View Full Version : 23. Lance Franklin

Pages : [1] 2

philhawk
9th March 2007, 18:01
According to the My Man Thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=291068), it looks like hawkaz1 will be the one responsible for looking after our very own excitement MACHINE, Lance "Buddy" Franklin!

Take it away, hawkaz!

hawkaz1
9th March 2007, 18:52
Lance Franklin

http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/7028/franklinvsdeesui1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://hawthornfc.com.au/TheClub/Players/PlayerProfile/tabid/8483/playerId/14265/teamId/32/typeId/2/Default.aspx

Fast Facts

Jumper No: 23
Height: 196
Weight: 87
DOB: 1987-01-30 00:00:00
Recruited From: Perth (WA)
Career Matches: 20
Career Goals: 21

2006 Home & Away Totals

Matches: 14
Goals: 31
Marks: 53
Disposals: 156
Kicks: 98

About

Confident and athletic key position prospect who averaged one goal a game in 20 outings in his debut season. Sparkled in several games and appears at this stage to have all the tools to be a genuine player. Set to be a major part of the club’s rebuilding process on and off the field.

Records

Draft history: 2004 National Bank’s AFL Draft selection (Hawthorn) No. 5 overall.

AFL Record:

Brownlow votes:
2005 votes 1
Career votes 1
2005: Hawthorn - 20 games, 21 goals
Draft history: 2004 National Bank?s AFL Draft selection (Hawthorn) No. 5 overall.
Awards Honours

AFL
Rising Star nominee 2005

hawkaz1
9th March 2007, 18:55
^ That is just some general info on Buddy from the Hawks website. Hopefully there will be plenty of positive stuff for me to post about Buddy this year.
Go Hawks and go Buddy!

hawkstars
13th April 2007, 09:41
I can't believe how good this guy is. On the run against Melbourne on Monday if he scored that goal the house would have erupted. Buddy unbelievable

hawkaz1
29th April 2007, 15:49
Another 6 goal game from Buddy, what a super star!

hawkstars
30th April 2007, 11:57
He is absolutely amazing. Supreme athlete and what for it boys and definately knows how to kick goals. The other lads should watch and learn.

hawkaz1
5th May 2007, 16:53
9 goals today, what a gun. He is a god.

philhawk
14th May 2007, 00:06
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/just-buddy-minded/2007/05/13/1178994982100.html

Just Buddy minded

Emma Quayle | May 13, 2007

LANCE Franklin has never minded a late, dramatic entrance. Almost two months before he became a Hawthorn player, the tall Perth teenager went to the 2004 draft camp in Canberra, one of about 70 young talents looking for a job.

"Buddy" was pencilled in for a late-afternoon talk with the Hawks during the three-day camp. But he wasn't there when he was meant to be. One of the club's scouts headed out to find him, but as soon as he had turned the corner, Franklin came wandering down the concrete path.

He had a big smile on his face, and was in no particular hurry. It was as if he knew the world would wait for him. "He came in and sat down, and I remember he just looked up at us and smiled," recalled Hawthorn recruiter Gary Buckenara last week.

"He always had that bit of charm about him, Buddy. He knew how to get himself out of trouble. It was hard to be mad at him." Franklin has kicked 15 goals in his past two games, and four bags of six in the last 17. He scored five in 15 minutes, and nine all-up against Essendon last week. He does his work in dynamic, look-at-me fashion, and after six matches he is second favourite to win the Coleman Medal.

Operation "Keep Buddy's Feet On The Ground" is not what it was during his first two years at Hawthorn. Then, the teenager was virtually haperoned by a senior teammate each time he went out after dark. Now, there is a need to watch Franklin's off-fi eld life, say the Hawks, but not quite so closely. Still, individual adulation is something the club clearly wants to keep the 20-year-old wary of, which probably explains why it knocked back many media requests for Franklin this week. Not even an assistant coach would speak about him.

It might also explain why, as Franklin conducted a radio interview in the MCG rooms last Saturday night, Ben Dixon stood behind him, hunched over with an ear cocked, close enough to listen in. Dixon is one of the senior teammates who wants badly for Buddy to be what he can be, and has been working hard to help him.

Franklin is the sort of player, and person, who craves attention and attracts it. Things seem to happen to and around him, as they always have and probably always will. Right now, Buddy talk is about how he made another late arrival, and lasted until No. 5 in the 2004 draft. The question should not, necessarily, be about why Richmond, which had pick four, overlooked him; Hawthorn had No. 2, could have taken him then, instead it could be said to have got Franklin by accident. Had the Hawks really, really wanted him, they wouldn't have let him get past them in the first place. Dangling from that question is another one: was Buddy worthy of a No. 2 pick, anyway? Especially in this footballing age, where "character" and "work ethic" are buzz words and where draft picks that fail for extra-curricular reasons are talked about for a very long time.

He's an excellent example of how what happens after draft day matters more than anything — how so much depends on where a player goes, who they get to work with, which team they go to, and how well they adapt to a world they have never set foot in before. The trouble with Buddy began with the fact that he played mostly school football in his final under-age season. He did what he wanted, and he played all over the ground. It meant he could show off all of his tricks, but it also meant he was rarely tested, and didn't understand how the game was played. He was the game.

Even Buckenara was wary. "He used to play in the centre and he just ran around and dominated," he said.

"He used to run from the back line and kick the ball forward, then get there and kick the goal.

"His understanding of how to play in a team wasn't there, because all he had to do was go and get the footy. He had to learn there was a bit more to it than that.

"Even when we were drafting him, I remember saying, ‘this kid could be the best player in this draft, but he just might not get it'. He didn't understand the game at all, at that stage. I thought he'd probably frustrate the coaches for a very long time."

Perhaps for those reasons, the next cross came during the national under-18 championships in 2004. Prior to the carnival, Franklin was considered a possible No. 1 pick, alongside Brett Deledio. By the end of it, he wasn't.

Buddy struggled badly in more talented company, amid the confines of team structure and plan, and against more physical opposition. As one club official put it: "He spent the entire week ducking his head." Added another: "There were things he was obviously very good at. But there was no evidence he'd be able to do those things once he got to a higher level and had some real opposition."

He did, however, have that knack for arriving at the right time: having sat on the bench for much of WA's match against Vic Metro, Franklin was sent back on very late. He ran onto a loose ball, swung it into goal, and put his side in front. About five seconds later, the siren sounded.

GERALD McNeil, the WA under-18 coach, worked with Buddy that year, and also saw him struggle to understand what it meant to play for a team, and within a structure. Dealing with expectation, under pressure, was new, too. He had done none of that before.

"I remember that he dominated a scratch match leading in. There was one game where he really tore the game apart, and I think leading into the under 18s even all the coaches presumed he'd just star," said McNeil. "Buddy certainly thought he'd dominate, in a very naive way, and he found it a bit tough that he couldn't play as well as he wanted to play. "He had a decent ego, but he didn't spit the dummy or anything. My recollection is that he went in thinking he wanted to have the best carnival anyone had ever had. He wanted to dominate, but he couldn't, and he didn't know how to deal with that. He couldn't just go out there and kick six goals, and he found that
a bit tough."

Buckenara was not overly impressed with what he saw, either. When he went and took a look through the tapes, he was not sure where Franklin would play — he seemed a flanker, not a genuine key position prospect. That was a reason the Hawks overlooked him with their first choice, too. But what Buckenara also saw, in the footage, was that Buddy could do more than just the big, bold things. "He didn't set the world alight, but people did mark him harshly," he said. "The big thing I noticed, because he'd got so much attention, was that when he got tackled, he hardly ever had the ball pinned to him.

"Even when he was gang-tackled he hardly ever had his arms pinned and he was always able to get his hands free and hand the ball off to someone else. He did lots of that, and it impressed me. If you watch him now at the top level, it's still one of his strengths. He has this way of getting free."

The third cross was the biggest one, and more about mind than body. In his psychological testing, Franklin came across as supremely self-assured and over-confident. In an interview with one club, he was asked what his biggest setback was, and he couldn't think of one. He interrupted another to take four or five phone calls, and get his social life organised. Another club could not see how he would possibly fi t in to a team environment. "As good as he's been, he was a risk, because he could have failed on personality," said one official.

"At the moment he's worked, but with all the information we had he was almost uncoachable, his self-esteem was so out of control. "His psych testing was off the page. He did whatever he wanted to do, and that's fi ne, but it was an enormous risk. When you've got a high pick, it's a big call. Those sort of personalities fail more often than they work."

That was no issue for McNeil. Franklin had an ego, he said, and it was one that his coaches then needed to constantly remind him of (bad games spent mostly on the bench meant little, for example, when you'd kicked the winning goal). But it was not ever something that put his teammates off.

"Most of his teammates loved him. Even now I imagine he'd be a real king of the kids," he said. "He wasn't a bad person, but he was a good looking kid who had a lot of talent, who was successful at everything he'd ever done, and he loved attention.

"He wasn't the most coachable youngster I've had, because he did come in thinking it would be a bit easy. But he didn't just ignore what you were saying to him. If you put the work in, then you could stop him from getting too carried away with it all.

"He's going to take you to the wire, Buddy. He didn't cause any trouble for me, but he loves to live life. He's always going to have that sparkle in his eye, I think, and he'll be interesting.

"He could be anything. He could be sensational, but he's got to repeat it and repeat it and repeat it. That's something he has to learn and it's something I'll be interested in watching."

Buddy still makes Buckenara nervous, too. He is impressed with how well his club has focused the young forward on what he can and needs to be. But he also hopes the Franklin scales don't ever start to tip too far the wrong way.

"He's still got a long way to go, but at the same time you don't want to knock his personality out of him completely. He believes in himself completely and it's what makes him good," he said. "He loves the big stage, he loves to express himself and play well and show off, and those are good things.

"It's funny, because the things people knocked him for are probably his strengths. We did it, too. The club's put a fair bit of work into Buddy, but there's always a bit of luck involved. We're as lucky as anyone with how it's worked out."

Almost a perfect example of an article this forum was designed for.

Will thoroughly enjoy reading it over the next few years once Franklin develops.

philhawk
10th August 2007, 11:37
http://www.afl.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=208&newsId=48843

Women are all around Buddy
10:40 AM Thu 9 August, 2007 | Back
By Catherine Murphy
Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network
OF ALL the players in the League, Hawthorn star Lance "Buddy" Franklin should appreciate the significance of the AFL Women's Round. Having grown up with four older sisters, he's spent most of his time surrounded by the fairer sex.

"I'm pretty close to my sisters," Franklin says. "We've got a really good relationship, all of us. I was bullied as a kid, though, I can tell you that much."

The 20-year-old is not sure that having a quartet of sisters has helped his dealings with the opposite sex, but he says he has certainly learned a bit about women from Bree, Bianca, Rechelle and Katherine.

"You get to know a lot about the way girls act. When they're all talking, I just sit back and listen," he says.

Franklin's sister Bianca plays netball for Melbourne Kestrels, and he says having a sporty sister to help and support him with his career had been beneficial.

"Growing up she was always there for me, offering support. She played sport full-time and was living at the Australian Institute of Sport, so she was always giving me tips on recovery and that sort of stuff. It was really good growing up with a sister who was into sport too," Franklin says.

His siblings readily offer their opinion on what he should be doing – more off the field than on it, he says.

"They just want me to settle down and get a girlfriend, but I just haven't found the right one yet. I'd be nervous bringing back a girl to meet them, though," he says with a laugh.

The youngest of the Franklin clan has had another sporting influence in the person of Bianca's boyfriend, rugby union star Matt Giteau. But he insists the two do not talk shop when they get together.

"We don't really talk about sport at all. We have more of a friendship. When you're around football 24/7, you want to get away from it and talk about other things."

The No.1 influence in his life, the young Hawk says, is his mum, Ursula.

"I reckon my mum hasn't missed a game of football since I was six-years-old. She was always the one driving me to training and driving me to games.

