View Full Version : Mundine V Soloman
Lightning_Rod
6 Mar 2007, 17:23
So with the fight on tomorrow night was just wanting to see who thought would win and in what round etc. also if u are buying the ppv to watch?
nick_savo
6 Mar 2007, 17:52
I have been watching the 2001 fight all week, Mundine will win in round 9 i say.
Lightning_Rod
6 Mar 2007, 18:12
nah i think it may be earlier than 9, i think he will win it in 5 or 6 i just have a feeling. hopefully he wins im a mundine fan so as long as he wins ill be glad to pay the money to watch the bout
I don't see it going the distance either way. Both super fast strikers. Mundine with the power advantage, but I want Soliman to win, and he has the heart advantage.
Therussian
6 Mar 2007, 20:51
Soliman aint going to be knocked down,
and he's going to throw too many punches not to win on the judges scorecard.
Soliman for me
red+black
6 Mar 2007, 21:11
Yes it is Sol-i-man.
So are many places showing the fight? Gonna try for the Paco RSL, although that was real rough for the Green Mundine fight.
davidgoes4wce
6 Mar 2007, 21:26
he wont knock sam out it should be closer than everyone thinks,I gurantee there will be no ko it willgo the distance
I don't see it going the distance either way.
:confused:
If a fight ever had distance written all over it, it's this one.
Soliman for me. Randy's underdog status has inspired me to think it's possible :) Plus soliman seems like a nice bloke and Mundine proved long ago that he's a tosser.
red+black
7 Mar 2007, 10:13
http://www.foxsports.com.au/boxing/fight-night
bigdadymac
7 Mar 2007, 10:17
It will go 12, Choc has the speed and power but cant take a hit like Soli has incredible endurance....If Soli can take charge early and force choc to fight Soli's style he will have him on points easy
Soloman, Round 4 by Head Kick!
Therussian
7 Mar 2007, 15:49
Yes it is Sol-i-man.
So are many places showing the fight? Gonna try for the Paco RSL, although that was real rough for the Green Mundine fight.
think they have a no islander policy tonight
Dr.Jekyll
7 Mar 2007, 17:23
Soloman, Round 4 by Head Kick!
I would have said triangle choke.
red+black
7 Mar 2007, 17:26
Looks like I have to go into enemy territory tonight. Roxburgh Park. I got my glock ready.
anyone know what the undercards are tonight, what order and when the first kicks off? Wouldnt mind seeing hopoati v mason(need to time my run to the pub as the missus is ****ty!)
Dr.Jekyll
7 Mar 2007, 17:35
** update **
FIGHT FANS... Mundine v Soliman 2 (the MAIN fight) is scheduled to commence AFTER 10pm EDT.
CURRENT UNDERCARD
Card is subject to change
FIGHT # 1
Wayne Parker Jnr vs Serge Yannick Mvoue
SUPER MIDDLEWEIGHT 4 RNDS
FIGHT # 2
Peter Kazzi vs Paz Viejo
LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHT 4 x 3 RNDS
FIGHT # 3
Daniel Baff vs Sefanaia Vakacegu
LIGHT HEAVYWEIGHT 4 x 3 RNDS
FIGHT # 4
Jamie Withers vs Justin Clements
CRUISERWEIGHT 6 x 3 RNDS
FIGHT # 5
Les Mason vs John Justice
HEAVYWEIGHT 4 RNDS
FIGHT # 6
John Hopoate vs Richard Tutaki
HEAVYWEIGHT 4 RNDS
FIGHT # 7
Solomon Haumono vs Fatu Tui Tuimanono
HEAVYWEIGHT 4 RNDS
FIGHT # 8
Shane Cameron vs Bob Mirovic
WBA Pan African Heavyweight Title
12 x 3 Minute Rounds
FIGHT # 9
Anthony Mundine vs Sam Soliman
Vacant WBA Super Middleweight Title
12 x 3 Minute Rounds
Thanks doc.
It said on sunrise that hopoate was taking on mason....kinda got my hopes up.
Anyone got a radio link?
Try 1116 SEN, they are broadcasting the fight, which is yet to start mind you.
