Souths cricket score over Cobras
Saints way too good for the tigers
Centrals in a close one over Hawks

bring on the finals

What date is the GF this year:confused:

DCdog
27 Aug 2009, 16:27
What date is the GF this year:confused:

19th Sept, shaping up to be an exciting finals series!

TheHotDogMan
27 Aug 2009, 19:31
Hey guys

Have a few mates playing up there currently. Was just wondering if you could let me know the best place on the net to get some infor on the league?

Also Rob O'Bree has recently joined the Saints can anyone comment on his performances this year?

Lachlan

Lachrilly
28 Aug 2009, 08:22
Rob is doing well at the saints. Played a few senior games and showed he was very capable. With the Saints getting numbers back now he is playing in the seconds but would be one of the first in line for a senior recall if needed

Poiderr
28 Aug 2009, 11:07
Port have the bye this week, one would presume they have had their MAD MONDAY. However unlike years gone there has be no news in the Cairns Post, any goss on how the boys played last Monday????

tamba
28 Aug 2009, 12:21
Port have the bye this week, one would presume they have had their MAD MONDAY. However unlike years gone there has be no news in the Cairns Post, any goss on how the boys played last Monday????

They must have behave themselves this year on Mad Monday far too many court appearances previous years

Live Bait18
1 Sep 2009, 09:56

Most of their boys would be too young to get out and about and into trouble you would think!:)

POWER JUNKIE
1 Sep 2009, 10:20
very interesting finals week coming up with any one of the four having a chance of making the GF. Hawks having beaten Centrals this week and Saints as well could be an outside chance of making it as looks like they have come good at the right time of the year. Either way who ever it is that makes it my bet is they will be playing off against the Cutters and anyones guess as to who will actaully take home the trophy...NICE!!!!!!
Word in todays Cairns Post isnt a Crocs mad Monday but the Cobras having a few too many and giving it to each other. Oh well boys will be boys.....and with a few under their belt who can blame them with the year those fellas have had. Who knows which club is gonna be next to grace the pages of the Cairns Post. All I can say is they must have nothing else to write about.

gutfull
1 Sep 2009, 20:12
Mick dunstan probably the best getting around up here for the saints!

Poiderr
2 Sep 2009, 11:04
Mick dunstan probably the best getting around up here for the saints!
Is that you Mellisa?

Geegrimey
2 Sep 2009, 16:12
Just an old Victorian who is looking at moving up to Cairns for a while with work and wants to be involved in a local club (non playing, more of a drinker/helper).

With all clubs within a small distance of each other and the next available AFL league miles away is there huge issues with players changing between clubs?

Is there a club up there who seems to hold onto players best without the almighty $$$$$ given to them to make them come or stay.

tamba
2 Sep 2009, 19:25
Just an old Victorian who is looking at moving up to Cairns for a while with work and wants to be involved in a local club (non playing, more of a drinker/helper).

With all clubs within a small distance of each other and the next available AFL league miles away is there huge issues with players changing between clubs?

Is there a club up there who seems to hold onto players best without the almighty $$$$$ given to them to make them come or stay.

The league have a points system in place, 8 points per person if you change clubs locally and are under 18 or a senior player or Reserves who had played two or more games in the upper grade the preceeding year, The clubs are enourged to use their juniors / No club may field any more than 32 points on the paddock in a game.

It comes down to loyality to stay with a club it seems players come for two years or so then go back south but all clubs have their nucleus and build on that

I'm sure any of the clubs would love to have you as a drinker / helper / volunteer to aid the over worked committes all clubs have

kicktheballlong
3 Sep 2009, 12:00
Some big games this weekend. Predictions.
South Cairns to beat Centrals by 8g
Manunda to beat Saints by 10p

tamba
3 Sep 2009, 12:30
Some big games this weekend. Predictions.
South Cairns to beat Centrals by 8g
Manunda to beat Saints by 10p

Souths by 2-3 goals
Hawks in a nail bitter 1 point :D

Lachrilly
3 Sep 2009, 13:50
Do you guys reckon the only way Centrals can go all the way is if Barnett fires in the finals. He kicked 70 of his 116 goals against teams outside the finals and 46 against teams inside (that included 10 vs Hawks back when they were a rabble). Not knocking a guy who kicks a ton in a season but surely the stats say he needs to do more in big games, with finals as big as they come.

DCdog
4 Sep 2009, 09:45
Do you guys reckon the only way Centrals can go all the way is if Barnett fires in the finals. He kicked 70 of his 116 goals against teams outside the finals and 46 against teams inside (that included 10 vs Hawks back when they were a rabble). Not knocking a guy who kicks a ton in a season but surely the stats say he needs to do more in big games, with finals as big as they come.

I wouldn't read into those stats too much Lachrilly, Barnett kicked 4 against the Saints a few weeks back which I guess is a small bag by his standards this season and the Dogs still had enough firepower to win. Obviously if he is kept to a small bag of goals the opposition will go a long way to defeating them, but I see it as being no different to if Walsh, McMillan & Weetra are all kept quiet on the given day.

