View Full Version : 8. Xavier Ellis
philhawk
9th March 2007, 18:00
According to the My Man Thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=291068), it looks like delirious1 will be one of the posters responsible for looking after Xavier for us this season.
Take it away, delirious!
delirious1
10th March 2007, 17:44
Xavier Ellis
http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/9558/elliscu5.jpg
Pick 3-2005 national Draft
D.O.B-28th of Feburary, 1988
Height-187cm
Weight-72Kg
Recruited from-Gippsland Power
u18 All Australian
AIS acadamy scholarship holder
Matches in 2007-13
Medium Height Midfielder with Silky skills and uses the ball very well, Quick over 20 meters (2.98 at draft camp) Recruited as a bottom aged player
Spent his first season on the list focusing on his study, 2007 was able to break into the side by halfway though the season before being dropped come finals.
delirious1
10th March 2007, 21:14
Looked kinda nervous at the start, got a few kicks and marks, played ok but people seem to be hyping his preformance up a bit, didnt set the world on fire but looks to be a player, fine disposals as well
delirious1
21st March 2007, 13:03
His form in the NAB cup certainly gives him a strong chance to be picked for his first senior afl game
Roughie
22nd March 2007, 13:16
Looking forward to actually see him play if he gets a go in round 1!
Effes
23rd March 2007, 19:42
Looking forward to actually see him play if he gets a go in round 1!
What's the likelyhood that he'll play in round one? Did he play many (any?) games with Box Hill late in the season last year?
philhawk
28th March 2007, 01:23
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2007/03/27/1174761471909.html
Time for one young Hawk to earn his wings
Michael Gleeson
March 28, 2007
AFTER waiting more than a year, Hawthorn is finally likely to unveil one of its prized recruits from the 2005 national draft.
Like a couple of unwrapped presents under the Christmas tree, top draft picks Xavier Ellis and Beau Muston sat out all of last season through year 12 study commitments and a knee injury, respectively.
Now one of the pair is likely to finally make his debut in the season-opening game against Brisbane.
Both have played well through the pre-season and most recently in the practice match against Essendon but it is unlikely both players would make their debut at the same time.
Midfielder Ellis was taken at pick three in the 2005 draft after being expected to be selected by Collingwood with the second pick.
The fast-running half-back/midfielder broke a foot early last year but returned to play school football for Melbourne Grammar and for VFL side Box Hill late in the season.
He is possibly the more likely of the two to play should one of them be given the nod to make their debut.
Muston, also a quick midfielder, was the slightly more speculative selection as, at the time of the draft, he required a second reconstruction on a knee.
Without the need for a second operation he would likely have been vying with Ellis for a pick in the very earliest stages of the draft. As it was, he slid to a second-round pick (22 overall).
Given the concern over his knee and the possible risks of recovery it was only likely to be Hawthorn or Collingwood, both with five picks early in that draft, that could afford to gamble on Muston with a low draft pick.
As it was, Hawthorn got in first and his debut, when it eventually comes, will vindicate the club's decision.
The opportunities are there in the midfield for the Hawks this week as both former captain and Brownlow medallist Shane Crawford and rugged midfielder Campbell Brown are out suspended.
delirious1
28th March 2007, 16:44
With smith out he has a chance of cracking his first game on the weekend:thumbsu: wait till the team is announced before we get our hopes up
delirious1
9th April 2007, 18:56
Servicable, but i think he will make room for smith when he comes back in
philhawk
9th April 2007, 19:10
I'd say Clarke could have a better chance of being dropped for Smith than Ellis, delirious.
Ellis's disposal is seriously, top notch.
Is a 'must-have' for the HBF, IMO.
Hawk0373
9th April 2007, 19:58
I think Smith will come back through the 2's, esp after a win. Ellis is ahead of Clarke who would make way for Bateman next week anyway.
Roughie
9th April 2007, 20:03
Only played 50 minutes by 4th quarter, and hurt melbourne with his disposal! Backed him self as the game went on and has a great spoil!
Played better this when the last I think so he should remain in the team!
DynamoUltra
10th April 2007, 19:28
Has he had a clanger yet?
delirious1
22nd April 2007, 22:28
by todays game, yes
kicking into the breeze, give him the benifit of the doubt, he scared the hell out of me when he missed though:thumbsu:
I think a run in the VFL for a few weeks would be better for him ATM then keeping him in the afl
delirious1
29th June 2007, 15:46
Not much touches in the last game, but used the ball very well when he did get his hands on it
expect next year to prove why he was picked at number 2, when he bulks up more
delirious1
5th July 2007, 21:39
had a decent game against the pies, earnt his spot in the side:thumbsu:
delirious1
8th July 2007, 18:08
another alright game, did some good things
hawkstars
9th July 2007, 08:39
I think so too. He is quite a good player and will be better for the chances he gets.
philhawk
20th July 2007, 00:59
www.hawthornfc.com.au
Learning life's lessons
12:31 PM Tue 17 July, 2007 | Back
By Catherine Murphy
Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network
FOR HAWK Xavier Ellis, his three years at Melbourne Grammar's boarding school, wasn’t just a time when he learned basic “survival skills” such as cooking and doing laundry. His time at the school also provided him with some of his best friends.
