View Full Version : 36. Shannon Watt
Melly017
22 Mar 2007, 10:37
The Official Shannon Watt thread for 2007, reported by Melly017.
Shannon Watt
http://www.theage.com.au/ffximage/2006/07/01/wbGALnorth1_gallery__281x400.jpg
Fast Facts
Jumper No: 36
Height: 193
Weight: 99
DOB: 26/11/1980
Recruited From: Hamilton/North Ballarat U18
Career Matches: 106
Career Goals: 8
2006 Home & Away Totals
Matches: 17
Goals: 4
Marks: 87
Disposals: 202
Kicks: 133
Take note Melly. I too will be keeping a keen eye on one Shannon Watt.
So far this preseason I've been impressed with Watt's ability to break out of the back line with blistering pace to only handpass the ball backwards.
Shannon, if you happen to read this, please, please kick the ball as far as you can if you're not sure what to do with it.
Melly017
22 Mar 2007, 16:25
Just make sure you unzip both eyelids on your gimp mask when you watch the footy Z.:D
AFL Website 2007 Kangaroos Preview
Shannon Watt - Likely to be relied upon by Laidley to fill important roles in both attack and defence. Consistency seems to be Watt's weakness. But his potential to be a game-breaker means he is an important player for the Kangaroos in their attempt to climb up the ladder this season.
Just make sure you unzip both eyelids on your gimp mask when you watch the footy Z.:D:D Will do.:thumbsu:
aftertheFALLoutboy
24 Mar 2007, 13:31
I beleive that Shannon Watt is one of the most Underrated players at the club, in the league for that matter.
giantroo
24 Mar 2007, 18:44
I beleive that Shannon Watt is one of the most Underrated players at the club, in the league for that matter.
Where is the world coming too? Is global warming having an effect on you? If it is, tell me so i can email the former Vice President of the USA so he can help you out!
Melly017
1 Apr 2007, 17:59
Round 1
Well after not being named and all the pre (and imm:p ) mature campers posting joy at Shannon not being named. Dean goes a pulls a late change. Lession 1 the named side is not the playing side.
He started on Maxwell on a hbf for 10mins, nil all draw. then ran with Thomas for 5, then moved onto Medhurst, who did kick a goal on him, however it happened while the team was still set up after a nth kick in. And came from a turnover in the midfield.
2qtr on maxwell again who had to work up the ground to get stats, Shannon had a bit of the ball, he was on Pendlebury for a 5mins and matched up on Davis aswell for a good 5. Was taken off with about 5 mins to go in the qtr.
3qtr Was on Thomas/medhurst/Thomas/Cloke. saved a goal in the goal square after the collingwood bloke fumbled.
4th qtr Back on Maxwell, did some good work, then somehow ended up on Lockyer and would be thanking simmo for a **** kick that created a turnover, and him being the nearest to lockyer at the time. Back on maxwell, great tackle on cloke, got a hand on a handball around the 50 mtr line that saved a scoring chance, great one handed work in the centre to set up another thrust forward.
Some good work in the last qtr, some bad checking, when running off people to help the midfield, which he has to do as a HBF. 13 disposals, 3 marks, 3 tackles. Did good work when on Maxwell, not the right match up for Thomas/Davis/Lockyer. Would like to see dean move him off or up the ground if he doesn't have the right match-up. Above team average for Champion Data. Not in our best 8, not in the worst 8.
Overall Score 6/10
gazzabell
2 Apr 2007, 05:54
the goal medhurst kicked on him came from a error in watt not manning up. you forgot to mention that medhurst had a shot 1 minute earlier from the exact same position but missed. watt stood off medhurst and allowed him to mark and then from the kick in went to the other side of the ground leaving medhurst unmarked. watt was terrible he cant tackle, guys of his size shouldnt have there tackles broken by smaller players and this happened to watt consistently on saturday. i would give him 2/10 he did take 1 good mark that did save a goal but he is a terrible player
KingyOrTheKing
2 Apr 2007, 12:13
I thought he did OK out there. He has at least improved his kicking on the crap that we saw in the pre-season games.
Round 1
Well after not being named and all the pre (and imm:p ) mature campers posting joy at Shannon not being named. Dean goes a pulls a late change. Lession 1 the named side is not the playing side.
He started on Maxwell on a hbf for 10mins, nil all draw. then ran with Thomas for 5, then moved onto Medhurst, who did kick a goal on him, however it happened while the team was still set up after a nth kick in. And came from a turnover in the midfield.
2qtr on maxwell again who had to work up the ground to get stats, Shannon had a bit of the ball, he was on Pendlebury for a 5mins and matched up on Davis aswell for a good 5. Was taken off with about 5 mins to go in the qtr.
3qtr Was on Thomas/medhurst/Thomas/Cloke. saved a goal in the goal square after the collingwood bloke fumbled.
4th qtr Back on Maxwell, did some good work, then somehow ended up on Lockyer and would be thanking simmo for a **** kick that created a turnover, and him being the nearest to lockyer at the time. Back on maxwell, great tackle on cloke, got a hand on a handball around the 50 mtr line that saved a scoring chance, great one handed work in the centre to set up another thrust forward.
Some good work in the last qtr, some bad checking, when running off people to help the midfield, which he has to do as a HBF. 13 disposals, 3 marks, 3 tackles. Did good work when on Maxwell, not the right match up for Thomas/Davis/Lockyer. Would like to see dean move him off or up the ground if he doesn't have the right match-up. Above team average for Champion Data. Not in our best 8, not in the worst 8.
