View Full Version : The Squad vs The Hawks

Merv
15 Mar 2007, 10:17
http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5061

Final pre-season hit out for Bombers

Thursday, 15 March 2007
Essendon play its final match of the pre-season series this weekend when it meets Hawthorn at Casey Fields on Saturday afternoon. Kicking off at 2pm, Casey Fields in the home of the Casey Scorpions and can be found at 160 Berwick-Cranbourne Rd, Cranbourne East (Melways Map 134 D7). And while you are at Casey Fields, watch some of the younger Essendon players in action as the Bendigo Bombers play against the Coburg Tigers in a practice match after the seniors game, starting at approximately 4:45pm.

The Essendon squad is:
M Johnson – 1
R Dyson – 2
S Gumbleton – 3
J Watson – 4
J Hird – 5
A Monfries – 6
L Jetta – 7
J Winderlich – 8
M McVeigh – 10
D Peverill – 11
C Dempsey – 15
K Bradley – 16
M Lloyd – 18
D Hille – 19
H Slattery – 20
C Johns – 21
M Michael – 22
M Bolton – 23
B Stanton – 24
S Lucas – 25
C Heffernan – 26
J Laycock – 27
A Davey – 29
P Ryder – 30
D Fletcher – 31
A McPhee – 33
N Lovett-Murray – 42
B Houli – 43

Hawthorn Squad
2. Jarryd Roughead,
3. Jordan Lewis,
5. Sam Mitchell,
6. Mark Williams,
8. Danny Jacobs,
9. Shane Crawford,
10. Chance Bateman,
12. Brad Sewell,
13. Simon Taylor,
14. Grant Birchall,
15. Luke Hodge,
17. Beau Muston,
18. Brent Guerra,
19. Ben Dixon,
20. Tim Boyle,
21. Richie Vandenberg,
22. Ben McGlynn,
23. Lance Franklin,
24. Trent Croad,
25. Tim Clarke,
26. Zac Dawson,
27. Stephen Gilham,
28. Matthew Little,
29. Tom Murphy,
30. Campbell Brown,
32. Xavier Ellis,
39. Robert Campbell,
45. Clinton Young.

Smokin
15 Mar 2007, 11:31
Strong side. Only best 22 missing are Lovett and JJ.

I assume Lovett is just being rested after a fairly big pre-season thus far for him?

For round 1, Lovett comes in, meaning 7 of those will miss.

Id say: Gumby, Dempsey, Slats, Bolton for sure, and the remaining three between:

Houli, Jetta, Bradley, Heff, Pev, Ryder, Dyson.

Bendigo should be pretty competitive.

donsman4eva
15 Mar 2007, 12:33
Welsh is also missing and he will be in for Round 1.

Bigdon
15 Mar 2007, 13:21
cant wait for this weekend, im making the lon 1 hour drive down, should be good to see the bombers in action

C4[2]Yo`DooR
15 Mar 2007, 13:37
Im taking the mrs to go see her Bombers...

hope its a good game

Smokin_Joe
15 Mar 2007, 13:41
Yo`DooR;6947317']Im taking the mrs to go see her Bombers...

hope its a good game

Your a smart man for choosing a bomber lady :thumbsu:

C4[2]Yo`DooR
15 Mar 2007, 13:43
Your a smart man for choosing a bomber lady :thumbsu:
Im doing my bit to keep the peace ;)

Straight from there we're off to Telstra Dome !!!

Merv
15 Mar 2007, 14:06
Welsh is also missing and he will be in for Round 1.

OH god i hope not...but i would say he will be.

donsman4eva
15 Mar 2007, 14:24
OH god i hope not...but i would say he will be.

please, let's not start another Welsh arguement. Let's just say everyone is entitled to his/her opinion and lets keep it at that.

Mighty Reds
15 Mar 2007, 14:45
Just curious, has Andrew Lee played in any of the practice matches?.

NGHAWK
15 Mar 2007, 15:16
Hawthorn: 2. Jarryd Roughead, 3. Jordan Lewis, 5. Sam Mitchell, 6. Mark Williams, 8. Danny Jacobs, 9. Shane Crawford, 10. Chance Bateman, 12. Brad Sewell, 13. Simon Taylor, 14. Grant Birchall, 15. Luke Hodge, 17. Beau Muston, 18. Brent Guerra, 19. Ben Dixon, 20. Tim Boyle, 21. Richie Vandenberg, 22. Ben McGlynn, 23. Lance Franklin, 24. Trent Croad, 25. Tim Clarke, 26. Zac Dawson, 27. Stephen Gilham, 28. Matthew Little, 29. Tom Murphy, 30. Campbell Brown, 32. Xavier Ellis, 39. Robert Campbell, 45. Clinton Young.

