View Full Version : 24. Trent Croad
philhawk
9th March 2007, 17:56
According to the My Man Thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=291068), it looks like Number 24 and Psycosis will be the ones responsible for looking after Croady for us this season.
Take it away, guys!
philhawk
24th May 2007, 19:29
http://hawthornfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsId=43824
Croad to become life member
4:47:00 PM Wed 23 May, 2007 | Back
for hawthornfc.com.au
TRENT Croad becomes a Hawthorn life member on Saturday when he plays his 150th club game against West Coast.
The 27-year-old has been a strong contributor so far in season 2007, despite missing three games with a foot injury.
Originally recruited from Dandenong U18, Croad spent three years at the Hawks before being traded to Fremantle at the end of 2001. After two years in the west he returned to Hawthorn for the start of the 2004 season.
Reaching life membership sees Croad become the 48th Hawthorn player to play 150 games for the club.
Croad joins current teammates Shane Crawford and Ben Dixon on the life members honour board and will be acknowledged at the club’s Annual General Meeting on December 13 at the Hawthorn Town Hall.
“I am very proud to become a life member of the Hawthorn Football Club and feel privileged to be part of this club,” Croad said.
“It’s fantastic to play 150 club games, but it’s important too for the team to play well on Saturday and have a win.”
Croad hasn’t looked back since rejoining the club. He was named centre half-back in the 2005 All Australian team, an indication of his maturity, work ethic and dedication.
“I’ve had some highs and lows in my footy career, but coming back to Hawthorn and being part of a young team on the rise is very exciting,” he said.
Views: 2,814
Great work, Trent. Was absolutely gutted when he was traded, but to see him back and being suck a vital cog of our team just gladdens my heart!
Rexcellent
5th August 2007, 11:41
She's my baby: Croad
05 August 2007 Sunday Herald Sun
Rosanne Michie
TRENT Croad says his life changed the instant he laid eyes on his newborn daughter, Kiera.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5596833,00.jpg Daddy's girl: Trent Croad treasure his new role as father to three-week-old Kiera. Picture: Tim Carrafa
"She is my princess. I just adore her. It is the most unbelievable feeling -- I am besotted," the Hawthorn defender said.
Croad and wife Tanya are sharing the around-the-clock demands of three-week-old Kiera and are exhausted, but euphoric.
"Can you believe we made her? She is perfect," he said.
Kiera made her first tentative social step this week - a play date with Charlie, the one-year-old son of Croad's teammate, Shane Crawford, and his partner Olivia.
"There have been a lot of jokes at the club about Charlie Crawford and Kiera Croad becoming a great couple," Croad said. "Charlie was great with her. He's just starting to walk and he was fascinated by Kiera. He is very cute."
Tanya Croad said her husband had become an enthusiastic model father.
"He is wonderful with her. He gave me the night off the other night so I could get some sleep. We are very lucky," she said.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/foo...E19742,00.html (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22189411%255E19742,00.html)
Number 24
7th September 2007, 10:38
I took No 24 because of a long standing connection to this number...since 1954 in fact. Some great players have worn this number over those years. But I have not rated Croad as one of those, despite being named an AA.
My criticisms have been a lack of a football brain, an inability to take a contested mark and being a very ordinary disposer by foot, and giving away far too many soft free kicks in range of goal.
My assessment of Trent Croad in 2007 is that he has been a beauty down back for the Hawks. Solid, reliable, rarely beaten. Good decision making, mostly good disposal skills (it seems to me that this year he has layed off over shorter distances and is far, far more accurate and effective as a result.) He spoils very well and in doing so does not infringe much at all. He has also learned to spoil to advantage.
I don't know if a lot of this is due to the tuition Danny Frawley has given to the Backs, but if it is then well done Danny and Trent.
IMO 2007 saw a much less flashy player (except for a couple of grabs earlier in the season up forward and the spekky against Brisbane recently) but a much more settled, reliable and effective player.
Well done Trent, a great season from you.
