Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

fromthebackline
3 Sep 2007, 23:55
can someone tell me if jimmy hopgood plays in this league

Yeah, Jimmy plays for South Cairns.:thumbsu:

Duff Man
5 Sep 2007, 11:50
Yeah, Jimmy plays for South Cairns.:thumbsu:

Good luck SJ for the finals mate , hope you can get the cutters up against ya old mate Coxy .:thumbsu:

No Heart
5 Sep 2007, 16:42
Good luck SJ for the finals mate , hope you can get the cutters up against ya old mate Coxy .:thumbsu:

Agree , all the boys down here wish SJ ,Shawry , Coxy and Chipper Douglas the best for this weekend, and hope we see you all back at the lions in the Future .:)

Cutterboy
11 Sep 2007, 09:01
Man, did those Cutterboys play well on Sunday. SJ has got them peaking beautifully. Everyone has written us off but we are coming hard. Shawry is the best fwd in the league by a mile. He kicks goals in the big games. Sharpy will win B&F for the league. The Cannard boys are sensational and superfit. The list goes on and on. This Saturday will be great and then the Saturday after. Oh yeah. We are coming Hawkies, revenge will be ours.

Agree , all the boys down here wish SJ ,Shawry , Coxy and Chipper Douglas the best for this weekend, and hope we see you all back at the lions in the Future .:)[/quote]

zutty
11 Sep 2007, 09:21
yeah, i was there too. Awesome effort. The other semi btw Hawks and Saints was no where near the quality of this game. I predict Souths to play Manunda just like last year. Its like 2006 again.

sparra
11 Sep 2007, 09:46
Man, did those Cutterboys play well on Sunday. SJ has got them peaking beautifully. Everyone has written us off but we are coming hard. Shawry is the best fwd in the league by a mile. He kicks goals in the big games. Sharpy will win B&F for the league. The Cannard boys are sensational and superfit. The list goes on and on. This Saturday will be great and then the Saturday after. Oh yeah. We are coming Hawkies, revenge will be ours.

Agree , all the boys down here wish SJ ,Shawry , Coxy and Chipper Douglas the best for this weekend, and hope we see you all back at the lions in the Future .:)[/QUOTE]

Smutterboy, your'e back - are you still spreading rumours about your own teammates?

CattyBossDog
16 Sep 2007, 18:13
Prelim Final: Saints flog Cutters...

Cairns Saints 23.11-149
d.
South Cairns Cutters 12.13-85

Matt Walsh kicked 8 for the Saints who relaxed in the last after being more than 11 goals up @ 3/4 time.

GF: Manunda Hawks Vs Cairns Saints

CattyBossDog
23 Sep 2007, 16:01
AFL Cairns Grand Final 2007

Manunda Hawks
Q1: 5.4
Q2: 9.4
Q3: 12.6
Q4: 18.7.115

d

Cairns Saints
Q1: 2.1
Q2: 4.8
Q3: 11.11
Q4: 13.16.94

knackers22
2 Oct 2007, 17:40
Only Cause Manunda had a thug running around king hitting guys.

danielkerr
3 Oct 2007, 17:20
grand final was spectacular, thought i was rudely overlooked for the best on medal....

Back to Back
3 Oct 2007, 17:20
Obviously Knackers you have the brains of a small goat. The Hawks won the game because they played well enough to win on the day. You also have no understanding of the difference between a "King Hit" and a perfect shirt front. Watch the video and you will see that it was a perfect hip & shoulder it was unfortunate that Josh Dicketts clashed heads with Willy Alick and as a result he was knocked unconscious. If you read the Cairns Post today you will see the tribunal verdict on the charge of "Charging" was 'NOT GUILTY' so need anymore be said about the matter or is this just another case of Sour grapes for the Saints????

Mr_X
8 Oct 2007, 13:35
wats the standard up there??? say compared to ovens and murray. wat would be the closest country victorian standard to it?

sparra
8 Oct 2007, 13:42
wats the standard up there??? say compared to ovens and murray. wat would be the closest country victorian standard to it?

Murray League

In other words better than your district leagues, but not quite up to O&M or GV.

