View Full Version : There will not be a season.
13th March 2007, 01:07
We all need to seriously contemplate a non season for 2007, it has not happened yet, perhaps rain will prove me wrong. What are we going to do if such a disaster were to occur? Will clubs fold because of this? Positives? A year off could give the new diamond valley hierarchy the time they need to get sorted. What about the players?
Edit: Season goes ahead. I was wrong.
A Living God
13th March 2007, 14:08
We all need to seriously contemplate a non season for 2007, it has not happened yet, perhaps rain will prove me wrong. What are we going to do if such a disaster were to occur? Will clubs fold because of this? Positives? A year off could give the new diamond valley hierarchy the time they need to get sorted. What about the players?
The season will go ahead, it will start on may 5th. There is no way it will be canceled.
Jimmy Gwilt
14th March 2007, 11:25
good point mate - such a disaster could happen but lets hope not
Hoggy
14th March 2007, 11:36
Why would clubs fold?
bibi01
14th March 2007, 12:12
good chance the season won't go ahead
even if we get rain, a lot of the grounds will just turn to mud when the rain comes
the decision to go ahead or not is not entirely the decision of DVFL, the councils will play a big part in the decision as they own most of the grounds and are financially responsible for the upkeep of the grounds
and lest not mention insurance.
not sure clubs will fold, if anything it will make 2008 season a great season as it allows players to recover from injuries, missing a season may give players the hunger to play footy again.
just on a side note, if 2007 does not go ahead it may be a good chance for dvfl to start planning for a dvfl with 3 divisions.
Giveyathemail
14th March 2007, 12:46
Im as convinced, now more than ever that we wont play in 2007.
Have seen 6-10 of the grounds in the last 2 weeks and they are rooted...
It will take a week of solid rain, plus regular downfalls to soften the grounds and replenish the surfaces.
matchwinner
14th March 2007, 13:13
Would be very disappointing if that was the case. Footy clubs are such a big part of your life! Not only do you share the highs and lows from week to week with a bunch of blokes who become your closest mates, but for 6 months of the year, these blokes also become a big part of your social life. Would certainly be a big hole to fill if the season doesn't go ahead.
Does anyone know how many grounds would be considered playable at present??? I know our surface (Lower) is top notch, but down the hill, Mont is not looking real good at all!
devil's advocte
14th March 2007, 14:17
Problem is that the grounds that are good such as lower will now need to be used by other teams such as mont for home games and lower will have no say in it as it is council property.
Thats ok for mont as they wont have to move too far for a game and it shouldnt effect income. What about other teams? will Heidelberg be forced to have north heidelberg share the ground? will it just be cheaper for north to say we pull out of the competition for 2007 as it is not viable when we pay $7000 a game and no way to recoup the costs with out the home games?
looker
14th March 2007, 14:19
Stuff the footy week in week out.
It the NO End -of -season trip i'm concerned about!!!!!!!:(
Hoggy
14th March 2007, 15:45
From what I have seen/heard...
Great to play on - considering the drought
Heidelberg
Epping
Northcote Park (assuming given district cricket is played here)
Hurstbridge
Wallan (so I've heard, own water system apparently)
Kinglake (same as Wallan)
Lower Plenty
South Morang
Watsonia
Playable, but not great
Diamond Creek
Eltham (Plenty)
Mernda
Unplayable
Montmorency
Panton Hill
Unknown
Greensborough
Bundoora
West Preston-Lakeside
North Heidelberg
Fawkner Park (would be assuming it would be terrible though)
Whittlesea
Macleod (same as Fawkner Park)
Reservoir
Parkside (no idea where it is)
Thomastown
Lalor
Heidelberg West
Anyone else care to add where the other grounds would be categorised.
There are also the grounds of juniors clubs that could be used in case of emergency, the one's capable for senior football would be Anthony Beale Reserve (Greensborough Juniors), Keon Park Stars (although this would probably be ****ed), Redleap Reserve (Mill Park), West Lalor and Yarrambat.
