View Full Version : Cairns AFL

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12]

Wear The Fox Hat
1 Dec 2009, 12:17
Who was the better player Eagle or Walsh up there in Cairns.

Fretwell Park
1 Dec 2009, 12:28

Gee both can play the game, Eagle is very poweful on the lead and very strong in the hands, and kicks the ball along way, Walsh is alot more versatile I think, he can lead,has a great verticle jump, and moves around the forward line and is always dangerous. Both kicked over 100 goals in a year and both kicked our bums in Grand Finals. :D:D

Lachrilly
1 Dec 2009, 12:40

You say 'was' there Fox. Do you know something about Walshy's playing future. Maybe a scoop nobody else knows about?

robbie green
1 Dec 2009, 22:26
heard he is playing on saints sould be up there again next year new coach getting plenty of new talent and keeping a lot i heard , anyone know who got the DOGS and HAWKS JOB

tamba
2 Dec 2009, 12:13
heard he is playing on saints sould be up there again next year new coach getting plenty of new talent and keeping a lot i heard , anyone know who got the DOGS and HAWKS JOB

Heard a buzz Centrals are retaining last years coach (that's not gospel- don't know how close my buzz source is):o

Isn't Gabby taking on the Hawks??:footy:

Wear The Fox Hat
2 Dec 2009, 17:44
You say 'was' there Fox. Do you know something about Walshy's playing future. Maybe a scoop nobody else knows about?

Ha Ha no scoop champ,just meant when they both played there together in 08 who people thought was the better forward.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Wear The Fox Hat
2 Dec 2009, 17:50
There is a very good player heading up to Cairns from Croydon, Ben Hollis, has he signed with any club up there yet.

tamba
3 Dec 2009, 09:33
There is a very good player heading up to Cairns from Croydon, Ben Hollis, has he signed with any club up there yet.

Have heard he is chatting with a couple of clubs, no decision as yet still weighing up options, no doubt about it, will be a very good pick up for anyone.

Wear The Fox Hat
3 Dec 2009, 10:32
Have heard he is chatting with a couple of clubs, no decision as yet still weighing up options, no doubt about it, will be a very good pick up for anyone.

Tamba, noticed in the paper down here Andrew and Mick Douglas are going to Congupna, hasnt there Dad been appointed coach of South Cairns. If this is correct wouldnt they stay and play under him??

And Matty Dwyer from Saints has signed at Nurmurka, and reports are that Barny from Centrals is coming back home to Kyabram after having an excellent year this year up in Cairns.

tamba
3 Dec 2009, 19:01
Tamba, noticed in the paper down here Andrew and Mick Douglas are going to Congupna, hasnt there Dad been appointed coach of South Cairns. If this is correct wouldnt they stay and play under him??

And Matty Dwyer from Saints has signed at Nurmurka, and reports are that Barny from Centrals is coming back home to Kyabram after having an excellent year this year up in Cairns.

Correct Robbie D has been appointed coach, from what I heard one is moving for his missus' work and the other with the view of playing in a higher league again , had said at years start was going south. Anyway their olde man coached them in younger grades.

ark n go
6 Dec 2009, 13:02
heard a rumour that young davies from cutters will be at the saints next year, any truth to that??

Lachrilly
6 Dec 2009, 16:28
heard a rumour that young davies from cutters will be at the saints next year, any truth to that??

Have heard the same thing ark. No solid proof so will have to wait and see on that one

werty
8 Dec 2009, 17:50
Souths-----Rob Douglas

Saints------Coatsworth

Cities------Aaron Nesbitt and Troy McGuane to share role

Manunda----- :confused:

Port Douglas----:confused:

North Cairns-----:confused:

Centrals------:confused:
Andy Viola is coaching the crocs again

blueeyes
10 Dec 2009, 15:15
Cairns AFL
rumour has it, that brett oakley is no longer the coach for north cairns 2010 premeirship campaign. did he walk or was he pushed

badboy09
10 Dec 2009, 19:20
for all those math gurus out there, you should probably check your facts first about the cobras playing list. You should also check that the points system will still be active next season as it is under review. Saints are going to be the benchmark next season with out a doubt, but everyone else is losing players except cobras so you have every right to start to panic. It will not be the same top 4 as it has been for the past few seasons, there will be some surprises. Thanks for coming !!!

badboy09
10 Dec 2009, 19:23
Foxy, like all teams Souths will loose a few players back down south for one reason or another. Motor made it quite clear he was leaving at the start of the season as did a number of the other boys. We will still have 15 of our Grand Final side still playing and will path that up with 6-7 kids that played in our reserves premiership team, so we will loose a couple but the future looks really bright.

doesnt matter who goes or stays souths cant win a flag or buy one. and not to mention the choke factor

Lachrilly
10 Dec 2009, 23:51
doesnt matter who goes or stays souths cant win a flag or buy one. and not to mention the choke factor

very nice badboy. Saints have lost a few from last season so they may drop back to the back. Will be good to see a few of the struggling clubs from last season feature in september action this season.