Mr_X
8 Oct 2007, 15:33
thanks sparra. wats the story with north cairns. are they always bad or just this year?? good club? any back info? cheers

hayesy_27
8 Oct 2007, 17:39
bad club, bad year. Had to play them in our second last game of the season in reserves and was a waste of a night. they fielded half their team with seniors cos they couldnt get a team together. came out only lookn for a fight and no idea about the spirit of footy. pretty discraceful for the club.

Mr_X
8 Oct 2007, 22:00
really? wats the money like up there? are there some big dollars thrown around. no offence but to come up from vic, cos its so far away would take some convincing, know wat i mean

hayesy_27
9 Oct 2007, 01:13
some teams throw the money around. south cairns, city's, manunda etc. But if ur goin up to enjoy urself in cairns and make good friends and play at a club that supports u the saints are really good. played for them this year and just a great feeling around the club. more mates than anything and it rubs off with the success we have on the field both the reserves and seniors made the grand final this year. unfortunately we lost, but still fantastic for a club that doesnt pay any of its players

DCdog
9 Oct 2007, 11:30
Obviously Knackers you have the brains of a small goat. The Hawks won the game because they played well enough to win on the day. You also have no understanding of the difference between a "King Hit" and a perfect shirt front. Watch the video and you will see that it was a perfect hip & shoulder it was unfortunate that Josh Dicketts clashed heads with Willy Alick and as a result he was knocked unconscious. If you read the Cairns Post today you will see the tribunal verdict on the charge of "Charging" was 'NOT GUILTY' so need anymore be said about the matter or is this just another case of Sour grapes for the Saints????

I find it very hard to believe it was just a fair shirt front, Dicketts was collected from behind and clashed heads front on with Allick, but he somehow managed to recieve 5 stiches in the Back of his head. I also had friends who were sitting in front of the incident who play for other teams in the comp, they said it was far from a fair hip and shoulder. The tactic of taking out the opposition best player worked for the Hawks in the end, but was it in the spirit of the game?

Back to Back
9 Oct 2007, 11:50
some teams throw the money around. south cairns, city's, manunda etc. But if ur goin up to enjoy urself in cairns and make good friends and play at a club that supports u the saints are really good. played for them this year and just a great feeling around the club. more mates than anything and it rubs off with the success we have on the field both the reserves and seniors made the grand final this year. unfortunately we lost, but still fantastic for a club that doesnt pay any of its players

Cairns Saints don't pay players! What a joke, yeah right Walsh & Dicketts would have played for nothing along with your other recruits. Saints have claimed this for years and everyone in the league knows it's a load of rubbish . Manunda have an incentive scheme voted by the players after each game best on gets $400, 2nd gets $300,3rd gets $200 and so on down to 7th best. In my opinion that is not what you call paying players it's an incentive scheme, play well you get rewarded! Don't know about other clubs but I know that if you think Saints don't pay players you've been living on another planet for some time. Saints are a great club with a successful past but I wouldn't call losing Grand Finalists in both grades a successful season particularly when you were beaten favourites. Let me pose this question to you, if Saints don't pay players what makes them come up to play surely not for the "great club culture" alone?

Back to Back
9 Oct 2007, 11:58
I find it very hard to believe it was just a fair shirt front, Dicketts was collected from behind and clashed heads front on with Allick, but he somehow managed to recieve 5 stiches in the Back of his head. I also had friends who were sitting in front of the incident who play for other teams in the comp, they said it was far from a fair hip and shoulder. The tactic of taking out the opposition best player worked for the Hawks in the end, but was it in the spirit of the game?

That's where you are wrong, having seen the video footage numerous times Dicketts was bumped front on and the back of his head clashed with Alick who was behind him. If it was not a fair hip and shoulder then why did the tribunal find him "Not Guilty"? Case closed get over it!

hayesy_27
10 Oct 2007, 00:18
Cairns Saints don't pay players! What a joke, yeah right Walsh & Dicketts would have played for nothing along with your other recruits. Saints have claimed this for years and everyone in the league knows it's a load of rubbish . Manunda have an incentive scheme voted by the players after each game best on gets $400, 2nd gets $300,3rd gets $200 and so on down to 7th best. In my opinion that is not what you call paying players it's an incentive scheme, play well you get rewarded! Don't know about other clubs but I know that if you think Saints don't pay players you've been living on another planet for some time. Saints are a great club with a successful past but I wouldn't call losing Grand Finalists in both grades a successful season particularly when you were beaten favourites. Let me pose this question to you, if Saints don't pay players what makes them come up to play surely not for the "great club culture" alone?