POWER JUNKIE
4 Sep 2009, 12:35
there are still some loyals at most clubs........ trivia tidbit

Badger 10 years in the As for Hawks
Jamsey for Port
Syd and Aussie at Cobras
Jorgo at Tigers
Turner boys at Saints

may not be many but there are some. I have watched over the years and the only reason players move on to other clubs in the past is because the clubs havent looked after the local loyals. Things are a changing and with the talent coming through the juniors at the moment which club can afford not to look after these boys.

tips for finals

hawks by7 points
cutters by 4 goals

Lachrilly
4 Sep 2009, 16:28
I wouldn't read into those stats too much Lachrilly, Barnett kicked 4 against the Saints a few weeks back which I guess is a small bag by his standards this season and the Dogs still had enough firepower to win. Obviously if he is kept to a small bag of goals the opposition will go a long way to defeating them, but I see it as being no different to if Walsh, McMillan & Weetra are all kept quiet on the given day.

I watched that game and from memory he didnt have a set shot at goal. So 4 goals looks a bit better than what it was. Souths have numerous goal kickers which is a big strength for them and Walsh's 9 last week would have been his best haul of the season. Multiple goal kickers win big games thats why i think Souths and Saints will be the teams to beat

Mexican Greaser
6 Sep 2009, 20:46
Even though there was a loss on the weekend, i believe "Mr stats", that the bag of "7" is the second time that Barnett has kicked that amount of goals against that particular side. Hence, i believe he has what it takes to perform on the big stage. Naturally "captain obvious" it is harder to kick bags of goals against formidable opposition, i believe Barnett may have silenced some critics this weekend,..... Ya think!
Go Doggies! Do it "central style"!

blueeyes
7 Sep 2009, 03:48
Even though there was a loss on the weekend, i believe "Mr stats", that the bag of "7" is the second time that Barnett has kicked that amount of goals against that particular side. Hence, i believe he has what it takes to perform on the big stage. Naturally "captain obvious" it is harder to kick bags of goals against formidable opposition, i believe Barnett may have silenced some critics this weekend,..... Ya think!
having watch centrals to be the most undisiplined team in the competition over the past few years, it was shattering to see them lose to souths on saturday, they were sensational,all the players with question marks againts them were fantastic, and i have no doubt the meltdown of scoreboard and time clock contributed to there loss. hope they can regroup and through to g.f

Lachrilly
7 Sep 2009, 04:28

You cant argue with stats. He kicked the majority of goals this year against poor sides with his 10 against hawks, well they were a rabble at the start of the season. Not saying his not a good player but his record this year isnt great and i see Adam Couch giving him a touch up this weekend

kicktheballlong
7 Sep 2009, 17:37
SJ you are the man. 4 goals down 10 mins to play. That is stuff that legends are made of. While SJ is in charge, Souths are the team to beat.

Tip for this week
Barney to beat Saints by 7 goals. Easy.

Fretwell Park
8 Sep 2009, 09:38
SJ you are the man. 4 goals down 10 mins to play. That is stuff that legends are made of. While SJ is in charge, Souths are the team to beat.

Tip for this week
Barney to beat Saints by 7 goals. Easy.

Im sure SJ is flattered, but from where I watched the game the players decided to pull there fingers out of there a#se, and took it upon themselves to make it happen. In saying that Centrals presure was awesome and put the cutters under the pump in that 3rd Qtr.And thanks for the stat that Barney only kicks goals against the bottom teams, shit could of sworn he had a day out on the weekend and kicked 7. What a game this week, Saints v Centrals, we have already had two ripper finals and I cant see this being any diffrent.

Stinger43
8 Sep 2009, 09:49
You cant argue with stats. He kicked the majority of goals this year against poor sides with his 10 against hawks, well they were a rabble at the start of the season. Not saying his not a good player but his record this year isnt great and i see Adam Couch giving him a touch up this weekend

Lachrilly, I definately have to support you on this one! I was watching the game against the hawks when Barnet kicked his 10 and it nearly would have been achievable for an U/16 kid that day. I do think that it is probably worth only about 70 or 80 in another other top league as he has for use of the word "sheepdogged" a few bags of around 10 against the lesser lights of the competition. I believe he cleaned up against the Crocs back in May aswell. When the Prelim Pressure is on this weekend we will see Barnetts flaws and Couchy will be sure to give him a touch up, no doubt.

MJ42
8 Sep 2009, 14:48
Lachrilly, I definately have to support you on this one! I was watching the game against the hawks when Barnet kicked his 10 and it nearly would have been achievable for an U/16 kid that day. I do think that it is probably worth only about 70 or 80 in another other top league as he has for use of the word "sheepdogged" a few bags of around 10 against the lesser lights of the competition. I believe he cleaned up against the Crocs back in May aswell. When the Prelim Pressure is on this weekend we will see Barnetts flaws and Couchy will be sure to give him a touch up, no doubt.