“She still does my washing for me. I'm the baby boy of the family. She does all my cooking as well. She always does a spaghetti bolognese for me the night before a game. I can't tell you the recipe, though."

hawkaz1
8th September 2007, 13:57
Here are Buddy's stats for 2007:

2007 Home & Away Totals

Matches: 20
Goals: 63
Marks: 112
Disposals: 269
Kicks: 184

http://img124.imageshack.us/img124/9449/buddystatskc5.th.png (http://img124.imageshack.us/my.php?image=buddystatskc5.png)

hawkaz1
8th September 2007, 17:34
7 goals... Won us the elimination final. Great stuff Buddy:thumbsu:

Cheeseman
10th September 2007, 18:43
http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/1039/buddysigmr2.gif

RustyHawk
10th September 2007, 19:29
Thank you to all those Hawk supporters who immediately stood up for Buddy.

No need to comment, all posts deleted. Red card issued to troll and will seek his permanent ban from the Hawthorn Board so that tur.. poster doesnt come back.

sydney_hawka
10th September 2007, 19:30

No need to comment, all posts deleted. Red card issued to troll and will seek his permanent ban from the Hawthorn Board so that tur.. poster doesnt come back.

Thanks Rusty.

chaddles
10th September 2007, 19:33

Thanks Rusty, awesome work.

Hodges
10th September 2007, 23:43
It was going to take something extra special for us to get up in the end, and it was fitting that it came down to this man. As soon as he took the mark, you could just tell he was going to bang it through.

That footage after he kicked the goal was pretty special too. Especially the part where he is giving it the double fist pump, while the crowd is going nuts behind him. Gives me goose bumps everytime I watch it. :D

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v707/Reze/Buddy.jpg

chaddles
11th September 2007, 11:07
Some of his matches have been amazing this year- I can't wait until he puts a four quarter match together. Hopefully it will be in the finals this year, not since Dermie's debut have I seen anyone who stood up to the pressure of finals football in there first appearance and make an impact like that.

play2win
11th September 2007, 16:04
Some of his matches have been amazing this year- I can't wait until he puts a four quarter match together. Hopefully it will be in the finals this year, not since Dermie's debut have I seen anyone who stood up to the pressure of finals football in there first appearance and make an impact like that.
buddy is a freak. i think he was a little flustered/nervous to begin with and made a few mistakes early and dropped marks. similarly with roughie. if buddy was on for the whole game it would have been out of reach of the crows by 3qtr time. the exciting thing is he will still get better.

the day he puts 4 qtrs together is the day the other side have zero chance of winning (imagine if it is in a grannie!!)

RustyHawk
18th September 2007, 20:15
All Australian nomination 2007

Buddy Franklin, Luke Hodge, Sam Mitchell and Campbell Brown were all nominated in the 40 man All Australian squad for 2007. From this squad the starting 22 and All Australian Squad for 2007 will be announced.

Campbell Brown went on to gain a position in the starting 22 announced Monday 17th September 2007.

RustyHawk
18th September 2007, 20:38
Franklin cool when it counted
9:13 PM Sat 8 September, 2007 | Back

By Sam Lienert

AAP

News
Hawks snatch thrilling win
Sat, Sep 08, 07You Buddy beauty!
Sat, Sep 08, 07I was more excited than the players: Clarkson
Sat, Sep 08, 07 BEFORE the game, he was as nervous as he has been in his career, but as he lined up to kick what proved to be the match-winning goal, Hawthorn forward Lance Franklin was feeling confident.

Having kicked 6.2 for the game to that point, including two thumping goals earlier in the final quarter of Saturday's elimination final against Adelaide, the 20-year-old knew the set shot from outside 50m on a tricky angle was within his capabilities.

"I was pretty confident. The first couple of goals I hit pretty good, so I was confident in having that set shot and probably banging it through," he said.

The seconds that followed were a swarm of emotion.

"It was unbelievable. It was the first final I've played in from juniors to now, so to kick the winning goal was unbelievable," Franklin said.

"I wasn't too sure how long was left, I thought probably two or three minutes, but then they told me there was about 10 seconds.

"When I hit it and when the siren went it was just an unbelievable feeling. It was just good for the boys, we worked hard, so it was good to get the outcome."

Ahead of what was his first final, Franklin said he had felt as nervous as he had at any time since his debut at the start of 2005, but noted that "nerves are good".

His superb goalkicking today was in contrast to many of his teammates and also a remarkable turnaround from his own performance at the same venue just 13 days earlier, when he entered the record books by kicking 2.11 against the Western Bulldogs.

He said some tips from Hawks football director Jason Dunstall, the greatest goalkicker in the club's history, in the weeks since that horror day in front of the goal posts, had helped him sort things out.

"Jason's been down at training the last couple of Thursdays and I'd have to put it down to him," Franklin said.

"Eleven points a couple weeks ago was a bit disappointing, I had to go back to the drawing board after that and just keep practising and just go back to my normal routine.

"It was good to get the seven goals today."

His own success and that of his inexperienced team in the club's first final since 2001 has him eagerly awaiting the next instalment, with the Hawks to face the loser of tomorrow's Geelong-Kangaroos qualifying final in another sudden-death encounter next weekend.

"I can't wait, I can't wait for the next week to get out there for another final, it will be good, hopefully we can come home for another win," he said.

Hawks snatch thrilling win
Sat, Sep 08, 07You Buddy beauty!
Sat, Sep 08, 07I was more excited than the players: Clarkson
Sat, Sep 08, 07

RustyHawk
18th September 2007, 20:41
You Buddy beauty!
5:10 PM Sat 8 September, 2007 | Back

By Jennifer Witham,

for hawthornfc.com.au

News
I was more excited than the players: Clarkson
Sat, Sep 08, 07Franklin cool when it counted
Sat, Sep 08, 07 HAWTHORN’S bid for its 10th AFL premiership is alive after a thrilling come-from-behind three-point elimination final win over Adelaide at Telstra Dome on Saturday afternoon.

In what was a breathtaking finish to a hard-fought match the Hawks sealed the win in the final 10 seconds with Lance Franklin booting the winning goal – his seventh – after marking 50m out.

The Crows had led for nearly the entire game, and had forfeited their lead midway through the final stanza after the Hawks valiantly refused to give in.

Ultimately, it was a brave second term by Hawthorn that kept it in the game after Adelaide surged and threatened to get away to an unbeatable lead. But, the Hawks rallied and kept themselves in the contest, eventually winning 15.15 (105) to 15.12 (102).

They will now meet the loser of Sunday's Geelong-Kangaroos clash in a semi-final next weekend.

Playing in their first final since 2001, it was a hugely heroic effort by the Hawks, considering their finals campaign was all but written off last weekend when they missed the chance to secure a top four position following a 72-point loss to the Swans.

Shane Crawford was simply stunning for the Hawks and led from the front with 33 disposals and a timely goal, and Sam Mitchell (29) and Brad Sewell (26) fought hard all afternoon while Jarryd Roughead booted three goals to compliment Franklin’s brilliant effort.

One of the most poignant moments of the afternoon came when outgoing captains Richie Vandenberg and Mark Ricciuto shook hands in the centre square for the coin toss. As the experienced pair engaged prior to the first bounce, they did so with the knowledge only one of them would win an opportunity to play another game.

That right went to Vandenberg, who had tearfully announced his retirement the day before the match. In comparison, Ricciuto quietly left the arena in a farewell unbefitting of such a great player.

Vandenberg wasn't going to die wondering in his final game and dutifully accepted the challenge of curtailing Andrew McLeod, while Ricciuto started deep and attracted the attention of Campbell Brown.

The young Hawthorn side had almost as many first-time finalists as Adelaide had experienced campaigners – there were 16 Hawks playing in their first-ever final, while there were just four Crows making their September debut.

As a result, there were many nervous Hawks during the early stages of the game, which was reflected by the number of shanked kicks and spilt marks in the opening term.

The Crows were composed and were out to a three-goal lead before 10 minutes were up, and although two goals to Roughead steadied the side, the margin was back out to 19 points at the first change with Adelaide holding court.

Injuries hit the Hawks in the second, and they lost Luke Hodge (knee) and Chance Bateman (hamstring) within five minutes of each other. Although both returned to the field, their effectiveness was initially limited.

The Hawks strong football late in the second term got them within two goals after trailing by as much as 31 points. So convincing was their surge – orchestrated by three goals to Franklin – the Crows resorted to playing tempo football for the remaining three minutes.

Hawthorn trailed by two even goals at the long break, and although the Crows emerged from the rooms so prematurely the Little League was still in progress, the Hawks were on the scoreboard first.

As proceedings tightened up, goals became hard to come by and even more valuable once obtained. The Hawks did well to stay within range of the Crows, as the intensity reached an uncanny level.

The players returned to their positions for the deciding term with the Crows 14 points in front, as both sides got ready for what would be the final quarter of football for one club in 2007.

At the 14-minute mark, the Hawks had booted three goals to one and the margin was two points. Seconds later, Franklin marked on the city side of the ground, and coolly slotted his sixth goal – the one that finally put the Hawks in front.

While the lead swapped hands twice more, it was the Hawks that held it when it mattered most.

HAWTHORN:4.3, 8.7, 10.10, 15.15 (105)

ADELAIDE: 7.4, 10.7, 12.12, 15.12 (102)

Goals: Hawthorn: Franklin 7, Roughead 3, Lewis, Brown, Bateman, Crawford, Young. Adelaide: McGregor 4, Welsh 4, Porplyzia 2, Gill, Van Berlo, Edwards, Knights, Torney.

Best: Hawthorn: Crawford, Franklin, Roughead, Sewell, Hodge, Brown, Ladson, Birchall, Guerra. Adelaide: Shirley, Torney, McGregor, Thompson, Goodwin, Massie, Edwards, Stevens.

Injuries: Hawthorn: McGlynn (adductor) out, replaced in selected side by Osborne, Hodge (knee), Bateman (hamstring)

Adelaide: TBA

Umpires: Kennedy, Allen, Chamberlain

Official crowd: 36,534 at Telstra Dome

CharlieMitchell
21st September 2007, 14:02
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,22419390-13222,00.html