When Ellis first arrived at the school, he was told he would be rooming with a guy called Tom Hawkins, now known to many as Geelong’s ‘Tomahawk’. The pair have been close ever since and Ellis admits that sometimes they can scarcely believe how well their lives have panned out.
“Last year we both played for Melbourne Grammar and we couldn't string together many wins,” Ellis says.
“But this year, Geelong have been doing exceptionally well and [Hawthorn has] been doing well, too. So, we've definitely been pinching ourselves about it all.”
Ellis admits that during the teenagers’ time at Melbourne Grammar, there might have been the odd time when the pair broke the strict curfew imposed on them.
“The window was the option we used, not that I should say that. We may have, at some time, been able to sneak out the front window,” laughs Ellis.
Although the teenagers no longer live in each other’s pockets, they keep in regular contact and follow each other’s footy careers with close interest.
“We still talk on the phone regularly and we catch up a fair bit. I try and watch as many of his games as I can and vice versa, but when it comes to playing against each other, the gloves come off,” Ellis says.
In fact the former schoolmates matched-up against each other in the Hawks’ round four victory over the Cats.
“We sort of had a smile and a giggle on the field together, so we're not too competitive with each other,” Ellis insists.
The 19-year-old’s current accommodation is a bit different to when he used to room with the Tomahawk. He now lives with the Benham family, who do all his cooking and cleaning. The family have been housing Hawthorn players for years, even putting a roof over Shane Crawford’s head when he first came to Melbourne. Ellis maintains that he is a much better lodger than Shane was.
“Quite a few times they have alluded to my behaviour being a little bit better than what Shane's was when he was my age. He enjoyed a bit of wrestling on the couch. I live with Beau Muston who's a bit bigger than me, so I won't be doing any wrestling,” Ellis jokes.
Despite hearing tales of Crawford’s teenage misdemeanours, Ellis says the Brownlow Medallist is one of the Hawks he looks up to.
“You look at Shane Crawford and Sam Mitchell and how they play consistent football week in, week out. They are the sort of role models I look up to and admire most,” Ellis says.
Ellis believes that if Sam Mitchell had gone to boarding school, there’s no way the would have been using the windows as escape options.
“I think he would have been tucked up in bed early at about 7.30 every night,” laughs Ellis.
“His professionalism is amazing. I'm not at that level but I'm slowly and surely learning the caper of what you should and shouldn't be doing and what I shouldn't be eating. But I’ll get there.”
delirious1
4th September 2007, 15:37
So Ellis wont be getting a rising star nom, Eh, hes prepared to go in and do the hard stuff to make something happen insted of being a seagull, should be cementing his spot in 1-2 years
chaddles
4th September 2007, 22:03
I have seen some very impressive things from the X man this season. You can just tell that he has something special about him and once he does get a good size about him he is going to explode into a very important player for the team.
I thought that he had an ankle operation last season or something which kept him sidelined, is there some truth to that or am I thinking of someone else?
delirious1
5th September 2007, 16:50
Broken foot i believe, and he was never going to play AFL last year, was 60-70 kilos and was at school.
Hodges
20th September 2007, 00:04
Okay so I thought I would give a quick summary of Ellis' 2007 season...
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v707/Reze/Xavier.gif*
Xavier Ellis, number 32.
Played a total of 13 games in 2007, but was not a part of the Hawks finals team. I thought he had shown enough to cement a spot, but obviously the selectors thought otherwise.
He has improved steadily throughout the season. Although not on par with his draft rivals in Thomas and Pendlebury, this year was really his first year, due to studies and injury in 2006. Has shown poise when using the football and (IMO) seems to be in a Luke Power type mold. Occasionally misses the mark when kicking - surprising considering how much was made of his kicking action pre draft. At times it looks like he hasnt quite adjusted to the speed of the game.
Has shown great defensive qualities all year. He has layed some superb smothers throughout the season. Highlight of the year (defensively) was during Round 13 against Collingwood. He played on Dale Thomas and absolutely towelled him up. :p Held him to 13 disposals and 4 marks, and really curbed his influence on the game.
Overall, I would say Ellis had a good season, but not great. Played a decent number of games but is yet to cement his spot. With the delisting/retirement of Joel Smith, I think Ellis can look forward to playing 22 games next year (injury permitting - touch wood) and hopefully becoming one of our standout players.
Season stats:
Played 13/23 Games.