Overall Score 6/10That's a fair assessment Melly.:thumbsu: I would have given him 5/10. Wasn't brilliant however he wasn't terrible either. Another ordinary performance from a guy who has played over 100 games for our club.
Devil Fish
7 Apr 2007, 13:07
202 disposals in 106 matches????? Surely not. Melly017, is that a typo????
Melly017
9 Apr 2007, 16:08
Round 2
Lot harder to watch match ups on the TV. Another S.Watt Game, not Great, not poor, make some basic skill errors when under no pressure. Got lots of the ball and made some good spoils, given the ease the ball was coming in at times, no one could get over to help Spud and we were beated on the one on ones. I though he was better last week, with his defending. Looked slow a couple of times.
Round 2 5/10
Average 5.5/10
Melly017
9 Apr 2007, 16:15
DF/Zondor, I notice that you didn't/haven't put your hand up to have a go at player watch:confused: were all the players taken????
Would love to see you have a go.
I though he played better yesterday than last week...
Devil Fish
10 Apr 2007, 06:49
DF/Zondor, I notice that you didn't/haven't put your hand up to have a go at player watch:confused: were all the players taken????
Would love to see you have a go.
I'd probably be accused of being too negative.
gazzabell
10 Apr 2007, 10:09
i wish i was doing shannon watt's reviews. he would be in the negatives. he is a dud and a waste of space, the only player on north's list i dont like. turnover king
Melly017
10 Apr 2007, 11:37
If you don't like gazzabell don't read it.:p. Very simple
gazzabell
10 Apr 2007, 12:36
ditto
Melly017
10 Apr 2007, 13:36
ditto
And miss out on such stunning comebacks as this, nah, I'll love reading this sort of quality posting. You make the board a better place. We need more supporters who hate players and judge them on there performance before they run out onto the oval. I look forward to another 20 weeks of you adding comments about a player you hate.
gazzabell
10 Apr 2007, 15:37
good cause thats what u will get. i only dislike 1 player in our club i dont bag anyone else only that dud. im only bagging him cause he deserves it, how many friggin chances can he have
Round 2
Lot harder to watch match ups on the TV. Another S.Watt Game, not Great, not poor, make some basic skill errors when under no pressure. Got lots of the ball and made some good spoils, given the ease the ball was coming in at times, no one could get over to help Spud and we were beated on the one on ones. I though he was better last week, with his defending. Looked slow a couple of times.
Round 2 5/10
Average 5.5/10I think you've summed it up nicely once again Melly.:thumbsu:
Another Average game. 5/10 for mine.
Would love to see you have a go.Didn't couldn't didn't know until I saw a thread from Star inviting me to have a look at the sub forum.
Devil Fish
11 Apr 2007, 11:27
Another fair assessment Melly017. Watt would've loved VCE where you just had to turn up to pass.
The Zebra
11 Apr 2007, 14:03
Watt really is so average with his disposal/decisions coming out of defence.
Either can't hit a target or chooses the wrong option and kicks to an unwinnable contest.
In saying that, is still needed in the team at the moment. Jesse Smith can hopefully get fit enough to be his direct replacement becuase his use of the ball coming out will be directly opposite. Watt is averaging 15 possessions - those 15 possessions in Smith's hands will make us a markedly better team.
gazzabell
11 Apr 2007, 14:47
spot on zebra his decision making is terrible, i dont care how quick they think he is he is hopeless - cant read the play
Devil Fish
11 Apr 2007, 20:28
Watt really is so average with his disposal/decisions coming out of defence.
Either can't hit a target or chooses the wrong option and kicks to an unwinnable contest.
Once again Zebs, we are on the same page.
Melly017
16 Apr 2007, 16:28
Round 3
Hard to judge this week. Watty had Buddy, not a easy task. Given he is given a licence to run midfield and F50. He stuck to his guns all day and ran with him well, he was always close to him and ran off a few times for no reward, should have ran backwards and go another 7 sh(tty stats.
Had he(Buddy) kicked well we are looking at 6 goals and one would say any forward who kicks 6 is BOG, 3 goals should get you into the best players.
The first was a handball over the top when watty had to go to cover Hales bloke, the second a mark on a good lead (I think, there was a mark that he took where Brown could have helped but didn't make the contest), no pressure from the middle, hit him on the nipples, nothing you can do, the third a great goal, Shannon went to ground in the pack(don't lose your feet, U14's stuff dean, like don't handball to a bloke standing still, but I'm going off track)
the ball came out few handballs, goal. So he was unlucky with some of the goals he had kicked on him. Buddy kicked a few points those came from set shots and had he kicked them his bog for mine.
Now he hit every target, won a few contested balls, made good space and linked a few times, with 12 odd stats. As stated in the paper he had the chance to kill buddy and didn't, at least he took the mark and put the ball forward.
Not our worse, not our best, some people have given him votes and for 3qtr he did beat buddy(luck with kicking aside). However three/three is a good return for a forward(Wish we had a few) and if forwards all kicked 3, 18 goals wins most games. Some would say 6 some 4 so I'll split the middle.
Round 3 - 5/10
Total - 16/30
Average - 5.3/10
gazzabell
17 Apr 2007, 10:11
your best report so far melly, watt wasnt as bad this week but i think it shows that he shouldnt be in our best 22 when he plays an ok game and his opponent probably still beats him on the day
rumour has it, watt dropped to tolkamore 2s this week??
