View Full Version : Ashley Mcgrath
Man City Blues!
19 Mar 2007, 20:02
Ashley Mcgrath
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Where will he be playing this year? what position? how many fantasy points do you reckon he'd get? will he play on the ball now due to notting's injury, like in the midfield?>
Ashley Mcgrath
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Where will he be playing this year? what position? how many fantasy points do you reckon he'd get? will he play on the ball now due to notting's injury, like in the midfield?>
Will almost definitely play in the forward line as a crumber. Doubtful he will go into the midfield. Has been a little under performing in the NAB cup but IMO is still our best small crumbing forward (apart from Power who will not play there) and will do well in Brown stays on the park. Doesn't always get a lot of possies even when he plays well. How do they judge fantasy points?
peterss
23 Mar 2007, 16:21
With Bradshaw and Clark now gone you would certainly have to think that Ash would play in the forward 50 all season.
TheBrownDog
23 Mar 2007, 16:23
With Bradshaw and Clark now gone you would certainly have to think that Ash would play in the forward 50 all season.
He's a small forward, would probably have played there anyway.
TheBrownDog
6 May 2007, 21:08
In career best form at the moment.
Love your work Ash.
Currently ranked 7th in the Coleman Medal. :D :D
scott522
6 May 2007, 23:48
How good was he 2day - Ooh Aah Ash McGrath
konstas_87
7 May 2007, 00:35
you can tell he's reaching his 100 game mark cant you? best season ever so far, kicking a score consistently and great defensive efforts as well.
oooooo ahhhhhh!
TheBrownDog
7 May 2007, 10:57
From the Courier Mail (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,21682856-5003410,00.html)
Ash `creams' Dockers
Andrew Hamilton
May 07, 2007 12:00am
ASH McGrath had only vague memories of his five-goal heroics against the Dockers yesterday but his wits were sharp enough to enjoy the moment.
Adelaide star Andrew McLeod looms on the immediate horizon and McGrath knows his output next week won't be measured on the scoreboard.
"I'm sure I'll get the job on McLeod, which is more of a defensive job because he's in Brownlow Medal form," McGrath said.
"I'll be going out there to try to nullify him, and if I get one or two goals I'll walk off the ground happy."
McGrath felt his defensive pressure had been down in recent weeks and he steeled himself for an improvement in that area. The five goals were just a bonus.
Lions coach Leigh Matthews has always been a fan of McGrath's commitment to tackling and chasing because it often forces defensive errors that lead to Brisbane goals.
"Ash's value is the pressure he puts on," he said. "The offence of his game is the cream of the cake."
McGrath said the details of his star turn were a little hazy, after a Shaun McManus knee to the back of the head temporarily knocked him out.
However, he was thrilled he had kicked more goals than good mate Jonathan Brown, who finished with 2.2.
"I think I've kicked 16 for the season. I'm in front of him now and I'm telling him about it," he said. "He sprayed a few today and he's always into me about my kicking."
The victory was especially sweet for McGrath and teammate Richard Hadley, two West Aussies who grew up playing their footy in the shadows of Fremantle Oval.
Hadley was an East Fremantle junior and McGrath was one of three brothers who played for South Fremantle, the side that formed the nucleus of the Dockers organisation and shares facilities with the AFL club.
"We just love sticking it up Freo. We're both Freo boys so it's good to win against them," Hadley said.
Grimreepah
29 Jul 2007, 14:24
I think McGrath is now playing a tagging role. I thought he was on Murphy last week (11 possessions) and Lockyer this week (18 possessions).
http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/5115/mcgrathjz3.jpg
BigCat2
29 Jul 2007, 14:27
Fair observatio Grim. With him not having been regularly in the goals recently and the rest of the forwards working well, not a bad idea to try him elsewhere.
He may end up playing a different position or go back to forward pocket - it doesn't matter, it's part of the education.
I reckon the reason for Brennan's recent surge in both performance and commitment was because of his classes in defence. It looks like he now knows that footy isn't all easy, and that plenty of hard work is needed. He's always had the talent but it's been his commitment without the ball that has really stood out for me.
notting18
29 Jul 2007, 16:52
I think McGrath is now playing a tagging role. I thought he was Murphy last week (11 possessions) and Lockyer this week (18 possessions).
He certainly has the speed/strength to do that role which has surprised me a bit.
Good pick-up. Not much has been said but he has moved upfield and doing very well running the lines. I think I saw a stat were he had 5 clearences last night. As much as Brennan move to the forward line has seemed to work, McGraths move to the back line has seemed to work. He is more involved in the game now.
The best thing is the move of Sellwood, McGrath and Joel MacDonald to the back half has allowed Jed to move the midfield (and I hope he never leaves again).
I think the coaching group as a whole desrves some praise for the effort over the last 6 weeks in the change in structure, play and attituted.
Grimreepah
30 Jul 2007, 17:41
I wasn't surprised about that, but I didn't think he would have the motor to perform that role. It's hard to tell on the TV, but I suspect he might be being used as an impact tagger, who can make his opponent work hard and indeed hurt them in attack, then have a rest while another defensive player goes to that player.
Grimreepah
4 Aug 2007, 23:31
http://img393.imageshack.us/img393/2055/mcgrathjs5.jpg
Looks like McGrath may have broken his wrist:(
TheBrownDog
4 Aug 2007, 23:33
http://i17.tinypic.com/4y6tzrl.jpg
Looks like McGrath may have broken his wrist:(
Will make way for Johnson I reckon.
