View Full Version : 38. Travis Tuck
philhawk
9th March 2007, 18:20
According to the My Man Thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=291068), it looks like HFC082 will be one of the posters responsible for looking after Tucky for us this season.
Take it away, HFC!
Cheeseman
8th July 2007, 16:39
Have just walked back from City Oval, and for the second week in a row, Travis Tuck will be admitted to hospital for leather poisoning.
Seriously imposed himself on the game, was first to the ball more times than I could count, and showed tremendous endeavour for the entire 4 quarters.
Just for the record, Trav is clearly taller than his listed 187cm, and has really started to fill out.
Dont be surprised if he gets a spot in the seniors this week.
PS: Special mention to the other FS, Joey, who had a really solid 2nd half today. :thumbsu:
Cheeseman
29th July 2007, 22:52
Travis was solid yet unspectacular in his debut against the Kangaroos, amassing 13 disposals 4 marks and 3 tackles in limited game time.
Travis did not look out of place in the senior side, and will only be better in the future for the experience.
Well done Tucky, keep up the good work. ;)
philhawk
4th September 2007, 01:14
Been a big fan of Tuck's for a while, and I reckon it's almost fitting that we bring in the son of a player who has more finals experience in the past 25 years than a fair few clubs in the competition combined!
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22358054%255E19742,00.html
Hawk Tuck in line for recall
04 September 2007 Herald Sun
Daryl Timms and Gareth Trickey
HAWTHORN selectors could turn to youngster Travis Tuck for Saturday's elimination final against Adelaide at Telstra Dome.
A hamstring injury to Chance Bateman and Michael Osborne's potential suspension has added to the Hawks' selection woes. Xavier Ellis and Tuck, who has played just one game, are in line to be recalled.
A scan of Bateman's hamstring revealed a low-grade injury and the Hawks are hopeful he will be available, but the six-day break doesn't help.
Defender Trent Croad, who suffered concussion against Sydney at the SCG on Sunday, will have tests later this week but the Hawks are also hopeful he'll play.
rumblah
7th September 2007, 18:45
Happy 20th Tucky, hopefully you get a call up to play against Adelaide!
Big Ronnie
24th December 2007, 20:13
Pick 22 is Kirbatron who has taken the man most of us selected to be the big improver in 2008, Travis Tuck.
When told of Kirbatrons selection of young Trav the great Michael Tuck was heard to say "..
And that was it:)
BR:thumbsu:
kirbatron
9th January 2008, 15:23
Moto
When you think of Tucky think Moto, his new nickname.
I'm sure Tucky is going to have a great year and i will be making extra effort to get out to BH games to provide in depth match reports. Would be great to see him in the NAB cup and play a few games in Rds 1-3.
CharlieMitchell
11th January 2008, 15:24
Moto
When you think of Tucky think Moto, his new nickname.
I'm sure Tucky is going to have a great year and i will be making extra effort to get out to BH games to provide in depth match reports. Would be great to see him in the NAB cup and play a few games in Rds 1-3.
Run me through that nickname if you wouldnt mind Kirb.
For the record, their should be no need keep an eye on Tuck down at BHH, he wont be there, by the end of the third round he will have cemeted his place, and the only footage you will find of him will be live at Hawthorn games, or on the box for interstate trips.
kirbatron
11th January 2008, 15:36
Its kinda stupid but anyway...
My mate had Tuck (Richmond) in his Dreamteam and he wasnt doing very well so he use to call him Mothertucker.
I had a chuckle *im easily amused*
Anyway, the shortened version of Motherf**er is Mofo, hence Moto for Mothertucker.
I told you it was stupid. Maybe i'll just call him that myself lol
noosa hawk mad
7th February 2008, 18:35
Tuck ready to forge his own name
07 February 2008 Herald Sun
Daryl Timms
AFTER one AFL game in two years, Travis Tuck says he is ready to see whether he can match it with the big boys.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,1658,5877207,00.jpg Grape expectation: Travis Tuck at Tamar Ridge winery near Launceston yesterday.
Quiet and unassuming like his father Michael, who played a league-record 426 games for Hawthorn, Tuck was selected by the club under the father-son rule in the 2005 national draft.
Older brother Shane is a former Hawthorn rookie who resurrected his career with Richmond after a season with West Adelaide.
Tuck said he was proud of his father's deeds.
"You grow up with the name and you always hear stuff about your old man," Tuck said. "But it doesn't faze me too much.
"I have just got to make football in my own right and believe in myself that I am a player and not just a name.
"Shane might have struggled a bit with the name when he was at Hawthorn as a rookie."
Tuck spent his first season with Hawthorn playing for VFL affiliate Box Hill Hawks. He missed the first six games last year because of a hot spot in his foot. Shin soreness was another setback for the 20-year-old.
A left-footer, Tuck performed solidly in Box Hill's midfield last season and made his AFL debut in Round 17 against the Kangaroos.
Despite being named as an emergency several times, Tuck did not play another game.
"I'm looking forward to just getting a good start and playing some practice games and hopefully hitting it off from there because we have got a couple of blokes who are suspended and a couple of blokes, like Richard Vandenberg, Ben Dixon and Joel Smith, who have retired," Tuck said.
"It opens the door for us young blokes. I'm looking forward to getting in there with a bit of hustle and bustle and seeing whether I can cut it with the big fellows. I want to take the next step."
Tuck said he enjoyed it when his father watched him play.
"When I get home the old man will hit you between the eyes because he never sugar-coats anything," Tuck said.
"He obviously played a bit in his time and I enjoy his feedback. He never puts me down or anything like that, but he'll let me know if there was something I didn't do or if I didn't run hard enough.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/misc/progress.gif
C.O.G.
14th February 2008, 14:04
This is one bloke I am looking forward to seeing progress this year.
He has the heart and the courage and the skills to make it in the AFL.
All he needs now is the opportunity. Come on Clarko.. play the boy!
kirbatron
25th February 2008, 10:39
As my boy in 2008 I feel inclined to comment on his progress so far.
Some things I have picked up from watching Travis in his 2 NAB cup games.
Loves to run and take them on.
Doesn’t seem over-awed with playing at the highest level.
Has good skills, both hand and foot.
Will acquire better balance and decision making with more game time and experience this year.
Looks set to play around 10 games this year. Possibly more if form warrants.
Love the boy.
philhawk
25th February 2008, 10:48
This kid will be a gun. Another great game against Carlton last weekend.
kirbatron
7th April 2008, 15:53
Bump.
How well is my boy doing?
*CHEESEY GRIN*
nevillebartos
11th May 2008, 23:12
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23676207-19742,00.html
According to this article, Fay Tuck who is married to Michael Tuck and the mother of Travis and Shane, is also the sister of Gary Ablett Snr...
So, that makes Tucky the nephew of Yablett and the cousin of Gary Jnr, while also being the son of the great Michael Tuck. How the F*CK is this not mentioned more often? That's awesome news! Travis is destined for greatness! He has better blood than Cyril Rioli!
FriarTuck
12th May 2008, 07:48
The mother of Josh Kennedy is Peter Russo's sister. Good bloodlines as well.