78 Kicks, 6.0 per game
74 Handballs, 5.7 p/g
49 Marks, 3.8 p/g
24 Tackles, 1.8 p/g
1 Free For, 4 Frees Against
3 Goals, 2 Behinds
Season Highs:
21 Disposals VS Adelaide, Round 14
7 Marks VS Geelong, Round 4 and Adelaide, Round 14
7 Tackles VS Port Adelaide, Round 20
* Picture courtesy of viewimages.com
markr
20th September 2007, 09:15
I thought he improved with every game he played, and his last few games were very good indeed. I can really see him having a big year next year, he's come to terms with the speed of the game, and will put on a little more size over the pre-season and add a bit more motor.
I've particularly been impressed by his willingness to throw his body at the ball despite the fact he was giving away 10kg to pretty much everyone on the field.
chaddles
20th September 2007, 14:08
That is the way I saw it too. Very gutsy and courageous player, with every game that he played looked like he was becoming more comfortable with the pace of AFL football. Really can't wait for next season to see what he is made of, mainly to shut up all those who reckon he is a dud.
Can see him becoming a regular member of the team next year. What is his preferred position by the way- half back?
markr
20th September 2007, 21:04
I understand he played mostly off half back at school. You would think that we would have long term plans of him playing in the middle, but that he would spend at least another year down back.
delirious1
20th September 2007, 21:08
I understand he played mostly off half back at school. You would think that we would have long term plans of him playing in the middle, but that he would spend at least another year down back.
currently there is a waiting list for midfield spots. eventually he will take Crawfords place in 1-2 years IMO
RustyHawk
7th October 2007, 07:35
The X man won the best first year player award at the 2007 PCM.
Sewell claims first Peter Crimmins Medal
11:01 PM Sat 6 October, 2007 | Back
for hawthornfc.com.au
News
DANGEROUS midfielder Brad Sewell claimed his first Peter Crimmins Medal after a nail-biting finish in front of a 1300 strong crowd at Crown’s Palladium on Saturday night.
In the count to decide the 2007 Hawthorn club champion, Sewell (173 votes) and eventual runner-up Campbell Brown (172 votes) went into the semi final against the Kangaroos on equal votes.
However, Sewell scored the winning votes after his solid performance to narrowly defeat Brown. 2005 Peter Crimmins Medallist Luke Hodge topped off another consistent year finishing in third position.
After four seasons and 64 games, Sewell’s achievement crowns another sensational year for the 23-year-old, who played every game for the second consecutive season.
Shifted from a small defender’s role to the midfield, Sewell averaged 21 possessions per game – the biggest return coming in round 21 against the Western Bulldogs when he picked up 39.
He laid the most tackles of any Hawk with 104 for the season and had his fair share of clearances. He also managed to curb the influence of a number of the big names in the AFL including Chris Judd, Shannon Grant, Paul Chapman and Adam Goodes.
In other awards, Stephen Gilham was named the Most Improved after stepping up as a key defender and playing every game since his elevation from the rookie list in round 19, 2006. Gilham’s willingness to keep learning and working hard won him the honour.
Sewell also picked up the club’s award for the best player in the finals, while Brent Guerra was rewarded for his hard working year at half-back securing the Most Consistent award.
Xavier Ellis was named the best first year player for his impressive debut season.
In his second year at the club, Ellis made his debut in round one and played a total of 13 games for the season, switching between the wing and half-back.
The contribution of retiring trio Richie Vandenberg, Ben Dixon and Joel Smith was acknowledged during a fitting tribute to the popular players.
Vandenberg was also awarded Best Clubman, an acknowledgment of how his peers regard him.
The Peter Crimmins Medal - an Olympic-sized gold medal depicting a sculptured image of the former Hawthorn champion - was presented to Sewell by Crimmins’ wife Gwen who attended the awards with son Sam and daughter Amber.
Crimmins was vice-captain of the 1971 premiership team and captain for two years from 1974. He fell ill with cancer on the eve of the 1974 finals series, missing September action that year.
However, the ‘little fellow’ made a return from treatment to play at the start of the 1975 season. In round six that year Crimmins had to return for intensive treatment and never played senior football again.
Club awards
Best Clubman - Richie Vandenberg
Most Improved - Stephen Gilham
Best First Year Player - Xavier Ellis
Most Consistent - Brent Guerra
Leading Goalkicker - Lance Franklin
Most Votes in the Brownlow - Sam Mitchell
Peter Crimmins Medal voting – top ten
Brad Sewell - 173
Campbell Brown - 172
Luke Hodge - 161
Jordan Lewis - 154
Sam Mitchell - 137
Lance Franklin - 136
Brent Guerra - 136
Shane Crawford - 126
Trent Croad - 121
Rick Ladson - 116
Peter Crimmins Medal voting procedure
Votes for the 2007 Peter Crimmins Medal were awarded by the match committee, consisting of senior coach Alastair Clarkson and assistants Todd Viney, Damien Hardwick and Ross Smith after each home-and-away and finals match.
