is always hard at it, and he is quick to get rid of the ball. Stanton isn't totally suited to the centre bounces as his best kicks come when he is on the run, not from a standing start. I'm not saying that McVeigh is brilliant from a standing start, all i'm trying to say is that Stanton plays better with plenty of time and space, and is better suited to a wing. Same goes with Winderlich.

hulld
7 Mar 2007, 20:44
if you saw the match against west coast you would've seen how many centre clearances stanton had. he always started on the defensive side and ran through, his long penetrating kicks were invaluable.

i don't see where you guys are getting the idea that heff has good skills under pressure. he struggles to hit a target when running at full speed.

i agree with you DeSawx about those couple of guys floating in and out of games. But how much game time would heff get if he actually played? He would be lucky to get 70 minutes pf game time. therefore if a couple of guys are going to have limited game time, we should be picking players that will be damaging and have an impact on the match. i don't think heff can have too much of an impact.

Tony Delaney
7 Mar 2007, 20:57
So by that statement I could infer you think that Chris Judd is responsible for manning up on his tagger. Not the case, he's given free reign to do as he wishes, if his opponent kicks a goal too bad, you hedge your bets that he'll hurt the opposition more going the other way. Bradley may shine if he's given the freedom to run on the wing without the weight of stopping the power CHF on his shoulders. This doesn't mean I think he should be unaccountable for defensive pressure.

Chris Judd is a different story WC game plan revolves around him and blocking his tagger. If any coach went head to head with him and see who does the most damage I know who will win 99 times out of 100. Bradley is on the verge of not getting a game.

Your comment of him perhaps having less direct responsibilty is contradictory to your final sentence above. He has responsibility or he hasn't.

Longy413
7 Mar 2007, 21:01
why are some people so keen to play heff. what does he offer to our side. i would much prefer us to play dempsey, houli or jetta.

Composure and defensive pressure. We don't have a midfielder that offers both those things.

if you saw the match against west coast you would've seen how many centre clearances stanton had. he always started on the defensive side and ran through, his long penetrating kicks were invaluable.

And you can do that when you are dominating the ruck. I wouldn't be counting on that to happen every week.

i don't see where you guys are getting the idea that heff has good skills under pressure. he struggles to hit a target when running at full speed.

He does struggled to kick at full pace, most do. But that isn't his role.
You need a defensive midfielder, Heff does that job well. The other thing he does is win the ball in close and get it to an Essendon teammate. He is fantastic in close, great agility and always has time.

hulld
7 Mar 2007, 21:16
if our back six is:
mj - mal - mcveigh
mcphee - fletch - lov-murray

that means that welshy won't be playing the full game in defence. therefore he could be used as a defensive midfielder if needed. welshy attacks the ball strongly and is usually composed under pressure.

Longy413
7 Mar 2007, 21:19
Mark Johnson won't play full games in defense.
He'll play midfield and forward at times.

Welsh will be another one that will be playing between midfield and the backline. Heff can do that too. It's important to have flexibility and Heff gives us that.

We don't actually know what the plans for McPhee are, he could very well end up playing midfield.

hulld
7 Mar 2007, 21:22
so there is no need to play mcphee, mj, heff and welshy in the same game. as you say they will all be playing similar roles. mcveigh may also get a run in the midfield every now and then.

Longy413
7 Mar 2007, 21:25
so there is no need to play mcphee, mj, heff and welshy in the same game. as you say they will all be playing similar roles. mcveigh may also get a run in the midfield every now and then.

McVeigh is doing just about all our kickins, you can lock him in for a full time job down back.

That makes Heff our only defensive midfielder, our only composed midfield that runs both ways. Hird doesn't do it, Stanton doesn't do it, Watson doesn't do it.

Welsh has struggled in the middle and McPhee won't be moved into the middle to play as a defensive mid.

You actually need more than 6 blokes to run through the middle.

hulld
7 Mar 2007, 21:47
McVeigh is doing just about all our kickins, you can lock him in for a full time job down back.