I wasnt having a go at manunda cos got nothing against the club. Saints have player insentives too much similar to yours by the look of things. Saints did have a succesful season finished on top in both grades. I doubt u could say we were favourites in both grades. Maybe in the reserves although coming up against a team that had nearly there whole senior list playing reserves does help to take the favourite tag off us. In the seniors we werent favourites. Manunda beat them a couple of weeks earlier and we were with out Hosey and Finny two great players for the year. The two teams that played the best and coached the best on the day won. Unfortunately that was trinity and manunda

DCdog
11 Oct 2007, 16:53
Any early news on coaches and recruiting for next year?

fomoco
12 Oct 2007, 01:00

naa,

just like BrisB******* , no footy news until the new season

tamba
19 Oct 2007, 15:39
South Cairns have already re-appointed Steve Daniel as Senior coach for 2008
Fretwell Park is the home ground

sniff12
19 Oct 2007, 17:17
as a former comittee member at saints I can tell you that Saints do not and will not pay players, and as personal friend of both "Dicketts & Walsh" I can tell you that neither of them were payed a zac to play footy.

hayesy_27
19 Oct 2007, 17:36
thank you. go saints

Mr_X
28 Oct 2007, 13:15
any news for the upcoming season? heard trinty beach has signed a few yarrawonga boys from the ovens and murray including centre half forward marcus mcmillian and marc lonegan. obviuosly thru coughlan. any others?

napoleondynamite
29 Oct 2007, 13:11
any news for the upcoming season? heard trinty beach has signed a few yarrawonga boys from the ovens and murray including centre half forward marcus mcmillian and marc lonegan. obviuosly thru coughlan. any others?

handy pick up 4 them...some top class players there!!! heard port douglas crocs mite be getting a few players from wodonga!!!

Mr_X
30 Oct 2007, 20:15
really? dont suppose you know of any names?? RE: WODONGA PLAYERS AT PORT DOUGLAS

VT#23
31 Oct 2007, 13:48
is matty sharp going to be playing up there again next year?

napoleondynamite
31 Oct 2007, 22:16
really? dont suppose you know of any names?? RE: WODONGA PLAYERS AT PORT DOUGLAS

apperntly a few who played 3rds are looking on going up there not sure on names! and 2 who played seniors, craig leischke and luke bloom

hayesy_27
1 Nov 2007, 11:49
saw some guys training on the esplanade last night any idea which team has allready started pre-season?

whippety boy
2 Nov 2007, 10:35
I'm just curious whether the Big German Daryl Taylor is playing up in Cairns in 2008. There is a rumour that his old club Heildeberg in The DVFL have offered him KFC 6 piece feed after every game if he pulls on the Tigers jumper again.

SWANNEES
2 Nov 2007, 11:23
I'm just curious whether the Big German Daryl Taylor is playing up in Cairns in 2008. There is a rumour that his old club Heildeberg in The DVFL have offered him KFC 6 piece feed after every game if he pulls on the Tigers jumper again.

still playing at 40 kicked 80 odd goals this year 6 pcs would not get him to nsw border

whippety boy
3 Nov 2007, 12:54
still playing at 40 kicked 80 odd goals this year 6 pcs would not get him to nsw borderThrow in a foot long pizza from pinkies and I reckon he would be back.

mervyn
4 Nov 2007, 12:39
saw some guys training on the esplanade last night any idea which team has allready started pre-season?
that was the old men thay train every week

No Heart
7 Nov 2007, 10:43

Thats funny, speaking to a couple of former team mates of mine [ Seymour ] they told me Marcus McMillan trained with South Cairns on Friday night , is living with one of the boys from South Cairns , and works with another couple of them . Im not saying hes playing there , but do you think Mr X he would be doing this if hes signed at Centrals??????????????????????

Seeking Glory
7 Nov 2007, 15:09
No Heart, what's the news on patty ratray and matty o'keefe? are they playing at souths next year?

