View Full Version : Cairns AFL
Pages :
[
10]
Lachrilly
26 May 2009, 15:12
Heard gabby weetra coached at the weekend ,how did they go ? also do believe purcell is on the way back from bali whats the chances of him be back at that club?
The Hawks played quite well against the previously stated very undermanned Saints. Looked the goods most of the game including kicking 10 goals in the third. Sadly for them they fell away in the last with the some of the Saints guns rising to the occasion to get them over the line.
Thanks for reminding us all Leema... Haha... There were no "incidents" like you indicate, 99% of the people involved at the club are shocked and saddened by the decisions of the club executive (or should i say Lew Collier - as nobody elses opinion seems to matter when he is involved) to stand Bell down from his position. Unfortunately Hawks are going to lose some quality players from this, and i have to say, Hawks once again look like the laughing stock of the league. Who would sack Purcell after winning 2 flags and making finals (whom by the way, was not informed of his dismissal, he had to read it in the local rag) and then go ahead after 6 games of footy and sack his replacement. I say good luck to Marky and his missus and wish them the best in the future.
I can safely say my loyalties no longer lie with the Manunda Hawks, and will instead focus back on a real team, go the Cats! And on that note, i sincerely hope Centrals can come through this year and knock off both Saints and Souths, would be great to see a tight comp for once.
Thats the boy, jump on the central express next stop Port Douglas....... Yes the hawks have not conducted themselves very well in the last 12 months have they Hawksmad??
No Heart
26 May 2009, 16:48
Thanks for reminding us all Leema... Haha... There were no "incidents" like you indicate, 99% of the people involved at the club are shocked and saddened by the decisions of the club executive (or should i say Lew Collier - as nobody elses opinion seems to matter when he is involved) to stand Bell down from his position. Unfortunately Hawks are going to lose some quality players from this, and i have to say, Hawks once again look like the laughing stock of the league. Who would sack Purcell after winning 2 flags and making finals (whom by the way, was not informed of his dismissal, he had to read it in the local rag) and then go ahead after 6 games of footy and sack his replacement. I say good luck to Marky and his missus and wish them the best in the future.
I can safely say my loyalties no longer lie with the Manunda Hawks, and will instead focus back on a real team, go the Cats! And on that note, i sincerely hope Centrals can come through this year and knock off both Saints and Souths, would be great to see a tight comp for once.
Is this correct, Lew Collier sacked Purcell and didnt tell him to his face, appointed Marky Bell, then 6 weeks in sacks Marky Bell as coach, please tell me this is not what has happened:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
bradcol
26 May 2009, 20:36
Is the McCutcheon playing for Cairns Saints Scott or Marc or is someone else?
CatsMad
27 May 2009, 10:26
Is this correct, Lew Collier sacked Purcell and didnt tell him to his face, appointed Marky Bell, then 6 weeks in sacks Marky Bell as coach, please tell me this is not what has happened:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
Very correct No Heart - Collier will do nothing but drag that club down further in the mud..
Haha Leema - certainly wasnt suggesting i was switching teams in the local league, just would like to see a close comp, and Centrals seem the team to topple the GF contenders from last year!
Very correct No Heart - Collier will do nothing but drag that club down further in the mud..
Haha Leema - certainly wasnt suggesting i was switching teams in the local league, just would like to see a close comp, and Centrals seem the team to topple the GF contenders from last year!
Lol thought we might of had you for a moment Madie.:p
Lachrilly
27 May 2009, 13:36
Is the McCutcheon playing for Cairns Saints Scott or Marc or is someone else?
It is Scott. Kept Saints in the game in the 3rd with 4 goals when swung to full forward.
Wildmanwok
28 May 2009, 19:59
From what I hear Marky Bell and his South East recruits are looking at heading over to the Saints.
Not sure how they will go with clearances though.
They should head to the Tigers ;-)
half_back_flank
28 May 2009, 23:00
From what I hear Marky Bell and his South East recruits are looking at heading over to the Saints.
Not sure how they will go with clearances though.
They should head to the Tigers ;-)
How many did he bring with him?
hows josh mahear going this year?
Wildmanwok
3 Jun 2009, 21:33
Heard wrong they are staying put, except for McCallum (their leading goalkicker), he is off to Darwin
calnortonjnr
12 Jun 2009, 12:10
Any truth to the rumour that souths have approached the league for a chopout to help pay some players???