That makes Heff our only defensive midfielder, our only composed midfield that runs both ways. Hird doesn't do it, Stanton doesn't do it, Watson doesn't do it.

Welsh has struggled in the middle and McPhee won't be moved into the middle to play as a defensive mid.

You actually need more than 6 blokes to run through the middle.

stanton, watson, jj, winders, monfries, lovett, hirdy, dyson & campo when fit, dempsey & houli if picked. welshy and mj can run through the midfield as well.

winders runs both ways as would welshy and mj.

there's a difference between tagging and running both ways. i'm sure we will see improved defensive skills from stants and watto this year.

Merv
7 Mar 2007, 21:51
stanton, watson, jj, winders, monfries, lovett, hirdy, dyson & campo when fit, dempsey & houli if picked. welshy and mj can run through the midfield as well.

winders runs both ways as would welshy and mj.

there's a difference between tagging and running both ways. i'm sure we will see improved defensive skills from stants and watto this year.

They are not the players you want to be concentrating on the defensive side of their game.

Of course you do need some accountability, but those 2 players mentioned are 2 of our most attacking or prolific ball winners.

I wouldn't have Heff in my best team either, but wouldn't mind if he was in by the same token.

jules101
7 Mar 2007, 22:19
They are not the players you want to be concentrating on the defensive side of their game.

Of course you do need some accountability, but those 2 players mentioned are 2 of our most attacking or prolific ball winners.

I wouldn't have Heff in my best team either, but wouldn't mind if he was in by the same token.

Heffernan and Jobe worked really well together in the middle last year.

Smyth94
8 Mar 2007, 00:42
i am very pleased with the team on essendonfc.com.au
it is exactly the 22 players i had hoped for.

although for round 1 campo and dyson shouldn't be picked. neither will be fit enough and they should each play a few games for bendigo. once they are match fit they should be automatic inclusions. dyson's runs and pentrating kicks are great, whilst campo's composure will be invaluable.

until that time two of houli, jetta and dempsey should be picked. there is no need to play heff, pevs or bolts as we would just be living in the past.

i am also very happy that kepler wasn't in the side. why are some of so keen for him to play on the wing???? surely the match against west coast proved that we have plenty of guys capable of playing on the wing. we don't have to play kepler just for the sake of it!

also i would like to add that lovett should play on the wing. his run and carry will be dominant this year.

Agreed - The selectors need stop taking the soft option of Heff, Bolton, Pev and go for the likes of Houli, Jetta and Dempsey.

hulld
8 Mar 2007, 08:32
well said Smythy!!!!!!

buffalopride
8 Mar 2007, 08:53
hull stop sucking up to everyone

Shane Hird
8 Mar 2007, 10:18
Agreed - The selectors need stop taking the soft option of Heff, Bolton, Pev and go for the likes of Houli, Jetta and Dempsey.

When I sit down and ponder what the best line-up should look like for our MF,I always use WC as my imaginary team.

Talk of defensive MF's and rebounding backman and link-up players is all fine and dandy,but thats when we have the ball.

If you've got to play a team like WC (who have one of the best MFs),it's makes the idea of playing the really young kids we have got a real worry.

Sure we looked great on Saturday night with Lovett going for 30mtr runs down the wings and Watson and Stanton controlling the ball in congested play,but you got to go with exprience when up against a group of players like Judd,Cousins,Kerr,Braun,Fletcher,Embley and Stenglein.

Pev,Camporeale and Heffernan might not be the quickest,flashiest players we have,but they still have something to offer our team imo .

It's silly to just say "Just chuck in the young blokes like Dempsey,Houli etc..." and get rid of the old coots.

It's just not that simple I'm afraid. It will take time to get this team of ours settled. So my advice is..(i know its hard to not get excited about our young talent) just be prepared to see only our exprienced players in rds 1 to 4 and forget about the Lonegans,Houlis,Dempseys and Jettas...for the moment:D

drew_j
8 Mar 2007, 10:27
Chris Judd is a different story WC game plan revolves around him and blocking his tagger. If any coach went head to head with him and see who does the most damage I know who will win 99 times out of 100. Bradley is on the verge of not getting a game.

