View Full Version : Danny Jacobs (retired 12.3.08)

philhawk
9 Mar 2007, 18:05
According to the My Man Thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=291068), it looks like DynamoUltra will be one of the posters responsible for looking after the Danny Jacobs bandwagon for Season 2007.

Take it away, Dyanamo!

philhawk
9 Mar 2007, 20:45
Welcome to DannyJ who is now 'co-driving' the Jacobs Bandwagon. :p

kp junior
21 Mar 2007, 20:52
so how's he looking? Thought he was a very important player to you guys a couple of years ago, is he healthy? Hawks need abit of class and experience down back I reckon.

DannyJ
25 Mar 2007, 17:16
DANNY JACOBS:-

BORN-: 25/6/80

H: 189 W: 97

Recruited from: Sth Melb District/Prahan U/18/Ess

2006 GAMES: 9 CAREER GAMES: 117
2006 GOALS: - CAREER GOALS: 28

The Age says: "Was looking good as a mobile defender last year before having his season ended by serious hamstring injury in round 10"

philhawk
28 Mar 2007, 01:24
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,21455781-23211,00.html

Tattoo to inspire Hawks defender

March 27, 2007

THE tattoo on the inside of Danny Jacob's forearm is simple enough, but its meaning is profound for the Hawthorn defender.

The newly-applied ink on the AFL player reads "Hedge", the nickname for his life-long friend Paul Bradley, who died a few weeks ago after being electrocuted in a work accident. "My best mate, who I've had my whole life, was electrocuted at work," Jacobs said. "He tried to fight for life, he was on a machine for five days, but he didn't make it. "It's a good reminder and inspiration for me to have.

"He's been my biggest inspiration as a friend, he was more a brother than a mate."

Jacobs said the club had given him some time off as he came to terms with Bradley's death.

Now, he is ready to return for his first regular-season game since round 10 last year.

Back then, Jacobs suffered a serious hamstring injury that put him out of action for the rest of the season.

"It's tough, but the club has been unbelievable....they've given me some time off when I've struggled, (let me) spend some time with his family," he said.

"The funeral is over and everything is gone, so the closure is there and I'm back healthy again.

"I can't wait – it's been about eight or nine months since I've been out there in a real game.

"I've been chomping at the bit to get out there and it's finally here, all the hard work pays off now."

Jacobs said it was particularly hard towards the end of last season when the Hawks started winning games and he had to watch it all from the grandstand.

He also had to overcome a hip injury during the summer.

Jacobs said his former teammate and Essendon captain Matthew Lloyd had been particularly helpful as he recovered from the hamstring injury.

Lloyd suffered a similar injury earlier last year, also ending his season.

"Matthew has been good, he's been in contact with me, I was about eight or nine weeks behind him with everything," Jacobs said.

"All the things he's done wrong, I haven't had to do.

"He's been in contact with me the whole way, so he's been excellent."

But Jacobs laughed at the suggestion he might now have Lloyd's speed.

"I'm like one of 'Crawf's' horses, I come last," he said, referring to team-mate and keen punter Shane Crawford.

Jacobs said he was unsure if he would line up on another comeback player, Brisbane co-captain Jonathan Brown, when the two teams open their regular seasons this Saturday night at the 'Gabba.

Terrible news about DJ's mate ...

DannyJ
2 Apr 2007, 14:29
Most marks in the competition thus far:thumbsu: (20)

razarback
2 Apr 2007, 20:23
20 marks- 1 contested :thumbsd:

buddy23
4 Apr 2007, 22:40
I thought he played well, and took some good marks in defence - at least he didn't just drop them under no pressure in the middle of the ground...(taylor).

HawksRadar
5 Apr 2007, 15:47
A lot to like about Jacobs. Just wish that he would have more urgency when he disposes of the ball. He is not one of those players that makes his forward worry about him creating options up the ground with second and third running efforts.

Roughie
5 Apr 2007, 18:45
A lot to like about Jacobs. Just wish that he would have more urgency when he disposes of the ball..

In those cases we should have the likes of Birchall, Guerra and other running type players to wrap around and get the hand balls recieve.

He is not one of those players that makes his forward worry about him creating options up the ground with second and third running efforts.

Most of the time he doesnt have an opponent and I dont think its a big worry If you have a couple stay at home defenders anyway.

HawksRadar
5 Apr 2007, 21:52
Most of the time he doesnt have an opponent and I dont think its a big worry If you have a couple stay at home defenders anyway.