Be afraid, be very afraid!

DaSawx
15 Mar 2007, 15:26
26. Zac Dawson

oh we are :eek:

kelvin_sheedy
15 Mar 2007, 15:29
Here's hoping for a win and standout games from the following :

Winderlich
Dyson
Monfries
Davey
Mcphee
Slaterry
Johns
Lloyd

NGHAWK
15 Mar 2007, 15:33
oh we are :eek:
If you're refering to our backline, i'd be a little more afraid of Croad, Jacobs and Gilham if i were you.:rolleyes:

DaSawx
15 Mar 2007, 15:37
If you're refering to our backline, i'd be a little more afraid of Croad, Jacobs and Gilham if i were you.:rolleyes:

good luck, should be a good match, not unlike last year we've been kicking some decent scores the last couple of weeks, the midfield should decide the outcome

hulld
15 Mar 2007, 15:39
it will an achievement for slats if he manages to give away less than 3 free kicks.

go_the_bombers
15 Mar 2007, 15:52
Just curious, has Andrew Lee played in any of the practice matches?.

No he hasnt

dave_27
15 Mar 2007, 16:11
Has Lloyd been introduced to Zac Dawson yet? ;)

Wahooti Fandango
15 Mar 2007, 16:42
Andrew Lee has had a fairly interrupted preseason, which is I guess why he hasn't played any games as of yet. I would include Slattery in the Don's best 22, but probably on the bench. On that note I reckon the backline should be McVeigh, Michael, Welsh, McPhee, Fletcher, Lovett-Murray. What do other people think the backline should be for the season proper?

Crave
15 Mar 2007, 18:45

Winderlich
Dyson
Monfries
Davey
Mcphee
Slaterry
Johns
Lloyd

Might want to add Laycock into that mix also.

hulld
15 Mar 2007, 19:17
Andrew Lee has had a fairly interrupted preseason, which is I guess why he hasn't played any games as of yet. I would include Slattery in the Don's best 22, but probably on the bench. On that note I reckon the backline should be McVeigh, Michael, Welsh, McPhee, Fletcher, Lovett-Murray. What do other people think the backline should be for the season proper?

exactly those six
keep kepler out of it
and give slats some quality game time for bendigo. he isn't ready yet

Wahooti Fandango
15 Mar 2007, 19:37
exactly those six
keep kepler out of it
and give slats some quality game time for bendigo. he isn't ready yet

Do you mean that he is physically not ready or that he is just lacking experience and game time?

go team
15 Mar 2007, 19:44
wonder if dermie will be in the rooms at half time...

gillyrulz
16 Mar 2007, 10:30
good team........ good mix of young and experience players..... should role the hawks

Not a Wellman
16 Mar 2007, 11:10
I just hope somebody not important to round one smacks Crawford, he is a joke on the footy show and just isn't funny.

FatBoy's Wombats
16 Mar 2007, 12:12
Croad might get Matty L (please god please), Gilham on Lucas. Why I am relly in here is to ask you guys if you think Jetta will play round 1 (Yes DT and SC). Watch his video before the draft. Massive talent, I kind of wish he was in our stables. Reminds me of McLeod, balance, disposal, pace.

Smokin_Joe
16 Mar 2007, 12:17

Winderlich
Dyson
Monfries
Davey
Mcphee
Slaterry
Johns
Lloyd

Big Mal would like a good game i think and also Chook.

Merv
16 Mar 2007, 12:49
Croad might get Matty L (please god please), Gilham on Lucas. Why I am relly in here is to ask you guys if you think Jetta will play round 1 (Yes DT and SC). Watch his video before the draft. Massive talent, I kind of wish he was in our stables. Reminds me of McLeod, balance, disposal, pace.

He MIGHT get a game round 1, but i wouldn't put him in MY SC or DT team, as he doesn't get very much of the ball......YET

C4[2]Yo`DooR
16 Mar 2007, 13:36
Houli will only be playing half a game.

kelvin_sheedy
16 Mar 2007, 14:00
Might want to add Laycock into that mix also.

Yep, Laycock. Time for him to step up.

hulld
16 Mar 2007, 17:48
Do you mean that he is physically not ready or that he is just lacking experience and game time?

slats is as tough as nails but he isn't ready yet for regular senior footy. i think that he will be a very good player for us in the years to come, but he isn't in our top 8 defenders at the moment

Wahooti Fandango
16 Mar 2007, 17:54
slats is as tough as nails but he isn't ready yet for regular senior footy. i think that he will be a very good player for us in the years to come, but he isn't in our top 8 defenders at the moment

Yeah, I see what you are saying. Hopefully he can have a good year with Bendigo and the odd game for the seniors.

hulld
16 Mar 2007, 18:00
that would be perfect.

what do you think of slats becoming a run with player in the midfield???
they have trialled it in a couple of the praccy games and he hasn't been too bad. i guess he just has to increase his fitness

Wahooti Fandango
16 Mar 2007, 18:20
that would be perfect.

what do you think of slats becoming a run with player in the midfield???
they have trialled it in a couple of the praccy games and he hasn't been too bad. i guess he just has to increase his fitness

I reckon he could be a bit player in the midfield if, as you suggest, he can increase his aerobic capacity. I think Slats and Nash will be important to the Bombers defence in the future. I think Nash is a really impressive player from what I have seen of him in the few games he has played for the Bombers. He is of a decent size and a good decision maker.

hulld
16 Mar 2007, 18:34
agreed. he may find it tough to break into the side this year though as his pre-season was heavily interupted by injuries. he is behind mcveigh, welshy, mj, lov-murray and slats. maybe cole (who knows where he stands???)

he may need a few injuries if he is going to get a game

Crave
16 Mar 2007, 21:11

Croad is a bit underdone...might be a mismatch there.

Crave
16 Mar 2007, 21:13

I disagree. From what Ive seen from him this season, he would be in our best 22, with a view to fill in in defence or in the middle. He makes every contest count and at the very least, makes his opponent earn it.

hulld
16 Mar 2007, 22:08
I disagree. From what Ive seen from him this season, he would be in our best 22, with a view to fill in in defence or in the middle. He makes every contest count and at the very least, makes his opponent earn it.

he isn't ready to play in the middle yet, although i think that could work in the long term.

he gives away too many stupid free kicks at the moment. there is a difference between making your opponent earn their possessions and being a tough guy. his tackles are very sloppy.

if he is in our best 22 who is missing out of:
mcveigh, mj, welshy and lov-murray

Crave
16 Mar 2007, 22:40
he isn't ready to play in the middle yet, although i think that could work in the long term.

he gives away too many stupid free kicks at the moment. there is a difference between making your opponent earn their possessions and being a tough guy. his tackles are very sloppy.

Pev, Bolts or Heff.

hulld
16 Mar 2007, 23:05
if pev, bolts and heff are all out of the side i would be happy for slats to be playing

Crave
17 Mar 2007, 12:09

You're kidding, right?

hulld
17 Mar 2007, 16:29
definitely not. i know he tackles very hard, but he has given away so many free kicks in the praccy games for high tackles and in the back.

mercs
17 Mar 2007, 16:57
Hawthorn: 2. Jarryd Roughead, 3. Jordan Lewis, 5. Sam Mitchell, 6. Mark Williams, 8. Danny Jacobs, 9. Shane Crawford, 10. Chance Bateman, 12. Brad Sewell, 13. Simon Taylor, 14. Grant Birchall, 15. Luke Hodge, 17. Beau Muston, 18. Brent Guerra, 19. Ben Dixon, 20. Tim Boyle, 21. Richie Vandenberg, 22. Ben McGlynn, 23. Lance Franklin, 24. Trent Croad, 25. Tim Clarke, 26. Zac Dawson, 27. Stephen Gilham, 28. Matthew Little, 29. Tom Murphy, 30. Campbell Brown, 32. Xavier Ellis, 39. Robert Campbell, 45. Clinton Young.

thats good we beat you guys full strength

GoDons
17 Mar 2007, 17:18
definitely not. i know he tackles very hard, but he has given away so many free kicks in the praccy games for high tackles and in the back.

I'd agree with that. Slats goes in hard and has good ferosity but it works against him sometimes.