View Full Version : 15. Luke Hodge

philhawk
9th March 2007, 18:04
According to the My Man Thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=291068), it looks like hedgehodgey will be one of the posters responsible for looking after Hodgey for us this season.

Take it away, hedgehodgey!

LukeHodge15
24th March 2007, 11:07
If he doesnt smack someone, watch out "Charlie"

noosa hawk mad
26th March 2007, 09:54
Lucky he is playing really hope he stays in the middle & rest him Forward an amazing footballer.

Main Man
20th May 2007, 02:58
This bloke is a champion, a class act! Bleeds Yellow and Brown.. No doubting he should be our next captain..

Before he went off last night looked as though he was getting back to his brilliant best.. Abosolute superstar, couldnt be happier that we have him at Hawthorn!

hawkstars
21st May 2007, 09:41
This bloke is a champion, a class act! Bleeds Yellow and Brown.. No doubting he should be our next captain..

Before he went off last night looked as though he was getting back to his brilliant best.. Abosolute superstar, couldnt be happier that we have him at Hawthorn!

Hope he does become Captain mate. I know it was early but I wanted him Captain after Crawf till the end of his career. Go Hodgey your a star mate!

philhawk
21st May 2007, 20:33
http://www.sportal.com.au/football.asp?i=news&id=99053

Hodge defends Hawks tactics
by: Jordan Chong
Sportal

Hawthorn's Luke Hodge has defended his team's tactics in Saturday night's win over St Kilda.

The teams played out a largely defensive affair which drew boos from the crowd at half-time and stinging criticism from large sections of the media.

While Hodge declined to blame the Saints for the way the game was played, he said the Hawks went into the game at Telstra Dome looking to be positive and play attacking footy.

"We were always trying to play a running game," said at Waverley on Monday.

"We were trying to do that from the first quarter but unfortunately it doesn't always happen that way and we were lucky enough to do that in the last."

"On the weekend, every time we looked up forward they had a couple of extra numbers back and it probably wasn't worth kicking it in there because they would have just rebounded it down the other end."

However, Hodge did admit the contest 'wasn't a great spectacle' and labeled it 'an ugly sight', but thought all Hawthorn supporters would have gone away happy.

"I'm pretty sure every Hawthorn supporter there left the game with a smile on their face and that's what we are there for."

"As we were coming off the ground, our supporters were still cheering us."

"We don't want to play that style of football."

"We were trying to break the game open."

Hodge paid tribute to his team's patience and ability to counter St Kilda's extra players in defence.

"As a young group we're getting older and getting smarter and we can adapt now," Hodge said.

"If they want to do it, they can do it and we will try and find other ways to win."

Hawthorn travels to Launceston for Saturday's 'home' game against defending premier West Coast and Hodge expected a very different type of match.

"We are a running side. We love it down there," Hodge said.

"If we can get out there and run our normal game it should be a pretty exciting game I reckon."

The Hawks have an imposing record in the northern Tasmanian city - winning nine of 13 matches there - but so does West Coast, which has two wins from three games, all against Hawthorn.

philhawk
11th September 2007, 01:14
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22397152%255E19742,00.html

Hodge lives up to No.1
11 September 2007 Herald Sun
Mike Sheahan
FOR the first time since the 2001 draftees went on show in the AFL, it is arguable that Luke Hodge deserves the No. 1 tag.

Top Hawk: Mike Sheahan says Luke Hodge deserves the No. 1 tag in the class of 2001.

Six years into their careers, Hodge and Chris Judd (No. 3) might finally be on level pegging.

Not that Hodge has been anything less than a high-class, long-term player until now.

It simply was a case of Judd being exceptional. So good, some say, he may have played the best first 100 games ever.

The Judd/Hodge issue arose at the Herald Sun's planning meeting yesterday when I said I would take the Hawk if both were up for grabs at the end of the season.

It was a minority view, but I certainly wasn't alone.

Hodge continues to enhance his reputation as a playmaker and gamebreaker as Judd fights what is, in football terms, a crippling groin problem.

The broad view is Judd will return to his best after a lengthy rest or post-season surgery, but Hodge has become an elite player. Without a structural query against his name.

What has made Judd special - and he went into the season as the best player in the competition -- is his pace and extraordinary ability to break tackles.

If his groin problem reduces his efficiency by any discernible amount in the long term - as it has with so many others -- that unique package will be diminished.

Luke Ball, taken at No. 2 in the 2001 draft, has laboured for the past two seasons with his groin problem.

Ball and players such as Melbourne's Brent Moloney clearly have been incapacitated by osteitis pubis and associated problems.

If Judd is to lose any of his natural advantages, as they have, it must affect him, and there isn't that much between him and Hodge.

While Judd has been adjudged West Coast's best or second-best player in the past four seasons, Hodge has been club champion and runner-up in the past two, and will occupy one of those positions again this year.

He doesn't have Judd's electrifying pace, but the all-round package, the hardness, his disposal, might make him even more valuable for the next 5-8 years.

RustyHawk
18th September 2007, 20:00
Hawk Luke Hodge out for 2008 game one
18 September 2007 AFL

HAWTHORN will be without gun midfielder Luke Hodge for the first game of the 2008 AFL season after he was suspended by the AFL tribunal tonight.

Hodge was found guilty of striking the Kangaroos' Brady Rawlings in last Saturday night's semi-final at the MCG.

The verdict means the Hawks will be without three of their best players for the start of next season, after Shane Crawford and Jordan Lewis took guilty pleas to striking charges earlier today.

Crawford will be suspended for three games for striking Daniel Harris, while Lewis will be suspended for two games for striking Brent Harvey.

The Hawks must serve all three suspensions in next year's home and away season.

The tribunal jury ruled Hodge struck Rawlings with a fist despite the Hawk's claim he pushed his opponent with an open hand.

In a further blow for Hodge, the charge was amended to include high contact, which means he incurred 91 carry-over points.

That puts him precariously close to the 100-point mark, which would be enough to incur another game suspension.

- AAP

RustyHawk
18th September 2007, 20:16
All Australian nomination 2007

Buddy Franklin, Luke Hodge, Sam Mitchell and Campbell Brown were all nominated in the 40 man All Australian squad for 2007. From this squad the starting 22 and All Australian Squad for 2007 will be announced.

Campbell Brown went on to gain a position in the starting 22 announced Monday 17th September 2007.

RustyHawk
7th October 2007, 07:28
Mitchell to captain Hawks in 2008
11:00 PM Sat 6 October, 2007 | Back

for hawthornfc.com.au

News
SAM Mitchell has been named the next captain of the Hawthorn Football Club.

The influential midfielder was announced as club captain in front of over 1300 Hawks supporters at the Peter Crimmins Medal, Hawthorn’s best and fairest awards night.

Luke Hodge will vice-captain the Hawks in 2008, with both appointments receiving unanimous approval from the Hawthorn Football Club president and board, following its proposal by the leadership group in consultation with the match committee.

“The selection of Sam as the next captain of the Hawthorn Football Club by his fellow players, coaches, and with the full support of the board, is a natural progression for him from his position as joint vice-captain in 2007,” said club president Jeff Kennett.

”Together with Luke, this augers well for the quality and direction of the team for 2008. Both young men have strong leadership skills, have enormous drive and a prodigious talent for work.”

Following the retirement of former Hawks captain, Richie Vandenberg, at the conclusion of Hawthorn’s 2007 finals campaign, the leadership group met on several occasions to discuss the future direction of the club.

Mitchell has been an outstanding leader at Hawthorn, and is well respected both within Hawthorn circles and throughout the broader AFL community.

The hard-working midfielder leads by example, winning the 2006 Peter Crimmins Medal for the club’s best and fairest player.

Hawthorn Coach, Alastair Clarkson, believes that Mitchell’s appointment as captain and Hodge as vice-captain is a clear indication of the strength of his young squad.

“We took the decision several years ago to rebuild our football club and Sam and Luke both represent the future of this proud club.

“Sam will be an outstanding captain. He is a strong and mature leader of men.

“Luke leads by example and both are respected by their peers for their unwavering commitment to the team and the club,” said Clarkson.

The Hawthorn coach was also quick to recognise the hard work of outgoing captain Richie Vandenberg, who had led the club through the tough task of rebuilding a squad, culminating for Vandenberg with a return to finals footy in 2007.

“Richie was a strong leader. He was a great servant of this football club. It was fitting that Richie would play a significant role in returning our club to the finals,” Clarkson said.

RustyHawk
8th October 2007, 01:33
Hawks trio have more than a few points to prove
Len Johnson | October 5, 2007

HAWTHORN will start 2008 without three of its best players — Luke Hodge, Jordan Lewis and Shane Crawford — after all were suspended for offences in its elimination final loss to the Kangaroos in the second week of the finals.

That situation is bad enough, but the demerit points system in use since the AFL Tribunal system was reviewed means that Hodge, Grant Birchall and Campbell Brown also carry over enough points to put them in jeopardy of an extra game on any sanction they incur next year.

The Hawks on-field discipline — at least in terms of number of players reported — fell away late in 2007.

Coming into round 20, Hawthorn was second on the ladder. Losses to Port Adelaide and Sydney in the last three rounds cost the club a double chance.

Six Hawthorn players were reported on seven charges from round 18 until the end of the Hawks' season.

Hawthorn football operations manager Mark Evans said yesterday the figures were skewed by the elimination final and he did not believe they reflected a breakdown in on-field discipline.

"It is always a concern when you have players suspended, but take out the last game and the other offences are pretty minor." (Of the seven charges from round 18 on, four were for striking, one attempted striking, one contact with an umpire and one wrestling).

AFL Tribunal statistics for 2007 show that Fremantle had the worst record overall but the Hawks had the worst in the last quarter of the season. In addition, Crawford was the most reported player in the competition.

The 1999 Brownlow medallist was booked four times in total, twice on striking charges in a pre-season game against Fremantle, on abusive language in a practice game against Essendon and then against the Kangaroos in the elimination final.

Crawford got a reprimand on the first pre-season charge, missed the first home-and-away game after copping a week on the second, was fined $1800 on the abusive language count and was outed for three matches for striking the Kangaroos Daniel Harris in the elimination final. He is carrying 40.78 demerit points.

Besides Crawford, Hodge, Grant Birchall and Campbell Brown are carrying enough demerit points to make a significant difference should they be charged by the match review panel in 2008.

Overall, the club with the worst disciplinary record in 2007 was Fremantle. The Dockers started badly, with Michael Johnson and Jeff Farmer suspended for four and six matches, respectively, in the pre-season, and continued in the same vein.

Fifteen Dockers were reported on a total of 26 charges, nine of them being punished with a suspension.

Hawthorn and Collingwood were the only other clubs with a double-figure number of players charged. Each had 10. Collingwood's figure was inflated by five players being charged out of the melee in its game against Carlton.