You can only play against who is put in front of you. 100 goals is 100 goals and from what I can gather nobody else in the comp has been able to do it. So to all you wannabes who want to take a pot shot at a bloke who's kicked a ton get over yourself. Stinger43 how many bags of 10 have you "sheepdogged", and how many tons do you have to your name. No need replying mate, we all know the answer.

kicktheballlong
9 Sep 2009, 11:56
geez all the talk about Barnett. He has kicked close to 120 this year. He kicked 90 the previous year. This man can play footy. He showed his class last Saturday against South Cairns. You might find he will be the difference btw Centrals and Saints this week. Put him down for 7 at least.
He dont have to prove anything to anybody.

Lachrilly
9 Sep 2009, 14:53
I would never bag a bloke for kicking a ton its a great effort in a season. Yes he kicked 7 last week but they still lost. He is going to need some help for Dogs to win. I have been saying from the start that the team with multiple goal kickers will win it. Thats why Souths are already there and deserved favourites.

tamba
10 Sep 2009, 11:37
Saints will be hard to beat me thinks Centrals put their all in last week, keep Barnett close checked and he'll be struggling.

Saints by 3 goals

kicktheballlong
11 Sep 2009, 10:35
Prediction
CTB comfortably by 5 goals. Barnett to be to big and strong for Couch.
The Doggies midfield to run amok.
Im hearing reports that Cairns Saints might have a late inclusion that wasnt named. A goalkicker perhaps.

tamba
12 Sep 2009, 20:26
Prediction
CTB comfortably by 5 goals. Barnett to be to big and strong for Couch.
The Doggies midfield to run amok.
Im hearing reports that Cairns Saints might have a late inclusion that wasnt named. A goalkicker perhaps.

"Saints will be hard to beat me thinks Centrals put their all in last week,"

Sorry I did predict this

now we have a replay from last year Souths vs Saints

and what a cracker G.F. we'll have

Lachrilly
13 Sep 2009, 09:40
What a cracking day of footy yesterday. Saints knocking out Norths in the ressies in straight sets in a close one then their seniors doing the same to Centrals but in more convincing style. Did Barnett go into the game injured or did he pick it up during the game?. Centrals lost the plot in the end going the snipe with a few Saints players wearing some cuts today no doubt. Plus their supporters were a disgrace. Abusing the umpires as they left the field (thought the Saints had a right to be a bit upset themselves) plus abusing a female Cazalys worker purely cause she was wearing a Saints hat. Some of the worst stuff i have seen in a long time.
Anyway Souths vs Saints in both grades next week. Should be a great grand final day.

blueeyes
13 Sep 2009, 11:33
an absolute shame to see centrals bow out yesterday in the fashion they did, to play disciplined footy the week before againts souths, and then a week later self destruct. cam bartlett and josh maher should hang there heads in disgrace.. why do above ability footballers have to resort to shear brutality, saints may have won, but centrals lost it literally.

sniff12
13 Sep 2009, 11:53
cam bartlett what a dropkick!! when he went down in the middle of that fight with cramp was the funniest thing i have seen on a footy field so back to someones house for a drink today for the centrals lads seeing as they arent welcome at any of trinty's establishments??

Lachrilly
13 Sep 2009, 17:34
cam bartlett what a dropkick!! when he went down in the middle of that fight with cramp was the funniest thing i have seen on a footy field so back to someones house for a drink today for the centrals lads seeing as they arent welcome at any of trinty's establishments??

I think Saints just got into the heads of the Beach Boys in the end and they just lost it. Big Preston was in Bartlett's face all day and was a great move. Saints could have easily lost a player or 2 to suspension but kept their heads. How funny was the streaker during a Dogs shot for goal that went through but was called back just for him to put it out on the full. Thats the kinda day it was for the Dogs

Maxy5
13 Sep 2009, 17:48
Couldn't agree more with you boys about Centrals (both players & spectators) acting disgracefully yesterday. They were in the game at 3 quarter time but just imploded in the last quarter.....their coach (not sure his name??) should be be ropeable with the way his players conducted themselves in the last stanza. One of the most undisciplined quarters of football I have seen from a team from my years of playing & spectating. Centrals would have to be disappointed to finish the year off like this...totally underachieved for the calibre of players they have.

tamba
13 Sep 2009, 17:48

from what I'm hearing about their antics :thumbsd:, they won't be welcome in their own establishment soon :confused:

POWER JUNKIE
14 Sep 2009, 12:39
well what a sensational year of footy we have had. Any one of the four could have made it to the GF and from where I sit either Saints or Cutters can take home the choccies.
Crathern count tonight will be another close one but I think maybe Barnett from the Doggies will get this one close second the big ruckman from Cutters. Now the Doggies have finals experience they will definately do everything different next year......... you would hope!!!! Anyway good luck to both teams on Satdy may the best champion team win but my money is with the Cutter boys to take em both and Saints will be the first loosers 2009.............roll on 2010 the biggest improvers next season, my guess will be the Crocs with the mountain of Juniors they have blooded this year, there is a good chance they will be the team to watch.
Unfortunately for my team we were just not good enough. Maybe Hawkies 2010!!!!

kicktheballlong
15 Sep 2009, 10:09
How does the umpire of the year miss out on a Grand Final gig. You have got to be joking.