Poiderr
11 Dec 2009, 10:13
for all those math gurus out there, you should probably check your facts first about the cobras playing list. You should also check that the points system will still be active next season as it is under review. Saints are going to be the benchmark next season with out a doubt, but everyone else is losing players except cobras so you have every right to start to panic. It will not be the same top 4 as it has been for the past few seasons, there will be some surprises. Thanks for coming !!!
My MY were talking it up early this year. Cobras are rumoured to be splashing the cash this off season, but we heard the same last year. Good luck to them if they can kick it into gear, time will tell i guess....

bigbutt
15 Dec 2009, 18:11
:thumbsu:Riper call Poider, the same clowns at the Corbas tried this last year, gun players from down south were promised mega bucks but the club couldnt produce the work for the boys.Imagine coming up to a great place to live,promised the world, end up with no work,roll up to preseason training with 14 on the track hoping it will get better and by april your lucky if you get 20.Coin they may have but mateship they do not!!!!!!! My MY were talking it up early this year. Cobras are rumoured to be splashing the cash this off season, but we heard the same last year. Good luck to them if they can kick it into gear, time will tell i guess....

badboy09
15 Dec 2009, 20:44
No one promises jobs, payments maybe and definate maes, but if players cant find jobs them selves then thats just lazy. cobras offer jobs and assist to find but when tradies turn up with no tools it is a bit hard to employ them. and as for mateship , try thr club out and see the quality of mates there better than any club in cairns. and drug free. and on training, find a local club that averages more than 14 pre season.

robbie green
20 Dec 2009, 09:19
Is weetra coach of hawks this year ,have they lost many players

Saint
22 Dec 2009, 15:39

Ben Hallas has signed up with the Saints. His Mrs is a better netballer than he is a footballer I hear, though. Good sort too.

robbie green
3 Jan 2010, 20:16
so have all the coaches been comfired yet

tamba
4 Jan 2010, 15:58
so have all the coaches been comfired yet

heard a whisper Hawks are bringing in a GVFl Coach, a rated one at that,

any Hawks supporter verify ???????????

training re-commences next week at Souths after the Xmas---- New Year break

spot_on_news
5 Jan 2010, 10:28
heard a whisper Hawks are bringing in a GVFl Coach, a rated one at that,

any Hawks supporter verify ???????????

training re-commences next week at Souths after the Xmas---- New Year break

One of the Carins teams is going to be a force this year.
There are 7 tassie lads coming to play together at the one team. All senior players from the Tasmania Statewide league clubs. 3 are from South Launie, 3 from Hobart and one is the Lauderdale ass coach, which is Kane ritcher who is an ex Tassie devil vfl star who is working up in carins as the new development manager for afl cairns. One of best on ground in Tassies state win over qld last year. From hobart the 3 boys are 3 of there better players, stride is a ruckman, bass is a big chf, cnb with strong hands, briggs is a hard at it midfielder with good size. Launie boys all can play too.

Lachrilly
5 Jan 2010, 13:23
Richter is a very good player but is injury prone. Bass is a big solid player. Which club are they going 2

spot_on_news
5 Jan 2010, 14:34
Richter is a very good player but is injury prone. Bass is a big solid player. Which club are they going 2

Might be the cobras they are playing for, not 100% though. Will get more details.
Ritcher played the whole year last year injury free and will only play half the games for his club in carins due to work, but would be more then handy.
Bassy is looking fit and strong and will be a gun up there.
You asked for info on the other lads in the tassie post:
Briggs is a good player, played seniors for a few years, goal kicking midfeilder, half forward, halfback. Is a hardnut!
Stride, tall tap ruckman. Is ok but not a star, not sure how he will go!
The lads from south launie, i know one is sammy page, cant think of the other 2 but are senior players. They will go ok, our state wide league comp is of a good standard, would be better then your comp, ours lads beat your div 1 comp last year by a fair margin.

Lachrilly
5 Jan 2010, 18:04
up until last season i played my whole career in tassie and i reckon that the Cairns comp would more than match some of the statewide teams. its a fast league up here and i would love to see a game between the leagues. would be 1 hell of a game i reckon

spot_on_news
5 Jan 2010, 19:12
up until last season i played my whole career in tassie and i reckon that the Cairns comp would more than match some of the statewide teams. its a fast league up here and i would love to see a game between the leagues. would be 1 hell of a game i reckon

I have heard the comp there is strong, but the tassie comp has lifted since it become statewide last yr. which club did you play for? like i said before we beat the qld div 1 comp with the likes of copeland, lucy, eagles ect by 5 goals. so i would say it wouldnt be so close champ.

Lachrilly
6 Jan 2010, 11:50
I only played at Channel mate so that doesnt say much. There is alot of goal kicking power up here with some of the best midfielders ive seen. Its probably closer to a SFL Premier league standard now i think of it.

spot_on_news
6 Jan 2010, 12:55
I only played at Channel mate so that doesnt say much. There is alot of goal kicking power up here with some of the best midfielders ive seen. Its probably closer to a SFL Premier league standard now i think of it.

Channel, geee there are in trouble they got booted to the lowest league last year and still couldnt find a win.

Lachrilly
6 Jan 2010, 23:42
Channel, geee there are in trouble they got booted to the lowest league last year and still couldnt find a win.

they are a young club and with the recruits picked up this season should be more than competitive

spot_on_news
7 Jan 2010, 09:03
they are a young club and with the recruits picked up this season should be more than competitive

We all heard that last year mate, they spent a lot of $$$ and got nowhere. Getting in 3-4 good players wont help. The old boys comp is getting better each year. The only team they will have a chance against will dosa. They need more like 20 good new players! As they only half decent players were j mason & bowerman. fact!!!!! Every other team have recruited very well!!!!