Steven Baker copped the year's heaviest penalty, the St Kilda tagger receiving seven games for rough conduct against Farmer in round 20. Farmer, six matches for eye gouging Daniel Pratt in the pre-season competition, and Ben Johnson, six for forceful and high contact on Daniel Bell in round 20, were next.

noosa hawk mad
18th December 2007, 16:48
Player Profile

http://hawthornfc.com.au/portals/0/images/players/hawks/Luke_Hodge_L.jpg

Luke Hodge

Fast Facts

Jumper No: 15
Height: 184
Weight: 92
DOB: 1984-06-15
Recruited From: Colac/Geelong U18
Career Matches: 112
Career Goals: 48

2007 Home & Away Totals

Matches: 22
Goals: 23
Marks: 122
Disposals: 509
Kicks: 304

philhawk
18th December 2007, 16:55
Player Profile

http://hawthornfc.com.au/portals/0/images/players/hawks/Luke_Hodge_L.jpg

Luke Hodge

Fast Facts

Jumper No: 15
Height: 184
Weight: 92
DOB: 1984-06-15
Recruited From: Colac/Geelong U18
Career Matches: 112
Career Goals: 48

2007 Home & Away Totals

Matches: 22
Goals: 23
Marks: 122
Disposals: 509
Kicks: 304

Good start, Noosa!

noosa hawk mad
18th December 2007, 17:12
The Hawks' dream team

8:46 AM Mon 8 October, 2007 | Back (http://javascript<b></b>:history.go(-1);)
By Jason Phelan,
Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

News

NEW HAWTHORN skipper Sam Mitchell is confident he and vice-captain Luke Hodge can form a formidable leadership team as the Hawks embark on the next chapter of their history.
Despite their different personalities, both have strong leadership qualities that had Alastair Clarkson contemplating making them joint captains before deciding to stick with the traditional single skipper model.
“We are a little bit different, we come from different backgrounds; he’s a country boy and I’m more of a city kid,” Mitchell said from onboard the Spirit of Tasmania ferry where the pair was officially introduced to the media on Sunday.
“We have different traits; he’s maybe a little bit more of a ‘lad’. When he got to the club, he probably had a fair bit to learn about professionalism and to his credit over the last three years in particular, since Clarko’s come on board, the steps he’s been able to take have just been phenomenal.
“With me, I was a little bit straighter when I got to the club; I already had a little bit of an understanding what the game was going to take.
“I got drafted a little bit older so was perhaps it was some sort of advantage.
“I’d already played against men, already understood a little bit of what it was going to take as far as the discipline and the professionalism that the game needed.
“We’re going to bounce off each other really well. I don’t think you’re going to meet a more passionate and more aggressive or a better onfield leader than Hodgey.”
The pair will have the backing of a new leadership group that consists of Chance Bateman, Shane Crawford, Tim Clarke and the latest Peter Crimmins Medallist, Brad Sewell.
It’s a support network Mitchell plans to take full advantage of thanks to some wise words from predecessor Richie Vandenberg.
“He always told me that if you ever get this gig just don’t do it all yourself,” Mitchell said.
“I think the most important thing about any leadership position is that you don’t have to do it all on your own. I’ve got Hodgey and I’m going to help him and he’s going to help me and the rest of the leadership group are going to help shoulder the load.
“If there’s any issues or any problems that come up … it never seems to fall on one person – we don’t use scapegoats at our footy club – we all stick together and support each other. I’d like to think I’m pretty supportive of the other guys and I think they’ll be pretty supportive of me too.”
Mitchell, who was told of his promotion on Friday, doesn’t plan to change his onfield demeanour now that he’s in the top job and is happy to defer to his deputy in some situations.
“You’re not going to get a better onfield leader than Hodgey,” he said.
“So that’s probably his real area of expertise … if you’re running around next to Hodgey you always walk a little bit higher.
“I’ll leave that part of it up to Hodgey and hopefully I can just play my role and do my bit for the team and we can be pretty successful over the next few years.”

noosa hawk mad
18th December 2007, 17:44
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SP_asdtN1XI The Birthday Boy:)100 games and a lazy 4 goals Hodgey at his best:thumbsu: Thanks to H2F youtube and for all the others i plan to use:D

noosa hawk mad
18th December 2007, 20:15
http://www.afl.com.au/portals/0/Photo%20Gallery%20Pics/EF1/Hawks_Adelaide_EF1_9.jpg

In his first final he showed why he is considered one of the most talented and courageous footballers going around his attack on the footy is unbelievable and his leadership quality's stood out as he inspired others around him one of the best games I,ve seen him play :thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
23rd December 2007, 20:12
Records

Brownlow Medal

2007 votes 17
2006 votes 4
2005 votes 15
2004 votes 4
2003 votes 4

Draft history
2001 National AFL Draft priority selection (Hawthorn) No. 1 overall traded by Fremantle for Trent Croad and Luke McPharlin
Awards Honours

Peter Crimmins Medal 2005
Most votes in the Brownlow 2005
Most aggressive act 2004
Most courageous 2004
Best first year player 2002
AFL Luke Hodge (born June 15, 1984) is an Australian rules footballer. He currently plays for the Hawthorn Football Club in the Australian Football League (Australian Rules). He made his debut in 2002.
Hodge was recruited from the Geelong Falcons U/18 Football Club, and in 2001 nominated for the 2001 national AFL draft. He was picked by Hawthorn with the Number 1 draft (taken from Fremantle for Trent Croad and Luke McPharlin). He was picked ahead of Luke Ball and 2004 brownlow medallist Chris Judd.
For many years he was in the shadows of the two more high profile stars; however, in 2005 he was named as Hawthorn's best and fairest. He has also been named in the all Australian team and in international rules team for Australia.
Hodge is known for his exquisite kicking skills and toughness at the man and ball. He has been touted as a future captain of the Hawthorn Football Club along with Sam Mitchell.
Luke Hodge was named sole Vice Captain of the Hawthorn Football Club in October of 2007, while Sam Mitchell was named Captain.

National Rising Star nomination 2002

Big Ronnie
24th December 2007, 19:33
Pick 6 went to Noosa mad hawk who as you can see is already pushin the keys with Hodgey detail. Will be one of the hardest guys to keep consistent tabs on all year, and Nmh has promised the first photos from the maternity ward, even if he has to take down the chick from New Idea.

Thats dedication!

BR:thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
29th December 2007, 11:12
Hawk on patrol

11:39 AM Fri 14 December, 2007 | Back (http://javascript<b></b>:history.go(-1);)
By Catherine Murphy
for hawthornfc.com.au

News

MOST footballers do something on the side, be it study or run a business, as an insurance policy for when their football career comes to an end. Jordan Lewis' ‘insurance policy’ is quite unique: Last season, the talented midfielder spent one day a fortnight with different arms of the Victoria Police including its air wing, the search and rescue division and the water police.
Lewis, who was accompanied by Luke Hodge, says the highlight of his law enforcement secondment was when the pair went along for the ride when officers investigated a robbery, or at least what was supposed to be a robbery.
“It turned out to be a false alarm,” Lewis smiles.
“We didn’t get to see any gun fire or anything like that, so it was disappointing. The policeman just floored the car and was going over median strips and everything so it was a bit of an experience.”
Lewis says there wasn't any danger the public would recognise the two Hawks’ stars.
“We stayed in the back of the police car so nobody saw us. We’d probably have trouble being undercover cops, though,” he laughs.
While Luke Hodge is Lewis’ cop buddy, the two guys he was drafted with, Buddy Franklin and Jarryd Roughead, are his closest allies at the club. Although Lewis spent the majority of his time off with his family and friends in Warrnambool, he took a week out to holiday with his two teammates in Byron Bay.
“We do everything together. It helps that we’re all the same age, we do the same things," Lewis says. "We always hang out together. Because we were drafted together, we’ve stuck together.”
Contrary to popular belief, he doesn’t believe the 2004 draftees are developing ahead of time after their impressive 2007.
“We’re starting to see the benefits of playing games early in 2005 just now. Next year we’re going to improve again. It’s just about experience. It’s a matter of confidence really and getting out there and doing your thing. I think all three of us have got that now. So now we have to take it to the next level.”
While Lewis is coy about what the next level means for the team that had the youngest playing list in the competition in 2007, he acknowledges that the future is very bright.
“The sky’s the limit for us next year and anything’s achievable. With such a young group, it’s all about challenging ourselves and getting to play in a Grand Final as soon as possible so we want to better ourselves from last year so who knows where that will take us.”

noosa hawk mad
29th December 2007, 11:18
Pick 6 went to Noosa mad hawk who as you can see is already pushin the keys with Hodgey detail. Will be one of the hardest guys to keep consistent tabs on all year, and Nmh has promised the first photos from the maternity ward, even if he has to take down the chick from New Idea.

Thats dedication!

BR:thumbsu:Flew down to sort it out BR Im on the ball mate want be taken NO for a answer:D

noosa hawk mad
1st January 2008, 18:43
Buddy's big finish

7:26 AM Tue 1 January, 2008 | Back (http://javascript<b></b>:history.go(-1);)
By Jennifer Witham, Jason Phelan, Mic Cullen and Ben Broad
Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

News

Over the coming days, afl.com.au will countdown the 10 most memorable quarters from 2007. Each afternoon, we'll unveil a new selection from this collection of tight finishes, dominant displays and incredible solo efforts. Don't forget to check back each morning to catch our countdown of 2007's best matches.

4. Adelaide v Hawthorn. elimination final, Telstra Dome
View video highlights here. (http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/40937/2/?Quarters=HL&)

LANCE Franklin kicked his way into finals folklore with his last-minute match winner, and the fast-paced, high-intensity football that preceded his now-famous long-range bomb combined to make this one of the most memorable matches of the season.
The Crows had spent the last month of the regular season locked in a draining dogfight for eighth spot and didn’t secure a finals berth until the very last weekend, while the Hawks had sewn up their spot weeks earlier.
The youthful Hawthorn side was a warm favourite going into the match, but coach Alastair Clarkson refused to underestimate the battle hardened Crows, who had played off in the previous two preliminary finals. His fears were well founded as Adelaide got off to a flying start, but his charges, playing in the club’s first finals series since 2001, were equal to the challenge.
After trailing by as much as 31 points in the second quarter and with key midfielder Luke Hodge troubled by a knee injury, Hawthorn looked to be in trouble. But inspired by evergreen onballer Shane Crawford and the dogged determination of Hodge, the Hawks dug deep and kept the deficit to a manageable two goals at the main break.
The non-stop action continued in the second half with Ken McGregor and Scott Welsh, who both finished with four goals, the focal points for Adelaide, while Jarryd Roughead (three goals) and Franklin, who finished with seven, did the damage for the Hawks.
Crawford turned back the clock with a stunning 33-possession performance and Scott Thompson impressed for the Crows with 34 touches, but it was his error that ultimately set up Franklin’s shot on goal.
After a superb running goal from Jason Torney had put the visitors in front just minutes earlier, Thompson sent the ball out on the full as Adelaide struggled to clear the defensive zone from a point.
The tension was unbearable as Franklin lined up for the kick from outside 50, but it was soon broken when his booming left foot kick sliced gracefully through the big sticks to seal the win and signal his arrival as a legitimate star of the game.
The match also proved to be the final curtain for Crows superstar Mark Ricciuto, who had earlier announced his intention to retire at the conclusion of Adelaide’s finals campaign.

HAWTHORN 4.3 8.7 10.10 15.15 (105)
ADELAIDE 7.4 10.7 12.12 15.12 (102)
Goals: Hawthorn: L Franklin 7 J Roughead 3 J Lewis S Crawford C Bateman C Brown C Young. Adelaide: K McGregor 4 S Welsh 4 J Porplyzia 2 T Edwards N Gill N Van Berlo J Torney C Knights.
Best: Hawthorn: L Franklin S Crawford S Mitchell R Ladson L Hodge C Young. Adelaide: T Edwards S Thompson S Goodwin K McGregor N Bock S Welsh.
Umpires: H Kennedy B Allen R Chamberlain
Official crowd: 36,534 at Telstra Dome.

An inspirational game by L Hodge willed and inspired the troops with a little help from Buddy a game Hawks fans will never forget:thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
3rd January 2008, 15:20
Winter Baby For Hodge
On the track of a good year on the footy field, gun Hawk midfielder Luke Hodge had great news at the club's Christmas barbecue at president Jeff Kennett's ranch during the week. Hodge and his long-term girlfriend Lauren announced they were expecting a baby. It could make for a busy winter both on and off the field, with the bub due in July.

