View Full Version : Match Ups Against Port
Dr Ralph Dagg
25 Mar 2007, 12:25
We start playing in 6 days time. Can we stop talking about the Eagles and Cousine Cousine? I'd be happy to talk about Sammy Druce though. She seems quite tasty. And loyal. Anyway ...
I have no idea who will be playing for Port but heres some talking points?
Who will Kane Cornes pick up? Bell? Hasleby?
Sandi v Brogan?
Peake vs Pearce -- in a loose kind of way?
Do we have anyone who can run with P Burgoyne? Crowley?
Wakelin v Tarrant, or Pavlich?
Parker or Hayden v Ebert?
Will Chad Cornes play forward or back? Will he pick up Pavlich given he's given him a bath on quite a few occasions? Or will they give Chaplin a run on him first?
Will Thurstans or Damon White play? Which one does McPharlin play on?
Ok, get to it boys and girls.
We start playing in 6 days time. Can we stop talking about the Eagles and Cousine Cousine? I'd be happy to talk about Sammy Druce though. She seems quite tasty. And loyal. Anyway ...
Sandi v Brogan?
Will Chad Cornes play forward or back? Will he pick up Pavlich given he's given him a bath on quite a few occasions? Or will they give Chaplin a run on him first?
Is Lade not playing?
ImperialPurple
25 Mar 2007, 12:43
Sandi v Brogan?
What and actually talk footy?? :eek:
I heard that not only is Tredrea not playing but Brogan and PBurgoyne are seriously in doubt, and SBurgoyne is facing a fitness test....
If Chad Cornes plays in the middle - he MUST be tagged - enter S DODD. I know Doddy has been playing CHB pre-season, but Port have a smallish forward when minus Tredrea....with Ebert usually their FF. He will be a handful, but at a guess...I reckon parker may pick him up, leaving McPharlin to pick up resting ruckman (either Brogan or Lade) & Grover should get Damon White.
Crowley usually tags Peter Burgoyne
Port tried CCornes on Pavlich early last year - it was embarrassing for Chad
Guessing Pettigrew will get Taz...Wakelin on Pav...that leaves Murph & JLo on lesser lights & really need to stand up. I rate Pettigrew...so Taz will need to run hard to have a good start. Peake was BOG in Round 22 last year, but port had half their team out...this will be a hard game due to Port's pace but Freo;s aggression & forward options should get them over the line.
Would like the half forward line to be Headland, Tarrant, Gilmore...plenty of run & long kicks into Pav....we shall see.
Freo by 27
peppy la pew
25 Mar 2007, 12:51
Time to visit the TAB and get on the ' over 35 pts ' :D
Shaymuhz
25 Mar 2007, 14:18
wouldnt be surprised to see a kane cornes, josh carr matchup to be honest. kane cornes was very effective last year as being a ball winner and a stopping play so i reckon CC will try and move carr onto him to negate his effectiveness and leave maybe dom cassissi to match up on haselby, or more likely, bell.
sandilands vs lade will be a very interesting matchup as lade had a stellar season last year, the ogre will have to be careful of Lade drifting forward as he is a big kick and safe shot for goal. if p.bourgoyne plays crowley will get first crack, but as mentioned above he is in serious doubt.
i reckon wakelyn will start off on pavlich but i dont think he has the aerobic capacity to go with pav if he plays at centre half forward - i also get the impression that wakelyn gets lost up the ground.
if chad cornes plays back i think he will get tarrant and try to zone off him to hurt us on the rebound, hopefully that leaves tarrant free for easy marks after turnovers.
parker is the obvious matchup for ebert and i think will blanket him
if c.cornes plays forward i cant see him being a real threat. dodd is the obvious midfield matchup.
doesnt matter who plays on pav he will dominate.
if thurstans plays i think elvis will pick him up. thurstans is rarely sighted if port are playing badly so that will give mcpharlin room to rebound from defence, which he will need to do in the absence of air johnson. i think grover will get white.
dunno who'll get pearce but i think we need to have someone on him - maybe jim if his pre-season form is rewarded.
i dont know who we can play on shaun bourgoyne, he is a very good player. perhaps crowley but i dont think he is quick enough.
sorry about the long post
pafc4life
25 Mar 2007, 18:02
Definetely would like to see us go pettigrew-tarrant and chaplin-pavlich
do you guys have enough pace to go with Shaun and Peter, pearcy, sala?
wizard_9
25 Mar 2007, 18:11
Definetely would like to see us go pettigrew-tarrant and chaplin-pavlich
do you guys have enough pace to go with Shaun and Peter, pearcy, sala?
The same Peter that has basically been confirmed as a non starter?
They have to get the ball to use their speed.
pafc4life
25 Mar 2007, 18:17
The same Peter that has basically been confirmed as a non starter?
They have to get the ball to use their speed.
Peter'll play. im expecting us to give the Dockers the mother of all beltings
Memories
25 Mar 2007, 18:47
Not sure if we need to match up on Port or not. Just surround Sandilands down forward with 5 or our blokes so no one can get to him and let him take marks.
Vintage
25 Mar 2007, 18:54
Peter'll play. im expecting us to give the Dockers the mother of all beltings
And who said Port supporters don't have a sense of humour!! :D
dominguez
26 Mar 2007, 00:27
Chad Cornes has said he will be returning to CHB and plans to be more accountable. He'll probably go to Tarrant.
Walker will have the pace to go with Pearce but isn't tall enough for the Burgoyne's. Crowley and Dodd against the Burgoyne's if they both play.