RustyHawk
7th October 2007, 07:45
Trent's great season saw him come 9th in the clubs best and fairest award for 2007.
Sewell claims first Peter Crimmins Medal
11:01 PM Sat 6 October, 2007 | Back
for hawthornfc.com.au
News
DANGEROUS midfielder Brad Sewell claimed his first Peter Crimmins Medal after a nail-biting finish in front of a 1300 strong crowd at Crown’s Palladium on Saturday night.
In the count to decide the 2007 Hawthorn club champion, Sewell (173 votes) and eventual runner-up Campbell Brown (172 votes) went into the semi final against the Kangaroos on equal votes.
However, Sewell scored the winning votes after his solid performance to narrowly defeat Brown. 2005 Peter Crimmins Medallist Luke Hodge topped off another consistent year finishing in third position.
After four seasons and 64 games, Sewell’s achievement crowns another sensational year for the 23-year-old, who played every game for the second consecutive season.
Shifted from a small defender’s role to the midfield, Sewell averaged 21 possessions per game – the biggest return coming in round 21 against the Western Bulldogs when he picked up 39.
He laid the most tackles of any Hawk with 104 for the season and had his fair share of clearances. He also managed to curb the influence of a number of the big names in the AFL including Chris Judd, Shannon Grant, Paul Chapman and Adam Goodes.
In other awards, Stephen Gilham was named the Most Improved after stepping up as a key defender and playing every game since his elevation from the rookie list in round 19, 2006. Gilham’s willingness to keep learning and working hard won him the honour.
Sewell also picked up the club’s award for the best player in the finals, while Brent Guerra was rewarded for his hard working year at half-back securing the Most Consistent award.
Xavier Ellis was named the best first year player for his impressive debut season.
In his second year at the club, Ellis made his debut in round one and played a total of 13 games for the season, switching between the wing and half-back.
The contribution of retiring trio Richie Vandenberg, Ben Dixon and Joel Smith was acknowledged during a fitting tribute to the popular players.
Vandenberg was also awarded Best Clubman, an acknowledgment of how his peers regard him.
The Peter Crimmins Medal - an Olympic-sized gold medal depicting a sculptured image of the former Hawthorn champion - was presented to Sewell by Crimmins’ wife Gwen who attended the awards with son Sam and daughter Amber.
Crimmins was vice-captain of the 1971 premiership team and captain for two years from 1974. He fell ill with cancer on the eve of the 1974 finals series, missing September action that year.
However, the ‘little fellow’ made a return from treatment to play at the start of the 1975 season. In round six that year Crimmins had to return for intensive treatment and never played senior football again.
Club awards
Best Clubman - Richie Vandenberg
Most Improved - Stephen Gilham
Best First Year Player - Xavier Ellis
Most Consistent - Brent Guerra
Leading Goalkicker - Lance Franklin
Most Votes in the Brownlow - Sam Mitchell
Peter Crimmins Medal voting – top ten
Brad Sewell - 173
Campbell Brown - 172
Luke Hodge - 161
Jordan Lewis - 154
Sam Mitchell - 137
Lance Franklin - 136
Brent Guerra - 136
Shane Crawford - 126
Trent Croad - 121
Rick Ladson - 116
Peter Crimmins Medal voting procedure
Votes for the 2007 Peter Crimmins Medal were awarded by the match committee, consisting of senior coach Alastair Clarkson and assistants Todd Viney, Damien Hardwick and Ross Smith after each home-and-away and finals match.
A maximum of 16 votes could be accumulated by a player after the four coaches’ voting cards were submitted using the following grading system:
- three votes to the best player or players
- two votes for a good game
- one vote to players who beat their opponents
On rare occasions a player or players may receive four votes for an exceptional game.
There is no restriction on the number of players who receive votes in a match.
Big Ronnie
24th December 2007, 19:44
Selection 11 has gone to HAWKS HEROES who gleefully picked up Mr.Product Trent Croad.
He has pushed Dermie away and promises us that he will show the Captain of the backline how its done.