Let,s hope it,s a boy my youngest daughter is born on the 22nd of July I,m going to donate something to who ever picks the right day i will discuss it further when it get,s a bit closer to the date :thumbsu:Cheers and well done Hodgey and Lauren :) Has just asked his girlfriend to marry him yep she said YES congratulations Hodgey and Lauren.

noosa hawk mad
5th January 2008, 08:56
http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc270/Suburbanandcoke/hodge15.jpg

noosa hawk mad
7th January 2008, 09:20
HAWTHORN captain Sam Mitchell said the return of former Geelong Falcon Tim Clarke to the line-up will help make the Hawks a better team in 2008.
In Geelong yesterday, Mitchell said Clarke's return from a long-term injury was a bonus for the side looking to build on its first finals appearance in six years and he is also predicting a big season from vice-captain Luke Hodge.
Clarke only played the opening two matches in 2007 and missed the rest of the season because of an achilles injury.
``Having Tim Clarke back in the side will be a huge bonus for us because we really missed his run around the middle of the ground, so we're really looking forward to getting him back,'' Mitchell said.
Mitchell said that Hodge, who will miss the Hawks' opening round clash because of a suspension he received from their semi-final loss, has been flying over the pre-season and is confident the ex-Colac footballer will continue to take his game to another level.
``I think Hodgey hasn't missed a game for us in about three years and he's been very consistent,'' Mitchell said.
``He looks very strong this year. He's been doing a lot of running over the pre-season and he is in as good a shape as he's ever been in, so we're looking forward to getting some good things out of Luke this year.''
Hawthorn reached the finals last year for the first time since 2001, but was bundled out by the Kangaroos in the semi-final. Mitchell said the club was approaching 2008 with a lot of optimism.
``We're looking to improve and go forward,'' Mitchell said.
``We look at what Geelong were able to do last year and they were very, very impressive and they're going to be very, very hard to beat again all year. We just want to improve on what we were able to do last year and I think if we keep working the way we have been and we keep maturing as a group, we'll be able to do that.
``The exciting thing is we've got a lot of young players who are able to take big steps forward and the quicker they are able to do that the quicker we'll be a better side.''
Mitchell said it was an honour to take over the captaincy role from Richie Vandenberg.
``It is (an honour) when you look back at some of the names that have been captain of our footy club,'' Mitchell said.
``But, it's only really a title. You're only as good as the team you have around you.''

noosa hawk mad
11th January 2008, 15:03
The Boots On The Other Foot!!
IT MIGHT seem paradoxical but Hawthorn vice-captain Luke Hodge, the man regarded as one of the best kicks in the AFL, can’t wait to be on the receiving end of a “bullet” from one of his newest team mates this year.
Following a sweltering training session at Dandenong on Friday morning, Hodge spoke in glowing terms of former Port Adelaide star and new Hawk recruit Stuart Dew.
Dew was a controversial selection in some quarters given his age and that he was coming back from a year out of the game.
However Hodge has given the former Port premiership player a big thumbs up, believing he will be a huge asset as his team tries to better its second-week finals exit of 2007.
“To see him out there today, the way he kicks the ball, it’s sensational,” he said.
Hodge, widely considered as one of the competition’s elite ball users, said he was looking forward to being on the end of some of Dew’s handiwork this year.
“I can’t wait for another three more months of him training and then to actually lead out and get one of his bullet passes,” he said.
“Just the way he trains and the way the fellas watch him, it’s just great for us.”
At the club’s AGM president Jeff Kennett spoke of the Hawks’ desire to win two premierships by 2012.
After being knocked out in the second week of the finals by the Kangaroos last year, and with one of the most exciting young lists in the competition, the sky is seemingly the limit for the Hawks.
Hodge, who was promoted to vice-captain at the end of 2007 and will serve as deputy to skipper Sam Mitchell, thinks Dew and the other new Hawks to join the nest will play a significant part in that flag push – and perhaps as early as next year.
“Cyril Rioli, he’s going to be that exciting in the next couple of years,” Hodge said.
“Watching him and Buddy [Franklin] just stroll around the forward line … he’s going to be one to look [out] for.
“We’ve got three or four others, with a few rookies as well, who are all pretty exciting players.”
Hawthorn selected Rioli, Queenslander Brendan Whitecross and Dew in last year’s NAB AFL Draft.
While many draftees take time to develop, Hodge believes Hawk fans might get a chance to see each of the new batch at some stage this year.
“I’d say they all would [have the potential to play], I think,” he said.
“Every one of them, they’re just real smart footballers when they do get the ball. It all depends on how we go this year.”

Some big-name stars were missing from Friday’s session – instead taking part in a session back at

noosa hawk mad
13th January 2008, 16:08
http://i217.photobucket.com/albums/cc270/Suburbanandcoke/lewis-hodge.jpg

noosa hawk mad
20th January 2008, 10:42
http://saturn.tiser.com.au/images/AE3.gif (http://mercury.tiser.com.au/ADCLICK/CID=fffffffcfffffffcfffffffc/acc_random=85536045/SITE=HWT/AREA=NEWS.GALLERIES.GALLERY/AAMSZ=110X40/pageid=56096413)

Hawthorn pre-season training

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5849474,00.jpg

Previous (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/gallery/0,22010,5028999-5006020-2,00.html) Next (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/gallery/0,22010,5028999-5006020-4,00.html) Luke Hodge at training with the Hawks in Port Melbourne. Picture: Peter Glenane

noosa hawk mad
20th January 2008, 12:31
Photos from Shepley oval Dandenlong !!

http://wa2.www.hawthornfc.com.au/Portals/0/images_hawks/080111_regional430_1a.jpg
Luke Hodge leads at training.

http://wa1.www.hawthornfc.com.au/Portals/0/images_hawks/080111_regional430_6.jpg
Hawks supporters learn from the best.

http://wa1.www.hawthornfc.com.au/Portals/0/images_hawks/080111_regional430_1.jpg
The team address their fans at Shepley Oval in Dandenong.

http://wa3.www.hawthornfc.com.au/Portals/0/images_hawks/080111_regional430_7.jpg
Hodge gets in on the act.:thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
5th February 2008, 17:35
Luke Hodge - 3AW 05.02.08

BY RustyHawk
Drainpipe (Dwayne Russell) & Gerard Healy interviewed Luke Hodge on Sports Today at 6.20pm.

Started off about the new Hawks jumper. Plenty of white said DR.
LH - Croady offered to model the new jumper, the boys like it.

Q - What is a jumper now days made out of?
LH - Dont know but it is comfortable and cool.

Q - Campbell Brown - playing NAB?
LH - He got fined talking last week so....

Q - Who is definately playing NAB Cup?
LH - I Definately am, most of the senior group.

Q - Who, the punters want to know who though?
LH - Hard to say. Benny McGlynn still recovering from groin surgery probably wont, Mitch, Crawf, Franko will.

Q - Tassie Community Camp - tell us a little about.
LH - The team has broken up into 5 groups to cover the state. Here at DevonportFC doing a fund raiser tonight for that club.

Q - Stuart Dew - lost a lot of Kgs, will he be the designated kicker?
LH - Have to fight Laddo and Goo for that job. looking forward to being on receiving end of one of his passes.

Q - Cyril
LH - I dont want to pump his tyres too much, only just arrived but he is unbelievable - clean below the knees.

Q - Brendon Whitecross
LH - Has done 80-90% of the preseason, right up there as well.

Q - The skipper, fitness - I heard he struggled through some tests?
LH - Sammy is ok

Q - Hawks, young team, last 2 seasons now, no concessions this year, feel you may had time pass you by already?
LH - No dont agree. Building as a group for the next 4-5 years together.

Q - When are you back?
LH - Fly back Friday night.

************ END **************

noosa hawk mad
7th February 2008, 18:44
Hodgey on 3AW:thumbsu:

http://www.mytalk.com.au/aspx/pages/mediaplayer.aspx?t=audio&w=6479

philhawk
7th February 2008, 19:02
You're a star, noosa!

Seriously. Fantastic work, mate.

noosa hawk mad
8th February 2008, 19:03
Hawk Hodge nesting
08 February 2008 Herald Sun
Daryl Timms
IF Luke Hodge is expecting a big year on the field, he is preparing himself for an even bigger one off it.

In his first year as Hawthorn's vice-captain, the 23-year-old and his fiance Laureen are expecting their first child in July.
As well as his new domestic duties, Hodge again holds major responsibility, along with new captain Sam Mitchell, for the Hawks living up to public perceptions of being a top four team this season.
While he knows what to expect on the field, fatherhood is a frontier he is yet to encounter but one he's certainly looking forward to embracing.
With teammates Trent Croad, Shane Crawford and and Mark Williams already fathers, Hodge is hopeful of of gaining some handy tips from the trio on combing fatherhood and football.
"Just going off what Croady and Crawf have done in in the past couple of years, they have given me few pointers already," he said.
"And Mark Williams has two kids as well. I think they are all going to be there for a few more tips as it gets close to due date.
"I'm really looking forward to it."
Just recently engaged to his long time girlfriend, Hodge has put the wedding date on hold as it would have clashed with the wedding of former teammate Ben Dixon.
Hodge, who will miss the opening round of the season because of a one match suspension, said the Hawks had been slowly buidling for the past couple of years and he hopes it will continue.
A finger injury will also keep him out of today's intra-club practice match at Aurora Stadium.
"We have had another very big pre-season which most clubs have had at this time of the year and we are just looking forward to the start of the year," Hodge said.
"The suspensions (including Shane Crawford and Jordan Lewis) are annoying but we have a number of players who can rotate through the mid-fidler there to fix that up and hopefully we'll be back to full strength by round four.
"It gives other players like Beau Muston, who had a big pre-season, and Travis Tuck, who has trained the house down pretty much, a chance."
Despite the public expectations, Hodge is reluctant to make predictions of where the Hawks will finish.
"Who knows," he said.
"With the improvement that we made last year, all we are really worrying about is just keep ensuring, as we have done for the past couple of years, that we keep looking for more improvement.
"If we play to our best, who knows."
He said the players hadn't spoken about a top four finish but were more committed to making improvements.
"We have improved our fitness base over the pre-season and if you look at lot of of the boys you will see that they have put on a lot of muscle as well, so we have just got to keep consistent and just follow up on what we have done over the past two years," Hodge said.
Hodge said there was no point reflecting on Hawthorn's embarrassing semi final loss to the Kangaroos which followed their stunning last gasp victory the previous week against Adelaide.
He said the Hawks training in the lead up to the Roos was terrible and the side just did't come to play.
"It was very frustrating after where we had built ourselves during the season," he said.
"It was just a let down, not just for us but our fans.
"I think the boys had given everything they had into the Adelaide game and we were probably physically immature and weren't able to emotionally bounce back from such a high, I guess."
Hodge believes the experiences of last year, especially for so many of the younger players, should safeguard against similar failures.

noosa hawk mad
9th February 2008, 07:50
Vice-captain Luke Hodge played the whole game after being in doubt with a split finger earlier in the week; he reported a clean bill of health after the final siren.

"I just got through it, it was our first real contact hitout for the year and it was just good to get through the four quarters. I'm looking forward to next week," Hodge said.

noosa hawk mad
9th February 2008, 07:59
You're a star, noosa!