Poiderr
15 Sep 2009, 11:13
Congratulations to "AB" Andrew Browning from South Cairns Cutter's 2009 AFL Cairns Crathern medal winner. Well deserved big fella, great footballer & absolute gem of a bloke. :thumbsu:

kicktheballlong
15 Sep 2009, 11:18
yes AB has been the most dominant player all year. He will take Souths to a flag. A question - how can a player of his size and class not get a AFL gig.

ark n go
15 Sep 2009, 12:13
can something post the top 5 or 10 from each grade

bigbutt
15 Sep 2009, 13:50
How does the umpire of the year miss out on a Grand Final gig. You have got to be joking.
Ray Hocking doesnt think Tatts is good looking enough or hasnt got a good enough tan to get the gig.:mad:

LEEMA
15 Sep 2009, 14:19
Has been a great year of footy,a shame Centrals went out the way they did and must say have lost a bit of respect for there club and coach. How you can not drag a player/ players after giving away 50 meter penalities has got me shaking my head. Congrats too the medal winners last night, The Cutters ruckmen AB, had me in tears at the end of the night. Well its down to two, I admit I got it wrong [ Centrals and Souths in the GF ] but after the comedy act Centrals put on last weekend no wonder there not playing on the biggest day in AFL in Cairns. Souths I think having the week of and fresh, very well drilled side disciplined as Saints are too, will get up and win the flag. Mark Kennedy to win the medal for best on ground and in the magoos Saints to go back to back.

LEEMA
15 Sep 2009, 14:24

That was the biggest Joke of all last night, how can you be picked as umpire of the year and not get the job in the Granny.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd ::thumbsd:

LenardWashington
15 Sep 2009, 14:30
G'Day all, I know of a couple of melbourne blokes looking to play up in cairns next season. Can anyone tell me what the standard is like up there and which victorian comps would be similar in standard. Thanks.

LEEMA
15 Sep 2009, 14:32
from what I'm hearing about their antics :thumbsd:, they won't be welcome in their own establishment soon :confused:
What about Cobras, heard they had a very good shin dig a couple of weeks ago, and who can forget about ctters at the start of the year boxing on before the season started, dont throw stones Tamba, one really big rock might come back to hit you.

bigbutt
15 Sep 2009, 14:42
What about Cobras, heard they had a very good shin dig a couple of weeks ago, and who can forget about ctters at the start of the year boxing on before the season started, dont throw stones Tamba, one really big rock might come back to hit you.
Great call Leema hope its a bag of rocks:eek:

tamba
15 Sep 2009, 21:28

at least our players have more respect for their club house and haven't caused any damage ,
the incident at the Souths at the start of the year had nothing to do with football,
plus i haven' done a thing to throw stones at so bring it on and see what sticks on me

tamba
15 Sep 2009, 21:37
Great call Leema hope its a bag of rocks:eek:

you dont know me so back off Bigbutt or you use your other alias if you are game to use it so you are not a johnny come lately with 4 posts and think to know all about me or make comment on me

I only repeat here what I'm told and hear around the circuit from players.

POWER JUNKIE
17 Sep 2009, 12:29
Who ever thinks Kennedy will get the BOG medal in the GF obviously didnt see him on theTelly kicking the Doggie bloke in a sly one under the chin while he was on the ground!!! Mind you, neither did the umpire as the free went to Kenno??????
Sorry all but.............. BOG is for the bloke who goes hard and for the footy and for his team all day! Kenno, nope....doesnt fit the bill!!! Howard Kennedy medal goes to AB.....why not make it a clean sweep for the bloke, Crathern, Howard Kennedy medal and the GF......that's my thoughts......:D:D

tamba
17 Sep 2009, 12:53
Who ever thinks Kennedy will get the BOG medal in the GF obviously didnt see him on theTelly kicking the Doggie bloke in a sly one under the chin while he was on the ground!!! Mind you, neither did the umpire as the free went to Kenno??????
Sorry all but.............. BOG is for the bloke who goes hard and for the footy and for his team all day! Kenno, nope....doesnt fit the bill!!! Howard Kennedy medal goes to AB.....why not make it a clean sweep for the bloke, Crathern, Howard Kennedy medal and the GF......that's my thoughts......:D:D

It would cap off a great year for the lanky legged lad :thumbsu: with the shocking hairdo's :eek:

It will be a great match for grades.

Reserves for Souths have never won a GF this is their year :)

Maxy5
17 Sep 2009, 13:24
Hey Power Junkie, you obviously don't know too much about Kenno...3 BOG in grand finals in the last 4 grand finals he's played in. You find someone with a better record than that...get your facts straight before you dish out the dirt.....

kicktheballlong
17 Sep 2009, 14:58
Tip
South Cairns to win by 5g.
Koefed to get BOG medal. McMillian close behind with 6g.
Saints have too many injuries I hear.
Kennedy wont be a factor in this game.

Souths to get revenge from last year.