BR:thumbsu:
HAWKS HEROES
30th December 2007, 12:01
i thought i had trent ?
HAWKS HEROES
30th December 2007, 12:02
Selection 11 has gone to HAWKS HEROES who gleefully picked up Mr.Product Trent Croad.
He has pushed Dermie away and promises us that he will show the Captain of the backline how its done.
BR:thumbsu:
i will try :D
HAWKS HEROES
9th January 2008, 13:59
For all of us Hawks desperadoes hanging out for ANY news on the Hawks in the off season, Croady was on SEN today talking to Mark Allen and the Ox (for Frasier fans, otherwise known as Carlos and the Chicken???).
He talked about being the second oldest at the club (must have forgotten about Stewie Dew) at the age of 27 and how exciting the young guys are.
Talked about having to play on Buddy every day at training and that in his view (when compared to Pavlich) that Buddy is a bigger talent due to his size and athleticism up and down the ground.
He was asked if he thought Mitch Thorp could take CHF this year and he said definitely.
He said Roughie did have a set back but would take another big step this season. Willo is in good nick and is in full training and still has all the tricks.
Junior Boy is not really being mentored by anyone in particular, but moreso by all the forwards.
Talked about doing his 11th full pre seasons in a row and that it is not getting any easier on the body but loving it all the same, and also touched on his pride in getting life membership at the AGM last year was a highlight.
thanks to
Rabbits-Too many Rabbits!
on MH as i only hears a little bit which included he was looking after Keira till 5pm and she had just been unwell
HAWKS HEROES
1st February 2008, 15:28
sorry have been slack have not seen much sorry hear he is traing well
HAWKS HEROES
8th February 2008, 13:46
has had a hairy looks like a no 1 or 2
HAWKS HEROES
1st March 2008, 14:09
looked fighting fit at family day and his georgous baby did too
noosa hawk mad
5th March 2008, 14:38
Trent and Tanya Croad
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/62642.jpg
HAWKS HEROES
6th March 2008, 17:24
Trent and Tanya Croad
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/62642.jpg
thanks
they looked good didn't they
HAWKS HEROES
24th March 2008, 15:06
poor guy injured his wrist dislocated might be out 6 to 7 weeks ? :(
hope he gets better when i saw him on the big screen knew something bad had happened .
HAWTHORN medical staff will monitor Trent Croad throughout the week after scans revealed the defender had dislocated his wrist, but escaped a fracture or break.Croad, 28, was taken by ambulance from the MCG to Melbourne's Epworth hospital after playing just four minutes of Sunday’s clash with Melbourne.
He fell heavily after botching a tackle on Melbourne skipper David Neitz and ran from the field cradling his left wrist, which he broke in 2006.
After the 104-point win over the Demons, coach Alastair Clarkson said the Hawks were “hoping for the best” with Croad.
"It mucked up our structure temporarily; we already had [Campbell] Brown out of the side with suspension, and then another bookend in Croady goes down,” Clarkson said.
"But Robert Campbell went back and did a pretty good job on Neitz throughout the course of the game, and he kept him pretty quiet."
Croad underwent surgery on the wrist back in 2006 and missed four games.
He finished ninth in the club's best and fairest last year after holding down centre half-back for a large part of his 20 games played.
HAWKS HEROES
19th April 2008, 14:11
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsid=57861
Mitchell to return, Croad a chance
Author: By Catherine Murphy 12:00 PM Mon 14 April, 2008
[HAWTHORN’S Shane Crawford says club skipper Sam Mitchell is likely to be back for the club’s round five clash against the Brisbane Lions next week after being a late withdrawal for Sunday’s match against Adelaide.
“Sammy hurt his calf but I think he’s a really good chance to play this week which is good. We were hoping he’d come up last week but that wasn’t the case,” Crawford said.
Trent Croad could also be back in the side ahead of time. The defender dislocated his wrist just minutes into the Hawks’ round one victory over Melbourne.