Seriously. Fantastic work, mate.Thanks mate!!A forum i never visited until know.. Great to be part of and contributing to Hawk-Eye..:thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
14th February 2008, 11:19
The Extractors

The Hawks are a high possession team ranking 4th Highest in 2007 for disposals per game. The likes of Sam Mitchell, Jordan Lewis, Luke Hodge andhttp://www.aflfootyblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/12/luke-hodge.thumbnail.jpg old timer Shane Crawford get a ton of the football and unlike some other team’s midfielders who may also rack up these numbers, these 4 players hurt the opposition with their disposals and this is what sets them apart from the rest. These guys will again be the key to the Hawks 2008 premiership campaign. Luke Hodge must be one of the best competitive players I have seen! He is a GUN.

noosa hawk mad
18th February 2008, 17:50
First Nab Cup Game V Sydney

Luke Hodge played mostly on the back flank and in the back pocket. While he was clean and tough with 18 possessions, he and captain Sam Mitchell (17 touches) were far from their best played sparingly by Clarko their was a passage of play where his attack on the footy was unbelievable!!

noosa hawk mad
21st February 2008, 18:27
http://www.geocities.com/zorg2005/Lukehodgebump.JPG

noosa hawk mad
25th February 2008, 10:50
D EFF% K H G B
21 86 13 8 2 1
Hodgey kicked 2 goals had 21 possessions the only down side was the report of Brown soft as in my opinion!
Hawthorn can ill-afford any suspensions ahead of the home and away season, given they already have three important players - Shane Crawford, Luke Hodge and Jordan Lewis - set to miss the early rounds because of suspensions earned in last year's finals series.
Earlier, the Hawks completely dominated the first quarter-and-a-half, with clearance specialist Sam Mitchell particularly good as his team took the ball out of the centre repeatedly to set up their barrage.
Luke Hodge, Grant Birchall, Lewis and Clinton Young were also instrumental in the early onslaught.
New recruit Cyril Rioli, the nephew of two former Norm Smith medallists Maurice Rioli and Michael Long, also showed some exciting glimpses early in the match, with stunning pace, strong tackling and some good skills.
The Hawks gave limited game-time to some of their stars in the second half, aiding Carlton's effort to work their way back into the match.
Hawks coach Alastair Clarkson said he was not worried about his side's lead being reduced in the second half, saying he had used it to give youngsters more experience while the likes of Lance Franklin and Mitchell spent time on the bench.
"The risk is you're perceived as being arrogant, but the second half gave us a great opportunity to play some of our younger players and they made plenty of mistakes, but it's all about playing at the level,'' he said.
"We're really pleased with the outcome of the game, to play so well when the whips were cracking early and then get the opportunity at that level to expose some of the younger players on our list was really pleasing for our club.'' A great win:thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
28th February 2008, 08:50
Hawthorn warriors pay price

http://saturn.tiser.com.au/images/AE3.gif (http://mercury.tiser.com.au/ADCLICK/CID=fffffffcfffffffcfffffffc/acc_random=11181533/SITE=TAUS/AREA=SPORT.AFL/AAMSZ=110X40/pageid=67573803)

Chip Le Grand | February 26, 2008

ALASTAIR CLARKSON loves the way Luke Hodge, Jordan Lewis and Campbell Brown play; referring to them as his warrior group.
Unfortunately for Hawthorn, the coach's affection is not shared by the match review panel. Brown is the latest to run foul of the league's reduced tolerance for on-field aggression, earning himself a two-week suspension. If Hawthorn loses this Saturday to Adelaide in a NAB Cup semi-final, he will miss the opening round for the third time in four years.
When Brown slammed into Carlton's prized recruit Matthew Kreuzer on Saturday night, he delivered the kind of hip-and-shoulder bump that would have passed without comment when his old man was playing for Richmond. Kreuzer was committed to the mark and Brown was committed to making the teenage rookie earn it.
Under today's rules however, the AFL had little choice but to find Brown guilty of charging. The days of crunching into the back of opponent in lieu of a legitimate attempt to spoil are long gone.
The upshot of which is a growing headache for Clarkson. His immediate dilemma, depending on whether Hawthorn makes the NAB Cup grand final, enabling Brown to serve his penance in the pre-season, is how to cover for the loss of Hodge, Lewis, Brown and Shane Crawford, all from suspension, in the Hawks' season-opening match against Melbourne.
The Demons may not be the toughest assignment in the competition but against any opposition, Hawthorn will struggle to fill the gaping hole in its midfield and the absence of Brown from defence.
The coach's second problem is more complex; how to retain the physical menace he values in Hodge, Lewis and Brown without sacrificing more games to the gods of video review.
On current evidence, the task would seem easier for Hodge and Lewis, who along with Crawford, were suspended for striking in last year's finals series. Flipping your lid in a losing semi-final is a dumb thing to do, but at least Hodge and Lewis could plead exceptional circumstances given it was their first September campaign.
Brown's issues appear to be more ingrained. He is no thug by traditional standards. But what he did to Kreuzer, an 18-year-old ruckman with plenty of work to do in the gym before he fills out Lance Whitnall's old jumper, carried the potential for serious injury. It also took no great courage. In a moment that Kreuzer was vulnerable, Brown rammed into his blindside.
More to the point, Brown has shown himself to be a slow learner. Brown was drafted at the end of 2001 and made his senior debut the following year. He has played 97 games and would have already played 100 if not for ill-discipline.
Brown has been reported seven times. If he accepts the match review panel's offer of two weeks he will have missed 13 matches due to suspension. That is four months of frustrated sitting in the stands at games he should be playing.
Thanks to a quirk in AFL rules, Brown can serve at least one of his most recent penalty in the NAB Cup. But the broader lesson should not be lost on Hawthorn; a club very much in premiership contention if it can keep its best players in the game. Brown might be a warrior, but this was a silly fight to pick.

noosa hawk mad
29th February 2008, 14:21
http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/43881 Hodgey on Fridays Tip Off! Quick summary has lost weight himself due to staying of the alcohol while his partner is pregnant.Feathers as Billy called Goo will play Sewell,Roughead Croad & Dew will play.X Ellis has actually put on about 7 kg but very hard to tell Big wraps on Muston will be good Stokes was right up their in the tackle count & only played half a game great pressure a lot to like,Tuck hard at it & want take a back wood step J Lewis has had a big preseason & trimmed up a bit.Who draws the biggest fans at family day Buddy at 6 foot 4 hard to miss & Crawford has always attracted his fair share of attention :thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
2nd March 2008, 13:25
Adelaide V Hawthorn L Hodge BOG Hawks vice-captain Luke Hodge starred for the visitors with 27 possessions and an amazing 11 inside-50s. His tackling was fantastic a great game with Hodgey leading the way his ferocious attack on man & footy a pleasure to watch was a work horse in the middle and inspirational when he went forward. A goal from the boundary line in the second quarter lifted his side going into time on.Looking forward to a big year from Hodge our Warrior Champion:thumbsu:
Adelaide 1.4.3 1.7.5 1.10.8 2.13.11 (107) HAWTHORN 0.2.3 1.7.5 1.7.8 1.11.9 (84) SUPERGOALS — Adelaide: Symes, Knights. Hawthorn: Guerra GOALS — Adelaide: Burton 3, Porplyzia 2, Thompson 2, Edwards, Tippett, Sellar, McLeod, Symes, McGregor. Hawthorn: Franklin 4, Rioli 2, Boyle, Stokes, Hodge, Osborne, Roughead. BEST — Adelaide: Van Berlo, Thompson, Bock, Symes, Edwards, Porplyzia, Burton. Hawthorn: Hodge, Mitchell, Sewell, Rioli, Franklin, Gilham. INJURIES — Hawthorn: Muston (knee), Boyle (ankle). UMPIRES: Donlon, Margetts, Ryan, Vozzo. At AAMI Stadium.

Fraz
4th March 2008, 15:52
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/62641.jpg

The old wives tale goes that if you're carrying high (like Lauren) then it's a girl. Hopefully for your sake they have a boy for a future F-S pick up (not that there's any pressure on sons of footballers or anything...)

Anywho, I'll get off your board now. Just came across the pic and thought you might be interested :)

noosa hawk mad
4th March 2008, 15:58
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/62641.jpg

The old wives tale goes that if you're carrying high (like Lauren) then it's a girl. Hopefully for your sake they have a boy for a future F-S pick up (not that there's any pressure on sons of footballers or anything...)

Anywho, I'll get off your board now. Just came across the pic and thought you might be interested :)Cheers Fraz thanks for the pic mate :thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
27th March 2008, 22:42
Hodge, Campbell back

Blog Article Content

THE Hawks have made two changes to the team which defeated Melbourne last week by a mammoth 104 points at the MCG.
Vice-captain Luke Hodge and popular defender Campbell Brown return from suspension for the round two clash against Fremantle at Subiaco on Saturday evening Melbourne time.
However, key-position defender Trent Croad (wrist) and Tim Clarke (calf) will not make the journey west.

L Hodge will come into the side after sitting out last weeks thrashing of Melbourne serving his suspension let hope Hodge can control his white line fever!Brown will be a welcome return with the loss of Croad on field discipline guys no more silly suspensions.:thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
28th March 2008, 10:20
HAWTHORN vice-captain Luke Hodge has conceded the Hawks have to rid themselves of "dumb" undisciplined play if they are to challenge for the 2008 flag.He revealed the players had made a pact to eradicate undisciplined aspects of their game, while maintaining the hard edge desired by coach Alastair Clarkson.
"We've all said the undisciplined s--- has to go," Hodge said yesterday.
"It's got to be hard at the ball, be physical, don't change your game too much, but it's just the small stuff, there's no point doing it.
"I guess it's probably part of our maturing. The past few years people have been known to do dumb things, and it's cost us at times.
"Hopefully, we're going to show this year we are an aggressive side, but a disciplined side."
Champion Data statistics from 2007 show the Hawks were:
EQUAL second in free kicks against (447) behind Sydney;
FIRST in conceding 50m penalties;
SECOND in conceding most goals from 50m penalties;
EQUAL first with Essendon in frees awarded after disposal (31);
FOURTH in head-high tackles (99), with Hodge (10) equal third highest individually.
SECOND in players reported (17) behind Fremantle (26).
For all his outstanding qualities, Hodge admits he has to curb his recklessness.
He was equal third in the league for free kicks against with 38, behind ruckman teammate Simon Taylor (41) and Sydney's Barry Hall (39).
And tomorrow night he returns from a one-match suspension resulting from another "dumb" decision to whack North Melbourne's Brady Rawlings in last year's qualifying final.
"It was a stupid little thing," Hodge said.
"I've gone to push off, and it looks like I flicked him in the face and they reported me for hitting him in the chest.
"Brady said no, I shoved him in the chin, so they upgraded it and got 196 points.
"It was tiggy-touchwood, but I think last year I was pretty lucky with a few.
Did you hit him?
"It might've slipped and got him."
Frustration?
"Four minutes to go and we're down by 30 points . . . it's dumb s--- like that that annoys me."
Hodge admits he sails close to the edge, but will not change his attitude too much.
"People say a lot of times I almost cross the line, but I don't think I could play any differently," he said.
He cites the Brisbane Lions throughout their premiership three-peat as the team Hawthorn must emulate.
"They were an aggressive side, but they didn't seem to go too far," Hodge said.
"Being young, you probably go that step too far. And hopefully after last year -- and seeing how many free kicks we've given away -- this is year we're going to be aggressive, but definitely cut back on the stupid mistakes we made last year."