Grimreepah
5 Aug 2007, 15:17
Link (http://www.afl.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=208&newsId=48613)
THE BRISBANE Lions are counting the cost of Saturday night's important win over the Kangaroos at the Gabba, with Ash McGrath likely to miss the rest of the season through injury.
McGrath broke a bone in his left forearm when he landed awkwardly after flying in a marking contest in the third quarter, and is not expected to recover in time to return this year.
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/5421/mcgrath4gl9.jpg
Grimreepah
6 Aug 2007, 12:02
Link (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/brown-in-purple-patch-coach/2007/08/05/1186252544846.html)
But the news isn't all good for the Lions, with Ashley McGrath's season more than likely finished as a result of a broken wrist he suffered in a mid-air collision with teammate Rhan Hooper. He landed awkwardly on the wrist and was taken immediately from the field.
"He actually has broken a bone in his wrist that needs to be pinned apparently so he'll be missing for four to six weeks, I'm told by the medical people. It's a lengthy time and sort of a minimum of four weeks which takes us to the end of round 22," Matthews said.
http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/6915/mcgrath9tr3.jpg
TheBrownDog
30 Sep 2007, 13:24
How do you guys see Ash's career in 08 and beyond?
Is he still a starting 22 player when fit?
Do we persist with him as a small forward option, or was the small snippets we saw of Ash this year as a defensive midfielder a sign of things to come?
I'm a big fan of Ash and feel he has been forgotten somewhat.
Hooper is catching him very quickly..
What would he be like off a half back flank?
notting18
30 Sep 2007, 18:09
I would think there are two options for McGrath next year IMO. To either step up to the forwardline role left open by Johnson's retirement or maybe a run with role in the midfield (i wouldn't mind seeing him tried in that position).
Grimreepah
1 Oct 2007, 15:13
Do we persist with him as a small forward option, or was the small snippets we saw of Ash this year as a defensive midfielder a sign of things to come?
I think the couple of games he played in the midfield were some of the better games in his career.
Grimreepah
3 Nov 2007, 11:12
End of Season Player Review
2007 was an interesting year for McGrath with plenty of twists and turns along the way. He started in the forward line, and after a very poor NAB Cup there was a lot of speculation he would be dropped for the round 1 clash against the Hawks. But he kept his spot and things clicked for him when the season started. He had always been one to apply terrific defensive pressure, but he was now consistently contributing in attack as well, and after 9 rounds he was our equal leading goal kicker with 20 goals (including 5 against Freo in round 6).
In round 9 McGrath injured his medial ligament, and while he only missed a couple of weeks, when he returned he wasn’t having the same impact on the scoreboard. Then in round 16 against Carlton he began playing as defensive midfielder. It was only a few games but he was very impressive in keeping his opponent quiet and was even getting a bit of the ball himself. Unfortunately his season ended in round 18 when he broke his arm (ulna) in a collision with Rhan Hooper.
All up I think it was a fairly productive year for McGrath and he has increased his value to the team by showing he can play a different role. It remains to be seen where McGrath will play in 2008, but having been a little inconsistent as a small forward, he may well continue to get a run in the midfield to see how he goes.
http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/2601/mcgrathhs8.jpg
The Dockers are also believed to be eyeing uncontracted Brisbane Lion Ashley McGrath, who could be available in the pre-season draft if he fails to come to terms with the Lions.
Source: http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/two-more-bombers-join-fremantle/2007/11/24/1195753374111.html
Please stay McGrath!
Dylan12
25 Nov 2007, 00:23
That is dis-heartening. What is going on at the club that we have quality players such as Ash still un-signed and in a position to get sweet FA for him - absolutely staggered - for mine a disappointing weekend all round, except for Collier.
Like Cozi stated, i bloody hope Ash re-signs, but knowing he can get to Freo pretty easily, i wouldn't be holding my breath and whilst i will be pissed at Ash, questions need to be asked of our footy admin dept - happens all too regularly.
It just annoys me the continual rhetoric responses from the club regarding this issue and some BF posters that its not the club nor key people's fault - i would actually respect these people more if they admitted they stuffed up regarding players still being out of contract at such a late stage because it is a joke - it should have been ascertained if he was going to leave and then attempted to trade him if so - at least we could have got a pick in the mid 30s to 40's today instead of nothing - another diabolical effort on the part of whoever is resposnible if he leaves in these circumstances:(
Grimreepah
25 Nov 2007, 00:58
It just annoys me the continual rhetoric responses from the club regarding this issue and some BF posters that its not the club nor key people's fault - i would actually respect these people more if they admitted they stuffed up regarding players still being out of contract at such a late stage because it is a joke
I respect people more for trying to understand things from the club's perspective rather than thinking they know better.
If it was a simple process of signing up everyone before draft week then that's what they would do, but obviously it's not that simple. I hardly think threatening players that they will be traded if they don't sign by Oct 7 is the best way to go about it.
There seems to be rumours about McGrath leaving every year. Lets just wait and see what happens before we spit the dummy.
TheBrownDog
25 Nov 2007, 10:00
McGrath's dad is very ill and some things are more important than football Dylan.
The guy is in a very confused place, so cut him some slack.
lookagoose
25 Nov 2007, 10:09
This situation could be a key factor in the Colm Begley matter. If Ash does go they will elevate Begley?