MONASH University, April, 2004. Terry Wheeler, coach of the AIS-AFL Academy squad, attempts to retain the attention of his 17-year-old charges.
Assembled from around Australia as part of the Australian under-17 side playing Ireland in the International Rules Series, the group contains teenagers who have been on AFL recruiting radars for three to four years.
There's young Jarryd Roughead from Gippsland, Justin Sherman from Tassie and a cricketer/footballer named Shannon Hurn from Angaston in South Australia.
All will go on to make their mark at AFL level, but right now they are just kids with a dream, from a highly-touted country Victorian prodigy named Brett Deledio to Cameron Heise of Ballajura in WA.
All eager to impress, some nervous, some more certain in their movements, but all curious as photographer Peter Ward walks through the door of the Monash swimming pool to ply his trade.
Suddenly a good-looking lad with an infectious smile jumps to his feet and asks Ward where he would like him for the upcoming photo shoot.
Ward grins, finding it impossible to dislike the impromptu act of self-assuredness, despite his brief being to photograph Deledio, the Kyabram teenager widely tipped as the likely No. 1 draft pick later that year.
Not to be deterred, the precocious youngster offers his hand to Ward and introduces himself: "The name's Buddy. Remember it, because you're going to hear a lot more of it."
It draws a band of laughter from Franklin's teammates, by now used to his extroverted manner.
As the reporter who accompanied Ward to that venue, the episode left an indelible mark in my memory, as it did my young sons Jack and Sam who had made the trip to Monash as something to do during school holidays.
Despite being just six at the time, Sam still vividly remembers Buddy, even if he has a little trouble equating the dark-skinned teenager in a pair of Speedos with the colossus who now takes opposition sides apart with growing regularity.
Being 18 months older, Jack is more discerning in his appraisal of Franklin, asking after his third and ultimately match-winning goal last Sunday why the left-footer ran at a 45-degree angle away from the goals before sending it straight thought the middle.
Of course, there is no explaining genius other than perhaps a desire for more distance had sent Franklin off the well-beaten path constantly preached by goalkicking coaches at all levels.
So how did he ever last until pick five in a national draft given his God-given talents and a 196cm frame that was evident at the 2004 under-18 national championships in Victoria?
There is no simple explanation, rather a number of puzzle pieces that when placed together persuaded the recruiting people, including Hawthorn, to let Franklin fall through to their second pick (the Hawks took Jarryd Roughead with their first, No.2).
Every draft has a Franklin story, as recently as Joel Selwood (seven) last year, Beau Waters (11) in 2003 or Nick Dal Santo (13) in 2001. For Buddy it reads like this:
1: Doubts on his overhead marking meaning a lack of contested marks would see him become a third tall rather than go-to man.
2: Blatant disregard for the defensive side of the game, so often prevalent in child footballing prodigies.
3: A poor U18 carnival of 2004 (despite a match-winning goal against Vic Country) confirming his talent would be spasmodic at best.
4: A belief his mental application, on and off the field, may ultimately prevent him from reaching his athletic capabilities.
Wheeler, Franklin's coach from the U17 series and the AIS coach for five years after his years with the Western Bulldogs and Williamstown, has seen a lot of young talent over the journey.
"Young players have a tendency to mirror their personalities on the field, none moreso than Buddy Franklin," Wheeler said this week.
"When I got to know him at the U17 carnival I thought we'd better hang on tight because his ride is going to be one of incredible highs and lows.
"It will take a long time for the line on the graph to become level. He has a magnetic personality, one that draws the other boys to him.
"When Buddy was around you knew something was always about to happen and that is the same when he plays. Not always good, but something.
"As a coach I was trying to establish a serious environment in the U17s and then there was Buddy. A free spirit, just like his dad must have been when he up and left Melbourne to see Australia when he was just 20. You have to admire that."
Kevin Sheehan, the AFL's national talent manager, became fully acquainted with the genius of Franklin during the U17 Irish series at the MCG in the first test.
"We were 10 points down at three-quarter time and (coach) Terry Wheeler decided to change tactics. Up to that point he had instructed the players to concentrate on kicking overs, which are three points for kicking over the crossbar and between the goalposts," recalled Sheehan.
"But 10 points was a fair margin so he said to the players to go for six-pointers (beating the goalie by kicking or knocking the ball into the net). I might be wrong but I reckon I saw Buddy's eyes light up.
"Within 90 seconds he had grabbed the ball, side-stepped a couple of Irish boys and burst away from another before slotting it into the net for six points.
"As soon as he kicked it Buddy turned and looked up at us in the box. That was how much talent he had and when he set his mind there wasn't much the opposition could do."
The next time he saw Franklin was at Perth's Leederville Oval when he was playing in the state trials.
"He kicked five in the first quarter but that could have been eight because he missed a few relatively easy ones. For anyone there that day it was great to see a star emerge."

Hodges
22nd September 2007, 15:26
Good article. :thumbsu:

RustyHawk
7th October 2007, 07:39
Lance won the goal kicking award for 2007 and came 6th in the Hawks Best and Fairest for 2007.

Sewell claims first Peter Crimmins Medal
11:01 PM Sat 6 October, 2007 | Back

for hawthornfc.com.au

News
DANGEROUS midfielder Brad Sewell claimed his first Peter Crimmins Medal after a nail-biting finish in front of a 1300 strong crowd at Crown’s Palladium on Saturday night.

In the count to decide the 2007 Hawthorn club champion, Sewell (173 votes) and eventual runner-up Campbell Brown (172 votes) went into the semi final against the Kangaroos on equal votes.

However, Sewell scored the winning votes after his solid performance to narrowly defeat Brown. 2005 Peter Crimmins Medallist Luke Hodge topped off another consistent year finishing in third position.

After four seasons and 64 games, Sewell’s achievement crowns another sensational year for the 23-year-old, who played every game for the second consecutive season.

Shifted from a small defender’s role to the midfield, Sewell averaged 21 possessions per game – the biggest return coming in round 21 against the Western Bulldogs when he picked up 39.

He laid the most tackles of any Hawk with 104 for the season and had his fair share of clearances. He also managed to curb the influence of a number of the big names in the AFL including Chris Judd, Shannon Grant, Paul Chapman and Adam Goodes.

In other awards, Stephen Gilham was named the Most Improved after stepping up as a key defender and playing every game since his elevation from the rookie list in round 19, 2006. Gilham’s willingness to keep learning and working hard won him the honour.

Sewell also picked up the club’s award for the best player in the finals, while Brent Guerra was rewarded for his hard working year at half-back securing the Most Consistent award.

Xavier Ellis was named the best first year player for his impressive debut season.

In his second year at the club, Ellis made his debut in round one and played a total of 13 games for the season, switching between the wing and half-back.

The contribution of retiring trio Richie Vandenberg, Ben Dixon and Joel Smith was acknowledged during a fitting tribute to the popular players.

Vandenberg was also awarded Best Clubman, an acknowledgment of how his peers regard him.

The Peter Crimmins Medal - an Olympic-sized gold medal depicting a sculptured image of the former Hawthorn champion - was presented to Sewell by Crimmins’ wife Gwen who attended the awards with son Sam and daughter Amber.

Crimmins was vice-captain of the 1971 premiership team and captain for two years from 1974. He fell ill with cancer on the eve of the 1974 finals series, missing September action that year.

However, the ‘little fellow’ made a return from treatment to play at the start of the 1975 season. In round six that year Crimmins had to return for intensive treatment and never played senior football again.

Club awards
Best Clubman - Richie Vandenberg
Most Improved - Stephen Gilham
Best First Year Player - Xavier Ellis
Most Consistent - Brent Guerra
Leading Goalkicker - Lance Franklin
Most Votes in the Brownlow - Sam Mitchell

Peter Crimmins Medal voting – top ten
Brad Sewell - 173
Campbell Brown - 172
Luke Hodge - 161
Jordan Lewis - 154
Sam Mitchell - 137
Lance Franklin - 136
Brent Guerra - 136
Shane Crawford - 126
Trent Croad - 121
Rick Ladson - 116

Peter Crimmins Medal voting procedure
Votes for the 2007 Peter Crimmins Medal were awarded by the match committee, consisting of senior coach Alastair Clarkson and assistants Todd Viney, Damien Hardwick and Ross Smith after each home-and-away and finals match.

A maximum of 16 votes could be accumulated by a player after the four coaches’ voting cards were submitted using the following grading system:

- three votes to the best player or players

- two votes for a good game

- one vote to players who beat their opponents

On rare occasions a player or players may receive four votes for an exceptional game.

There is no restriction on the number of players who receive votes in a match.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
16th December 2007, 14:21
Wtw5QXZEFaw

Thanks for the great work by hawkaz1, Rusty & phil so far. I really think I will be very busy this year with Buddy and promise to do my best to compile everything I can but I really do welcome everyones' contributions.

I'm planning on trying to keep everything in a chronological order if possible so I'm thinking maybe if you come across an old gem of an article or vid somewhere maybe it could be submitted to the mods so they can slot it into the timeline of things? Is this even possible?

Anyway, in starting season '08 I thought we can begin by looking back to one of the biggest highlights of '07 - the day some said Buddy became a star, but for the majority it just confirmed it.

Also thanks in advance to H2F for me ripping off one of his many awesome vids.

philhawk
16th December 2007, 19:38
Wtw5QXZEFaw

Thanks for the great work by hawkaz1, Rusty & phil so far. I really think I will be very busy this year with Buddy and promise to do my best to compile everything I can but I really do welcome everyones' contributions.

I'm planning on trying to keep everything in a chronological order if possible so I'm thinking maybe if you come across an old gem of an article or vid somewhere maybe it could be submitted to the mods so they can slot it into the timeline of things? Is this even possible?

Anyway, in starting season '08 I thought we can begin by looking back to one of the biggest highlights of '07 - the day some said Buddy became a star, but for the majority it just confirmed it.

Also thanks in advance to H2F for me ripping off one of his many awesome vids.

I'll do my best, mate. Just tell me what you want done and i'll try to make it happen.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
19th December 2007, 12:11
http://inlinethumb25.webshots.com/33560/2550384330100157451S600x600Q85.jpg (http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2550384330100157451RSzkSv)

HappyHawk
19th December 2007, 12:20

Dermie's impact was no where near the level of impact of Franklin's. Dermie is one of our all time greats and a top bloke. But Buddy's first final stands alone.

Hawkers Hero
19th December 2007, 14:53
http://inlinethumb25.webshots.com/33560/2550384330100157451S600x600Q85.jpg (http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2550384330100157451RSzkSv)

That goal average is quite impressive :thumbsu:

2005 - 1.1
2006 - 2.2
2007 - 3.3
2008 - 4.4??

Wouldnt that be nice to see 22 games at a 4.4 goal average (97 goals) :D

That would shut up those tools calling him inconsistent :thumbsd:

hawkstars
21st December 2007, 07:55
We will see more of the buddy show next year. As far as I'm concerned he was a standout this year. The scary things is he still has room to improve. Scary!

Hawks 08
21st December 2007, 21:30
I can't see him getting the same amount of goals with Willo up forward. Maybe he will play up the ground a bit more in 08 and win a few more posesions.

Big Ronnie
24th December 2007, 19:18
Well done to Thatswhatimtalkingabout who with the number one selection in the 2007 draft has selected the Mercurial Buddy Franklin.

We look forwad to TWITA's updates throughout the season, and he has promised to stay out as late as possible to keep him in check from the nightlife and the ladies.

Go get em Thatswhatimtalkingabout:thumbsu::thumbsu:

thatswhatimtalkinabout
31st December 2007, 14:33
http://afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=54495

Buddy puts on a show
4:20 PM Sun 30 December, 2007
By Jennifer Witham, Jason Phelan, Mic Cullen and Ben Broad

No.6: Essendon v Hawthorn, round six, MCG, second quarter

THE MATCH wasn't a nail-biter, nor was it at the business end of the season, but Hawthorn's Lance Franklin-inspired 35-point win over Essendon in round six was impressive for another big reason.

'Buddy' booted nine goals for the game in an outstanding performance and his electrifying second term was one of the best individual efforts of the year.

In a 15-minute burst, the 20-year-old nailed five majors to set up the win, after the Bombers got off to a blistering start to kick four goals to one in the first 15 minutes and lead by 19 points.Franklin’s brilliance nudged the Hawks ahead by as much as 21 points, but the Bombers fought hard and were down by only eight at the main break.

But, the Hawks held their lead throughout the match and rounded out the afternoon with five final-quarter goals to claim the win, 20.11 (131) to 15.6 (96), with 'Buddy' the main attraction.

HAWTHORN 3.3 9.5 15.8 20.11 (131)
ESSENDON 4.2 8.3 11.3 15.6 (96)
GOALS
Hawthorn: L Franklin 9 T Boyle 3 B Dixon 3 J Roughead 2 L Hodge J Lewis T Murphy.
Essendon: A Davey 2 C Johns 2 J Johnson 2 B Stanton 2 A Welsh 2 A Lovett S Lucas M Michael P Ryder J Winderlich.
BEST
Hawthorn: L Franklin S Crawford C Brown R Ladson B Dixon J Lewis B Sewell.
Essendon: J Johnson M McVeigh B Stanton A Welsh A Davey.

http://www.afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=54500

Buddy's big finish

7:26 AM Tue 1 January, 2008
By Jennifer Witham, Jason Phelan, Mic Cullen and Ben Broad

Adelaide v Hawthorn. elimination final, Telstra Dome

LANCE Franklin kicked his way into finals folklore with his last-minute match winner, and the fast-paced, high-intensity football that preceded his now-famous long-range bomb combined to make this one of the most memorable matches of the season.

The Crows had spent the last month of the regular season locked in a draining dogfight for eighth spot and didn’t secure a finals berth until the very last weekend, while the Hawks had sewn up their spot weeks earlier.

The youthful Hawthorn side was a warm favourite going into the match, but coach Alastair Clarkson refused to underestimate the battle hardened Crows, who had played off in the previous two preliminary finals. His fears were well founded as Adelaide got off to a flying start, but his charges, playing in the club’s first finals series since 2001, were equal to the challenge.

