View Full Version : 12. Brad Sewell
philhawk
9 Mar 2007, 18:17
According to the My Man Thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=291068), it looks like Nightwolf will be one of the posters responsible for looking after Brad for us this season.
Take it away, NW!
mollyfud
23 Mar 2007, 08:29
Video of Brad from the Hawks Family day available here: http://hawks.aflcasts.com/2007/03/23/hawks-2007-family-day-brad-swell-interview/
Molly
nameless
27 Mar 2007, 23:51
where will he play this year?
seemed to play well from defence, ended the year well in defence and a solid 3rd place in b&f could suggest a step up to a more permanent spot int he midfield. But will birchall perhaps be ahead of him in that department?
Nightwolf
28 Mar 2007, 15:32
Midfeild tagging roles...
The bloke will win every award in the AFL this year... That includes Rising Star..
Nightwolf
31 Mar 2007, 22:29
Get him back to the forward tagging..
Should of got a crack on McGrath.
Nightwolf
16 Apr 2007, 14:29
Its just not fair for opposition players when big Sewelly comes up next to them. I think there should be a law introduced when playing Hawthorn:
Bradley Sewell must tag 2 players at once..
MinerBoy
16 Apr 2007, 16:56
Its just not fair for opposition players when big Sewelly comes up next to them. I think there should be a law introduced when playing Hawthorn:
Excellent.
hawkaz1
16 Apr 2007, 17:28
But then 2 of their players wouldn't touch the ball ;)
Nightwolf
16 Apr 2007, 23:26
Equal first in the coaches award on Footy Classified...
Go big man, your the clear best in the league. Should be a breeze..
philhawk
21 May 2007, 20:37
http://www.sportal.com.au/football.asp?i=news&id=98945
Unsung Hero
Brad Sewell did it again and claimed yet another big scalp. The Hawthorn stopper added silky-skilled Saint Nick Dal Santo to a list of victims which already includes stars such as Shannon Grant and Paul Chapman this year. Sewell kept Dal Santo to just 16 touches while collecting 22 himself. West Coast awaits next week and a possible duel with either Daniel Kerr or Chris Judd.
Another one bites the dust!
RustyHawk
19 Sep 2007, 20:17
BRAD SEWELL 12
Back to team page » HAWTHORN Guernsey Number: 12
Height: 181cm
Weight: 84kg
Recruited From: North Ballarat U18
Debut: 2004
Birth Day: 2 February 1984
Sewell's 2006 season was one of the surprises of the season where he finished third in the Hawthorn B&F. He is an inside midfielder who pushes back hard into defence and hits targets on a regular basis. In 2006 his disposal efficiency of 88% ranked No.1 of the competition midfielders. Both his kicking efficiency (86%) and handball efficiency (90%) ranked No.1 of the competition inside midfielders.
AFL 2007 Premiership Season Statistics
Rnd Date vs. K H D M HO T FF FA G B
1 31/03/07 Brisbane Lions 5 13 18 3 0 7 3 1 0 0
2 9/04/07 Melbourne 13 7 20 10 0 4 1 0 0 1
3 15/04/07 Kangaroos 9 10 19 6 0 7 0 0 0 0
4 22/04/07 Geelong 11 7 18 4 0 3 1 2 0 0
5 29/04/07 Western Bulldogs 7 13 20 7 0 5 1 1 1 0
6 5/05/07 Essendon 10 15 25 4 0 7 1 1 0 0
7 13/05/07 Fremantle 7 14 21 6 0 6 0 0 0 0
8 19/05/07 St Kilda 8 14 22 8 0 3 0 1 0 0
9 26/05/07 West Coast 10 12 22 7 0 5 1 1 0 0
10 3/06/07 Port Adelaide 8 8 16 5 0 2 1 1 1 0
11 9/06/07 Sydney Swans 14 12 26 7 0 2 1 2 0 0
12 15/06/07 Carlton 14 19 33 11 0 7 2 0 0 0
13 1/07/07 Collingwood 11 9 20 3 0 4 1 0 0 1
14 7/07/07 Adelaide 10 12 22 5 0 2 1 1 0 0
15 15/07/07 Richmond 4 4 8 2 0 6 0 0 0 0
16 21/07/07 St Kilda 6 13 19 6 0 5 1 0 1 0
17 29/07/07 Kangaroos 9 19 28 4 0 4 0 1 0 0
18 5/08/07 Essendon 7 9 16 3 0 5 0 4 0 0
19 11/08/07 Brisbane Lions 6 18 24 3 0 4 1 0 0 0
20 19/08/07 Port Adelaide 4 11 15 3 1 2 0 1 0 0
21 26/08/07 Western Bulldogs 14 25 39 5 0 3 0 3 0 0
22 2/09/07 Sydney Swans 3 3 6 2 0 0 0 2 0 0
23 8/09/07 Adelaide 4 22 26 2 0 4 1 0 0 0
24 15/09/07 Kangaroos 12 17 29 8 0 7 3 1 0 0
RustyHawk
7 Oct 2007, 07:30
Sewell claims first Peter Crimmins Medal
11:01 PM Sat 6 October, 2007 | Back
for hawthornfc.com.au
News
DANGEROUS midfielder Brad Sewell claimed his first Peter Crimmins Medal after a nail-biting finish in front of a 1300 strong crowd at Crown’s Palladium on Saturday night.
