View Full Version : Pubs in Phuket that Televise AFL?

bluegal1983
10th March 2007, 21:31
Hi guys

As mentioned in other threads, I am off to Phuket tomorrow and won't be back for next weeks game :(

Does anybody who has been to Phuket know of a place that will televise the game?

PLEASE!!! ANY HELP WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!!! :)

Gilly1972
12th March 2007, 10:44
:D :D :D :D :D

Apparently there is one called Kno Kan Doo

:p :D

Djibril Cisse
12th March 2007, 17:03

Apparently (though I already knew it)... you are a muppet

Gilly1972
12th March 2007, 19:20
Apparently (though I already knew it)... you are a muppet

I'm a muppet??

Whicha one?

HBF
12th March 2007, 19:39

Oh beautiful Gilly.
Can you imagine what BG is doing right now. Instead on making use of the time and going to the beach, or relaxing in the pool, she'll be frantically searching for a pub that will be televising the game.

Gilly1972
12th March 2007, 19:42
Poor BG, she hasn't missed a game in 65 years apparently
:D

HBF
12th March 2007, 20:15

Er, i'm pretty sure it's longer than that. :p

hong_kong_bond
12th March 2007, 20:15
Hi guys

As mentioned in other threads, I am off to Phuket tomorrow and won't be back for next weeks game :(

Does anybody who has been to Phuket know of a place that will televise the game?

PLEASE!!! ANY HELP WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!!! :)
plenty of pubs along the main drag of Phuket (Patong Rd) that televise sports from all over the globe... I watched the grand final there last year with heaps of the Carlton boys who were there on their end of season trip...great day!!

the Australia Network has the rights for the AFL across South-East Asia, but I don't think they're showing the pre-season comp this year unfortunately... hasn't been on in HK so far anyway - they're going with the Super 14s instead...

Most of the bars do have illegal satellite set-up though, and will probably be able to pick up the transmission of one of the South African cable channels... Most places will have a board up out front anyway advertising what they'll be showing in the coming days...I'm sure you'll be able to find plenty of bars to choose from...

Enjoy your holiday!

Gilly1972
12th March 2007, 20:49
plenty of pubs along the main drag of Phuket (Patong Rd) that televise sports from all over the globe... I watched the grand final there last year with heaps of the Carlton boys who were there on their end of season trip...great day!!

the Australia Network has the rights for the AFL across South-East Asia, but I don't think they're showing the pre-season comp this year unfortunately... hasn't been on in HK so far anyway - they're going with the Super 14s instead...

Most of the bars do have illegal satellite set-up though, and will probably be able to pick up the transmission of one of the South African cable channels... Most places will have a board up out front anyway advertising what they'll be showing in the coming days...I'm sure you'll be able to find plenty of bars to choose from...

Enjoy your holiday!

Where do you hang out in HK mate? Lang Kwai Fong is ok, but too many bloody brits. I enjoyed soho. Actually there is a cool little bar in LKF, i am trying to remember the name of it. The little hostess is a doll. I will think about it and tell you the name when i remember. :thumbsu:

hong_kong_bond
12th March 2007, 21:09
LKF is ok - depends on what you're looking for on a night out....if you're out for a big one with the boys its pretty good.
also there's a couple of pubs there that are great for Friday Night Footy after work!

Soho is great too - bit more relaxed atmosphere, great restaurants & good bar scene.

Wan Chai is also an interesting place - but I rarely go there now...did when I first arrived in HK.

You've obviously been up here a bit in the past?

HBF
12th March 2007, 21:16
How long have you been in Honkers for Bondy?

Gilly1972
12th March 2007, 21:38
LKF is ok - depends on what you're looking for on a night out....if you're out for a big one with the boys its pretty good.
also there's a couple of pubs there that are great for Friday Night Footy after work!

Soho is great too - bit more relaxed atmosphere, great restaurants & good bar scene.

Wan Chai is also an interesting place - but I rarely go there now...did when I first arrived in HK.

You've obviously been up here a bit in the past?

Only 6 days last year mate, but i fell in love with the place......can't think of the name of that bar for the life of me, it will come to me. Thinking of coming back for a couple of nights in late May.

hong_kong_bond
13th March 2007, 15:47
How long have you been in Honkers for Bondy?
2.5 years now...
only been able to see the blues play in person twice since coming up here...

One of the things I miss most is the MCG on a Saturday afternoon with 80,000 people there...cheering on a Blues victory!

hong_kong_bond
13th March 2007, 15:53
Only 6 days last year mate, but i fell in love with the place......can't think of the name of that bar for the life of me, it will come to me. Thinking of coming back for a couple of nights in late May.
Volar, Insomnia, Bar George, Al's Diner, Post-97, Stormie's, Cavern, La Bodega, Finds, Le Jardine, Agave, Dragon-I, Fong, La Dolce Vita, Lux, Sugar, Gecko....

any of these ring a bell?