POWER JUNKIE
18 Sep 2009, 12:12
Maxy5....Not dishing any dirt mate...FACT, just calling it as I see it...which by the way, that is what this forum is for.....Put up or shut up then.....strip naked and take Cazayls if Kenno doesnt get it again this year....so sure he wont Im in for this bet!!!!!:D:D:D

tamba
18 Sep 2009, 12:52
Maxy5....Not dishing any dirt mate...FACT, just calling it as I see it...which by the way, that is what this forum is for.....Put up or shut up then.....strip naked and take Cazayls if Kenno doesnt get it again this year....so sure he wont Im in for this bet!!!!!:D:D:D

No I don't want to see his pimply backside :eek:

Cutters by 3 goals in Seniors

Cutters by 9 points in Reserves

NATUEREISAMOTHER
18 Sep 2009, 12:58
Good luck to all the Cutter Boys on Sat hope you are all singing the song loud and proud well into Sunday Morning....

Lachrilly
18 Sep 2009, 14:37
should be 2 cracking games with Saints winning both by 3 goals. Big call i know but Saints get up for big games and theres no bigger than a Grand Final. Weapon X Matt Dwyer BOG

kicktheballlong
18 Sep 2009, 15:41
What a load of rubbish to see Hose picked. Saints are playing silly buggers. I hear that Kenno is in doubt with a hammy anyway. Couldnt do all the training last night and limped off.

Souths by 6g. Maybe 8.

Poiderr
18 Sep 2009, 18:05
http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/footballnews2.html
AFL Cairns presentation night, Crathern Medal presentation to Andrew Browning "AB" Video display of season highlights as presented on the night.:thumbsu:

Maxy5
20 Sep 2009, 10:31

Hey power junkie...when you doing that nudie run across Cazaly's??? Kenno BOG...as I said...big game player...shows how much you know...chin up champ, we all get it wrong sometimes

Maxy5
20 Sep 2009, 10:35
What a load of rubbish to see Hose picked. Saints are playing silly buggers. I hear that Kenno is in doubt with a hammy anyway. Couldnt do all the training last night and limped off.

Souths by 6g. Maybe 8.

Yep saints playing silly buggers...good call kicktheballong..obviously you have no idea but hey, we all get it wrong sometimes. Saints were singing the song loud & proud all night...

Goalsquare Clapper
20 Sep 2009, 10:38
Firstly I'd like to start with bad luck to the Cutters and Norths, the league made it hard for you...

1. Kicktheballlong do not ever write anything on this forum again it will be treated as spam by the big footy mods.
2. You were told to pull your head in your own clubman, hope tonight is great for all and sundry at Fretwell Park.
3. Did Foss and English even play?
4. Motor? change his nickname to wind up childrens toy because he was not worth a pinch of shite today.
5. You would have spent 3 times the money, actually,no sorry, 5 times the money on payments to CATS (see earlier post). Saints pay Kenno to coach and that is it FACT. Silly, silly, silly...
6. You were measured, you were weighed, and you were found wanting...
7. I apologise to everyone else on this foram, even Quagmire and Tamba and the rest of the Cutters, we are actually very very very humble in victory...I just cant stand the bullshit that was on here last week.
8. The league did you no favours making the prelim on a sunday giving u a 6 day week.
9. Walking off while the presentations were still going was rude, rude, rude. You will never earn respect with that sort of behavior. Not sure you've even givin it a second though but we all noticed it and it was bad! :thumbsd:

I'm done, 2 flags to the 2 best teams, i'll reply to any stupid replies to this post on thursday when i sober up.....

mmmmmmmmmmmm.......History never repeats??
The monkey on the cutter's backs now makes king kong look like a baby chimp

Bing
20 Sep 2009, 14:37
Another season has past, another GF run and won and Saints premiers yet again. What a record they do have in this competition since 93.
As a supporter of an opposition side in this league, I admire how this club performs on and off the field. The rest of the teams must be so envy on how you can deliver on precisely the right day, time and be in front when that final siren sounds. No choking with this club!
The initiative to also get the girls netball side involved within the club looks like being a winner which should take the club to greater heights.

Hopefully for AFL Cairns we can entice quality players back to the Cairns comp in 2010 like past seasons to support our juniors as they develop as I believe the quality of the senior comp was well down from previous years, but that is to be expected with the current economical climate and playing bush footy in the north.

Well done Saints!!

POWER JUNKIE
21 Sep 2009, 09:38
Maxy 5...well,well,well.....what a fool was I to think Kenno couldnt do it again!!!!welll done to Saints again and well done Kenno, I am humble is defeat and have had to do the strip and run as that is where the foot in mouth occured! Thanks for the supporting effort of a few others we managed to get all the way round with very little comotion, probably due to there being no moon about and the fact that most people chose to move on from Cazayls before 9pm Satdy.....never again will the foot go in the mouth when it comes to Saints as they can never be written off:D

jungle jim
22 Sep 2009, 18:59
Well done Cairns Saints. Massive underdogs with four or five players from last years two's flag side getting a run. No Eagle, Coatsworth or Mick Dedini who were all stars last year. What a great win by a great club. Congratulations to all involved.
Bad luck to the two's boys who must have also shown some real spirit to make the GF. The depth at the club is clearly there and with the development of the juniors and netballers things should only get better.
I look forward to being back in North Qld. when I know there is a club like the Saints to go back to.