Fatboy35
14th March 2007, 21:54
Hoggy, I think you got the grounds almost spot on. The worry is we need 13 grounds each week to play and those same grounds will be used week in week out. With the council money that has gone into Lower, Watsonia, Hurstbridge there is no way the councils will allow these grounds to be used each week and have a chance to become ruined.
What about the other senior games, I think the reserves and under 19's comps will have to merge, just to reduce traffic on grounds, then you have grass won't grow after April so even if it does the rain the traffic will turn the grounds to mud and then we will probably get kicked off.
Then you add DVFL clubs won't get control of their league until 30 April, the very next day, Stage 4 water ristrictions are almost certain to come and we expect that four days later we will be playing?
Pheonix20
15th March 2007, 08:18
Unknown
Greensborough
Bundoora
West Preston-Lakeside
North Heidelberg
Whittlesea
Reservoir
Thomastown
Lalor
Heidelberg West
Bundoora is a desert!
Dv_Worm
15th March 2007, 19:54
DVFL will kick off on the set date, even if the grounds are going to be shared between clubs
Rubix
16th March 2007, 10:26
Unknown
Greensborough
Bundoora
West Preston-Lakeside
North Heidelberg
Whittlesea
Reservoir
Thomastown
Lalor
Heidelberg West
Bundoora is a desert!
Lalor, Thomastown, Reservoir & Bundoora are all similar, with only patches of grass and extremely hard under foot.
WPL although is still fairly firm under foot it has reasonable grass coverage which is better than it has been in previous years. It has been in alot worse condition (2003 in particular) than it is at the present time. There for it would definately be in the playable yet not terrific catergory
And you would have to imagine that the Show Grounds would have to be in as good a nick as Epping if not better seeing they are in the same council,
epping pingers
19th March 2007, 13:00
i think the season will go ahead but it will be bad for the guys playing 2nd year 17's as its probably there last chance to get noticed by scouts if the season doesnt go ahead.
Hoggy
19th March 2007, 13:31
Any good U17s would already be playing for the Knights.
epping pingers
21st March 2007, 17:29
no mate, thats the dumbest thing iv heard.
alot of players have there breakout years in 17's.
and there are players who have been scouted before but got rejected for knights, but then this is another year to show scouts there worth getting picked.
Hoggy
21st March 2007, 21:13
Any 17s that will get drafted have already been scouted.
blackjack44
21st March 2007, 21:43
if your not in the TAC system, your going to find it very very hard to get drafted.
Trotta
23rd March 2007, 08:18
If put in the position of not being able to footy locally, are there blokes willing to play in Bush footy?
I'm from a country club and we've got water and a ground that sounds like its in better nic than Eltham/Greensborough way. If it looks like footy might be off for a year blokes are more than welcome to come up here (Benalla) and play. Club can pay travel etc
21st April 2007, 21:52
Correction: There will be a season.:D
giantroo
22nd April 2007, 10:28
Heidelberg
Epping
Hurstbridge
Lower Plenty
South Morang
Watsonia
Playable, but not great
Diamond Creek
Eltham (Plenty)
Mernda
Unplayable
Montmorency
Panton Hill
Unknown
Greensborough
Bundoora
West Preston-Lakeside
North Heidelberg
Whittlesea
Reservoir
Thomastown
Lalor
Heidelberg West
There are also the grounds of juniors clubs that could be used in case of emergency, the one's capable for senior football would be Anthony Beale Reserve (Greensborough Juniors), Keon Park Stars (although this would probably be ****ed), Redleap Reserve (Mill Park), West Lalor and Yarrambat.
Lalor Bloods or Stars? Which one is it?
kennysGo
22nd April 2007, 10:37
Heidelberg
Epping
Hurstbridge
Lower Plenty
South Morang
Watsonia
Playable, but not great
Diamond Creek
Eltham (Plenty)
Mernda
Unplayable
Montmorency
Panton Hill
Unknown
Greensborough
Bundoora
West Preston-Lakeside
North Heidelberg
Whittlesea
Reservoir
Thomastown
Lalor
Heidelberg West
Whittlesea is OK
Wallan a bit patchy but OK (Has its own boreno problem for water).