View Full Version : Hawkin's VFL review please
Big Nasty
17 Mar 2007, 18:36
I know It was only a vfl practice match, but I would love a few reviews on how he looked today. I mean he played a quarter last week and there were reviews gallore. would really appreciate it.
cat_fanatic_21
17 Mar 2007, 18:55
Me too!;)
SirRooke
17 Mar 2007, 18:58
and me :)
Kittenish
17 Mar 2007, 19:11
I'd love some good photos of him playing. Can't find any good ones.
skankfest
17 Mar 2007, 19:17
Saw the 2nd half only, so this may be after a stellar 1st half, or maybe not:
Didn't do much. I think I saw him have one kick, which was a goal.
Let down by terrible delivery into the foward line and guys who just bombed shots from 55m out.
Looks slow, but I'm sure that his size will help him outmark opponents and therefore this won't be an issue.
Also may have temper issues? White line fever? Looked to have spat the dummy at the ump, but hey, who doesn't.:D
But this is all just a warmup for the big day. Hell I'd drop Playfair right now for the guy. At least theres a chance he'll be good.
cat_fanatic_21
17 Mar 2007, 19:21
Thanks skank. Good to hear he kicked a few goals; 3 or 4 i read somewhere.
mckinale
17 Mar 2007, 19:23
the report on the gfc website didnt mention any thing
it said stokes, spencer and davenport kicked 4 each!
since we only kicked 15 itd be funny if he did kick 3
skankfest
17 Mar 2007, 19:24
No worries.
I may be a little harsh on him cos of high expectation, but that's how I saw it.
I reckon he coulda creamed his opponent if the delivery had been there. In the one's I reckon he'd be a 2goal a game certainty. If the seniors could get their delivery up to snuff too.
Cmon season 2007 and the rise of the Hawk (and Chauncey G)
Team Extreme
17 Mar 2007, 19:31
That would be a summary from last week when we came back and won.
mckinale
17 Mar 2007, 19:32
That would be a summary from last week when we came back and won.
oh ahahahah by bad
moondog21
17 Mar 2007, 20:38
that was last weeks game
AlleyCat
17 Mar 2007, 21:07
Saw the 2nd half only, so this may be after a stellar 1st half, or maybe not:
Didn't do much. I think I saw him have one kick, which was a goal.
Let down by terrible delivery into the foward line and guys who just bombed shots from 55m out.
Looks slow, but I'm sure that his size will help him outmark opponents and therefore this won't be an issue.
Also may have temper issues? White line fever? Looked to have spat the dummy at the ump, but hey, who doesn't.:D
But this is all just a warmup for the big day. Hell I'd drop Playfair right now for the guy. At least theres a chance he'll be good.
I saw the first 3 quarters. He played about 10-15 mins of each. Didn't get much of it in the 1st or 3rd but kicked 2.1 in 2nd quarter, all from uncontested marks kicking intro breeze. One from right on 50, the other from about 40 and one touched on the line from about 55. He's a nice kick. Probably could lighten up a bit but definitely up to playing with the big boys. Those who think he's the 'Great White Saviour' for 2007 probably need to temper this thought a little, 2008 maybe.
Big Nasty
17 Mar 2007, 21:12
I saw the first 3 quarters. He played about 10-15 mins of each. Didn't get much of it in the 1st or 3rd but kicked 2.1 in 2nd quarter, all from uncontested marks kicking intro breeze. One from right on 50, the other from about 40 and one touched on the line from about 55. He's a nice kick. Probably could lighten up a bit but definitely up to playing with the big boys. Those who think he's the 'Great White Saviour' for 2007 probably need to temper this thought a little, 2008 maybe.
Ahh well we have Selwood:D
Big Nasty
17 Mar 2007, 21:15
I saw the first 3 quarters. He played about 10-15 mins of each. Didn't get much of it in the 1st or 3rd but kicked 2.1 in 2nd quarter, all from uncontested marks kicking intro breeze. One from right on 50, the other from about 40 and one touched on the line from about 55. He's a nice kick. Probably could lighten up a bit but definitely up to playing with the big boys. Those who think he's the 'Great White Saviour' for 2007 probably need to temper this thought a little, 2008 maybe.Ahh well we have Selwood:D
Seriously though, I'ts cool he may not do much this year. But from reports he probably will be as good as he was hyped to be in the next few years.
Partridge
18 Mar 2007, 00:53
Ahh well we have Selwood:D
Seriously though, I'ts cool he may not do much this year. But from reports he probably will be as good as he was hyped to be in the next few years.