tamba
28 Sep 2009, 12:30
Friday Night Souths had their B & F

"A.B." Browning took out the honours from Matt Kofoed, then Motor McMillan in third place

In Reserves Shaun Weidner took that honour from Simon Lawson and in third Grant Mills

U/18's Ben Fogarty from Josh Barnes in third Mick Stewart

well done young fellows enjoy the rewards

Wear The Fox Hat
1 Oct 2009, 10:57
Friday Night Souths had their B & F

"A.B." Browning took out the honours from Matt Kofoed, then Motor McMillan in third place

In Reserves Shaun Weidner took that honour from Simon Lawson and in third Grant Mills

U/18's Ben Fogarty from Josh Barnes in third Mick Stewart

well done young fellows enjoy the rewards

Tamba, word is South Cairns will loose a few next year, McMillan and Douglas are of too Yarra, and a number of other boys are of back to Victoria is this correct??

Fretwell Park
1 Oct 2009, 11:18
Tamba, word is South Cairns will loose a few next year, McMillan and Douglas are of too Yarra, and a number of other boys are of back to Victoria is this correct??

Foxy, like all teams Souths will loose a few players back down south for one reason or another. Motor made it quite clear he was leaving at the start of the season as did a number of the other boys. We will still have 15 of our Grand Final side still playing and will path that up with 6-7 kids that played in our reserves premiership team, so we will loose a couple but the future looks really bright.

Wear The Fox Hat
1 Oct 2009, 11:24
Foxy, like all teams Souths will loose a few players back down south for one reason or another. Motor made it quite clear he was leaving at the start of the season as did a number of the other boys. We will still have 15 of our Grand Final side still playing and will path that up with 6-7 kids that played in our reserves premiership team, so we will loose a couple but the future looks really bright.

WHAT TO COME SECOND AGAIN :p :p :p :p

tamba
1 Oct 2009, 12:39

Yes it is unfortunate we will lose a couple of players but that is they way things go in football.
I wish them the best at their new clubs and am excited with the prospects of a new coach carrying on the great work of S.J. and his staff with new players next year and with the talent we have coming thru we will be up there and maybe that elusive bit of silverware may find its way to back to Fretwell Park.
I know i'll be running around again next year to the demise of a lot of bloggers on here. :D :eek:

tamba
2 Oct 2009, 10:45
Congrats to Coats in getting the Saints gig :thumbsu:

any other clubs looking or naming yet? :confused:

nothing from Souths club as of yet suppose the Penguin and co are still getting over mad Monday which turned into a week long festivity :(

oh my poor olde head I'm still recovering, the missus wasn't impressed :mad:

smasher316
8 Oct 2009, 22:17
IM from vic thinkin of goin to cairns to play a bit of footy. I have heard the cairns saints are a good team and new a couple of players from vic that was playing there. Whats the joint like?? Easy to find work and that stuff? do clubs give you a hand if ya a half decent player? Eg. help with work and finding a place to live?

Glen Quagmire
11 Oct 2009, 18:32
IM from vic thinkin of goin to cairns to play a bit of footy. I have heard the cairns saints are a good team and new a couple of players from vic that was playing there. Whats the joint like?? Easy to find work and that stuff? do clubs give you a hand if ya a half decent player? Eg. help with work and finding a place to live?

Smasher Cairns Saints is a great club and you would have a great time there. Cairns Saints like most clubs up here help with that sort of stuff and usually have contacts that will get you some sort of work to start with. They have just appointed a new coach who is a top bloke. Have a look at there website and go from there has all the contact details. http://www.cairnssaints.com.au/index.html . Where abouts are you from? Who you play with?

tamba
12 Oct 2009, 09:51
Souths annonunce their new coach, a large field applied for the job including out of towners

Well done Robbie Douglas on your appointment

Saints are not the only team in town there are some others that could do with your support Smasher316 and Glen Quagmire try Hawks, Norths, Cobras, Port D, Centrals.

Dont be greedy trying to grab all, let the competition grow and stop giving yourselves all the pats on the back writing blog lead ins for each other the comp IS bigger than you

Lachrilly
12 Oct 2009, 17:59
Souths annonunce their new coach, a large field applied for the job including out of towners

Saints are not the only team in town there are some others that could do with your support Smasher316 and Glen Quagmire try Hawks, Norths, Cobras, Port D, Centrals.

Dont be greedy trying to grab all, let the competition grow and stop giving yourselves all the pats on the back writing blog lead ins for each other the comp IS bigger than you

Why not add Souths to that list tamba. Or are you guys already good enough and don't need new players. Wouldn't have thought so myself.

Glen Quagmire
12 Oct 2009, 22:47

Tamba just answering a question champ. The clubs you mentioned are also great clubs. I just don't know any info on other clubs except for Souths. Who are also a good bunch of blokes.