Poiderr
8 Jan 2010, 10:10
Some local rag links for those out of town, who want to keep up to date.

http://www.cairns.com.au/article/2010/01/08/86795_local-sport-news.html

http://www.cairns.com.au/article/2010/01/06/86395_local-sport-news.html

http://www.cairns.com.au/article/2010/01/05/86195_local-sport-news.html

:)

LenardWashington
8 Jan 2010, 12:48
Can anyone confirm who is coaching Centrals? Havent heard much from them.
Also did the crocs new coach ever play for Heidelberg in Melbourne?

RiverRat
11 Jan 2010, 14:25
Can anyone confirm who is coaching Centrals? Havent heard much from them.
Also did the crocs new coach ever play for Heidelberg in Melbourne?

Andy Viola won a best and fairest at Heidelberg, played in two flags and was named in their team of the century in 2002.

Mango Triangle
14 Jan 2010, 16:05
Mangoplah Cookardinia United Eastlakes Goannas (MCUE) are looking for prospective players for the upcoming season. Mangoplah is situated approximately 32kms South of Wagga Wagga in inland NSW.
Mangoplah participates in the Riverina Football League which is the strongest league in the Riverina MIA region. The club has a proud history and with our strong junior base are looking to add to that in 2010.
The goannas have retained all players from last year and appointed two more and feel that a couple more experienced footballers would help us take the next step.

The club has available a large number of job opportunities in Wagga Wagga including solicitor, scaffolder, carpenter, farm manager, physiotherapist, metal fabricator, draftsperson and a large number of other trades.

A senior coaching position is also available...

Anyone interested in becoming part of a tight knit footy club, in a strong competition, with good support please send me a private message with your credentials and we will continue discussions from there

tamba
18 Jan 2010, 15:15
Football draw is out

Kick off 27th March

Round 1

Norths v Centrals
Hawks v Saints
Cobras v Souths

Bye Port

robbie green
18 Jan 2010, 19:52
whatever happened to first game of season replay of grand final does it not happen anymore

tamba
19 Jan 2010, 11:22
whatever happened to first game of season replay of grand final does it not happen anymore

Sorry Robbie hasn't happened for three years, when Saints lost against Hawks in the GF, don't know why

Souths meet Saints in Round 3 17th April at Griffith Park

Lachrilly
20 Jan 2010, 21:36
Popped into Saints training tonight to see about 35-40 on the track. Lots of new faces 2. Seems like they will no doubt be a contender again this season.

werty
23 Jan 2010, 21:33

Played in Cairns myself and also in the tassie state league. your kidding yourself if you reckon that the standard is similar. these blokes that have come up from the tassie state league will dominate. My advice for all clubs. throw your money at richter.

gutfull
24 Jan 2010, 11:26
Who's that bloke at full forward in the seconds, is he any good

Lachrilly
24 Jan 2010, 17:12
Who's that bloke at full forward in the seconds, is he any good

What team you talking about gutfull. If your talking about Saints there were about 4 or 5 full forwards last year

gutfull
24 Jan 2010, 18:12
What team you talking about gutfull. If your talking about Saints there were about 4 or 5 full forwards last year
Yeah Saints, I watched a tall forward in the reserves who seemed to yell all day, he might have been captain??

Lachrilly
24 Jan 2010, 21:33
Yeah Saints, I watched a tall forward in the reserves who seemed to yell all day, he might have been captain??
Once again could be a few people. If he was captain then it wasMick Dunstan. played a few seniors games before coming back and winning the ressies league b&f

lettherebelite
27 Jan 2010, 20:46
Played in Cairns myself and also in the tassie state league. your kidding yourself if you reckon that the standard is similar. these blokes that have come up from the tassie state league will dominate. My advice for all clubs. throw your money at richter.

Just spoke to a mate from cairns Alex Malliff and he said that norths have signed Richter today

thegoodjudge
29 Jan 2010, 08:27
Court is in session

i do beleive the info is INCORRECT,Rickter is negotiating with other clubs and is yet to sign.i am pretty sure he would not be impressed with clubs saying he has signed when he has not

On another note,a good source has it a committee member of North Cairns is bragging about how happy he is that they didnt pay their assistant coach and player for last season,what is the guy an imbecile.

Court Adjourned

Goalsquare Clapper
29 Jan 2010, 22:46
Court is in session

i do beleive the info is INCORRECT,Rickter is negotiating with other clubs and is yet to sign.i am pretty sure he would not be impressed with clubs saying he has signed when he has not

On another note,a good source has it a committee member of North Cairns is bragging about how happy he is that they didnt pay their assistant coach and player for last season,what is the guy an imbecile.

Court Adjourned
heard he has signed at north for 1 large a game, member told me last night that thank f*ck for the masters carnival.

tamba
30 Jan 2010, 07:49
heard he has signed at north for 1 large a game, member told me last night that thank f*ck for the masters carnival.