More the reason why he should be running on if he hasn't got an opponent. Lets watch over the next few games and see if it really is an issue.

Roughie
5 Apr 2007, 21:56
More the reason why he should be running on if he hasn't got an opponent. Lets watch over the next few games and see if it really is an issue.

Yeah I agree with you but its like you cant win with DJ. I dont think anyone in our team (bar brown whose to short) could drop in packs and be as effective as Jacobs. But the majority of the team would utelise a running and sweeping loose man more.

I think at the moment as our defence is improving and DJ's defensive help is more important he would stay there. But as our D begins to start playing good football I think we would go with a more sweeping role i.e Xavier Clarke type role.

DynamoUltra
6 Apr 2007, 09:55
What a return to competitive football from my man! After starting his career at Hawthorn under a massive cloud, Jacobs has turned things around to become on of the onfield leaders. It's safe to say that we will not see a performance like we saw against the Kangaroos a couple of years back, just like we will not see a Hawthorn performance like last Saturday ever again.

Jacobs is a vital cog in our defence, adding experience, poise and strong hands to an inexperienced back half. He has courage, smarts and skills, but sometimes he is let down by his speed and being outmuscled in one-on-one contests against bigger opponents. He may not be liked by many, but with Jacobs and Croad mentors in our backline, I believe we can start making inroads in this vitally important area.

DannyJ
14 Apr 2007, 14:27
What a return to competitive football from my man! After starting his career at Hawthorn under a massive cloud, Jacobs has turned things around to become on of the onfield leaders. It's safe to say that we will not see a performance like we saw against the Kangaroos a couple of years back, just like we will not see a Hawthorn performance like last Saturday ever again.

Jacobs is a vital cog in our defence, adding experience, poise and strong hands to an inexperienced back half. He has courage, smarts and skills, but sometimes he is let down by his speed and being outmuscled in one-on-one contests against bigger opponents. He may not be liked by many, but with Jacobs and Croad mentors in our backline, I believe we can start making inroads in this vitally important area.

Second That:thumbsu:

hawkstars
14 Apr 2007, 16:08
Me too!!!

philhawk
17 Apr 2007, 22:42
http://www.afl.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=208&newsId=41403

Jacobs beats umpire-contact charge

4 hours, 34 minutes ago | Back

Brought to you by Sam Lienert AAP

HAWTHORN defender Danny Jacobs has been cleared of a charge of making negligent contact with an umpire, with the umpire backing the player's view that no contact was made.

Umpire Dean Margetts told the AFL tribunal he was surprised Jacobs was cited at all and his initial reaction when told about the report was that there may have been a mistake.

"I said, 'I think you might have the wrong man as far as the contact goes'," Margetts told the tribunal.

Margetts said the only contact he was aware of was from Kangaroos player Daniel Wells, who knocked him off his feet during the second quarter of Sunday's match at Telstra Dome and later apologised.

Tribunal counsel Andrew Tinney said video footage indicated that earlier contact from Jacobs had pushed Margetts into Wells' path.

But Jacobs denied touching Margetts at all and the umpire also said he did not feel any contact from the Hawk.

"Initially when I was contacted they suggested player Danny Jacobs from Hawthorn was cited ... and I was a little bit surprised," he said.

Views: 1,744

Good stuff, DJ.

DynamoUltra
18 Apr 2007, 18:15
And they thought the MRP was a joke when Schwab was in charge! How can a guy be charged when he didn't even touch the umpire in question!?!?!?

illnino
26 Jun 2007, 00:06
Happy Birthday DJ!

Thank you for such a strong contribution to the Hawks since your arrival, your importance down back is priceless to our young guys. May your body hold up and your good form continue.

Happy 27th! :)

RustyHawk
6 Sep 2007, 20:02
Player Statistics - 2007 Home & Away
Round Date Vs K H P M HO T FF FA G B
Round 1 31/03/2007 Lions 22 11 33 20 0 0 2 0 0 0
Round 2 09/04/2007 Demons 5 7 12 3 0 2 1 0 0 0
Round 3 15/04/2007 Kangaroos 16 4 20 13 0 3 0 1 0 0
Round 4 22/04/2007 Cats 12 6 18 7 0 3 2 0 0 0
Round 9 26/05/2007 Eagles 12 0 12 9 0 1 0 1 1 0
Round 10 03/06/2007 Power 8 5 13 3 0 1 1 0 0 0
Round 11 09/06/2007 Swans 10 2 12 5 0 3 0 0 0 0
Round 12 15/06/2007 Blues 12 5 17 8 1 1 0 0 0 0
Round 14 07/07/2007 Crows 6 2 8 4 0 0 0 1 0 0

Danny Jacobs only played 9 games in the 2007 season before being dropped and then suffering a season ending hip injury.