POWER JUNKIE
12 Jun 2009, 13:28
Any truth to the rumour that souths have approached the league for a chopout to help pay some players???
What the!!!!! you gotta be kidding me. if they gonna hand out the bux how bout Port Douglas, who cant recruit cause they got no work to offer. Sitting at the bottom of the ladder but at least they arnt handing out money they dont have. Bets are the money men move on next year anyway following more bux. What ever happened to playing for ya mates and a few cold ones after the game. Have to say there are only a hand full of those blokes left in AFL Cairns and bet they dont even get a pat on the back.
In fact I know of one bloke who early on in the year was sensational and by far best on for his team on this occassion. Turns out they give him 5th or 6th best (a non monetary award) and all the new supposed gun recruits who did stuff all that day pick up the major cash awards. Me thinks 10 years loyal service playing A's and a freakish game of footy deserves the bux not some fly by nighter who couldnt give a rats about Cairns footy.
Fretwell Park
12 Jun 2009, 16:01
What the!!!!! you gotta be kidding me. if they gonna hand out the bux how bout Port Douglas, who cant recruit cause they got no work to offer. Sitting at the bottom of the ladder but at least they arnt handing out money they dont have. Bets are the money men move on next year anyway following more bux. What ever happened to playing for ya mates and a few cold ones after the game. Have to say there are only a hand full of those blokes left in AFL Cairns and bet they dont even get a pat on the back.
In fact I know of one bloke who early on in the year was sensational and by far best on for his team on this occassion. Turns out they give him 5th or 6th best (a non monetary award) and all the new supposed gun recruits who did stuff all that day pick up the major cash awards. Me thinks 10 years loyal service playing A's and a freakish game of footy deserves the bux not some fly by nighter who couldnt give a rats about Cairns footy.
Ha Ha come in spinner, do you still believe in the Santa Clause as well :thumbsu:
Fretwell Park
12 Jun 2009, 16:06
Calnortonjnr 3 posts and two digs at the Fretwell boys your a class act, surely you could of made something a little bit better than that up.............. please grow up:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
POWER JUNKIE
12 Jun 2009, 16:07
Ha Ha come in spinner, do you still believe in the Santa Clause as well :thumbsu:
Of course I do along with the Easter Bunny, the tooth fairy and The man holding the money at AFL Cairns!!!!!
got me!!!!
tips
Cutters....just a class above by 100+
Doggies
and the Tigers...doing better than their name sake
Now we are back to playing
Tips this week
Souths over Saints -----what a match this will be
Port to win their first against Norths
Centrals too good over Cities
Hawks have the bye and some points
Souths approached the league hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha................ I know they did about better reveniew for upstairs but for player payments HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH HAHHAHAHAHAHAHAH
everything you every post from here on end I will believe HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH
Lachrilly
12 Jun 2009, 19:32
Saints to do what most think not possible and beat Souths in a close one.
Norths should win against Port but depends which Tigers turn up.
Dogs easily over the Cobras.
sniff12
14 Jun 2009, 12:44
Tips this week
Good call it was a great match to watch from all reports. could of gone either way certainly adds a bit of interest back now!
sniff12
14 Jun 2009, 12:48
Tips this week
And this was a good call too! Did you have some insider info on Norths or Ports teams because on form you could'nt really have tipped this.
Just had a feeling in my waters this might be the one
sorry to disappoint you all in my tipping
POWER JUNKIE
15 Jun 2009, 12:52
good call on your tips, I would swear you had money on it and the game was rigged but Port deserve a better deal than that. Oh and that would have helped them on the money front if that was the case.....but we all know thats not the case though. Starting to look like it could be anyones pick to make the four and how nice would that be for a change. Still my money is still with the Cutters, unless they start to burn out at the end, which has happened to them before. Either way wouldnt it be nice to see the Doggies in there as you can bet that would be a party that lasts a while.
jungle jim
15 Jun 2009, 15:21
Did the Saints get up over the Cutters? Who played well?
Lachrilly
16 Jun 2009, 11:59
Did the Saints get up over the Cutters? Who played well?
Cutters won a great game by 4pts. Saints got in front in the last quarter and were heading forward when the siren went. No real stand outs for either team both showing team efforts in my view. Saints showing that the Cutters for sure can be beaten.