You trumped us on Dalziell. Fremantle were very keen on this guy. I'm starting to sense some bad blood amongst the two clubs.
notting18
25 Nov 2007, 11:15
This situation could be a key factor in the Colm Begley matter. If Ash does go they will elevate Begley?
I'd suggest that is a definite
notting18
25 Nov 2007, 11:19
McGrath's dad is very ill and some things are more important that football Dylan.
When things outside football are important factors it isn't as simple as Dylan suggests. How could you force a player in McGrath's position to sign a contract or be traded to another club when clearly he is unsure about what is best for Ash McGrath the person, let alone the footballer?
I would like to think that the club is supporting a player as a person and not just treating them as a commodity. I have started to sense a bit that I may be too idealistic in some people's opinion, but I would much rather support a club that wasn't 100% business minded and had a little heart.
TheBrownDog
25 Nov 2007, 11:49
When things outside football are important factors it isn't as simple as Dylan suggests. How could you force a player in McGrath's position to sign a contract or be traded to another club when clearly he is unsure about what is best for Ash McGrath the person, let alone the footballer?
I would like to think that the club is supporting a player as a person and not just treating them as a commodity. I have started to sense a bit that I may be too idealistic in some people's opinion, but I would much rather support a club that wasn't 100% business minded and had a little heart.
Agree completely. Great post.
Dylan12
25 Nov 2007, 13:14
McGrath's dad is very ill and some things are more important than football Dylan.
I know it is not the corporate world, but i know most firms would not be waiting on the indecisiveness of one individual if it in any way would be detrimental to the firm (knowing that by walking, the club gets sweet FA)
It sets a precedent for other players to delay signing contracts knowing they may be able to get to clubs without compo for us - obviously Ash may be a little different with the old man, but geez the club can't be a charity case. I am not trying to be harsh on Ash, but surprised that alot of you are more than happy for our club to get nothing for him whilst at the same time it strengthens an opposition club - i am really starting to get it from the club's persepctive now:confused:
For all intents and purposes i do hope he stays and he may do, but they are my feelings IF he does go - and it aint with my blessing.
Grimreepah
25 Nov 2007, 15:08
but surprised that alot of you are more than happy for our club to get nothing for him whilst at the same time it strengthens an opposition club
I have never heard anyone say they would be happy to lose him for nothing.
danielcanberra
25 Nov 2007, 15:54
Dylan12 - Ash's circumstances might be more complicated.
If he wanted to leave the club for whatever reason, surely he would have done so already.
As he's still with us, that can only mean that he wants to stay. Family circumstances would be the only thing that is the cause of uncertainty.
So this probably means that he does not really want to leave. Perhaps at the same time, he can't commit because of his family circumstances, and if he did so, and had to return to Perth, it would be a lot messier for him and the club to work out.
I guess I just have a bit more faith that Ash and the club know what they are doing.
Dylan12
25 Nov 2007, 17:07
So this probably means that he does not really want to leave. Perhaps at the same time, he can't commit because of his family circumstances, and if he did so, and had to return to Perth, it would be a lot messier for him and the club to work out.
I guess I just have a bit more faith that Ash and the club know what they are doing.
I hope you are right, but if his brother is still running around in the SANFL next year, I would be more than a little disappointed.
And Grim, I know no-one has said they would be happy for him to leave, but nontheless it seems that if he was to leave, it goes with blessing - not mine. I lost immediate family to a protracted illness whilst living in Perth and as tough as it is, sometimes you have to stick it out, but every family is different I guess.
I will just leave it there because there is no right/wrong answer. I am just concerned that it is all too common for our players to walk to the safety net of the PSD and get to where they want to go whilst we get nothing.
Besides a couple of boys at the club I have only met on one occasion, i do know a couple of Eagles boys pretty well, and as selfish as it is, i am only concerned with the club's interests - even the Eagles boys i know have said their own interest is them and not the club, which is fair enough. I am just trying to let you know where i am coming from that some guys don't care as much as we do about our club and that is why i come across pretty harsh on this issue - that may not include Ash, but as unsympathetic people think i am, i only care for the club, which surely is not a bad thing - yes i am over-protective and try not to get too attached to the guys (unlike many posters) although i do make exceptions for boys that make it crystal that they have no interest in leaving the mighty Lions. But that's me - hope you see where i am coming from:)
Quigley
25 Nov 2007, 17:30
I know noithing about what is going on behind the scenes but consider if Ash has said that he would only accept a trade back to WA and neither of the WA sides are offering anything much in trade week. Protecting the club what you do is not give him away but hold on and try and use the extra time to resign him. If at the end of the day he does go into the PSD the club is in no worse position and he has to get through 5 clubs before he can get to his preferred club.
The other thing to consider is that there is probably serious doubt about whether Ash is going to be amongst the best 22 and where he will play. The club wouldn't want to be paying too much for a fringe 22 player and Ash would be wanting as much as he could but also might also be getting some guarantee of playing time from other clubs which would be attractive too him and might be looking for the same from the Lions.
I was more than happy to sink the boot in last year and I do think the current admin do tend to let things run on too long. That said I do think the Lions are usually in a difficult negotiating position compared to other clubs.
Grimreepah
25 Nov 2007, 22:21
Link (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/new-talent-may-be-tiger-target/2007/11/25/1195975870007.html)
Miller said, however, that the Tigers would be willing to look at uncontracted Brisbane Lion Ashley McGrath, who, Welsh aside, would be the best seasoned talent available at this stage.