Round 3
Hard to judge this week. Watty had Buddy, not a easy task. Given he is given a licence to run midfield and F50. He stuck to his guns all day and ran with him well, he was always close to him and ran off a few times for no reward, should have ran backwards and go another 7 sh(tty stats.
Had he(Buddy) kicked well we are looking at 6 goals and one would say any forward who kicks 6 is BOG, 3 goals should get you into the best players.
The first was a handball over the top when watty had to go to cover Hales bloke, the second a mark on a good lead (I think, there was a mark that he took where Brown could have helped but didn't make the contest), no pressure from the middle, hit him on the nipples, nothing you can do, the third a great goal, Shannon went to ground in the pack(don't lose your feet, U14's stuff dean, like don't handball to a bloke standing still, but I'm going off track)
the ball came out few handballs, goal. So he was unlucky with some of the goals he had kicked on him. Buddy kicked a few points those came from set shots and had he kicked them his bog for mine.
Now he hit every target, won a few contested balls, made good space and linked a few times, with 12 odd stats. As stated in the paper he had the chance to kill buddy and didn't, at least he took the mark and put the ball forward.
Not our worse, not our best, some people have given him votes and for 3qtr he did beat buddy(luck with kicking aside). However three/three is a good return for a forward(Wish we had a few) and if forwards all kicked 3, 18 goals wins most games. Some would say 6 some 4 so I'll split the middle.
Round 3 - 5/10
Total - 16/30
Average - 5.3/10I think you've summed it up nicely once again Melly.:thumbsu:
Another Average game. 5/10 for mine.
Devil Fish
19 Apr 2007, 08:42
Hey Melly017, here's a tip, just give Watt 5/10 for the next 19 games & you won't be far off the mark. For a guy who has been at the club for nearly 10 years & given ample opportunity, are repeated 5/10's good enough?
scottywiper
22 Apr 2007, 03:05
I thought he was very good tonight.
Helped out other defenders, made good position and cut off some crucial passes.
Had one bad kick, but really was very solid otherwise.
Melly017
26 Apr 2007, 08:18
Round 4
If nothing else Shannon has been consistent this year. Another game with some fair numbers, yet skill errors hurt him more this week than last week, 4 or 5 clangers, and missing some targets would finish off his good work in getting the ball.
Picked up some votes off some and called to be dropped(again) by others.
Once again for me not in the Top 8, not in the bottom 8. He is doing "just" each week. He not getting the best player/2nd best player down back anymore and needs to lift over the next few weeks. Should be asked to do more up the field/in the middle.
Round 4 - 5/10
Total - 21-40
Average - 5.25/10
Round 4
If nothing else Shannon has been consistent this year. Another game with some fair numbers, yet skill errors hurt him more this week than last week, 4 or 5 clangers, and missing some targets would finish off his good work in getting the ball.
Once again for me not in the Top 8, not in the bottom 8. He is doing "just" each week. He not getting the best player/2nd best player down back anymore and needs to lift over the next few weeks. Should be asked to do more up the field/in the middle.
Round 4 - 5/10
Total - 21-40
Average - 5.25/10
Consistently average.
Devil Fish
26 Apr 2007, 15:09
Round 4
Round 4 - 5/10
Total - 21-40
Average - 5.25/10
5/10 again. No surprse there.
Melly017
26 Apr 2007, 15:49
Judge Smails "Well, the world needs ditch diggers, too."
We can't have 22 Archers or Wells or Judd's, some players just need to do a job and the team can still win.
And for the 200,000 time, he doesn't pick himself, nor IMO, is there anyone that can come up to replace him. Smith when fit(we hope by 2010) should push him out of the side, now he's playing on the 3rd tall.
Judge Smails "Well, the world needs ditch diggers, too."
We can't have 22 Archers or Wells or Judd's, some players just need to do a job and the team can still win.
And for the 200,000 time, he doesn't pick himself, nor IMO, is there anyone that can come up to replace him. Smith when fit(we hope by 2010) should push him out of the side, now he's playing on the 3rd tall.
Watt will be out next week, hopefully.
Melly017
1 May 2007, 09:31
Round 5
another week where Shannon did his job and then didn't hurt the cats, his bloke(fit or not) did nothing that really hurt us. He was pick-pocketed which did cost a goal. I only watched on TV, saw him run up the field a few times, but really should have had Hawkins running all day. He was on Milburn for a while when Hawkins was off and I didn't see who else. Didn't turn the ball over this week his stats were clean. Playing as a full back in real terms. Wasn't in our top 12 this week, IMO, however gets more points for doing his job well. That's nothing against him we just had a lot of good players. Would really like to see him on a HHF for a while, think he would be a hard match up for alot of sides.
At the start of the game if you said he was only going to give up 1 goal, you would take it every week.
As a Full Back he should keep his spot, He should be kept in ahead of Brown however if Smith come in he will be in trouble and depending on Match ups could find himself on the bench more this week.
Round 5 - 6/10
Total 27-50
Average 5.4/10
year of the roo
2 May 2007, 02:36
Watt will be out next week, hopefully.
Nup, will play every game this year if he remains fit.