If true can they afford that much, thought Norths were broke or have they a sugar daddy in a sponsor.:rolleyes: A slap in the face to others in the side that have been there throughout the tough times and are after a bit more coin to make ends meet. :(

thegoodjudge
1 Feb 2010, 14:36
COURT IS IN SESSION

$1000 a game,how can they affors that up there???

I guess they may be able to afford it seeing as though they havnt paid there players from last year.I hope Rickter doesnt get burnt.

I agree goalsquare clapper,i think a lot of past players may be a little irate.But rumour has it most past players wont have anything to do with Norths anyway.

COURT ADJOURNED

robbie green
1 Feb 2010, 16:19
$1000 a game what a joke how can any team up there pay that out , wonder what the blokes he will be playing with think of that ??????

thegoodjudge
1 Feb 2010, 16:22
yes, i think its all false.just had some mail he is nearly due to sign with another club up there

watsons oval
1 Feb 2010, 17:20
Time for some Tiger influence.
Kane Richter is a North Cairns junior, and as such you would think the league, his employer, might suggest that he help his old club, who have been struggling, rather than go to a team like Saints, who by all reports are going to be strong again anyway. An more even competition means a stronger competition. I do not know if he has signed with the Tigers or not, but I can nearly guarantee that Norths cannot afford to spend $1000 a game on 1 player.
Good judge, as a long time supporter and ex-player of North Cairns, I don't think that 'rumour' is true. Our past players days are well attended and our Facebook group 'North Cairns Old Boys' is growing all the time.
Haven't heard the one about ass. coach (or players) not getting paid, the 'rumour' might be his way of trying to come up with a half decent reason for leaving ??

big fan
2 Feb 2010, 08:07
What a hornets nest Cairns football has become!
If Kane signs (or signed) with norths it will certainly not be for $1000 a game.
I agree with watsons oval, the league (his employer) should encourage him to sign with a struggling team rather than one of the power house clubs of the compitition, but the decision at the end of the day will his and only his.
As for the other players who negotiated their contracts, from what I understand, were all very happy with what they were offered.
As for sugar daddy sponsers the word is Bill Anderson constructions along with a couple of others have tipped in plenty to sure up a succesful year for the Tigers.

thegoodjudge
2 Feb 2010, 08:24
court is in session

So,what you are saying is the league tells players where to play.mmm maybe a conflict of interest there.

Facebook,What the.Are you serious?

That is by no way a true reflection of how a club is percieved.

Ok Watsons,tell me this.Why have so many players left the club?Not just players but ex captains,coaches and committee people not too mention the many supporters.

And as for the guy who hasnt been paid,I do think its more than an excuse to leave. And why would he need an excuse to leave surely if he doesnt like the club he doesnt need an excuse.And to set the record straight i do believe legal proceeding have begun,so that says to me it is a serious matter

Court adjourned

watsons oval
2 Feb 2010, 17:54
a) A conflict of interest?? I would have thought it would be in the leagues BEST interest to have an even competition. If that means recommending a former junior return to his old club, so be it.
b) Players come and go throughout the league. It has been happening for years and will continue to happen. When a side is struggling as we have for the last 5 years, some people would rather play for immediate success rather than go through 2,3,4 years of rebuilding. Coaches- our current coach is in his 2nd year and the one before him was there for 3, there are other clubs in Cairns with worse records than this. Supporters- as above, when we are winning games supporters come and watch, when we are losing they don't bother (again the same for any club in the league)Committee- It is no secret that we are light-on for volunteers and committee members, but the current committee is working hard and their numbers have increased already this year.
It seems that you are intent on making North Cairns Football Club sound as bad as you possibly can, I am here to ensure that the Tigers have a voice, and to let people know that we are heading in the right direction.

up da middle
2 Feb 2010, 21:52
a) A conflict of interest?? I would have thought it would be in the leagues BEST interest to have an even competition. If that means recommending a former junior return to his old club, so be it.
b) Players come and go throughout the league. It has been happening for years and will continue to happen. When a side is struggling as we have for the last 5 years, some people would rather play for immediate success rather than go through 2,3,4 years of rebuilding. Coaches- our current coach is in his 2nd year and the one before him was there for 3, there are other clubs in Cairns with worse records than this. Supporters- as above, when we are winning games supporters come and watch, when we are losing they don't bother (again the same for any club in the league)Committee- It is no secret that we are light-on for volunteers and committee members, but the current committee is working hard and their numbers have increased already this year.
It seems that you are intent on making North Cairns Football Club sound as bad as you possibly can, I am here to ensure that the Tigers have a voice, and to let people know that we are heading in the right direction.
here here i agree, sound like the good judge is more like judge judy. good to see norths trying to improve, and as for the assistant coach taking legal proceedings he , if true is wasting his money. a local footy contract is not worth the paper it is written on, if they are not good on their word then bad luck, perhaps the player has not done his job. good luck in court i say, the only chance he will have of getting anything will be if the good judge is running proceedings, but dont think he could even run a game of bingo !!. ps how are the mighty bulldogs going

big fan
3 Feb 2010, 13:36
here here i agree, sound like the good judge is more like judge judy. good to see norths trying to improve, and as for the assistant coach taking legal proceedings he , if true is wasting his money. a local footy contract is not worth the paper it is written on, if they are not good on their word then bad luck, perhaps the player has not done his job. good luck in court i say, the only chance he will have of getting anything will be if the good judge is running proceedings, but dont think he could even run a game of bingo !!. ps how are the mighty bulldogs going