“He might be a chance in the next couple of weeks. He’s not far at all. I’d like to say he’s a chance this week but I’m not 100 per cent on that. We definitely need him going up to Brisbane against Jonathan Brown.”
noosa hawk mad
23rd April 2008, 07:40
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/hawks-well-on-road-to-consistency-says-croad/2008/04/20/1208629737266.html
AFTER missing three matches due to injury, Hawthorn
defender Trent Croad is glad to be back playing football and being part of a winning team.
But returning to play — earlier than was originally expected afterdislocating a wrist in round one — has Croad feeling the pain.
"I'm feeling it today, that's for sure, I'm going home to have a big sleep," he said yesterday after the team's return from Brisbane, where the Hawks defeated the Lions by 12 points on Saturday night.
"I was given the task on Jonathan Brown, and definitely, your work's cut out for you every time (but) I did have a lot of help with the other defenders in Campbell Brown, Brent Guerra and Stephen Gilham playing down back. I suppose good sides have good defences, so we want to continue on becoming better each week."
Hawthorn has not lost a game this season and is second on the ladder, behind premier Geelong on percentage. Croad said he would like to think the Hawks could mix it with the league's best teams.
"To be honest, we basically need to," Croad said.
"Hawthorn's been down the lower end over the last few years and finally we're consolidating a good, mature team that's starting to play consistent football. It's the first time in eight years we've won in Brisbane, so that's a great stat in itself."
After the match, Hawks coach Alastair Clarkson said he would risk getting players reported "every day of the week" if it meant they were competitive. Croad said they had several players who played each game to the limit.
"In today's game, it's those types of players that win you matches and you basically don't want them to cross over that line and if the ball's there to be won, we're expected to go in there and get it and come out with it," he said.
And of Lance Franklin, who helped Hawthorn to victory with a stunning 8.6 performance, Croad quipped he was glad he didn't have to face off against him.
"He's been in fantastic form, Buddy, and he's just been a fantastic asset to the club," he said.
"What can you say? We got eight goals from him, but the best thing from a club point of view that we're finding out about him this year is how well he's playing defensively; just the way he's tackling and actually sharing the ball as well, it's not just the one focal point for him to kick goals."
Croad confirmed what many have thought by saying Franklin did things "in an uncanny way" but would not dub him the best player in the competition.
"I'm not going to put that kind of pressure on him, but he's definitely a guy that has attributes that not many players have at all. He's a special kid," Croad said.
Hawthorn will play Richmond at the MCG on Sunday.
HAWKS HEROES
24th April 2008, 19:17
he did a wonderful job on one johnno brown who should have got a week for what he did to Sam
HAWKS HEROES
4th May 2008, 16:22
:thumbsu:Trent had a ripper of a game i thought .
he kept his man Cloke fairly quiet which was a great job
he did a rushed goal that was wrong called i reckon [re watched the game ] he did get a soft fist to it :thumbsu:
HAWKS HEROES
15th May 2008, 20:14
i love this guy heaps he tried to keep Buddy quite but hey did any one see that mark he took what a ripper back into the pack and nice grab .
got a ball after the game of the man too :thumbsu:
HAWKS HEROES
27th May 2008, 20:51
thought he did a great job took some lovely marks and some huge kicks
HAWKS HEROES
6th June 2008, 18:43
i was so busy giving it to Brian like Harris what ever he wants to call himself this week and defending Tim Clark that i did not notice Croady much bar when i gave him a fright with my yell of tora tora tora he turned around to see who it was
i know he was working hard
HAWKS HEROES
8th June 2008, 16:36
thought he played well did make a mistaking kicking to a bomber once but other then that was fine
HAWKS HEROES
14th June 2008, 10:53
rumor has it that he may not be playing ? hasn't trained all week so i've heard hope is wrong and not true
HAWKS HEROES
14th June 2008, 13:21
19Legends
ON MH
've also posted this on the match thread, but I was fortunate to meet Ross Smith & Damien Hardwicke this morning. Asked them if the fire alarm had gone off last night - fortuntely it had not so we have no excuses there. Then asked if Croad was out & Ross said yes & Murphy to replace him...
moginie
14th June 2008, 13:39
It's a shoulder injury according to Ross Smith.