Good work :thumbsu:
update?>
danzan22
7 Mar 2007, 22:23
FIGHT # 8
Shane Cameron vs Bob Mirovic
WBA Pan African Heavyweight Title
12 x 3 Minute Rounds
Good fight
rapidshave
7 Mar 2007, 22:31
Mundine dropped Soliman, any minute now.
danzan22
7 Mar 2007, 22:37
Mundine has this fight, Soliman cant take this much longer.
danzan22
7 Mar 2007, 23:03
Mundine wins in the 9th by KO
rapidshave
It's over, Mundine is the new WBA Super Middleweight Champion by KO.
quiksilva
Mundine by knockout in the 9th
danzan22
7 Mar 2007, 23:04
I have been watching the 2001 fight all week, Mundine will win in round 9 i say.
All hail nick_savo :p
Magpiespower
7 Mar 2007, 23:24
Pi$$ed off!
Trying to find a pub in Sydney that showed this fight was as rare as hen's teeth!
:mad:
Lightning_Rod
7 Mar 2007, 23:27
Mundine had it in the 1st round, he never looked fased not one bit. it looked more like they were told to drag it on. that nineth round was violent by mundine. my favourite match was the hoppa and the mason match lol
moe sizlak
7 Mar 2007, 23:54
Seriously....Anyone who tries to talk down Mundine after that fight is pathetic.
The man did something to Soliman which nobody ever thought was possible.
Savo....got any great predictions for the pies this year cuz?
Lightning_Rod
7 Mar 2007, 23:57
Seriously....Anyone who tries to talk down Mundine after that fight is pathetic.
The man did something to Soliman which nobody ever thought was possible.
took him to town gave him a lesson in boxing and said thank you very much but i'll take that belt home.:thumbsu:;):) he killed him if and people are still gonna call mudine sh*t then they are either racist jealous or just plain haters. mundine proved he has everything it takes to be a Australian boxing champion.
Hell yeah. Superb prediction by nick_savo.
I had predicted a close fight with Mundine winning by a point or two. I like Sam having had the pleasure of meeting him once. Nice guy. I have always watched his fights and his unorthodox style is difficult to over come. But tonight Mundine was outstanding. Sam came out with his usual all angles unorthodox punching from all angles but at the end of the 1st round I was surprised as to how ineffective it was. This was shown to be in the 2nd round when Mundine had all the time in the world to throw the jab/straight right combo that proved to be devastating. Sam was never in the fight after that and Mundines patience was rewarded with a brutal 9th round finish. The improvement in Mundine over the last year or two is so noticeable that for anyone to be too critical of his Boxing ability now would IMO be wrong. As a boxing fan Mundine is IMO good for the sport. The card was good tonight and fans are watching. So as someone who indifferent to his antics, I think he is a fantastic self promoter, I am looking forward to the next Mundine fight.
red+black
8 Mar 2007, 01:52
http://www.foxsports.com.au/boxing/fight-night
Pi$$ed off!
Trying to find a pub in Sydney that showed this fight was as rare as hen's teeth!
:mad:
I take it you didn't check my link (which doesn't seem to work now, but it was working yesterday).
nick_savo
8 Mar 2007, 09:29
Hell yeah. Superb prediction by nick_savo.
hahaha, Thank you, If only I had put money on it :( :p
No predictions for the pies as yet, but you never know could just pop out with one anytime ;)
Great shot in that 2nd round, SS never recovered at all.
Choc will be a force at 160, assuming he makes the weight ok. Choc struggled/will struggle with the big 168lbers such as Kesser (Calzaghe), as people dont realise how small a super middle he is. Green on the hand, was a giant at the weight, hence now moving up to 175. It really puts in perpective just how much better Choc is than many give him credit for.
At 160, he will be a bit of a giant - which was seen last night in the size difference. He will find some more one punch power as well. He'll still be lightning quick at the weight to.
Good decision to move down. I think he can beat Winky and Jermain.
As Paul Briggs said, stop hating, we are seeing something pretty special with mundine. He will go down as a great Aussie fighter by the time he is done.
Palace03
8 Mar 2007, 12:01
Great boxer, still a ****er though.
nick_savo
8 Mar 2007, 12:09
Is there anywhere I could download the fight?
hahaha, Thank you, If only I had put money on it :( :p
No predictions for the pies as yet, but you never know could just pop out with one anytime ;)
$41 so I heard.
Choc will be a force at 160, assuming he makes the weight ok. Choc struggled/will struggle with the big 168lbers such as Kesser (Calzaghe), as people dont realise how small a super middle he is. Green on the hand, was a giant at the weight, hence now moving up to 175. It really puts in perpective just how much better Choc is than many give him credit for.