Your comment of him perhaps having less direct responsibilty is contradictory to your final sentence above. He has responsibility or he hasn't.

Stop arguing semantics. Bradley would be under less pressure to preform defensively on the wing then at CHB. If you can't see that then there is no helping you. If you want to argue the finer point of the English language you can piss off because I'm not interested.

Merv
8 Mar 2007, 10:34
There is a few things to condiser.

We will have injuries at various stages through out the year.

I agree that we can't throw all our young players in at once, unless they are really playing well of course.

The older players bring experience, but the youth brings pace and enthusiasm.

We need to keep an eye on the future when picking our team this year, as some of these older more experienced players MAY be delisted/retire at the end of this year.

For too long we have been relying on Hird in the middle to pull us out of the shizzle when we are getting smashed in there, who will do it when he's gone?

IMO, If the form of the young players is comparable to the older player or slightly inferior, play the youth.
When the young players form slips a little, or they start to show signs of tiredness/injuries/lack of confidence, replace them with another younger player who has earnt a shot, or with experience.

This may cost us games this year, but it may win us many more in the future......

Shane Hird
8 Mar 2007, 10:42
There is a few things to condiser.

We will have injuries at various stages through out the year.

I agree that we can't throw all our young players in at once, unless they are really playing well of course.

The older players bring experience, but the youth brings pace and enthusiasm.

We need to keep an eye on the future when picking our team this year, as some of these older more experienced players MAY be delisted/retire at the end of this year.

For too long we have been relying on
Hird in the middle to pull us out of the shizzle when we are getting smashed in there, who will do it when he's gone?

IMO, If the form of the young players is comparable to the older player or slightly inferior, play the youth.
When the young players form slips a little, or they start to show signs of tiredness/injuries/lack of confidence, replace them with another younger player who has earnt a shot, or with experience.

This may cost us games this year, but it may win us many more in the future......

Agree. That was our main problem last year.....the middle.

donsman4eva
8 Mar 2007, 13:41
Just wondering what you guys thought of Cole's chances this year. I think he could be good down back, which would allow McVeigh into the midfield and MJ to go wherever. The only downside I see to this is that having Cole, McPhee and NLM down back, we may become too un-accountable.

If Cole gets a game, does someone like Winderlich miss out, maybe ruining his season. It's really a catch 22 and it really comes down to team balance IMO. I'd rather have Winders or Dyson in ahead of Cole, but I'd like to hear other thoughts.

hulld
8 Mar 2007, 19:00
hull stop sucking up to everyone

don't worry about this buffoon people. he is my knowledgeless friend

hulld
8 Mar 2007, 19:11
nobby i agree with you about campo. he will defintely be in the best 22 when fit. but we can't have campo, jj, watson, pev and heff in the same team. that is where we fell down last year, we couldn't run games out. jj and watto will concentrate on dishing it out to the likes of stanton, lovett and winders. then campo can come off the bench to replace one of these guys in the last 15 minutes of each quarter. we are too slow if pev and heff play.

merv you are spot on about the young guys. we have to blood them this year in front of giving charity games to bolts, heff and pev. maybe we could rotate houli, jetta and davey. give each of them about 15 games each. then if we are hit by injuries (touchwood), heff. bolts and pev will be relaible replacements.

in regards to cole i can't see him playing too many games this year. although his upside is quite good, i can't see the selectors taking a punt on him. he would be competingagainst guys like welsh, mcveigh, mj and nath-lov for a spot in the team. these guys have earnt their spots in the team over a number of years.

Longy413
8 Mar 2007, 20:58
That's an extremely simplistic view. These guys dish it out to these guys etc.

Heff isn't slow, he finds space, he uses it well. He wins it inside and out. He is composed, he gives us flexibitlity and he's a quality leader. Heff has a number of intangible qualities that simply make us a better side.