HAWKS HEROES
14th June 2008, 14:28
hope he gets better sooooooon
HAWKS HEROES
26th June 2008, 21:13
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsId=62220
Hawks to recall Crawford, Croad
HAWTHORN is set to be boosted by the return of key players Shane Crawford and Trent Croad for Friday night's clash with West Coast at the MCG.
Crawford has been sidelined since round eight with a knee injury while Croad has missed the past two matches with a hip complaint, and coach Alastair Clarkson welcomed the key defender's return.
"He's pretty important to us because he's a big brute," Clarkson said of Croad on Thursday.
"We've been playing (Stephen) Gilham and (Campbell) Brown on bigger type opponents and Croady just gives you more flexibility.
"He can play on a tall or a small, he's pretty important to our back mix.
"They’re two pretty handy ins for us and they’ll add some stability and some leadership to our side."
noosa hawk mad
29th June 2008, 09:19
Croad is ready for a break
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/new...472843350.html (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/croad-is-ready-for-a-break/2008/06/28/1214472843350.html)
Croad is ready for a break
Marika Dobbin | June 29, 2008
EXPERIENCED Hawthorn defender Trent Croad says the mid-season break could not be more welcome as his young team prepares to test itself against some of the competition's best sides in forthcoming rounds.
Speaking after Friday night's 57-point thumping of West Coast, Croad said the players were mentally and physically exhausted after winning 12 matches in 14 rounds.
"This break's a godsend," he said. "We've won the most amount of games we've ever won in a season to this point and we're a very young team that's still developing really well.
"We've got a couple of older guys in amongst it to complement the rest of the team. This break couldn't have come around any better to freshen the young bodies up and get ready for a tough month."
Despite Friday night's margin, Hawthorn was not overly impressive against the Eagles and overused the handball at times, instead of looking for a kicking option.
West Coast managed to stay in the game for the first half and won the third quarter, before succumbing to the better side.
Hawthorn has been depleted by injuries and suspensions in its past five games, recording its only losses of the season, against North Melbourne last week and the Western Bulldogs in round 10.
Croad's comments echo those of coach Alastair Clarkson, who said after the game that the Hawks "just limped" into the bye, with plenty of sore bodies.
Hawthorn is heading into a challenging part of its draw, next taking on Sydney at the MCG, then St Kilda, Geelong and Collingwood.
Clarkson expects three injured players — Simon Taylor, Chance Bateman and Brad Sewell — to be ready for selection against Sydney.
However, the Hawks have fresh injury concerns after Friday night, with midfielder Jordan Lewis planted on the bench from the second quarter with a sore hip, Crawford sitting out the last because of recurring tendonitis in a knee and Luke Hodge missing the third because of a sore calf.
Hodge came back on in the last quarter and appeared unhindered, kicking two goals and having 10 disposals.
Young ruckman Brent Renouf showed some promising form in the second quarter against Eagles veteran Dean Cox, but was reported in the third for striking Adam Selwood.
Croad was spent after the game but said he relished being allowed to play after two weeks on the sideline with a hip compliant.
The defender was among the Hawks' best, taking 13 marks, having 20 disposals and at one point grabbing Eagle Adam Hunter in a marking contest and throwing him to the ground to take a mark, in a show of strength.
"It's just fantastic to come back and play my role in the team and help these other young guys out," Croad said. "I think we played one of our youngest lists over the last couple of weeks and it's just good with (Crawford) and (me) back to add some games-played to the list.
"We've got a real tough month coming up and we're going to learn a hell of a lot about our team, that's for sure …
"With a young developing list, we could improve everywhere, all over. There are so many things that we could get better at on the field and we'll just continue to train hard and, hopefully, the younger guys come of age very, very quickly."