At 160, he will be a bit of a giant - which was seen last night in the size difference. He will find some more one punch power as well. He'll still be lightning quick at the weight to.
As Paul Briggs said, stop hating, we are seeing something pretty special with mundine. He will go down as a great Aussie fighter by the time he is done.
Well said. I have no opinion on his mouth this is after all boxing. Not a team sport like footy where unity is vital to success. One can say what one likes in boxing as one has only ones self to answer to. I have no idea if he was a good rugby league player but I have followed his boxing career and it has been impressive. He will not go down as an alltime great IMO but he will certainly be remembered as an outstanding world class boxer. I never understood the critics saying things like "who has he fought?" after he had had less than 10/15 pro fights and only 3 lillywhites. There have been plenty of 20 - 0 fighters in this world who had fought lesser calbre of opposition. Mike Tyson for one. And that is not criticism of Tyson who was a fav of mine to watch and a murderous puncher to boot.
You are living in a fantasy land Mundine is a very average fighter on an international level hasnt beaten one single quality fighter Winky and Jermaine are a different class mundine wont fight those guys he knows he cant win .He can make enough money fighting second rate hacks like soliman and green
the same Soliman who many thought beat Winky?
Darealrath
8 Mar 2007, 13:56
What a star. The pub I was at seemed to warm to him as the fight went on which was good too.
The Joker
8 Mar 2007, 15:45
Gun....He is the best super mid going around, will prove it when Kessler or Calzaghe come to the table.
He is THE MAN and no one in Australia can dispute that.
delirious1
8 Mar 2007, 17:29
good fighter, still IMO Kessler is better, but not a fan of him, or his mouth, but i still think hes a damn good fighter
AndSmithMustScore
8 Mar 2007, 18:23
took him to town gave him a lesson in boxing and said thank you very much but i'll take that belt home.:thumbsu:;):) he killed him if and people are still gonna call mudine sh*t then they are either racist jealous or just plain haters. mundine proved he has everything it takes to be a Australian boxing champion.
Ummm no.
How old are you?
The Australian way of a true champion is to remain modest even in victory.
Mundine is a ****ing arrogant **** and a tool.
He's not worthy of being called an Australian Champion.
And he'll never ever be respected by the majority of Aussies and thats all down is to his piss poor wannabe attitude.
Lightning_Rod
8 Mar 2007, 18:53
Ummm no.
How old are you?
The Australian way of a true champion is to remain modest even in victory.
Mundine is a ****ing arrogant **** and a tool.
He's not worthy of being called an Australian Champion.
And he'll never ever be respected by the majority of Aussies and thats all down is to his piss poor wannabe attitude.
Mohamed Ali Board.
also do u really think Soliman would have been quiet if he had won, dont kid yourself, having a little character and arrogance in boxing is a weakness
T-I-G-E-R-M-A-N
8 Mar 2007, 19:12
Mundine is a great fighter carved up soliman. The Edi-Asp boy did show a fair bit of heart. His improved a hell of a lot since his amateur boxing at frankston!
He may be world champion, but he has very few fans.
A vast majority dislike him for his OTT arrogance and just being a tool.
He has said he is the greatest Aussie sportsman ever... pfffft. Not even remotely close. Not even within a million miles of it.
He is a good boxer, but has lost 3 out of his last 10 fights. Lets see him beat someone of international renown and get back to us.
Be interesting if he takes on Kessler... who will tear him a new one, literally.
Cassius_Clay
8 Mar 2007, 19:22
What a fag Mundine is. Not even having the Aussie flag. **** off out of our contry Mundie. No-one likes you anyway.
paul scholes
8 Mar 2007, 19:28
What a fag Mundine is. Not even having the Aussie flag. **** off out of our contry Mundie. No-one likes you anyway.
What a simpletons argument. Gee fancy not having a flag that represented murdering his ancestors. I can't stand him personally. Is that the flag with another countries flag in the corner peanut? Mundie
Thats what I thought. Good on him for being proud of his aboriginal heritage. I'd even go as far as saying good on him for being proud of his half arsed attempt at islam.
But he has been given a huge start in life being born in the greatest country in the world and the prick wont even stand in front of the flag.
HATE HIM WITH A PASSION!
NorthBhoy
8 Mar 2007, 20:07
Thats what I thought. Good on him for being proud of his aboriginal heritage. I'd even go as far as saying good on him for being proud of his half arsed attempt at islam.