No Heart
7 Nov 2007, 15:33
No Heart, what's the news on patty ratray and matty o'keefe? are they playing at souths next year?

Ratray is already up in Cairns and as far as I know is playing up there , Matty O , I spoke to last week and he seems pretty keen going up there with SJ as well . So time will tell, Matty is a gun, played in the last 3 premierships and has played rep footy last 4 years I think .Ratray [ Meat Tray ] can play as well but was injured for most of last year.

Mr_X
7 Nov 2007, 21:06
soory mate must've got the teams mixed up. and from what ive heard is that he is up here at south, not trinity like i said. whos this matty okeefe and patty ratray? and where are they from? wat last three premierships did he play in?

No Heart
8 Nov 2007, 09:10
soory mate must've got the teams mixed up. and from what ive heard is that he is up here at south, not trinity like i said. whos this matty okeefe and patty ratray? and where are they from? wat last three premierships did he play in?

No worries we all get it wrong from time to time , Matty played in the last 3 premierships at Seymour and Ratray in the first one.

jetski
8 Nov 2007, 18:06
just wondering if brothers heath and kane king were playing up that way? either in cairns or townsville way.:thumbsu:

Fretwell Park
9 Nov 2007, 08:22
No worries we all get it wrong from time to time , Matty played in the last 3 premierships at Seymour and Ratray in the first one.

No Heart , did you play at Seymour under SJ , and play with Shawry?

Seeking Glory
9 Nov 2007, 18:54
Ratray is already up in Cairns and as far as I know is playing up there , Matty O , I spoke to last week and he seems pretty keen going up there with SJ as well . So time will tell, Matty is a gun, played in the last 3 premierships and has played rep footy last 4 years I think .Ratray [ Meat Tray ] can play as well but was injured for most of last year.

matt o is a gun hands down, ratray will need to get his head right, has he got a job yet? if so when is he quiting?

Fretwell Park
12 Nov 2007, 10:51
matt o is a gun hands down, ratray will need to get his head right, has he got a job yet? if so when is he quiting?

A few of the boys have said this Matty O is a very good player , and I believe hes coming up for a look at the place but Im not 100 per cent sure . Ratray is working with a few of the boys up here and has fitted in really well, hes been training and looks to be enjoying himself. The Cutters have been training now for a couple of weeks and had 40 plus each night.Marcus McMillan has been training but the rumour around the place is hes going back to Melbourne , so we will just have to wait and see .:thumbsu:

No Heart
12 Nov 2007, 15:36
No Heart , did you play at Seymour under SJ , and play with Shawry?

Yes I did play under SJ , and I played with Shawry at Seymour and in the VFL at the Bullants. I heard Shawry had a really good year up there this year .

Seeking Glory
12 Nov 2007, 17:06
Yes I did play under SJ , and I played with Shawry at Seymour and in the VFL at the Bullants. I heard Shawry had a really good year up there this year .

i recon he had as good of a year as you did under sj.:confused:

No Heart
13 Nov 2007, 15:25
i recon he had as good of a year as you did under sj.:confused:

I struggled a bit, have you spoken to Robbie Douglas lately Glory, is he staying at Port or going to play with his brother in SA.???

Duff Man
15 Nov 2007, 09:32
A few of the boys have said this Matty O is a very good player , and I believe hes coming up for a look at the place but Im not 100 per cent sure . Ratray is working with a few of the boys up here and has fitted in really well, hes been training and looks to be enjoying himself. The Cutters have been training now for a couple of weeks and had 40 plus each night.Marcus McMillan has been training but the rumour around the place is hes going back to Melbourne , so we will just have to wait and see .:thumbsu:
Yes Fretwell - Matt O'keefe is a very good GV player and I would expect him to do very well up there if you're able to get him. Tough as nails, although he could tyre in the heat if you were going to play him onball. Also good for a clean shirt front at least once a game.

Seeking Glory
16 Nov 2007, 15:53
I struggled a bit, have you spoken to Robbie Douglas lately Glory, is he staying at Port or going to play with his brother in SA.???

Haven't spoken to him for a while now. Not sure what he's doing. maybe he'll go back to seymour.

Mr_X
21 Nov 2007, 20:59
luke bloom and craig lieshcke from wodonga bulldogs in the ovens and murray to port douglas crocs? nay other news on signings?