A maximum of 16 votes could be accumulated by a player after the four coaches’ voting cards were submitted using the following grading system:
- three votes to the best player or players
- two votes for a good game
- one vote to players who beat their opponents
On rare occasions a player or players may receive four votes for an exceptional game.
There is no restriction on the number of players who receive votes in a match.
delirious1
17th October 2007, 01:47
With Joel Smith Retiring Pelchin has said Xavier Ellis will cement a spot in the side at the half back flank, unless we have a bolter next season, hes likely to play a solid 15+ game season:thumbsu:
RustyHawk
4th November 2007, 07:52
Ellis aims high
10:10 AM Thu 25 October, 2007 | Back
By Catherine Murphy
for hawthornfc.com.au
News
THIS TIME last year Xavier Ellis was concentrating on his year 12 studies after an injury interrupted season with Melbourne Grammar and the Box Hill Hawks.
A pre-season further interrupted by hamstring problems followed, before a year during which he totted up 13 AFL games and even scooped the Best First Year Player award at the club's Best and Fairest presentation night.
This year the 19-year-old is hoping that a smooth pre-season will propel his career even further in season 08.
"I missed a lot of pre-season with a torn hamstring so effectively my first year was a battle with fitness," Ellis said. "I'm going to put a good pre-season together now and hopefully I'll play better football."
While Ellis has played mainly in defence for the Hawks, he harbours ambitions of securing a midfield role for the club.
"I had a chat with Clarko (coach Alastair Clarkson) one on one and he said that next year he's going to give me a lot of opportunities in the midfield.
"I'm going to make errors but that's the only way to improve by playing in the midfield and learning as quickly as possible."
Hawthorn boasts the youngest list in the league going into season 2008, with the average age of the group a tender 23 years. But despite losing seasoned campaigners such as Richie Vandenberg, Ben Dixon and Joel Smith, Ellis believes the playing group has the required maturity to be successful.
"We've got Buddy (Lance Franklin), Roughy (Jarryd Roughead) and Jordan (Lewis) who have played 50 games. They're gathering experience and hopefully from my draft, Grant (Birchall), myself and Beau Dowler… hopefully we can pick up where they left off.
"We all enjoy each other's company on the field and off the field. Come 2008, even though we've got the youngest list we're pretty confident in each other's abilities.
"I'm sure we'll progress up the ladder if we stick to the team rules and what the coach says. It'll pay off sooner rather than later."
Much has been said and written about the Hawks' "process". Coach Clarkson has lauded the ability of Geelong to stick to theirs and used their success as an example of how faith in a club strategy can yield results.
It seems the team's young squad members are also supportive of this ethos.
"Geelong started their process about eight or nine years ago and it shows in what they did this year.
"They pretty much toyed with everyone else. We started ours in 2004 but with Buddy, Roughy and Jordan, who have progressed a lot quicker than expected, who says that we have to wait eight years.
"We had a lot of tough times in 2004, 2005 and 2006. We got beaten pretty convincingly a few times but hopefully with our list gathering a lot of experience, we can improve each year," Ellis says.
delirious1
6th November 2007, 16:43
Updated the front page a bit, get this thread looking a bit more professional:thumbsu:
Fairley
25th November 2007, 15:28
Just wondering, how come Ellis did not play one game in 2006?
aquila
25th November 2007, 17:54
He chose to spend the year finishing his studies.
Big Ronnie
24th December 2007, 19:51
Selection 14 is Keefriffhard who has taken the human sunburn Xav Ellis as his man.
Keefys dedication is that strong that as soon as he found out he had him, he sent him around a bottle of 15+ for his Christmas present for the NAB Cup games
Nice one Keefyyyyy
BR:thumbsu:
the_berger
24th January 2008, 13:40
do you think he will play a bigger role this season?
philhawk
6th February 2008, 06:03
Thanks to BURNTUA CRISP and SEN,
Xavier Ellis quotes.
- Heading off to Tassie for a week, so just one of those things we got to do down there, so then we come back for a week, then we're back down there for the NAB Cup, so I might have to invest in some property down there.
- My development was slower than Marc Murphy and Dale Thomas and that, due to school in 2006, so that set me behind the pace a little bit and then I missed most of pre-season last year with a bit of a hamstring injury which was a bit of a pain.
- I think last year was just a bit of a look, just to get used to the pace I suppose, and the first few games, I just couldn't believe how quick it was and I didn't think I was up to it. Then I sort off slowly but surely got a little bit better, but I think I got the whole pre-season behind me now this year with no hiccups or anything and my fitness base is quite good so I think this year will be the year to measure where I am at.
- I only spent 50% of game time last year due to my lack of fitness, and I think in that short game time which was all I could play due to my fitness, it was hard to get into the game and I was just low in confidence and that sort of stuff, so the boys support was great and especially the coaches.