In the count to decide the 2007 Hawthorn club champion, Sewell (173 votes) and eventual runner-up Campbell Brown (172 votes) went into the semi final against the Kangaroos on equal votes.
However, Sewell scored the winning votes after his solid performance to narrowly defeat Brown. 2005 Peter Crimmins Medallist Luke Hodge topped off another consistent year finishing in third position.
After four seasons and 64 games, Sewell’s achievement crowns another sensational year for the 23-year-old, who played every game for the second consecutive season.
Shifted from a small defender’s role to the midfield, Sewell averaged 21 possessions per game – the biggest return coming in round 21 against the Western Bulldogs when he picked up 39.
He laid the most tackles of any Hawk with 104 for the season and had his fair share of clearances. He also managed to curb the influence of a number of the big names in the AFL including Chris Judd, Shannon Grant, Paul Chapman and Adam Goodes.
In other awards, Stephen Gilham was named the Most Improved after stepping up as a key defender and playing every game since his elevation from the rookie list in round 19, 2006. Gilham’s willingness to keep learning and working hard won him the honour.
Sewell also picked up the club’s award for the best player in the finals, while Brent Guerra was rewarded for his hard working year at half-back securing the Most Consistent award.
Xavier Ellis was named the best first year player for his impressive debut season.
In his second year at the club, Ellis made his debut in round one and played a total of 13 games for the season, switching between the wing and half-back.
The contribution of retiring trio Richie Vandenberg, Ben Dixon and Joel Smith was acknowledged during a fitting tribute to the popular players.
Vandenberg was also awarded Best Clubman, an acknowledgment of how his peers regard him.
The Peter Crimmins Medal - an Olympic-sized gold medal depicting a sculptured image of the former Hawthorn champion - was presented to Sewell by Crimmins’ wife Gwen who attended the awards with son Sam and daughter Amber.
Crimmins was vice-captain of the 1971 premiership team and captain for two years from 1974. He fell ill with cancer on the eve of the 1974 finals series, missing September action that year.
However, the ‘little fellow’ made a return from treatment to play at the start of the 1975 season. In round six that year Crimmins had to return for intensive treatment and never played senior football again.
Club awards
Best Clubman - Richie Vandenberg
Most Improved - Stephen Gilham
Best First Year Player - Xavier Ellis
Most Consistent - Brent Guerra
Leading Goalkicker - Lance Franklin
Most Votes in the Brownlow - Sam Mitchell
Peter Crimmins Medal voting – top ten
Brad Sewell - 173
Campbell Brown - 172
Luke Hodge - 161
Jordan Lewis - 154
Sam Mitchell - 137
Lance Franklin - 136
Brent Guerra - 136
Shane Crawford - 126
Trent Croad - 121
Rick Ladson - 116
Peter Crimmins Medal voting procedure
Votes for the 2007 Peter Crimmins Medal were awarded by the match committee, consisting of senior coach Alastair Clarkson and assistants Todd Viney, Damien Hardwick and Ross Smith after each home-and-away and finals match.
A maximum of 16 votes could be accumulated by a player after the four coaches’ voting cards were submitted using the following grading system:
- three votes to the best player or players
- two votes for a good game
- one vote to players who beat their opponents
On rare occasions a player or players may receive four votes for an exceptional game.
There is no restriction on the number of players who receive votes in a match.
RustyHawk
8 Oct 2007, 01:27
After winning the 2007 PCM, Brad Sewell has been elavated to the Hawthorn Leadership group along side new Captain Sam Mitchell, Vice Luke Hodge and Chance Bateman, Shane Crawford and Tim Clarke.
Kennett declares Hawks 'ready to hunt'
October 7, 2007 - 7:36PM
Having unveiled a new club logo and new captain Sam Mitchell, Hawthorn president Jeff Kennett has warned the emerging AFL team is "ready to hunt".
Mitchell takes over from Richie Vandenberg, who has retired, and Luke Hodge will be his deputy.
Mitchell, 24, and Hodge, 23, are symbolic of a young, well-led list that made the semi-finals this year.
Three years into Alastair Clarkson's reign as coach, the change of logo is another sign of the Hawks' lofty ambitions.
"We wanted a logo that was bolder, that was a little more aggressive and quite clearly demonstrated that we as a team are ready to hunt," said Kennett.
"This logo gives us that `powerfulness', it gives us that aggression.
"We have two young men who have a wonderful work ethic, they both have extraordinary leadership skills.
"My observation is that their leadership skills complement each other very well, although they are in one sense slightly different."
Hodge went further, describing himself and Mitchell as "totally different blokes".
But the man Mitchell calls "more of a lad" and the friend that Hodge rates as a consummate professional are sure they will work well together.