Truck
22 Nov 2007, 21:56
Any news on when the Wyche boys will be heading home, we could use them more then you blokes.. Especially Poo

DCdog
23 Nov 2007, 09:06
Any news on when the Wyche boys will be heading home, we could use them more then you blokes.. Especially Poo

They will be staying up here this year from what I have heard. The drought just isn't offering enough for Poo to head back. Plus it is a very hard environment to leave from up here - has Whycheproof covered with the nightlife, women, standard of footy, weather plus the numerous leisure activities on offer. I know him well and he was almost back there this year, so hold on another year, maybe 09.

Fretwell Park
23 Nov 2007, 10:32
They will be staying up here this year from what I have heard. The drought just isn't offering enough for Poo to head back. Plus it is a very hard environment to leave from up here - has Whycheproof covered with the nightlife, women, standard of footy, weather plus the numerous leisure activities on offer. I know him well and he was almost back there this year, so hold on another year, maybe 09.

DCdog , suppose your talking about Winnie the poo?

DCdog
23 Nov 2007, 13:09
DCdog , suppose your talking about Winnie the poo?

Poo being James Coatesworth who plays with the Saints

Fretwell Park
23 Nov 2007, 15:23
Poo being James Coatesworth who plays with the Saints

Would of love to see him leave the Saints, he is a jet. Have the Saints started training yet?

tamba
28 Nov 2007, 15:49
anyone hear who is taking over from Bernie as the " GM " and has a draw come out yet

aussie_rules
28 Nov 2007, 17:03
Queensland Footy Sux Cocks!!!!

Go The Vics!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:d

fromthebackline
29 Nov 2007, 15:59
Queensland Footy Sux Cocks!!!!

Go The Vics!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:d

You are a very intelligent type of a person aren't you? An extremely indepth article you have posted. Just for your info 75% of senior footballers that play in the Cairns League are from Victoria you moron. Unless you have something constructive to say then crawl back to that dark dirty dingie hole where you are from.

sparra
30 Nov 2007, 12:02
anyone hear who is taking over from Bernie as the " GM " and has a draw come out yet

Presuming you are talking about Bernie Ohalloran, is he definitely leaving? and how did the great man go in his tenure up north.

Fretwell Park
30 Nov 2007, 12:19
Presuming you are talking about Bernie Ohalloran, is he definitely leaving? and how did the great man go in his tenure up north.

Sparra, Bernie done a great job up here in the Far North and will be missed by a lot of people.

tamba
30 Nov 2007, 13:11

Bernie had a lot of time for others and fantastic ideas to get Cairns AFL moving and improving , he had visions , too bad some didn't see them , Mr O'Halloran will be missed

fromthebackline
30 Nov 2007, 13:40
Bernie had a lot of time for others and fantastic ideas to get Cairns AFL moving and improving , he had visions , too bad some didn't see them , Mr O'Halloran will be missed

Can anyone confirm, Saints have picked up two from Redan and two from Sunbury. Must have some money those Saints boys.

fromthebackline
30 Nov 2007, 13:50
Sparra, Bernie done a great job up here in the Far North and will be missed by a lot of people.

I hear Tyson Lane is coaching Hasting and throwing heaps around. He will be chasing some of those Hawks lads:D

sparra
30 Nov 2007, 14:18

I did go up for a game, and watched the cutters play the hawks. Had a few drinks with the great man and Lippy on the balcony, and stayed on for the awards, and then as we do down in the south, got the missus to drive home (Port Douglas). Think I fell asleep about the airport.

Fretwell Park
3 Dec 2007, 12:12
I hear Tyson Lane is coaching Hasting and throwing heaps around. He will be chasing some of those Hawks lads:D

I heard a rumour Barry White to coach Cobras next year?

fromthebackline
3 Dec 2007, 12:28
I heard a rumour Barry White to coach Cobras next year?