But he has been given a huge start in life being born in the greatest country in the world and the prick wont even stand in front of the flag.
HATE HIM WITH A PASSION!
You absolute spanner.
Without going into the reasons in any detail about why he might not want to stand in front of a flag that represents a large part of an empire that did everything possible to wipe out his race of people (think about that. Really think about it), why should he do it? Why should anyone do it if they don't feel the need to?
The bloke is a superstar. A freak. He has almost conquered two proffessional sports in a very short space of time. I have no opinion on his antics outside the ring. I don't like it, but if you don't believe half of it is a p1sstake then you have fecal matter for brains. He makes alot of money by being hated.
Sorry mate, didn't realise he was 220 years old.
But I agree with you, top athlete, but a complete ****er.
yeah-nah
8 Mar 2007, 23:42
rubbish. Beaten no one. The only time he has fought anyone above the level of gimp he has been whipped.
Fast, but very average fighter.
Haven't seen the fight yet, would it be on youtube? My work blocks it so I can't search now.
rubbish. Beaten no one. The only time he has fought anyone above the level of gimp he has been whipped.
Fast, but very average fighter.
yea mate. Goodonya.
Haven't seen the fight yet, would it be on youtube? My work blocks it so I can't search now.
just highlights atm.
hebdog85
9 Mar 2007, 11:34
great peformance from mundine, but the win was soured by his antics!
to walk out with an aboriginal and also a torres straight islander flag and not an australian flag is a joke.... anthony mundine is an aboriginal "australian".... for him not to even acknowledge the country that has given him and his people free education, health care and a range of other benefits that white Australian's do not receive is outrageous. just shows how taken for granted we are.
the stolen generation was a long time ago, long before our time. i don't understand why we should still bear the blame for something we personally didn't do.
hebdog85
9 Mar 2007, 11:37
You absolute spanner.
Without going into the reasons in any detail about why he might not want to stand in front of a flag that represents a large part of an empire that did everything possible to wipe out his race of people (think about that. Really think about it), why should he do it? Why should anyone do it if they don't feel the need to?
The bloke is a superstar. A freak. He has almost conquered two proffessional sports in a very short space of time. I have no opinion on his antics outside the ring. I don't like it, but if you don't believe half of it is a p1sstake then you have fecal matter for brains. He makes alot of money by being hated.
he never conquered rugby league mate.... he thought he was the best, but based on statistics and common opinions he was merely an average league player, who you cannot compare to the likes of fittler, daley, lockyer
he is a great boxer... but i wouldn't say he has conquered that sport either.... could not defeat ottke or kessler, and I doubt he would have any chance against Calazghe or Lacy.
NorthBhoy
9 Mar 2007, 12:55
great peformance from mundine, but the win was soured by his antics!
to walk out with an aboriginal and also a torres straight islander flag and not an australian flag is a joke.... anthony mundine is an aboriginal "australian".... for him not to even acknowledge the country that has given him and his people free education, health care and a range of other benefits that white Australian's do not receive is outrageous. just shows how taken for granted we are.
the stolen generation was a long time ago, long before our time. i don't understand why we should still bear the blame for something we personally didn't do.
Dunno where to start with this. Can't be bothered.
It seems to be that Choc could line up and smash every bloke on the planet, and a bunch of rednecks would laughably continue their crap about him fighting no-one of quality because we haven't cloned a half man, half Wolverine yet.
****ers.
Dunno where to start with this. Can't be bothered.
It seems to be that Choc could line up and smash every bloke on the planet, and a bunch of rednecks would laughably continue their crap about him fighting no-one of quality because we haven't cloned a half man, half Wolverine yet.
****ers.
your a ****. you first say you cant be bothered with it, then you ramble out the most bull**** ive seen dribble from anyones mouth.
The reason people say he hasnt beaten anyone yet is because he hasnt. Soliman and Green are good fighters, but not world beaters. His ability was highlighted against kessler. Until he fights him again, hes still a beter average boxer who is a disgrace to the larger part of the nation.
The reason people say he hasnt beaten anyone yet is because he hasnt. Soliman and Green are good fighters, but not world beaters.
God I hate fight Aussie fights, brings out all the clowns.
On what basis do you base this ripper of a comment on?