"He's probably a little bit more of a lad, when he got to the club he probably had a fair bit to learn about professionalism and all that sort of thing," Mitchell said.
"To his credit, over the last three years in particular, since Clarko has come on board, the steps he's been able to take have just been phenomenal.
"Last night they showed some footage from 2002 of Hodgey running around and the difference just in his body shape ... you realise how far he's come.
"I was probably a little bit straighter when I came to the club ... I was drafted a little bit older."
Hodge later laughed at the reference to body fat in his early playing days, but said Mitchell had a point.
"He did have some big hips, but as I said his little poddy gut did go before mine because he does everything right," Hodge said.
"We are two totally different blokes and the last 12 months we've got pretty tight.
"Being vice-captains to `Vanders' last year, we got to know a lot about each other - there's a lot of things that he does well and I don't, and vice versa.
"I'm honoured to be vice-captain behind him because you can't see anyone who does everything to be a professional footballer better than Sammy, right down to the wire."
The Hawks considered a joint captaincy, but decided to stick to club tradition.
Tim Clarke, Chance Bateman, Shane Crawford and best-and-fairest winner Brad Sewell will also be in the leadership group.
While the club spent several months before deciding on Vandenberg as captain three years ago, this time they felt there was no need to extend the process through the pre-season.
"It was an enormously-difficult decision - we did give due consideration through this process to joint captaincy, such is the regard that both these guys are held in by their peers," said coach Alastair Clarkson.
"The players and coaches ... thought that Sam was the guy to lead the club for the next 12 months and beyond and that Luke would be a more-than worthy deputy in that period of time as well."
© 2007 AAP
Big Ronnie
24 Dec 2007, 19:30
Selection 5 in the draft as been picked up by HawksXcentric who did not shirk the issue and picked up Sewelly hard and quick, the same way Brad plays his footy.
Spill the beans all season for us HawksXcentric
BR:thumbsu:
HawkXNtric
3 Jan 2008, 21:38
Thanks Big Ronnie:thumbsu:
Looking forward to updating this thread on Sewell's progress during the 2008 season. Sewell is one of my favourite players at the Hawks and IMO certainly one of the most under-rated players in the AFL.
A lot of supporters seem to think that Sewell is a one-trick pony and is good as a tagger only, however I think that he can become an 'A-grade' midfielder of the comp. He has a pace advantage over the likes of Hodge, Mitchell & Lewis, whilst still being good at clearing the ball from stoppages. A great 2007 season saw Sewell rewarded with the honour of being named club champion - not bad for a guy off our rookie list!
It's going to be hard to improve on his 2007 club champion form, but let's hope that he can...
noosa hawk mad
9 Feb 2008, 08:03
Sewell takes to the skies
9:51 AM Fri 8 February, 2008 | Back (javascript:history.go(-1);)
By Jason Phelan
for hawthornfc.com.au
News
THE HAWKS took to the skies on Thursday when Brad Sewell and friends went on a high-wire tree canopy tour at Hollybank reserve near Launceston. The three-hour adventure ride is the latest in eco-tourism, with participants swinging along high-tension cables up to 50m off the forest floor in order to gain a very different perspective on the breathtaking native wilderness of the region.
“It was really good fun,” Sewell said shortly after climbing out of his safety gear.
“I’m usually not too bad with heights, but when we first got up there, the wind was blowing up a bit and a few of the boys were carrying on pushing each other about – it did get a bit nervy.
“It was a bit hairy the first couple of times we went across up there, but it was good once you got the hang of it; it was great.
“Once you get comfortable up there you can have a bit of a look around and it’s a really nice view of the park.”
But while Sewell admitted to a few nerves, he maintained he was nowhere near as jittery as a couple of his well-known teammates.
“Buddy (Lance Franklin) was shocking, he was the worst. His knees were shaking up there a couple of times,” he said.
“Changer (Chance Bateman) is terrible with heights as well, so they were pretty good amusement value up there.”
The Hawks have been in Tasmania since Monday, but Sewell only joined his teammates on Wednesday night as he stayed back in Melbourne to complete an exam for a sports management course.
The reigning Peter Crimmins medallist was confident he could maintain his career-best form of 2007 thanks to a smooth pre-season campaign and was looking forward to taking part in the intra-club match to be held on Friday at Aurora Stadium.
While he admitted there was an air of confidence in the Hawks’ camp after a return to finals football last season, Sewell would not be drawn on the group’s top-four ambitions this year.
“You guys are certainly probing with those types of questions, but we just need to get out there and do our thing,” he said. “To continue to train well and keep preparing for each game and the results will take care of themselves at the end of the day.
“We’re confident in our own abilities and the way we have been training, but you don’t really know [how the team will perform] until games start; the proof will be in the pudding.
“We’re maturing as a side and will continue to do so and I guess the natural progression will take care of itself.”
noosa hawk mad
13 Feb 2008, 08:49
Final flop nightmare still stings the Hawks
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_themercury.gif
BRETT STUBBS
February 13, 2008 12:00am
LAST year's season-ending semi-final loss to the Kangaroos is an unforgettable, unspoken nightmare for Hawthorn players.