I would be very suprised. Barry leave the grandkids don't think so. But then again might be doing the around Australia thing and be in Cairns during footy season. Lets wait and see.

fromthebackline
7 Dec 2007, 13:42

Heard Saints have now picked up a new CHF from Ballarat and Full Back 195cm a built like b/sh.t house. Looks like Joey Busa is throwing in a lot of coin. Good on you Joey keep up the good work and go Saints.

hayesy_27
7 Dec 2007, 14:18
One saints dont throw coin around lol and seond joey is president of the saints anymore he resigned before the grand final last season

persist
8 Dec 2007, 05:41
Gidday Fretwell Park hows it going up there. I am a friend of the Lip machine Jeff Lyon. Have they taken over the club house there yet? I coached them in 2000 with not much success but enjoyed my time up there. We were a bit stiff losing three in a row to top 3 sides by under a goal in mid season that probably costs us in the end.
Some of the players I coached were Bill English, Peter English, Darren McQueen, Andy Douglas Lockie brothers, Leonard Warren,

Good Luck

fromthebackline
8 Dec 2007, 17:02
Gidday Fretwell Park hows it going up there. I am a friend of the Lip machine Jeff Lyon. Have they taken over the club house there yet? I coached them in 2000 with not much success but enjoyed my time up there. We were a bit stiff losing three in a row to top 3 sides by under a goal in mid season that probably costs us in the end.
Some of the players I coached were Bill English, Peter English, Darren McQueen, Andy Douglas Lockie brothers, Leonard Warren,

Good Luck

Hi Rob, McQueen married and lives in London. Bill and Peter still going around as is Andy Douglas Daniel Lock in London ans Aaron will play next yr Leonard Warren has had more clubs than hot dinners is now at Hawks.

The Cat
9 Dec 2007, 17:07

Has anyone been announced to take over from Bernie as yet, or has anyone heard any whispers? There's a bloke who moved to Cairns from Vic not too long ago who would be an absolute monty to take on the role. Big bloke who knows a bit about the game. Has also experienced premiership success before.

hayesy_27
9 Dec 2007, 22:55
sounds like a lota people who move up to cairns to play footy

Creeker35
10 Dec 2007, 14:41
Heard Saints have now picked up a new CHF from Ballarat and Full Back 195cm a built like b/sh.t house. Looks like Joey Busa is throwing in a lot of coin. Good on you Joey keep up the good work and go Saints.
Any names mate?

blueeyes
14 Dec 2007, 14:39
apparently 3 of hawkes best are going to hastings(willie allick)

fromthebackline
14 Dec 2007, 15:10

scryma and cypher as well.

ofalltime
24 Dec 2007, 10:14

Have heard it on the grape vine (not a bad name for a song by the way) that Port Douglas have picked up one fron WAFL and two from Sanfl along with several from very good leagues in Vic. Paul Cox is out to buy a premiership, nothing different with Port.

tamba
24 Dec 2007, 12:56
Have heard it on the grape vine (not a bad name for a song by the way) that Port Douglas have picked up one fron WAFL and two from Sanfl along with several from very good leagues in Vic. Paul Cox is out to buy a premiership, nothing different with Port.
The way these blood shot eyes see it ---CAFL is starting to be taken a bit more seriously, what with some of the calibre currently playing ,bring em on and we all win, plus all older water boyz can retire disgracefully to the bar

ofalltime
24 Dec 2007, 13:55
The way these blood shot eyes see it ---CAFL is starting to be taken a bit more seriously, what with some of the calibre currently playing ,bring em on and we all win, plus all older water boyz can retire disgracefully to the bar

I agree with the higher quality players that come to the league it's great, but most only stay a year or two and then are gone. You miss my point with Port though, they have never won a flag with a large number of home grown lads. They may be on the right track at the moment but their youngsters are still a few years off yet. So what do Port do BUY another flag. If that is not about ego then what is.

blueeyes
26 Dec 2007, 08:42
I agree with the higher quality players that come to the league it's great, but most only stay a year or two and then are gone. You miss my point with Port though, they have never won a flag with a large number of home grown lads. They may be on the right track at the moment but their youngsters are still a few years off yet. So what do Port do BUY another flag. If that is not about ego then what is.
what load of crap,they are young club trying to make it the best club possible,just the same as any other club in the competition,there are some juniors coming through which are slowly coming along and they'll get there chance when ready,like most clubs in the afl cairns if you don't recruit you don't fill a team, if a premeirship comes good luck to them. how about having a crack at other club's r.e. south cairns.cairns saints,manunda all trying to do the same ''win''

ofalltime
26 Dec 2007, 12:17
what load of crap,they are young club trying to make it the best club possible,just the same as any other club in the competition,there are some juniors coming through which are slowly coming along and they'll get there chance when ready,like most clubs in the afl cairns if you don't recruit you don't fill a team, if a premeirship comes good luck to them. how about having a crack at other club's r.e. south cairns.cairns saints,manunda all trying to do the same ''win''