McGrath has indicated he is interested in joining Fremantle and returning to his home state, but it might prove difficult for him to get past the five clubs ahead of the Dockers. It is unlikely that he would walk out on Brisbane for a Melbourne club.
Link (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22833651%255E20322,00.html)
Carlton has turned its interest from the national draft to the December 11 pre-season draft. It will invite as many as five possible draftees to a 10-day training camp. It is also considering a play for uncontracted Lion Ashley McGrath.
lionbear
26 Nov 2007, 07:16
I hope McGrath stays, I can't believe we are about to start December and there is still Lions leaving rumors flying around.
black_hart
27 Nov 2007, 22:07
Link (http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/new-talent-may-be-tiger-target/2007/11/25/1195975870007.html)
Because of his family situation is it possible the other clubs would bypass him on compassionate grounds?
TheBrownDog
27 Nov 2007, 22:48
Because of his family situation is it possible the other clubs would bypass him on compassionate grounds?
You'd hope so.
The clubs voted for special provisions for Essendon to put Ramanauskas on the rookie list, you'd hope that they were compassionate in this case too.
Grimreepah
29 Nov 2007, 09:04
Link (http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=12&ContentID=48773)
It is believed Fremantle were interested in South Fremantle product Ashley McGrath, who was keen to return home. But the prospect of entering the draft and ending up in Melbourne, with five Victorian clubs to probably pick ahead of the Dockers, has prompted the 2003 premiership forward to remain with Brisbane.
He is expected to agree to a new one-year contract today or tomorrow.
McGrath played 15 games and kicked 20 of his 22 goals for the season before round 10, including a seasonhigh five in the Lions’ win over Fremantle at the Gabba. But he then struggled with injury.
The 24-year-old has played 98 matches for Brisbane since making his debut in 2001.
http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/15/mcgrathdl9.jpg
TheBrownDog
29 Nov 2007, 11:15
Seems like he will be traded next year then.
Will likely crack the 100 game father/son barrier for us at least.
astro_toby
29 Nov 2007, 11:21
well done on keeping him for the extra year though - you guys have done well to defend off all the attacks on your players.
Why didn't you try and trade him to Freo this year? what would you have wanted for him?
Fairley
29 Nov 2007, 14:08
well done on keeping him for the extra year though - you guys have done well to defend off all the attacks on your players.
Why didn't you try and trade him to Freo this year? what would you have wanted for him?
no one, freo are gammon haha
notting18
29 Nov 2007, 19:50
Leigh made the comment at trade week that Hadley and Wood were the only two players to have asked to be traded. If McGrath didn't say he wanted to be traded there is not much the club can do, especially seeing as he is a best 22 player when fit and firing.
Grimreepah
29 Nov 2007, 22:59
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,22844188-10389,00.html)
Ash McGrath remains with Lions
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
Robert Craddock
November 29, 2007 11:00pm
ELUSIVE forward Ash McGrath has re-signed with the Lions after almost leaving the club because of family reasons.
McGrath, 24, who joined Brisbane in 2001, has signed a one-year deal after spending much of the past few months in Western Australia, formerly his home state, mulling over his future.
"I was really close to heading home," McGrath said yesterday.
"I had family issues and I gave a lot of thought to nominating for the pre-season draft. But I had a good talk to Nigel Lappin, Chris Johnson and Darryl White and decided to stay another year and we will see how things go after that."
One of the reasons McGrath did not nominate for the draft is that his intention to join WA clubs West Coast or Fremantle would probably have been foiled.
"Teams like Richmond and Carlton had earlier picks so I might have ended up going to Richmond," he said.
"But I have no problems staying with Brisbane. I really love this club and I think the signs are good this year that our future looks bright."
Another incentive for McGrath to stay was that he has played 98 senior matches for the Lions. He would already have reached three figures had he not broken his arm late last season.
"It would have been nice if I had been on 99 games because I would have reached 100 in the first match of the season in Perth but it would still be good to do it in the second match (against Collingwood) at the Gabba," he said.
McGrath played 15 matches last season and, after his season ended with his broken arm, the Lions did not win another game.
McGrath kicked 20 goals in the first nine matches, including five against the Dockers in round 6.
http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/7710/mcgrathzg3.jpg
Warwick
29 Nov 2007, 23:10
"Teams like Richmond and Carlton had earlier picks so I might have ended up going to Richmond," he said.
Hilarious. It's as good a reason as any. :D
They tried all pre-season trying to poach one of our players. The fact is, no one decent wants to go to the Tiggers.
Cousin Jed
22 Jan 2008, 19:50
Apparently he is going to be on 10 news tomorrow.
TheBrownDog
22 Jan 2008, 20:06
Apparently he is going to be on 10 news tomorrow.
You sure its not tonight?
Cousin Jed
22 Jan 2008, 20:12
Thought they said tomorrow - it was Georgina Lewis so I don't think it was a Sports Tonight promo. But I could be wrong.
TheBrownDog
22 Jan 2008, 20:23
Thought they said tomorrow - it was Georgina Lewis so I don't think it was a Sports Tonight promo. But I could be wrong.
I heard the Ash McGrath part but didnt hear when it was.
Hmm...
You're probably right, he will probably be interviewd at training tomorrow.
Grimreepah
26 Jan 2008, 00:42
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23107524-5003410,00.html)
Knee operation means Lions forward may miss opener
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
Andrew Hamilton
January 25, 2008 11:00pm
LIONS forward Ash McGrath may miss the AFL premiership opener against West Coast at Subiaco Oval following a knee operation.
Coach Leigh Matthews said the premiership forward would be out of action until March after being forced to submit to minor surgery. It means he will miss at least the opening two pre-season games, leaving him with little time to press for selection in round 1.
McGrath had been on a full work load over the pre-season but had been experiencing soreness in the joint after each session.
Exploratory surgery to find the cause of the problem was booked and the decision was made to remove some inflamed cartilage that was causing the pain.
"He was doing all the work but he's been getting soreness," Matthews said.
"He's been feeling it for the last month and you can only put up with it for so long.
"It wasn't coming good so he got a bit of cartilage taken away, it's nothing major but it is just a question of how quickly he recovers."
His recovery will take about six weeks, ruling him out of the opening rounds of the NAB Cup and putting him in doubt for the round 1 clash against West Coast in March.
McGrath was due for his 100th game in round 2, a Friday night Gabba blockbuster against Collingwood.
But Matthews said the clever West Australian was still a chance to be ready for the premiership season because he had built a good fitness base over the pre-season.
"He has done pretty much a normal summer," Matthews said. "He has got a good fitness base, but he will be off his legs for a month or so, he will be hoping he can play in the March games."
http://img172.imageshack.us/img172/552/mcgrathoa4.jpg
That's a shame, he's always one of my favourites - especially after that goal against Sydney in the finals. Hope he recovers quickly.
Grimreepah
25 Mar 2008, 00:02
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23424117-5016169,00.html)
Ash McGrath is also scheduled to be available to play this week but is expected to be given some tune-up games at the lower level. The Lions will be sweating on McGrath's return because he gives them the flexibility of being a crumbing forward who prides himself on his defensive prowess and can also be used in bursts through the midfield.
http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/57/mcgrath6or0.jpg
TheBrownDog
5 Apr 2008, 23:29
Carried off with what appeared to be a serious ankle injury in the ressies today.
Ash can't catch a trick... just when he was pressing for senior selection.
I think Winged Kiel must be elevated to fill this role if McGrath is out for a while
Grimreepah
7 Apr 2008, 14:36
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23497877-5016181,00.html)
Lions are struggling to find fot goal kickers
Article from:http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_heraldsun.gif (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/)
April 07, 2008 12:00am
BRISBANE'S desperate quest to find more goal kickers has suffered a blow with potential crumbing solution Ash McGrath battling injury. Nimble goalsneak McGrath sustained an ankle injury late in the Lions reserves match on the weekend which is set to delay is much-needed return against Port Adelaide on Saturday night.
Coach Leigh Matthews is lamenting the Lions' inability to convert a decent percentage of their forward 50 entries, relying heavily on tightly-marked big guns Jonathan Brown and Daniel Bradshaw.
Bradshaw (five) and Brown (one) were two of just five goal scorers as Brisbane managed 10 majors in their three-goal loss to Sydney at the Gabba on Saturday night.
Matthews knows he needs more scoreline contributors against the Power at Adelaide's AAMI Stadium, particularly from ground- level players.
"We only had six scorers and the goals that we got were from marks," he said today.
"We virtually got almost no crumbing goals and you need to do that to supplement your score because you can't depend on having nine or 10 goals from marks and that was the area of the game (that cost the Lions).
"Ash McGrath is a player with a proven history of being able to snaffle a goal or two, and he's kicked six in a league game once.
"We think Ash provides a lot of value to the team when he's fit and well."
While McGrath has been listed for a fitness test, Matthews indicated it was highly unlikely he would make his first senior appearance in 2008 against the Power.
The hard-chasing 24-year-old, a 2003 premiership player, was impressive in his second reserves match back from minor knee surgery before rolling his ankle.
"He got a couple of games under his belt and he'd played well so he was getting close to being considered for senior selection so that's unfortunate," Matthews said.
http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/3033/mcgrath8ef7.jpg
From http://lions.com.au/News/InjuryList/tabid/8716/default.aspx:
Ashley McGrath (Ankle) - Test
We could finally be lucky? Or is a quick recovery too much to hope for?
Grimreepah
18 Apr 2008, 22:30
Link (http://news.theage.com.au/mcgrath-added-to-give-lions-more-speed/20080418-273g.html)
McGrath added to give Lions more speed
April 18, 2008 - 7:08PM
Brutally honest Brisbane Lions coach Leigh Matthews admitted he was throwing an "underdone" Ash McGrath in against heavyweight Hawthorn at the Gabba on Saturday night in a desperate bid to find ground level goals.
Small forward McGrath will play his first game of the season after coming back from knee and ankle complaints.
"He is underdone and he is not in as good a condition as we would like him to be," Matthews said.
"The main quality is that he has got speed.
"(And) we are not getting enough ground level goals.
"When you have got big forwards inevitably they are a bit slow on the chase because they are big marking targets.
"So you try to supplement quickness around your big marking forwards."
McGrath will hope to add crumbing goals, complementing what Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson on Friday described as the AFL's "most potent forward line going around at the moment" - Jonathan Brown and Daniel Bradshaw.
http://img167.imageshack.us/img167/6483/mcgrath3hu2.jpg
konstas_87
20 Apr 2008, 10:21
ash made such a huge difference to our fwd structure V the hawks. there was actually some1 standing at ground level when the ball spilled from a marking contest. would have set up at least 3-4 goals in addition to the ones he kicked himself.
great to have him back.
TheBrownDog
20 Apr 2008, 18:56
ash made such a huge difference to our fwd structure V the hawks. there was actually some1 standing at ground level when the ball spilled from a marking contest. would have set up at least 3-4 goals in addition to the ones he kicked himself.
great to have him back.
Will be alot better for the run too... will be even more dangerous next week.
Grimreepah
22 Apr 2008, 10:30
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=58289)
If selected, Lions premiership player Ash McGrath will reach his 100th AFL game this Sunday afternoon against Melbourne at the Gabba. McGrath, who turns 25 next month, was drafted to the Lions from South Fremantle with Pick No.13 in the 2000 AFL National Draft.After playing only 10 matches in his first two seasons with the Club, McGrath enjoyed a breakthrough season in 2003 when he won the Lions’ Best Rookie Award and was an important member of the team’s premiership triumph over Collingwood.
Widely regarded as a dangerous small crumbing forward, McGrath was the Club’s second top goal-kicker in 2005 and kicked the third most goals at the Club in 2007 despite missing seven matches through injury.
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/3463/mcgrath2xb3.jpg
konstas_87
24 Apr 2008, 22:50
he's not playin :(
why was he dropped, i didnt see last wk's game but saw that he kicked two goals, obviously taking the scoring pressure off.
Grimreepah
25 Apr 2008, 17:50
Link (http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=58539)
Small forward Ashley McGrath has been omitted from the team that lost to Hawthorn by 12 points last week. The 24-year-old overcame an ankle injury which hampered his start to 2008.
"He's just not fit enough at the moment and we think he'll get fitter quicker in the reserves unfortunately," Matthews said. "We need his talent but we need him fit and well."
campbell
26 Apr 2008, 11:59
Link (http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=58539)
thats odd IMO.
He played well against hawthorn.
If he is still injured he should not be playing anywhere.
He gave us a crumbing option,,and he did his job well last week,
I reckon Lethal really wants Ash in there, but he's just not fit enough to go into the mid-field rotations yet.
We've got guys like Harding, Proud and Polks blitzing the twos and playing those forward crumbing roles- should give those boys a go first IMO.
But can't wait to see a fully fit Ash in a couple of weeks :thumbsu:
notting18
26 Apr 2008, 12:12
thats odd IMO.
He played well against hawthorn.
If he is still injured he should not be playing anywhere.
He gave us a crumbing option,,and he did his job well last week,
It is not that "odd" IMO. You need to remember that he missed a lot of the Pre-season, so being not-injured doesnt equal "fit" and he will get a lot more of a run into his legs in the 2s than in the 1s.
TheBrownDog
26 Apr 2008, 12:31
Both Ash's goals last week were from marks, not crumbs.
Hooper was doing some crumbing drills yesterday and boy he looked sharp. I still think he has potential to do that role.
Grimreepah
28 Apr 2008, 13:27
Link (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/news/afl/lions-must-improve-for-cats/2008/04/28/1209234713489.html)
Lions supporters will have to wait and see on the possible return of small forward Ashley McGrath. McGrath was expected to suit up for his 100th match last weekend before his surprise omission from Matthews' 25-man squad.
The 24-year-old responded to his axing by booting four goals in the reserves over the weekend.
But against him is the performance of crumbing forwards Rhan Hooper and Anthony Corrie who goaled 7.4 between them in the destruction of the Dees.
http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/224/mcgrath9be7.jpg
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=58687)
Ash McGrath took his omission from senior ranks on the eve of his 100th senior game squarely on the chin, working hard against close attention from one of Broadbeach’s best players over the season Nathan Lyons.
McGrath had to work for every kick, but did more and more damage as the game wore on.
He finished with four goals, including one late in the third term to give his side 21 points’ breathing space at the last change, and another midway through the final term that put the game out of reach.
McGrath also made some nice clearances in the second half after Broadbeach matched the Lions around the bounces.
notting18
1 May 2008, 21:37
I was reading the members' update email and realised I had forgotten that since McGrath has been selected for this week, he will play his 100th game.
Congrats Ash!
Cousin Jed
2 May 2008, 19:06
Interesting to hear McGrath say he was given a bit of a talking too by the leadership group for basically being overweight.
Grimreepah
2 May 2008, 23:33
Link (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/news/sport/mcgrath-finally-makes-100/2008/05/02/1209235144232.html)
McGrath finally makes 100
Roger Vaughan and Laine Clark
May 2, 2008 - 5:22PM
Ashley McGrath's relatives had booked their tickets and were all set to be at the 'Gabba last weekend to watch him play his 100th AFL match.
But McGrath's fitness levels and the Lions leadership foiled the family celebration.
McGrath revealed today he was dropped for his milestone game as punishment for letting his fitness slide.
He will return to the senior team for tomorrow's Skilled Stadium match against Geelong, meaning some hastily-revised travel plans for the McGrath family.
"I finally got there, it was a bit of a disappointment last week being dropped by Leigh, most of the family were booked ready to come up, so it was a bit of a rush for mum to come up from Tasmania to try and get to the game," McGrath said.
"It has been a long while coming, but I am looking forward to it.
"I was a bit undisciplined in my actions off the ground, I took it on the chin, there's no use crying about it.
"The leadership group sat me down, they were going to fine me for a while there but they decided to drop me for my 100th game.
"I went off and did plenty of work off the field and finally got things right ... my skin folds were a little bit too high, I was behind the eight ball in my fitness."