Peake v Casino.
Pav's girlfriend>>>>>Rebecca Twigley>>>Ugly Betty>>>Cousin's missus.
Asgardian
27 Mar 2007, 05:04
This is the team that I'm guessing will take on the Dockers
B: Surjan, Wakelin, Chad Cornes
H/B: Wilson, Chaplin, Symes
C: Salopek, Kane Cornes, Thomson
H/F: Motlop, White, Rodan
F: Ebert, Willits, Lade
R: Brogan, Shaun Burgoyne, Pearce
I/C: Pettigrew, Cassisi, Logan, Cockshell
Em: Lonie, Bentley, Giles
Assuming that Tredrea and Peter Burgoyne wont be passed fit
dominguez
27 Mar 2007, 12:59
This is the team that I'm guessing will take on the Dockers
Em: Lonie, Bentley, Giles
Assuming that Tredrea and Peter Burgoyne wont be passed fit
Matchups might look something like this then-
F- Browne Murphy Pavlich
HF- Solomon Tarrant Headland
C- Peake Josh Carr Hasleby
HB- Mundy Dodd Hayden
B- Parker Grover McPharlin
R- Sandilands Crowley Bell
Int- Walker Duffield Longmuir Gilmore
Dr Ralph Dagg
27 Mar 2007, 16:36
Is Lade not playing?
Lachy, what part of "I have no idea who is playing for Port" was unclear? :D
So, what you are saying is that Matthew Primus is still playing?
:D
I reckon Chad will get Pav again. Studley II thrives on proving people wrong so he will at least get a start on him. It will also depend on where Pavlova plays...if he is deep then Wakelin or Chaplin may get him to allow Chad to run off half back.
Pettigrew may line up on Tarrant. He has the pace and from all reports was very good against Sydney on O'Loughlin.
Chaplin should then get Murphy which leaves Wakes on the pine or as an alternative.
Up forward for us we have ... errr ... White, assume Dodd or McPharlin will get him, Motlop maybe Parker or Mundy, Ebert same.
I think you will also see the debut of Cockshell for us. He is raw but a good size, fairly agile too. Willits would be struggling to get a game at this stage unless he comes in as a back up ruckman.
PB and Brogan unlikely, Tredrea no chance.
RogerMellie
27 Mar 2007, 21:46
And who said Port supporters don't have a sense of humour!! :D
No, it's true. They really don't.
Peninsula Boy
27 Mar 2007, 21:57
No, it's true. They really don't.
No, but we have an AFL Premiership.
Chad will play on Pav.
Carr should go to Jr Burger if he can.
Grew should get Tarrant.
I can't wait to see our fast, young midfield up against your midfield.
fat wombat
27 Mar 2007, 22:01
I'm actually looking forward to seeing port in round one. They are a bit of an unknown with a young side and could catch a lot of sides off guard!
I wouldn't underestimate Port this weekend, I don't think it will be an easy win if the dockers get up.
Alberton_Magpie
27 Mar 2007, 22:10
I reckon this game will be one of the better matches of round 1!
dugrene
27 Mar 2007, 22:38
Time to visit the TAB and get on the ' over 35 pts ' :D
We all know as soon as some one gets cocky the footy gods blow them away. It happens time after time.
If there is ever a time to get onto Freo's bandwagon this week is it.
I haven't looked at margin betting yet but thanks to peppy there is room to make some big money this weekend.
How often have we been disappointed, not only from losing but also not getting percentage games.
If we are serious about this year we have to bury teams.
35 points looks good.
RogerMellie
27 Mar 2007, 23:02
No, but we have an AFL Premiership.
I'd rather have a sense of humour. I am not a player, after all.
Still, different strokes and all that.
Reveler
27 Mar 2007, 23:14
does anyone else get nervous when people talk us up?
I do..
Cameron_K
27 Mar 2007, 23:18
I do..
I am extremely nervous about this week :(
sabre_ac
28 Mar 2007, 00:48
I do..
Sadly its been the one consistent thing over our entire history..The moment we are favourites..Its a good chance we loose.
Dr Ralph Dagg
28 Mar 2007, 12:57
I reckon Chad will get Pav again. Studley II thrives on proving people wrong so he will at least get a start on him. It will also depend on where Pavlova plays...if he is deep then Wakelin or Chaplin may get him to allow Chad to run off half back.
If C Cornes plays Pavlich like he was quoted you'll lose a lot of drive off HB. They might go with Chaplin, and have Cornes as a loose man to double team him.
Pettigrew may line up on Tarrant. He has the pace and from all reports was very good against Sydney on O'Loughlin.
That could be a good match up physically. But if Tarrant is on song, he could blow him away.
Chaplin should then get Murphy which leaves Wakes on the pine or as an alternative.
I'd look forward to this as a battle of the young guns ... leaves Cornes to Pavlich, and Wakelin for either Longmuir or Sandliands. Wakelin has always given Longmuir a pantsing but good luck with Sandi.
Up forward for us we have ... errr ... White, assume Dodd or McPharlin will get him, Motlop maybe Parker or Mundy, Ebert same.
Eberts too quick for Mundy. Motlop maybe too quick for Mundy but we can put Hayden or Grover on him if he gets a run on.
I think you will also see the debut of Cockshell for us. He is raw but a good size, fairly agile too. Willits would be struggling to get a game at this stage unless he comes in as a back up ruckman.