Ok, Ok I also think judge Judy or what ever his name is having a bit of trouble getting a grip on reality.
If any of us wanted to pick holes in any club we could but that would serve no real purpose.
I think the best thing we all can do now is get back to looking after our own clubs and watching Kane play some good footy in Cairns
(maybe in a yellow and black jersy).
As the for the bulldogs I think they'll do just fine this season, they've got good people out there always trying to do the right thing.

watsons oval
3 Feb 2010, 18:38
Just a quick one to let everyone know that the North Cairns website has finally been updated. Go to : www.northcairnstigers.com.au (http://www.northcairnstigers.com.au) for all your up to date news about the club.

napoleon
8 Feb 2010, 07:57
just looking for some info on a young bloke who has returned from cairns to ballarat. mathew caine(kane) played with cairns saints i believe, can anyone shed some light on how he plays. cheers.

tamba
9 Feb 2010, 12:28
Well done to Port Douglas for thinking outside the square with their new sponsor

"Turtle Cove Gay Resort"

thegoodjudge
9 Feb 2010, 13:08
court is in session

Football contracts not being legally binding???

Well UPTHEMIDDLE I think that you will find that with any contract it is binding.There have been many cases throughout Australia where Players have pursued payments via the courts,whether it be small claims or otherwise and won.Maybe if you did some homework you may have some insight.To be honest I think that any club that does not honour contracts is walking a fine line,its not fair on the player or the league.

Am I picking holes in North Cairns???I think not.I was simply replying to a previous post that was incorrect in saying that Norths have signed Rickter which was and is totally incorrect.

If Watsons,upthemiddle and bigfan cant post accurate post please refrain from doing so.

In regards to a conflict of interest,I do belive it would be a better system to refer the player to all clubs and let him make up his own mind.

Collo_Cairns
9 Feb 2010, 16:34
Love reading a bit of banter and rumour here and have done on my work breaks to get me through, all without joining to ever write. But thegoodjudge, you can't keep having a go at a struggling club.

Every club has a turn down the bottom and obviously this bloke Rickter is hot property in the Cairns AFL. You are picking holes. Its all friendly banter and peoples opinions but watch how far you step. Obviously you have upset a couple of volunteers with your comments, poor effort really for a club that has been going through a rough patch on the field.

Seems all very quiet for season 2010, I don't think the signing of one player can change the whole season so I'd love to know how each club is looking for the coming season? New recruits/players to watch?

big fan
10 Feb 2010, 08:12
court is in session

Football contracts not being legally binding???

Well UPTHEMIDDLE I think that you will find that with any contract it is binding.There have been many cases throughout Australia where Players have pursued payments via the courts,whether it be small claims or otherwise and won.Maybe if you did some homework you may have some insight.To be honest I think that any club that does not honour contracts is walking a fine line,its not fair on the player or the league.

Am I picking holes in North Cairns???I think not.I was simply replying to a previous post that was incorrect in saying that Norths have signed Rickter which was and is totally incorrect.

If Watsons,upthemiddle and bigfan cant post accurate post please refrain from doing so.

In regards to a conflict of interest,I do belive it would be a better system to refer the player to all clubs and let him make up his own mind.

Hey judge judy, please explain where I have submitted a post that is in accurate?

Read the posts clearly before you condem everyone

badboy09
10 Feb 2010, 13:19
hey good judge. you sound like you are having fun on this website. all i can say is poor norths. they are struggling because of them. no need to feel sorry for them. but you judge, you sound like you have too much time on your hands. you have been entertaining but you prob have never played a game in your life and if you have it would have been for division 10 reserves, and you are still playing and trying to hang on to what little time you have left.

Mr_X
10 Feb 2010, 15:56
Very interesting read as of late.

It would seem as if North Cairns are not very popular with atleast one member of our law community. Further to the point it would seem that everyone, as quick as they are to jump to the aid of 'a struggling club', seem to be overlooking the real problem at the core.

Why are North Cairns Tiger's struggling? This is not a rhetorical question, I would generally like to hear everyone's thoughts.

Whilst not involved in North Cairns Tigers or the AFL Cairns I have heard of key players that have left the club in recent times. Coaches, committee members, captains, best and fairest winners. Do these people know somethng that the rest of us on this forum don't? Are they willing to defend North Cairns Tigers or are they also of the view of the Good Judge?

Just my input on the Ritcher subject... I think that it would be severely wrong of the league to recommend clubs over others. Which clubs would get priority? Why wouldn't the league suggest Kane play at the Cutters so that they can get the grand final that they have come so close to in recent seasons.

Raises the question...Will the league start to recommend certain players play at Port given thier recent sponsor?

All I think tha can atained here is that Kane should play where Kane wants and where it will benefit Kane. Clubs are about helping players enjoy their time. In return, players strive for success. It is and always will be a partnership between clubs and players.

It would appear that somewhere along the line North Cairns Tigers have severely reuined their partnership with some players including the 'assistant'.