Heff makes us a better side. Had he played against Carlton, we would have won. Because he makes us a better side, he directs traffic, he controls the tempo of the game and he is a smart, smart footballer.

Playing kids is the soft option, because you always have the "they're only kids" excuse to fall back on. Heff isn't a soft option, because he gives us something.

DaSawx
8 Mar 2007, 21:00
Peverill hardly uses the ball as well as any draftee any more, he (hopefully) shouldn't be playing much senior footy this year and should be an easy de-listing at the end

Merv
9 Mar 2007, 10:02
That's an extremely simplistic view. These guys dish it out to these guys etc.

Heff isn't slow, he finds space, he uses it well. He wins it inside and out. He is composed, he gives us flexibitlity and he's a quality leader. Heff has a number of intangible qualities that simply make us a better side.

Heff makes us a better side. Had he played against Carlton, we would have won. Because he makes us a better side, he directs traffic, he controls the tempo of the game and he is a smart, smart footballer.

Playing kids is the soft option, because you always have the "they're only kids" excuse to fall back on. Heff isn't a soft option, because he gives us something.

I am and have always been a big fan of Heffs, yet i still don't have him in my best team.

I'm not sure if it was injuries or not, or maybe i am not remembering it as it ACTUALLY happened but i thought Heff started out very well last season, then after 3 or 4 games fell away and after being dropped did the same again when bought back into the team.....was this correct?

He is also one of the most popular players on our list with the players and coaching staff and a true professional, which hopefully will show the younger players how to go about it.

I agree with that when he is in form, but as i stated earlier, he seemed to have some bad form reversals last year.
He also is one of those few players that can tag an opponant, keeping them inefective on the game, yet get a lot of it himself, a rare talent.

Playing kids is the soft option, because you always have the "they're only kids" excuse to fall back on. Heff isn't a soft option, because he gives us something

I disagree with that.
Sure you do have that excuse, if you use it, but we need to take a lot of things into consideration.
Winning games vs Blooding the future is the main one.
I think why you are playing the kids is the real crux.

If you are just playing them for the sake of it, whilst keeping out an older player who is in reasoanable form, that can be wrong.
But if you are playing them because they are contributing and are playing close to the older players ability, or are adding something to the team, then surely they should be played.

If we are to move out of the bottom end of the ladder, we need to look longer tearm than this season only.
I think there will be another cleanout of older players at the end of this season, leaving us with a very young list.

Games played by the kids this year, will have a far greater impact in years to come.

hulld
9 Mar 2007, 12:54
i agree with you 100% merv. even at their best, heff, pev and bolts can only offer so much. whilst jetta, houli and dempsey may float in and out of games, they will have more of an impact than the older blokes. and getting gametime into these kids is more important than giving some older guys games based on their past acconplishments.

just on bolts, i don't really see why we signed him for another year. we have guys who are capable of playing in the midfield that will be playing for bendigo, e.g. pev, heff, houli, dempsey, lonergan just to name a few. than kepler, paddy and andy lee can play in defence.

your thoughts.......

DaSawx
9 Mar 2007, 13:31
They wouldn't have more of an impact than Heff or Peverill because they struggle with the pace of the game and can struggle using it under pressure.

There is a fine line between playing older blokes and getting some wins for the better of the entire list and getting youngsters gametime so they can learn to deal with the pace of the game, hopefully Sheeds will find the right balance

hulld
9 Mar 2007, 16:41
do you really think we would get some wins by playing heff, bolts and pev. would they actually make the difference between us going from 15th position to hopefully a possible top 8 position?

DaSawx
9 Mar 2007, 16:47
do you really think we would get some wins by playing heff, bolts and pev. would they actually make the difference between us going from 15th position to hopefully a possible top 8 position?

Heff and Peverill would give us a better chance at winning a football game right now than Houli and Jetta, whether the coach thinks we could win without them or not who knows, that's what they decide every weekend, whether he needs experience to get over the line or if we can cope by adding some kids and bring them along for a ride and if we're lucky to win they may have learnt some things in the process. If you were going all out to get 4 points you'd pick Heff and Pev.