- I think this year just at training and running sessions, I just feel that much more confident around the boys.
- Tim Clarke today was talking to me about how we had an 18 on 18 practice match, that I just looked a lot more confident and willing to take blokes on and that sort of stuff. So, I think if I'm going to progress into the ranks of AFL football, it's one of the most important things to back your ability.
- I don't really feel the pressure about being No. 3 draft pick. When we first got drafted, Ian Robson, the CEO, made it very clear that draft picks are irrelevant. It's just the number you are invited into the club. So from that side, I don't feel any pressure from the club or anything like that. I know there's probably supporters out there that sort of say well you're a waste of a pick or what not, but pressure from the club definately doesn't happen.
- I think the team having played pretty good football last year, I think this year we are looking to consolidate on where we left off last year and hopefully just keep improving.
- I think last year before the season, not many people had us in the eight or what not. So we were very confident that we could make the finals if we believed in ourselves and just backed our ability in. This year is no different. We've had a pretty solid pre-season, no hiccups from anyone really and if we keep playing to the best of our ability, there is no ceiling on what can happen.
- We haven't really spoke about it(NAB Cup) to be honest, but I think we don't have too many injuries or anything like that, and I think with 8 on the interchange, it's a perfect situation for those who have had a limited pre-season to play a bit of game time and then sit on the bench for a bit. So I think we'll have a crack at it.
- The Swans have actually got the wood over us in the past couple of years. Any opportunity to play against such a good side like Sydney, I'm sure you'd take the victory whether it's the NAB Cup or not and I'm sure they'll have a crack at it and we'll have a crack at them.
- Stewy Dew is flying at the moment. I think probably a couple of those photos didn't look too good a few months ago for him, but he's worked so hard up to 5 hours a day and he's been doing extra sessions after extra sessions, so it's a credit to Stuey, and I'm sure he's going to be an asset the side this year.
Thanks to SEN.
RiCHii
19th February 2008, 13:05
Hey guys, just wondering whether X.Ellis will be playing abit more this year ? If so how many games do you believe he will play? Thank you in advance
Main Man
19th February 2008, 13:32
If fit should play all 22 games of the Home and Away season in my opinion..
keefriffhard
19th February 2008, 16:38
If fit should play all 22 games of the Home and Away season in my opinion..
Agreed. I think he will be the perfect replacement for the departed Joel Smith and will slot straight into our half back line.
noosa hawk mad
1st March 2008, 07:33
Door opens for Ellis to stake his claim
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/door-opens-for-ellis-to-stake-his-claim/2008/02/29/1204226995250.html
Nick Sheridan | March 1, 2008
WHEN Xavier Ellis was drafted to Hawthorn as a priority pick in 2005, the player he was most often compared to was St Kilda midfielder Nick Dal Santo.
Three years on and after his first full pre-season at senior level, Ellis is hoping to do that comparison justice.
"I look at a Joel Corey or a Nick Dal Santo sort of bloke — I think they're absolutely fantastic players — I dream of being as good as them one day," Ellis said, speaking while on Hawthorn's community camp earlier this month.
Although picked at No. 3 overall, Ellis has been eased into AFL level, spending his first season with the Hawks studying and playing for his school team, Melbourne Grammar.
In 2007, Ellis managed 13 senior games, mostly playing off the bench in a running half-back role. But the fact that he had missed most of that year's pre-season with a hamstring injury meant he did not have the endurance to run out games and make the kind of impact that would get him noticed beyond the ranks of the Hawthorn faithful — who all the same were tantalised by a few fleeting glimpses of the young player's skills and ability to read the play. That was enough for the club elders, however, choosing him for the club's best first-year player award.
But Ellis, who turned 20 last week, is keen to go further this year, paying more attention to his strength and endurance.
His resolve to step his game up a level has been strengthened by the knowledge that due to lingering suspensions from 2007, three of the club's top midfielders — Luke Hodge, Shane Crawford and Jordan Lewis — will be out of the side in the opening rounds of the season. That will provide opportunities for the club's younger players to push for a run through the centre, where Ellis spent all of his time playing as a junior.
It was an opportunity he seemed to relish in the past two weeks of the NAB Cup. Playing predominantly on the ball over the past fortnight, Ellis was among the Hawks' best in round one against Sydney and, along with fellow youngsters Beau Muston and Travis Tuck, showed promising signs that Hawthorn was developing formidable midfield depth.
Size has long been an issue for Ellis, who was just 70 kilograms when he came to the club and is now pushing 80, but is keen to keep adding muscle to his still slender frame.
The young man from Lakes Entrance is also keen to build on last year's experience playing as a half-back — a role he had never played before arriving at Hawthorn. And given the retirement of Joel Smith at the end of last season it would appear that Ellis could be the perfect candidate to replace him in a permanent rebounding defensive role.