Croad, 27, said he was looking forward to spending time with his family during the week off, particularly his daughter Kiera, who will celebrate her first birthday this week.
HAWKS HEROES
29th June 2008, 13:08
he did an awesome job yesterday
(talking about Round 14 vs West Coast Eagles on Friday 27.04.08 @ MCG)
RustyHawk
30th June 2008, 17:46
Hawk faces two match ban
4:14 PM Mon 30 June, 2008
HAWTHORN’S Brent Renouf has been offered a two-game sanction with an early plea after being charged with a Level Four striking offence against Adam Selwood.
The Match Review Panel assessed the incident as reckless conduct (two points), high impact (three points) and high contact (two points), totalling seven activation points, drawing 325 demerit points and a three-match ban. As he has no existing good or bad record he can make an early plea, reducing the demerit points to 243.75 and a two-match ban.
In other Match Review Panel decisions, Darren Glass, Adam Hunter, Trent Croad, Mark Williams and Lance Franklin have all been charged with engaging in a melee and can all accept $1200 fines with early pleas.
Carlton’s Brendan Fevola has been charged with a third offence for wrestling with Kelvin Moore of Richmond. He can accept a $3000 fine with an early plea.
HAWKS HEROES
14th July 2008, 21:02
thought he did EXTREMELY well yesterday
hawkstars
14th July 2008, 21:32
Croady was superb. Truly in the top 5 most important at the hawks IMO. Buddy, Hodge, Brown & Robby Campbell. I rate Bob very High.
HAWKS HEROES
16th July 2008, 21:20
Trent Croad just bought a new house so he says he’s going to have all the boys around for a house warming. I’m pretty sure that he’s not going to cook, I’m thinking his wife will. He thinks it’s a big event but the guys are just keen to get a free feed,” Murphy chuckled.
FOUND THAT IN THIS STORY :p
http://cms.hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsid=63328
HAWKS HEROES
26th July 2008, 12:59
now i think io frogot to put in for last week that the free paid against him was soft last week and nick would not have marked it anyway even if Croad had not touched him , this week he saved a few goals from getting through good stuff
HAWKS HEROES
26th July 2008, 15:28
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsid=64188
Gutted Croad finds the positives
THOUGH he searched for consolation in his team's gallant performance, Trent Croad found it hard to get past Hawthorn's chance to knock off reigning premier Geelong.
The third-placed Hawks challenged the Cats throughout an entertaining clash on Friday night, only to fall 11 points short.
"To be honest I’m a shattered man," Croad said after the game.
"But the best thing for our young group [is] they (the Cats) are three or four years ahead of us.
"We've shortened the time and it's a real strong reminder of where we are at, against the best in the AFL. We had many chances to win that game, and we are not too far away which is great for our young kids."
For Croad, the near capacity crowd evoked memories of when the Hawks made it to a preliminary final at the MCG.
"To play in front of almost 90,000 people – I haven’t had that opportunity since 2001 (finals) so those chances don’t come around too often," he said.
And Croad believes it was Geelong's edge in experience that produced the result.
"I hate saying the ‘younger group’, but the reality is that we haven’t had many players that have been in that environment before and maybe that was a contributor to some errors," he said.
"But at the end of the day, skill errors happen, they made some and we made some, but their experience got them over the line."
He said that use of defender Campbell Brown in attack was a fantastic move by Alastair Clarkson, and was also impressed with how the backline covered his absence.
"He’s very fast and evasive and is hard to match up on," Croad noted. "Not only can he kick some goals he did some great chase-downs. I was proud of him."
"It was fine [in defence without him]. Stephen Gilham and Tom Murphy were good. Tom Murphy has really emerged lately and I've been working closely with him.
"Tom and Stephen now can hold their own against some of the best players one-on-one. I thought one-on-one they were fantastic, which was what it was all about tonight."
It was the first time the teams had met in 15 months and, since round four last year, Geelong has gathered enormous momentum.
"Quite simply they are the best," Croad said. "They are well-drilled and they have got what it takes to win a premiership. For us it is fantastic to get a reminder of what level you have got to get to, to win one.