Totally agree Lachrilly I was at this game and it was a ripper. Cutters where 6 goals up at half time and I thought they where going to win by 10 goals but the saints come out and really took it up to the cutters. Cutters did look to drop of a bit, and the saints took full advantage.Kenno was outstanding for saints as was Marto on McMillan. The finals will be a ripper between Cutters Saints and Centrals. Centrals also have picked up a couple of handy players before clearances shut as well, Sam Argas is one that kicked 5 on the weekend. Was impressed with the professionaliasm of the Cutters, went out and listened and gee there full on, and he speaks well.Big game this week Centrals v Cutters unfortunatly Cutters did get some bad injuries on the weekend and Im picking Cutters to have there first loss for season .
POWER JUNKIE
17 Jun 2009, 11:40
could be a few upsets across the park the way things are goin at the moment. I hear there are a few returning to Hawks after the Bell incident that went out with him. Also hear a rumour Bell is gonna play out the season and then head to Darwin. Will just have to see if he turns up Satdy to see if it is all just another whisper....would be good to see how he performs without the preasure of coaching.
Poiderr
17 Jun 2009, 21:34
Interesting game out at Trinity Beach this weekend, any truth in the whispers that Centrals have new additions to their team last week and again this weekend?
POWER JUNKIE
18 Jun 2009, 09:16
whisper or not the game between Doggies and Cutters will definately set the bench mark for what to expect at finals time...very interesting this one, but my money is still with the cutters as I think they might just have the edge. Other games have to go with Saints against Cobras and a close one between the Hawkies and the Crocs going down to the wire and a home game advantage for the Hawks to take home the bragging rights against a very much improved Port Douglas. Myself, I am heading to the Hawks v Port game as am keen to hang around after and have a look at what Mornigside and NT have on offer. My thoughts are that this should be classed as the game of the round
Bingo Popper
18 Jun 2009, 11:06
Interesting game out at Trinity Beach this weekend, any truth in the whispers that Centrals have new additions to their team last week and again this weekend?
Centrals have picked up only one player - Sam Agars, originally from South Australia. I must say they are looking a formidable unit this year and are slowly getting their best team together.
This weekends match between Souths and Centrals will be a great game, but im tipping Centrals to step up and win by 6-8 goals.
My tips as a footy newbie..
Hawks to beat Port
Centrals to beat Souths
Saints to beat Cobras
Lachrilly
18 Jun 2009, 16:50
Saints showed last week if you can stop the run of Souths they are very beatable. Looking forward for what the rest of the season has to bring.
This week
Hawks easily over Port
Souths just over Centrals
Saints easily over Cobras
Port over Hawks to record their second win
Saints no contest over Cobras
Souths by a whisker ---some injuries there, but have some in reserve
robbie green
19 Jun 2009, 10:21
Heard doggies got a few new blokes they are already a good team this year is it going to be souths first loss of year , also if doggies get up will they go all the way ,,,, ?????
Go back and read some old posts robbie, has already been mentioned Souths will have there first defeat this week, and yes as mentioned in an early post they have picked up some handy players before clearances close and yes they can go all the way in the finals just like Saints could Souths could and Hawks could.
robbie green
19 Jun 2009, 18:19
Hawks u r dreaming i heard they are S H I T this year ,so will souths bottle it again
calnortonjnr
21 Jun 2009, 17:54
Go back and read some old posts robbie, has already been mentioned Souths will have there first defeat this week, and yes as mentioned in an early post they have picked up some handy players before clearances close and yes they can go all the way in the finals just like Saints could Souths could and Hawks could.
So what is the scoop leema are centrals that good or are souths tappering off a bit?
POWER JUNKIE
22 Jun 2009, 09:43
My tips were off the mark a bit with the cutters and maybe every dog will have its day for the big one, will just have to see if cutters get back their injured players by finals time. If not it could be anyones flag. Went to the Hawks v Port game and Port only lost it in the last quarter. Had a brilliant third term but just couldnt keep it up. Hawks just ran away with it in the last after getting a burst from bench coach Richard Martin at three quarter time. Could hear him from inside the bar at Cazalys, just what they needed and were never headed after this. A few sore bodies at Hawks I hear after this one so who knows what will happen next week with them. Whispers are Bell is back in, starting training again this week and a couple others that have been missing as well. Could mean you might have to eat your words that Hawks are S H I T, robbie. Anyway I turned up to Cazayls to see the QAFL game and this turned out to be a ripper with Morningside taking home the trophy. Some class players and a class game. Even the umpires were good, something not seen to often in Cairns.
Poiderr
22 Jun 2009, 11:12
Anyway I turned up to Cazayls to see the QAFL game and this turned out to be a ripper with Morningside taking home the trophy. Some class players and a class game. Even the umpires were good, something not seen to often in Cairns.
Agree Junkie, noted early in the game that the umpires maust have been brought in to umpire (QAFL), standard better than usual & no familiar Cairns faces amongst them.:thumbsu:
Hawks u r dreaming i heard they are S H I T this year ,so will souths bottle it again
Yes at times Hawks are shit robbie totally agree, but they will finish 4th and they still look like picking a couple more up from Darwin before clearances shut , and this is what i base my comments on that on any given day they could surprize and do all right come september. :thumbsu:
So what is the scoop leema are centrals that good or are souths tappering off a bit?
The scoop is calnortonjnr, that Centrals are that good,they have a forward line of Barnett, Agars, Rhode, Bartlett, and Kreeek, a good midfield led by Maher , James and Uebergang and a solid backline. The first half was a very tough game of good old hard footy, When Souths lost Koefed and no 5 from there midfield they struggled, and not a thing went right for them. Also they had some notable players not playing that played aginst Centrals last time. Centrals where at full strength [ sorry seira was out] and Souths had a least 5 that i knew of, and then loosing there 2 midfielders early didnt help. Picking Agars and Neindorf up before clearances shut has helped Centrals heaps and they could quite easily go on and win it. Im not sure how bad Souths injurys are, Wanders and Morrison certainly wont be back for a few weeks I was told and there other ruckman is out for up to 8 weeks.:thumbsu:
Agree Junkie, noted early in the game that the umpires maust have been brought in to umpire (QAFL), standard better than usual & no familiar Cairns faces amongst them.:thumbsu:
The goal umpies where shocking, you sure they where brought up :cool::cool::cool:
Poiderr
24 Jun 2009, 11:24
I've heard of christmas in july, but mad monday in june ???, rumours are that centrals were that happy beating the cutters on the weekend they went on a bit of a bender. Any truth in the rumours about sackings, suspensions etc...........:confused:
Fretwell Park
24 Jun 2009, 11:44
I've heard of christmas in july, but mad monday in june ???, rumours are that centrals were that happy beating the cutters on the weekend they went on a bit of a bender. Any truth in the rumours about sackings, suspensions etc...........:confused:
Have heard this also :thumbsu:
Fretwell Park
24 Jun 2009, 11:46
The goal umpies where shocking, you sure they where brought up :cool::cool::cool:
Ha Ha yes one was Ray Hocking :p:p
Yes did get a bit carried away, but 1st ive heard about sackings :thumbsu:
Bingo Popper
25 Jun 2009, 09:06
Yes did get a bit carried away, but 1st ive heard about sackings :thumbsu:
Any club that beat Souths by twelve goals would be entitled to be happy. Centrals had a club function on the Saturday night and a birthday party the next day for one of the players, which had been organised well in advance but coincided with their win.
Now to this week..
Hawks to swoop over Cobras
Souths to down Norths
Saints to trap Crocs
Poiderr
25 Jun 2009, 11:10
Any club that beat Souths by twelve goals would be entitled to be happy. Centrals had a club function on the Saturday night and a birthday party the next day for one of the players, which had been organised well in advance but coincided with their win.
Rumours travel like wild fire and some times thats all they are, any truth about sackings? Care to divulge?
Now to this week..
Hawks to swoop over Cobras
Souths to down Norths
Saints to trap Crocs
And what a bus trip it was:thumbsu:
My tips this week
Souths too good for Norths
Cobras in a surprise over them Hawks
Saints way too strong against Crocs
Bingo Popper
25 Jun 2009, 12:29
Rumours travel like wild fire and some times thats all they are, any truth about sackings? Care to divulge?
No truth in the rumour of any suspensions or sackings to players or officials
POWER JUNKIE
26 Jun 2009, 09:58
tamba is dreamin if he thinks the Cobras are gonna come close to the Hawks, this would have to be the one definate of the round....hope Im not gonna regret that statment but if so, well tamba you definately have some inside info that I dont have, especially with the few that have not been playing at Hawks returning for this clash. Other games I reckon if Cutters are still short with injuries it could be a close one and maybe the Tigers might have this one by a few points. Last but not least, I hate to say it, but think that Saints will have it over the Crocs, not because I dont think the Croc's can win but because they dont! have gone missing in the head, winning is not just about the physical. Winning culture versus loosing culture, is an advantage even Betham cant stop.
tcwaters
29 Jun 2009, 15:07
Do you guys reckon Heath could pass Rainsford's record of 128 goals this year?
I think he's on 75 at the moment, give or take.
Ok here are my 4th of July tips
Souths too good for Port
North to stand up and show the competition they are worthy of a place in the four,they'll beat Hawks
Saints in a dozzy over the Bulldogs, not much in it, just hope the umpiring doesn't ruin it
POWER JUNKIE
2 Jul 2009, 10:55
tips for the weekend..........mmmmmmm....could be blow outs all over the park!!!!
Cutters back with that winning feeling by a cricket score over the poor Croc's.
Doggies will again have their day, as inside info says training at Saints has dropped off so just cant go with the Sainter's yet.
And with rumours rife that Sycrmy is over from Darwin to lift the Hawk's has my sure bet with them against the Tigers.
Tips for the week, from Poider.
Hawks over Norths
Centrals over Saints, centrals without the sniper in "Ryan"....
Cutters over Port, I'm not to sure about this one as crocs have been kicking reasonable scores even though they are 1 &10.
Cuters last three games 21, 9, 13 goal scores.
Crocs last three games 16, 14, 19 goal scores.
Ok here are my 4th of July tips
Souths too good for Port
North to stand up and show the competition they are worthy of a place in the four,they'll beat Hawks
Saints in a dozzy over the Bulldogs, not much in it, just hope the umpiring doesn't ruin it
Tamba my friend, Saints have no chance of beating Centrals when they dont have Walsh,Preston, Dixon,Seigers and Lee all out as well as the 3 or 4 they already had out. Hawks will beat Norths by 10 goals with the Darwin boys all flying over and will be 3 games clear in 4th spot , top 4 settled??? [ did say this would happen a few pages back ] Souths will beat Crocs but not by as much as people think, Crocs have picked up a couple of handy players from Tassie that go alright,keep an eye on castles.
I tipped Saints at the time not knowing they dropped so many, they don't want to injury their "superstars" at least Souths went into the Centrals game with a strong team abeit some minor injuries. If Saints are fair dinkum they would not go in understrenght.
Keep hearing every week Hawks are going to do this and that about time they produced. They only got over Port in the last quarter and did some struggling against Cobras.
On a side note enjoyed my corporate box seat at Fretwell last week drinks and food kept flowing.
POWER JUNKIE
3 Jul 2009, 12:56
tamba you certainly like baggin out all the other teams except your precious cutters...not a good idea until the final siren has gone on grand final day, then you can throw some flack at every other club who just werent up to it. As they say it's never over til the fat lady sings and history hasnt had the fat lady singin too many times at South's. Has been too many times so close and yet so far!! My money for the flag is still with the Cutter boys but dont go countin ya chickens matey
This is the first time I have bagged another team /s --- I'm very soft on what I could say :eek: . I still stand by my comments, isn't this site available to have some constructive critisim on teams :confused: Quoting an old president and life member keep some comments in reserve for later if needed.
And I will say something on the Cutters if I feel it is warranted, I also have never counted my chick-a-dees.
POWER JUNKIE
3 Jul 2009, 15:05
fair call......... constructive critisism is a good thing, might give those who are reading this forum and playing a wakeup call that they are not doing as good as they thought they were....fact is the last team to count their chickens was Port Douglas when they had the premiership T Shirts made up a week before the granny and ended up having egg on their face when they didnt take home the trophy. Cant say any one has counted their chickens like that since. One thing I can say is that you deffinately keep me reading.....look forward to more constructive critisism!!!!
Jimmy Hopgood took an absolute screamer on the back of Port Douglas Crocs. Well done Jimett.....:thumbsu:
http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/index/jim%20hopgood%20small.JPG
Gee shades of 2001 grand final when Souths kicked 2.10 in the first quarter at one stage on Saturday were 0.11.11 till they rallyed to kick 4 straight to finish the quarter 4.11.35 need some kicking practice some of them.
Not impressed with one of the reserve players from South needs to be brought down a peg or two some of his antics were shocking in the game he got a 3 week penalty from the umpires well done to Port Douglas for getting over them
POWER JUNKIE
6 Jul 2009, 16:48
from what I hear all three games were competitive...this is a dam good thing for Cairn's footy. Gets people down to the games since there is a chance that anyone can win. Even though it is looking like the top four might be set in stone, Port have picked up a handy recruit in Castles and Centrals look to have added to their already impressive team with Agars. Hawk's have finally bread a winner with the coach Weetra playing along side his son, who from what I am told is a chip off the old block. How many blokes get to play A grade footy along side their son! bet Gabby was proud as punch.
POWER JUNKIE
10 Jul 2009, 10:10
tips for this week...pretty easy I think.
Saints to good for Tigers
Cutters will flog Cobras
As will the doggies flog the Hawks.
Still a few out for Cutters and Saints but still think they have more depth than their opposition this week. Will be interesting how the Hawks cope with the different mix they have named this week.
tips for this week...pretty easy I think.
Saints to good for Tigers
Cutters will flog Cobras
As will the doggies flog the Hawks.
Still a few out for Cutters and Saints but still think they have more depth than their opposition this week. Will be interesting how the Hawks cope with the different mix they have named this week.
My tips this week I agree with you Power Junkie
Saints over Tigers
Souths cricket score over Cities
Centrals too good for the Hawks and take favorite post for the finals
The final four is just about set in stone -- but not the finishing position , can't see Norths making it but you never know with this competition ;)
Poiderr
10 Jul 2009, 16:47
The final four is just about set in stone -- but not the finishing position , can't see Norths making it but you never know with this competition ;)
http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/index/seniorsr13small.JPG Tamba Norths are gone mate, Centrals may pinch Cutters top spot, but I see no other changes.:thumbsu:
POWER JUNKIE
15 Jul 2009, 10:06
Looking very interesting at the later part of round 2. Went and had a look at the Doggies Hawks clash and from this one my money is now safely on the Cutters to take home the flag. With the depth of the cutters in the ruck (Grant Mills BOG for the B's this week, and could step up any time) and their experience with finals footy and ability to keep grounded there is not a chance the Doggies are gonna get the flag. Different bunch of blokes now at the Dogs all with egos all looking to do it for themselves. Taking out the young 16 year old kids when the score board showed no need. Had hawks converted the many simple in front shots at goal that they missed and Rundle, Warren and Powell been there the score line would have deffinately shown a closer game and for me Hawks are not in contention. They do have some very talented young blokes coming through but they need another year in the A's to be any threat.
calnortonjnr
15 Jul 2009, 11:04
Looking very interesting at the later part of round 2. Went and had a look at the Doggies Hawks clash and from this one my money is now safely on the Cutters to take home the flag. With the depth of the cutters in the ruck (Grant Mills BOG for the B's this week, and could step up any time) and their experience with finals footy and ability to keep grounded there is not a chance the Doggies are gonna get the flag. Different bunch of blokes now at the Dogs all with egos all looking to do it for themselves. Taking out the young 16 year old kids when the score board showed no need. Had hawks converted the many simple in front shots at goal that they missed and Rundle, Warren and Powell been there the score line would have deffinately shown a closer game and for me Hawks are not in contention. They do have some very talented young blokes coming through but they need another year in the A's to be any threat.
Junkie I think that there is some reverse psychology going on here and you have put this post out for a bit of a fish. Centrals are the form team of the comp at the moment and credit where credit is due is needed. Because Souths have a back up ruckman who played well against the Cobras means bugger all in the scheme of who will finish where!
Good to see Hawks getting up over Saints, is this the start of their run to the finals or another lapse by those Griffith Park Ladz.
Lachrilly
20 Jul 2009, 14:08
Good to see Hawks getting up over Saints, is this the start of their run to the finals or another lapse by those Griffith Park Ladz.
Hawks did play some good footy but with the Saints having at least 10 first choice players missing maybe more plus losing Hose before half time after a nasty head clash with Walsh (Walsh returned). The Saints are just hoping to be cherry ripe come the buisness end.
POWER JUNKIE
21 Jul 2009, 10:41
Didnt go to any games this week but I hear Hawks had a nice win as did Port. Not an expected one for the Hawks and I hear they too had half a team out so would have to say the second tier players for Hawks must be better than the second tier for Saints. Looking like it will be who gets over their injuries first as to who will get to play it off against Centrals or Cutters for the big one, and weather they have enough to be able to get past either of the top two at the moment.
Looks like the judiciary will be busy this week 6 from the Port / North game up for wrist slaps mmmm
POWER JUNKIE
28 Jul 2009, 12:15
Ah yes...Deja Vous of 2004!!!! only this time their not fiighting for the trophy, bit sad to see the Tigers struggling to keep it going for another year and would be terrrible for the league if they ended up folding. Can't say I really blame the players for the frustration on the field at the moment.
Dr Kenneth Noisewater
30 Jul 2009, 12:23
G'day everyone,
If there's any boys interested in a move south in 2010, Sandhurst FC in the Bendigo FL (central Vic, 1hr 30 min Nth of Melb) would be happy to talk to you. Preference for spine players and hard, in and under centremen.
just msg me.
www.sandhurstfnc.vcfl.com.au (http://www.sandhurstfnc.vcfl.com.au)
jungle jim
30 Jul 2009, 19:24
Sounding like a good season in Cairns. Two teams out in-front with some teams that can still challenge on their given day. No-one is ever safe with the magic that can come from Manunda boys and the Saints seem to have been hit pretty hard with injuries.
Keep the updates coming...
Looking forward to the rest of the season. Go Ky!
POWER JUNKIE
31 Jul 2009, 12:04
Tips for this week.........Cutters over Hawks but should be an interesting game with the inclusion of up and coming junior Hawk Brown to the senior ranks...keep and eye on this bloke has talent and will go far.
Doggies too good for Port and this will be a ripper. No love lost between these two and Port have nothing to lose by going hard at it. Could see some injuries at the Dogs after this game.
Norths will get the win against Cobras even with Elich out. Tigers will want to show Maguane they didnt need him anyway. All in all a great weekend of footy with all games looking to be worth a visit
Tips for this week.........Cutters over Hawks but should be an interesting game with the inclusion of up and coming junior Hawk Brown to the senior ranks...keep and eye on this bloke has talent and will go far.
Doggies too good for Port and this will be a ripper. No love lost between these two and Port have nothing to lose by going hard at it. Could see some injuries at the Dogs after this game.
Norths will get the win against Cobras even with Elich out. Tigers will want to show Maguane they didnt need him anyway. All in all a great weekend of footy with all games looking to be worth a visit
My Tips for a laugh
Souths over Hawks --I see Rundle not listed to play, will be tight, what with the Darwin ladz playing and them being an unknown style but Cutters to win
Centrals to rack up heaps against Port
Cobras in a good game over Tigers
Lachrilly
1 Aug 2009, 11:34
Heard some news from a very reliable sourse the other day that a few key Souths players will be heading to Port after they win the flag this season. Apparently they think their a shoe in this year and are looking for a bigger challenge. Big call with the Dogs looking in top nick at the moment and havent lost for ages.
Interesting line of chat --but one thing breaks that down :eek:, under AFL Cairns rules brought in this year-- any player tranfering to another club within the competition where they player the year before and played more than 2 Senior games will qualify as an 8 point player for the purpose of transfer :cool:- no club may exceed 32 points worth on the playing field in a game in any grade :(- this is to stop stripping clubs locally and to use their juniors so I do not think your news holds up as all their points would be gone in a couple of ladz -----but worthy of a chat line to help liven things up and rebirth this site :thumbsu: well done
Lachrilly
2 Aug 2009, 21:26
Interesting line of chat --but one thing breaks that down :eek:, under AFL Cairns rules brought in this year-- any player tranfering to another club within the competition where they player the year before and played more than 2 Senior games will qualify as an 8 point player for the purpose of transfer :cool:- no club may exceed 32 points worth on the playing field in a game in any grade :(- this is to stop stripping clubs locally and to use their juniors so I do not think your news holds up as all their points would be gone in a couple of ladz -----but worthy of a chat line to help liven things up and rebirth this site :thumbsu: well done
Well the guys in question obviously are unaware of this rule or maybe a rule change is in the air. From what i hear they were keen on the idea but if your comments are true that would make it hard for them
Lachrilly, normally I enjoy reading your posts they make sence and make for good gossip but this one I have to put in the Bullshit Box............:thumbsd:
Tamba this would be the first time [ well for a while ] your not talking shit, the points system is in the league to stop that kind of thing from happening :D
Lachrilly
4 Aug 2009, 08:57
Tamba this would be the first time [ well for a while ] your not talking shit, the points system is in the league to stop that kind of thing from happening :D
Only posting what ive heard Leema. Im not one to start rumours and since i havent been around for that long, starting shit would be a silly thing to do. Will have to see how things pan out i suppose.If things are as you guys are saying then theres nothing to worry about i guess
Anyone for thoughs on the Crathern Medalist for this year
Mark Kennedy -- Saints would have to be in the mix
Andrew Browning -- Souths
Bill English-- Souths
Cayden Beetham-- Port Douglas
Heath Barnett-- Centrals
Kennedy should poll a few best on grounds however has missed a few games.
My thoughts
Saints best chance would be - Matt Dwyer
Souths - AB / Kofoed / McMillan / English (might take votes of each other - AB best out of bunch)
Centrals - Barnett / Fewkes
Hawks - Dai
Should be interesting anyway
POWER JUNKIE
5 Aug 2009, 15:27
I will run naked round Cazayls if Kennedy gets the Crathern...nothin but a seagull that bloke!
Hawks best two chances are Gavin Miller ruck rover,been consistant all year, and Luke Powell their big ruckman.
Beetham having a good year but Port havent got enough wins under their belt for him. to poll too many best ons....so in the mix but will miss out this year. Mcmillan is cutters best hope but too many others to poll as well.
Barnett for sure...carton of rum on that one...any takers??????
Lachrilly
6 Aug 2009, 13:05
Very tempted to take that bet. McMillan from Souths would be my pick with Dwyer from Saints not far behind. Both have had great seasons.
Bingo Popper
7 Aug 2009, 11:01
A few boys from Centrals will poll really well..
Josh Maher, Callum Rohde, Gareth Oughton, Jessie Fewkes and Heath Barnett will share the majority of votes
POWER JUNKIE
7 Aug 2009, 11:31
Well Bingo, if all those blokes are gonna poll well for doggies it isnt looking good for my carton of rum on Barnett then is it!!!!! Better put my money on McMillan. Anyway tips for this week.........
A boil over with the Crocs winning against Saints
Hawks over Cobras
and Cutters too good for Tigers
Well Bingo, if all those blokes are gonna poll well for doggies it isnt looking good for my carton of rum on Barnett then is it!!!!! Better put my money on McMillan. Anyway tips for this week.........
A boil over with the Crocs winning against Saints
Hawks over Cobras
and Cutters too good for Tigers
am leaning towards Crocs myself
Cobras to scare the Hawks
Cutters over Tigers
Lachrilly
7 Aug 2009, 15:48
Saints with a couple of good ins this week will be too strong
Hawks easily over Cobras
Souths just as easy over Tigers
Medal- Andrew Browning/Matt Dywer/ Heath Barnett all too tie :)
Grand Final- Centrals v Souths , Centrals to win
LenardWashington
11 Aug 2009, 17:51
G'Day all, just seeing how the Pyramid Power ground in Gordonvale is looking and how far away they are from a seniors and reserves team. Thanks
The ground is coming along nicely , it will be 5-8 years before they have an open grade team which will be a great achievement for them and the league . looking forward for more competition , they have enough juniors to draw on and with the area expanding in the way of housing it will be a boom area
Lazza1981
13 Aug 2009, 03:43
Just a quick note I was wondering what some of these coaches would be on dollar wise as they cop a fair amount of critisism on the this forum and to be getting sacked these clubs must shelling out some serious coin.
you must be on the wrong site, the only comment was on the Hawks coach and that was a club problem, no coach in Cairns has been critisised here , please don't come here and try to cause crap asking s--t if you want to know what the wage is ask the people involved properly then you might get a decent reply, and be able to coach here if you are that interested. Do not think Cairns is a backward comp. do so at your peril.:cool:
Wear The Fox Hat
18 Aug 2009, 12:26
Article on the Murray league site, that S Daniel South Cairns has signed at Congupna?????
Lachrilly
20 Aug 2009, 15:13
What to you guys reckon about the Saints v Centrals game this week. Should be a beauty. Centrals coming off a poor performance last week against Souths,Saints starting to hit their strapsand could possibly be at full strength this week for the first time this year. Get their if you can i reckon should be a doozy
Should be a good game Saints back to near full strenght , Norths to take a scalp from the top 4 and Souths to run on their way
Tips this week
Saints
Norths
Souths
Last round fellows who are the tips this week
Souths cricket score over Cobras
Saints way too good for the tigers
Centrals in a close one over Hawks
bring on the finals