If this is true then I feel that North Cairns Tigers deserve to be 'struggling' and are probaly this way because of attitudes like this. The publicity for North Cairns is not going to be great if these allogations are correct. The simple fact is what kind of people sleep at night knowing that they have ripped off their assistant. I suspect the club's attitude towards this player is not a one off and they most likely have themselves to blame. Assuming that all the allogations are true.

And trust me when I say this, the 'old footy contract' is every bit a legal document and has saved many a poor players in the past from similar situations.

big fan
10 Feb 2010, 20:50
Very interesting read as of late.

It would seem as if North Cairns are not very popular with atleast one member of our law community. Further to the point it would seem that everyone, as quick as they are to jump to the aid of 'a struggling club', seem to be overlooking the real problem at the core.

Why are North Cairns Tiger's struggling? This is not a rhetorical question, I would generally like to hear everyone's thoughts.

Whilst not involved in North Cairns Tigers or the AFL Cairns I have heard of key players that have left the club in recent times. Coaches, committee members, captains, best and fairest winners. Do these people know somethng that the rest of us on this forum don't? Are they willing to defend North Cairns Tigers or are they also of the view of the Good Judge?

Just my input on the Ritcher subject... I think that it would be severely wrong of the league to recommend clubs over others. Which clubs would get priority? Why wouldn't the league suggest Kane play at the Cutters so that they can get the grand final that they have come so close to in recent seasons.

Raises the question...Will the league start to recommend certain players play at Port given thier recent sponsor?

All I think tha can atained here is that Kane should play where Kane wants and where it will benefit Kane. Clubs are about helping players enjoy their time. In return, players strive for success. It is and always will be a partnership between clubs and players.

It would appear that somewhere along the line North Cairns Tigers have severely reuined their partnership with some players including the 'assistant'.

If this is true then I feel that North Cairns Tigers deserve to be 'struggling' and are probaly this way because of attitudes like this. The publicity for North Cairns is not going to be great if these allogations are correct. The simple fact is what kind of people sleep at night knowing that they have ripped off their assistant. I suspect the club's attitude towards this player is not a one off and they most likely have themselves to blame. Assuming that all the allogations are true.

And trust me when I say this, the 'old footy contract' is every bit a legal document and has saved many a poor players in the past from similar situations.

Well, well, well, would I be right in thinking that 'the good judge' and 'Mr X' may in fact be the same person? Would it be the same person we think it might be? Mmm something doesn't quite add up there.
Has it also come out that the 'assistant' may had also done some terribly unscrupulas dealings whilst still maintaining a possition at the tigers and having already done a deal behind closed doors with another club?
wake up and smell the coffee your not as smart as you think you are!

Poiderr
11 Feb 2010, 06:58
Interesting read tha "Jack" Jason Love wants some sympathy to allow him to coach again... FAIL! http://www.cairns.com.au/article/2010/02/11/92955_local-news.html

tamba
11 Feb 2010, 07:36
Interesting read tha "Jack" Jason Love wants some sympathy to allow him to coach again... FAIL! http://www.cairns.com.au/article/2010/02/11/92955_local-news.html

Hey Poiderr reading on line whilst at work mate, mmmmm

I thought he actually got life along with Lane , but must have been cut down on appeal , I know Lane is coaching again but shouldn't be.

No way should he be coaching again after the disgracefully display and the damage he did to the code up here, :thumbsd:

Norths to their credit are slowly recovering. they will be a force again very soon. :thumbsu:

One big match this year will be the annual Anzac Day match North v South this year we return to Watson Oval the site of the first game. It will be played on a Sunday so no excuse for fans not turning out

thegoodjudge
11 Feb 2010, 09:14
I think the Love thing has gone on for too long.I undertand that he has a good football brain and was well liked by many.

I hope the guy gets his chance to coach again as the penalty seems really harsh.

Goalsquare Clapper
11 Feb 2010, 10:58
I think the Love thing has gone on for too long.I undertand that he has a good football brain and was well liked by many.

I hope the guy gets his chance to coach again as the penalty seems really harsh.

I know more than a few people who would debate those 2 statements. Harsh?? That brawl was meticulously planned and ruined the image of the game worldwide. Also the fallout has taken Norths to new depths since that year.

tamba
11 Feb 2010, 11:29

Having watched the unsportsmanlike conduct of him and his team running through a team lined up for the National Anthem before it was finished and witnessing the coach going after players chasing one then another and hitting them ( all caught on film as well ) he does not have the right to a lesser sentence, he was in charge of the side so the buck stops with him and his staff do the crime pay the time, should have stuck with the life ban along with his assistant coach Lane , does not deserve our sympathy

enough has been said on this over the years so please leave this wound closed.

Lachrilly
11 Feb 2010, 13:13
Ok guys back to some proper footy talk. Who have clubs lost and gained since last season?

thegoodjudge
11 Feb 2010, 13:17
ok,so he chased and hit players.well that changes my opinion.he should have got life.

Mr_X
11 Feb 2010, 16:09
Well, well, well, would I be right in thinking that 'the good judge' and 'Mr X' may in fact be the same person? Would it be the same person we think it might be? Mmm something doesn't quite add up there.
Has it also come out that the 'assistant' may had also done some terribly unscrupulas dealings whilst still maintaining a possition at the tigers and having already done a deal behind closed doors with another club?
wake up and smell the coffee your not as smart as you think you are!