noosa hawk mad
29th March 2008, 06:22
The hard way

Mark Robinson | March 29, 2008 12:00am

LUKE Hodge was just 20 and on this day, in 2005, he was playing on Brisbane Lion Michael Voss. This is not about what unfolded during the next two hours, but about what happened in the twilight zone, in those gut-churning expectant minutes after the teams broke from their final pep-talk to the bounce of the ball.
Hodge got to the middle first and was waiting.
Voss strode there with the swagger of greatness.
The three-time premiership captain was Wyatt Earp, the veteran gunslinger.
Hodge was the young punk, Billy The Kid.
Fear is relevant at such times. The fear of failure is compounded by the fear of loneliness.
All the talk and planning in the comfort of team meetings, with 30 blokes about you, is lost because, then and there, it's you against him.
Voss didn't know who he was playing on.
Hodge had been thinking about it for a week.
He remembers his heart was thumping.
"Yeah, I was s----ing myself," Hodge said.
"I watched him all the way from when he broke from his huddle and came up, I was looking at how big his shoulders were. Here was Vossy, and I was only 20."
What happened next tells you something about Luke Hodge.
It tells us, in part, why this bloke is destined for greatness.
Not because he stood up to Voss, but why he stood up and what it meant to him.
Football is about the contest and the battle ahead.
It's about one man's will against another's and who will eventually surrender.
Voss, the three-time premiership captain, had fought this fight and won many times over and, if he reads this, probably wouldn't have the faintest idea what Hodge is talking about.
For Hodge, however, it was a defining moment.
He didn't know if he was ready for Voss, but he was willing.
"I watched him coming up and I thought, 'S---, what am I supposed to do here?' " he said.
"He walked up to me, and before the umpire turned around he elbowed me in the guts.
"Straight away.
"He was sort of waiting, so I gave him one back.
"He did it again, and I gave him one back again and then he didn't do anything.
"I think it was more of a test to see if I was going to stand up or not.
"That's how I took it, and I thought it was great.
"I thought at least he wasn't going to pick on me for the whole day.
"He was sort of stamping his authority, maybe saying, 'If you want to get where I am, this is what you have to do'.
Did you consider elbowing him first? "Not a hope in hell. I went to him to man him up and I was intimidated beforehand, but when he elbowed me it sort of relaxed me a little bit.
"And then we played the game."
Hodge won the Hawthorn best-and-fairest that year, his first and only.
In the three years since, he has stamped himself as one of the best players in the competition, not so much in the vein of contemporaries such as Chris Judd or Gary Ablett or Daniel Kerr and perhaps Nick Dal Santo, but in a way that is uniquely Hodge.
Watching Judd and co, we are wowed by their breathtaking brilliance.
We look at Hodge and admire his attitude.
He's a beautiful player, too, but in a different way.
Players sometimes talk about trench players and who they'd want beside them.
Hodge is one.
He's a kill-or-be-killed type, take no prisoners.
Telling is the fact that Hodge, in 2007, figured in Hawthorn's top five for every statistical category other than handballs received and looseball gets.
It's not surprising.
Asked two questions in particular in an attempt to allow us to understand his mentality, Hodge reveals himself, not for the first time in an hour's discussion, to be a team-first player.
Describe aggression.
"Aggression . . . when the ball's there, having a presence. Someone knowing that if they get the ball before you, they are going to get put to the ground with a tackle, or when the ball's there, you put your head over the ball and win the ball.
"It's just hardness at the footy.
"Growing up as a kid, I was always a bad sport when I lost, a sooky loser, and I guess everyone when they play football strives for the end goal.
"When it happens, you hopefully put your best foot forward.
"We've got plenty of fellas like that (at Hawthorn). Tim Clarke, his aggression is how hard he runs. Jordan Lewis is the same -- you know if the ball's there to be won, you know he's not going to duck his head, he's going to go straight through.
"People have aggression in their own different ways.
"I guess it's when you've got to go, you go."
A big goal, big tackle, big mark?
"Whatever results in us winning," Hodge said.
Pushed, he says: "Probably a big tackle in a game, I reckon, because it lifts the rest of your team.
"In my first year at the club, there was a tackle by Jonny Hay on David King at North.
"That was replayed for the entire year.
"I think it might've won them the game.
"I remember that as if it was yesterday, just the respect he got from one tackle."
Cast your mind back to Hawthorn's first glorious final against Adelaide last year.
Lance Franklin had his picture in the paper for seven goals, including the matchwinner on the siren.
Yet it was Hodge, who left the field in the second quarter with what seemed to be a serious knee injury and who then returned banged up, who put Buddy in the position to play hero.
Hodge was a midfield warrior that afternoon at the Dome.
He was hurt but wouldn't yield, and his tackling and pressure led the Hawks to victory as much as Buddy's heroics.
That game and the week after, when the Hawks choked up against the Kangaroos at the MCG, is what Hodge loves and hates about football.
The best part of footy, he said, was simply the thrill of "being out there with your mates".
"Just look back at the first final last year," he said.
"That was the first final I played in, and that's pretty much why I play football.
"Just looking at your mates' faces after the game.
"Compare it to the next week . . . I just can't explain how good it was. I see how teams celebrate after Grand Finals . . . you can't really explain it.
"I still get a croaky voice still talking about the Adelaide game."
The North game, which the Hawks lost by 33 points and had three players on report, including Hodge, painted a bigger picture for the Hawks. They were talented and also undisciplined, big-headed and immature.
It remains the single biggest motivation for Hodge and his teammates.
That night Hodge was towelled by Brady Rawlings. No excuses, either, with the knee.
"Against North Melbourne we got to a situation where we could prove we were an up-and-coming side and probably showed our immaturity," Hodge said.
"A lot of us walked off the ground thinking we didn't do the right thing for the fans.
"I was fine with the knee, I just couldn't get a touch."
Hodge had three kicks and five handballs.
"Told you, I couldn't get a touch."
And five free kicks against.
"Yeah . . . and a suspension.
"Brady Rawlings was sensational. Everything I tried to do or did do, he was one step ahead.
"That made me think I had to change my game going into the future as well. It was a massive learning experience for myself and the side.
"I felt disappointed and a little bit ashamed.
"We expected a number of us to stand up and play good games right through the finals, but it wasn't to be. It was a bad night all round."
Coach Alastair Clarkson was scathing of his team after the loss.
"As he should've been and our supporters were as well. But it's probably helped us. There was that much improvement to be done mentally and physically. Backing up from the Adelaide game, we were up on cloud nine and we couldn't come down.
"The thing that got us over the line against Adelaide was how much the guys wanted to win that game.
"I know I keep talking about it, but it sticks in your mind how passionate the guys were.
"But I still wouldn't change anything about it.
"To have the feeling after that game compared to the feeling after North Melbourne, we know how much harder you have to work to back up finals.
"We only had six or seven boys who had played finals before, and it gave us an understanding that playing one final, two finals, fair enough, but even if you're knackered, you've got to push yourself that extra bit harder."
Some people may disagree, but greatness beckons for Hodge.
Of course, it's easier to write than accomplish, and Hodge baulked at every attempt to talk about his standing in the game.
His definition of superstar is one word: premierships.
The day of this interview was the day the Herald Sun published Mike Sheahan's 50 greatest players of all time. Hodge is not a footy junkie, but he cast his eyes over the list.
He didn't say so, he didn't have to, but the pervading feeling was: how good would it be to be recognised among the greats? "I saw the blokes in there and they are all sensational players, they had to be, and if you look at the majority of them, they have all been multiple premiership players," he said.
"It's what matters.
"Look at Geelong -- no matter whether Gary Ablett goes on to win a Brownlow or not, he's a premiership player and was a dominant player in that year.
"I've said it four or five times today, that's what football is all about -- premierships.
"Look at Hawthorn.
"People are remembered for playing in Grand Finals.
"That's why you keep hearing Leigh Matthews was a legend and Michael Tuck. They played in flags, and that's what we all want. And if you're remembered as a premiership player, you'd be rapt."
Hodge is now 23 and starting his seventh year of AFL. It's fair to say that since he was drafted as No. 1 - and, yes, ahead of Judd - the boy from Colac has had difficulty balancing the beers, mates and nightclubs with being a professional footballer.
He says it's behind him, not least because he and childhood sweetheart Lauren Kirkman are 23 weeks pregnant.
"It's bloody exciting, I felt the first kick last night," he said.
Still, the Hawks are known as the party club.
It's understood the players - all senior-list players - last year laid bare to each other all and sundry about their social habits.
As a result, a pact was formed, fundamentally demanding that footy came first.
"We've changed a lot in the last couple of years," Hodge said.
"Right now there is lot of player-driven issues.
"It started with Vanders (2007 captain Richie Vandenberg) and the lead comes from Sammy Mitchell.
"We've got set stuff where you see someone doing the wrong thing on and off the field, you've got to pull them up.
"That's what we're doing as a group. We're trying to get a group of mates who are going to look after each other.
"That demands honesty."
Every team demands honesty and every team has had honest chats with each other.
Issues such as alcohol, drugs and sexual respect, which are ongoing initiatives driven by the AFL Players' Association, were on the agenda.
"Every team has talks about it, and hopefully you get to the stage where, if you are doing the wrong thing, enough is enough," Hodge said.
"Like, if you're drinking too much, or it's a short week, there's no way you can recover for next week.
"Everyone has to get to a stage where you know your own recovery and what you need to prepare for next week.
"For me, every year it gets better, your eating, drinking.
"With some people it happens faster than others, and at this stage I'm pretty happy with my diet and the drinking as well."
So dedicated is Hodge to football and his impending life change that alcohol has been banned. Not for good, he points out, but for the time being to support Lauren.
"I'll hold back until she has the baby. That said, it's not 100 per cent locked in," he laughed.
"If I get to Round 6 or 7 and I haven't had a touch of the footy, I might have to have a couple of beers to relax me."

noosa hawk mad
29th March 2008, 20:08
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23449051-19767,00.html

Sam Mitchell deserved captaincy- Luke Hodge

Mark Robinson | March 29, 2008

THE image makers might have scuttled Luke Hodge's captaincy dreams, but Hodge says Sam Mitchell has earned the right to lead Hawthorn. Hodge, the vice-captain, also says the continual references to him and how he should be skipper will drive Mitchell to greatness.
"It's good for him," Hodge said. "He's going to prove to everyone it was the right choice. He's going to show why he was made captain.
"You watch."
Hodge admits disappointment at missing out - "Anyone would love the captaincy," he said - but not jealousy.
The 23-year-old was vice-captain under Richie Vandenberg in 2007 and a popular choice, by outsiders, to replace him.
On field he had all the ticks: skill, aggression, respect.
He's also a demonstrative leader, a player who uses voice and body language to hammer the message to nearby teammates, especially at stoppages.
But it was perhaps his off-field behaviour that went against him.
Not that he was the club's party animal. But until recent times the "country boy" image tagged him too much.
"I'm only 23. I've got a lot of maturing to do," Hodge said.
"I'm just so rapt for Mitch because he's worked so hard, coming from where he was to where he is now.
"He's earnt it. What he's done for the past seven years.
"A lot of people outside say that I should've been captain, but the people who have seen how he goes about it, how he trains, what he's like around the club - that's why he got the captaincy.
"He's got so much passion in everything he does."
True, but people see the same passion in the boy from Colac.
"Hopefully they do. And that can help Mitch out. My job this year, as it was last year when I was vice to Vanders, is to help out the captain. That's why I'm there," he said.
Hodge laughs when asked to compare himself with Mitchell.
"We come from two different ends of the scale," he said.
"Mitch is from out near Doncaster, past Doncaster. We're 100 per cent different people.
"If we go somewhere, he'll be sitting down reading a book and I'll be stuffing around.
"But the last two or three years with so many meetings with the players and the coaches, and the amount of time we've spent together, it's amazing how much we've changed. We've bonded very, very well."

noosa hawk mad
31st March 2008, 18:36
http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=57122

Dew to miss a month, says Hodge

Author: Catherine Murphy 3:47 PM Mon 31 March, 2008
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20A-E/Rd2_Dew_vFreo246.jpg
Stuart Dew is set to miss a month of action with a hamstring injury

HAWTHORN midfielder Luke Hodge says Stuart Dew could be out for a month after he sustained a hamstring injury in the dying stages of the club's 15-point win over Fremantle at Subiaco Oval on Saturday.
"It's just a basic hamstring, so he'll be three or four weeks, I think,” Hodge said.
While Dew's absence is a blow for the undefeated Hawks, there should be plenty of cover for the former Port Adelaide premiership player, with Tim Clarke and Benny McGlynn looking like they'll be available for selection against North Melbourne this weekend. The Hawks will also welcome back midfielder Jordan Lewis, who missed the first two rounds due to suspension.
Mark Williams could also be available, but Hodge admits that with the forward unit performing as well as it is, finding a spot for the 24-year-old could be challenging.
"After the first round it would have been hard to drop one of the boys, and probably the same again this week," Hodge said.
"As long as (Williams) keeps training as well as he has been, he'll be back in there soon.”
Hodge admitted that he struggled in his comeback game against the Dockers after missing the first round due to suspension.
"I was blowing a bit, but I was expecting that," he said.
"Hopefully this week, I'll be a bit better for it."
The 23-year-old heaped praise on young recruits Cyril Rioli and Cameron Stokes, who he says are showing maturity beyond their years.
"He's (Rioli) pretty exciting. We knew as soon as he came out here that he can do some freaky stuff, and the same with 'Stokesy' as well. I think all our forward line is pretty exciting. As long as they can keep getting their hands on the ball, it's going to be good for us.”
Despite last year's semi-final defeat to the Kangaroos, Hodge says his side won't be dwelling on previous encounters.
"Hawthorn and North have had a rivalry for a while … but we've worked on points we need to improve, not only the game last year but all season, and hopefully we can do that.”
Damaging left-footer Clinton Young, who sat on the bench for the final quarter of Saturday night's win, pulled up sore after the match but is likely to play this weekend, with the club monitoring the progress of the 22-year-old during the week.