[/QUOTE]PB and Brogan unlikely, Tredrea no chance.[/QUOTE]
Those three are a big loss for you guys ... but then we are missing something Farmer, Johnson, and Black who are 3 of our top 10.
Will be an interesting game.
ExpectToWin
28 Mar 2007, 17:24
Sadly its been the one consistent thing over our entire history..The moment we are favourites..Its a good chance we loose.
I agree
I am getting a similar feeling to when Freo were suppose to beat Essendon in there first final and ended up getting flogged (sorry to remind you of that;) )
Cameron_K
28 Mar 2007, 17:39
I suppose if any fan knows about choking it is a port fan ;)
ExpectToWin
28 Mar 2007, 17:53
I suppose if any fan knows about choking it is a port fan ;)
I was not trying to infer anything about Freo choking. I was only saying this week has a familiar feel on the expectation of the result and all the hype about Freo.
Anyway, you have to fail alot to succeed
And Port ended up succeeding
Freo have so far failed to deliver much in finals so far so maybe their time is coming.
dominguez
28 Mar 2007, 19:34
Port to finish above the crows would be a good value bet, but we should win reasonably comfortably.
If C Cornes plays Pavlich like he was quoted you'll lose a lot of drive off HB. They might go with Chaplin, and have Cornes as a loose man to double team him. Personally I agree, Chad is at his best when at CHB, however, I think Choco may want him on Pav no matter what. Chad is perhaps the only defender we have capable of athletically matching it with Pav.
That could be a good match up physically. But if Tarrant is on song, he could blow him away.Absolutely. This will be our achilles, Tarrant should be too strong. Don't underestimate Pettigrew though, he is a capable footballer.
I'd look forward to this as a battle of the young guns ... leaves Cornes to Pavlich, and Wakelin for either Longmuir or Sandliands. Wakelin has always given Longmuir a pantsing but good luck with Sandi. Chaplin is highly rated amongst Port fans, and rightly so, but personally, he is not ready for the Pav or Tarrant type forward. Murphy is the perfect matchup (although from all reports he was very good on Hall last weekend).
Sandi? He can mark it, but can he kick it? ;)
Eberts too quick for Mundy. Motlop maybe too quick for Mundy but we can put Hayden or Grover on him if he gets a run on.Ebert is a tough one (for us too!). He can leap like a springbok and can run like a cockroach. He is mentally unstable though, get on top early and make him doubt himself and you have half the battle won.
Motlop is more likely to do a double back flip than kick a goal. He can be damaging by taking lots of marks up the ground and setting up team mates...
Our forward line really shouldn't be too much concern for you guys in this one.
Those three are a big loss for you guys ... but then we are missing something Farmer, Johnson, and Black who are 3 of our top 10.
Will be an interesting game.Black? Top 10.... maybe just.
Brogan is still a chance apparently...
Cameron_K
28 Mar 2007, 22:23
Black? Top 10.... maybe just.
Brogan is still a chance apparently...
Black was arguably our second best player last year. Easily in our top 5 most important players.
Dr Ralph Dagg
28 Mar 2007, 23:14
Other way around. He doesn't mark that many but he can kick straight. Surprisingly skillful. Watch the way he can use his hands in close. For his size, he really is a marvel.
[QUOTE]Black? Top 10.... maybe just.
Last year easy top 5. His last 10 or 12 games in 2006, he locked down a half back flank. And when I say locked down, I mean nailed it to the floor. We know he can attack but he really lifted his defence.
Peninsula Boy
28 Mar 2007, 23:58
I'd rather have a sense of humour. I am not a player, after all.
Still, different strokes and all that.
How about as a fan? Would you like a premiership as a fan?
Honestly though, I could have been much harsher with that comment.
I think it will be a good match for both teams. We have a young, exciting team and you guys have a few out.
I have a feeling that Salopek will get under your guard because you'll be focused on tagging Jr and Pearce.
I'm pretty happy that Johnson is not playing as I think he will be a superstar. Its nice to have Farmer out but he's a bit overrated [please don't flame me for that, its just an opinion] as we lots of matchups for him. I've heard a few others may be out. Is this the case? Heath Black? It will also be interesting to see how Sandilands goes against Lade. Obvioiusly, they are both good but Lade is one guy who can kick a few and keep him honest and I reckon Brogan will play well on him down back if need be but i also thin Lade can play defensively on him too. Also watch out if Krakouer plays but I'm sure a few of you know of his ability.
By the way, a sense of humour is subjective.
Captain Pump
29 Mar 2007, 00:08
81% efficiency rating by foot in 2006. Catching up to the experienced rucks like Lade (89%) and actually ahead of Cox (79%). So yeah, his kicking goes alright. Thanks for asking.
I think you will also see the debut of Cockshell for us. He is raw but a good size, fairly agile too.
What the?
So Daniel Shell couldn't get an AFL game, but his penis can?
At least he's a good size, bit raw though you say?
Pav's girlfriend>>>>>Rebecca Twigley>>>Ugly Betty>>>Cousin's missus.
Pic of pav's gf plz... better than the twig??? This i gotta see
The Joker
29 Mar 2007, 14:01
Also watch out if Krakouer plays but I'm sure a few of you know of his ability.
What are the chances of him playing, i heard he has impressed everyone over there.
Has he put on ANY (1 or 2 grams) weight???
Dont think he may make a big impact in this game though as Roger Hayden (Very VERY underrated) is great at shutting down/limiting those type of player eg. Davey, A Krakouer, Milne, Sampi and the like.
But i will be hoping the kid goes well.