Jetta's disposal is probably already better than Pev's, but he'll struggle with the pace for a while.

hulld
9 Mar 2007, 16:54
i dont doubt pev's endeavour, but his disposal isn't great and he is very slow. even last year when he was tagging someone, they still ended up with 25+ possessions. the only game i remember him towelling a gun up was against st.kilda. it was belting down with rain and he beat dal santo. besides that he struggled to contribute to the side.

i feel that if we play him regularly this year, we may fall into the same troubles as last year.

DaSawx
9 Mar 2007, 17:03
i dont doubt pev's endeavour, but his disposal isn't great and he is very slow. even last year when he was tagging someone, they still ended up with 25+ possessions. the only game i remember him towelling a gun up was against st.kilda. it was belting down with rain and he beat dal santo. besides that he struggled to contribute to the side.

i feel that if we play him regularly this year, we may fall into the same troubles as last year.

It isn't the best, but he can still handle senior footy at this stage better than a Jetta and Houli, may change midway through the year who knows.

Pev isn't even in my best 25 so I hope he doesn't get too much game time either.

Longy413
9 Mar 2007, 18:43
i agree with you 100% merv. even at their best, heff, pev and bolts can only offer so much. whilst jetta, houli and dempsey may float in and out of games, they will have more of an impact than the older blokes. and getting gametime into these kids is more important than giving some older guys games based on their past acconplishments.

just on bolts, i don't really see why we signed him for another year. we have guys who are capable of playing in the midfield that will be playing for bendigo, e.g. pev, heff, houli, dempsey, lonergan just to name a few. than kepler, paddy and andy lee can play in defence.

your thoughts.......

I'm not talking about Bolts and Pev though.
I'm talking about Heff and Heff only.
Bolts and Pev are past it.

Jetta, Houli and Dempsey don't offer what Heff can. Heff wouldn't be taking their spot, those guys are competing against Lovett, Dyson, Stanton, Monfries and the like. Pace is great and we now have plenty of it, but it needs to be composed pace, not just pace for the sake of pace.

If I was a young kid starting out in the midfield I'd want Heff next to me, because I know he'd make a significant difference in how I played. Heff leads, he directs and he's smart. He makes others better.

hulld
9 Mar 2007, 21:10
do you think that heff should be in the team once campo is fit longy??? if not that means that either winders or dyson would probably have to make way for campo.

Shane Hird
9 Mar 2007, 22:30
I'm not talking about Bolts and Pev though.
I'm talking about Heff and Heff only.
Bolts and Pev are past it.

Jetta, Houli and Dempsey don't offer what Heff can. Heff wouldn't be taking their spot, those guys are competing against Lovett, Dyson, Stanton, Monfries and the like. Pace is great and we now have plenty of it, but it needs to be composed pace, not just pace for the sake of pace.

If I was a young kid starting out in the midfield I'd want Heff next to me, because I know he'd make a significant difference in how I played. Heff leads, he directs and he's smart. He makes others better.

This quote from the ever practical Longy413 sums up what Chris has to offer our side in 2007. Premiership player in one of the all time greatest sides in history....he's been there done that. And if you remember how he played for Melbourne you would realise that Heffernan is no Simon Black, gun ball magnet type. He's a classic on-baller of the old school who has supreme control of his nerves and never gets near panic stations. He is clever in just about every skill ...but...seems to only thrive when the side is winning,having control of the ball and looking the goods.

He brings brings others into the game with slight,nothing out of the ordinary disposals. He'll be better this year..just wait and see..Heff knockers;)

hulld
10 Mar 2007, 08:43
i don't think you can compare him to the player he was in 2000. i remember how good he use to be, but he is a shadow of his former self. the modern game makes it hard for the classic on-ballers to be effective.

what makes you say that he will be better this year than last?