GNCLongJack
28 Sep 2007, 05:34
Player Statistics - 2007 Home & Away
Round Date Vs K H P M HO T FF FA G B
Round 1 31/03/2007 Lions 22 11 33 20 0 0 2 0 0 0
Round 2 09/04/2007 Demons 5 7 12 3 0 2 1 0 0 0
Round 3 15/04/2007 Kangaroos 16 4 20 13 0 3 0 1 0 0
Round 4 22/04/2007 Cats 12 6 18 7 0 3 2 0 0 0
Round 9 26/05/2007 Eagles 12 0 12 9 0 1 0 1 1 0
Round 10 03/06/2007 Power 8 5 13 3 0 1 1 0 0 0
Round 11 09/06/2007 Swans 10 2 12 5 0 3 0 0 0 0
Round 12 15/06/2007 Blues 12 5 17 8 1 1 0 0 0 0
Round 14 07/07/2007 Crows 6 2 8 4 0 0 0 1 0 0

Danny Jacobs only played 9 games in the 2007 season before being dropped and then suffering a season ending hip injury.
Only 9 games in each of the last 2 seasons, the guy needs/deserves a break with a good run, free from injury. With Croady, he turns 28 in '08, our senior citizens along with Crawf, 34 next Sept. With the re-emergence of Zac, the ongoing development of Gilham and Birch, '08 and '09: seasons both of finals footy for HAWTHORN, it would be fantastic for these two to be both part of it. And like AC threw Gillie forward during '07, both these guys are options for that ploy. Their experience will be invaluable.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Big Ronnie
24 Dec 2007, 20:24
Big year for selecton 26 in this years draft Danny Jacobs. It's make or break time in many peoples views.

And Hawks 08 has promised to break the news on him, or make it up:)

BR:thumbsu:

Hawks 08
3 Jan 2008, 16:11
Thankyou for giving me the task to do this ;) ^^^^

RustyHawk
12 Mar 2008, 17:24
Official announcement from HFC website

Danny Jacobs announces retirement
Author:
3:45 PM Wed 12 March, 2008

HAWTHORN defender Danny Jacobs today announced his retirement after 126 games at the top level.

Jacobs has ended his 10 year AFL career due to a hip injury. He was progressing following surgery at the end of the 2007 season; however the recent setback has limited his preparation for the 2008 season and eventually leading to his decision to retire.

It’s been a tough two years for Jacobs who has had to endure eight operations in the past 36 months.

After telling the playing group of his decision this afternoon, Jacobs said he was disappointed not to have been able to play more matches for Hawthorn.

“The Club has been awesome and has supported me through everything and I couldn’t have asked for anything better, its just a little disappointing that I didn’t get to play more footy.

“It wasn’t through a lack of trying, I put myself out there it just didn’t go my way,” Jacobs said.

Jacobs, 27, arrived at the Hawks at the end of 2003 after being traded from Essendon, where he spent five years and played 81 games. Jacobs spent most of his time playing as a defender, where his courage, strong marking and ability to read the play were features of his game, but said he would like to be remembered as someone who gave it their all.

“I’d like to be known as a player who tried his best,” Jacobs said.

“I’ve had injuries since my third year of AFL and there are some people who give up and just say I can’t do it. The one thing that I’ve prided myself on is that I’ve tried everything, I’ve pushed my body to the limits, but in the end the hip got the better of me,” Jacobs said.

Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson congratulated Jacobs on his career.

“Danny has been such a big part of the footy club for the best part of the last five years,” Clarkson said.

“Unfortunately his body has let him down and it’s been tough for him to get out there and make a regular contribution to our side, but when he was fit and ready to go he was a very important part of our team.

“He has prepared himself tremendously well for life after footy and we wish him well as he tackles the next chapter of his life.”

Jacobs paid tribute to the Hawthorn Football Club and the loyal support he has received from the Hawthorn family.

The support I have received during my time at Hawthorn has been fantastic, whether its been at family day, training or when I’ve been on crutches that type of support really gets you up.