The Hawks entered the game favourites after the Roos' 106-point belting the previous week by eventual premier Geelong.
But they never really got going and crashed to a lacklustre 33-point loss.
Hawthorn midfielder Brad Sewell, who was in Tasmania last week for the Hawks' community camps, said the loss haunts the Hawks.
"It is certainly something that hasn't been forgotten," Sewell said as the side prepares for Sunday's NAB Cup match against the Sydney Swans in Launceston.
"We sort of let ourselves down that day. It is something that is in the back of the minds of all the boys . . . but we certainly haven't touched on it."
Like his team, Sewell also surged into the spotlight last year. The Official AFL Guide to Season 2007 described the 24-year-old as "a solid AFL player" but he did more than just defy this expectation by redefining himself as a midfield tagger.
He joined the competition's elite run-with players and won the Hawks' best and fairest.
"I've always been quite defensive; even in the under-18s I played a defensive role and obviously I started down back when I first got a game with Hawthorn," he said.
Sewell said he modelled himself on some of the AFL's best defensive players.
"(Sydney's) Brett Kirk has been doing it for quite a while now and obviously (Geelong's) Cameron Ling and the Cornes' boy (Kane) from Port Adelaide," Sewell said.
"You certainly keep track of them and how they are going throughout the year and how they play certain opponents and try to get a little bit off them."
noosa hawk mad
13 Feb 2008, 09:31
Brad Sewell interview Hawk TV..
http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/43454
HawkXNtric
11 Mar 2008, 20:29
Firstly, thanks to Noosa_Hawk_Mad for updating this thread with a few media articles on Brad Sewell...:thumbsu:
Thought I would just check in and see how Sewelly's pre-season has been leading into round 1.
I'm not aware that Sewelly has had any interruptions due to injury during the pre-season, so it looks like the coaching staff have been bringing him along slowly after his big B&F season in 2007. We will need him firing right from the opening bounce, particularly since some of our more high-profile midfielders (you know who you are Crawf, Hodge & Lewis) will be missing.
According to the HeraldSun 'Super Footy' web-site; Sewelly picked up 14 possessions from limited game time in NAB Cup round 1 against the Swans, did not play (rested) against the Blues in round 2, then was one of our highest possession winners with 24 touches against the Crows in NAB Cup semi-final.
So, a nice little build-up and all is looking in order to repeat his Crimmins Medal in 2008........
noosa hawk mad
28 Mar 2008, 10:43
http://www.mytalk.com.au/aspx/pages/mediaplayer.aspx?t=audio&w=7806
Hawthorn's Brad Sewell speaks to 3AW's Sports Today about the 'Buddy' factor and Round Two :thumbsu:
HawkXNtric
30 Mar 2008, 21:12
After a reasonably quiet game in our round 1 demolition of the Dees, Brad Sewell came to play in our round 2 win over Freo. Credited with 27 disposals (equal highest for the Hawks) Sewell easily featured amongst our best players, according to both 'The Age' and the 'Herald Sun'.
Some posters here on BigFooty even gave him the nod for BOG honours.
No doubt he will have picked up a few B&F votes from round 2.
noosa hawk mad
6 Apr 2008, 07:33
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/newreply.php?do=newreply&noquote=1&p=6903212
http://sportal.com.au/site/_content/leadimage/00018263-image.jpg
Sewell singled out in team effort
5/04/2008 6:53:31 PM
Angus Morgan at Telstra Dome
Sportal
Alastair Clarkson R3 media conference (http://sportal.com.au/mediaplayer/audio/AFL/alastair-clarkson-r3-media-conference-2355)
A typically low-key Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson has described Saturday's come-from-behind win over North Melbourne at Telstra Dome as 'character-building'.
With key forwards Lance Franklin and Jarryd Roughed bagging nine goals between them, the Hawks overran North with a six-goal-to-one final term to get up by 16 points.
Clarkson was especially pleased that Franklin and Roughead not only scored important goals early on to keep his team in the contest, but played critical roles at the finish to secure the win.
He reserved his warmest praise however for reigning best-and-fairest Brad Sewell whose 34 touches included nine contested possessions.
"Sewell was outstanding," said Clarkson.
"He was terrific over in the west last week against Fremantle and when (Sam) Mitchell and (Luke) Hodge aren't having influential games it's great that we've got the depth of talent through the midfield to swing other guys into important roles."
"Our captain and vice-captain … didn't have great starts to the game and for guys like Lewis and Bateman and Tuck and Ellis and these sorts of guys, Osborne, to come through the middle of the ground and pick up the slack … was really important for us."
Clarkson said he couldn't relax and was 'jumpy' in the box throughout the match, especially early on when the Kangaroos led by as much as 26 points.
"I thought the Kangaroos absolutely smashed us around the stoppages - at one stage it was 12-3 in terms of clearances," he said.