Well done to Robbie on his appointment and to souths for giving him a go.

smasher316
13 Oct 2009, 19:19
Smasher Cairns Saints is a great club and you would have a great time there. Cairns Saints like most clubs up here help with that sort of stuff and usually have contacts that will get you some sort of work to start with. They have just appointed a new coach who is a top bloke. Have a look at there website and go from there has all the contact details. http://www.cairnssaints.com.au/index.html . Where abouts are you from? Who you play with?

Jimmy coatesworth is from whycheproof which is about 2 hours drive from where i live. my family is originally from whycheproof i dont know him personally but have heard alot about him! im from horsham i play for a team called kalkee im only 20 and we went back to back this year. You might of heard of steve shultz got picked in the all australian team he is our coach. Would love to go up there and see what its like everyone says its an awesome experience and play abit of footy with a good bunch of blokes.

Glen Quagmire
13 Oct 2009, 21:08
Jimmy coatesworth is from whycheproof which is about 2 hours drive from where i live. my family is originally from whycheproof i dont know him personally but have heard alot about him! im from horsham i play for a team called kalkee im only 20 and we went back to back this year. You might of heard of steve shultz got picked in the all australian team he is our coach. Would love to go up there and see what its like everyone says its an awesome experience and play abit of footy with a good bunch of blokes.

I know a few blokes from Kalkee in particular Edward Booker and definetly heard a lot about Shultzy. Na you'll love it up here mate.

tamba
14 Oct 2009, 13:25
Why not add Souths to that list tamba. Or are you guys already good enough and don't need new players. Wouldn't have thought so myself.

If I added my team to that list nearly everyone would have been down on my throat in trying to pinch him. :confused:

I was only trying to say there are other clubs not as strong but not to overlook them.

Gee can't win trying to better the leaque here can I ??? :mad:

tamba
22 Oct 2009, 18:11
Interesting Cairns may have a AFL team in 2020
a lot to be done before then including upgrading change rooms and a warm up area at HQ.
Way to go, but I doubt it will ever happen, we couldnt support one here

golden days
25 Oct 2009, 16:48
(Also news some people might be interested in Jason Lappin will coach up in cairns next year dont know who for but has apparently put pen to paper.)

Can anyone cornfim this ?
Jason coach the Wangaratta Magpies to a couple of premierships in the best country league in Victoria the ovens and murray. Brother Mathew is an Ex Carlton champ !:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

tamba
26 Oct 2009, 11:41
(Also news some people might be interested in Jason Lappin will coach up in cairns next year dont know who for but has apparently put pen to paper.)

Jason coach the Wangaratta Magpies to a couple of premierships in the best country league in Victoria the ovens and murray. Brother Mathew is an Ex Carlton champ !:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Obvious
some club who has a bit of coin to toss around,
could be anyone of the 5 who haven't named their coach yet.

Fretwell Park
26 Oct 2009, 13:19

Mate can let you know has not put pen to paper at Manunda Hawks and the Ovens and Murray is second behind the GVFL:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

tamba
26 Oct 2009, 15:48
Hey Fretwell ya must be bored the grounds laying dormant, no one running around you ,- except in the bar and thats quiet.

golden days
26 Oct 2009, 19:21
Mate can let you know has not put pen to paper at Manunda Hawks and the Ovens and Murray is second behind the GVFL:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Ovens & Murray have beaten the GVFL three out of the last four years, so of late the Ovens & Murray I believe has been the premier league.
There have however been some cracking battles and these leagues are both very strong.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Poiderr
27 Oct 2009, 11:11
Interesting to hear that Nth Qld (Cairns) has been mentioned as a possible location for AFL team in 2020, but can't even get a fixtured NAB cup game in 2010. Yeh right, who you trying to kid.............

NAB CUP ROUND 1
Friday, February 12
West Coast v Essendon @ Subiaco
Saturday, February 13
Adelaide v Port Adelaide @ AAMI Stadium
Hawthorn v Richmond @ Aurora Stadium
Sunday Feburary 14
Western Bulldogs v Brisbane @ Manuka Oval
Friday, February 19
St Kilda v Collingwood @ Etihad Stadium
Saturday, February 20
Sydney v Carlton @ Balcktown Olym[ic Park
Sunday, February 21
Geelong v North Melbourne @ Etihad Stadium
Fremantle v Melbourne @ Subiaco Oval
ROUND 2 – February 25-28
9 Winner Match 1 Vs Winner Match 2
10 Winner Match 3 Vs Winner Match 4
11 Winner Match 5 Vs Winner Match 6 Etihad Stadium
12 Winner Match 7 Vs Winner Match 8 Etihad Stadium
ROUND 3 – March 5-6
13 Winner Match 9 Vs Etihad Stadium
14 Winner Match 11 Vs Etihad Stadium
GRAND FINAL – March 13
15 Winner Match 13 Vs Winner Match 14 At venue to be determined by AFL

blueeyes
27 Oct 2009, 18:03
Cairns AFL
word on the street, is that tyson lane is on the short list to coach centrals 2010. it would interesting to see the line up for next season if he did happen to get the job

tamba
28 Oct 2009, 13:54
word on the street, is that tyson lane is on the short list to coach centrals 2010. it would interesting to see the line up for next season if he did happen to get the job

if given job, has too be the biggest step back in their history and a sorry day for AFL Cairns :o, with him returning after the rubbish and damage he helped cause to Norths and the league :thumbsd:

half_back_flank
28 Oct 2009, 16:05

http://knox-leader.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/lane-takes-knox-reins/

tamba
28 Oct 2009, 18:15
http://knox-leader.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/lane-takes-knox-reins/