Let's hope u r not using grant money like u guys did a few yrs ago to pay players re the lights fiasco. Yeah south cairns, saints and manunda might be doing the same, the point being, it is typical of port, I dont think the others do it with the same frequency. Souths claim $50 per player and Saints and Manunda claim no payments for players, makes one laugh.:mad:

tamba
26 Dec 2007, 18:52
Lets not forget ,there are other clubs in the league also recruiting from south of the border ,doing just the same or trying to as the teams named . I still say if we can get them up here , without deprement to the young ones or the players that have put in years of service ,then the comp. will improve and our juniors will benifit and be taken up by the bigger boyz. Just look at the home grown two playing now for the Bombers and Bulldogs . Ok they may have too leave the area for a season or so to hone the skills they got here ,wouldn't it be fantastic to one day see a draft pick straight from our league .Yes we all want a flag for our club of our choice . if memory serves me correct , all south cairns appearances in finals football have included at least 16 -18 from their junior base including the 2003 grand final win, :rolleyes:

ofalltime
29 Dec 2007, 14:12
Lets not forget ,there are other clubs in the league also recruiting from south of the border ,doing just the same or trying to as the teams named . I still say if we can get them up here , without deprement to the young ones or the players that have put in years of service ,then the comp. will improve and our juniors will benifit and be taken up by the bigger boyz. Just look at the home grown two playing now for the Bombers and Bulldogs . Ok they may have too leave the area for a season or so to hone the skills they got here ,wouldn't it be fantastic to one day see a draft pick straight from our league .Yes we all want a flag for our club of our choice . if memory serves me correct , all south cairns appearances in finals football have included at least 16 -18 from their junior base including the 2003 grand final win, :rolleyes:

I was living in Cairns in 2003 and saw Souths win the flag. Yeah they had a lot of locals, I would say 10-12 not 16-18 as you claim, but still a good effort. I return to Cairns to live shortly and look frwd to seeing local content playing. You still miss my point, Port have very few locals in recent years that have played in a flag. Granted 2-3 but no more from their juniors. The future maybe in 3-5 years Port will have some and I look frwd to this. It is very important that we continue to grow the game in Port as there is strong rep with other codes in a small area and I wish Port well but don't just buy a flag. That's all I'm trying to get across.:thumbsu:

fromthebackline
30 Dec 2007, 20:22
I was living in Cairns in 2003 and saw Souths win the flag. Yeah they had a lot of locals, I would say 10-12 not 16-18 as you claim, but still a good effort. I return to Cairns to live shortly and look frwd to seeing local content playing. You still miss my point, Port have very few locals in recent years that have played in a flag. Granted 2-3 but no more from their juniors. The future maybe in 3-5 years Port will have some and I look frwd to this. It is very important that we continue to grow the game in Port as there is strong rep with other codes in a small area and I wish Port well but don't just buy a flag. That's all I'm trying to get across.:thumbsu:

Agree but where do we go with this. Maybe some others that actually comment on this site. Get real.

blueeyes
7 Jan 2008, 15:07
Agree but where do we go with this. Maybe some others that actually comment on this site. Get real.
south cairns have supposible recruited quite well.. pat rattray who played for seymour in the 2005 premeirship. hayden foss ,geelong in the vfl,who comes with big rapps and also a highly sought after c/hf from yarrawonga . no dought they would have a lot more.. anymore info please:confused:

ofalltime
7 Jan 2008, 21:36
Heard Saints were going after 4-5 top liners from Cobras. Nesbit and crew. That would devistate the Cobras and wouldn't be very good for the league or comp. I hope the league step in if that was the case.:(

ofalltime
7 Jan 2008, 21:40
south cairns have supposible recruited quite well.. pat rattray who played for seymour in the 2005 premeirship. hayden foss ,geelong in the vfl,who comes with big rapps and also a highly sought after c/hf from yarrawonga . no dought they would have a lot more.. anymore info please:confused:

Ratray returned to Vic and has re signed with club down there. We tried to sign him in Darwin recently.Foss has gone overseas with his girlfriend will give footy a miss for a year. Don't about the chf.

half time raffle
9 Jan 2008, 07:34
Can anyone shed some light into the North Cairns recruiting for 2008?