PJ Power
29 Mar 2007, 15:23
This is going to be a great challenge for us and in light of our last showing against Freo late last year, may prove to be a game that brings us back to earth pretty quickly.
Pettigrew on Tarrant is the matchup many of us would like to see down back. Not underestimating Tarrant at all, but alot of his work is done on the lead and Pettigrew is the one Bishop-like backman we have who has some height and should keep up with Taz.
Chad will get Pav but it's not necessarily the best move, especially if Chad is committed to chasing kicks himself. Chaplin may well find himself moved to Pav after halftime, either because Cornes has been beaten or if we are looking to move Cornes into the midfield for a run.
Wilson or Surjan would probably get Headland.
Who else is likely to play as a small forward for you guys in the absence of Farmer?
Kane Cornes for Haselby.
Cassisi for Bell.
I'm a bit concerned that our midfielders won't be accountable enough on the likes of Peake and Crowley who played well against us last year.
Our forwards aren't too bad at winning the ball. Rather, it's their conversion and their ability to find the footy in goalscoring positions that lets them all down. I can't see that being any different on Saturday with Tredrea still absent from the team.
This is most applicable to Motlop who as has been said, is more likely to do a backflip than actually kick a goal.
I honestly, don't think your backline matchups should worry you too much.
Dr Ralph Dagg
29 Mar 2007, 16:16
Surjan is pretty small to get Headland. That's about 8 cm in height which would translate to 16 cm of reach overhead.
Who else is likely to play as a small forward for you guys in the absence of Farmer?
Andrew Browne. I think he's 178, and about 80kg. Bloody quick, big tank, fearless, good tackler. Disposal not so hot but can kick one or two.
Have you Port guys though about who might pick up Solomon in the forward line?
PJ Power
29 Mar 2007, 19:17
Andrew Browne. I think he's 178, and about 80kg. Bloody quick, big tank, fearless, good tackler. Disposal not so hot but can kick one or two.
Have you Port guys though about who might pick up Solomon in the forward line?
We've got this strange imbalance in our backline where we don't have medium sized defenders in the 22 picked for this week.
Instead we have stocked right up with tall defenders (Thurstans, Chaplin, Wakelin, Chad, Pettigrew) and that probably means that one of Pettigrew or Chad may get the job on Solomon.
I'd like for Chaplin to take Pavlich, Pettigrew to get Tarrant and Chad to get Solomon.
Wilson who's not much bigger than Surjan, is probably our best matchup for Headland.
Here is Port's Official Team.
I can't find ours anywhere???
OFFICIAL LINEUP
B: Jacob Surjan, Darryl Wakelin, Troy Chaplin
HB: Michael Wilson, Chad Cornes, Nathan Lonie
C: Nathan Krakouer, Kane Cornes, Steven Salopek
HF: Brett Ebert, Damon White, David Rodan
F: Danyle Pearce, Brendon Lade, Michael Pettigrew
R: Dean Brogan, Shaun Burgoyne, Dom Cassisi
Interchange: Adam Cockshell, Tom Logan, Daniel Motlop, Toby Thurstans
Emergencies: Greg Bentley, Brad Symes, Justin Westhoff
I see Major advantages for us across half forward.
...and full forward for that matter.
Cornes will have to take Pav, because no one else is good enough to be quite frank.
Lonie I see as a major soft spot...Tarrant and Crowley/Headland should be good enough to exploit him to the maximum. Particularly Crowley becaue Lonie(s) are soft as butter.
Pearce is a concern, although Roger should do well on him.
James Walker on Rodan?
Who to tag Burgoyne with Matty Carr out? Crowley and someone rotating?
dominguez
29 Mar 2007, 19:33
They've gone for a quick line up, aslong as sandi gives us first use our forwards should be able to exploit their backs.
Other way around. He doesn't mark that many but he can kick straight. Surprisingly skillful. Watch the way he can use his hands in close. For his size, he really is a marvel.
81% efficiency rating by foot in 2006. Catching up to the experienced rucks like Lade (89%) and actually ahead of Cox (79%). So yeah, his kicking goes alright. Thanks for asking.
I think he will become the most dominant ruckman the league has seen for a long time.
I was more talking about him as a forward option however. I saw him line up for goal against Carlton and he looked decidedly shaky.
He's kicked 20 goals in 78 games.
Last year easy top 5. His last 10 or 12 games in 2006, he locked down a half back flank. And when I say locked down, I mean nailed it to the floor. We know he can attack but he really lifted his defence.
Black was arguably our second best player last year. Easily in our top 5 most important players.
I guess it is testament to the quality of your list. I would prefer to have any of these players out when playing against you guys >
Bell
J.Carr
Farmer
Hasleby
Pavlich
Peake
Sandilands
Tarrant
Johnson
What the?
So Daniel Shell couldn't get an AFL game, but his penis can?
At least he's a good size, bit raw though you say?What are you, 10 years old?