Source: Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

noosa hawk mad
31st March 2008, 18:46
http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/45386 Hodge interview!

noosa hawk mad
31st March 2008, 19:11
Hawks not sweating Kangas
Hawthorn vice-captain Luke Hodge says the Hawks won't treat the Kangaroos any differently this Saturday, despite their painful semi-final loss to them last September

http://sportal.com.au/mediaplayer/video/AFL/hawks-not-sweating-kangas-1184 Hodge Interview:thumbsu:

RustyHawk
31st March 2008, 22:52
Well done NHM.

:confused: Did you notice some of the training shots. The 3rd one was of the boys running around Glenferrie??? the rest at Waverley???

Also it seemed Trent Croad was out there running around today or are my eyes shot?

noosa hawk mad
31st March 2008, 23:07
Well done NHM.

:confused: Did you notice some of the training shots. The 3rd one was of the boys running around Glenferrie??? the rest at Waverley???

Also it seemed Trent Croad was out there running around today or are my eyes shot?Your eyes are fine mate definitely Croady running around great news :thumbsu:Training shots i didnt pick up! you dont miss much do ya Rusty:)

noosa hawk mad
1st April 2008, 09:40
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23463589-19742,00.html

Luke Hodge tips Mark Williams for VFL return

HAWTHORN is confident Mark Williams will resume playing this week, as it resigns itself to at least a month without fellow forward Stuart Dew.

Williams, the club's leading goalkicker in 2005-06, only managed four games last year because of a knee injury.
He was a late withdrawal from the Round 1 win against Melbourne, and the Hawks say Williams suffered a corked thigh last week at training.
But teammate Luke Hodge said Williams had been training well and was close to returning. Given his lack of match fitness, he seems certain to resume through the VFL.
"He was crook the first round and (he's) just getting his fitness," Hodge said.
"After the first round, it would have been pretty hard to drop one of the boys, and it's probably the same again this week.
"As long as he keeps training as well as he has been, he'll be back in there soon, hopefully."
Dew suffered his hamstring injury during Saturday night's win against Fremantle in Perth. He clutched his left hamstring after taking a kick.
"It's just a basic hamstring - what are they, three or four weeks?" Hodge said.
Dew had to shed weight and regain fitness during the summer after being lured out of retirement, but Hodge doubted he pushed himself too hard.
Jordan Lewis is set to return from suspension, while Tim Clarke and Ben McGlynn are in line for recalls on Saturday against North Melbourne at Telstra Dome. The last time these two sides met, North ended the Hawks' year in a semi-final.
Hodge had a poor game on Kangaroos tagger Brady Rawlings and was suspended after the match. He returned last week.
"I struggled a little bit. I was blowing a bit, but I was expecting that," Hodge said."Hopefully this week, I'm a bit better for it."
Hawks midfielder Clinton Young will have to prove his fitness before Saturday's game after suffering a groin injury against Fremantle.

- AAP

noosa hawk mad
2nd April 2008, 10:00
Brady Rawlings disputes putting Luke Hodge in hot water

KANGAROOS tagger Brady Rawlings has denied dramatic allegations by Hawks star Luke Hodge that he 'dobbed' on the Hawthorn vice-captain after last year's semi-final run-in.

In a confrontation sure to add fire to Saturday's Rivalry Round contest between the Hawks and Roos, Hodge claimed Rawlings had failed to uphold the players' code at the tribunal.
Hodge was reported for hitting Rawlings in the dying minutes of North Melbourne's 33-point semi-final win, after the Roos tagger had comprehensively thrashed the talented Hawk midfielder.
Hodge chose to fight the report, and after Rawlings told the tribunal the contact was to his "neck and chin", the charge was upgraded and he was suspended for a week.
On Saturday they will face off again, with Rawlings surprised and bemused by Hodge's claims.
Hodge told the Herald Sun last week: "They reported me for hitting him in the chest. Brady said, no, I shoved him in the chin, so they upgraded it and I got 196 points."
While Hodge later admitted he might have hit Rawlings high, Rawlings yesterday said he was not the type of player to rat out an opponent.
"Yeah, I did see those (quotes). You don't want to have a name as someone who is slamming someone," he told the Herald Sun.
"I think I went to the ground and I was holding my face, so I am not going to lie about that, or what was shown on the vision. I believe it was an accidental thing but I don't think I could have lied."
During Hodge's case Rawlings told the tribunal by speaker phone "all I felt was a push that got me high in the neck and chin".
It was hardly damning evidence, but meant the charge was elevated from body to high contact and added another crucial activation point.
"It was just how the tribunal works," Rawlings said.
"It probably looks like I did (put him in), but I am sure he is not going to have that on his mind (on Saturday)."
Hodge and Rawlings will resume their war on Saturday, after the Roo took the highly fancied Hawks midfielder to the cleaners in the semi-final.
Rawlings collected 27 possessions to Hodge's eight, his lowest possession tally in his previous 40 games.
It was the only time Rawlings had played on Hodge.
"I have only played on him the once, in the final. I usually get Crawf (Shane Crawford). That last game was such a big game so obviously there was a bit going on that night and he had his first game back last week so he should be getting in a bit of form," Rawlings said. "(The striking incident) was a bit of a weird one. I think he actually slipped. "There were only five minutes to go in the game, so I don't think he was intentionally going to do anything, but it was a bit unlucky for him."
Rawlings has been in superb form this year, keeping Essendon's Brent Stanton to just 11 possessions, then on Sunday keeping Richmond's Nathan Foley to 15 possessions.
But while some taggers grab and hold, Rawlings has incredibly given away just 40 free kicks in his last 90 games.
"I try to play as tight as I can but I am playing on the guns, so I know if I do anything illegal they will be all over me," he said.
"It's pretty tough sometimes to keep them quiet within the rules."

Mervyn Beasley
2nd April 2008, 10:14
[quote=Fraz;10240392]http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/62641.jpg

A couple of kids from Colac.
Who would of thunk it.

noosa hawk mad
7th April 2008, 14:22
It's time- Luke Hodge

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23490764-19767,00.html
Ken Piesse | April 06, 2008 12:00am

HAWTHORN vice-captain Luke Hodge says the Hawks' time as a genuine premiership contender has arrived.
"We have been down a long time, but we are building and anything could happen in the next three or four years," he said.
"We need to be able to stick together, but wins like this give you incredible confidence as a group.
"We were still short of our best team and had players hurt but to win the way we did was really something."
Hodge said the Hawks of 2007 would have been beaten yesterday, having conceded a five-goal break.
"We knew that North had won 16 of their past 17 first quarters so we knew they would start well again.
"We weren't as disciplined as we should have been and it cost us.
"But after we settled down a little, things improved."
Hawks defender Campbell Brown said his side had been too aggressive at the start and conceded costly penalties.
"We knew we were better than that. We needed to get back our focus and start running it like we can," he said.
North Melbourne rover Brent Harvey said Hawthorn deserved to be on top of the ladder.
"We threw our best at them, but just couldn't exert the scoreboard pressure we needed to," Harvey said.

Hodge copped a corky in the first 5 minutes & played forward for most of the match kicked 1.3 had 17 touches quite game! Great to see when Hodge & Mitchell are held we had other players stepping up Sewell,Lewis,Bateman leading the way!:thumbsu:

Fairley
8th April 2008, 00:31
Why did Hodgey play forward the whole game? Clarkson didn't even give him a chance to break the Brady Rawlings tag.

keefriffhard
8th April 2008, 07:28
Why did Hodgey play forward the whole game? Clarkson didn't even give him a chance to break the Brady Rawlings tag.

Copped a corky early on and had limited mobiliy so Clarko sent him forward.

noosa hawk mad
8th April 2008, 08:41
Copped a corky early on and had limited mobiliy so Clarko sent him forward.Should of kicked 3 goals looking for a huge game this week from Hodgey:thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
20th April 2008, 11:53
http://www.mytalk.com.au/aspx/pages/mediaplayer.aspx?t=audio&w=8439

Hawthorn's Luke Hodge speaks to 3AW's Sports Today, April 17!:thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
24th April 2008, 13:52
From Inside Footy!
The Hawk's Luke Hodge is in my mind the epitome of the olden day utility player.Whan playing in defence he set's up attack after attack while also stopping goals,he can rack up 30 possessions as easy as you like in the middle and push forward when ever the game is on the line. You may think Buddy Franklins name would be the first magnet put on the team bourd at the Hawk selection meetings. I reckon just prior to him would be the Luke Hodge magnet,the only conundrum for Clarko would be where to put the damn thing!!!:thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
28th April 2008, 15:55
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/News/BlogArticle/tabid/10850/Default.aspx?newsId=58646

Buddy will kick a bag next week: Hodge

12:53 PM Mon 28 April, 2008 | Back (javascript:history.go(-1);)
Jennifer Witham
for hawthornfc.com.au

Blog Article Content

COLLINGWOOD beware – Lance 'Buddy' Franklin's inaccurate return of 1.7 on Sunday will just make him more dangerous this weekend, according to midfielder Luke Hodge.
Hodge, 23, believes 'Buddy' will rebound from his disastrous day out against Richmond in the best fashion possible, with the Magpies set to cop the full brunt of his usually-potent left boot this Saturday at the MCG.
"If anything, it's going to fire him up to kick goals next week," Hodge said, after the Hawks' 12-point win over the Tigers.
"The best part about 'Buddy' is that a couple of years ago, it might have affected him a little bit.
"But, he's pretty mellow at the moment and he's going alright. He's just going to continue to play his role next week and kick a couple of goals again."
The Hawks recorded a dismal 22 behinds during Sunday's game, with Franklin the biggest offender alongside Mark Williams (2.3), and Jarryd Roughead (5.3).
Hodge, who kicked 0.2, said there were no easy solutions to the goal-kicking yips that prevented his side from closing out the game earlier.
"The forwards have been reasonably good so far, so hopefully today was just a one-off," he said.
"They'll be out there this week doing goal-kicking, as they do every other week, and hopefully it will pay off for us next week.
"We've still got Timmy Boyle to come back in from injury, and for Franklin to kick 1.7 and 'Roughy' to kick 5.3 and us still win shows we've got the options to kick goals, but we obviously need to concentrate on our aim a little bit."
The Hawks struggled to break away from the Tigers throughout the match, and while their kicking for goal was the biggest reason the margin failed to exceed 12 points, they also made countless uncharacteristic errors.
Having been on the road for three of the opening six rounds, the side could have been forgiven for starting to feel the effects of heavy legs. But, Hodge denied the players are fatigued and believes they've overcome the hardest section of their draw.
"I hope we're not tired, it's only round six," he said.
"We've travelled three times but in our last 10 games, we've got a pretty good run in Melbourne. We've got one more game now and then a bye, so we'll just keep playing the way we do.
"We're always confident we've got the run to break teams late, and we were probably just lucky we held on today."
After prevailing in a game he described as "not good-looking", Hodge said the Hawks will now look towards a blockbuster fixture against the Magpies this Saturday.
"It's going to a big crowd and we always match up pretty well against Collingwood," he said.
"They're pretty close games and we always look forward to playing against them, and they'll look forward to facing us.”

noosa hawk mad
1st May 2008, 08:15
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23626237-19742,00.html

Hodge, Mitchell checked over 'corking'

Mike Sheahan | May 01, 2008 12:00am

ON THE eve of Hawthorn's biggest test so far, two of its star players are under official scrutiny for illegal tactics.
It is understood the AFL umpiring department has been alerted to captain Sam Mitchell and vice-captain Luke Hodge's alleged practice of trying to "cork" opponents' legs in games.
While coach Alastair Clarkson loves his players playing "unsociable football", the team leaders are courting trouble in light of Docker Josh Carr's suspension this week.
Carr was suspended for three games for his blatant attempt to "cork" Gary Ablett's thigh with a knee at Subiaco Oval on Friday night.
It should be a timely lesson for the Hawthorn stars, who are so important to the team's hopes against Collingwood at the MCG on Saturday.
Hodge and Mitchell are believed to have infuriated the Brisbane Lions players with their tactics in Round 5.