Green and Soliman werent "world beaters" hey. How can Green be an interim world champion, having arguably beaten world champion Beyer, and clearly dominated world champion Lucas? Forget anyone else, how can anyone beat this calibre of fighter and not be a "world beater"? If you beat a world champion at or around his title reign, sure it doesnt automically make you Ray Robison, but not a world beater? get off the turps. In the independant ratings Green was at least top 10, even as high as 5. If thats not world class, what is? Only p4p top 10 fighters are world class now?
And the same for Soliman. He fought numerous times in the USA against highly rated contenders, including a couple of IBF sanctioned official world title eliminators. He then went on to arguably beat Winky Wright, who is in many peoples top p4p. Sure, this was at 160, but he had a fight in the states to be ranked at 168. Again, on what bloody standard can you say Sam Soliman wasnt a world beater or world class. Give the guy a break, he was a good fighter, and a world class fighter.
Really, it seems all these Mundine baggers need him to beat the very best fighter in the division, or he has fought nobody. It's sickening, and whats even more sickening is that I am replying, but anyway.
Back to Green's opponents, if Green wasnt a "world beater" after beating guys like Lucas and Beyer - who has Kessler beaten then? His best wins are Beyer, Lucas, Siaca and Mundine. Apart from that he has stayed in Denmark feasting on "bums" in your obvious standard.
This guy is considered the best in the division, yet, he has beat guys all on a similar caliabre to Mundine. Tell me, why is he then rated so highly? Or is he a bum to then to you?
Tell me, in the past 10 years, who the heck has Calzaghe beaten, on a higher level than these guys? He was critised for years for fighting bums by the Americans, now all of a sudden he outpoints one of the most overrated Super Middles in years, and he is this undisputed 168 king?
On Lacy, do elaborate on his career and opponents standard? This will be good. A bigger bunch of nobody opponents for such a highly hyped fighter you will never find.
Look at Calzaghe's past 5 years- Bika, Lacy, Ashira, Veit, Salem, Mkrtchien, Mitchell, Pudwil, Jiminez.
Hardly a whose who of the division. Im a boxing nut, yet many of these names I have never heard of. Is he a bum too then?
Fact is, Mundine has beaten and fought guys at or around the top dogs at 168.
The independant ratings at boxrec list him 3rd, only behind Calzaghe and Kessler at 168, so the boxing experts know nothing, and you do, having the authority to say he has fought nobody?
Sure, he isnt a world champion, I know and acknoledge that. Yes, he rubs most people the wrong way, no doubt.
But please, stop posting embarassingly stupid comments on his boxing ability or career, and an area too many obviously have no clue about.
If every fighter in the division was held to the standard many want to hold Mundine to, then they are all "bums" who have fought nobody.
Only an extremely small number of fighters at any one time, are able to fight and cleanout a division of ranked contenders. It just doesnt happen in boxing that a fighter fights everyone anymore for various reasons.
Mayweather Jr is considered p4p#1, please discuss his opponents at 140 and 147 - why didnt he fight Cotto, Hatton or Margarito? Is he a bum then? A nobody?
Are there anygood fighters in the world, according to your standards?
Was Ray Robinson much chop?
Nobody is saying Mundine is the best in the division, heck I dont even think Mundine would say that. But to say his is not world class is pure ignorance which really annoys me.
And on Kessler, sure he outpointed Mundine, but Choc went the distance and had some moments. People talk about this guy as a monster, but Choc was not outclassed at all, and did much better than world champions Beyer and Lucas. Mundine has come along way since that fight as well.
People talk about the Kessler fight as if Mundine was made to look 2nd rate and not in the same class as most peoples best at 168. Outpointed yes, bashed he wasnt.
Green and Soliman werent "world beaters" hey. How can Green be an interim world champion, having arguably beaten world champion Beyer, and clearly dominated world champion Lucas? Forget anyone else, how can anyone beat this calibre of fighter and not be a "world beater"? If you beat a world champion at or around his title reign, sure it doesnt automically make you Ray Robison, but not a world beater? get off the turps. In the independant ratings Green was at least top 10, even as high as 5. If thats not world class, what is? Only p4p top 10 fighters are world class now?
And the same for Soliman. He fought numerous times in the USA against highly rated contenders, including a couple of IBF sanctioned official world title eliminators. He then went on to arguably beat Winky Wright, who is in many peoples top p4p. Sure, this was at 160, but he had a fight in the states to be ranked at 168. Again, on what bloody standard can you say Sam Soliman wasnt a world beater or world class. Give the guy a break, he was a good fighter, and a world class fighter.