Devil Fish
2 May 2007, 07:19
His endurance is amazing. Has Watt ever been injured? Why is it that guys like Shane Clayton, Shannon Watt, Lance Picioane etc. never seem to get injured!
year of the roo
2 May 2007, 13:29
His endurance is amazing. Has Watt ever been injured? Why is it that guys like Shane Clayton, Shannon Watt, Lance Picioane etc. never seem to get injured!
Possibly the same reason that guys Like Adam Simpson, John Blakey and Brent Harvey also never seem to get injured.
Devil Fish
2 May 2007, 14:18
Possibly the same reason that guys Like Adam Simpson, John Blakey and Brent Harvey also never seem to get injured.
Which is?
And by the way, didn't Simmo have fractured ribs a year or so ago & Harvey stress fractures?
year of the roo
2 May 2007, 14:58
Which is?
And by the way, didn't Simmo have fractured ribs a year or so ago & Harvey stress fractures?
Can't recall them missing too many games. Maybe they are just real tough.
Not because hes good, only because we got jack down there.
Watt had another average game against the Swans. I give him 5 out of 10.
gazzabell
6 May 2007, 06:37
the turnover king was at it again against the swans, he was very lucky that goodes is out of form because he couldnt keep up with him and it was lucky that goodes couldnt kick straight.
Devil Fish
6 May 2007, 12:51
Watt's kick in the last quarter out on the wing was a disgrace, but he did provide a very effective handball at centre half back 5 mintues later. 5/10 for me.
Melly017
6 May 2007, 13:05
Round 6
Well as suggested:) Shannon spent more time on the bench during this game, due to fact that Jess smith, gibbo, Spud are all better options.
He spend time on O'Keefe,Goodes and Hall for a few moments. O'Keefe got heaps of ball, but in the back half and IMO didn't influence the game, either did Goodes. Running with Goodes isn't easy the bloke is a champion footballer. And is always the case, name another player in the side that can run with the O'Keefes, Goodes, Franklins of this world. Smith will when he gets more time. The one thing he is doing is following instructions. He follows his man and I would suggested that on the tracker his running last night would have been in the top 8 on the night. I would have moved him forward on Goodes as a defensive HFF.
He made one Turnover, :rolleyes:. He did some great work in the last qtr. In the real heat of the battle.
He is in trouble and the Watt knockers will be rejoicing at the fact that he will spend less time on the ground and in the side, unless he can do more. He needs to total stop his man or do more with the ball. Still does more for the side than Brown IMO. In our worse 5 on the night. Should play next week but I would think will be on the bench. And if Dean can't find over 40% game time for him, back to NB.
Round 6 - 4/10
Total 31/60
Average 5.1/10
Devil Fish
8 May 2007, 20:31
Another spot-on review Melly017. Cheers mate. Is Hale for Watt likely? Or even Thomas for Watt?
PS. Disappointed you did not give him 5/10.
Devil Fish
13 May 2007, 15:34
I'll save you the trouble Melly - 2/10 for Watt & his career is all but over.
Melly017
13 May 2007, 19:21
Round 7
Watching the game live I was thinking Shannon was going to get a 3. He was beaten a few times, then watching the replay, he zoned off his man 5 or 6 times to help out other defenders. And his blokes did nothing.
When stanton kicked the goal on him, Swallow was on him at that time, His blokes Johns and Laycock had no impact on the game. Laycock did kick a goal and it was more the kick in that had watty caught out. He was moved to Stanton in the last qtr, when the game was over and Sheedy was throwing all his best players on the night forward to try and buy a goal. The kicks his blokes did get were up in the midfield. Funny how the other sides don't try to play thru Watt bloke, given he is so bad.:rolleyes: Most defenders have goals kicked on them in AFL matches but some people have hard time in understanding that. Arch has goals kicked on him, so did Josh, so did Spud.
He was that bad that the coach couldn't bear to talk to him during the game and left him out there for 100% of the game. :rolleyes: If he had no match up or was getting beaten so badly, WHY would the coach leave him on the ground. I'll answer for those who can't grasp the concept, because it means he can leave Brown, Drew up forward, he can also play Jess(By 2) on blokes that will allow then to create for the team. We are winning due to our mid field and forward pressure. I'd be happy for Watt to be in our bottom 8 players every week when we are winning. Funny that when defenders play well, it means we they are getting alot of footy in the wrong half of the ground.
Did his job, again, passable.
Round 7 - 5/10
Total 36/70
Average 5.1/10
Devil Fish
13 May 2007, 20:07
Round 7
Watching the game live I was thinking Shannon was going to get a 3. He was beaten a few times, then watching the replay, he zoned off his man 5 or 6 times to help out other defenders. And his blokes did nothing.
When stanton kicked the goal on him, Swallow was on him at that time, His blokes Johns and Laycock had no impact on the game. Laycock did kick a goal and it was more the kick in that had watty caught out. He was moved to Stanton in the last qtr, when the game was over and Sheedy was throwing all his best players on the night forward to try and buy a goal. The kicks his blokes did get were up in the midfield. Funny how the other sides don't try to play thru Watt bloke, given he is so bad.:rolleyes: Most defenders have goals kicked on them in AFL matches but some people have hard time in understanding that. Arch has goals kicked on him, so did Josh, so did Spud.