After trailing by as much as 31 points in the second quarter and with key midfielder Luke Hodge troubled by a knee injury, Hawthorn looked to be in trouble. But inspired by evergreen onballer Shane Crawford and the dogged determination of Hodge, the Hawks dug deep and kept the deficit to a manageable two goals at the main break.

The non-stop action continued in the second half with Ken McGregor and Scott Welsh, who both finished with four goals, the focal points for Adelaide, while Jarryd Roughead (three goals) and Franklin, who finished with seven, did the damage for the Hawks.

Crawford turned back the clock with a stunning 33-possession performance and Scott Thompson impressed for the Crows with 34 touches, but it was his error that ultimately set up Franklin’s shot on goal.

After a superb running goal from Jason Torney had put the visitors in front just minutes earlier, Thompson sent the ball out on the full as Adelaide struggled to clear the defensive zone from a point.

The tension was unbearable as Franklin lined up for the kick from outside 50, but it was soon broken when his booming left foot kick sliced gracefully through the big sticks to seal the win and signal his arrival as a legitimate star of the game.

The match also proved to be the final curtain for Crows superstar Mark Ricciuto, who had earlier announced his intention to retire at the conclusion of Adelaide’s finals campaign.

HAWTHORN 4.3 8.7 10.10 15.15 (105)
ADELAIDE 7.4 10.7 12.12 15.12 (102)
Goals: Hawthorn: L Franklin 7 J Roughead 3 J Lewis S Crawford C Bateman C Brown C Young. Adelaide: K McGregor 4 S Welsh 4 J Porplyzia 2 T Edwards N Gill N Van Berlo J Torney C Knights.
Best: Hawthorn: L Franklin S Crawford S Mitchell R Ladson L Hodge C Young. Adelaide: T Edwards S Thompson S Goodwin K McGregor N Bock S Welsh.
Umpires: H Kennedy B Allen R Chamberlain
Official crowd: 36,534 at Telstra Dome.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
17th January 2008, 06:20
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsId=54583

Smiles at Dandenong for regional training
2:22 PM Fri 11 January, 2008

http://inlinethumb38.webshots.com/41957/2341056910100157451S600x600Q85.jpg (http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2341056910100157451emSjEf)
Supporters catch up with 'Buddy'.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
20th January 2008, 11:16
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/foo...E20322,00.html (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,23077506%255E20322,00.html)

Franklin on a mission
20 January 2008 Sunday Herald Sun
Jackie Epstein

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/files/hawks.jpg

LOOK out for a bigger, stronger and better Buddy this season.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5849260,00.jpg

Getting stronger: Lance 'Buddy' Franklin is looking bigger and stronger says Simon Taylor. Picture: Peter Glenane

Hawthorn ruckman Simon Taylor said Lance Franklin had a swagger that meant defenders were in trouble.

"Buddy's really flying at the moment and has not missed a session," Taylor said.

Photo gallery: Hawks pre-season (http://news.com.au/heraldsun/gallery/0,22010,5028999-5006020-4,00.html)

"I probably shouldn't say he's got a bit more arrogance, but he's just going so well and will be even better.

"Good luck to anyone playing on him."

Taylor and Franklin were passengers in Franklin's car when Collingwood rookie Sharrod Wellingham was booked for drink driving in Lorne two weeks ago.

Taylor said it was a "silly decision" and the pair was keen to move on.

On the track they are among those setting the pace. The group has lifted its pre-season workload and yesterday completed the regular hills session at Fawkner Park and then a swim.

Taylor said the list was fairly injury free and motivated after tasting finals action last year.

"We've got to keep raising the bar," he said.

"We're not going to put limits on ourselves. Even someone coming in like Stuart Dew has benefited the group.

"He's looking really good and is a quality guy, so you can understand why the coaching staff wanted him.

"We've also got Max Bailey back training and the young guys are improving. Beau Muston, Beau Dowler, Travis Tuck and Mitch Thorp - those type of guys are going well."

Taylor needs two matches to notch his 50-game milestone.

He is excited about the team's ruck division with Robert Campbell and Bailey.

"I'm ready to go and can't wait for matches to start," Taylor said.

"They're exciting times ahead."

Hawks members have jumped on board with 21,493 signed up. The club is on target for record numbers with an aim of 35,000.

philhawk
6th February 2008, 05:20
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,23166881%255E20322,00.html

Goodes: Franklin's a top player
06 February 2008 Herald Sun
ADAM Goodes vividly remembers his first extended encounter with "Buddy" Franklin.

Talent: Adam Goodes (front) and Lance Franklin.

It was the at the MCG in Round 9, 2006, when the Sydney Swans star, on his way to his second Brownlow Medal, found himself alongside the then teenager with the growing reputation.

"I had a bit of a field day that day, but I knew there was something about him," Goodes said this week.

"I ran off him a bit and he did look a little bit lost in the role of following someone around.

"After the game, I said to him, 'You're going to be a good player, brother, keep believing in yourself'.

"He had that attitude of, 'I'm going to take you on today', and I like that in a player.

"When I stood next to him, he made me look small, and the kid could run."

Goodes was moved on to Franklin after Nick Malceski strained a hamstring.

The Sydney star racked up 28 possessions and three Brownlow votes, Franklin finished with 12 disposals and no goals.

The Swans won by 65 points, but Goodes had seen something special.

"He's definitely going to be the No. 1 player down there," he said this week.

:)

philhawk
6th February 2008, 06:00
http://heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,23166879%255E19767,00.html

Hawks know a Buddy bewdy
06 February 2008 Herald Sun
Mike Sheahan
IF HE isn't the most exciting player in the AFL, we are happy to be seen to be out of step.

On fire: The Hawthorn faithful goes berserk after Lance Franklin kicks the winning goal in last year's Elimination final.

He recently turned 21 (last Wednesday) yet already has 56 games to his name, and exudes the aura and charisma of the genre known as stars.

At 198cm and 101kg, he is a striking physical specimen, and is remarkably quick and nimble.

Twenty years ago, he would have been both the tallest and heaviest player on Hawthorn's list.

Not that it matters, but he is handsome, too, with a smile that spells "Hollywood".

It is impossible to walk away from 40 minutes with Lance "Buddy" Franklin less than excited about what the future holds for him, Hawthorn and us this year.

Yes, us, for the Franklins of sport gradually become community property.

No wonder the Hawks are so pleased to have secured him recently for the period 2008-10 -- for about $1.4 million.

No wonder, also, that the young man says: "I'm just pretty happy where I am at the moment, to be honest."

Franklin, who spoke to the Herald Sun in his first extended interview, is a young man seemingly at peace with himself and content in his world.

Provided he has found the balance between what's best for his football and what gives him the biggest kicks in his private life, he is destined to become a superstar.

He played 22 of 24 games last year, kicking 73 goals, 33 more than Jarryd Roughead, next best at Hawthorn.

He booted nine against Essendon, seven, including the winning goal, against Adelaide in an elimination final, and four other bags of five or more.

His 73.62 included 2.11 against the Western Bulldogs, a 1.6 and a 1.5. He should have topped 90 goals for the year.

While "stoked" about his equal-sixth in Hawthorn's best-and-fairest, some of us thought him harshly judged.

Goals still win games, yet midfielders and run-with players have become the darlings of match committees.

Predictably, Franklin is counting down the days to the new season, seemingly oblivious to the huge expectations on him.

"I'm not feeling any pressure at all," Franklin said. "Just training as hard as I can, just getting the best out of myself.

"I know if I stick to my guns and train hard, I know it's just going to come.

"I know if I'm doing the right thing . . . if I'm doing my best, I can go out to get the best out of myself, I know I'm happy.

"Hopefully that keeps the supporters happy, too."

Not much risk there. Franklin is a huge favourite with the Hawthorn faithful.

No one involves supporters in a game like "Buddy" does, right down to high-fives with fans after goals from near the boundary.

Franklin has added 3kg between seasons, largely across the shoulders. He is pleased with the extra weight, yet mindful of not going overboard and diminishing his extraordinary pace and agility for such a big man. He has a best 20m time of 2.9sec, which ranks him top 10 at Hawthorn.

He is bench-pressing 100kg, hardly Olympic standard yet a huge improvement in three years.

"I'm up to the ton; nothing special. I've still got a lot of work to do in the gym.

"To be honest, I couldn't even do a push-up when I first came over here (from Perth). Every time I do one now, the fitness boys laugh and say 'you've come a long way'.

"Coming straight out of school football, it was just train twice a week, get the ball and kick it.

"Here, you've got pilates, you've got yoga, you've got all the extra skills and weights sessions. When I first came over, it was a real eye-opener.

"It took me a year and a bit to adjust. I love it all now. I couldn't think of anything better to do.

"I've only played 50-odd games. I'm still only getting used to the game. I just can't wait to get it started again.

"Can't wait to get back out there."

Franklin's enthusiasm eases a little when he is queried on why his name bobs up so often in stories and exotic rumours of player misbehaviour.

"I can only laugh at that stuff, to be honest," he said after a deep breath.

"I'm really not sure, mate. There's always going to be a lot of rumours that go around about people in football.

"As long as I know I'm doing the right thing and my family and the club knows I'm doing the right thing, I'm happy."

"I know I'm doing the right things, the club knows I'm doing the right things."

Most recently, he was a passenger in a car being driven by Collingwood's Sharrod Wellingham at Lorne when police stopped the car. His car.

Wellingham was found to have a blood alcohol level exceeding .05, an offence that cost his club a $500,000 sponsorship from the TAC.

Wellingham had Franklin and teammate Simon Taylor as passengers. Police took no action against the Hawthorn pair, but the club said they had been reminded of the "importance of making good decisions".

Franklin explains that he has "slowed down", before making the point, a valid point, too, that "I'm only 21 years of age".

"If I want to go out and have a beer, I can go out and have a beer. I've got a lot of things to learn still and I'll learn them along the way."

It seems he is learning, too.

In his early days at Hawthorn, senior players, principally Ben Dixon and John Barker, were both mentors and custodians. The brief included looking after him after dark.

"I was new," Franklin said. "I had to find my way. They guided me, that's all."

A week ago, he celebrated his 21st birthday at a dinner in a private room at Cocoa's at Crown, he and five teammates including Shane Crawford and Trent Croad and two of his mates from outside football.

No grog, nothing consumed that was more adventurous than ice-cream cake.

Crawford and Croad are close friends and mentors.

"I love the way Crawf goes about his stuff; his work ethic is unbelievable," Franklin said.

"I just try to do everything with him, push myself. Tim Clarke, too. The way he works is great; you've got to admire that."

Franklin wants to improve both his strength and endurance, without lessening his pace. "Getting a lot stronger is my main goal at the moment."

Then there's his right side, technically his only weakness.

"Yeah, I've been working on it, right-foot snaps at boundary throw-ins," Franklin said.

"It's getting better slowly; I never had to use my right foot before I came here."

He lives in Box Hill with his parents, Urshula and Lance, who have moved from Perth to Melbourne.

His father grew up in Melbourne's Diamond Valley, moving to WA at 21, where he married and raised four girls and his now-famous son.

One of the girls, Bianca, is a netballer on the Perth roster for the new trans-Tasman competition.

Franklin attended Wesley College in Perth, but grew up following Melbourne, as his father and grandfather had done.

"I was mad Melbourne, the only kid running round in a Melbourne jumper in under-12s," he said.

His heroes were Garry Lyon and David Schwarz.

He says he left Perth behind, physically and spiritually at 17, drafted No. 5 in 2004.

"Hawthorn's a great club, I love it here. I want to be here for another 10 years, at least," Franklin said.