GoDons
10 Mar 2007, 09:13
This quote from the ever practical Longy413 sums up what Chris has to offer our side in 2007. Premiership player in one of the all time greatest sides in history....he's been there done that. And if you remember how he played for Melbourne you would realise that Heffernan is no Simon Black, gun ball magnet type. He's a classic on-baller of the old school who has supreme control of his nerves and never gets near panic stations. He is clever in just about every skill ...but...seems to only thrive when the side is winning,having control of the ball and looking the goods.

He brings brings others into the game with slight,nothing out of the ordinary disposals. He'll be better this year..just wait and see..Heff knockers;)

Yep, I'm a massive Heffernan fan and would be very disappointed if he's not in our side for Round 1 because he really deserves to be. He's got good skills, good fitness, a strong tackle, a good head on his shoulders and contrary to many's belief, a fair bit of pace and was in fact pointed out by Sheedy as one of the quick players during the week. To echo Longy, Heff makes us a better side and if we're going to go anywhere this year, Heff will be in the side.

hulld
10 Mar 2007, 09:18
i hope you guys are right about heff, but in my opinion we have to make some changes from last year. if heff can recapture just a little bit of his form from 2000 i will be stoked. i have my doubts though. i hope i am wrong.

DaSawx
10 Mar 2007, 09:18
Especially against a top unit like the Crows in Adelaide, we need all the skill, accountability and experience we need, won't get all that with Houli or Jetta, they'll get their opportunities during the year.

DaSawx
10 Mar 2007, 09:28
this would probably be my round 1 side atm

B: M.Johnson - Michael - McVeigh
C: Welsh - Stanton - Lovett
HF: Monfries - Lucas - Hird
F: Davey - Lloyd - Johns
Ru: Hille - J.Johnson - Watson
Int: Bradley, Heffernan, Laycock, Slattery

Emg: Winderlich, Dempsey, Ryder

GoDons
10 Mar 2007, 09:38
Mine is quite similar

B: M. McVeigh M. Michael A. Welsh
HB: A. McPhee D. Fletcher N. Lovett-Murray
C: B. Stanton J. Watson A. Lovett
HF: J. Hird S. Lucas M. Johnson
F: C. Johns M. Lloyd A. Monfries
Foll: D. Hille C. Heffernan J. Johnson
Inter: K. Bradley A. Davey J. Laycock J. Winderlich

Ricky Dyson I would normally prefer to Jason Winderlich but considering Winderlich has ahad a full pre-season and Dyson's had an interrupted one, I think Winderlich has to be preferred.

hulld
10 Mar 2007, 10:01
i am sure that winders will play round 1.

what type of role do you guys think kepler will play? it wouldn't surprise me if he wasn't picked. there's no real position for him, we don't have to play him just for the sake of it.

i don't know who would go out of the side, but i would like to see dempsey given a game early. he was so impressive against the dogs last year in round 22 and it may only take a couple of good games for him to realize his potential.

DaSawx
10 Mar 2007, 10:04
Kepler can come off the bench and exploit certain match-ups on the wing, he can float forward or match-up someone down back if he's needed there, he is hardly useless

Shane Hird
10 Mar 2007, 10:10
i am sure that winders will play round 1.

what type of role do you guys think kepler will play? it wouldn't surprise me if he wasn't picked. there's no real position for him, we don't have to play him just for the sake of it.
i don't know who would go out of the side, but i would like to see dempsey given a game early. he was so impressive against the dogs last year in round 22 and it may only take a couple of good games for him to realize his potential.

What kind of nimrod statement is that mate?

Do you think Sheedy would play someone in rd 1,JUST FOR THE SAKE OF IT?:rolleyes:

I like your enthusiasm and passion about the Dons, but try not to post every single thought that pops into your head...ok?:o

hulld
10 Mar 2007, 10:11
wingman these days have to be damaging. look at west coast, embley and braun. can kepler hurt opposition sides???

in relation to the "sake of it" statement, i was referring to last season when sheeds played him on the best bigman forwards to "educate" him. we didn't have to play him on hall, brown and pavlich so early in his career.

let kepler get his confidence up before giving him the big assignments. if that means that he has to play for bendigo so be it.