"If you allow them first use of the footy from the middle of the ground and they get it into isolated contests in their forward half they can be very, very damaging."
"After quarter-time we were able to correct the stoppage differential and I think that played a key role in the outcome of the game."
Clarkson paid tribute to defender Tom Murphy who was heavily concussed when crunched by Nathan Thompson while running with the flight of the ball in the third quarter, and Tim Boyle who played no further part in the match after a pack collapsed on top of him up forward early in the final term.
"In games of tough footy like that you need your blokes to stand under the ball and both those two guys were just great illustrations of just how committed our guys were," said Clarkson.
"When the game needed to be won we were just a little bit better in the latter half of the game than the Kangaroos in that area of the game."
Hodge and Cameron Stokes sustained corked thighs but Clarkson expects both to be available for next week's clash with Adelaide in Launceston.
HawkXNtric
6 Apr 2008, 15:37
Thanks to NHM for continuing to post the links to these articles....
Well it's official - the overwhelming majority of BF posters have given Brad Sewell the nod as B.O.G. in the round 3 win over the Kangaroos. Sewell racked up 34 possessions for the match, after having a relatively quiet first quarter.
What impressed me most was his unbelievable work in traffic, with his uncanny ability to steer out of a congested pack of opposition players. Brad seldom wastes a possession and I am totally confident when I see Sewell with the pill.
It amazes me that the majority of other teams' supporters still haven't figured out what a great player Sewell is. Perhaps a second Peter Crimmins medal will bring this to their attention...?
noosa hawk mad
7 Apr 2008, 14:30
Thanks to NHM for continuing to post the links to these articles....
Well it's official - the overwhelming majority of BF posters have given Brad Sewell the nod as B.O.G. in the round 3 win over the Kangaroos. Sewell racked up 34 possessions for the match, after having a relatively quiet first quarter.
What impressed me most was his unbelievable work in traffic, with his uncanny ability to steer out of a congested pack of opposition players. Brad seldom wastes a possession and I am totally confident when I see Sewell with the pill.
It amazes me that the majority of other teams' supporters still haven't figured out what a great player Sewell is. Perhaps a second Peter Crimmins medal will bring this to their attention...?No worries HawkXNtric:thumbsu: Your man was on fire today mate 91% efficiency so rarely missed his target his second Quarter was unbelievable great game Sewell BOG!
noosa hawk mad
9 Apr 2008, 15:21
http://insidefootballonline.com/schwarz.html
Sewell: from near exit to exquisite
Hawthorn can consider itself very lucky that Brad Sewell is still playing with the club and in amazing form. He was out the door and headed for Melbourne a couple of years ago in a swap for Ryan Ferguson. Ferguson stopped the deal from happening as he felt he would be able to break into the Melbourne side despite being told that he wouldn’t be played. History will show that Ferguson didn’t get his opportunity, but Sewell got on with business, broke into the Hawks side as a regular and last year won their best and fairest. At the beginning of his career he was a noted tagger, but this year he has developed into a ball-winner, a wonderful contested player and one that can shut down if required. His game against North Melbourne was nothing short of brilliant. His ability to get the hard ball and dispose of it effectively is right up there with the elite in the competition. Sometimes clubs need players to emerge that were almost at the exit; being able to turn them around and then have the belief that they belong is a real skill. There is no doubt that Sewell is in the first two or three picked for the Hawks and if he keeps his form he will become a back-to-back best and fairest winner for the club.
23 Apr 2008, 07:50
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23584174-19742,00.html
Sewell faces uphill battle says Kevin Sheedy
Mark Stevens | April 23, 2008 12:00am
VICTORIAN assistant coach and selector Kevin Sheedy has said in-form Hawthorn midfielder Brad Sewell still faces an uphill battle to win a berth in the Hall of Fame game.
Sheedy was at the Gabba on Saturday night to watch Sewell take on Brisbane, but did not rate his 27-disposal game as outstanding.
"He played a good solid game . . . he was not startling," Sheedy said.
Sheedy said Sewell was "absolutely still a chance", but delivered a reminder that team balance would be important against a Dream Team squad loaded with indigenous talent.
"The hardest part about picking the Victorian team is the rest of Australia is going to have speed, speed, speed everywhere," Sheedy said.
"He (Sewell) doesn't have a lot of speed."
Sewell, Hawthorn's reigning best-and-fairest winner, was last week controversially left out of Victoria's 40-man squad.
But he responded in the best possible way, finishing second only to Lance Franklin in Champion Data rankings points for the Hawks against the Lions.
Sewell won four votes as second best on-ground in the Herald Sun Player of the Year award and is equal fourth after five rounds.
Sheedy said the selection panel, which also includes Geelong coach Mark Thompson and Brisbane Lions captain Jonathan Brown, was intent on picking the best side.
He denied suggestions by some commentators that high-profile players were being named for the PR value.
"They wouldn't know the hard work that's getting done," Sheedy said.
"My weekend's shot to pieces. I just got back off a plane now.