But while the ambition to secure a spot in the Hawks' starting side drives him on, Ellis, who is known to his team mates as 'X', said he is also eager to take a bit more time to just enjoy where he has got to this year.
"As a kid I was looking at the Lakes Entrance seniors players and thinking 'gee, I wish I could play there one day' … and now I'm an AFL footballer and this is my job," he said with a smile. "You know, it's a short career — four or five years they say is the average — so you pinch yourself but you can't pinch yourself for too long 'cos it'll pass you by."
hawkstars
1st March 2008, 13:17
Ellis is a gem! Great read!:thumbsu:
RustyHawk
13th March 2008, 12:14
With the early retirement of Danny Jacobs, X Ellis now moves from 32 to 8.
Right time to move X man :thumbsu:
keefriffhard
13th March 2008, 15:03
From The HFC website 13/3/08
http://hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/News/NewsArticle/Default.aspx?newsId=56126
In retirement Jacobs has passed on his number 8 jumper for the 2008 season to third year player Xavier Ellis.
Jacobs said, “Xavier and I have been pretty close since he has come to the Club and I think he will get more games in the jumper than I did.
“I hope he has a great career and it gives me an extra interest to watch someone with the jumper I used to wear.”
keefriffhard
15th March 2008, 09:26
http://www.dotphoto.com/SAN1/E9/C5/79/iE9C5797E-6B38-4083-9E1A-3B2726B8391B.jpg
Quality modelling work by the X-Man. Hopefully he can take some time of his catwalk career to drop in and rack up a few possessions this year. :D
the_berger
16th March 2008, 15:04
this would have to be ellis's season especially now with jacobs and smith retiring
noosa hawk mad
20th March 2008, 16:21
Ellis close to home!
HAWTHORN’S Xavier Ellis doesn’t have far to travel for his side’s first-round clash against Melbourne on Sunday. He has recently moved house to Jolimont, meaning he’s only about 100 metres from the MCG.
The young Hawk’s new location will serve him well for the club’s 10 season fixtures at the home of football.
“I think I’ll just whack the runners on and walk across. I hope they open up the ground early enough for me,” he says.
The 20-year-old shares his house with an old school friend from his boarding days at Melbourne Grammar, but insists his housemate has Hawthorn’s best interests at heart.
“Obviously there are times when he’s out enjoying his social life when I can’t, but he’s a big Hawthorn fan so he tucks me into bed and tells me that I can’t come out.”
Ellis played 13 matches last season and was named best first-year player.
He believes he can have an even better season this year.
“I’m in a much better position to play football with my body and more understanding of the rigors of AFL football,” Ellis says.
“There’s no extra pressure on me, I just think I’m better placed to have a more consistent season.”
Ellis mainly played in defence in 2007, with stints in the midfield, but he has no doubt what his favourite position is.
“I’m chewing Alastair Clarkson’s ear off about throwing me into the midfield but at the moment I’m pretty happy on the wing, half-back, with a little bit in midfield. But my long-term goal is definitely to play in midfield all the time.
“I spent most of the NAB Cup there, which was great to get to play in there with Sam Mitchell, Luke Hodge and Brad Sewell and those guys because you learn so much from them.”
Ellis says last year’s best and fairest winner Brad Sewell has been instrumental in helping his development on the field.
“I sat down after the NAB Cup games with Brad and he had watched my games with me and picked up on a few bits and pieces that I can improve on for this year that will hopefully help me in the future.”
The Hawks face Melbourne without Campbell Brown, Luke Hodge, Jordan Lewis and Shane Crawford, all of whom are suspended, but Ellis says the team with the youngest playing list in the league isn’t intimidated. In fact, younger squad members are treating the lack of such stars as a positive.
“It creates a lot of opportunities for the blokes who have been in the wings now for one or two years to get out there,” he says.
“The cherry is that it’s an opportunity for whoever plays in the midfield or takes up those positions. If they play well it’s going to be hard for them to be omitted from the side so we’re all very hungry to play good football and cement our spots.”
Xavier Ellis Feature
By Catherine Murphy
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/report.php?p=10379018) http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/misc/progress.gif
keefriffhard
30th March 2008, 11:13
Contributions from youth the difference
http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=57063
HAWTHORN coach Alastair Clarkson has praised the courage of his players after their fighting 15-point win over Fremantle at Subiaco on Saturday night.
In a topsy-turvy game, the Hawks trailed early by two goals, kicked eight of the next ten, let Fremantle dominate the third term when they closed the gap to three points before the visitors kicked five in 15 minutes either side of the final change.
That enabled them to go to a game high 35-point lead, before Freo kicked the final three majors as the clock wound down
Clarkson said the Perth heat was a significant factor early in the season, but his side had battled through it well, and agreed it was a really gutsy win.