Gilly1972
13th March 2007, 16:20
Volar, Insomnia, Bar George, Al's Diner, Post-97, Stormie's, Cavern, La Bodega, Finds, Le Jardine, Agave, Dragon-I, Fong, La Dolce Vita, Lux, Sugar, Gecko....

any of these ring a bell?

Hah, i remember insomnia, that's where i used to meet a friend I made over there.....such a cutie too. It was down the road from insomnia, off a side-street on the left as you are heading downhill. it is halfway up a small dead-end street, Sugar rings a bell, it was a one word name like that. They just had their 12 month anniversary when i was there. The hostesses name was Thista or something like that. Really friendly Nepalese girl.

bluegal1983
14th March 2007, 01:42
Oh beautiful Gilly.
Can you imagine what BG is doing right now. Instead on making use of the time and going to the beach, or relaxing in the pool, she'll be frantically searching for a pub that will be televising the game.

Ummm no :rolleyes:

19 years. And yes it is slowly killing me knowing that the record is now down the drain :(

Enjoy your holiday!

Cheers mate :thumbsu:

There are PLENTY of them and if worse comes to worse, I have a laptop and wireless broadband in my room so I will be able to listen to it live on SEN, sitting by the pool, with a cocktail, wearing my Navy Blue!!!

GO BAGGERS!!!

Djibril Cisse
14th March 2007, 11:09
Gilly's an even bigger muppet now.

Gilly1972
14th March 2007, 11:52
Gilly's an even bigger muppet now.

http://img.epinions.com/images/opti/1a/0b/pr-Toys-Palisades_Muppets_Series_6_Waldorf-resized200.jpg

Thanks Jarrod :p

Gilly1972
14th March 2007, 11:56
BG - Maybe Kno Kan Doo televises Muppet Sports ?

http://www.urbanhonking.com/regarding/archives/muppets.jpg

Djibril Cisse
14th March 2007, 14:36
http://img.epinions.com/images/opti/1a/0b/pr-Toys-Palisades_Muppets_Series_6_Waldorf-resized200.jpg

Thanks Jarrod :p

Interesting, why do you insist on calling me Jarrod? There's a reason why I defend him and Jordan, and no, it's not because I am Jarrod...

You really are a muppet Gilly

Gilly1972
14th March 2007, 14:49
Interesting, why do you insist on calling me Jarrod? There's a reason why I defend him and Jordan, and no, it's not because I am Jarrod...

You really are a muppet Gilly

So you keep saying, but which one?

Djibril Cisse
14th March 2007, 15:54
Any muppet, you muppet..

You're an absolute fool

Sublime
14th March 2007, 16:09
Cheers mate :thumbsu:

There are PLENTY of them and if worse comes to worse, I have a laptop and wireless broadband in my room so I will be able to listen to it live on SEN, sitting by the pool, with a cocktail, wearing my Navy Blue!!!

GO BAGGERS!!!

You have a pool and cocktail bar in your room?!?! POSHIE! ;)

Gilly1972
14th March 2007, 16:11
Any muppet, you muppet..

You're an absolute fool
:D :D :D

bluegal1983
14th March 2007, 20:58
You have a pool and cocktail bar in your room?!?! POSHIE! ;)

Just outside the sliding door I do :D

AndyWalkersGirl
15th March 2007, 10:27
Just outside the sliding door I do :D

Good girl BG!!! :)

hahah bathers and a carlton top... i like it :thumbsu:

So technically, you're not missing a game now.

If you go to the afl website, there is usally a game live link, where you can watch the play (not the actually game, but dots bobbing around) and it has the stats and scoreboard changes, and top 5 and goals and all that jazz. I normally have that open in one window, with the radio commentary in the backgroud.

bluegal1983
15th March 2007, 12:01
Good girl BG!!! :)

hahah bathers and a carlton top... i like it :thumbsu:

So technically, you're not missing a game now.

If you go to the afl website, there is usally a game live link, where you can watch the play (not the actually game, but dots bobbing around) and it has the stats and scoreboard changes, and top 5 and goals and all that jazz. I normally have that open in one window, with the radio commentary in the backgroud.

Thanks for the tip AWG. :)

I am hopeful of being able to watch it. Everybody I have spoken to about it said that I should be able to watch it but it's always good to have SEN as my backup plan.

HBF and Gilly - you boys better be cheering for me on Saturday night as well!!!

GO BLUES!!! :thumbsu:

Djibril Cisse
16th March 2007, 21:38
Gilly will be too busy having sex with his stuffed Muppet toys

What a muppet Gilly is