Reveler
29 Mar 2007, 21:05
FREMANTLE v PORT ADELAIDE
Saturday, 4.10pm AEST, Subiaco Oval
FREMANTLE
B: Parker, McPharlin, Hayden
HB: Dodd, Grover, Mundy
C: Peake, Hasleby, McManus
HF: Headland, Pavlich, Solomon
F: Crowley, Tarrant, Longmuir
FOLL: Sandilands, J.Carr, Bell
I/C: Browne, Duffield, Murphy, Walker
EMG: Dunn, Gilmore, Webster
PORT ADELAIDE
B: Surjan, Wakelin, Chaplin
HB: Wilson, C.Cornes, Lonie
C: N.Krakouer, K.Cornes, Salopek
HF: Ebert, White, Rodan
F: Pearce, Lade, Pettigrew
FOLL: Brogan, S.Burgoyne, Cassisi
I/C: Cockshell, Logan, Motlop, Thurstans
EMG: Bentley, Symes, Westoff
NEW: Nathan Krakouer - selection 39, 2006 NAB AFL Draft
Field umpires: Sully, Rosebury, Chamberlain
ImperialPurple
30 Mar 2007, 00:25
Wow - Dunny's come up the pecking order after his BOG last weekend. Hopefully he can keep working hard and tearing it up in the WAFL and grab his opportunity when it presents. Gilmore and Webster would have to feel unlucky - but good on Duff, Browney and Walker for making the cut! And Macca - one game close to the magic 200 milestone... :thumbsu::thumbsu: :thumbsu:
Geez, glad someones around.
Thought I was going to have to do all the pre game by myself.
Memories
30 Mar 2007, 02:08
I'd like to see Crowley more around the ball, not playing forward for the whole game. Gonna be great seeing us in action for first game.
pinkus maximus
30 Mar 2007, 05:05
omg im actually starting to get nervous
dont know if anyone saw the footy show but garry lyon seems to rate andrew browne
dominguez
30 Mar 2007, 05:31
Surprised to see Macca in the 18, he will have to play a blinder to stay in the side with Matt Carr returning round two. Would have liked to see Drum in the 25 for Webster.
dominguez
30 Mar 2007, 05:33
I'd like to see Crowley more around the ball, not playing forward for the whole game. Gonna be great seeing us in action for first game.
Even though he is named in a pocket Crowley will almost certainly get a tagging job with Matt Carr out.
Docker_Brat
30 Mar 2007, 08:38
I think Murphy's been shafted, should be FF. But gotta play the high price recruit I guess. After from that, a formidable looking line up considering we don't have a full crew to choose from. It's awesome to see the fringe players firing and pressing for a berth giving that depth to the club.
dominguez
30 Mar 2007, 08:58
Murphy's preseason form has been terrible, needs to start the season well to stay in the 22.
Yello Mit
30 Mar 2007, 09:56
PORT ADELAIDE
I/C: Cockshell
:D:thumbsu:
:D:thumbsu:
I think he's related to Daniel Shell. Detachable one or something.
From Dockerland. Sometimes you just have to laugh.
Match Preview: Fremantle v Pt Adelaide
by Shane Richmond 29/03/2007
It's been a quiet summer down at Fremantle. Players have been working hard, focusing on lost chances from 2006 & their goals for 2007, hitting the gym, bonding with each other, listening to their coach and, most importantly, avoiding developing hard core drug addictions which could see them thrown out of the game. Yes, a very successful pre-season is just a short wait away from being a ripper of a year.
Unfortunately, at some point in every season, Adelaide teams have to get involved. As if the WA Police haven't got enough on their plate at the moment with the antics of the mob up the road, the AFL have gone and endangered public safety once again by fixturing Port Adelaide to play Fremantle. In Port's case, it's not because they are a menace to society trying to corrupt everything that is good and wholesome in this world with their funboy behavior, it's because every man, woman and child that wasn't inbred in Port Adelaide would like to hit them over the head with a whiskey bottle.
If you've just arrived in Australia after spending the past decade in a coma in central Africa and you don't quite know why Port Adelaide are so despised, you only need to glance through this week’s newspapers to see why.
Without a ball even kicked in anger for the 2007 season, they're all ready doing their best to be the league leaders in obnoxious throwbacks, with their entire leadership group queuing up to take pot shots at poor unsuspecting Fremantle from behind the skirt tails of Michelangelo Rucci all the way back in Adelaide.
V
Pt Adelaide
@
Subiaco Oval
Saturday
31st March
2.10pm
Fremantle $1.22
Pt Adelaide $4.00
Perth 2.00pm 10
Melb. 4.00pm Fox
Adelaide 3.30pm 10
Sydney 4.00pm Fox
Brisbane 4.00pm Fox
Fine: 24
Despite not even being able to drag himself onto the ground, Port skipper Warren Tredrea went to town on Fremantle early in the week. Calling them chokers, inferring they were soft and somehow deluding himself that Port Adelaide were a team to be feared.
Chad Cornes has opened his ugly mouth to give us a look into the cavernous insides of his head, telling locals that Matthew Pavlich is Fremantle's only forward and unveiling his plan to wipe the floor with Pav and keep the Dockers scoreless.
Even Dom Cassisi is slipping in the rabbit punches, calling the Dockers slow and having the hide to suggest Brendon Lade is more than a match for Aaron Sandilands. When the big Docker heard that on the news he nearly ate the 108cm plasma he was watching in a fit of rage. If he hadn't just bought the box set of McLeod's Daughters he’d be down at Rick hart shopping for a new tv this weekend instead of making a goose out of Lade.
When told of the comments, Chris Connolly's response was to ask 'Port who?'. When someone jogged their memory by reminding them they were the team who self destructed a few days after winning their first flag (not to be confused with the team currently self destructing after their third) he laughed it off and pointed to Pav taking a screamer over the back of Chris Tarrant and Paul Hasleby running laps with a Yoda like Peter Bell on his back shouting instructions.
