View Full Version : 11. Clinton Young

philhawk
9 Mar 2007, 18:23
According to the My Man Thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=291068), it looks like none other than Gary Shadforth will be responsible for looking after Clinton for us this season!

Gary Shadforth
10 Mar 2007, 11:29
Some Clint action -

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d107/GaryShadforth/002YoungClinton5.jpg http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d107/GaryShadforth/b3fe30b7.jpg

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d107/GaryShadforth/002YoungClinton2debutvKangasagDrewP.jpg

philhawk
28 May 2007, 20:23
http://hawthornfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsId=44083

Commitment the key: Young

3:59:00 PM Sun 27 May, 2007 | Back

By Mic Cullen for hawthornfc.com.au

TO BEAT a champion team, you have to be fully committed yourselves. That's the message from Hawks youngster Clinton Young after his team knocked off the West Coast Eagles 15.9 (99) to 8.16 (64) at their home-away-from-home, Aurora Stadium.

"We played well for the full four quarters, I thought, especially in the third quarter when we lifted to get the winning break," he said in the jubilant Hawks rooms after the match. "It was a great team effort.

"One of our focuses every game is to pressure the opposition and hopefully they'll turn the ball over more towards our goal, so we can get a better scoring opportunity. If we pressure them in their defence, we can turn it over quicker to get a goal."

The Hawks have now won six of nine games this season and the lanky winger said the team had been doing a good job, despite a lapse in the west.

"It was disappointing to lose to Fremantle over there - we had the game by the neck – but we've been playing well. Down here, we're a really good team, we play well here. We knew if we pressured them well, we should get on top of them."

Exciting West Coast youngsters Matt Rosa and Beau Waters were the 21-year-old's opponents on the day, and he finished with 23 disposals, 11 marks and three tackles.

"I had a good tussle with Matt – we played a lot of hard man-on-man, so it was hard to get loose to get the ball. It was a good contest in the end, me and him. But they play really man-on-man, so it was hard to get free on the wing.

"Our strengths are when we have stoppages from the centre back, we run hard and we create space. Our running players really have to run hard to make space. If we run hard we create opportunities for our forwards."

Views: 2,015

rumblah
29 May 2007, 17:36
very underrated, solid player. nothing special but he gets the job done.

Cheeseman
29 May 2007, 22:32
very underrated, solid player. nothing special but he gets the job done.

I disagree mate, His penetrating left foot is very special, hits targets from long range like no other in our team currently.

kirbatron
29 May 2007, 23:00
his kicking has been all over the joint in recent weeks imo. i like the boy though, as soon as he gets a bit stronger in the body and keeps his pace he will be even more damaging

sen entertainment bloke
29 May 2007, 23:07
his kicking has been all over the joint in recent weeks imo. i like the boy though, as soon as he gets a bit stronger in the body and keeps his pace he will be even more damaging

His father had perfect raking left foot kick to position when he played for a club called Rupuanyup. The old man played in a premiership off the half back flank as a youngster. Sometimes I think Clinton kicks like his mother. Under more pressure than his old man but his old man could kick a country mile to advantage every time.

Rexcellent
13 Jul 2007, 12:55
His father had perfect raking left foot kick to position when he played for a club called Rupuanyup. The old man played in a premiership off the half back flank as a youngster. Sometimes I think Clinton kicks like his mother. Under more pressure than his old man but his old man could kick a country mile to advantage every time.

so we should pick up his father via the son-father rule?:p

Rexcellent
13 Jul 2007, 13:02
Young, and restless for success

MOST people, if they’re lucky, get to meet their sporting hero at a function or a book signing or maybe even after a sports event. But for Hawthorn’s Clinton Young, the first time he clapped his eyes on his sporting hero was on the football field.

It was round 16, 2005, and the then 19-year-old was making his AFL debut. His opponent was the player he had idolised, Glenn Archer.

“That was the most nervous I’ve ever been, to be honest,” Young confesses. “I was almost too nervous to play, I could barely concentrate.

