Scott McMahon

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q209/rats_clacka/smc.jpg

Fast Facts
Jumper No: 42
Height: 184
Weight: 83
DOB: 02/06/1986
Recruited From

Watch out for Scott to put in a solid performance for Tassie on the weekend. Hopefully we can see him pressing for senior selection early in the season.

Ted
22nd March 2007, 21:13
AFL Website 2007 Kangaroos Preview

Scott McMahon - The athletic midfielder represented South Australia at Under-18 level in 2004 and won VFL affiliate club Port Melbourne's reserves best and fairest in 2005, which led to his elevation to the Kangaroos' senior list last year. McMahon's consistency while playing for Tasmania in the VFL last season has given him another opportunity to prove himself at AFL level.

Mr. Blonde
7th April 2007, 23:08
Thanks to 75779699_06070809 for this report
Scott McMahon. Good solid game. Was tagging No 2 from Bombers early. I suspect in Brady Rawlings like fashion would have got very high mark from the coaches for this game. Decision making under pressure needs work. Seemed to be carrying some sort of leg injury but still ran the game out well.

He was also named amongst the best in a 5 goal win, so all signs are looking good for Scott.

Mr. Blonde
4th May 2007, 16:34
Getting closer to a senior game now. Named as an emergency for the first time. I do hope he gets a game (unlike some), as I believe he shouldn't be judged before he's even made his debut.

A good game for Tasmania this week should see him close again for next week.

wooostace
27th May 2007, 17:10
Reminds me a bit, strangely, of Roger Hayden. Has composure and time.

duckboy
29th May 2007, 16:30
What are his prospects for staying in the side longer term this season? Haven't seen him play yet.

Woodson
31st May 2007, 19:59
Billy has that Ben Buckley calibre game about him. Doesn't panic, uses ball well, reads the play and is aware of the situation around him. Celebrates his 21st b'day on Saturday @ Subiaco. Onya Billy. :thumbsu:

Big Member
22nd June 2007, 14:22
I'll fess up and say that I'm interested in this kid from a Supercoach perspective...

Where is he at?

Surprised he was dropped. Seemed to have made quite a good impression. It looks like most North fans would prefer to see him in the team ahead of a couple of other guys at the moment?

HeLMie
22nd June 2007, 16:52
Definately not a supercoach prospect.. You're better off going with Gray or Westoff from Port who are all but assured a game for the remainder of the season...

hotdish
26th June 2007, 20:46
Definately not a supercoach prospect.. You're better off going with Gray or Westoff from Port who are all but assured a game for the remainder of the season...

Hows he been going in the VFL - haven't heard much about him lately. Woulda thought he'd get more games with Gibson out.

Mr. Blonde
13th July 2007, 16:52
Well done Scotty on your rising star nomination. All signs look to him having a solid career. He is a good mark, a good kick, is a good size and looks to be the type of player who would be hard to match up on. He also looks capable of playing forward or back. Should be a certain starter for the rest of the season.

Rooboy 34
15th July 2007, 20:29
Scotty has been the surprise packet this season. I certainly didn't rate him and was surprised when he was promoted, but he has been great. He has good skills, composure, time and courage - hopefully a long career in the blue & white stripes to come...

dmac_55
16th July 2007, 00:14
Anyone else catch his interview on tv following the nomination?

Seemed in awe of Arch when he entered the club. What a role model for Scotty to have.

Huge fan of him, used to enjoy watching him play basketball, but seems he is also an adequate footballer ;).

Hope he holds his spot for the remainder of the season. What a gun :thumbsu:

1jasonoz
16th July 2007, 09:11
The really good part is opposition supporters who derided us for our young talent coming through are now asking where the hell they are coming from; Scotty, Swallow, Monster, Lower, Thomas, Campbell, Smith etc etc.

Good times ahead.

wooostace
14th August 2007, 23:36
Quickly becoming my favourite player, just has something special about him. Could easily become a 45-50 goal per year medium forward, has shown all the attributes.