For the Dockers, Port Adelaide are just some fruity coloured witches hats they'll be running around this weekend while they use the opening round as an opportunity to send a message to the rest of the competition. That message is - be afraid.
Fremantle tore the competition apart in the second half of last year. Every time they were told they couldn't, they did. Had it not been for budget cutting New South Wales politicians and their inability to build a ground of proper proportions combined with the clean cut, law abiding nature of the Dockers players, Fremantle would be the club on the brink of being stripped of their premiership and not the Eagles.
Not happy to rest on those laurels, Freo have gone an imported an All Australian forward into the mix and his skull busting, no nonsense track pony. Fremantle's forward line alone should have been enough to scare the Power into forfeit as Solomon and Tarrant line up with Matthew Pavlich, Justin Longmuir, Ryan Murphy and Aaron Sandilands to produce an attack with more prongs than an echidna in a punk rock band who’s just put his foot through a garden rake.
Up in the centre, they've got a bloke by the name of Josh Carr who, during his brief stay in South Australia, was given an award for being better than every other player on the Port Adelaide list - and that was when they were good. He's got Peter Bell, popular fancy for the Brownlow Medal, at his side, Paul Hasleby who's in the best condition he's been in since winning the Norwich Rising Star Award and Aaron Sandilands in the ruck to feed the ball to him like a nurse to a West Coast Eagle in a yellow fever vaccine induced coma.
Down back, Shane Parker has put together another crack defense (not to be confused with the Eagles crack midfield) Luke McPharlin is slotting into Shane's old spot at full back where he'll be forced to try and work out how Brendon Lade can call himself a forward or a ruckman; Antoni Grover is fighting fit and restarting his campaign for All Australian half back; Roger Hayden and James Walker seem to have had rails installed down either side of Subiaco Oval over the pre-season so they could bring the ball out of defense with even more efficiency; Stephen Dodd and Ryan Crowley have spent most of the pre-season in Guantanamo Bay, torturing prisoners in preparation for their tagging duties; and David Mundy spent his summer in the West Indies teaching the locals how to be more cool.
All in all it's one of the great mismatches of modern footy. A finals hardened, professionally drilled, focused, well oiled machine against a few aging middle of the road footballers and some young kids who could do with another half a dozen seasons in the SANFL before getting a run off the bench. The only real worry for Fremantle is that Port's delusions of grandeur could see one of their players hurt themselves – because that job belongs to Fremantle.
Surprised to see Macca in the 18, he will have to play a blinder to stay in the side with Matt Carr returning round two. Would have liked to see Drum in the 25 for Webster.
Back off Dom, my man is in good form, something that Matty Carr aint.
Macca is still under rated after all these years.
estibador
30 Mar 2007, 16:59
I think Murphy's been shafted, should be FF. But gotta play the high price recruit I guess.
Teams never line up the way they're named anyway. Wouldn't surprise me to see Murphy start.
dominguez
30 Mar 2007, 17:19
Back off Dom, my man is in good form, something that Matty Carr aint.
Macca is still under rated after all these years.
To be honest I'd prefer to have Macca in the side than Matt Carr, but when both are available there is no chance of the match committee thinking the same.
Asgardian
31 Mar 2007, 05:31
After all that, (yes I snipped heavily) I'm not sure why Port is bothering to turn up? :rolleyes:
Oh well, we'll give it a red hot go, I reckon we've got lots of speed, (no, not the drug kind) and several players who should be exciting to watch, so it should be a good game to watch.
Good luck guys, and no serious injuries in either team
EasternHills
31 Mar 2007, 06:54
You always have to go out on a Limb for the first three rounds. But Dockers by 48 points.
It's been a quiet summer down at Fremantle. Players have been working hard, focusing on lost chances from 2006 & their goals for 2007, hitting the gym, bonding with each other, listening to their coach and, most importantly, avoiding developing hard core drug addictions which could see them thrown out of the game. Yes, a very successful pre-season is just a short wait away from being a ripper of a year.
Unfortunately, at some point in every season, Adelaide teams have to get involved. As if the WA Police haven't got enough on their plate at the moment with the antics of the mob up the road, the AFL have gone and endangered public safety once again by fixturing Port Adelaide to play Fremantle. In Port's case, it's not because they are a menace to society trying to corrupt everything that is good and wholesome in this world with their funboy behavior, it's because every man, woman and child that wasn't inbred in Port Adelaide would like to hit them over the head with a whiskey bottle.
If you've just arrived in Australia after spending the past decade in a coma in central Africa and you don't quite know why Port Adelaide are so despised, you only need to glance through this week’s newspapers to see why.
Without a ball even kicked in anger for the 2007 season, they're all ready doing their best to be the league leaders in obnoxious throwbacks, with their entire leadership group queuing up to take pot shots at poor unsuspecting Fremantle from behind the skirt tails of Michelangelo Rucci all the way back in Adelaide.
V
Pt Adelaide
@
Subiaco Oval
Saturday
31st March
2.10pm
Fremantle $1.22
Pt Adelaide $4.00
Perth 2.00pm 10
Melb. 4.00pm Fox
Adelaide 3.30pm 10
Sydney 4.00pm Fox
Brisbane 4.00pm Fox
Fine: 24
Despite not even being able to drag himself onto the ground, Port skipper Warren Tredrea went to town on Fremantle early in the week. Calling them chokers, inferring they were soft and somehow deluding himself that Port Adelaide were a team to be feared.
Chad Cornes has opened his ugly mouth to give us a look into the cavernous insides of his head, telling locals that Matthew Pavlich is Fremantle's only forward and unveiling his plan to wipe the floor with Pav and keep the Dockers scoreless.