"We go away from this with some great experience and ideas
"You see someone like Cyril Rioli who is 18 and playing against these guys in front of 90,000 people. These young kids under 21 can only get better from playing in front of these crowds.
"The new-age kids are ready to go. One, it’s a reminder of where they are at, Two, what it takes to win a premiership, and three, being in an environment of 90,000 people on a Friday night."
HAWKS HEROES
2nd August 2008, 08:36
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24109064-19767,00.html
ASK what drives Trent Croad and it's not the disappointment of September last year.
Indeed, his memory of last year's finals series, like that of teammate Luke Hodge, is the elimination final win against Adelaide at the Dome, where "Buddy" Franklin kicked the boy's-own winner with eight seconds to play.
What a buzz, Croad recalled.
The North Melbourne semi-final loss the next weekend, however, has been pocketed in the "Never Think About Again" category.
"It was chalk and cheese," Croad said.
"I'd like to think we have unfinished business, that some of the guys have got a taste of the atmosphere."
Of the North game, he said: "That is stored away, but you've got to move on, get on with it."
No, September doesn't drive Trent Croad. He's driven by the greater future and the greater past.
"What does my locker say?" he asked. "Peter Knights 264 games, Chris Langford 303 games, then my name and it's blank.
"I look at it every day, especially moreso now. They are premiership players."
When did this dawn on you?
"When something is taken away from you, you don't realise what you've had," he said.
"I'm talking about when I was traded. I learnt a hell of a lot. I can't believe it's five years since I've returned. So much has happened, but that locker, it's the first thing I look at every morning, before I look at the No. 23 next to me.
"I see those two names and I ask myself: What do you want? Come on, what do you want? That locker . . .
"You need triggers every day, you need reminders and what better two to have, Knights and Langford, two premiership players."
It's about respect with Croad. For himself, for those who have gone before him, and for the club.
And, not insignificantly, respect from outside the club.
"I hope people respect me. I've lasted," he said.
"Actually, I'll answer that by saying, I'm going to make sure by the time I leave this game they do."
He's known as The General in some football circles. It's not a widely circulated moniker, nor one used by coaches, teammates and friends, but he is The General, the veteran of the Hawthorn backline.
"I have heard it mentioned," Croad laughed.
"I don't like to think of it like that. It's just I am the oldest down there, down the back. Actually, I was the oldest on the Hawthorn list last weekend, without Crawf there, without Dewy there. Imagine that, I was the oldest and I'm 28."
The surprise is enlightenment.
It comes because the one-time Peter Pan, who flitted about life as if it was one great adventure, has grown up.
He has changed as a consequence of two incidents. First, he returned to Hawthorn from Fremantle with a fierceness to prove the Hawks were wrong and, secondly, 13 months ago, he had a baby girl, Keisha, with his wife Tanya.
The combination focused his footy and his life to the point where Croad, without a hint of self-absorption, is confident about his standing in footy and outside it.
"It's funny isn't it, it's been five years since I left Fremantle," he said.
"But now I feel comfortable with my football. I am given a role each week and I really thrive on those roles. I'm confident and excited and happy about the young kids around me. I actually feel responsible for them. I feel that things that I do on the field hopefully flow among us all.
"I get a lot of confidence from the young kids, too. Being a defender you have a different mindset. The mindset of a defender is very much role-dominated. You are given a task and unless we work together and really, really support and help each other it won't work."
Fatherhood is also role-dominated. "It's not about me any more," he said.
"From when you are drafted, football dominates every AFL footballer. It's a major priority, but it's related to age.
"I can remember being taken as a 17-year-old and the next day I was down at Glenferrie Oval with Paul Salmon and Jason Dunstall getting my picture taken.
"Now I'm the oldest player. Crawf's older and now he's a father. Being a dad, well, it's just another responsibility. Having a daughter has a had very big impact on my life. She's one year and one month and," he joked, "I'm going to keep Charlie Crawford and Cooper Hodge away from Keira Croad."