"that says it all" and was printed on the 19th Oct

Blue eyes the word on the street was way wrong anyway,
at least he won't be back soon,
he is still claiming two premierships.
one, when there was an official, no result recorded.

Fretwell Park
29 Oct 2009, 09:07
Hey Fretwell ya must be bored the grounds laying dormant, no one running around you ,- except in the bar and thats quiet.

Tamba my garden nome, it is very quite around Fretwell Park at the moment called up there the other night to see the girls running around and having a kick and getting ready for the up and coming season. Friday nights is still in motion and have seen you throwing a couple of froffys back and enjoying yourself, see the new resturant is now up and going, and great feed from all reports.

Fretwell Park
29 Oct 2009, 09:10
Interesting to hear that Nth Qld (Cairns) has been mentioned as a possible location for AFL team in 2020, but can't even get a fixtured NAB cup game in 2010. Yeh right, who you trying to kid.............

NAB CUP ROUND 1
Friday, February 12
West Coast v Essendon @ Subiaco
Saturday, February 13
Adelaide v Port Adelaide @ AAMI Stadium
Hawthorn v Richmond @ Aurora Stadium
Sunday Feburary 14
Western Bulldogs v Brisbane @ Manuka Oval
Friday, February 19
St Kilda v Collingwood @ Etihad Stadium
Saturday, February 20
Sydney v Carlton @ Balcktown Olym[ic Park
Sunday, February 21
Geelong v North Melbourne @ Etihad Stadium
Fremantle v Melbourne @ Subiaco Oval
ROUND 2 – February 25-28
9 Winner Match 1 Vs Winner Match 2
10 Winner Match 3 Vs Winner Match 4
11 Winner Match 5 Vs Winner Match 6 Etihad Stadium
12 Winner Match 7 Vs Winner Match 8 Etihad Stadium
ROUND 3 – March 5-6
13 Winner Match 9 Vs Etihad Stadium
14 Winner Match 11 Vs Etihad Stadium
GRAND FINAL – March 13
15 Winner Match 13 Vs Winner Match 14 At venue to be determined by AFL

Very interesting point you have shed on us old great one :confused:

tamba
30 Oct 2009, 10:24
South Cairns have a meet the Coach Day tomorrow at 3pm /1500 Fretwell Park

LenardWashington
13 Nov 2009, 13:40
Have all clubs announced their coaches for the 2010 season?
If so, who are they?

tamba
21 Nov 2009, 09:15
Have all clubs announced their coaches for the 2010 season?
If so, who are they?

Souths-----Rob Douglas

Saints------Coatsworth

Cities------Aaron Nesbitt and Troy McGuane to share role

Manunda----- :confused:

Port Douglas----:confused:

North Cairns-----:confused:

Centrals------:confused:

tamba
24 Nov 2009, 19:23
with the 6 recruits ( 3x8 pointers, 3x4 pointers at least) Cities have named in todays Cairns Post that will take them to 36 points, 4 points more than Cairns AFL allows under the current player point allocation system,(max 32 per side in a game ) no room for the other 16 players needed to field a full team which are 1 point each at least. So how can they be a force with not enough players on the field only playing 6, you need 14 before a forfet.

blueeyes
25 Nov 2009, 11:14
tamba it's actually 38pts.. they have 3 on 8pts, the 2 tassie boys are only worth 2pts and i'm not to sure what a nt thunder player is worth. it still comes to 28pts with 5 recruits. that leaves 10pts for the remaining 17 players... maybe they just can't add up.. or they know something that the rest of the clubs don't know about.. i doubt that though,, there not that smart.

Lachrilly
25 Nov 2009, 13:04
who are the Tassie guys. I might know them. Could say if they can play the game or not

Poiderr
25 Nov 2009, 17:27
who are the Tassie guys. I might know them. Could say if they can play the game or not
Believe one is Jake Briggs & a team mate from Hobart FC...

tamba
25 Nov 2009, 19:07
tamba it's actually 38pts.. they have 3 on 8pts, the 2 tassie boys are only worth 2pts and i'm not to sure what a nt thunder player is worth. it still comes to 28pts with 5 recruits. that leaves 10pts for the remaining 17 players... maybe they just can't add up.. or they know something that the rest of the clubs don't know about.. i doubt that though,, there not that smart.

Thanks Blueeyes I stand corrected ----sorry (i rechecked the listings),

I better get my abacaus fixed, still no room for a full team,

I think they allocated NT the same as WAFL..... 2 pointers