"I wanted to make sure we weren't going to get these selections wrong.
"It's very hard to judge. We're trying to pick a team to play for Victoria -- not looking at the tactics the coaches are trying to do to win the four premiership points.
"It's very different. We're looking at an array of games."
Sheedy hinted there would up to six additions to the squad of 40 for the May 10 tribute match at the MCG.
Bulldogs midfielder Daniel Cross, another controversial omission from the squads for the game, has also commented for the first time on missing out on the Dream Team squad.
"I won't be holding my breath," Cross said.
Cross said it would be an "absolute honour" to be involved in the 150th celebrations and said he had been buoyed by the support of teammates and media.
"You can only pick so many guys in the squad. It will be an awesome game . . . the 50 best blokes in the AFL playing on one night," Cross said.
"There's probably three or four players from each club who could put their hand up and say, 'Why wasn't I picked?'."
Just a good solid player very stiff not to be in the Victorian all star squad but could be selected yet.
I love the way he plays hard and tough and in and under.
noosa hawk mad
27 Apr 2008, 08:52
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23604573-19742,00.html
Big V spur for Sewell
Jackie Epstein | April 27, 2008 12:00am
HAWTHORN'S Brad Sewell has admitted his disappointment at being overlooked by Victorian selectors for Saturday week's Hall of Fame match.
Sewell was one of several notable omissions in the 40-man squad selected by coach Mark Thompson, assistant coach Kevin Sheedy and captain Jonathan Brown.
"It'd be nice to get a call up, but there are a lot of guys who it will be hard to squeeze in there," he said.
"I'm sure there were a lot of guys who were disappointed. It would have been an honour to play on the night. Not only a highlight for the night or the year, but the rest of your career.
"But there's only a certain amount of guys who can play."
Sheedy flew to Brisbane last weekend to watch the Hawks play the Lions.
Sewell, a midfielder, was second best on ground for his 27-disposal effort in the team's win, but Sheedy did not rate the performance.
"He played a good solid game . . . he was not startling," Sheedy said, adding Sewell was "absolutely still a chance".
The Hawks' best and fairest winner said he noted the comments.
"I glanced over them," he said.
"What can you do? A little bit disappointing I guess. But it'll certainly be nice to have a week off anyway. Relax and catch up with a few friends and let the body recover a bit.
"We've got to play Richmond this week and that's where the focus is."
Sheedy also mentioned he was keen to find team balance against a Dream Team squad loaded with quick talent.
"The hardest part about picking the Victorian team is the rest of Australia is going to have speed, speed, speed everywhere," Sheedy said.
"He (Sewell) doesn't have a lot of speed."
Sewell disagreed.
"There's that perception, but I'm pretty quick," he said.
MinerBoy
5 May 2008, 11:52
I annoyed the crap out of the few Collingwood supporters near us on Saturday, and amused the many Hawks, every time Sewelly got the ball and they attempted to tackle him.
Every time I would stand up and yell "You can't tackle Brad Sewell" :D
So strong, maintains his feet, gets his arms up high to keep them free and then bang, releases a hand ball to someone in position. Almost every time.
All day long.....annoyed the hell out of them because I was always right.
You can't tackle Brad Sewell.
RustyHawk
5 Jun 2008, 21:35
Brad Sewell has been left out of the senior team for the first time in 2008.
Round 11 against Essendon he has been omitted due to injury. The Hawks say Shoulder injury.... so it could be anything but a shoulder.
Sewell is one of only a few players in the Hawthorn team to have played every round till now.
BuddyHawkers
5 Jun 2008, 22:31
Does anyone now how bad is Brad Sewell?
Would he come up next week?
RustyHawk
6 Jun 2008, 18:33
Shoulder injury sidelines Sewell
RSSFont downFont largerPrint3:55 PM Fri 06 June, 2008
Brad Sewell will require minor shoulder surgery
Hawthorn’s Brad Sewell will require minor shoulder surgery which will sideline him for four to six weeks.
Sewell injured his right shoulder during last week’s match against the Western Bulldogs but was able to continue playing.
While it was initially thought Sewell would only miss two weeks, after consulting with a specialist it was confirmed he had ruptured the ligaments of his AC joint.
General Manager Football Operations Mark Evans said deciding on surgery would allow for a stronger shoulder joint when Sewell returns to football.
“Once the specialist indicated Brad was likely to miss three to four weeks, the sensible option was for a surgical repair to deliver a stronger shoulder joint over a five to six week period
Sewell is expected to resume some training activities within the next two weeks.
for hawthornfc.com.au
BuddyHawkers
7 Jun 2008, 13:42
Should be fine for Geelong's game
RustyHawk
4 Jul 2008, 17:57
Sewell doubt for Swans clash
4/07/2008 5:16:58 PM
Hawthorn's Brad Sewell is in doubt for the Round 15 match against Sydney after undergoing an appendectomy during the week.
Sewell has missed the past four matches with a shoulder injury but was expected to be back for the crucial game against the Swans at the MCG on Sunday July 13. However, he was admitted to hospital on Wednesday suffering stomach pains and was operated on that day.