I'm not aware of these dealing? Perhaps you could enlighten me?

I am very much on the fence about this topic. I was merely offering my opinion based on the facts that have been presented. If you have more facts, I would love to hear them.

Also, if we are talking in reference to intelligence, position only has 1 s, not two.

tamba
11 Feb 2010, 16:55
Ok guys back to some proper footy talk. Who have clubs lost and gained since last season?

Well no secret in the fact Souths have lost 14 from the 22 that played in the Senior grand final

......but .....

some new faces have been seen around the club as well as ones returning from elsewhere

major fact ..... will still be in the top mix come Sept.

Lachrilly
11 Feb 2010, 17:48
losing half your grand final side and still be in the mix? must have recruited well down Souths if thats the case. Saints have lost maybe 6-8 of last years premiership side but have recruited quite well and should be there abouts again this year. Obviously Coatsworth is a major in for the club but Matt Walsh's younger brother is also one to watch. He is a big unit and i reckon it might bring out the best in Matt having him in the side. Looking for Walshy to crack the ton this year. Watch out

tamba
11 Feb 2010, 17:55
losing half your grand final side and still be in the mix? must have recruited well down Souths if thats the case. Saints have lost maybe 6-8 of last years premiership side but have recruited quite well and should be there abouts again this year. Obviously Coatsworth is a major in for the club but Matt Walsh's younger brother is also one to watch. He is a big unit and i reckon it might bring out the best in Matt having him in the side. Looking for Walshy to crack the ton this year. Watch out

Any side having Coats would be very happy

but Matt's younger what position ???

tamba
11 Feb 2010, 18:59

A lot of players want to be coached by Robbie D, he had a good few back when Souths 16's won back to back to back,
they are coming home plus the new boys coming/here/returning gaining strength

bring on 2010 for all clubs

watsons oval
11 Feb 2010, 21:15
Norths looking solid without being spectacular, a good core group has been working hard since before chrissy and with a few recruits still to arrive, top 4 is a definite and realistic goal. Rumour and here-say around the club is that Saints still strong, Centrals and Souths to come back to the pack a bit while Port to be the big improvers, Cobras talking themselves up and not much said about Hawks.
With regards to the Love situation, in my opinion, this is the No.1 (but not only) reason for our struggles. Sponsors, and therefore cash, are very hard to come by: as soon as North Cairns are mentioned, so is the fight. Is it just a coincidence we are one of the only clubs in town without a naming rights sponsor?

Lachrilly
12 Feb 2010, 00:10
Josh Walsh is about 6'3, 6'4 so CHF would be an assumed possie but im not the coach so have to wait and see on that 1.

Apache Cat
12 Feb 2010, 14:35
Lachrilly Re: Cairns AFL
Josh Walsh is about 6'3, 6'4 so CHF would be an assumed possie but im not the coach so have to wait and see on that 1.

I have witnessed Josh Walsh play footy down & if Saints are boasting him as a key recruit they must struggling. Good size but has something that is very hard breed out of a footballer. A very small ticker.

Lachrilly
12 Feb 2010, 15:00
i never boasted him as a key recruit just think he will be more than handy thats all

Glen Quagmire
12 Feb 2010, 15:20
Lachrilly Re: Cairns AFL

I have witnessed Josh Walsh play footy down & if Saints are boasting him as a key recruit they must struggling. Good size but has something that is very hard breed out of a footballer. A very small ticker.

Apache Cat a little rich coming from a guy who obviously runs around in the two's if you were able to watch Josh play. Josh played senior footy for Redan in their premiership year before getting injured. Hasn't played for 3 years so could be anything. Just wait and see I guess.

Lachrilly how are the saints looking? Tamba sounds promising for souths. Recruited any forwards / Key forwards. See Kane Ubergang from centrals has gone to port. Port finished well last season and by adding a few quality recruits like this could be the team to beat. Any word on how the cobras are actually going?

tamba
12 Feb 2010, 17:25
Apache Cat a little rich coming from a guy who obviously runs around in the two's if you were able to watch Josh play. Josh played senior footy for Redan in their premiership year before getting injured. Hasn't played for 3 years so could be anything. Just wait and see I guess.

Lachrilly how are the saints looking? Tamba sounds promising for souths. Recruited any forwards / Key forwards. See Kane Ubergang from centrals has gone to port. Port finished well last season and by adding a few quality recruits like this could be the team to beat. Any word on how the cobras are actually going?

Fairly certain Kane went to Port as assistant coach

Port blooded a lot of their younger squad last year so will have a very stable, oiled machine with some new faces in the mix they will be a force

This year should be the closest the comp. has been for a awhile

Think Cobras have recruited 3 or 4 from Tassie

.....but have named two senior coaches

dont know how that will work but have to wait and see

robbie green
12 Feb 2010, 18:39
there has not been a lot of talk about hawks ,who is new coach and any new recruits

Apache Cat
12 Feb 2010, 19:08
[quote=Glen Quagmire;16863658]Apache Cat a little rich coming from a guy who obviously runs around in the two's if you were able to watch Josh play. Josh played senior footy for Redan in their premiership year before getting injured. Hasn't played for 3 years so could be anything. Just wait and see I guess. quote]

Wish i could run around in the twos but this wheel chair makes it a little difficult. I think you'll find Josh mainly played reserves football during his time at Redan. He did play the first half season in the seniors during a premiership year & was fully fit for last 5 or 6 games but couldnt get back in. Will be a good 3rd or 4th string ruckman until the going gets tough then will probably dominate in the 2's.