“I can’t thank the supporters and Club enough, they have been excellent.”

In retirement Jacobs has passed on his number 8 jumper for the 2008 season to third year player Xavier Ellis.

Jacobs said, “Xavier and I have been pretty close since he has come to the Club and I think he will get more games in the jumper than I did.

“I hope he has a great career and it gives me an extra interest to watch someone with the jumper I used to wear.”

To watch Danny Jacobs talk about his retirement decision log on to HawksTV - http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/44423

Danny Jacobs
Recruited from: Prahran U18/Essendon
Drafted: No.36 in 1998 AFL National Draft
AFL debut: Round 14, 1999
HFC debut: Round 1, 2004
Games: 126 (Essendon 81)
Goals: 29 (Essendon 23)

Source: for hawthornfc.com.au

Mervyn Beasley
26 Aug 2008, 14:10
Chirnside Park (BarterCard Oval) Werribee, Sat 23.08.08, 4.36pm Spotswood hit the front against Port Melbourne Colts in WRFL 2nd Semi final with 90secs remaining.
Back to the middle for bouncedown. Port win it out of the centre and drive forward. Attack thwarted by Spotswood defender who heads to the flank/wing boundary with his kick. A pack forms, but a very large (muscle not fat) Spotswood player wins the ball and is off, he just needs to get boot to ball and the game is theirs and they are in the GF, BUT NO, Danny was in the way, wraps him up, "Baaaallllll", Jacobs takes the free, precision pass down the line, Port player quickly gets the ball to the top of the square, Port mark and goal and they are in the GF for the 2nd year running.

Was there for 2 and a half quarts. Showed his class well and truly in the time I was there.

Grand final will be at same venue on Sat 6th Sept. Pretty good footy. Great venue. But more importantly worth the admission alone to hear the local Port fans do their thing:eek:
Spotswood are the likely opponent, and if they make it are going for back to back.

RustyHawk
26 Aug 2008, 14:37
Great write up Merv :thumbsu:

Go Danny!!

tats
10 Sep 2008, 11:22
Was at the final and Dannys team lost by 8 points to Spotswood. Jacobs was outstanding but his hips are ****** and it showed as the game went on.

RustyHawk
29 Sep 2008, 18:22
Jacobs hails 'Clarko' the saviour

29/09/2008 12:29 PM

Andrew Wu

Sportal

When Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson paid tribute to retired Hawks such as Joel Smith, Richie Vandenberg and Ben Dixon late last week he left one man out - Danny Jacobs.

But that did not stop the forgotten Jacobs from labelling Clarkson as the 'king' for his role in the club's rise from a 'rabble' in 2004 to the best team in the land four years later.

Jacobs pulled stumps on his career in March this year when it became apparent he was fighting a losing battle against a chronic hip injury.

So quietly has Jacobs faded into the past it's worth reminding Hawks fans that the 28-year-old is still officially on the club's list.

Jacobs was one of the 100,012 people at the MCG to see Hawthorn upset Geelong but, with more luck from the football gods, could easily have been on the other side of the fence.

As a player at Essendon, Jacobs was part of the Bombers' 2000 pre-season success but not part of the 22 in the one that mattered.

However, he managed to establish himself as a regular in Essendon's defence from that point onwards, playing 71 of the next 73 matches including the Bombers' losing 2001 Grand Final.

But salary cap restraints saw him head to Hawthorn by the start of 2004.

Encouraged by the Hawks' promising finish to 2003 when they won their final four games on the trot to finish ninth and the arrivals of seasoned defenders Trent Croad, Simon Beaumont and Jacobs, then coach Peter Schwab said the club was in premiership contention.

It would prove a grossly inaccurate call as the Hawks finished second last and Schwab did not see out the season.

In hindsight, Jacobs told Sportal, the club was a 'rabble' and Clarkson the unlikely saviour.

"When 'Clarko' came over no one ever thought he would do anything good. But he said you've got to follow my lead, and see what happened," Jacobs said.

"I'm pretty sure if you look back a few years ago he said in 2008 Hawthorn will be up there at least challenging."

"To win and flog the best team in the comp, well second best team in the comp now, it's an unbelievable effort."

If Jacobs harboured any regrets about missing out on the Hawks' success, he did a great job to hide it.

"There's some blokes who get a little selfish and think what could have been but at the same time they're your best mates," he said.

"They deserve what they got and I couldn't be happier."

"I'm just rapt for everyone."