He had his appendix removed and while he is recovering well and is expected to resume training next week, he may struggle to prove his fitness for the crucial game against the Swans, with clutch games against St Kilda and Geelong to follow.
The tough midfielder is the second Hawthorn player to have his appendix removed this season. Luke Hodge had an appendectomy in May while recovering from a hamstring injury.
Recovery from such an operation can vary from person to person. Geelong's Jimmy Bartel missed the final two home and away matches of 2007, but still won the Brownlow Medal, while Essendon's Ricky Dyson was sidelined for three weeks earlier this season.
noosa hawk mad
11 Jul 2008, 15:06
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsId=63120Selection Report: Sewell returns
HAWTHORN Football manager Mark Evans has expressed his delight at the return to action this weekend of 2007 Best and Fairest winner Brad Sewell.
Sewell had surgery to remove his appendix just last Wednesday having already missed four matches due to a shoulder injury.
His return will bolster the midfield department which is without Jordan Lewis due to a quad injury.
“We’ve been really pleased with his progress,” Evans said.
“He trained really strongly all week and it’s great for him to be able to come into the team. It’s certainly good news for us.”
Simon Taylor also returns to the side to aid ruck partner Robbie Campbell with Brent Renouf suspended for two weeks. However it is still uncertain whether Chance Bateman will return from injury this week but he is named on an extended interchange bench.
“We’ll give him the rest of the week to press for selection,” Evans said.
Travis Tuck and Josh Kennedy have also been named on the extended bench and Evans took the time to praise the performances of the pair in the VFL.
“They’ve been in cracking form for most of the year. Travis’s games in the VFL have been outstanding and Josh has had a few senior games but his form in the VFL has been very good. It’s good to see the pressure back into the side not just from some of the experienced guys coming back from injury but from the younger guys pushing up as well. It’s a good mix to have.”
It’s not all good news from the Box Hill Hawks, with forward Tim Boyle being withdrawn from the side’s clash with the Coburg Tigers last Sunday due to a hip injury.
“It’s unlikely that he will play (in the reserves) this week but I’m not too certain how long he’ll be out for. He’ll need to rest this week though.”
Despite this week’s big inclusions, Evans believes the side will be in a much stronger position in a few weeks.
“We’ve still got Jordan Lewis, Stuart Dew, Ben McGlynn and Tim Boyle to come back in. And some of the players that are back in haven’t had a lot of games in succession. If we don’t lose players due to injury over the next few weeks we’ll be in a much stronger position in a month.”
for hawthornfc.com.au
noosa hawk mad
13 Aug 2008, 13:39
Sewell: more than just a pretty face
By Catherine Murphy 5:26 PM Tue 12 August, 2008
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20F-J/Sewell_R1308_a.jpgBrad Sewell says the young Hawks will approach finals with the same mindset that has taken them to second on the ladder
AS A FORMER Bachelor of the Year nominee, along with the obligatory modeling work that goes with it, you could assume that Hawthorn's Brad Sewell is Waverley’s pretty boy. However the 24-year-old is adamant that another Hawk is more deserving of the title.
Insisting that he’d much prefer to strut his stuff in the Hawks’ midfield than on the catwalk, Sewell says defender Trent Croad is really the prettiest Hawk. In fact, when Sewell was in the running for Australia’s most eligible, he says that Croad took more than a friendly interest.
“He gave me some real pearls of wisdom, some really good advice about how I should go about it,” Sewell laughs.
While Sewell says the defender didn’t give specific tips on posing and pouting, he was quite helpful in readying his teammate for the challenge of the runway.
“The main thing he said was to remain focused on the catwalk,” Sewell chuckles.
According to the midfielder, Croad’s interest in catwalks doesn’t end with advising his fellow Hawks.
“He watches Australia’s next top model religiously… and takes notes. I think Jennifer Hawkins may have even put his name forward as a possible contender,” Sewell quips.
While you get the feeling that Sewell might be trying to make amends for a considerable amount of sledging from his teammates during his Bachelor campaign, there’s no doubt he has had more weighty concerns on his mind this season.
Having missed four weeks due to a shoulder injury, Sewell then had his appendix removed in the lead up to the split round – perfect timing, according to the rugged Hawk who was back on the field ten days after surgery.
“I was pretty sore when I woke up but I was up and moving about by the end of the day. I recovered really quickly and was back running within a few days," he says.
"My mum came down to Melbourne to stay with me for a couple of nights and took care of me which was a big help.”
Sewell returned to bolster a Hawks’ engine room that had been undermanned for much of the season due to suspension and injury. But with the news now brighter on the injury front, and Hawthorn holding down second spot on the ladder, the club is looking forward to a possible meeting with the Bulldogs in week one of the finals.
Bulldogs coach Rodney Eade has been upfront about his side’s intention to use the last month of the season to focus on the Hawks, but Sewell, like the rest of his colleagues, is insisting that his club are not paying their opponents much attention yet.