I saw the last quarter and a bit. He's unquestionably raw and needs to get fitter, but the signs are all good. He'll play seniors at some point this year.
grantyc77
18 Mar 2007, 07:33
Good to see the big fella kick a couple. Im also impressed with Spencer, another bag of 4, he might be the great white hope we are lookin for.
nananana catman
18 Mar 2007, 10:32
Good to see the big fella kick a couple. Im also impressed with Spencer, another bag of 4, he might be the great white hope we are lookin for.
'calling the hoff, could the hoff please come to this thread immediatley'
thejester
18 Mar 2007, 11:19
Unless Matthew Spencer has been possessed by Jesus Christ himself, he's never going to come close to being a regular in the side, let alone the great white hope.
Go_Ramjet!
18 Mar 2007, 23:23
'calling the hoff, could the hoff please come to this thread immediatley'
Why call Hoff - surely you must get sick of reading his pathetic comments?
Go_Ramjet!
18 Mar 2007, 23:24
Unless Matthew Spencer has been possessed by Jesus Christ himself, he's never going to come close to being a regular in the side, let alone the great white hope.
All JC ever did was put his body on the line.
At least Spanna is kicking goals as well.
charlie4prez
18 Mar 2007, 23:46
No worries.
I may be a little harsh on him cos of high expectation, but that's how I saw it.
I reckon he coulda creamed his opponent if the delivery had been there. In the one's I reckon he'd be a 2goal a game certainty. If the seniors could get their delivery up to snuff too.
Cmon season 2007 and the rise of the Hawk (and Chauncey G)
I agree Skanky, particularly with your earlier though about tomohawk waranting a game over hank because it is becoming increasingly clear that henry is a goat. Least the hawk may learn something, and we all know how notoriously hard goats are to train...
thehoff
19 Mar 2007, 11:26
Sounds like someone wants wants the attention all to there self.
It's ok Mr Spencer, i'll give you a cuddle but don't think a name change will fool us into thinking that you are not "The Naturals" father.
Partridge
19 Mar 2007, 11:55
I agree Skanky, particularly with your earlier though about tomohawk waranting a game over hank because it is becoming increasingly clear that henry is a goat. Least the hawk may learn something, and we all know how notoriously hard goats are to train...
Judging from Saturday's game it's become very clear that if Playfair has any future whatsoever it will be as a CHB, as it will assuredly NOT be as a key forward. Even Gardiner and Nathan Ablett were much better.
From the one quarter I saw of Hawkins in the 2s he already leads with more purpose and intensity than Playfair, plus he's only going to get better.
seniorspanner47
19 Mar 2007, 13:42
It's ok Mr Spencer, i'll give you a cuddle but don't think a name change will fool us into thinking that you are not "The Naturals" father.
thehoff,what are you on about??.I havent changed my name, just watching occasionally from a far.Give us a cuddle at the golf day if you really must.
nananana catman
19 Mar 2007, 13:45
Nah, the hoff is a funny man.
thehoff
19 Mar 2007, 14:50
thehoff,what are you on about??.I havent changed my name, just watching occasionally from a far.Give us a cuddle at the golf day if you really must.
But i've missed you get all fired up over petty comments and your son.
You'd be happy with his recent form though?
slimeball
19 Mar 2007, 15:25
But i've missed you get all fired up over petty comments and your son.
You'd be happy with his recent form though?
Anyone see Matt getting a shot up forward in the one's this year??
He was originally drafted as a forward from Swan Districts and then made to learn how to play as a backman which I don't really understand.
He is definitely suited as a forward IMO. Great overhead!
year of the cat
19 Mar 2007, 15:40
He was originally drafted as a forward from Swan Districts and then made to learn how to play as a backman which I don't really understand.
Nuh.
thehoff
19 Mar 2007, 15:41
Never seen him play as a forward. Surely he is better as a forward than as backmen though. Well, i would hope he was cause he is anus as a backmen.
darren forssman
19 Mar 2007, 15:46
cue senior spanner reply
slimeball
19 Mar 2007, 16:09
cue senior spanner reply
Surely he can't be that bad Hoff if he won the VFL F&B in his first year playing all year in the back line.
I know he has guys like Mooney, Ottens and Nabblett ahead of him but surely if a couple go down due to injuries (i.e Ottens) and suspension (i.e Moondog) then surely should be given a go ahead of Playfair who has showed SFA for the past 2 or 3 seasons and Hawkins who is still serving his apprenticeship.
darren forssman
19 Mar 2007, 17:17
I know he has guys like Mooney, Ottens and Nabblett ahead of him but surely if a couple go down due to injuries (i.e Ottens) and suspension (i.e Moondog) then surely should be given a go ahead of Playfair who has showed SFA for the past 2 or 3 seasons and Hawkins who is still serving his apprenticeship.
have you seen him play?
the titanic had a better turning circle. he would struggle to get a gig mowing lawns once geelong delist him!!!
slimeball
19 Mar 2007, 17:56
have you seen him play?
the titanic had a better turning circle. he would struggle to get a gig mowing lawns once geelong delist him!!!