While not going into specifics, Brisbane coach Leigh Matthews confirmed McGrath had fallen foul of club-imposed guidelines.
"There were some parameters that we put in, last week he wasn't within them, this week he was," Matthews said.
After a bad run with injury through 2006 and 2007, McGrath returns to the team for his second senior game this season.
"It is a relief, I have pencilled it (100 games) in for a while now, a few injuries went against me, but I am just happy to get there," he said.
http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/3285/mcgrath4dn2.jpg
TheBrownDog
17 May 2008, 23:55
Anyone get an almost Chris Johnson circa 2002 vibe with some of Ash's running and weaving out of the backline tonight?
Great game Ash.
notting18
18 May 2008, 00:08
Great game Ash.
I was surprised to see him start down back, but I was certainly glad with the output. A really good performance from Ash!
Grimreepah
18 May 2008, 01:06
When in form McGrath is quite a clever player. He is good in difficult situations and he is dangerous when he runs with the ball. I prefer him in the midfield than up forward. He still looks less lean than in previous years but who cares if he plays like he did tonight.
whatboutbob
18 May 2008, 10:56
Anyone get an almost Chris Johnson circa 2002 vibe with some of Ash's running and weaving out of the backline tonight?
Great game Ash.
I popped into this thread to pose the exact same question. I thought he was a revelation down back last night.
Agreed whatboutbob. Mcgrath could be the missing ingredient in our back six. Early in the season we didnt appear to have anyone to play on the opposition's small, quick, clever forwards and generate a bit of run going the other way. Mcgrath's body language was really good. He looked like he really relished the challenge of the role.
The form and potential of Hooper means that Hooper is probably going to be our preferred small forward. And our mid-field rotation is looking stronger with Riska and Sherman's form improving. Mcgrath may have found a role that suits him and fits with the current team structure.
King of Torts
19 May 2008, 16:02
I popped into this thread to pose the exact same question. I thought he was a revelation down back last night.
I was gonna write the exact same post.
18 Possessions
83% efficiency
104 Champion Data Points (4th for the Lions)
5 Rebound 50's (equal first for the Lions)
Dashing game.....added some much needed run from half back.
I can't help comparing guys in our current team with our premiership heros.
Ash was very CJ-esque on Saturday night. I'd like to see him take a few kick ins :thumbsu:
Others my mates and I reckon are pretty similiar:
Rog - Mal
JBizzy - White
Hooper - McRae
Roe - Leppitsch (This one is a bit of a long straw, but Roe shows glimpses of the dash and flair that Leppa had)
Agreed whatboutbob. Mcgrath could be the missing ingredient in our back six. Early in the season we didnt appear to have anyone to play on the opposition's small, quick, clever forwards and generate a bit of run going the other way. Mcgrath's body language was really good. He looked like he really relished the challenge of the role.
The form and potential of Hooper means that Hooper is probably going to be our preferred small forward. And our mid-field rotation is looking stronger with Riska and Sherman's form improving. Mcgrath may have found a role that suits him and fits with the current team structure.
Ash to Milne?
Dylan12
19 May 2008, 21:34
Unless alot of you posters didn't see any of 2004, Ash's 19 games were almost exclusively played down back, so Leigh playing him there is nothing new, but a fantastic game played by Ash nonetheless.
chopperduck
20 May 2008, 08:00
Ash to Milne?
i think ash would have to be a shoe in for milne. he is the dangerman for the saints against us. need someone like ash to stick to him like glue up forward, and im sure ash could get the better of him running it out of defence. Milne is a sneaky lil player, but i dont think he is overly fast, not ash fast anyway.
King of Torts
20 May 2008, 08:49
i think ash would have to be a shoe in for milne. he is the dangerman for the saints against us. need someone like ash to stick to him like glue up forward, and im sure ash could get the better of him running it out of defence. Milne is a sneaky lil player, but i dont think he is overly fast, not ash fast anyway.
Don't think Ashley's defensive skills are good enough to take Milney. Not talking about tackling but spoiling & i suppose application to the job. He is better off not having an opponent who he has to worry too much about. That means he can concentrate attacking off half back. I think JMac will get the job on Milne.
So who gets milne? Selwood?? I think he had Murphy on Saturday niight. But you could only tell by looking at who was on Murphy at the start of each quarter. No one seemed to pick him up after that. Riska and Sherman have looked uncomfortable close to goal in defense. I would go with Begley if he was fit but he isnt. I agree with KoT that Ash in the past has looked like he didnt want the responsibility of negating the most potent small forward. I just though his attitude and application were great on Saturday night and he might have reached a new level in his career. Give him a go at milnee and we find out for sure.
chopperduck
21 May 2008, 08:02
Don't think Ashley's defensive skills are good enough to take Milney. Not talking about tackling but spoiling & i suppose application to the job. He is better off not having an opponent who he has to worry too much about. That means he can concentrate attacking off half back. I think JMac will get the job on Milne.
jmac is an option, but id rather see him not sticking to a man. milne is a crumber, so i dont think we need to worry bout ash spoiling. he just needs to stay close so milne doesn't have time to snap bullcrap goals crumbing off packs. ash is also fast enough to keep milne honest if he doesn't pay him enough respect.
whoever it is, they have to play close to him. we might want ash up forward to play as a defensive forward tho, to shut down any drive coming form the saints backs. really depends what team the saints field. have posted a similar post on the lions v saints thread, so this is a bit of a double up.
i think after last weeks performance, you gotta give him first crack as he was brilliant in the back half last week
Fairley
21 May 2008, 21:15
Personally i don't rate Milne one little bit, and i don't really care who goes to him. He'll pull shit out of his arse on the odd ocassion but he is hardly an AFL player.