“He really showed me where to get the ball. He got a lot of touches that day and I ended up only getting a few, but it was a good experience. After the game I remember him shaking my hand and saying congratulations on my first game and best of luck, so he looked after me in the end.”

The versatile Hawk admits to spending his debut season battling with nerves, but these days he’s a lot more comfortable on the field.

“I think I’ve relaxed and I’ve learned just to focus more and concentrate on my game. I’m more confident now. I’m not as worried if I make a mistake. I just get on to the next thing,” Young says.

But if Young’s on-field temperament has relaxed, the Hawks’ expectations have intensified. The playing group’s reaction to their loss to the Crows is confirmation of that.

“Last year when we lost, the enthusiasm was still there. But this year, because we’re winning more games, we’re more shattered and disappointed when we lose, which is a good thing. The whole team’s standards have gone up. We’ve played well against the good sides, and that’s why it was so disappointing to lose to Adelaide.”

One thing Young always looks forward to, regardless of the match result, is the after-match visit from his 14-year-old brother, Lachlan.

Lachlan, who has Down's syndrome, is a popular figure around the club.

“He comes into the rooms after and he certainly livens up the place. He’s always done that, even at my old country football club. It’s great to see blokes like Shane Crawford and Sam Mitchell, when he walks in they all love him as well, so it’s a big thrill for Lachlan. I’m really proud seeing him enjoy that.”

For this reason the club supports two charities close to Young’s heart: the Mallee Accommodation Support Program (MASP), which helps disadvantaged, disabled and homeless youth within the Mallee community, and the Wimmera Parent Support Network, which supports families with disabled children who live in rural and isolated areas.

“It’s great that we can pick the charities we support. It means a lot to me that the club is behind it,” Young says.

The youthful Hawk seems to be immersed in the Hawthorn Football Club. He lives with teammate Matt Little, just around the corner from Grant Birchall. “The majority of my friends are from the club,” Young says. “There’s a good atmosphere around the club with all the young guys.”

The 21-year-old reckons he is the real home-maker in the household.

“We try and share the house duties, which we’re pretty reluctant to do. I think I’m better at it, though, because Matt goes home often, so I’m left keeping the house. He’ll be pretty shattered to hear that though,” Young says with a laugh.

Young says that, more than anything, he and his housemate – and indeed the wider playing group – want to play football in September this year.

“It would be amazing. I’ve never played in finals, but then neither have players like Luke Hodge and Sam Mitchell, so it would be a new experience for the majority of our list. We’ve got a great opportunity to do it. We’re not there yet, but if we keep on improving it’s possible.”

http://hawthornfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsId=47066

Rexcellent
13 Jul 2007, 14:19
Young, and restless for success

One thing Young always looks forward to, regardless of the match result, is the after-match visit from his 14-year-old brother, Lachlan.

Lachlan, who has Down's syndrome, is a popular figure around the club.

“He comes into the rooms after and he certainly livens up the place. He’s always done that, even at my old country football club. It’s great to see blokes like Shane Crawford and Sam Mitchell, when he walks in they all love him as well, so it’s a big thrill for Lachlan. I’m really proud seeing him enjoy that.”

For this reason the club supports two charities close to Young’s heart: the Mallee Accommodation Support Program (MASP), which helps disadvantaged, disabled and homeless youth within the Mallee community, and the Wimmera Parent Support Network, which supports families with disabled children who live in rural and isolated areas.

“It’s great that we can pick the charities we support. It means a lot to me that the club is behind it,” Young says.

great to hear, top effort by the club

Gary Shadforth
13 Jul 2007, 20:59
Rexie, thanks for posting that story, a very touching one.

Young Lachlan would be very much a part of the family club

Roughie
14 Jul 2007, 17:17
Great find Rexcellent. Great stuff by the club!