Lachrilly
12 Feb 2010, 21:07

numbers have been great at the saints glen and with still a numbers of players to start training spots will be as hard to get as your knee through a small gap in the fence

No Heart
17 Feb 2010, 15:46
Whats the go at Souths,after a major incident last year to do with players screwing mates girlfreinds and players punching on at the pub for all to see, rumour has it it has happened again this year all ready and players have left, Tamba is this true and whats the go ?????

Poiderr
18 Feb 2010, 10:16
Whats the go at Souths,after a major incident last year to do with players screwing mates girlfreinds and players punching on at the pub for all to see, rumour has it it has happened again this year all ready and players have left, Tamba is this true and whats the go ?????

Alls good at the Cutters this year, keep stirring that pot and you will find that the shit in it is what coming out of your mouth... nice try..:D

Fretwell Park
21 Feb 2010, 09:57
there has not been a lot of talk about hawks ,who is new coach and any new recruits

Beware of the mighty Hawks in season 2010, with players like Wllly Allick, Jamie Scryamgour, Dwayne Weetra, and the 5 players coming over from the NT, im expecting the Hawks to be there abouts. Kev Rundle is going around again and with Big Dick now the president all is going forward.

Great hit out for the boys from Fretwell park last week numbers at training have been great, as Tamba mentioned yes we have lost a few but we are picking some handy players up and looking forward to the season.Rumour has it Tamba there was a drunk Penguin at the club last week, Zoo [ Sue ] keepers where called to take our little slippery freind away.

Apache Cat
22 Feb 2010, 13:44
Has anyone got any info on the rumour of Ehlich from Norths going to Hawks? Also has Richter signed anywhere yet? i've heard he's still talking to a couple of clubs & yet to make a decission but may be influenced by his Tassie mates & where they decide to play?

tamba
22 Feb 2010, 15:11
Beware of the mighty Hawks in season 2010, with players like Wllly Allick, Jamie Scryamgour, Dwayne Weetra, and the 5 players coming over from the NT, im expecting the Hawks to be there abouts. Kev Rundle is going around again and with Big Dick now the president all is going forward.

Great hit out for the boys from Fretwell park last week numbers at training have been great, as Tamba mentioned yes we have lost a few but we are picking some handy players up and looking forward to the season.Rumour has it Tamba there was a drunk Penguin at the club last week, Zoo [ Sue ] keepers where called to take our little slippery freind away.

Unfortunately, it wasn't him, he was slumming it at Palm Cove on the beach during the week trying to do some whale watching, poor misguided fellow he was told this was the time to see them. season is well over.

Fretwell ......I hear a ruckman in his Batman suit did an injury , while entertaining all and sundry again ,cotton wool for him

redcard
23 Feb 2010, 16:34
Has anyone got any info on the rumour of Ehlich from Norths going to Hawks? Also has Richter signed anywhere yet? i've heard he's still talking to a couple of clubs & yet to make a decission but may be influenced by his Tassie mates & where they decide to play?
heard the rumour on ehlich to hawks,not sure hawks would want him at club.as he has clear discipline issue,as the hawks would no,when playing agaist them last year he singly handed them the game on a plate.

big fan
27 Feb 2010, 13:59
heard the rumour on ehlich to hawks,not sure hawks would want him at club.as he has clear discipline issue,as the hawks would no,when playing agaist them last year he singly handed them the game on a plate.

Lucas has decided to play at Manunda, for his own personal reasons(although he is yet to be cleared as there is the matter of the sign on fee he accepted).
As far as his discipline goes he had a very frustrating year at Norths last year(not that thats an excuse) I think in perhaps a stronger side his frustration might not boil over quite so often.
If he had decided to stay at norths this season I think he would of found himself in a more competetive side and might have enjoyed his season a lot more.
Lucas will be more than welcome back at the tigers next year if thats what he decides to do.

Apache Cat
1 Mar 2010, 12:47
Lucas has decided to play at Manunda, for his own personal reasons(although he is yet to be cleared as there is the matter of the sign on fee he accepted).
As far as his discipline goes he had a very frustrating year at Norths last year(not that thats an excuse) I think in perhaps a stronger side his frustration might not boil over quite so often.
If he had decided to stay at norths this season I think he would of found himself in a more competetive side and might have enjoyed his season a lot more.
Lucas will be more than welcome back at the tigers next year if thats what he decides to do.

Would these personal reasons involve the biggest pay cheque on offer maybe?

big fan
1 Mar 2010, 18:22
Would these personal reasons involve the biggest pay cheque on offer maybe?
Not sure mate, maybe.

redcard
1 Mar 2010, 20:42
will let team mates down plus a whole club down,not worth a cracker

Apache Cat
4 Mar 2010, 08:58
Any news on latest recruiting amongst clubs? Was speaking to a couple of Hawks boys last week & they didnt seem too impressed with the club recruiting Ehlic. They said he can certainly play but were worried of the impact his attitude will have on the clubs younger players!