On what we've seen so far, all of us hope so.

noosa hawk mad
14th February 2008, 13:03
Buddy Love

Well few would doubt the natural ability of Lance Franklin in the Hawks forward line and he proved during the finals last year that he is going to be a superstar of the competition. It is going to extremely tough in 2008 for “Buddy” he will be getting the treatment that Jonathan Brown from thehttp://www.aflfootyblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/12/lancefranklin.thumbnail.jpg Brisbane Lions gets, in terms of double and triple teaming him. This is where the other forwards need to be smart, the likes of Jarryd Roughhead (2nd in the goal kicking) and Tim Boyle (3rd in the goal kicking) can have a field day if defenders are going to apply this tactic to Franklin. The key is for the Hawks midfield not to be to “Buddy” conscious in the way they move the ball into the forward line. Don’t forget Mark Williams, who is expected to be back in full training by January, will come back in the line up as well. Quite a potent forward line don’t you think?

noosa hawk mad
20th February 2008, 15:06
http://sportal.com.au/site/_content/leadimage/00016261-image.jpg

Buddy the new Derm

20/02/2008 4:07:48 PM
Ronny Lerner

Sportal

Related Links

NAB Cup, NAB Challenge squads (http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/nab-cup,-nab-challenge-squads-43505)Hawthorn midfielder Sam Mitchell has hailed up-and-coming superstar Lance Franklin as the new version of the club's legendary centre half-forward Dermott Brereton.
Mitchell believes Franklin, who wears Brereton's famous No.23 guernsey, shares many of the traits that Brereton, a five-time premiership player, possessed when he played the same position as Franklin.
"They're both probably a little bit similar; there's probably some similarities between their personalities and the way they go about their footy," Mitchell told SEN.

"But I think 'Franko' is the modern day version; a little bit taller and a little bit more athletic. Dermie caught the plane with us down to Tassie on the weekend and you have a look at the difference in their body shape and I guess it mirrors the way the game's changed in the last 10 to 15 years."
However, if Franklin is to ultimately be ranked in the same class as Brereton, the 21-year-old concedes that accuracy in front of goal is something he has to work on.
Franklin exploded in his third season last year, booting 73 goals after his first two years yielded a total of 52.22.
But his offensive feats in 2007 tended to be overshadowed by the fact that on 13 occasions he either kicked as many goals as behinds or kicked more behinds than goals - including an astonishing 2.11 against the Western Bulldogs in round 21.
"52 percent (accuracy for goal) is pretty ordinary for a forward, I just have to have a chat to (team-mate) Mark Williams down there," Franklin suggested.
"He's probably got the best conversion in the comp so hopefully (I'll) get into him and get him to teach us how to kick some goals, obviously."
Mitchell believes that being inundated with information and advice may have contributed to Franklin's inability to convert many of his 62 behinds last season into six-pointers.
"The best way to deal with some of these guys is to let them go, I think that they can be so over-coached with so many people telling them how to kick," Mitchell explained.
"I mean, I'm sure that 'Franko', when he was 16, he probably kicked 70 goals (and) 10 (behinds) as a junior because no one was telling him how to kick, he just kicked."
Although Franklin finished just four goals shy of Brisbane Lions powerhouse Jonathan Brown in last year's Coleman medal race, the young Hawk says he hasn't thought about taking out the honour this season.
"Not really, not at all. We're obviously a four-man forward line so we're all working together - me, Jarryd Roughead, Tim Boyle and Mark Williams - and we got a couple of other young boys coming up too so that's not in my mind at all I'm just looking forward to getting out there and playing some good football," he said.
Franklin should next be in action for Hawthorn in its NAB Cup quarter

RustyHawk
24th February 2008, 09:27
Buddy is reported for wrestling in the NAB Cup quarter final against Carlton at the dome, Saturday 23.02.08. Buddy also sat out the entire second half after the Hawks blew the Blues away with a dominant 1st Quarter.

This is the 2nd NAB Cup that Buddy has played. Note: NAB Cup forwards have been Buddy, Tim Boyle, Mark Williams and Cyril Rioli. No sign of Roughead, Thorp or Dowler at this stage.

Three Hawks reported
Author: Jen Witham
11:27 PM Sat 23 February, 2008

HAWTHORN coach Alastair Clarkson wasn’t surprised by the three reports that marred his side’s NAB Cup quarter-final win over Carlton on Saturday night.

Clarkson conceded it was disappointing to end the match with three of his players in the umpires' book, after Campbell Brown (charging), Josh Kennedy (making forceful contact) and Franklin (wrestling) were all reported.

"That's always a danger when you're playing NAB Cup games but you've got to put yourself in competitive environments; you can't just go into the season opener with no pre-season practice games," he said.

"You're exposed to the element, and you put 26 competitive beasts out there against an opposition. From time to time, you're going to cross that fine white line.

"We'll see what the outcome of that is throughout the course of the week, but it was a little bit of a downer."

Clarkson was pleased with his side's explosive first half against Carlton, as it enabled him to inject valuable game time into his younger players.

He was able to leave Lance 'Buddy' Franklin, Sam Mitchell, Grant Birchall and Stephen Gilham on the bench for extended periods in the second half, after the Hawks amassed a 52-point lead by half time.

"We're really pleased with the way we played for the greater part of the first half, and in the second half, the risk is you're perceived as being arrogant, but it gave us a great opportunity to play some of our younger players," Clarkson said, after the eventual 34-point victory.

"They made plenty of mistakes, but that's what it's about at this level and we're really pleased with the outcome of the game.

"To play so well when the whips were cracking early in the game and to get the opportunity at that level to expose so many of our younger players on our list was really pleasing for our club."

Of the younger players, Cyril Rioli and rookie Cameron Stokes both caught the coach's eye, with Clarkson applauding the way the pair managed to fit in with the forward structure.

"They've both had real good blocks of training over the last three months since they've been at the club, and they apply a lot of forward line pressure, which is good," he said.

"It's not just about them getting their hands on the ball and kicking goals; they apply an enormous amount of pressure when the opposition does get the ball, and try and rebound it out.

"I was really pleased with the contribution those two guys made in particular, but our whole forward line with 'Buddy' and Mark Williams and Tim Boyle and Michael Osborne, and Hodgy (Luke Hodge) when he was down there early, applied a lot of pressure to the opposition, which was really good."

The Hawks will now play the winner of Sunday's Adelaide-Fremantle clash next Saturday night, with the match to be held at either AAMI Stadium or Subiaco.

Source: Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

thatswhatimtalkinabout
17th March 2008, 10:48
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/1,9191,23364160-11088,00.html

Pressure on Lance Franklin and Hawthorn defence
Mike Sheahan
March 13, 2008 12:00am

HAWTHORN has finished 14th, 11th and sixth in Alastair Clarkson's first three years at the helm.

Five wins in the first year grew to nine in the second then 14 last year, including one in a final.

It makes for an impressive graph.

The question now is whether Clarkson's group is ready to take the smaller yet infinitely tougher step into the top four, the platform for a genuine premiership tilt.

Like most observers, I like the Hawks; unlike many, I have reservations, too.

Did the 2007 result flatter them? Do they kick enough goals? Do they rely too much on Lance Franklin for their goals? Are they a key defender shy?
One more: are they disciplined enough?

Let's address them in order.

They won just half their 12 encounters against the other finalists last year; they were outscored by eight other teams, including four of the bottom six; Franklin kicked 22 per cent of their goals; the defence does not possess a "gorilla"; and only Fremantle had more players on report last year.

Three Hawks - Shane Crawford, Jordan Lewis and Luke Hodge - were suspended after the semi-final loss to the Kangaroos and will miss the start of the 2008 season.

As will classy defender Campbell Brown, for his indiscretion in the NAB Cup.
Unfortunately, Brown often forgets the modern game does not allow him to play in the manner of his father Malcolm.

Clarkson would have told Crawford, Lewis, Hodge and Brown you cannot give starts in such a tough competition, and going into a season four short is giving a massive start.

Four of the first eight in the 2007 best-and-fairest, actually.
The coach likes his men to be aggressive - right on the edge - just as he was. But he has to set the right balance.

Brown, for example, probably would have got Aaron Davey in Round 1. Davey, the single biggest threat to the Hawks.

If he kicks four and the Demons get over the line, Campbell might be well advised to slip away just before the final siren.
The Hawks, though, do look to have an accommodating start to the season.

They don't play any of the likely big guns until Collingwood in Round 7. They play Geelong, Port Adelaide, West Coast, Sydney and St Kilda just once.

Hawthorn has not lost much and has added Stuart Dew and Cyril Rioli to the ranks.

Dew is a premiership player with a dynamic left foot; Rioli a skilful youngster bred to be a star as a nephew of Maurice Rioli and Michael Long.

On the flip side, Beau Muston will miss another season with, sadly, yet more knee problems, and Max Bailey, a first-round draftee in 2005, is not over his knee worries either.

Hawthorn has assembled an exciting list, with a nice blend of experience and youth, height and strength, and a splash of flair.

Franklin is the key. Despite Clarkson's best endeavours to paint him as just another player, he is the match-winner.

He booted five goals or more six times in his 22 games last year for a total of 73, and won the elimination final against Adelaide off his own boot.

At his best, he is unstoppable, as Adam McPhee, Dustin Fletcher and other Essendon defenders found at the MCG in Round 6, when he kicked nine.

There's still plenty of upside in him at 21, but he is already the one opposition coaches will be plotting to stop.

The return of Mark Williams from injury gives Hawthorn another valuable forward. Franklin, Jarryd Roughead, Tim Boyle and Williams represent an excellent mix inside forward 50.

The midfield is strong, no, make that excellent. Ruckmen Rob Campbell and Simon Taylor are workmanlike rather than fancy, but they give Sam Mitchell and Luke Hodge at least a 50-50 chance at ground level, and that's all they need.

The Hawks are hard and creative at stoppages. Mitchell, a genius with his ability to win and deliver the ball in heavy traffic, and the classy Hodge have Brad Sewell to take care of the best opposition midfielder.
Crawford, Chance Bateman and Ben McGlynn provide the dash.

If there's a structural concern, it is the defence.

Trent Croad will take one of the big forwards, but Croad is not a giant at 190cm and 99kg.

Stephen Gilham is a fraction taller yet significantly lighter. He is a smart player, but he will be conceding heaps of weight and strength against Jonathan Brown, Warren Tredrea, Quinten Lynch, Fraser Gehrig and the like.

The strength of Hawthorn's defence is its rebound.

Yes, there's plenty to like about the Hawks . . . on the proviso Franklin and the defence both stand up under pressure, and the key players keep their heads.

noosa hawk mad
24th March 2008, 06:35
Hawk spearhead puts hand up for superstardom