He was that bad that the coach couldn't bear to talk to him during the game and left him out there for 100% of the game. :rolleyes: If he had no match up or was getting beaten so badly, WHY would the coach leave him on the ground. I'll answer for those who can't grasp the concept, because it means he can leave Brown, Drew up forward, he can also play Jess(By 2) on blokes that will allow then to create for the team. We are winning due to our mid field and forward pressure. I'd be happy for Watt to be in our bottom 8 players every week when we are winning. Funny that when defenders play well, it means we they are getting alot of footy in the wrong half of the ground.
Did his job, again, passable.
Round 7 - 5/10
Total 36/70
Average 5.1/10
I will take some of your points on board as I consider them to be valid. And I also consider your reason for editting to be valid. Cheers mate.
But I think 5/10 for Fri nite is too generous.
Devil Fish
20 May 2007, 00:46
Round 8 - -2/10
Melly017, I'm sorry, but if you give Watt anything above zero for his game tonite, you're kidding yourself. Awful performance tonite & surely that's it for him as a senior player at NM.
Surely there is a young guy in the 2's who could provide something more than Watt. He couldn't do any worse anyway.
gazzabell
21 May 2007, 10:06
No one can defend him this week, again terrible again dropped easy marks again created goals for the opposition. Scott Mcmahon looked 10 times the player watt is and it was his first game, jesus he has to get dropped this week doesnt he - surely
Devil Fish
21 May 2007, 13:34
No one can defend him this week, again terrible again dropped easy marks again created goals for the opposition. Scott Mcmahon looked 10 times the player watt is and it was his first game, jesus he has to get dropped this week doesnt he - surely
I have asked myself that question 27 times over the last 4 years & I have been disappointed on 24 of those occasions. But with Archer to come back, I'm tipping I won't be disappointed this week.
na give the guy some credit, anyone who plays 100 percent game time, has 7 disposals and 6 of em clangers, is a hero in my books haha
Melly017
21 May 2007, 21:16
Round 8
Already enough said this week. Not a good game skill wise.
I'll repeat what I said last week
"He was that bad that the coach couldn't bear to talk to him during the game and left him out there for 100% of the game. If he had no match up or was getting beaten so badly, WHY would the coach leave him on the ground. I'll answer for those who can't grasp the concept, because it means he can leave Brown, Drew up forward, he can also play Jess(By 2) on blokes that will allow then to create for the team. We are winning due to our mid field and forward pressure. I'd be happy for Watt to be in our bottom 8 players every week when we are winning. Funny that when defenders play well, it means we they are getting alot of footy in the wrong half of the ground.
When a side kicks 20 goals, not many backline players have played well.
He had a few mates......none as poor. I'll give him 1, as his blokes didn't kill us and you should get a point for breaking thru the banner:eek:
NEEDS A CHANGE Either "Forward or on a wing", "Play him on the best player out there" or NB.
And before the gallery starts he does get the job on good players. Lance may be fat, but he is a better than good player. He was on Brown for at least one of those goals.
And as Brownie said this week, we don't always know the role he has to play. Maybe he was told to stuff up:o
The Ice is thin, a spell did him well last year.
Round 8 - 1/10
Total 37/80
Average 4.6/10
Melly017
21 May 2007, 21:28
na give the guy some credit, anyone who plays 100 percent game time, has 7 disposals and 6 of em clangers, is a hero in my books haha
Clangers are not all from Disposals, lamber.
He had a very poor 43% effective disposals. On a side that had 80% Not very good.
Devil Fish
22 May 2007, 08:45
I reckon you've got the toughest job in footy Melly017. Your reviews of Watt's games have been pretty good, well done mate. The only thing I disagree with is this notion that Watt needs to play up the ground or even up forward. Over the 100+ games I've seen him play, he has given me no indication that he would capable of playing such positions. I just don't think the guy can play. Period.
He may well be able to play forward DF, but the fact that he wouldnt do a better job then either of Brown, Petrie, Edwards or Thompson is why he shouldnt be played there...
Devil Fish
23 May 2007, 15:12
He may well be able to play forward DF, but the fact that he wouldnt do a better job then either of Brown, Petrie, Edwards or Thompson is why he shouldnt be played there...
I'll take that on board.
Melly017
23 May 2007, 16:53
Spud came to the club as an onballer, Brown as a CHB/FB, Hamish as a full Forward, Jess Smith as a CHB, Rawlings as an onballer(no tagging). There are lots of examples of players changing roles. The Doctor/Crock/Floss/Horse.
Shannon was a forward.
He will do a better job as a forward than Thompson who can't play at present.
He shouldn't replace Brown or Drew as they are playing a key position roles. Pack Busting take the CHB and FB. Edwards works hard as a running forward offering a lead.
Shannon would provide a difficult match up for other sides. With Grant, Jones, Boomer, LT and Cambell as getting runs on the ball. You would need three talls to cover drew, brown and Edwards. Grant and Jones win a lot of play in the air up forward as they are good in the air against the 4th or 5th options.
A bit like Crock and the doctor during the 90's. they got the 3rd player are Carey/Corey/Horse.
Why do you think Shannon gets the Franklin, Lance, Laycock, Goodes, O'Keefes, Thomas, Medhurst, Hawkins, Milburns. Some of these blokes were key positions some weren't. They are all different kinds of players. Coaches are trying to creat mismatches.
P.S You could make a fair forward line out of the blokes he has played on this year.
Mr Reliable
23 May 2007, 21:03
The one thing most of the named players have that Shannon lacks at times is the ability to keep their eye on the ball under extreme pressure. He drops marks and double grabs when the ball is on the ground as a consequence.