Rexcellent
15 Jul 2007, 01:13
do you think it should be put on the main board?, just wasn't sure if everyone visits Hawk eye, if not i think its a good different story to those on the main board, good insight...

philhawk
20 Aug 2007, 15:14
http://hawthornfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsId=49387

Let’s bounce back: Young
11:24 AM Mon 20 August, 2007 | Back
By Ben Broad
for hawthornfc.com.au
Hawks undone in last-minute Tassie thriller
Sun, Aug 19, 07
Loss ‘just a home and away game’: Clarkson
Sun, Aug 19, 07
EMERGING midfielder Clinton Young says Hawthorn won’t be focusing too closely on the outcome of the next fortnight, despite remaining in the race to secure a double chance.
The Hawks face a huge match with the Western Bulldogs this week before finishing their home and away campaign against the Sydney Swans at the SCG.

Two wins could see them finish inside the top four but, speaking after his side’s heart-breaking five-point loss to Port Adelaide on Sunday, Young said returning to the winner’s list was the club’s biggest priority.

“We’re not particularly worried about what happens after the next two weeks,” Young said.

“We just want to worry about the next two weeks, and we’re looking forward to winning those two games.

“Whatever happens after that, and where we finish, we’ll work it out after that.

“At the moment we’ll look at this game [against Port] and see how we lost it, and then we’ll hopefully bounce back in a big way next week against the Bulldogs.”

Young did all he could to help the Hawks get across the line against the Power, which stole the match 12.15 (87) to 12.10 (82) with two goals in the final minute.

The athletic 21-year-old gathered 25 disposals and sent the ball inside 50m on seven occasions.

He also kicked a goal to extend Hawthorn’s lead in the final term and at that stage, it looked as though the brown and gold would be celebrating another win at their Tasmanian home.

But to Young and his teammates’ despair, it was not to be.

“Port Adelaide pushed again and we let it slip,” Young said.“We had our chances to seal it late in the game but we missed it.

“It was probably experience and mental. We relaxed that last five minutes when we should have still been pressing to finish it off.”

Echoing what his coach, Alastair Clarkson, said after the match, Young believes the game might benefit the Hawks further down their developmental track.

“I think you’ve got to learn the hard way, and that’s what we’ve done today,” he said.

“We won’t be letting slip chances like that again, once we get in those winning positions in the last five minutes of a game.”

RustyHawk
18 Sep 2007, 20:36
Finals debut a dream for Young
10:59 AM Sun 9 September, 2007 | Back

By Jason Phelan

Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

News
BEING part of a winning finals side is every young footballer’s dream and Clinton Young got to experience it first-hand in the most dramatic fashion on Saturday.

“It was the most amazing win I’ve been a part of, the atmosphere was awesome,” Young said after Lance Franklin’s goal from outside 50 had sealed the three-point win against the Crows at Telstra Dome.

“It was the greatest footy moment of my life so far. To play a finals game, my first one, and have a win against the odds too I guess; Adelaide is a really good finals team and it was great to come away with the win.”

Young watched Franklin’s shot sail through the middle out on the wing where he had positioned himself in case the Crows brought the ball back into play, but he needn’t have bothered.

“He’s a freak of a man, so I wasn’t in any doubt,” he said. “It didn’t shock me at all that he put it through.”

The 21-year-old played an integral part in the win with 22 possessions, nine marks and a brilliant check-side goal on the run in the tense final term.

“I pretty much knew it was going through after I kicked it,” he said of the superb effort from tight on the boundary line. “So it was good to kick a goal in that last quarter and it was nice to be able to contribute.

“It was a typical finals game, they’re always close, and we really had to play four quarters to win. We thought we had it there with a couple of minutes to go, but we didn’t quite close the deal.

“We were in front and then we almost lost it but it was good to get the win and move on to next week now.”

The result looked unlikely a week ago after the Swans had dispatched the Hawks to the tune of 72 points.

“Yeah, Sydney touched us up, but we really didn’t review that game too much,” Young said.

“We sort of put it away and moved on. All week it was about preparing for the Crows and to get ourselves mentally up and I think that’s what we did.”

There will be precious little time to savour the heart-stopping win with Hawthorn to play the loser of the Geelong-Kangaroos qualifying final next weekend.

Young wasn’t about to make any bold predictions about the Hawks’ ability to progress even further into September, but he didn’t impose any restrictions either.