Game footage shows Hodge allegedly attempting to knee Troy Selwood.
A subsequent review of the game revealed Selwood's teammate Luke Power remonstrating with Mitchell for reportedly the same tactic.
Players at a Melbourne club also have said they had similar concerns after recently playing the Hawks.
Neither Brisbane Lions coach Leigh Matthews nor AFL director of umpiring Jeff Gieschen would throw any light on the subject last night.
"Leave me out of that one," Matthews said.
Gieschen would confirm only that he had spoken to Matthews in the week after the Hawthorn game.
"Yes, I've spoken to Leigh, (but) I'm not prepared to divulge what was said," Gieschen said. "The communication between a coach and myself is a confidential area."
Hawthorn football operations general manager Mark Evans said last night: "I'm certainly not aware of any complaint to the AFL and there's certainly been none to us."
Hodge appeared to try to "cork" Selwood while the Brisbane player applied a shepherd. It was apparent on the night Hodge was frustrated by Selwood's close-checking tactics.

Selwood is understood to have been generally sore after the game.

Mitchell drew an unusually angry response from Power more than once at stoppages.

While a "corkie" traditionally is rated a minor injury, it can put a player out of the game.

Had Carr's aim on Ablett been sharper, the Cats star might have been off the ground and out of the contest before the opening bounce.

Dockers coach Mark Harvey yesterday alluded to treatment of a similar kind from Geelong on Carr during the game.

Corking seems to be becoming popular as a subtle slow-down tactic, and it may not be just coincidence clubs are reporting more bruised thighs.

noosa hawk mad
3rd May 2008, 20:37
BOG in the first half 2 great goals before he pulled his hamstring!!
Luke Hodge's prospects of wearing the 'Big V' evaporated when he hobbled from the field after half-time with what appeared to be a nasty hamstring tear.
Clarkson said he expects Hodge's hammy is a 'two-to-three week' injury but would need to wait on scans.

noosa hawk mad
4th May 2008, 07:54
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23641814-19742,00.htmlHodge could miss a month

Jackie Epstein | May 04, 2008 12:00am

(http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23641814-19742,00.html#latest-comments)

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,6019899,00.jpg Luke Hodge is helped off the ground after injuring his hamstring in Hawthorn's 65-point win over Collingwood. Picture: Tim Carrafa

LUKE Hodge could miss a month of football after straining his right hamstring in yesterday's 65-point drubbing of Collingwood.

The Hawthorn midfielder clutched his hamstring after launching into one of his characteristic raking left-foot kicks from the centre square, and limped off the MCG early in the third quarter.
He and teammate Chance Bateman - a late withdrawal with a broken hand - will miss Saturday's Hall of Fame game.
Scans tomorrow are expected to confirm Hodge will miss at least the next two matches after that -- against Port Adelaide and Melbourne.
Forward Lance Franklin appeared to hurt his shoulder in a tackle, but coach Alastair Clarkson said he had pulled up well.
"If he's medically OK to play (next Saturday), we'll encourage our guys to play," Clarkson said.
"Chance probably won't, he was a late withdrawal today with a cracked bone in his hand, we didn't want to run the risk of that becoming displaced. He probably will miss another one or two games.
"(Hodge) will have that hamstring scanned and I dare say if it's a normal type of hamstring - I don't think Hodgey has done a hamstring before - so I'd imagine it's a 2-3 week injury."
The Hawks remains unbeaten, and are one behind away from being ahead of Geelong at the top of the ladder on percentage.

Clarkson commended his charges for bouncing back after a short break.
"We had a buffer of 2-3 goals through the course of the game but just felt we couldn't nail them as early as we'd have liked," he said.

"To think we'd even get four points today would have been a tremendous bonus let alone to win as convincingly as we did in the end.
"The preparation of our guys and professionalism in getting themselves ready in such a short break was pivotal to our win."
Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse conceded the Pies were poor and put his defenders on notice after Hawthorn's three key forwards steamrolled the team with a 10-goal final quarter.
Lance Franklin and Jarryd Roughead each finished with six goals while Mark Williams kicked five. Malthouse identified Shane Wakelin, Harry O'Brien, Tyson Goldsack and Nathan Brown as those who needed to lift.
"You need only to look at the last quarter where they kicked 10 goals and nine of them came directly from forwards, so our backs just weren't up to scratch on the day," he said.
"'Wakes' has been pretty good for us but I thought he made some fundamental errors for a bloke who's nearing 250 games. I thought 'Browny' did pretty well (on Franklin) until such time as they controlled the ball, then he lowered his colours badly in the last half.
"The other blokes, it would be fair to say, Tyson Goldsack, Harry O'Brien . . . those two blokes haven't really been in good form this year.
"Goldsack's still coming back from hurting his knee so hasn't had the hard work, so he'll get better but he, on his own admission, was quite poor today. I thought Harry O'Brien was quite poor, so there's four defenders who have stood up reasonably well but not today."
Malthouse acknowledged the midfield was smashed through the dominance of Sam Mitchell (39 disposals), Brad Sewell and Hodge.
"We're not in a position where we'll ever contemplate giving up," he said.
"So we will go for it and we'll experiment and we'll keep working at it. We were beaten in a lot of aspects of the game, which is room for improvement.
"If you get beaten like that and you've got nothing to say about the loss then you've got nowhere to go.
"If you get beaten like that we've got to acknowledge the opponent, one they were fantastic and they deserved their win. But two, it gives us some things to work on."

noosa hawk mad
6th May 2008, 09:01
http://www.footyheads.com.au/HODGE TO MISS BIG V (http://footyheads.com.au/index.php/2008/05/06/hodge-to-miss-big-v/)

Tuesday, May 6th, 2008 at 8:49 am
BY ALANA LAKELAND
HAWTHORN midfielder Luke Hodge’s hamstring injury will sideline him for at least three weeks and deny him the chance to pull on the Big V gurnsey.
Scans revealed yesterday that Hodge tore his hamstring in his team’s 65-point win over Collingwood on Saturday.
Hodge said he was disappointed he wouldn’t be able to line-up for Victoria in Saturday night but conceded the extra week to recover is a bonus.
“It would have been good to play in the game next week - get the chance to play with blokes like Chris Judd and Jimmy Bartel, who I haven’t played with since juniors, and also have the chance to play against Franks (teammate Lance Franklin),” Hodge said.
The All-Australian onballer was hopeful the AFL would continue the tradition in years to come.
“Hopefully the AFL will bring it in every couple of years because I know a lot of the boys look forward to it,” Hodge said.

noosa hawk mad
6th May 2008, 15:02
http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=59137Hodge hopes Big V chance will come again

HAWTHORN'S Luke Hodge hopes this weekend’s Hall of Fame tribute match won’t be the last of its kind.
Hodge, 23, will miss Saturday’s game with a hamstring injury, but hopes this won’t be his final chance to pull on the Big V guernsey.
“Hopefully the AFL will bring it in every couple of years, because I know a lot of the boys look forward to it,” Hodge told the Herald Sun.
“It would have been good to play in the game next week – get the chance to play with blokes like Chris Judd and Jimmy Bartel, who I haven’t played with since juniors, and also have the chance to play against Franks (Lance Franklin).”
Hodge sustained the injury during the Hawks’ impressive 65-point victory over the Pies on Saturday and is expected to miss at least three weeks. He also missed round one due to suspension.
“It would have been awesome to play with and against those guys, but I get another week off and then I’ll look forward to the rest of the season,” he said.

noosa hawk mad
17th May 2008, 08:04
http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Defa...x?newsid=59736 (http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=59736)

Appendix operation won't hold up Hodge

8:04 PM Fri 16 May, 2008
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20F-J/hodge_b.jpgLuke Hodge is not expected to miss further football due to an appendix operation

HAWTHORN vice-captain Luke Hodge had his appendix removed on Thursday but the surgery is not expected to delay his return to football.

Hodge was already sidelined with a hamstring injury, which he suffered in the round seven win over Collingwood.
It forced him out of the Victorian team for last Saturday night's Hall of Fame tribute match.
At the time, the Hawks expected him to miss three to four matches.
"We wouldn't expect the surgery to change the timeline for his return to footy," Hawks football manager Mark Evans said.
Evans said Hodge reported to the team doctor before training on Thursday, saying he had felt ill for the previous day and a half.
Meanwhile, Alastair Clarkson's "business as usual" on Saturday will be trying to stop one of the more unusual trends in the AFL.
In the week Hawthorn kept Clarkson's three-year contract extension as low-key as possible, they play Port Adelaide at Launceston's Aurora Stadium.
The Power have somehow turned Launceston into a second home, winning five of six matches since first playing there in 2002.
Their only blemish was two years ago, when Daniel Motlop missed a shot after the siren against St Kilda.
In round 20 last year, they stormed past Hawthorn late in the last term to beat them by five points.
Motlop earnt himself some Launceston redemption with a key goal late in the game.
"It was a strange game, Port Adelaide really shot out to a bolt at the start ... we were able to get on top in the middle part of the game and then we fell away poorly in the last five minutes," Clarkson said.
"We didn't structure up very well in our back half ... a learning curve for a lot of our young players.
"But hopefully we would have learnt from that over the summer and the early part of this season and we'll be ready for that type of situation again.
"They very (rarely) happen in football, sometimes you're practising things in training when you're not really sure if they're going to eventuate again or not."
The Hawks are unbeaten after seven rounds and on Tuesday, they announced Clarkson's three-year contract extension with a media release.
Port have won their last three after opening the season with four straight losses.
Clarkson said the Hawks had not taken the usual step of holding a media conference for such an important announcement because his re-appointment was only part of a much bigger process.
"We know the direction the club's going, what needs to be done, so some of these things, despite them being fantastic media stories, it's just business as usual," he said.
"It's not about me ... we put in place a program at the end of 2004 (Clarkson's initial appointment) that was a pretty strong, bold initiative to try and secure our 10th premiership."
While Clarkson's Port Adelaide counterpart and former boss Mark Williams is looking forward to another game in Tasmania, the Power coach is also mindful that the Hawks have improved greatly since last season.
"We've been very successful playing Hawthorn, certainly down in Launceston we really like the surroundings down there, not to say it'll be easy, last year we won on the last kick of the game, so you expect they're playing better than that," Williams said.
"It's going to be a really difficult task, they've won seven in a row, so they're cherry ripe, feeling good and deserve to be favourites."

carntheeagles
23rd May 2008, 01:55
When is Hodgey likely to return ?

noosa hawk mad
5th June 2008, 20:49
Hodge returns for Hawks

http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsid=60934

By Catherine Murphy 6:30 PM Thu 05 June, 2008
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/Hawthorn/Hodge_back246x316.jpgLuke Hodge is back this week

Essendon v Hawthorn
Saturday, June 7 - 7.10pm, Telstra Dome
HAWTHORN'S star midfielder Luke Hodge returns to the side for this weekend’s round 11 clash with the Bombers at Telstra Dome. Hodge has been absent since picking up a hamstring injury during the round seven victory over Collingwood.
The 23-year-old also missed his chance to represent Victoria in the Hall of Fame Tribute game at the MCG.
Tim Boyle also returns from injury, having not played with the seniors since round three, but the Hawks will be without 2007 Peter Crimmins Medallist Brad Sewell due to a shoulder injury.
The two inclusions mean defender Thomas Murphy is unlucky to miss out on selection.
Also absent from the 22 is veteran midfielder Shane Crawford who has been suffering with knee tendonitis since the club’s round eight victory over Port Adelaide.
The Hawks will be looking to revert to winning ways this weekend after their round ten lost to the Western Bulldogs, but will be wary of a resurgent Essendon that narrowly lost out to the Crows at AAMI Stadium last weekend.
The Bombers have just one change with Jason Laycock coming in to cover for Tom Hislop, who misses out with a shoulder injury.
B: Campbell Brown, Stephen Gilham, Rick Ladson
HB: Clinton Young, Trent Croad, Grant Birchall
C: Chance Bateman, Sam Mitchell, Xavier Ellis
HF: Michael Osborne, Lance Franklin, Tim Clarke
F: Cyril Rioli, Jarryd Roughead, Mark Williams
Foll: Robert Campbell, Luke Hodge, Jordan Lewis
I/C: Tim Boyle, Josh Kennedy, Jarryd Morton, Simon Taylor
EMG: Tom Murphy, Brent Renouf, Brendan Whitecross