As a forward he would be too easily pushed out of the way by most of his opponents. That's another one of his deficiencies.
But he must be doing something right, as Melly says. He plays nearly 100% of every game and we keep on winning. He might be in trouble when we finally lose one.
Briedis
27 May 2007, 23:44
Any newson how he went in the VFL this week Melly?
Not sure about his ability to go forward, not a great kick at goal. But understand your point on match ups, plus he is quick for his size.
Melly017
28 May 2007, 08:04
no VFL this weekend Arnie.
Devil Fish
29 May 2007, 16:11
Thought the back-line functioned quite nicely without Watt against a pretty talented Melbourne forward-line on Sunday. Did not miss him at all IMO. Hale was just as bad anyway.
8/10
For his performance on Kosi/
gazzabell
12 Jun 2007, 07:26
easily watts best game for the year, the reason why is cause we didnt notice him, he didnt have any turnovers and only had 1 goal kicked on him, alot better job this week by watt
Melly017
13 Jun 2007, 18:57
Round 11
Better week than the last time he played.
With Gibbo out came in and played a good team role. No beaten by his man.
Still St.kilda didn't kick the ball well anywhere.
Still needs to do more with assets he has and the time we have all put into him. Lets hope he has turned a corner. The side can only get better if he plays his role.
Round 11 - 7/10
Total 44/90
Average 4.8/10
HongKongRoo
13 Jun 2007, 20:06
Watt was quite composed in the air this week, perhaps he's been watching gibbo show him how it's done
Devil Fish
17 Jun 2007, 20:43
Round 12 was a better game by the great man. Won a bit of contested ball albeit against a pretty poor opponent. Was OK overhead also. Still clocked up several clangers though. Certainly not our worst player on the night & unfortunately, we are stuck with him for the season whether we like it or not.
Melly017
19 Jun 2007, 20:28
Round 12
In a game where no backman really played well, he was on Par, had a few kicked on him, couldn't really do anything about stopping them, no one could with no midfield pressure. He won a few great contests in the 2 qtr, with the right match up, put with Drew and Spud both getting beaten he was moved around a fair amount, off in the last 15 mins maybe the coach not happy? I'm given him a 6 as he did win a bit of his own ball.
Round 12 - 6/10
Total 50/100
Average 5/10
Melly017
3 Jul 2007, 18:38
Round 13
Beat his man, unlucky to have Johnson kick any. Didn't get alot of ball, however his job was to watch Johnson, one of the times he did run off to create, there was a turnover and BJ kicked a goal. Did his job.
Round 13 - 7/10
Total 57/110
Average 5.2/10
Devil Fish
4 Jul 2007, 09:59
Round 13
Beat his man, unlucky to have Johnson kick any. Didn't get alot of ball, however his job was to watch Johnson, one of the times he did run off to create, there was a turnover and BJ kicked a goal. Did his job.
Round 13 - 7/10
Total 57/110
Average 5.2/10
You're right Melly017, it was one of his better efforts. Sure, he beat his man but really, how many one-on-one contests were there? Our midfield stifled BJ's supply. Watt's dropped chest mark at the Punt Rd end & his inabilty to read the ball & keep his feet when BJ kicked his miracle goal at the Ponsford end were be-dazzling.
Melly017
9 Jul 2007, 20:21
Round 14
Beat his men, well. Picked up 13 stats and was 100% effective. He was outmarked in one contest after a well delivered pass, from Richo. Showed an amazing amount of guts by jumping in front of Richo in the first qtr, got up and went on. For mine his best game of the year, yet some peanuts still call for him to be dropped. WATCH THE GAME. Most players make mistakes, if you dropped players for dropping marks, not spoiling a mark, missing a target or kicking point you would need 700 players on your list.
Round 14 - 7.5/10
Total 64.5/120
Average 5.4/10
Melly017
17 Jul 2007, 20:42
Round 15
Beat his man, however Chris was still in the best players for his side? Picked up a few stats and was 100% effective. 2nd week in a row. Looks better every week with his hands, taking a few steps and blokes running pass. In the votes with some people and I'm sure the coach would have been happy with his days work.
Round 15 - 8/10
Total 72.5/130
Average 5.6/10
Weird times when 8/10 can be considered as harshly treating Watt. Best game he's played for the club by a mile.
Happy Days!:thumbsu:
gazzabell
18 Jul 2007, 06:37
Cant believe people had him in there votes, fair dinkum what about the goal he gave up in the first quarter when he over run the ball 5 metres from the goal square, simple stuff that a kid in under 11's wouldnt stuff up. This was not the best game he played for the club, he has actually managed 1 good game and that was 2 years ago when we played west coast at subiaco they pantsed us and watt was the only one that played well that day
Mr Reliable
18 Jul 2007, 16:52
I haven't kept records, but it seems to me that he plays nearly 100% of nearly every game. Someone whose opinion REALLY matters thinks he's doing OK then.
Having watched Shannon pretty closely since I saw him standing a very young Thommo in a reserves game against the Dawks at Waverley in ??? I reckon he is always going to make a glaring mistake here and there (who doesn't?).
Overall, however, he's earning his spot and making a valuable contribution. His form recently has been very good as Melly's ratings would suggest.
Melly017
18 Jul 2007, 17:12
Its a thankless task up in the backline Mr Reliable, you make a mistake with a ball that doesn't always bounce the way you would expect and you cop it. Do something good in the forward line you get in the best players, mistakes don't count in the middle or up forward.