“You certainly take an interest in all the sides you potentially may be facing but no more so than usual. All our energies our focused on Richmond.
“It’s difficult not to think of finals at any time during the year but our energies and our processes aren’t going to change for the rest of the season…We’re certainly going into every game trying to win and wanting to win and that’s not going to change.”
Having had several tight contests during the season, Sewell believes the Hawks’ young squad members are well prepared for the pressures of September football.
‘We’ve played quite a few close games this year so we certainly know how to win and what it takes. I don’t see the age thing being a negative at all.”
Sewell says that the main thing the Hawks learned from last year’s finals campaign, their first since 2001, is not to alter your approach to games regardless of their significance.
“I think what we learned was not to change anything. It’s still a game of footy. You still have to kick more goals than the opposition. It can be a bit tighter and a bit more physical but you shouldn’t change your routine or your approach.”
noosa hawk mad
4 Sep 2008, 11:34
Another article HawkXNtric looking for a huge game from your man mate love the way he plays so strong through the hips & so hard to tackle will need him firing on Friday night mate!:thumbsu:
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsid=66988
No looking back for Sewell
By Matt Burgan 5:25 PM Wed 03 September, 2008
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20F-J/Sewell_Rd2108_246a.jpgBrad Sewell in action
HAWTHORN midfielder Brad Sewell says he never reflects on the scenario, which almost had him traded to Melbourne at the end of the 2005 season.
Sewell was set to become a Demon, in exchange for then Melbourne defender Ryan Ferguson. Although both clubs and Sewell agreed in principle, Ferguson, who was under contract at Melbourne, did not want to switch to the Hawks.
As a result, Sewell remained a Hawk and prospered, winning last year's best-and-fairest award, yet the courageous Ferguson, who continually battled injury at Melbourne, was delisted at the end of 2007.
"It's funny how it has worked out. I've certainly no complaints from my end, but I certainly haven't thought too much about it," Sewell told hawthornfc.com.au.
"I'm in a pretty fortunate position here and I'm lucky enough to be a part of that. Hopefully it'll be a pretty exciting period for us.
"Everyone's got their story and that's where I could've been."
Sewell's ability to progress from the rookie to senior list has also been one of perseverance, as was his effort to overcome a shoulder injury and an appendix operation during the middle of this season.
"The shoulder surgery was halfway through the year and it was fortunate the split round coincided with that, so I missed four rounds and had my appendix out also," Sewell said.
"The first hurdle is to get the injury right and then get it to a stable enough position where you can play again, so you've got to find your feet and that takes a couple of weeks.
"If you're ticking all of the boxes, then eventually, it's going to turn for you."
Sewell conceded overcoming these injuries, physically and mentally, was difficult.
"It is hard, but you can't afford to dwell on it, because once you start trying to protect your shoulder or your stomach – that's when you're going to get yourself in a vulnerable position," Sewell said.
"So understanding that you're fit enough to play and everything is stable – you then just have to go about your business, without thinking about it."
Now an integral cog in Hawthorn's midfield, Sewell said he wasn't fussed about not receiving the plaudits other AFL ball-winners receive in the engine room.
"The side at the moment, we've got 'A-graders' everywhere, so those guys have certainly been at the level for a lot longer than what I have, which is fine – that doesn't worry me at all," Sewell said.
"As long as I can continue to play my role and we all keep continuing to perform at the level required."
RustyHawk
23 Sep 2008, 18:04
2008 Brownlow Medal votes: 16 - 2nd highest vote winner for Hawthorn.
HawkXNtric
28 Sep 2008, 23:09
Brad Sewell has topped off another fine season by being one of the Hawks best players throughout the 2008 finals series.
In the Grand Final he was opposed to Bartel, Ablett & Corey at times and (according to the official AFL statistics) spent 91% of the game time on the ground.
Sewell came 3rd in the voting for the Norm Smith medal with 4 votes, behind our own Luke Hodge (15 votes) and Geelong's Gary Ablett (11 votes). One of the judges gave Sewell the nod for the 3 votes as BOG.
Sewell's official stats on GF day were:
10 kicks, 17 handballs, 27 disposals (78% efficiency), 7 marks, 5 tackles.
All in all - another great season, a key role in the GF win, and IMO he will go top 3 in the club B&F award.
Congratulations Sewelly on another great performance.
(Also interesting to note that Brad's youngest brother Myles played in the VFL premiership team on Friday night, whilst his other brother won a flag in the Ballarat football league the weekend before. Happy times in the Sewell household!)
noosa hawk mad
5 Oct 2008, 10:47
HAWTHORN
(Peter Crimmins Medal)
Lance Franklin216
Sam Mitchell 177
Luke Hodge 175
Jarryd Roughead 172
Michael Osborne 154
Cyril Rioli 151 Chance Bateman 149
Brad Sewell 148
Grant Birchall 148
Campbell Brown 136
After winning the B & F last year Sewell who missed 5 or 6 games this year comes 7th in the Best & Fairest 2008 well done B Sewell!:thumbsu: