View Full Version : 7. Adam Simpson
Paulkanga2000
22nd March 2007, 17:15
About
A Captain that always sets the perfect example and plays with wonderful commitment. Had his 2005 season interrupted by a foot injury and a punctured lung, but missed only two games. One of the most productive midfielders in the competition, he was fourth in the 2005 best and fairest and managed to shut down some of the best runners in the AFL while still being an extremely effective player himself.
Records
(as at the completion of the 2006 season)
Games: 242 (Finals – 17)
Goals: 70 (5)
Brownlow Medal: 2005 votes 7; career votes 42
Player honours:
Premiership sides 1996, 1999
Best and fairest 2002
3rd best and fairest 2001, 03, 04
All-Australian 2002
Pre-season Premiership side 1998
International Rules Series 2002, 2003
AFL Rising Star 1996
Captain 2004-Present
Draft history: 1993 National AFL Draft 1st round selection (Kangaroos) No. 14 overall.
Ted
22nd March 2007, 21:13
AFL Website 2007 Kangaroos Preview
Adam Simpson - This will be the inspiring midfielder's 13th year of AFL senior football. At the age of 31, the Kangaroos captain will be a valuable mentor for the team's recruits.
Devil Fish
19th April 2007, 08:59
Simpson's year has been quite good. Continues to get the ball & provide contests. His disposal & lack of pace still let him down occasionally. Pretty much as expected from Simmo. Still frustrates me that he cannot sprint.
Round 3 - 6.5/10
Season average - 7/10
Career average - 7.2/10
Video Profile
http://bigpondguide.com/KANG0407_1> AFL Video: Player Profile - Adam Simpson
juzlyboy
2nd July 2007, 13:03
Absolute gun and underrated in the afl. Top 6 in possessions is a sign that he still has run in his legs to come.
seekthesnitch
11th January 2008, 14:29
im a kanagaroo suppoerter using a mates log in.
Do u think simmo will be as good to us this year as he has been throughout his stellar career. we cant rest him in the foward line because see him being a foward line player. so i reckon there might be alot of bench time for this man this year.
The big ROObowski
11th January 2008, 14:58
im a kanagaroo suppoerter using a mates log in.
Do u think simmo will be as good to us this year as he has been throughout his stellar career. we cant rest him in the foward line because see him being a foward line player. so i reckon there might be alot of bench time for this man this year.
Well no one with 'that' kick should be in the forward line, but he's still a ball magnet and great leader of the team. I think that he will take more bench time as we have a lot of hard at it mids coming through but he is still a vital part of the starting 22 and if anything i can see him going to HBF now and again.
P.S. Get your own account.:D
NICK_ROOBOY83
21st January 2008, 15:30
I'll be keeping track of Simmo this season:thumbsu:
NICK_ROOBOY83
25th March 2008, 23:20
Round 1,
North Melbourne Vs Essendon,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Kicks:13
Handballs: 11
Marks: 5
Inside 50's: 6
Clangers: 4
Tackles: 0
Clearances: 4
Contested Poss: 8
Uncontested Poss: 16
Efficiency: 63%
Time on ground: 91%
These were just some of the stats i could find.
Average game for most if not all of our mids & Simmo would probably rank this one in that category. Ball use efficiency was way down for Simmo, even with his limitations when it comes to that side of things.
One thing you can say about Simmo's game against the bombers is that he never gave up, even when the game was over, he was still trying, which cant be said for 75% of the playing group.
Match Rating: 5
Season Average: 5
NICK_ROOBOY83
2nd April 2008, 00:58
Round 2,
Richmond Vs North Melbourne,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Kicks:11
Handballs: 6
Inside 50's: 4
Clangers: 2
Tackles: 2
Goals: 1
Contested Poss: 3
Uncontested Poss: 14
Efficiency: 82%
Time on ground: 73%
This was a quite one for Simmo. Kicked a great goal & did some good things in the center. Ball use was a improvement on last weeks performance, but needs to lift his work rate against the Hawks.
Season Average: 5
Season Total: 10
NICK_ROOBOY83
8th April 2008, 03:27
Round 3,
North Melbourne Vs Hawthorn,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Kicks:13
Handballs: 9
Marks: 3
Inside 50's: 3
Clangers: 5
Contested Poss: 5
Efficiency: 73%
Time on ground: 85%
Simmo was very good, kept Sam Mithchell to 16 touches which would be one of his lowest totals in years.
Match Rating: 8
Season Average: 6
Season Total: 18
NICK_ROOBOY83
16th April 2008, 03:12
Round 4,
North Melbourne Vs Melbourne,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Kicks:9
Marks: 2
Inside 50's: 7
Clangers: 3
Tackles: 3
Clearances: 8
Contested Poss: 9
Uncontested Poss: 12
Efficiency: 80%
Time on ground: 81%
Good game from Simmo. It's been a decent start to the season for him.
Match Rating: 7
Season Average: 6.25
Season Total: 25
NICK_ROOBOY83
22nd April 2008, 02:47
Round 5,
Collingwood Vs North Melbourne,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Kicks:15
Handballs: 5
Marks: 4
Inside 50's: 5
Clangers: 1
Tackles: 8
Goal: 1
Clearances: 3
Efficiency: 75%
Time on ground: 76%
Great game for us, beating Collingwood & all.:)
Typical captains game from Simmo. He was there at critical moments in the game & stood up superbly. One thing simmo did this week which he rarely does these days is kick a goal & what a goal it was, I guess he can thank Leigh Brown for that smart tap on but anyway it was great to see simmo get into the goals.
Cant leave this report without talking a little bit about that bounce in the last quarter, well all I'll say is that simmo is still running & saying thanks umps.;)
Season Average: 6.40
Season Total: 32
Woodson
22nd April 2008, 10:36
Round 5,
Collingwood Vs North Melbourne,
Cant leave this report without talking a little bit about that bounce in the last quarter, well all I'll say is that simmo is still running & saying thanks umps.;)
Season Average: 6.40
Season Total: 32
Hmmm, good summary NRB, don't overlook the 'turnover' by Rhyce Shaw before Ed Lower BUTTER'd up the spill and slapped it fast on his opposite foot. The Umps gave them a few favourable bounces also. ;)
NICK_ROOBOY83
22nd April 2008, 17:14
Hmmm, good summary NRB, don't overlook the 'turnover' by Rhyce Shaw before Ed Lower BUTTER'd up the spill and slapped it fast on his opposite foot. The Umps gave them a few favourable bounces also. ;)
Definitely cannot overlook the turnover by Rhyce & also some of the bounces that went Collingwoods way. I didn't mean for it to look like it all went our way, because it certainly didn't. I just was more giving a report about simmos game & that he was the recipient of that bounce.
If it was Boomer who got that ball i wouldn't even bring it up.
NICK_ROOBOY83
30th April 2008, 04:20
Round 6,
North Melbourne Vs Sydney,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Kicks:10
Handballs: 9
Marks: 1
Tackles: 5
Behinds: 1
Uncontested Poss: 13
Efficiency: 68%
Time on ground: 80%
We were robbed.:mad:
It ended in a draw, but with the fact that the Swans had 19 players on the ground & the player that should have left (Jolly) had an impact on the game to help make it a draw, we should of got all 4 points. Instead the AFL have chosen to fine the Swans $50k, $25k suspended, which we all know is just a cover up.
Anyway, lets talk about Simmos game. Well lets just say i hardly noticed him all day, which makes me wounder is that a good thing or bad?
The only time i really noticed Simmo was late in the game when we were 1 point in front & spud took the kick in from a point & went long to Simmo, this was the start of all the 19 man issue & Jolly ended up sealing the ball off Simmo. I'd say if Jolly wasn't there Simmo would have cleared the ball away & it would of been GAME OVER!!!
Season Average: 6.17
Season Total: 37
NICK_ROOBOY83
7th May 2008, 04:15
Round 7,
Adelaide Vs North Melbourne,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Kicks:14
Handballs: 17
Clangers: 3
Tackles: 5
Clearances: 6
Uncontested Poss: 22
Efficiency: 81%
Time on ground: 83%
Disappointing game for our club, no doubt about it. We were wiped of the park by the Crows (AGAIN).:thumbsd:
Simmo probably would be one of a few that could hold his head up high. He was a hard worker all night & even tho he made a couple of turnovers you would have to say he was our main midfielder & the stats would also point this out. If we had more of our team play with some guts like Simmo we might have actually had a chance of winning.
Season Average: 6.43
Season Total: 45
NICK_ROOBOY83
21st May 2008, 01:16
Round 8,
North Melbourne Vs West Coast,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Kicks:15
Inside 50's: 2
Clangers: 5
Tackles: 7
Uncontested Poss: 16
Efficiency: 73%
Time on ground: 73%
We played pretty poor, but we got away with a win.:cool:
Top game by Simmo, in his 30's & still in our top 5 players consistently.
Simmo had a few decisions go against him, one that cost us a goal also had one good decision which resulted in a goal for us & a very important one at that. His work in the clearances was very important & his tackling was very good.
Season Average: 6.62
Season Total: 53
NICK_ROOBOY83
28th May 2008, 02:47
Round 9,
Western Bulldogs Vs North Melbourne,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Kicks:14
Handballs: 13
Marks: 6
Inside 50's: 7
Behinds: 1
Contested Poss: 6
Uncontested Poss: 21
Efficiency: 70%
Time on ground: 68%
Great Win.:)
Simmo is a champion. anyone want to ague that fact can watch this game & see why they would be stupid to.
Boomer's 250th, Simmo was never going to let one of his best buds & our superstar down. Simmo was a power of strength for us & when you thought that we were in trouble, simmo was there giving his all. Was important in the clearances as always & with Harro gave us the edge in the center which was a key area for us to winning the game.
I'd say simmo had one of the least clanger games in years (1 Clanger). The way he used the ball was just mind boggling when you look back. He seemed to hit most targets with precision.
Match Rating: 9
Season Average: 6.89
Season Total: 62
NICK_ROOBOY83
4th June 2008, 03:54
Round 10,
Brisbane Lions Vs North Melbourne,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Handballs: 19
Inside 50's: 6
Efficiency: 69%
Time on ground: 77%
We lost, enough said.:(
Simmo once again was up there as one of our best performed. Disappointing that we dont have more players committed as our captain.
Season Average: 7
Season Total: 70
NICK_ROOBOY83
4th June 2008, 03:56
Simmo's 100th game as captain will be against Geelong this week. Simmo deserves to remember it with a win.:thumbsu:
Woodson
4th June 2008, 22:26
Simmo's 100th game as captain will be against Geelong this week. Simmo deserves to remember it with a win.:thumbsu:
Win the first 3 quarters and we're a chance otherwise the likes of Simmo will need to keep busting his arse just to keep the opposition honest.
NICK_ROOBOY83
5th June 2008, 02:17
Win the first 3 quarters and we're a chance otherwise the likes of Simmo will need to keep busting his arse just to keep the opposition honest.
True, to beat top sides like the Cats we must be play 4 quarters.
We just have so much in stake here.
NICK_ROOBOY83
11th June 2008, 03:27
Round 11,
North Melbourne Vs Geelong,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Handballs: 15
Inside 50's: 1
Contested Poss: 7
Uncontested Poss: 17
Efficiency: 79%
Time on ground: 80%
Good game to watch, but we still lost.:(
Good game by Simmo, once again. he would of been in the best few for us. Has been very consistent this season.
Season Average: 7
Season Total: 77
NICK_ROOBOY83
18th June 2008, 03:50
Round 12,
Fremantle Vs North Melbourne,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Inside 50's: 0
Tackles: 4
Uncontested Poss: 18
Efficiency: 77%
Worst game of the year.:mad: We were absolute crap.
Pretty average game by Simmo & the rest of the team. Our mids were non existent in this game. Simmo was apart of that nothingness. Even tho he won 26 possessions, you would have to say with not one inside 50 to his name that they were nothing possessions.
Simmo also was given a reprimand for striking Ryan Crowley, which wasn't court on video.
Season Average: 6.84
Season Total: 82
NICK_ROOBOY83
25th June 2008, 02:30
Round 13,
Hawthorn Vs North Melbourne,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Clearances: 5
Uncontested Poss: 19
Efficiency: 79%
Time on ground: 79%
Great Win.:thumbsu: We put in a four quarter effort.
Simmo played OK, nothing special. Was pretty good in the clearances & keeping pressure on the Hawks mids.
Match Rating: 6
Season Average: 6.77
Season Total: 88
Harvs29
27th June 2008, 13:03
It's a couple of weeks late but did anyone read the Footy Record article where a bloke followed Simmo around for a day? It was done on the day of Harvey's 250th.
Very interesting article. I cannot find it online. If anyone else can they will save me the unenviable task of typing it up for everyone to see.
For me, the article just reinforces how lucky we are to have had this bloke playing for our club.
I tend not to go to Testimonials etc but I'm beginning to think that Simmo will be the bloke for whom I make an exception.
NICK_ROOBOY83
2nd July 2008, 05:24
Round 14,
North Melbourne Vs St Kilda,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Handballs: 21
Marks: 7
Uncontested Poss: 25
Efficiency: 66%
Time on ground: 82%
Lost interstate to a crap team again.:mad:
Simmo was in our best few again. His been having a very consistent season, unlike some.
Season Average: 6.71
Season Total: 94
NICK_ROOBOY83
16th July 2008, 01:53
Round 15,
Port Adelaide Vs North Melbourne,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Handballs: 18
Clearances: 1
Uncontested Poss: 24
Efficiency: 72%
Finally, we win an away interstate game.:thumbsu:
In the best 5 players again. Very consistent season. Probably his best season since 2002.
Season Average: 6.67
Season Total: 100
CrazyQ
16th July 2008, 02:00
Marking him very hard.
I would have him atleast on a 7, maybe 7.5.
NICK_ROOBOY83
16th July 2008, 02:08
Marking him very hard.
I would have him atleast on a 7, maybe 7.5.
For the game or the season?
Because i reckon I've marked him pretty well if you look through the whole 15 games.