Samantha Lane | March 24, 2008

HE HARDLY seemed to raise a sweat. But whenever Lance Franklin raised his long arms yesterday, the ball came to them. Six of his nine shots on goal he converted.
The only common ground between the audacious Hawthorn star and Melbourne in their opening-round appearances was that both began the new season looking as though they were destined for a repeat of the last.
But while first-up form suggested that the Dees, in their 150th celebration year, are headed for even worse times than in 2007, Franklin, in only his fourth season, could be on the up.
As has been well chronicled already, he comes from a high base. Having contributed 10 goals for the Hawks in his first two finals last September, Franklin, in the Hawks' 2008 season opener yesterday, booted as many majors as his club's opponent managed collectively.
He scored every which way — lead out, grab, goal. Pack mark, set shot, goal. Deft gather, snap shot, goal.
In the third term, Franklin had only just run onto the ground after a short breather on the bench when he was picked out — opponentless — and drilled a major from outside the 50-metre arc off three steps.
There was more consistency in his celebrations, and in a short career, the 21-year-old has already displayed quite a repertoire. Yesterday, they were mostly one-arm salutes, with the odd waving of fingers to the crowd.
For Demon defender Nathan Carroll, who made a habit of finding trouble in the off-season, trouble in the form of a rival footballer was the assignment bestowed upon him in round one.
Franklin was but one of many headaches presented to Melbourne coach Dean Bailey on the day of his senior coaching debut. Daniel Bell was given the job temporarily, but after doing no better than Carroll he was discharged. On more than one occasion, Bell was almost attached to his taller opponent but still couldn't manage to deny him the ball.
Twenty-three minutes into the final term, Franklin was called to the bench. The Hawthorn faithful clapped and whistled in appreciation of his hard day's work. Franklin, though, was jogging casually, looking as if he was only warming up.
HAWTHORN 5.5 7.10 15.12 23.16 (154)
MELBOURNE 1.1 1.5 2.10 6.14 (50)
GOALS: Hawthorn: Franklin 6, Osborne 3, Roughead 3, Dew 2, Boyle 2, Stokes 2, Campbell 2, Young, Taylor, Rioli.
Melbourne: Robertson 3, Green 2, Newton.
BEST: Hawthorn: Franklin, Bateman, Osborne, Mitchell, Dew, Birchall, Boyle, Rioli, Young. Melbourne: Jones, Buckley, Green, Robertson.
UMPIRES Farmer, Kennedy, M Nicholls.
CROWD 40,141 at the MCG.
FAIR RESULT? WELL, duh. The only people arguing this result was unfair would be those in red and blue hoping for at least one win. To them, it's all deeply unfair.
With a depleted side, Hawthorn had no right to expect to win by 100 points and, in fact, could be fearing dropping early games with those out suspended or injured. Yesterday, the Hawks not only dodged a bullet but appeared undeterred by absences.
TALKING POINT? HOW bad is Melbourne? Was this an aberration or are the Demons really going to be this bad all year? They looked slow, hesitant and at a loss for direction. They are short in defence and limited forward.
HOT AND COLD? BUDDY. They love Buddy at Hawthorn and this was why. He was a complete forward yesterday, admittedly beating up a lesser opponent, but he led and marked, he crunched packs, he crumbed, he gathered his own ball, he marked one-out one-on-one. And he kicked as many himself as Melbourne did

thatswhatimtalkinabout
27th March 2008, 11:13
http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2008/03/27/12522_geelong_sports.html

John Barnes says Buddy Franklin is driving him nuts
John Barnes
27Mar08

THE way blokes celebrate after kicking a goal these days drives me nuts.

I don't mind a celebration of a goal when it means something to the team, but I draw the line at acting like Jesus Christ Superstar when your team is 70 points up.

That is exactly what Hawthorn's Lance `Buddy' Franklin did time and again during his team's demolition of Melbourne on Sunday.

After every one of his six goals, Buddy stood with his arms raised in the air as if conducting an orchestra _ and as if saying to the crowd `how good am I? I am a God'.

It was self-fulfilling behaviour and, quite frankly, it gave me the sh---s.

If his Hawk teammates or the coach aren't talking to him about it, then they need to. Now.

A couple of years back, Alastair Clarkson arrived at Hawthorn and instructed then full-forward Mark Williams to put away his famous shotgun celebration.

Williams would bring out that shotgun even if the Hawks were getting flogged, so Clarkson told him in no uncertain terms to put it back in the holster. He needs to tell Buddy he ain't the Messiah.

Buddy is a sensational player. His match-winning goal against Adelaide in last year's finals was one of the season's most magical moments.

He celebrated as he should have _ with his teammates and the thousands of Hawks fans who cheered deliriously in the stands. But on Sunday, when Buddy celebrated his goals, it was not about his teammates or the fans.

It was about himself.

My advice to Buddy would be to take a lesson from the Hawks' greatest ever goal-kicker, Jason Dunstall.

Dunstall would kick a great goal, then run 30 metres to a team mate, like a Buckenara, pat him on the butt and give him credit for the great pass.

He would then head back to the forward line, lick his hands and get ready for the next one. With Dunstall, it was always about the team.

You can't question Franklin's potential. He can play. He is super quick, six foot six, and has got the moves.

He just needs to learn that his actions will do the talking for him.

Right now, he struts around like even the Gods should be peeling his grapes for him.

It is not the way to earn respect from your peers. Or from footy fans in general.

If Buddy needs another example to follow, he could look no further than Bulldog champion Brad Johnson.

I have arrived at the Western Bulldogs this year and was privileged to be in the rooms for Johnson's 300th game on Sunday.

They absolutely love him there _ and it is because he is the ultimate team man.

Johnno gets as excited as the next guy when he kicks a goal, but it is always with the team in mind.

If he believes it can inspire the Dogs, he will pump his fists.

If he kicks three goals in the last five minutes to win a game like he did on Sunday, he wants only to share the moment with his mates.

Before the game, I happened to see Scotty West give Johnno a hug and tell him what a great achievement it was and how he should be proud of what he had done.

If I had a camera, I would have taken a photo. It was a Kodak moment.

Brad Johnson is a true champion and a humble one at that. That is what earns respect.

Young Buddy could take a leaf out of Johnno's book. James Hird was the same.

Buddy is not alone, by the way. He is one of about 20 blokes that need to pull their heads in because it can backfire on you.

Chad Cornes was the perfect example. He did that stupid goose step in the preliminary final last year after kicking a goal when Port led by about 100 points.

The following week, his graceless behaviour created unwanted headlines for the club and for himself.

If I was a coach and we were playing Hawthorn from now on, I would target this bloke, Franklin; tell my blokes to mouth off at him. He has just brought more pressure on himself by acting the hero. The game is hard enough without bringing stuff like that on yourself.

Buddy can play, that is not my beef, my beef is, `listen kid you are good enough just to play great footy, forget about acting like you have just risen from the grave every time you kick a goal and just get on with it'. There is a line he needs to draw.

noosa hawk mad
29th March 2008, 06:52
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/tough-task-for-buddy-busters/2008/03/28/1206207414289.html

Tough task for Buddy busters

Nathan Buckley | March 29, 2008

LANCE Franklin is the most sublimely talented player in the AFL. He is quick, he is strong, he is skilled and he is confident.
At 21, with 57 games and a massive finals performance to his credit, it seems the only thing standing between him and absolute superstar status is the alter-ego known as "Buddy".
I first met the kid at the Portsea Pub after the swim classic in 2005. I'd heard of this supremely talented junior that the Hawks had picked up and was instantly struck by his size for such a young guy.
He introduced himself as Buddy and he did so without arrogance but with a cheeky, confident manner. It seemed to come from a position of knowing that he had the goods and it was just a matter of time before he would be "the man". All this from a footballer who was yet to get a kick in the competition but, as I and many others have discovered, it seems his confidence was well placed.
One-on-one he is impossible to curb. There is no player in the competition who has the tools to stop his influence on a match when he chooses to impose it.
He can beat you in the air and is a strong mark one-on-one. He can get you on the lead and he times his presentations perfectly. When the ball hits the deck he can challenge any player on the ground in a crumbing duel.
Furthermore, his athletic attributes are undeniable. He is too quick and agile for those strong enough to challenge him in a body-to-body contest and he is too strong for those who have the aerobic capacity and speed to compete with him.
Take note of the word "compete", because it seems he has very few peers who can challenge him in the running department.
Reports surfaced this pre-season of Buddy's rise and rise in terms of his work-rate and ability to repeat speed efforts. Until now, it seems he has toyed with his limits in relation to his awesome athletic ability and now he is he is toying with his teammates.
One story had him pitted against the best half-dozen runners at Hawthorn. Unable to stay with the young thoroughbred in a particularly tough running session, Shane Crawford and Tim Clarke et al devised a plan.
They decided to divide and conquer; each would take a turn to race Buddy to win that particular 150-metre effort while the others would conserve some energy for their turn.
After the first two, which he won comfortably, the penny dropped for Buddy and he dug deeper to blow his elite running teammates away. If these realisations continue, his teammates will be very pleased.

His progression on the field has also been moving in the right direction.
A return of 52 goals in 34 games during his first two years was fair given the Hawks struggled in each of those seasons.
With just five wins in each of '05 and '06, the Hawks were criticised for over-possessing the football in the back half. It resulted in numerous turnovers and inevitably slow forward ball movement.
Even the most experienced and cagey forward is tested by such conditions, and with little space to lead and extra opposition numbers back, the rookie Franklin was unable to function efficiently.
Last year, with more fluent ball movement and a forward structure that shared the load, Buddy blossomed to become the ace in the Hawks attack.
For the opposition to give itself a chance of stopping him, there has to be mass pressure through the midfield to force the Hawks wider and to slow the ball movement.
I'd want Buddy's direct opponent to play in front of him, but the defender is going to need support around him so he's not left one-on-one.
So far, Buddy hasn't proven himself to be a great pack mark, and if you create those scenarios where he's outnumbered, I'm not sure if he gets frustrated but the free-kick count against him increases alarmingly.
If he's not in best position, he tends to be a bit gung-ho. He has to learn that if you're not going to win the contest you have to at least draw it.
But this really is nitpicking. He's a good defensive forward, and on the whole his performances are on the up.
But Franklin still has a long way to go to reach his potential.
If there has been a knock on Franklin it has been the discrepancy between his best and worst performances. Even in his stellar 2007, he finished just sixth in the Hawks best and fairest.
The reasons a player of his sublime football talent was left until No. 5 in his 2004 draft are the same reasons scribes are cautious to declare Buddy as a guaranteed star.
Leading into the draft that year, Franklin dominated in a series of games against the touring Irish team and looked the best talent in the land.
His performances in the under-18s carnival, however, were equally as notable for the opposite reason. The question was asked: "Has it gone to his head?"
Come draft day, even Hawthorn weren't totally sold on the answer, taking Jarryd Roughead at No. 2 and risking losing Franklin before their next pick.
The way Franklin has developed since is a positive sign, and to be part of what is proving to be a solid culture out at Waverley will give him the very best opportunity.
He has yet to prove he has the mental and emotional application necessary to make the most of his prodigious natural talents. That's the biggest question mark.
The answer won't be found entirely on the field, either.
While he has not been embroiled in a major off-field incident, he has been on the edge of quite a few. Even the most talented player needs to toe the team line in today's professional game. The choice is his to go one way or the other.
A high level of natural talent brings expectations beyond the norm. To be part of a great team, the star cannot afford to be "off" when he is not "on".
The best players in any era have always displayed a high low-level performance.
We have all, in some way, been caught up in the Buddy spell. Unfulfilled talent is common and potential a dirty word but we have all had a taste of what he has and want more.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2008/03/28/majfranklin.jpg Lance Franklin marks last week against the Demons.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
31st March 2008, 11:14
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/rfmatchreport/hawks-too-polished-for-dockers/2008/03/29/1206207507896.html

Hawks too polished for Dockers
Mark Duffield, Perth | March 30, 2008

A CHIP off the old block led the way for Hawthorn last night as it staved off a third-quarter Fremantle comeback and drove an early season dagger through the Dockers' heart.

Travis Tuck helped sustain the Hawks for the first half in concert with Clinton Young and Sam Mitchell, then led the last-quarter surge that saw off a spirited Fremantle challenge and safely see Hawthorn to an impressive 2-0 start to the season.

Tuck had 25 touches and kicked a goal as the Hawks won 16.16 (112) to 14.13 (97). Mitchell had 27 and was a powerful midfield influence all night, Young had 21 before being forced off the ground with "soreness" for all of the last quarter.

The only downside of the win was a serious hamstring injury to the portly Stuart Dew, which is likely to sideline him for several weeks.

The Hawks had steadied well in the first quarter after being rocked by an early Matthew Pavlich onslaught that netted Fremantle the first two goals of the game.

But the Hawks countered, getting excellent drive from midfielder Mitchell and half-back Young, who launched a series of attacks down Subiaco Oval's southern wing.

Hawthorn's marking power had an effect in the second half of the term, with Jarryd Roughead dominant one-out with Roger Hayden in the goal square, and Lance Franklin out-pointing Luke McPharlin to mark and goal.

The Hawks led by two points at quarter-time, and by half-time had their foot on Fremantle's throat after a five-goals-to-one second quarter. They took a 27-point lead to half-time, which flattered the Dockers who fumbled through the quarter without looking likely to score.

Pavlich couldn't sustain his midfield surge and, while Josh Carr was dogged and Des Headland got his hands on the ball, there was no enterprising run and even the simplest of handballs were missing teammates.