“We’re a younger team and we know that when we play our best footy, we can play against the best,” he said.

“Who knows if we can keep playing like that with our young group? We’ll go as far as we can.”

Big Ronnie
24 Dec 2007, 20:25
Selection 27 Clinton Young is owned by Gary Shadforth.

He really is,nuff said

BR:thumbsu:

Gary Shadforth
27 Dec 2007, 08:11

Thanks, BR. Sincerely appreciated. And to HFC82 for his consideration.

flyby hawk
9 Jan 2008, 15:16
Go Clinton

Glad you are carrying No. 11 this year - well done

Have a great year

noosa hawk mad
7 Feb 2008, 18:48
C Young Talks Hawks TV!!
http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/43200
Gary's man talks about pre-season,training sessions & expectations for 2008!!

kevieyang
2 Apr 2008, 09:39
My company has mentioned some involvement with Clinton Young last night due to the sponsorship. Young has an interest in working in IT after his playing career so he will be around each Wednesday for the next 10 weeks getting a feel of what we do.

He's going to be at different client sites so don't know if I'll see him at all.

noosa hawk mad
25 Apr 2008, 08:54
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4...x?newsid=58429 (http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsid=58429)

Six of the best

Author: Catherine Murphy 5:30 PM Wed 23 April, 2008
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20F-J/Clint_Young_R508_b.jpg
Clinton Young is having to deal with the excitement being created by the Hawks

HAWTHORN’S Clinton Young grew up in a house of boys. Six to be exact. According to him, growing up with five brothers has its advantages. The 22-year-old, who comes third in the Young clan pecking order, always had playing partners, be it for footy or cricket.

“There was always plenty of sport being played in the back garden,” he says.

“Every day when school would finish, my brothers would go for a kick during winter and then in summer we’d play cricket. Instead of having to annoy friends to go have a kick, I had that at home whenever I felt like it.”

But there are disadvantages to being raised in such a testosterone fuelled environment like, for example, a lack of opportunity to learn how to deal with the fairer sex. Young, though, has a close friend he can consult on such issues.

Club skipper Sam Mitchell grew up in a house of girls and is much better versed on the opposite sex. Young admits that their contrasting upbringings makes him a bit "laddish" and Mitchell more of a “ladies’ man”.

“He has plenty of advice to give me on that,” Young laughs.

In fact, the midfielder is constantly surrounded by Hawks’ influences. He moved in with teammate Grant Birchall over the Christmas break and while things are working out well on the domestic front, he admits that the pair’s different dietary requirements is causing Birchall some problems.

“Our eating habits are quite different. I’m trying to eat more while he’s trying to eat less. So when he sees me eating a lot, he’s finding it hard to stop eating as well. I get a bigger portion but they end up pretty similar in the end because he enjoys his food,” he laughs.

One thing that the pair do agree on is TV viewing. Both are big fans of various footy programs and are always watching when teammate Shane Crawford makes an appearance on ‘The Footy Show’.

“It’s enjoyable to watch Shane on there. He's a bit of a larrikin and he plays it up on the show. It’s weird watching him and then seeing him at training the next morning though.”

While the various footy broadcasts provide light entertainment, the boys are now faced with a barrage of hype regarding their side. The Hawks, undefeated after five rounds, are being touted as the main challenger to Geelong. In fact the clubs' round 17 clash has already been earmarked by footy analysts as the match of the year.

“When all of the media is pumping you up it’s hard to ignore it but you’ve got to stay level-headed and concentrate on what you’re doing", says Young.

"That’s just people’s opinion but we haven’t played them yet. It’s obviously a long season. We’ve got a lot of other teams to play before we play them. Hopefully we keep to the same form and … are the team that can challenge them.”

In career best form is Dasher really stepping up in 2008! :thumbsu:

scottyD
7 Sep 2008, 01:13
I come from the same area as Youngy. Know his brother Lachie. Always at the local footy, having a kick.
Great to see.

Great player to watch always. As stated before, he gets the job done.

Go Youngy.

RustyHawk
23 Sep 2008, 18:02
2008 Brownlow Medal votes: 3