"Yeah, it was. It was. Fremantle really ran hard in the third quarter, and we had some tired and injured blokes, but to withstand that challenge and go on and win the game was really pleasing," he said.
"It's always a very very hard ask to come to Perth, particularly off a six-day break.
"The MCG [last week's venue] is the hardest it has ever been, so we really needed to make sure that we recovered well.
"I thought in the first half we really ran the ball particularly well, but we were a bit dead on our feet there for a while in the third quarter, so for our guys to respond the way they did and get the points was really pleasing."
The Hawthorn coach was particularly pleased with how many of his young squad stood up to be counted when the going got tough.
"We just had key guys stand up for us in the last quarter, our leaders, and we got really good contributions from some of our younger players, (Xavier} Ellis and (Travis) Tuck had really good games for us tonight, we're really pleased with their games. (Cyril) Rioli, and (Cameron) Stokes, (Michael) Osborne, continue to do really good things for us up forward."
Clarkson said the match committee was conscious of the need to select a side that would make the most of the wide open spaces of Subiaco Oval.
"It's a big ground so you have to make sure you pick a running side, and [last week] we lost one of our best runners through injury – Timmy Clarke.
"That's why it was so important for Tuck and Ellis and these young lads – I'm not sure if you saw the game last week but Ellis cramped in every muscle in his legs, both legs – calves, thighs and hamstrings all at one time and we nearly needed to cart him off in an ambulance.
"So for him to recover like he did and then to have the game that he did tonight was a real credit to his preparation for this game, because he would have had a few demons in his head I suppose after last week's game."
keefriffhard
17th April 2008, 12:16
Round 4, 2008.
Hawthorn 17.12 114 def Adelaide 10.10 70
Xavier Ellis
Kicks - 11
H/Balls - 13
Possessions - 24
Marks - 6
Tackles - 3
Congratulations Xavier. A new Career High for possessions. :thumbsu:
keefriffhard
20th May 2008, 23:20
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/News/BlogArticle/tabid/10850/Default.aspx?newsId=59924
Ellis nominated for AFL Army Award
4:56 PM Tue 20 May, 2008
HAWTHORN’S Xavier Ellis has been nominated for the round eight AFL Army Award for an extremely gutsy defensive spoil against Port Adelaide last weekend.
Fans can view and vote for Ellis’ AFL Army Award moment by visiting http://www.afl.com.au/armydefence (http://www.afl.com.au/armydefence)
The AFL Army Award celebrates on-field displays of courage, initiative and teamwork - characteristics synonymous with both the Australian Defence Force and the Australian Football League.
RustyHawk
19th June 2008, 21:39
5:04 PM Thu 19 June, 2008
Xavier Ellis has been cleared by the AFL
THE AFL has cleared Hawthorn's Xavier Ellis after an investigation into the placing of bets on AFL matches using his account details.
AFL football operations manager Adrian Anderson said on Thursday that Ellis had approached the AFL earlier this week to inform the league that a relative had used his account to make bets.
Anderson said an investigation by Browne and Co had confirmed the Hawks midfielder's explanation that the bets were not placed by him.
"Xavier Ellis and Hawthorn came forward to the AFL and brought this matter to our attention once they became aware that a relative had used his account to place bets involving AFL matches," Mr Anderson said.
"The investigation confirmed no breach of the AFL Regulations. The investigation found that no bets were made by Xavier Ellis and he had no knowledge of the bets made by his relative."
Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network
noosa hawk mad
20th June 2008, 13:38
Ellis 'a relieved man': Clarkson
http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Defa...x?newsid=61865 (http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=61865)http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20A-E/ClarksonA_246.jpgAlastair Clarkson is wary of backs-to-the-wall North Melbourne
HAWTHORN coach Alastair Clarkson says midfielder Xavier Ellis is relieved that a difficult week for the 20-year-old is over.
The defender met with AFL football operations manager Adrian Anderson to disclose bets on football matches made under his name by a relative and was subsequently cleared of any wrongdoing after an investigation.
"I think he's a little bit relieved," Clarkson said.
"In the end it was a pretty trivial issue. As it's turned out the AFL has gone through the records and turns out he's got no case to answer so he moves on. It's not his normal week but he's a pretty resilient lad and he'll jump straight back into it on Saturday against the Kangas."
As for the Hawks' Saturday afternoon clash with North Melbourne, Clarkson is expecting a tough challenge from a side eager to make amends for recent defeats.
"They're a dangerous side when they've got their backs to the wall, the Kangaroos," he said.
"They've lost their last three and I'm certain they wouldn't have been pleased with their performance over in Fremantle, so we're expecting a tough contest.
"We've got enormous regard for the way the Kangaroos have gone about it for a long period of time and we know it's always a fierce contest when we play them."
The last couple of matches between the two sides have been fiery and Clarkson is expecting another tough encounter.
"The two sides match up against each other pretty well.