One thing with Simmo is that he doesn't stand out alot & when he does stand out its usually when he has made an error. I've watched him closer this season then ever just for this thread & must say he has been very consistent with the odd stand out game but never a really bad one.
Overall i reckon his been a 7 out of 10 to this point of the season & my voting sort of suggest the same.
CrazyQ
16th July 2008, 02:49
For the game or the season?
Because i reckon I've marked him pretty well if you look through the whole 15 games.
One thing with Simmo is that he doesn't stand out alot & when he does stand out its usually when he has made an error. I've watched him closer this season then ever just for this thread & must say he has been very consistent with the odd stand out game but never a really bad one.
Overall i reckon his been a 7 out of 10 to this point of the season & my voting sort of suggest the same.
Fair enough, Nicko.
I take it back actually, last few games he hasnt been eye catching.
NICK_ROOBOY83
23rd July 2008, 04:25
Round 16,
North Melbourne Vs Collingwood,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Kicks:6
Uncontested Poss: 15
Efficiency: 90%
Time on ground: 70%
Very good win.:thumbsu: Love beating the Pies.:)
Simmo was a bit down on his normal output. I'm sure he will be looking to get back to sum form against the Dees.
Season Average: 6.56
Season Total: 105
NICK_ROOBOY83
30th July 2008, 04:38
Round 17,
Melbourne Vs North Melbourne,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Kicks:18
Handballs: 12
Clearances: 8
Efficiency: 77%
Time on ground: 82%
Hard game to watch, but we won & thats all that counts.:thumbsu:
A much improved game by Simmo. Played really well & seemed to be everywhere at times on Sunday. Also took a great mark, but missed the easy kick at goal.
Season Average: 6.59
Season Total: 112
NICK_ROOBOY83
6th August 2008, 01:50
Round 18,
North Melbourne Vs Brisbane,
We had a very gutsy win.:thumbsu: Dominated the first 20 Min's but didn't put enough score on the board & we were made to work for it from there.
Simmo missed this game with a hip injury. He will have a fitness test this week with hopes to line up against the Bulldogs.
YYYAAABBBLLLEEETTT
11th August 2008, 19:31
Gday guys, just after some info on Simmo.
This is Supercoach related, so sorry if you dont like these type of questions in here.
I havent heard much other than he's carrying some kind of hip injury. Been named in the side the last 2 weeks only to be a late withdrawal both games. Have you guys heard how bad it is, or even if its better now? Will he play this week?
Cheers:thumbsu:
NICK_ROOBOY83
12th August 2008, 01:23
Gday guys, just after some info on Simmo.
This is Supercoach related, so sorry if you dont like these type of questions in here.
I havent heard much other than he's carrying some kind of hip injury. Been named in the side the last 2 weeks only to be a late withdrawal both games. Have you guys heard how bad it is, or even if its better now? Will he play this week?
Cheers:thumbsu:
He should be back for this weeks game. The problem is supposedly a hip issue.
NICK_ROOBOY83
13th August 2008, 04:18
Round 19,
North Melbourne Vs Western Bulldogs,
Top win.:thumbsu: We should have smashed them but I'm just happy we won at the end.
Simmo missed again with that hip injury. Hopefully he will be fine for this weeks game against the Blues.
NICK_ROOBOY83
20th August 2008, 05:07
Round 20,
Carlton Vs North Melbourne,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Handballs: 12
Marks: 6
Tackles: 1
Uncontested Poss: 18
Efficiency: 87%
Time on ground: 68%
Probably one our most easiest wins of the season. Very happy with that.:thumbsu:
Well Simmo finally came back from a hip/hamstring injury. He played OK but as it was his first hitout for a few weeks I'm sure he will get better.
Season Average: 6.56
Season Total: 118
NICK_ROOBOY83
27th August 2008, 03:48
Round 21,
Geelong Vs North Melbourne,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Handballs: 16
Marks: 2
Clangers: 7
Tackles: 1
Contested Poss: 10
Uncontested Poss: 20
Efficiency: 52%
Time on ground: 81%
Crap game, we lost.:thumbsd: That about describes this game in one.
Poor game by Simmo's standards, sure got alot of the ball but made way to many critical turnovers. The second quarter would have been his worst quarter of the season. In that quarter he cost us 3 goals from direct turnovers.
The only positives would be that he never gave up, worked hard for the whole game unlike some who couldn't be bothered. I'm sure this game was a one off & he will be back to himself against the Power.
Match Rating: 4
Season Average: 6.42
Season Total: 122
NICK_ROOBOY83
3rd September 2008, 04:41
Round 22,
North Melbourne Vs Port Adelaide,
Adam Simpson's Stats:
Efficiency: 76%
Time on ground: 84%
Terrible, terrible game.:mad: Lets leave it there.
Simmo had another shocker. Nothing else to really say.
Match Rating: 4
Season Average: 6.30
Season Total: 126