Really, it seems all these Mundine baggers need him to beat the very best fighter in the division, or he has fought nobody. It's sickening, and whats even more sickening is that I am replying, but anyway.
Back to Green's opponents, if Green wasnt a "world beater" after beating guys like Lucas and Beyer - who has Kessler beaten then? His best wins are Beyer, Lucas, Siaca and Mundine. Apart from that he has stayed in Denmark feasting on "bums" in your obvious standard.
This guy is considered the best in the division, yet, he has beat guys all on a similar caliabre to Mundine. Tell me, why is he then rated so highly? Or is he a bum to then to you?
Tell me, in the past 10 years, who the heck has Calzaghe beaten, on a higher level than these guys? He was critised for years for fighting bums by the Americans, now all of a sudden he outpoints one of the most overrated Super Middles in years, and he is this undisputed 168 king?
On Lacy, do elaborate on his career and opponents standard? This will be good. A bigger bunch of nobody opponents for such a highly hyped fighter you will never find.
Look at Calzaghe's past 5 years- Bika, Lacy, Ashira, Veit, Salem, Mkrtchien, Mitchell, Pudwil, Jiminez.
Hardly a whose who of the division. Im a boxing nut, yet many of these names I have never heard of. Is he a bum too then?
The independant ratings at boxrec list him 3rd, only behind Calzaghe and Kessler at 168, so the boxing experts know nothing, and you do, having the authority to say he has fought nobody?
Sure, he isnt a world champion, I know and acknoledge that. Yes, he rubs most people the wrong way, no doubt.
But please, stop posting embarassingly stupid comments on his boxing ability or career, and an area too many obviously have no clue about.
If every fighter in the division was held to the standard many want to hold Mundine to, then they are all "bums" who have fought nobody.
Only an extremely small number of fighters at any one time, are able to fight and cleanout a division of ranked contenders. It just doesnt happen in boxing that a fighter fights everyone anymore for various reasons.
Mayweather Jr is considered p4p#1, please discuss his opponents at 140 and 147 - why didnt he fight Cotto, Hatton or Margarito? Is he a bum then? A nobody?
Nobody is saying Mundine is the best in the division, heck I dont even think Mundine would say that. But to say his is not world class is pure ignorance which really annoys me.
And on Kessler, sure he outpointed Mundine, but Choc went the distance and had some moments. People talk about this guy as a monster, but Choc was not outclassed at all, and did much better than world champions Beyer and Lucas. Mundine has come along way since that fight as well.
People talk about the Kessler fight as if Mundine was made to look 2nd rate and not in the same class as most peoples best at 168. Outpointed yes, bashed he wasnt.
What a total ****!! if your not the best fighter in your weight division and there are 17 weight divisions these days. You are not a world champion and you are not a world beater .Mundine is a hack! pure and simple ,hes got nothing ,Joe Calzaghe would destroy him !Mundine knows that, thats why hes gonna fight some blown up welterweights till one of them beats him.He would not last 3 rounds with the greats of the 168 pounds division .Nigel Benn,Chris Eubank,Steve Collins,Roy Jones,Gerrald McClennan .Mundine may be the best fighter over 115 pounds in Australia but that doesnt mean hes any good im afraid .
nah he just says his the best everytime he opens his mouth
What a simpletons argument. Gee fancy not having a flag that represented murdering his ancestors. I can't stand him personally. Is that the flag with another countries flag in the corner peanut? Mundie
still no excuse to burn a picture of a prime minister who had nothing to do with it.
Mundine wants to be hated, lets see how he feels when he retires loses his money and no one wants him around.
Lightning_Rod
9 Mar 2007, 23:44
still no excuse to burn a picture of a prime minister who had nothing to do with it.
Mundine wants to be hated, lets see how he feels when he retires loses his money and no one wants him around.
bitter?
the title on the line was a joke kessler is still number one but hey if it gives mundine a chance to say "2 time world champion" than all of you deluded fools probably beleive it
Therussian
10 Mar 2007, 21:28
the title on the line was a joke kessler is still number one but hey if it gives mundine a chance to say "2 time world champion" than all of you deluded fools probably beleive it
spot on,
there are a minimum of 5 belts in every div, every boxer out there has a belt of some sort from undisputed world champ to sth east crn of frankston light middleweight champ
surfsup
12 Mar 2007, 01:21
Mundine could be the best fighter in the w-h-o-l-e w-i-d-e w-o-r-l-d E-V-E-R and most people in Australia would still hate him.