Next time you watch Croad play, watch his confidence. The No. 24 has never been one without swagger, but there exudes a mature swagger, if that makes sense, for swagger means squat if, at 28, he isn't playing solid football.
That said, Croad can still appear awkward at times, and that's probably because he has an unusual running action, where the upper torso remains so still, and occasionally he might butcher the pill and occasionally he might off-load it in dangerous situations. But that is pin-pricking.
Croad has emerged as a key backman of the competition, a telltale sign being his opponents rarely kick matchwinning bags against him.
Asked when it arrived, when he was no longer intimidated by playing on the power forwards, Croad pondered the inquiry.
"It's a good question," he said. "I was taken out of school as a 17-year-old boy and now I'm a 28-year-old dad and your outlook on most things changes. It's funny. Your outlook on life becomes a lot more consistent in everything you do. Your highs aren't too high and your lows aren't too low, it's just consistent and that applies to football and life.
"I feel like I have matured. If anything, I've learnt under Alastair Clarkson that just remember where you've come from and that you have a responsibility. I'm not a young punk any more, I'm a dad and my responsibilities in life have changed and that has changed me. I suppose it's called growing up.
"From 17, to making it to a preliminary final in 2001, which was a high in football, I've seen some lows as well and you can take that as being traded or take that as being down the bottom of the ladder. But now I've got another good feeling again.
"I am very lucky and thankful and, as you said before, I feel so happy with the position I've been given. Appreciate is I guess the word."
Happy. It's a nice word. No one really knows what it means, but when you haven't got it, you crave it.
It's only a matter of opinion, but it's about being stress-free and in a place of contentment. Cue the outstanding footage of Joel Corey at the 'G an hour or so after last year's premiership. Engrossed on a darkened and empty ground, Corey said: "It's not often you get to a point where you are truly peaceful."
Croad said he is very happy, but wants to be happier.
"I think we both know it could get happier," he said. "I'd like to make the most of it over the next few years."
His journey, he said, was like most others in the AFL. That's not true, of course, for Croad's journey has been like no other.
This week he will play his 214th game. He was taken at No. 3 in the 1997 national draft and was immediately marketed as the new glamour boy. "At 17, you just woke up and did what you did," he said.
In what still seems a stunning decision, he was traded to the Dockers in 2001 for the No. 1 selection, which the club used to take Hodge.
Two seasons later, he was back at the Hawks.
"This is my 11th season and how do I describe it? I describe it as a roller-coaster of emotions," he said.
"I haven't achieved what I want to achieve and now I understand, clearly, moreso than I ever have before, what I want to leave the game with. This has emerged under Alastair since I've got back and it's got stronger and stronger every year.
"I don't like to use the word roller-coaster. I suppose it's just the pathway for 17-year-olds to 28. If you asked any 17-year-old, I reckon they'd have a few stories to tell on growing up. It's just a journey, a journey to become happy."
Not much gets Croad angry, although the questioning of the strength of his backline make him defensive.
"I don't get angry but I say to the guys, 'They don't rate our backline. They don't rate us'. You tell me what they say about us . . . "
That it might be the weak link.
"I don't think we're the weakness at all. I think we're the unknown. Just look at how they've come into the AFL and the nature of the guys in the backline. They're not flamboyant. It's just the way they go about it. They are all generals. They are a bunch of small generals in the way they go about their work.
"What makes me happy is when I finish a game and I walk off the field, with my five defenders around me. We all look at each other, put our arms around each other, and we don't have to say anything. We have a comfortable silence and that's a very good thing to have. Without saying anything, I know among each other we are thinking the same thing.
HAWKS HEROES
12th August 2008, 20:15
did a great job , totally helped frustrate that girl of johnny brown
HAWKS HEROES
19th August 2008, 19:45
i think he was one of the few good players against the tigers in what was a horrid game of footy
HAWKS HEROES
25th August 2008, 22:03
did a great job those spoils were great as usual AA again i reckon