DaSawx
10 Mar 2007, 10:14
he kicked 4 against the Lions floating forward, answer yes

hulld
10 Mar 2007, 10:18
fair point DaSawx, but do you think he can kick goals consistently? i would be rapt if he was to kick 20 goals this year. is that achievable?

DaSawx
10 Mar 2007, 10:21
Hard to say, I don't exactly know what his role will be, was just staing he can be very usefull on the wing and have a usefull role with the team, he even kicked a couple against the Doggies as a marking forward in round 3, then struggled their on Anzac Day, although the ball use wasn't the best.

hulld
10 Mar 2007, 10:25
yer i remember that bulldogs game. i hope you are right concerning kepler. if he can play this role you are talking about effectively we will be better off in the short and long run.

Merv
10 Mar 2007, 10:27
wingman these days have to be damaging. look at west coast, embley and braun. can kepler hurt opposition sides???

in relation to the "sake of it" statement, i was referring to last season when sheeds played him on the best bigman forwards to "educate" him. we didn't have to play him on hall, brown and pavlich so early in his career.

let kepler get his confidence up before giving him the big assignments. if that means that he has to play for bendigo so be it.

Wingman have always had to be damaging, and all the good ones are.

Kepler certainly can hurt sides on the wing, as he can play a floater role, where he floats forward, creating a mismatch and floating back to assist when needed.
Of course there will be times when the smaller quicker player is too nimble for him, but there will be times when he will too tall and provide a marking target from defence.....

You need to remember we didnt have a lot of options last year.
Sheedy has ALWAYS played young players on the best players.

No doubt it would be best for Kepler to get settled in one position, but hes a different player than most and at the end of the day it's about what's best for the TEAM on the day

hulld
10 Mar 2007, 11:05
so who would you prefer to play on the wing merv, dyson/winders or kepler?
i guess all three of them have to their pros and cons. is it a case of it depends who we play?

Merv
10 Mar 2007, 11:45
so who would you prefer to play on the wing merv, dyson/winders or kepler?
i guess all three of them have to their pros and cons. is it a case of it depends who we play?

Yes it is a case of who we play etc.

It prolly comes down to form etc, but i would like to see Kepler on 1 wing and Lovett on the other come round 1.

I am one of the few that think Kepler will be a very good player for Essendon in the future, but i believe it will be at CHB, but hes not ready for that yet.

I think he has been judged harshly for his performances so far THIS year and i believe he has improved.
I don't think hes quick enough in taking the first option to be a permanent wingman, but if he could settle down in that possition for awhile, it could do wonders for his confidence.

The good thing about us this year, barring a lot of injuries, is we have a lot of options in a lot of positions

hulld
10 Mar 2007, 13:03
i agree with you that it's more likely that he'll become a good CHB than a good wingman. I also think that our depth will be one of our greatest strenghts this year.

jules101
10 Mar 2007, 13:14
Wingman have always had to be damaging, and all the good ones are.

Kepler certainly can hurt sides on the wing, as he can play a floater role, where he floats forward, creating a mismatch and floating back to assist when needed.
Of course there will be times when the smaller quicker player is too nimble for him, but there will be times when he will too tall and provide a marking target from defence.....

You need to remember we didnt have a lot of options last year.
Sheedy has ALWAYS played young players on the best players.

No doubt it would be best for Kepler to get settled in one position, but hes a different player than most and at the end of the day it's about what's best for the TEAM on the day

Thats all very well, but lets get back to the basics. His disposal is shocking. Teach him to kick and then play him in the seniors. At the moment he wouldn't hurt any team.

hulld
10 Mar 2007, 13:16
well said jules, kepler just has the ability to make the easy look incredibly difficult

Crave
10 Mar 2007, 14:11
Kepler can come off the bench and exploit certain match-ups on the wing, he can float forward or match-up someone down back if he's needed there, he is hardly useless

Kepler doesnt consistently display that ability yet to win most contests. Needs more agro in him before I would entrust him to take an opponent's tall option away from the corridor be it forward or back.