Does this man ever shut up. Bet he can't even spell humility.
Anthony 'The Mouth' Mundine = Australias #1 Disliked Sports Person
pinkus maximus
12 Mar 2007, 04:40
actually ive come around and am now a mundine fan. i still dont like how hes americanised but i appreciate his skill
The Joker
12 Mar 2007, 13:55
are any of your just jealous that a black man beat the the best white man Australia has to offer???
embrace the fact Anthony Mundine is the WBA S/M World Champion
bassmanx
12 Mar 2007, 16:14
Racism and jealousy have nothing to do with it.
Mundine rubs a lot of people the wrong way.
He knows exactly what he is doing and it works well for him.
The simple fact is every time he steps up to the world stage he has been beaten.
He is however a two time interim champion.
Joker, embrace the fact that Kessler is recognised as the WBA S/M Super Champion.
The Joker
12 Mar 2007, 17:30
Racism and jealousy have nothing to do with it.
Mundine rubs a lot of people the wrong way.
He knows exactly what he is doing and it works well for him.
The simple fact is every time he steps up to the world stage he has been beaten.
He is however a two time interim champion.
Joker, embrace the fact that Kessler is recognised as the WBA S/M Super Champion.
Put what ever name you want on it...Danny Green was world Champ too :rolleyes:
There is no "Interim" on his WBA Championship belt...
and mate dont kid yourself, Racism has alot to do with it (maybe not with you but others), thats one fact you cant hide
surfsup
12 Mar 2007, 20:11
are any of your just jealous that a black man beat the the best white man Australia has to offer???
embrace the fact Anthony Mundine is the WBA S/M World Champion
No not in the slightest.
I can't stand people with big mouths and Mundine has a cavern on his face with teeth in it.
The sooner someone knocks a few of his pearly whites down his throat the better. Can't wait!:thumbsu:
crownie
12 Mar 2007, 22:44
and mate dont kid yourself, Racism has alot to do with it (maybe not with you but others), thats one fact you cant hide
rubbish.
skin colour and race has nothing to do with it, not to many Aussies are fond of the way Lleyton Hewitt (white) plays tennis.
Therussian
12 Mar 2007, 22:55
Is that a salt and vinegar or chicken chip on your shoulder.
People dont like Mundine because he is a full time w*nker.
Great athlete but w*nker none the less.
People loved and still love Lionel Rose so dont use the race card here Champ!
All we need now is for the IBF, WBC and WBO to jump on the 'superchamp' bandwagon and the whole sport will go to the pigs (hasn't it already?). Back in the day fighters like Mundine were known as contenders, now they are known as 'two time'.
bassmanx
13 Mar 2007, 09:57
Two time interim isn't a name that I put on it mate...
Occasionally, the world champion of a particular weight division is temporarily unable to defend his championship because of medical, legal, or other reasons that are beyond the champion's control. When this case occurs, two highly ranked contenders will fight for the interim championship of the same weight division—leading to two champions existing in the same weight division simultaneously. Once the world champion is able to return, he must fight against the interim champion. The winner of this bout reunifies the weight division as sole world champion. If the world champion cannot return or moves to a different weight division, the interim champion becomes the world champion.
All we need now is for the IBF, WBC and WBO to jump on the 'superchamp' bandwagon and the whole sport will go to the pigs (hasn't it already?). Back in the day fighters like Mundine were known as contenders, now they are known as 'two time'.
HIT-NAIL-ON-HEAD
crownie
13 Mar 2007, 18:39
HIT-NAIL-ON-HEAD
absolutly.
bring back the old days when you had the one champ for each weight division.
swift24
13 Mar 2007, 22:24
I dont mind Mundine 1 bit . . the way he goes about his boxing is brilliant, he attracts all the spectators and boxing followers to his fights, he uses his mouth as a marketing tool, but the thing i love about him lately, is that he talks it up more than anyone else i know, and he backs it up with wins in the boxing ring. he is the showcase of Australian Boxing . . Mind you, all of this is my own opinion and im not trying to attract criticism just stating what i think.
ANTHONY ' THE MAN ' MUNDINE - WBA S/M Champion Of The World
crownie
13 Mar 2007, 23:18
I dont mind Mundine 1 bit . . the way he goes about his boxing is brilliant, he attracts all the spectators and boxing followers to his fights, he uses his mouth as a marketing tool, but the thing i love about him lately, is that he talks it up more than anyone else i know, and he backs it up with wins in the boxing ring. he is the showcase of Australian Boxing . . Mind you, all of this is my own opinion and im not trying to attract criticism just stating what i think.