In: Boyle, Hodge
Out: Thomas Murphy, Brad Sewell (shoulder)
B: Henry Slattery, Dustin Fletcher, Nathan Lovett-Murray
HB: Jay Nash, Patrick Ryder, Kyle Reimers
C: Andrew Lovett, David Myers, Brent Stanton
HF: Sam Lonergan, Scott Lucas, Bachar Houli
F: Jason Winderlich, Matthew Lloyd, Andrew Welsh
Foll: David Hill, Adam McPhee, Mark McVeigh
I/C: Jason Laycock, Tayte Pears, Leroy Jetta, Angus Monfries
EMG: Mal Michael, Tom Bellchambers, Adam Ramanauskas
In: Laycock
Out: Tom Hislop (shoulder)

At last my man is back a class act & will be a welcome return!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

noosa hawk mad
8th June 2008, 19:41
http://news.realfooty.com.au/sport/hodge-franklin-star-in-hawks-win-20080608-2nhd.htmlHodge, Franklin star in Hawks win

June 8, 2008 - 3:08PM

The goalkicking grabbed everyone's attention, but other aspects of the Lance Franklin show on Saturday night at Telstra Dome impressed Hawthorn team-mate Luke Hodge more.
Franklin's nine goals added to his growing legend as the Hawks rebounded from last week's first loss of the AFL season with a 51-point win over Essendon.
Hodge, returning from three weeks out with a hamstring injury and an appendectomy, kicked three goals and had 22 touches to star in the win.
Franklin's scoring frenzy equalled his best return in a game, also against the Bombers in round six last season, but Hodge noted how well "Buddy" marked above his head.
Another pleasing aspect for Hodge was how the rest of the powerful Hawthorn attack cleared out when it became clear early Franklin was "on", giving him every chance to wreak havoc.
"I know he kicked a few goals, but what I got most out of it was seeing him mark above his head," Hodge said of Franklin.
"That's been something he's continued to work on and as a 21-year-old, he's only going to get better at doing that."
Franklin had the measure of young Bombers defender Paddy Ryder and then wily veteran Dustin Fletcher.
Although Mark Williams did not kick a goal, Hodge thought it was the best game he had seen the small forward play in "two or three years" because of his team work and ability to create scoring chances.
Likewise, Cyril Rioli worked hard up the ground and fellow tall forwards Jarryd Roughead and Tim Boyle combined superbly with Franklin.
Hodge was also outstanding, kicking his three goals when the game was still tight in the first half.
It was notable that late in the last term, with all the heat out of the match, Hodge was still bashing bodies and feverishly applying pressure.
"He's a real warrior and we just love him playing, but we've really missed him the last four weeks," coach Alastair Clarkson said of his vice-captain.
The Hawks played Hodge for about 70 per cent of the game and the midfielder appreciated the lesser workload, saying he struggled early in the first term with the tempo of AFL football.
"It was good to get back to playing footy again, after watching the last three weeks," he said.
"Essendon came out and troubled us early, but it was good to see the boys regroup and play well in the second half.
"It was a lot harder (early) than I thought it was going to be, but I only ended up playing about 70 per cent (of the game).
"They brought me off at good times to keep me fresh and keep me running, but it helps when the boys are given the first option and playing as a team.

noosa hawk mad
9th June 2008, 13:16
Actions speak louder...

http://www.mytalk.com.au/MyTalkAdmin/images/080608_HODGE50.jpg Luke Hodge and Campbell Brown both told 3AW that the Hawks were hell-bent on proving they weren't soft on Saturday night, and pumped up Buddy Franklin.:thumbsu:

Brown pays tribute to Buddy (http://javascript%3cb%3e%3c/b%3E:%20var%20a%20=%20window.open%28%27/aspx/pages/mediaplayer.aspx?t=audio&w=9954%27,%27mywindow%27,%27menubar=1,resizable=1,width=750, height=520%27%29;)
http://www.mytalk.com.au/aspx/pages/...t=audio&w=9954 (http://www.mytalk.com.au/aspx/pages/mediaplayer.aspx?t=audio&w=9954)

Hodge hits back hard (http://javascript%3cb%3e%3c/b%3E:%20var%20a%20=%20window.open%28%27/aspx/pages/mediaplayer.aspx?t=audio&w=9955%27,%27mywindow%27,%27menubar=1,resizable=1,width=750, height=520%27%29;)
http://www.mytalk.com.au/aspx/pages/mediaplayer.aspx?t=audio&w=9955
(http://www.mytalk.com.au/aspx/pages/mediaplayer.aspx?t=audio&w=9955)

pup23
26th June 2008, 11:11
hodge is a genius. he can do everything lay tackles, break them, slee candy and even kick the hard goals

noosa hawk mad
28th June 2008, 12:09
http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200806/r261053_1085971.jpg (http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200806/r261053_1085967.jpg) Luke Hodge says the Hawks will be stepping up the pace into the second half of the season. (Getty Images: Mark Dadswell, file photo)

Map: Hawthorn 3122 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/maps/map.htm?lat=-37.8296&long=145.0325&caption=Hawthorn%203122)
Related Story: Hawthorn thump Eagles at the 'G (http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/06/27/2288476.htm)

Hawthorn midfielder Luke Hodge says his side is gearing up for a strong finish to the year despite being hit by injuries in the last month.
The Hawks accounted for the beleaguered West Coast Eagles (http://abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/06/27/2288476.htm?section=sport)last night at the MCG with a 18.18 (126) to 9.15 (69) triumph after an unconvincing first three quarters.
Hawthorn are now sitting equal first with Geelong, with the Western Bulldogs a chance to take their spot when they clash with Port Adelaide tonight.
The likes of Shane Crawford, Trent Croad and Brent Guerra have all recently made returns from injuries while Jordan Lewis limped out of last night's contest.
Hodge, who also left the field early, says next week's bye due to the split round will give the Hawks a much-needed break.
"We've had a few injuries the last month or six weeks so we've sort of pulled it back a little bit just so we can get everyone on the track and enough boys to pick from," he said.
"As I said most of the boys should be back for the Sydney game, so we'll sort of start picking up a little more - a little bit extra running so we are full of run for the end of the season."
It is a different story for the Eagles who are far from finals contention with only two wins this season.
Star midfielder Daniel Kerr admits the team is having trouble filling huge shoes with young bodies.
"We can bolster up through the midfield - we lost Ben [Cousins] and Chris [Judd], we lost those midfielders that can break through the lines," he said.
"I think that if we start playing that game plan we played [against Hawthorn], two or three young midfielders that carry the ball, we would be a lot better for it."

noosa hawk mad
2nd July 2008, 12:37
KEY midfielders off injured or playing hurt, a young ruckman on report and a surprising lack of urgency.
Yes, Hawthorn players will clearly appreciate a week off to refresh and recharge for the run to the finals.
It was the manner of the Hawks' 57-point win over West Coast as much as the predictable result that often puzzled and occasionally disturbed their faithful at the MCG last night.
A goalkicking shootout between twin talls Jarryd Roughead and Lance Franklin, and the brute strength and polished finishing of the pair, saved what was an ugly contest in near perfect conditions.
Roughead booted six goals and had a hand in three others to upstage his leading man, even though Buddy bagged five himself.
The left-footers were the difference, unstoppable on the lead for opponents Jaymie Graham and Darren Glass.
And the Hawks were always going to get the ball off relentless Eagles' runners Daniel Kerr and Matt Priddis often enough to feed Roughead and Franklin.
In stark contrast, West Coast never had the forward resources to apply the same scoreboard pressure as it did around the contests.
Aside from Ashley Hansen, who utilised his iron-grip marking for four goals, the Eagles couldn't capitalise on the supply from the midfield by Kerr and Priddis, who had 40 and 45 touches respectively.
While Hawthorn always held the Eagles at arms' length, its inability to put away an obviously inferior foe until well into the last quarter emphasised that the split round couldn't have arrived at a more appropriate time for the boys from Waverley.
And there are more injury concerns with key playmakers.
Jordan Lewis limped off early in the second quarter with a thigh problem, Luke Hodge wasn't far behind with calf soreness and Shane Crawford has knee worries again.
Admittedly, the loss of the close-quarters work of Lewis and Hodge stifled many of the Hawks' normal fast breaks from the centre-bounce duels.
Hodge eventually had to come back to replace Crawford late in the third quarter.
It was no surprise that Hawthorn performed with more urgency and potency in the last quarter with Hodge around the stoppages.
The classy left-footer was pivotal to the 7.3 to 2.4 final term that blew out the margin but couldn't restore the gloss to a performance lacking the usual desperation and clean finishing.
Roughead was unstoppable, even when West Coast dropped a big man back to try to hinder Franklin on the lead.
The less spectacular of the Hawk pair underlined pure skills with two goals within five minutes in the second quarter.
Roughead scooped up a loose ball in one hand and dropped it onto the boot, then he outbustled Brent Staker with superb body work for a contested mark and goal.
West Coast squandered any chance of pulling off an upset by missing four gettable goals in the first quarter, while gifting three to Hawthorn with elementary errors.
And yet it was the Hawks who displayed frustration on every line with their inability to run, carry and finish in the manner that has become their ruthless trademark this season.
Even their own fans delivered ironic cheers when the occasional fast, direct burst from the centre found the sure hands of Roughead or Franklin.
That frustration bubbled over when ruckman Brent Renouf was reported for striking Eagle Adam Selwood with a forearm to the head 10 minutes into the third quarter.
Only in the last 20 minutes, no doubt aided by tiring Eagles players, did Hawthorn control the ball with a domination expected from the opening bounce.

noosa hawk mad
4th July 2008, 12:33
It's one of the great dilemmas to face any sportsman.
Take to the sporting field and throw yourself in the field of battle with your teammates or delve headlong into a far more volcanic atmosphere... ...the labour ward. AFL star Luke Hodge The Friday night showdown on July 25th has the potential to be one of the biggest games of the season. But not even that billing can sway Hodge from his fatherly duties.is the latest to weigh up his options, but as far as the Hawthorn vice-captain is concerned it's a no contest. His partner, Lauren , is due to give birth on the same day Hawthorn play Geelong in what many consider to be a preview to this year's Grand Final. "We've been waiting for this for nine months but I think this (his baby's birth) is a little higher on the priority list," Hodge told Nine News. It's not without precedent. Sydney's Darren Jolly was a late arrival for the 2006 Grand Final, opting to stay home for the birth of his child. In 2005, North Melbourne's Sav Rocca was given a police escort from hospital, where his wife had just given birth, to Telstra Dome to make it in time for a final. Hodge admits though that if the baby was due on Grand Final day and the Hawks were playing, he might have to flip his priorities around. Quite clearly, Hodge has his life in order. As any parent knows, you only get one chance to be at the birth of your first child. Any child for that matter. It's one of the greatest experiences of anyone's life. That first cry, the eyes opening and the beautiful moment when mother embraces the child she's carried for all those months. But enough of the mushy stuff! It's hell in those birthing suites! The abuse, the blood, sweat and tears. But you wouldn't miss it for the world and Hodge has certainly made the right decision. Having said that, I can understand him choosing football over family if it was Grand Final day. That too can be a once in a lifetime opportunity and one suspects any child, when learning of Dad's decision years down the track, would fully understand. Let's face it, it's only been the past couple of generations where Dad's have been inside the birthing suite (aka labour ward). There are still many-a-Dad who remember getting a phone call at the local and then celebrating with their mates. Times have changed and while I don't know if coaches quite approve of players choosing family over football, for most it's a no brainer. What's the difference really? Either way you're still stuck in a small room with someone screaming at you because it's all your fault!
What would you choos