Even Dom Cassisi is slipping in the rabbit punches, calling the Dockers slow and having the hide to suggest Brendon Lade is more than a match for Aaron Sandilands. When the big Docker heard that on the news he nearly ate the 108cm plasma he was watching in a fit of rage. If he hadn't just bought the box set of McLeod's Daughters he’d be down at Rick hart shopping for a new tv this weekend instead of making a goose out of Lade.
When told of the comments, Chris Connolly's response was to ask 'Port who?'. When someone jogged their memory by reminding them they were the team who self destructed a few days after winning their first flag (not to be confused with the team currently self destructing after their third) he laughed it off and pointed to Pav taking a screamer over the back of Chris Tarrant and Paul Hasleby running laps with a Yoda like Peter Bell on his back shouting instructions.
For the Dockers, Port Adelaide are just some fruity coloured witches hats they'll be running around this weekend while they use the opening round as an opportunity to send a message to the rest of the competition. That message is - be afraid.
Fremantle tore the competition apart in the second half of last year. Every time they were told they couldn't, they did. Had it not been for budget cutting New South Wales politicians and their inability to build a ground of proper proportions combined with the clean cut, law abiding nature of the Dockers players, Fremantle would be the club on the brink of being stripped of their premiership and not the Eagles.
Not happy to rest on those laurels, Freo have gone an imported an All Australian forward into the mix and his skull busting, no nonsense track pony. Fremantle's forward line alone should have been enough to scare the Power into forfeit as Solomon and Tarrant line up with Matthew Pavlich, Justin Longmuir, Ryan Murphy and Aaron Sandilands to produce an attack with more prongs than an echidna in a punk rock band who’s just put his foot through a garden rake.
Up in the centre, they've got a bloke by the name of Josh Carr who, during his brief stay in South Australia, was given an award for being better than every other player on the Port Adelaide list - and that was when they were good. He's got Peter Bell, popular fancy for the Brownlow Medal, at his side, Paul Hasleby who's in the best condition he's been in since winning the Norwich Rising Star Award and Aaron Sandilands in the ruck to feed the ball to him like a nurse to a West Coast Eagle in a yellow fever vaccine induced coma.
Down back, Shane Parker has put together another crack defense (not to be confused with the Eagles crack midfield) Luke McPharlin is slotting into Shane's old spot at full back where he'll be forced to try and work out how Brendon Lade can call himself a forward or a ruckman; Antoni Grover is fighting fit and restarting his campaign for All Australian half back; Roger Hayden and James Walker seem to have had rails installed down either side of Subiaco Oval over the pre-season so they could bring the ball out of defense with even more efficiency; Stephen Dodd and Ryan Crowley have spent most of the pre-season in Guantanamo Bay, torturing prisoners in preparation for their tagging duties; and David Mundy spent his summer in the West Indies teaching the locals how to be more cool.
All in all it's one of the great mismatches of modern footy. A finals hardened, professionally drilled, focused, well oiled machine against a few aging middle of the road footballers and some young kids who could do with another half a dozen seasons in the SANFL before getting a run off the bench. The only real worry for Fremantle is that Port's delusions of grandeur could see one of their players hurt themselves – because that job belongs to Fremantle.
Yes, you do have to laugh.
Captain Wacky
31 Mar 2007, 22:24
Yes, you do have to laugh.
The bloke supports Freo and his surname is Richmond... well, the poor guy never had much hope of being something more than a joke, did he?
Dr Ralph Dagg
2 Apr 2007, 13:08
Chad will get Pav but it's not necessarily the best move, especially if Chad is committed to chasing kicks himself. Chaplin may well find himself moved to Pav after halftime, either because Cornes has been beaten or if we are looking to move Cornes into the midfield for a run.
They shifted Cornes to the midfield and you beat Pavlich by denying him any ball.
Surjan played on Bell early, and then seems to play as a rover. Was serviceable. Same with Wilson.
I'm a bit concerned that our midfielders won't be accountable enough on the likes of Peake and Crowley who played well against us last year.
Don't have to be accountable when you deny the other team the ball. Guys like Kane Cornes, Rodan, etc just killed us in the clearances.
Our forwards aren't too bad at winning the ball. Rather, it's their conversion and their ability to find the footy in goalscoring positions that lets them all down. I can't see that being any different on Saturday with Tredrea still absent from the team. This is most applicable to Motlop who as has been said, is more likely to do a backflip than actually kick a goal.
I honestly, don't think your backline matchups should worry you too much.
Famous last words. White, Cockshell, Lade, Pettigrew did their jobs. Port kicked 19 goals. At least one was a freak goal (the torp from Lade) but given the amount of play Port had, was not surprising. Great win by Port.
The bloke supports Freo and his surname is Richmond... well, the poor guy never had much hope of being something more than a joke, did he?
We at Freo really do apologise for Dockerland and Shane. It is not a representation of what we think and how we act. It is a complete embarrassment for us all.
You of course are welcome to your own opinion Hoogs , but please do not be so ignorant to assume that you speak for everyone.
Captain Wacky
2 Apr 2007, 15:16
You of course are welcome to your own opinion Hoogs , but please do not be so ignorant to assume that you speak for everyone.
Really? In my experience most Freo people do like to distance themselves from that place.
Most of us still visit, because there is usually some funny stuff, but we like it here because of the, how shall I say it, ahh "freedom of expression".