However its makes some peoples day to point out one mistake around 15 or 16 good things.
I'm sure Shannon will make another one this week just to keep the boys happy.
Mr Reliable
18 Jul 2007, 17:19
Its a thankless task up in the backline Mr Reliable, you make a mistake with a ball that doesn't always bounce the way you would expect and you cop it. Do something good in the forward line you get in the best players, mistakes don't count in the middle or up forward.
However its makes some peoples day to point out one mistake around 15 or 16 good things.
I'm sure Shannon will make another one this week just to keep the boys happy.
I was thinking the same thing when Ed Lower shrugged three tackles in the dying stages on Sunday:thumbsu: and then kicked the ball straight to a Docker:thumbsd:.
Devil Fish
19 Jul 2007, 08:59
Best game Watt has played for NMFC. Maybe big guys do take time? Hopefully he can string 2-3 good games together before he puts another 9 disasters together.
Melly017
23 Jul 2007, 14:25
Round 16
Beat his bloke AGAIN, the fact that his bloke was playing a milestone game makes it ever better. Robbo kicked 2, one from a poor free kick(great kick from Robbo too) and one from a off-break bounce(Missed a few ones he should have got). got alot of the ball, took some good grabs. Gave away a few free's some of which IMO were just there. Shocking hands in the centre, caused a turnover, but shouldn't had had the ball in the first place. We were all a bit cute for a few moments during the game, over using the footy. Donald Mac had him in his top 3, so it goes to show how importent the coaches rate robbo and what a great job Watty did.
Round 16 - 8/10
Total 80.5/140
Average 5.75/10
Mr Reliable
23 Jul 2007, 14:40
Round 16
Beat his bloke AGAIN, the fact that his bloke was playing a milestone game makes it ever better. Robbo kicked 2, one from a poor free kick(great kick from Robbo too) and one from a off-break bounce(Missed a few ones he should have got). got alot of the ball, took some good grabs. Gave away a few free's some of which IMO were just there. Shocking hands in the centre, caused a turnover, but shouldn't had had the ball in the first place. We were all a bit cute for a few moments during the game, over using the footy. Donald Mac had him in his top 3, so it goes to show how importent the coaches rate robbo and what a great job Watty did.
Round 16 - 8/10
Total 80.5/140
Average 5.75/10
Good summary, Melly. He gave us plenty of run, didn't fumble and spent 100% of the game on the ground, again.
He did give Moloney a goal...
Round 16
Round 16 - 8/10
Total 80.5/140
Average 5.75/10
Good summary. Watt really impressed me against Robbo. His closing speed was excellent and even his footskills were decent :eek:
Devil Fish
30 Jul 2007, 18:03
Is in career-best form. Is always going to make 3-4 fundamental errors per game usually involving poor decision making under pressure of which 1-2 will cost us a goal BUT he is at least contributing now.
Melly017
30 Jul 2007, 18:37
Round 17
Beat his bloke "AGAIN". Has in the past dropped his guard when playing on a "new player". So well done watty. Franklin would have been a harder task. Made a few skill errors, one of which cost a goal. He went to help Spud and his bloke peeled off for a goal, unlucky. Beating his blokes in more one on one balls. Keep up the great work. geee its looks better when the midfield applies some pressure. Showing some skill with Foot:eek:
Round 17 - 7.5/10
Total 88/150
Average 5.9/10
Devil Fish
30 Jul 2007, 21:16
Round 17
Beat his bloke "AGAIN". Has in the past dropped his guard when playing on a "new player". So well done watty. Franklin would have been a harder task. Made a few skill errors, one of which cost a goal. He went to help Spud and his bloke peeled off for a goal, unlucky. Beating his blokes in more one on one balls. Keep up the great work. geee its looks better when the midfield applies some pressure. Showing some skill with Foot:eek:
Round 17 - 7.5/10
Total 88/150
Average 5.9/10
Well put.
Melly017
6 Aug 2007, 09:28
Round 18
Poor game, had mates, if you could say anything in his defence it would be he was at least holding on to the footy trying to find the right option. At least he had the ball to turn it over/make skill errors/get caught. He did beat his bloke in a few one on ones. Once again he was out there for 100% of the game.
I'm sure we had no one else to move around the backline, to at least try something different, but I'm not in the box. Some games you just don't get the right bounce/ump calls/ nothing goes right. We were lucky they didn't kick goals, it would have been a 100 pts flogging
If I was, I'm not sure as to why L.Brown is never given a job on big name forwards. Or at least told to fill the zone in front of Brown as Arch would have done.
Watt has some credit over the last month and will be needed next week as you can't play boys on men. Note to coach pick a side with some size.
Round 18 - 2/10
Total 90/160
Average 5.6/10
gazzabell
13 Aug 2007, 12:39
Great to see the man at it again, letting hansen run straight past him to run in and kick a banana goal instead of sheep dogging him to the boundary line. God we need to get some backmen to our club so we can get rid of this muppet
Melly017
13 Aug 2007, 14:47
Great to see the man at it again, letting hansen run straight past him to run in and kick a banana goal instead of sheep dogging him to the boundary line. God we need to get some backmen to our club so we can get rid of this muppet
So he attacked the bloke and he got around him, if he had of sheep dogged him to the line and still kicked a goal you and the other experts would have said "he should have attacked the bloke, at least then he would have had to kick on his wrong foot or had a running banana shot, gee blokes don't ever kick them."
He went to man with the ball and tried to stop him from kicking it, and your calling him a muppet. Thank god we have people like you who point out all the things us bozo's would miss.
And yes we do need some backmen, blame the coaching panel for not having your smarts to see all.
Like Hay not wanting to play, Thommo doing his knee(forcing Drew up forward), Gibbo falling over, Brown being in his best form ever, The coach not playing Edwards when we are screaming out for a forward, who isn't a HHF or a FP or a Backman/Ruckman. Gee then Drew can go back or sh(t even Hale might be worth a try.
But lets "get rid of him" and play WHO in the backline. I know Harding or how about Lower, Urchy, both of them would beat Hansen. Quick ring Dean and boys I've worked it out.
Watt is a limited footballer, he is being asked to play on forwards who are smarter and in some cases bigger or smaller than him.
Hansen is a star, Watt is not. To break even is a big win, he didn't.
His got more work to do next week, unless you can find another person who can do a better job.
Melly017
13 Aug 2007, 15:01
Round 19
His bloke beat him, he played too loose, (Backline coach tell him to man up, don't run off to create links, just stand next to his bloke, the whole game) Never mind the fact that Hansen was dropping off the back and it was a skill turnover that had the ball in his hand from our midfield. That's still Watt's problem!
He did give him too much space at times and "IF" he was told to play like that fine, but you boys got it wrong, if he wasn't doing as he was told, drag him and drop him.
We need S.Watt to play, but please draft another big backman next year. Even if just to have these peanuts start threats on some new players next year. PLEASE NEV its boring.
Round 18 - 3/10
Total 93/170
Average 5.5/10
Mr Reliable
13 Aug 2007, 16:41
You're a tougher marker IMO but I do enjoy reading your reviews.
The ball came in on a platter a hell of a lot and, whilst I agree that Shannon lowered his colours, he was far from disgraced. Nor did he drop his bundle despite being caught out a few times by teammates who made skill errors downfield.
Hanson was also the beneficiary of a couple of extremely dubious decisions.
Once again he was on the ground for most of the time and on the same opponent for most of the game. Despite low marks /10 for his past two games I'd be shocked if he is dropped this week.
Devil Fish
13 Aug 2007, 16:45
You're a tougher marker IMO but I do enjoy reading your reviews.
The ball came in on a platter a hell of a lot and, whilst I agree that Shannon lowered his colours, he was far from disgraced. Nor did he drop his bundle despite being caught out a few times by teammates who made skill errors downfield.
Hanson was also the beneficiary of a couple of extremely dubious decisions.
Once again he was on the ground for most of the time and on the same opponent for most of the game. Despite low marks /10 for his past two games I'd be shocked if he is dropped this week.
Watt ain't gonna get dropped.
gazzabell
14 Aug 2007, 12:54
You obviously havent played much footy have you melly or have much understanding of the game, if watt sheep dogs hansen to the boundary line he would have had to kick the ball 55 metres from the boundary line he wouldnt have been able to do that. You get taught this method of sheep doggin in under 11's. What about the mark he dropped running back with the flight? Kudos for effort but in the end he should have marked it. How come a guy like pratt who has had to work so hard to make it in afl can make all the right decisions but yet a parrot like watt cant after over 10 seasons in the system? Like i said melly we need to recruit some decent backmen (tall, strong body types) so it can release guys like firrito and smith to give us more rotations through the midfield. No need to get into a slanging match with me, you have your opinion and i have mine on watt, i think we just have to agree to disagree about watt as a player.
Watt ain't gonna get dropped.
Unfortunately true. He should after a performance like that.
Melly017
14 Aug 2007, 16:19
You obviously havent played much footy have you melly or have much understanding of the game, if watt sheep dogs hansen to the boundary line he would have had to kick the ball 55 metres from the boundary line he wouldnt have been able to do that. You get taught this method of sheep doggin in under 11's. What about the mark he dropped running back with the flight? Kudos for effort but in the end he should have marked it. How come a guy like pratt who has had to work so hard to make it in afl can make all the right decisions but yet a parrot like watt cant after over 10 seasons in the system? Like i said melly we need to recruit some decent backmen (tall, strong body types) so it can release guys like firrito and smith to give us more rotations through the midfield. No need to get into a slanging match with me, you have your opinion and i have mine on watt, i think we just have to agree to disagree about watt as a player.
I've played heaps, never made one mistake, not one:)
Question my football smarts when you know who I am and what I've done both as a footballer and as a watcher of the game ok gazzabell. Don't slag me and then say don't get in a slanging match. I put my "understanding" up every week.
In all your posts bagging Watt, not once have you put "your smarts" on the table, you just point out the mistakes he makes. My 9 year old girl, who doesn't go to the footy every week can point them out. You only come on this board to bag Watt. Even the fish/zondor offer more on other topics.
My opinion on Watt is based as a "player" week in week out.
I "think" Eddie can't play footy, but I think I'm smart enough to understand he has next week to show me up. Dean thinks he does, last week he did. I hope he does more this week and thats where we are different.
Even if Watt plays well you have stated you hate him, doesn't matter if he is best on ground you mind is made up. You judge him on mistakes, not on his job, the two are different. I don't call my players muppets, to me it puts down the jumper. That must be you showing your super footy understanding.
Even the fish/zondor offer more on other topics.Thanks, I think.:D