I don't care how he turns. Last time I checked a "turn" isn't counted as a stat. The fact is that he is playing good footy up forward and my question was can anyone see him getting a go up forward if the opportunity presents itself with injuries and possible suspensions to key players.
I can't remember asking what he was going to do after he was finished with footy. Then again I can't remember what I did yesterday
]I don't care how he turns. Last time I checked a "turn" isn't counted as a stat.[/B] The fact is that he is playing good footy up forward and my question was can anyone see him getting a go up forward if the opportunity presents itself with injuries and possible suspensions to key players.
I can't remember asking what he was going to do after he was finished with footy. Then again I can't remember what I did yesterday
Turning is an integral part of mowing lawns. If he can't improve his turning circle he has no chance of making it in the cutthroat cooch cutting bussiness.
In all seriousness though. He is ahead of playfair in my eyes but unlikely to get significant game time unless we loose 3-4 key forwards.
thehoff
19 Mar 2007, 21:58
Turning is an integral part of mowing lawns. If he can't improve his turning circle he has no chance of making it in the cutthroat cooch cutting bussiness.
That is a very good point you raise.
I couldn't help but notice "Ricky" the local Jim's Mowing representive mowing the neighbours lawn last thursday. Ricky's turning circle was like watching poetry in motion, it was effortless. It was like Ricky had been cutting grass for decades, yet was only in his 4th season as Region Lawn Mower.
I mean, i've seen guys empty the catcher and whipper snip with more precision, but the blade work Ricky displayed with his 6 Horse Powered Huskvana "Low Rider" demostrated nothing but class and confirmed that Ricky will be cutting grass in our area for years to come.
If Matty really wants to increase his chances of being drafted by Jim's Mowing, he really should have a chat Ricky. I'd be more than happy to forward a business card. (SeniorSpanner - Please forward this message).
Fingers crossed that Matto "The Natural" Spencer can one day achieve the greatness of Ricky.
Go_Ramjet!
20 Mar 2007, 00:38
Sounds like someone wants wants the attention all to there self.
Just goes to show you how little you really know Hoff, and how cheap your comments really are.
Now get back to your polishing
Go_Ramjet!
20 Mar 2007, 00:41
Maybe he could become a professional knob like yourself?
Then he could sign-up with Big Footy and get his jollys from jumping on the Hoffs Spencer hating bandwagon?
Copernicus
20 Mar 2007, 00:59
Thanks children, go back to your playsets now. Let the adults talk football.
Thanks to those who haven't posted dribble in this thread. Tom sounds like he's getting a little groove back. Still have him in the twos for quite some weeks yet though.
thejester
20 Mar 2007, 09:18
Thanks to those who haven't posted dribble in this thread. Tom sounds like he's getting a little groove back. Still have him in the twos for quite some weeks yet though.
I'd almost think he won't get a gig even if his form deserves it 'cause they're so desperate to preserve him from the hype and pressure.
thehoff
20 Mar 2007, 09:52
I'd almost think he won't get a gig even if his form deserves it 'cause they're so desperate to preserve him from the hype and pressure.
Might be a good idea. Protect him for most of the season like they did with N. Ablett.
I think Geelong handled his debut very well.
Just goes to show you how little you really know Hoff, and how cheap your comments really are.
Now get back to your polishing
If we ever met, I'm going to lay the biggest cuddle on you ever. You are just precious!
darren forssman
20 Mar 2007, 10:29
I don't care how he turns. Last time I checked a "turn" isn't counted as a stat.
well, it is not a stat but to evade a tackler or if the ball bounces the wrong way and he has to turn around to then pounce on it then you need mobility and agility. i thought they were a "must have" in the modern game.
darren forssman
20 Mar 2007, 10:31
yes mum...you take yourself seriously.
thehoff
20 Mar 2007, 10:31
well, it is not a stat but to evade a tackler or if the ball bounces the wrong way and he has to turn around to then pounce on it then you need mobility and agility. i thought they were a "must have" in the modern game.
Turn is not a stat, neither is headbutt or allowing the ball to hit you in the face. He sucks at both.
Copernicus
20 Mar 2007, 10:34
yes mum...you take yourself seriously.
Not typically, but I get tired of asinine rubbish. There's a forum for it, it's called the Limbo Club.
darren forssman
20 Mar 2007, 11:34
Not typically, but I get tired of asinine rubbish. There's a forum for it, it's called the Limbo Club.
as i said, you take yourself and this board way too seriously.
it is still a forum and people are entitled to post what they like as long as it doesnt insult other people.
seniorspanner47
20 Mar 2007, 11:57
If we ever met, I'm going to lay the biggest cuddle on you ever. You are just precious!
I'ts not me honestly thehoff,
Partridge
20 Mar 2007, 12:46
Might be a good idea. Protect him for most of the season like they did with N. Ablett.
I think Geelong handled his debut very well.
To be honest, after the 1 quarter I've seen of Hawkins, he looks a lot more advanced than N.Ablett at the same stage. Got some work to do, but I don't think he'd be lost at senior level. Leads with as much commitment and ferocity as anyone we've got.
Maybe rounds 7-10 could be realistic given good form in the seconds.
To be honest, after the 1 quarter I've seen of Hawkins, he looks a lot more advanced than N.Ablett at the same stage. Got some work to do, but I don't think he'd be lost at senior level. Leads with as much commitment and ferocity as anyone we've got.
Maybe rounds 7-10 could be realistic given good form in the seconds.
Agreed Partridge. I have only seen him play a half and expect him to debut before the half way mark of the year. I am a fan of Nathan's but I also agree Tom is more advanced. He is more confident and demands the footy. Bugger this talk of hype and sheltering him from the spotlight. If the kid is a born leader and champion he will eat it up, no matter what his age. If he is ready he is ready, and if his form in the VFL warrants selection then play the kid. It would do more harm holding a kid back that has earn't his spot than playing him for fear or media spotlight. Some blokes are born to be in the spotlight. Nathan wasn't one of those, Tom could be a whole different kettle of fish.
Gazzajr is god
20 Mar 2007, 18:50
Maybe name him emergency for a couple of weeks and stick him in as a late change.
From memory, thats what they did with Nath.
And have it interstate so most of the pressure he would get from media and fans would be non exsistant so then he can just worry about playing football.
Copernicus
21 Mar 2007, 00:52
as i said, you take yourself and this board way too seriously.
it is still a forum and people are entitled to post what they like as long as it doesnt insult other people.
I agree. And I am entitled to point out when unadulterated garbage is being posted. Two way streets and all that.
Anyway, moving along.
grantyc77
21 Mar 2007, 01:27
I think we have a lot of anxious people, waiting for round 1, just read all this thread, and relised i started the trash talk bout spencer. Pretty funny really, i hop he gets a senior game now just to see the reaction of the hoof and co... Priceless
darren forssman
21 Mar 2007, 08:55
I agree. And I am entitled to point out when unadulterated garbage is being posted. Two way streets and all that.
and people could say that your posts are just agreeable garbage...just because some people want to have a few laughs and take a light hearted approach to football it equals "unadulterated garbage"? those years in the USA have really diminished your aussie sense of humour.
Go_Ramjet!
21 Mar 2007, 09:06
:confused:
Doubtful given the proximity - but will wait in hope nonetheless
thehoff
21 Mar 2007, 09:19
:confused:
Doubtful given the proximity - but will wait in hope nonetheless
How was " The Natural" at the last family function? You've got to be related. The only people on this forum that stick up for Matty are his family members.
Partridge
21 Mar 2007, 09:55
Maybe name him emergency for a couple of weeks and stick him in as a late change.
From memory, thats what they did with Nath.
And have it interstate so most of the pressure he would get from media and fans would be non exsistant so then he can just worry about playing football.
Bollocks to that. Name him on the Thursday night and be done with it. Hopefully in a big game at the MCG, the bigger the occasion the better. You could also pull him aside and say something like "I don't care if you're 18 or 28, when you're in the seniors you have to perform. School's over".
I can't see the point in sheltering players. He has to get used to it eventually. From what we've heard and seen of him I don't think it'll bother him one iota.
Copernicus
21 Mar 2007, 10:19
and people could say that your posts are just agreeable garbage...just because some people want to have a few laughs and take a light hearted approach to football it equals "unadulterated garbage"? those years in the USA have really diminished your aussie sense of humour.
Well, it would help if any of this stuff were funny...Perhaps the aussie sense of humour has diminished in my absence or something.
thehoff
21 Mar 2007, 11:47
Well, it would help if any of this stuff were funny...Perhaps the aussie sense of humour has diminished in my absence or something.
Yawn..... You still talking?
thehoff
21 Mar 2007, 11:50
Bollocks to that. Name him on the Thursday night and be done with it. Hopefully in a big game at the MCG, the bigger the occasion the better. You could also pull him aside and say something like "I don't care if you're 18 or 28, when you're in the seniors you have to perform. School's over".
I can't see the point in sheltering players. He has to get used to it eventually. From what we've heard and seen of him I don't think it'll bother him one iota.
Or you could say something like:
"You will go to sleep or i will put you to sleep. Read the name tag, you're in my world now Grandma!"......."Oh, Mr Gilmore, thats a tremendous looking trophy".