"They had a fierce rivalry in the seventies and that's starting to re-fuel a little bit through this decade. I think it's good for the game and we've had some pretty good contests over the last two or three years."
As for verbal exchanges between both sets of players in the media, Clarkson insisted that any such banter will be irrelevant come game day.
"There's always a little bit of theatre going into these types of games," he said.
"It will be a good contest. Once the bounce is up, it's 22 guys from each side having a fair dinkum crack at each other.
"I don't think there's been any blow-outs in any of the games over the last three or four games. They've all been fiercely contested games." __________________
noosa hawk mad
12th July 2008, 09:13
Priorities pay off for young Hawk
http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au...012432,00.html (http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,24006355-5012432,00.html)
THE year Xavier Ellis was drafted, Hawthorn finished 14th and had won just five games.
The letters "PS" against his name on the 2005 national draft list tell the story. The Hawks had performed so poorly in Alastair Clarkson's first year as coach the club received a priority selection before the draft.
There had been no finals appearances since 2001, with the once-mighty club plunging rapidly towards the bottom of the ladder.
Yet even as the Melbourne Grammar boy from Lakes Entrance, in Victoria's east, surveyed the debris of recent poor seasons, he was delighted to be chosen as Hawthorn's first choice.
"I was over the moon that Hawthorn took me," Ellis told The Weekend Australian. "I could see they were getting a few kids together and they had a future."
He could not dream just how quickly that bright future would appear.
"Guys like me and Cyril Rioli are lucky we didn't play in the side in 2004 and '05," Ellis said. "The team had been battling away and had been on the end of a few hidings. When we came into the team, Alastair Clarkson had done a fantastic job with his game plan and had really got the boys playing well.
"I've played 27 games and we've probably only lost five or six of those. I've been fortunate to come into a winning culture but a few of the other young guys played in sides which were beaten convincingly a few times.
"Now the club is enjoying the fruits of having got through the hard times and hopefully the future is a successful one."
So successful, in fact, that tomorrow Hawthorn, sitting third on the ladder, plays fourth-placed Sydney at the MCG in the match of the round.
It is another great challenge in the Hawthorn ascendancy. Sydney remains the only team Hawthorn has not beaten so far in Clarkson's tenure as coach.
In fact, the Hawks have lost the past six matches between the two teams, with the most recent Hawthorn success being at the SCG in round 19, 2003.
After playing finals last season, the Hawks have lost just two games this year and are in a titanic struggle with Geelong (one loss) and the Western Bulldogs (a loss and a draw) as the three power teams of the competition.
That Ellis has only experienced seasons which point inevitably towards finals is because he stood out of the AFL in 2006 despite being a schoolboy star.
"I was a bit worried about the draft because I said that regardless of whether I got drafted or not, I wasn't going to play in my first year; I was going to finish school. Clubs had to take it or leave it," he said. "Everyone knew it was my dream to play AFL football. I just wanted to play so badly.
"But my parents and friends had made it clear that three years is the average time a young guy plays AFL football.
"They said 'What are you going to do after that if you're unfortunate enough to be told you've had your time'."
With a lawyer for a father and physiotherapist for a mother, school was always going to be a priority no matter how many kicks the skilful left-footer racked up on the footy field.
"I'm lucky that Hawthorn let me do it and I'm grateful for it," Ellis said.
The big difference is that Ellis, drafted behind Carlton's Marc Murphy and Collingwood's Dale Thomas, is still establishing himself while the others are emerging stars. Murphy played his 50th game last night against St Kilda while Thomas lines up for number 56 against Adelaide today.
A recent chat with captain Sam Mitchell suggested Ellis had lost little by arriving a year later.
"He was saying that the difference between a 17-year-old and an 18-year-old in a football club is massive with the maturity levels," said Ellis. "I was a skinny little runt, and still am, but I definitely wasn't suited to playing AFL then. The extra year away from the footy club was probably good in hindsight."
Two years in the gym has seen him add 10kg but at 80kg he remains one of the lighter members of the team and at a relatively tall 187cm still has a bit of a beanpole look. It is certainly a contrast to his Year 10 room-mate at Melbourne Grammar, boy-mountain Tom Hawkins.
Not surprisingly they were co-captains of the school's football team, but in terms of physical presence Hawkins was forced to slim down and now stands 197cm and 103kg.
The good mates have played against each other just once, last season in Launceston.
"It was my fourth game and his third. We beat Geelong by four points and we both had an absolute dog of a day. We didn't talk about it too much," Ellis recalled.
When Hawthorn finally meets reigning premier Geelong in a fortnight during this strangely scheduled season, the match will offer much on the progress of Hawthorn and Ellis.
delirious1
2nd August 2008, 02:04
Starting to gain ground on Murphy/Pendlebury/Thomas, will be a class player and is starting to show it:thumbsu::thumbsu:
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.