ANTHONY ' THE MAN ' MUNDINE - WBA S/M Champion Of The World
i dont think people mind Mundine when he yaps on about his boxing, the media is a sucker for any quote and sports people eg kevin sheedy, Glenn McGrath will say anything to create a bit of interest.
i think most peoples dislike for Mundine come from his comments and actions that are not boxing related eg. saying the americans brought on 9/11 themselves and burning the union jack flag and a picture of the Australian PM.
Also the fact that his not the most literate person makes him look stupid enough.
celtic_pride
15 Mar 2007, 08:45
Isn't it funny though that in hindsight, perhaps Mundine's 9/11 comments (esp with the botched mess that was the war in Iraq) are probably more insightful and truthful (if a tad insensitive) then first thought.
Come on, how long does a man have to pay for making a comment on a political situation.
FWIW I reckon he's an champion, and yes Mundine is oz's greatest sports athlete at the moment IMHO.
Lightning_Rod
15 Mar 2007, 17:50
i dont think people mind Mundine when he yaps on about his boxing, the media is a sucker for any quote and sports people eg kevin sheedy, Glenn McGrath will say anything to create a bit of interest.
i think most peoples dislike for Mundine come from his comments and actions that are not boxing related eg. saying the americans brought on 9/11 themselves and burning the union jack flag and a picture of the Australian PM.
Also the fact that his not the most literate person makes him look stupid enough.
i associate the southern cross and eureka flag to australia far more than i do for the damn union jack, and the reason he did that is cos the owners of the union jack took over wat was the aboriginal land and killed and made his people into slaves, so he might have a slight case for burning the jack. on the pm note, who cares its little johnny howard the primeminiture, he is a complete tosser. sounds more like sour grapes to me.
Mundine was soundly beaten by Kessler and would be soundly beaten by Calzaghe, FACT. he's the 3rd best super middleweight at the very very best.
The Joker
23 Mar 2007, 15:55
Mundine was soundly beaten by Kessler and would be soundly beaten by Calzaghe, FACT. he's the 3rd best super middleweight at the very very best.
Different type of fighter now, the fight he fought against Kessler was nothing like the way he fights now...To say Mundine has NOT improved is ignorant and/or blind...
IMHO Green would have beaten Kessler if he had the chance, There isnt that much to Kessler's game that could trouble Mundine (today) or Green...
How is that a FACT??? Do you have a crystal ball, i have seen fighters loose fights nobody would have ever predicted...there is never a FACT in boxing until it has happened.
rooboy_90
28 May 2008, 22:46
Any updates?
Lightning_Rod
28 May 2008, 23:10
yes ive been hoping for update, but no doubt knowing these event the main event ahsnt even started yet, in all seriousness anthony should shit it in, but one wonders, just wat could be if he loses,just imagine the media.
bushranger
28 May 2008, 23:18
Soliman will win.
is ben cousins there?
Cassius_Clay
28 May 2008, 23:32
Apparently. In to the 4th. Close fight, Soliman winning.
Cassius_Clay
28 May 2008, 23:34
Mundine wins 5th easily.
Any updates? Who won the earlier rounds?
bushranger
28 May 2008, 23:45
go sammy
Hawk0373
28 May 2008, 23:57
Just on SEN
nearing end of round 11.
Close fight - reporter has Soliman by a point at this stage.
Soliman improving in the 2nd half.
Has caught Mundine a few times with some nice punches, Mundine not throwing many but when he does they connect.
Should have gone down to the local.:mad:
JasRulz63
29 May 2008, 00:05
Mundine wins
On SEN, I heard the first two judges scored it 116-112, that's it though, crowd became too loud
danzan22
29 May 2008, 00:09
Last judge scored it 117-112
Soliman and the whole crowd feels he has been robbed, i reckon soliman had that won and to see mundine won it so easily is a surprise.
bushranger
29 May 2008, 00:14
If he was not a vic he would have won.
danzan22
29 May 2008, 00:17
If he was not a vic he would have won.
Why would the the judges give a shit about state rivalry, none of them were from Australia and they all gave it to mundine. He was the cleaner fighter, Stuck alot more punches on the head.