Have you done a survey? There are a lot of posters who post here and there , and making blanket statements is really insulting to them.
Have you not seen the dockerland thread. It's enormous. Full of people venting there frustrations at it.
To suggest that we need to do some research before commenting is absurd. What surveys have you done to back any of your views? The response on BF 'anti Dockerland' thread is enough to get a fair idea of the strong feelings agaisnt the place.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=125956&page=34&highlight=dockerland+tards
Have you not seen the dockerland thread. It's enormous. Full of people venting there frustrations at it.
To suggest that we need to do some research before commenting is absurd. What surveys have you done to back any of your views? The response on BF 'anti Dockerland' thread is enough to get a fair idea of the strong feelings agaisnt the place.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=125956&page=34&highlight=dockerland+tards
I suggest you read that thread yourself , the split for and against is fairly even.
Everyone is entitled to their opinion, and they don't need you to speak for them and it is very ignorant of you to do so.
Cameron_K
2 Apr 2007, 15:56
Ahh god bless the dockerland bashers. They don't get their poor opinions heard so they go off an have a cry ;)
Personally I love the site and will say that without a problem. WHTP on the other hand......
estibador
2 Apr 2007, 18:44
Personally I love the site and will say that without a problem. WHTP on the other hand......
I with you there. Everytime I go to WHTP I come away feeling slightly depressed. The place reminds of those people you get at the game that seem to get more enjoyment out of bagging their own players. Good luck to them though, to each there own.
I love Dockerland though. It's good for a laugh and an upbeat vibe on things. It's good to use in conjunction with this board. You can be a little more honest and scathing on here if you wish and use Dockerland for an 'always look on the bright side of life' approach.
Captain Wacky
2 Apr 2007, 20:07
I think anyone who considers that a good website kind of opens themselves up to a little insulting.
Dr Ralph Dagg
6 Apr 2007, 14:16
I think anyone who considers that a good website kind of opens themselves up to a little insulting.
And vice versa ... but of course the regular posters who post here and there are too polite which is the point.
But not being polite, I've never seen a complaint on the Big Footy Dockerland thread from a poster who I rated highly. Mostly, they're heretical anti-Dockers nutters who think they're supporters AND also think the Internet ought to be a bastion of free speech for their personal rantings.
Their is nothing humble about this opinion, but I've found that most of the Big Footy posters who have somethng worthwhile to say have no problem getting a run on Dockerland.
And vice versa ... but of course the regular posters who post here and there are too polite which is the point.
But not being polite, I've never seen a complaint on the Big Footy Dockerland thread from a poster who I rated highly. Mostly, they're heretical anti-Dockers nutters who think they're supporters AND also think the Internet ought to be a bastion of free speech for their personal rantings.
Their is nothing humble about this opinion, but I've found that most of the Big Footy posters who have somethng worthwhile to say have no problem getting a run on Dockerland.
Very modest post:rolleyes:
Is there anyone else in your life apart from yourself and your mirror Daggs?
ImperialPurple
6 Apr 2007, 20:18
What, someone is not allowed to have personal preference or opinion? A case of everyone is equal, but some are more equal than others, eh Scham... ;)
I think thats exactly what the Dr is saying. By posters "who I rated highly" he means ones with the same opinion to him. and if they do have a different opinion they are apparently "heretical anti Docker nutters who think they're supporters". I know he's a mate of yours IP, but Who is he to judge? I mean "bigfooty posters who have something worthwhile to say don't have a problem getting a run on dockerland". Please! It may not be worthwhile to him or Shane etc, but it doesn't mean its not worthwhile.
And as far your question on being allowed to have a personal preference or opinion of course they are, and I believe that was what the Dr was arguing against by having a go at Capt Wackys opinion. Once again it was different to his own view so it was wrong.
ImperialPurple
6 Apr 2007, 21:00
Yeah, yeah I know what you're saying, scham. But looking at it from another viewpoint - you're suggesting he shouldn't be allowed to do exactly what you yourself want to be able to do. ie have his own opinion and have it valued. :)
mick ryan
6 Apr 2007, 21:16
Talking about match ups, I wonder which lucky Essendon player will have the luxury of having Parker for an opponent?
I'd imagine Hird would. They've got similar pace, height, and experience. Except that I think Hird will help out up the field a fair bit, and he'll have the advantage over Parker up the ground.
hird didn't spend much time in the forward line last week. he will used in short bursts in the midfield.
parker will play on lucas or the resting ruckman
dominguez
7 Apr 2007, 01:21
Parker is more likely to play on Lloyd than Lucas.
Matt Carr will probably get Hird. I'd like to see Mundy go to him, but it's unlikely.
Your spine of Michael, Fletcher, Hird, Lucas, Lloyd may be the best in the competition.
Ahem... :D
theGav56
7 Apr 2007, 12:33
I think thats exactly what the Dr is saying. By posters "who I rated highly" he means ones with the same opinion to him.
I doubt it. For me I rate people who challenge what I think and believe and have a decent argument at least as highly as people who think the same, and have a decent argument. Agreeing with does not equste to rating.
Not a huge fan of Dockerland and have been bewildered when a mild post has been deleted. But equally, on bigfooty I am often bewildered at fans who bag players despite the facts.
Dr Ralph Dagg
7 Apr 2007, 14:31
I take it you don't get your posts up on Dockerland too often then? :p
Dr Ralph Dagg
7 Apr 2007, 14:33
Ahem... :D
Of course Lachy and IP are the perfect examples of my point.