Roughead, Franklin, Cyril Rioli and Tim Boyle all finished the first half with two goals while Dockers coach Ark Harvey went to the break with a giant headache, with eight Fremantle players going to half-time with five touches or less to their name. Several of them had spent time in an underperforming midfield. The Hawks were handing them a lesson in discipline, structure, hard work and crisp skills.

It couldn't be called pretty but the Dockers edged their way back into the game. Pavlich found another effort and some allies, with Headland, Josh Carr and Aaron Sandilands all lifting.

Franklin had kicked the first goal of the term inside a minute to blow the lead out to 33 points but Fremantle kicked six of the next seven to get within three points. McPharlin went forward and kicked two goals and it took a late goal to Roughead to restore a 10-point lead at the last change.

But once they were challenged, the Hawks responded.

Rookie Cameron Stokes got the first goal of the final quarter a breath after the start and before you knew it the Hawks had the first four and a 33-point lead.

HAWTHORN 3.4 8.7 11.11 16.16 (112)
FREMANTLE 3.2 4.4 10.7 14.13 (97) Roughead 4, Franklin 4, Rioli 2, Boyle 2, Osborne, Stokes, Campbell, Tuck. Fremantle: Pavlich 3, McPharlin 2, J Carr 2, Mayne 2, Crowley, Farmer, Sandilands, Bell, Palmer.
GOALS Hawthorn:
BEST Hawthorn: Mitchell, Tuck, Sewell, Young, Hodge, Roughead. Fremantle: Pavlich, McPharlin, J.Carr, Sandilands, Grover, Palmer.
INJURIES Hawthorn: Dew (hamstring), Young (soreness)
UMPIRES S McBurney, D Margetts, M Nicholls.
CROWD 38,022 at Subiaco Oval, Perth.

THE UPSHOT The western derby shapes as a season-defining game for both clubs with the Dockers 0-2 and West Coast coming off a hiding in Adelaide.

TALKING POINT Stuart Dew came back to football overweight and paid for it late in the game when his hamstring tore.

HOT AND NOT Hawk Travis Tuck was a star and key player in the last-quarter rally. Docker Chris Tarrant looked disinterested and the club faces a big decision on whether he should be dropped.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23455750-19767,00.html

Lance Franklin just one piece of forward puzzle

IT COULD be seen as a measure of Lance Franklin's rise up the AFL pecking order that a return of four goals - including a game-breaker in the final quarter - is not considered a great game.

But that was exactly what Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson thought of his star's contribution as the Hawks reaffirmed their status as a premiership contender with an impressive 15-point win against Fremantle in Perth.

Having been well held in the first half by Luke McPharlin, Franklin saved his best for last, selling two outrageous dummies early in the final term to make the space for his fourth goal to quell a spirited Dockers fightback.

While Clarkson praised the courage of his players to run out the game, he was not overly impressed with Franklin's 13-disposal effort.

"He did not have a particularly great night, Franklin, but still made a contribution for us to get four goals out of him and (Jarryd) Roughead, a couple out of (Tim) Boyle and a couple out of (Cyril) Rioli," Clarkson said.

"So the balance of that forward structure is working quite well for us."

Rather than Franklin, it was Travis Tuck who caught Clarkson's eye, taking on the Fremantle midfield alongside Sam Mitchell, Xavier Ellis and Clinton Young.

"We got really good contributions from some of our younger players. Ellis and Tuck had really good games for us tonight," Clarkson said.

"And Rioli, and (Cameron) Stokes, (Michael) Osborne, continue to do really good things for us up forward."

Tuck, whose 25 touches were complimented by his first senior goal, said contests like the Dockers put up in the second half would be more useful at the end of the season than the 104-point drubbing the Hawks handed out to Melbourne last week.

"If you want to be in the top four or the top eight or the big one at the end of the year, you are going to have play tough games," Tuck said.

"Freo over here, it does not get much tougher than that, they were good but we got up in the end."

A sour note for the Hawks was the loss of Stuart Dew with a hamstring injury..

"You all saw it on the telly, that it is going to be more than a week," Clarkson said.

"Hopefully he is back sooner rather than later."

thatswhatimtalkinabout
2nd April 2008, 15:41
http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/default.aspx?newsid=57242

Buddy is scarily good, says legend Hudson
Author: Ben Broad 1:12 PM Wed 02 April, 2008

http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20F-J/Hudson_Richo_246.jpg
Peter Hudson says it’s scary to think
just how good young spearhead
Lance Franklin could be in coming years

HAWTHORN legend Peter Hudson says it’s scary to think just how good young spearhead Lance Franklin could be in coming years.

Hudson, who booted 727 goals for the Hawks in nine seasons from 1967-77, says he is in awe watching the 21-year-old forward and warned oppositions the heartache could get worse.

“He’s just unbelievably good to watch,” Hudson said.

“The thing that I question is how good is he going to be? I mean he’s only young and he’ll have a lot to learn because you can’t put an old head on young shoulders.

“But I just think it’s almost frightening to think how good he could be because he does things that I honestly have never seen anyone do on a football field.”

Franklin has played a key role in the Hawks’ early-season success in 2008.

He leads the Coleman Medal race with 10 goals after booting 73 majors in 2007.

Franklin’s fitness and form is likely to determine just how far Hawthorn can go this season – something Hudson is also looking forward to finding out.

Asked if he believed the Hawks were in a position to challenge for a premiership in the coming season, Hudson replied: “Well, I’m looking forward to them playing Geelong”.

“I reckon that could be the match of the decade … the thing that both sides have got is good depth.”

As in 2007, Hawthorn and Geelong are scheduled to meet just once this season – on a Friday night in round 17.

Until then, four-time Coleman Medallist Hudson hopes his old club can keep winning and believes it is better equipped to do so this season than in recent years.

“I think Hawthorn have done very well in building that side,” Hudson said.

“They’ve put the layers in and I think now they’re reaping the rewards of good choices and good management, through those layers."

“I don’t think there’s any rocket science to it, it’s more hard work and good judgement.”

Hudson, who was speaking on Wednesday morning after he and fellow AFL Hall of Fame Legend Bob Skilton received the first two tickets to May 10 Tribute Match, said an example of the Hawks’ depth had been seen in recent weeks.

He said the absence of players such as Shane Crawford, Luke Hodge and Jordan Lewis had barely been noticed.

“They can replace them and not miss a beat,” he said.

“To see young [Cameron] Stokes and [Cyril] Rioli come into the side and see what they’ve done, makes you wonder where some of these players when they come back are going to be able to fit in and push these other guys out.”

Hudson believes the Hawks, now firmly in the frame as a contender, can look forward to being a genuine contender for some time.

“I think the days are gone where you can have a side that’s a flash in the pan,” he said.

“In other words, they win it one year and then you don’t hear from them for another 10 years.

“I don’t think the competition, with the draft and the salary cap, is structured for that sort of thing anymore.”

Source: Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

thatswhatimtalkinabout
5th April 2008, 07:52
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23486613-19767,00.html

Hawks not fazed by plan to stop Lance Franklin
AAP | April 05, 2008 12:00am

HAWTHORN says it is unconcerned about North Melbourne's claims it has worked out how to stop Hawks gun forward Lance 'Buddy' Franklin.

The Kangaroos, relying on statistical data, say they can predict which spot inside 50m Franklin marks and kicks most of his goals from.

Roos defensive coach Darren Crocker said he was confident his side would produce the strategy to moderate Franklin's influence when the two sides meet at Telstra Dome today.

But Hawks coach Alastair Clarkson said no amount of intricate planning could stop Franklin.

"We've got enormous faith in his ability to play and the role he takes in our side," Clarkson said.

"If he plays his role particularly well, it gives us a great chance of winning the game."

Clarkson said he was not bothered by the Kangaroos' reliance on Champion Data "heat maps" that show Franklin leads mainly into a right pocket area.

"All I can say is that he's been a pretty good performer for us over the duration and wherever he is leading and wherever he is getting his kicks he's doing all right for us," Clarkson said.

"We're pretty happy with wherever he gets his touches, and I couldn't care if that's in one particular spot on the ground or not.

"The bottom line is he's made an enormous contribution for us over the course of the last couple of seasons."

North coach Dean Laidley was typically tight-lipped about the contribution the data made to the club's strategy, despite his football manager Donald McDonald's willingness to talk freely on the issue.

"Look, mate, the reality is I'm not really going to talk about it, simple as that," Laidley said yesterday.

"If you want to find out about it, the information's there, you can have a look at it and, look, the emphasis is not on Buddy Franklin.

"The emphasis is on us to win the football, putting some pressure on and keeping the scoreboard ticking over as we did last week, and we do next week, we'll make sure we'll go out and play as a team.

"They're available from Champion Data. Anyone can go and get them, just got to pay your money. It tells you lots of stuff, but if you want to know about them, you can interpret them and pay your dues."

The Kangaroos ended Hawthorn's finals campaign last year with a win in their semi-final clash, when Franklin was held to three goals after seven the previous week.

But Clarkson said that game was in the past and would not be a motivation today.

"I think that's long gone. We played pretty poorly in the final last year and we're certainly keen to play better," Clarkson said.

"It's another game of footy and another step in a long journey this season."

thatswhatimtalkinabout
6th April 2008, 07:57
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23491192-19767,00.html

Buddy hard to stop, again
Ken Piesse | April 06, 2008 12:00am

JUST how do you stop Lance Franklin?

He marks in the clouds, runs like the wind and has one of the deadliest left foots in history.

Stop the clock this morning and ask 16 AFL coaches, who they would recruit right now, and Franklin would win just about every vote.

As matchwinners go, he is up there with anyone of recent times - Gary Ablett Sr, Jonathan Brown, even Wayne Carey.

And even they couldn't hoof it as far off their left.

He may not win every contest or disintegrate packs with the ferocity of Ablett and company but, let's face it, the kid is only 21 and still has his L plates on.

Significantly, in this age of interchange shuffle, Hawthorn's No. 23 is one who rarely sits on the pine.

His freakish abilities ensure the opposition's most athletic stopper every week.

Yesterday North's Josh Gibson did wonderfully well, but Franklin still kicked five, including two ballbursters from beyond 60m and from hellish angles.

"Like Scott Lucas (from Essendon) you can't afford to let him mark it even from 60m out," Gibson said.

"It's a challenge all right. You always like to play on the best and he's right up there."

Despite Franklin's early heroics, a punchy, undisciplined Hawthorn led for only 30 seconds of the first three quarters and with key men injured and others struggling to touch it, it seemed the Hawks would again succumb to the Kangaroos.

But North could hardly get it into its front 50 in the final quarter.

North was swamped six goals to one in the last quarter and even the close-checking Gibson had to concede Franklin's two goals in the last quarter and five for the game had been game breakers.

"I held him to three goals last year, but he definitely won today," he said.

Franklin kicked the all-important first goal of the last quarter, Jarryd Roughead added another - from a free kick - and suddenly North was under siege.

Veteran Hawk Shane Crawford, a bystander yesterday, said Franklin's unpredictability was a strength.

"The man has freakish skill. How many did he kick? Five. And he didn't have a good day! " he said.

Franklin said the Hawks of last season may not have had enough self-belief to have come from almost five goals back and win running away like they did yesterday.

"We're starting to build. We really believe in each other," Franklin said.

thatswhatimtalkinabout
6th April 2008, 11:23
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/hawks-storm-past-kangas/2008/04/05/1207249529132.html

HAWTHORN 1.3 7.5 9.9 15.12 (102)
NORTH MELBOURNE 4.6 7.7 12.8 13.8 (86)
Goals: Hawthorn: L Franklin 5 J Roughead 4 M Osborne 3 J Lewis B Sewell L Hodge. North Melbourne: C Jones 3 L Brown 2 S Grant 2 B Rawlings L Thomas N Thompson A Edwards D Hale M Campbell.
Best: Hawthorn: B Sewell J Lewis C Bateman L Franklin J Roughead M Osborne. North Melbourne: B Harvey C Jones A Simpson B Rawlings L Brown D Pratt.
Umpires: M Head M Ellis T Keating
Crowd: 39,816 at Telstra Dome

Hawthorn big forwards Lance Franklin and Jarryd Roughead kicked nine goals between them to cap a 15.12 (102) to 13.8 (86) comeback win over North Melbourne at Telstra Dome today.

The Hawks entered the final term trailing by 17 points, but outscored the Kangaroos 6.3 to 1.0 in the last quarter to storm to victory and remain unbeaten.

Franklin kicked five goals and Roughead four, with the star pair booting two each in the last term to steer their side home.

It was a gallant victory for the Hawks against the side that knocked them out of last year's finals series, as they finished with only 20 available players.

Defender Tom Murphy copped a knee to the head in a marking contest in the third term and did not return, while Tim Boyle was forced off after being hurt by Franklin in a marking contest early in the final quarter.

Zippy half-forward Cameron Stokes also looked below par, after injuring his right leg in a tackle in the third quarter, although he returned to the ground in the final term.

The Kangaroos dominated early, with Brent Harvey running rampant through the midfield and Daniel Harris and Daniel Wells also winning plenty of the ball as they outscored the Hawks 4.6 to 1.3 in the first term.

They should have been further in front, with Shannon Grant, Nathan Thompson and Lindsay Thomas all missing gettable set shots, while Corey Jones hit the post with a snap.

The Hawks lifted considerably in the second quarter; Sam Mitchell working his way into the game after a quiet start, Brad Sewell exceptional in the clinches and Jordan Lewis also winning plenty of the ball.

Roughead and Franklin fired through some long goals in the second term to help their side back into the match, while half-forward Michael Osborne also provided a spark.

The Hawks hit the front for the first time in the match when Luke Hodge scored the opening goal of the second half.

The Roos responded with four in a row, to surge back out to a 19-point lead, fine running goals from small forwards Matt Campbell and Thomas highlighting the run.

But it was all Hawthorn in the final term as they dominated through the middle of the ground and with their forward firepower it was only a matter of time before they took the lead.

It was Franklin who eventually put them in front 22 minutes into the term, after Cyril Rioli set him up with a strong tackle to dispossess Adam Simpson, then a quick handball to put Franklin in the clear.

Roughead followed up with a nice mark against Drew Petrie on the edge of the goalsquare, before Lewis capped a fine game with an easy sealer after marking from close range.

noosa hawk mad
6th April 2008, 13:10
Great work TWITA your mans on fire!:thumbsu:
Buddy Franklin post match interview
http://www.mytalk.com.au/aspx/pages/...t=audio&w=8044 (http://www.mytalk.com.au/aspx/pages/mediaplayer.aspx?t=audio&w=8044):thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
12th April 2008, 07:27
Timing key to beating Buddy

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/sport/afl/story/0,26547,23521404-5016212,00.html

ADELAIDE coach Neil Craig last night took home a video tape of Hawthorn forward Lance "Buddy" Franklin that will haunt him more than any nightmare lingering from last year's elimination final.
It is of Franklin's last-quarter blitz against North Melbourne at Telstra Dome on Saturday - and of the Hawthorn spearhead's leading for a goalscoring chance.
Unlike the matchwinning, last-minute lead against Adelaide at the Dome during last September's finals, Franklin outsmarted Kangaroos opponent Chad Gibson and worked against a massive North Melbourne screen designed to frustrate him.
Franklin led to his right flank while Hawthorn rebounded the ball on the opposite side - and knew exactly when to time a kick to Franklin while Gibson trailed.
It was team football that proves finding the right match-up for Franklin is now only part of the battle for the opposition.
Even before he watched the Hawthorn tape last night, Craig was aware defying Franklin is more than just nullifying the 21-year-old Western Australian with a perfect match-up.
"If one of their forwards gets out of control, there will be some spotlight on the player standing him," Craig said. "But it will not be all his fault, I guarantee that.
"There will be something happening ahead of (the defender)."
Craig is spared any harping on his match-up against Franklin last year - when he persisted with Kris Massie on the taller Hawk as he rushed to a seven-goal haul in the elimination final - by Massie being unavailable with a hamstring strain.
The list of contenders for working against Franklin at Aurora Stadium in Launceston on Sunday are - in-form defender Nathan Bock, his NAB Cup opponent Ben Rutten, Nathan Bassett and Scott Stevens, who was his last opponent in the elimination final.
This quartet gives Craig a full hand of aces. Question is, do the events of last September make Craig more reactive if Franklin threatens to break open the game - and the Crows' hearts again.
"I gave an explanation in the elimination final of why I sat with Kris . . . some people saw the rationale of that; most people didn't, but that's okay," Craig said yesterday.
"I have to make that call. And it is always a timing issue. You get praised or you get criticised based on the end result.
"I'm pretty comfortable with the way we go about coaching in our box and the discussions we have. And the reasons why we make a call (to change a match-up) against when we sit (with the match-up)."
Franklin last challenged Craig and Adelaide in the NAB Cup semi-finals last month at AAMI Stadium. In his duels with Bock and Rutten, Franklin threatened to generate a remarkable Hawthorn fightback with three last-term goals before Adelaide rebounded to seal a 23-point win.
"He is a dangerous player," Craig said. "And sometimes, when you think they have that sort of player under control, because of his talent, they can do something exceptional in a very short period of time."

noosa hawk mad
12th April 2008, 07:42
The Century Goal Toll:Will Buddy kick a ton!

http://insidefootballonline.com/casanelia.html (http://insidefootballonline.com/casanelia.html)

A 100-goal spearhead will help you make the finals, but may not help you win them, writes BEN CASANELIA.
WILL Hawthorn superstar Lance Franklin become the first player in four years to kick 100 goals in a season?
On current form the answer is in the affirmative. However, if “Buddy” tops the ton, does that make the Hawks a monte for the premiership?
Recent history suggests not. In fact, having such a dominant forward can be a liability.
Since 1990, the 100-goal mark has been surpassed 17 times but only once has that player’s team gone on to claim the premiership – when Matthew Lloyd’s 109-goal effort in 2000 spearheaded the rampant Bombers to a 21-1 season and ultimately a comfortable Grand Final victory over Melbourne.
While having a 100-goal forward can only enhance your chances of playing finals, how much can it disadvantage a side to be pitting one dominant forward against the AFL’s best defences in September?
Former Geelong and Adelaide coach Gary Ayres wonders, for example, whether the Crows would have won the 1997 Grand Final had Tony Modra been in the line-up.
Modra kicked 84 goals – 23 per cent of the Crows’ total score – in 97, but badly injured a knee in the preliminary final win over the Bulldogs, which ruled him out of the Grand Final.
“You have to wonder whether him being out actually helped the cause because it made the side so unpredictable and paved the way for Shane Ellen to kick five as an unconventional full forward and Darren Jarman to add another six,” Ayres said.
“If they had Modra, it might not have gone that way.”
Ayres believes if a side falters in the finals due to an unhealthy reliance on one player then the coaching staff is to blame.
Last year Hawthorn rode the crest of a wave after Franklin’s last quarter heroics to sink the Crows in the first week of finals. One week later Franklin could barely get a kick in a demoralising loss to North Melbourne.
“If you’re relying on that particular forward to kick goals in a Grand Final then you probably haven’t educated the players throughout the course of the year,” Ayres said.
“But, in saying that, I always feel that it’s better to have a dominant forward and have some flexibility of other guys who can chip in and play a role. If you have other guys then you don’t become one dimensional.”
Ayres cites Hawthorn’s premiership reign of the late 1980s and the goalkicking feats of Jason Dunstall as a case in point.
Dunstall kicked 138 and 132 goals in 1988 and 1989 respectively to spearhead premierships.
Ayres points out that alongside Dunstall at various times were Dermott Brereton, Gary Buckernara, James Morrissey, Paul Dear, Paul Abbot, Peter Curran and Dean Anderson.
“It doesn’t always just come down to one player there are also others who can help which in effect makes the focal player’s job easier,” he said.
Ayres recalls the day Geelong superstar Gary Ablett was held goalless in the 1995 Grand Final by Stephen Silvagni. Ablett had 122 on the board in the lead-up to the match. Plan A was “kick it to Gary”. With no plan B, the Cats lost by 61 points.
Two years before, Ablett kicked 36 per cent of the Cats’ score with 124 goals and his team missed the finals.
In 1991 and 1992, St Kilda goliath Tony Lockett kicked 127 ands 132 goals respectively but the Saints could finish no higher than fourth.
Franklin certainly does have support in the current Hawk line-up.
Along with Jarryd Roughead, Tom Boyle and Mark Williams, coach Alastair Clarkson has injected youngster Cyril Rioli and Stuart Dew to add bite and smarts at ground level.
The six are perhaps the best balanced forward set-up in the league. And only last week Clarkson challenged oppositions to try double-teaming his trump in the knowledge that any of the six is a potential matchwinner.
Former Collingwood star and St Kilda assistant coach Mick McGuane believes the Saints’ predictability has been their undoing in the past, and will be again, if one of Fraser Gehrig, Nick Riewoldt or Justin Koschitzke goes down.
“At times they’ve just been so easy to shut down because there were only two players in Gehrig and Riewoldt to kick it to,” McGuane said.
“With Kosi up forward it gives them another big target and helps to spread the defence.”
There is no better illustration of the benefits of a forward line sharing the load than the Geelong side of 2007.
Despite winning 19 of its last 20 games including the Grand Final by a record 119-point margin, the Cats did not have a player kick more than five goals in a match for the entire season.
Cameron Mooney led the goalkicking with 67, 18 ahead of Steven Johnson on 49. Six other players kicked more than 20 goals – Nathan Ablett (34), Mathew Stokes (32), Paul Chapman (30), Gary Ablett (30), Cameron Ling (28) and Brad Ottens (21).
McGuane says the game has changed to the point that players no longer play standard set positions.
“It’s evolved to the point where there are virtually no positional players as such any more,” he said.
“But in years gone by, everyone was so adamant you had to have a centre half forward, a full forward and four other supporting forwards.”
Clarkson’s much-discussed “box” structure containing four attackers inside the forward 50 arc was a feature of many wins last season. With Williams returning from injury and the addition of Rioli and Dew, the coach has been able to expand that in the early rounds of 2008.
McGuane, like Ayres, says the presence of a dominant figure can only help the cause.
“If you’ve got a 100-goal kicker in your team, and that’s averaging about five or so a game, I would say you need other 10 goals a week to win a game of footy,” he said.
“When you get 15 goals a game you are going to win a lot of games, which will give you a chance to qualify for finals. Then you’ve got to be the best for a month.
“I’d be a lot happier, and content in my team, with that situation rather than thinking where are the goals going to come from to win enough games to qualify for the finals?
“Once you get to finals then it can come down to the individual and what occurs over the two hours of a Grand Final.
“Sometime you have to look at it in terms of individual performance rather than just raw stats.”
Despite Adelaide and the Bulldogs enjoying early success this year with smaller forward set-ups, Ayres believes the taller structure is the one that succeeds in finals.
Simon Goodwin has been a revelation inside the forward 50 arc for the Crows so far this season, while Robert Murphy and Brad Johnson have been match-winners for the Doggies already in 2008.
“I think the taller options and the bigger structure is much better come finals,” Ayres said.
“You might get away with a smaller set-up during the year but when it comes to finals you need to the bigger bodies inside the forward 50 arc.”
And, the consensus seems to be, more than one big body.
After three rounds this year scoring is up x per cent on the same period last year as sides attack the game rather than defend it.
Sydney and Adelaide – two teams not renowned for free-scoring football – produced stunning 20-goal efforts in the opening rounds. The Swans averaged 13 goals a game in 2007 while the Crows could manage only 12.3.
It’s a competition-wide trend that most fans hope continues.
Not only does it make the game a better spectacle but is also gives renewed hope that a full forward can top the ton.
Not since Fraser Gehrig booted 103 goals in 2004 has a player reached the magical milestone. Prior to that it was Matthew Lloyd, back to back in 2000 and 2001.
This year it could be “Buddy” Franklin – as long as his teammates are not spr