Dylan12
21 May 2008, 23:35
Personally i don't rate Milne one little bit, and i don't really care who goes to him. He'll pull shit out of his arse on the odd ocassion but he is hardly an AFL player.
I am not one to stick up for opposition players, but that is utter crap. For a guy his size who almost averages 2 goals a game for nealy 150 games is very impressive, I don't think McRae even came close to that output, albeit slightly different players. IIRC Milne kicked 70 odd goals in a season which aint bad considering Ash's best is 35 odd. That would have to be the only time you will see me sticking up for a little bogan.
TheBrownDog
22 May 2008, 00:39
Seems to have improved his attitude and committment this year.
Ignore him at your peril.
chopperduck
22 May 2008, 07:57
thats the problem with milne. he is a sneaky player and wont really be a threat, but can kick goals out his ass. if you dont pay him attention, he can hurt you on the score board. and he has kicked a few goals so far this year. looks like nick might play, but milne is still the dangerman.
TheBrownDog
25 May 2008, 17:38
Another great game down back for Ash.
Limiting Milne to two goals is a win in my book, especially considering the rebound Ash gave us.
Begley might be concerned! I'm loving the pressure for senior spots at the moment.
Especially since those two were in trash time at the end.
notting18
25 May 2008, 21:06
Especially since those two were in trash time at the end.
and it was his 150th...
Grimreepah
1 Jun 2008, 21:46
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=60620)
McGrath puts his best foot forward down back
Simon White
1:17 PM Sun 01 June, 2008
SOMETIMES you have to go back to go forward – as Brisbane Lions utility Ash McGrath is currently proving.
In recent seasons McGrath has built a reputation as a fleet-of-foot goalsneak, kicking a personal-best 35 goals in 2005.
But an injury-plagued pre-season has resulted in a 2008 return to the backline, where he began his AFL career seven seasons ago.
McGrath had knee surgery late in the pre-season and then injured an ankle while on the comeback trail.
"This year I had those injuries and it meant that Nuxy (Anthony Corrie) and Rhan (Hooper) got their chance in the forward line and they’ve been doing a good job," McGrath said.
"Leigh gave me a shot back in defence and I’m enjoying it. You know the small forwards you play on are going to lead you to the ball and it’s a matter of sticking with it and running off them when you can to hit up a forward.
"I know as a forward how much Browny and Braddy love it when you are able to get the ball in quickly to them."
Saturday night’s 31-point victory over the Kangaroos was notable for several injury scares, with McGrath one of three Lions to end the game on the bench because of hamstring tightness.Then there was the frightening moment midway through the third term, when spearhead Jonathan Brown hobbled off with what at first looked to be a serious knee injury.
"I didn’t realise what had happened (to Brown) until the crowd clapped him off," McGrath said.
"That was when I had a look up to the big screen and saw him go down on the replay.
"I think we had enough blokes down there to cover – Mitch Clark went forward and Braddy was on fire again.
"I tried not to take too much notice but obviously he came back and looks all right so that’s really good for us."
http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/4760/mcgrathft6.jpg
McGrath looked like the best running back defender we have seen since Chris Johnson on Saturday night. What has surprised me is his penetrating kicking ability, the forwards would love him coming out of the back fifty.
Grimreepah
2 Jun 2008, 19:49
Link (http://news.smh.com.au/sport/lions-optimistic-about-injured-brown-20080602-2kri.html)
Brown was still expected to be racing the clock to be fit for this weekend - but Matthews seemed more concerned about Ash McGrath, describing him as "most unlikely".
Grimreepah
16 Jun 2008, 00:25
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=61511)
McGrath had the unenviable task of minding the in-form Jason Akermanis for most of the second half. Having matched up on him occasionally in training, McGrath was familiar with the former Lion’s game, but he said it counted for little. “It’s totally different to what happened today. When he played deeper I went to him, but when he went up the field I went to a few other guys,” he said.
“My form wasn’t that flash today. I played on a few different players early and then 'Aker' slipped me a few times and got a few goals.
“The Western Bulldogs are that type of team that, even if I had a metre on 'Aker', they’d still use him up because their kicking skills are really good and they always seem to find a target which makes it hard for defenders.”
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/4685/mcgrathpa7.jpg
To be honest I thought he did pretty well on Aker. Given we were getting flogged at different times and the fact that Aker only really needs half a chance to hurt the opposition, McGrath kept him relatively quiet compared to his form over the last couple of weeks.
I'd love to see a rematch with Lake and Murphy (both doubtful before the game) out and Bradshaw in. I think we would've had a chance.
Old Den
16 Jun 2008, 11:32
To be honest I thought he did pretty well on Aker. Given we were getting flogged at different times and the fact that Aker only really needs half a chance to hurt the opposition, McGrath kept him relatively quiet compared to his form over the last couple of weeks.
I'd love to see a rematch with Lake and Murphy (both doubtful before the game) out and Bradshaw in. I think we would've had a chance.
The rematch is in round 20 - come what may,it's important that we stick it to them in that game at the Gabba
Grimreepah
28 Jul 2008, 18:02
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=64301)
Ash McGrath collected a career-high 19 disposals last Saturday night against Richmond.
I'm surprised people were criticising him. I thought he had a great game.