Bryceson
20th December 2007, 11:23
what do u reckon will be the go with scott for 2008? i havent seen alot of him but have heard good things. will he get a regular spot?

Mr Reliable
21st December 2007, 10:58
what do u reckon will be the go with scott for 2008? i havent seen alot of him but have heard good things. will he get a regular spot?

Yes. He will play up forward a bit in a mainly defensive role and my guess is he will spend more time in the midfield. In particular, he will become Dean Laidley's 'go to' man on troublesome opposition smalls and mids.

I reckon Scotty is going places. I've admired him ever since the game where he copped a nasty, snipey one in the head/neck and instead of limping off he recovered enough to take his kick, slotted the goal from about 45m and celebrated with his mates (no mouthing off at the opponent, just thinking of the team).

Bryceson
21st December 2007, 13:15
Yes. He will play up forward a bit in a mainly defensive role and my guess is he will spend more time in the midfield. In particular, he will become Dean Laidley's 'go to' man on troublesome opposition smalls and mids.

I reckon Scotty is going places. I've admired him ever since the game where he copped a nasty, snipey one in the head/neck and instead of limping off he recovered enough to take his kick, slotted the goal from about 45m and celebrated with his mates (no mouthing off at the opponent, just thinking of the team).
awesome.......thanks mate

SweetLeftFoot
21st December 2007, 20:25

Yep, he's got Mr Fixit written all over him. Also one of those characters that a really good - premiership team - needs in that he's a rung below the real guns but pops up when you need him.

Mr. Blonde
25th June 2008, 12:19
Not much to write about Scott this year. He seems to have stagnated a bit after his excellent year last year. It was interesting to read what Laidley said about him in the Hun on the weekend. Aparantly Scott turned up to pre-season overweight and just expected things to happen. It looks like Laidley is making him do the hard work to get a regular spot in the side.

Hopefully this is a bit of a kick-in-the-pants for Scott. He seems to possess a great deal of natural talent but obviously he has to work on other areas.

What does the future hold? Lets hope Scott can get another couple of games later this season, have a huge pre-season, and then become a 10 year player for North.

kool kangas
25th June 2008, 22:47
From reports l've heard Scott and Dean are still not seeing eye to eye yet things were getting better but went backwards not to long ago, hence the extra time in the VFL.

l'm a great fan of Scotts but you must be professional in your job. Scott needs to understand that.

ben.carbonaro
28th June 2008, 00:42
I thought Scott's performance for us down in Tassie last weekend was a good one and if he can back it up with a few more like it, a spot back in the AFL side beckons.

Good to see him named as an emergency for the game this weekend.

kool kangas
28th June 2008, 22:23
I thought Scott's performance for us down in Tassie last weekend was a good one and if he can back it up with a few more like it, a spot back in the AFL side beckons.

Good to see him named as an emergency for the game this weekend.

From some reports its not his game that is stopping him from getting a game but his attitude. It seems he and Dean have had words which is stopping him from getting in.

ben.carbonaro
29th June 2008, 23:18
Another good game with Werribee today as he amassed 20 disposals, 3 tackles, 2 blocks and 2 spoils.

Not far away from an AFL game again I think.

ben.carbonaro
6th July 2008, 23:19
Had another good game today with 21 disposals, 3 tackles, 2 blocks, 3 spoils and a handy two goals.

Deserves to be recalled.

Mr. Blonde
11th August 2008, 16:30
Has shown some fantastic signs over the last 2 weeks. He seems to have so much natural footballing ability. Also, I'd just about rate him as the best set shot for goal at North.

kool kangas
12th August 2008, 20:00
Scotts a very hard player to match up on. He's got good hands (can mark either high or on a lead), has a good engine for endurance, can kick acurately with either foot, can lead quite quckly and has a good football brain. He's also very quiet and not outspoken like a lot of players. He lets his footy do his talking. l know its still early stages in his footy carreer but could he be another "Robert Harvey" type player.?