Doona2
9 Jan 2008, 11:44
Ratray returned to Vic and has re signed with club down there. We tried to sign him in Darwin recently.Foss has gone overseas with his girlfriend will give footy a miss for a year. Don't about the chf.

When did Patty come home to Vic? Spoke with him last week and was under the impression he was still up north :confused:

fromthebackline
9 Jan 2008, 13:54
Pat was in Vic when he spoke to you Doona but now back in Cairns.

Doona2
9 Jan 2008, 14:11
Pat was in Vic when he spoke to you Doona but now back in Cairns.

Christ this is spooky I dont even know you do I, yet you know when I spoke with me big red headed mate last :confused: So is he playing up there or should I call him to come play for me :confused:

fromthebackline
9 Jan 2008, 14:52
Christ this is spooky I dont even know you do I, yet you know when I spoke with me big red headed mate last :confused: So is he playing up there or should I call him to come play for me :confused:

Kinda feel like I know you to, (through sj), playing in Cairns , has signed. Pat is going really well up here. He has a very good job, pays well, has made a lot of new mates and is enjoying life. I think this is what he needed was a change and a chance to get his footy back on track after a couple of poor years with injury etc. Anyway good luck with your side all the best.:thumbsu:

big tony
9 Jan 2008, 14:53
big talk that matty sharp is returning to victoria this year after a short but unique stint for the cutters, as well as sean horsbough, couple of big losses there for the souths will be hard to replace.

Doona2
9 Jan 2008, 14:56
Kinda feel like I know you to, (through sj), playing in Cairns , has signed. Pat is going really well up here. He has a very good job, pays well, has made a lot of new mates and is enjoying life. I think this is what he needed was a change and a chance to get his footy back on track after a couple of poor years with injury etc. Anyway good luck with your side all the best.:thumbsu:

No worries mate, amazing man Stevie D I have been grateful for the friendship he has afforded me even though we never got to compete together. I also have a lot of time for Patty, met him when he was about 15 i reckon and thru the highs and lows we've always remained in touch and provided each other consultation on different things along the way. I so hope the big fella goes well up there, I'm sure Steve will keep him under control :D

Doona2
9 Jan 2008, 14:58
big talk that matty sharp is returning to victoria this year after a short but unique stint for the cutters, as well as sean horsbough, couple of big losses there for the souths will be hard to replace.

Big couple of losses indeed if this in fact happens - but Im sure all those involved at Violet Town will be quietly getting excited down below if ya know what I mean :D

waugh17
10 Jan 2008, 09:49
COME TO KILLARNEY VALE!! - POSITIONS VACANT
Senior players wanted for Killarney Vale Bombers Australian Football Club for season 2008.

The Killarney Vale Australian Rules Football Club is located on the Central Coast of NSW and offers a tremendous lifestyle with adjacent beaches and ample work available in a growing area.

The facilities at the club are second to none with a great clubroom, bar, gym etc.

Work and accommodation opportunities available.

Payments negotiable.

For more details about the club see www.kvbomers.com (http://www.kvbomers.com/)

Just send me a private message with your contact details

persist
13 Jan 2008, 09:15

From the back line I have a player that is keen to play with you guys. His name is Phil Graves CHB from Melbourne. His keen to play with the cutters. His brother Doug is also keen to move up there. Can you get them a job at the local cemetary. Doug's ex lives up there Mira, she's current working at the local cemetary.

Injuryprone
13 Jan 2008, 13:43
Can anyone shed some light into the North Cairns recruiting for 2008?
Heard the the North boys have recruited well picked up 8 or so players from Albury/Wodonga. Not sure on the quality except for Warren Hamilton, onballer and very strong at the ball although he is carrying a knee injury so might not even get on the park. There still chasing a good ruckman these don't grow on tree's so they might struggle to find a quality big man. Marto seems to be keen this year so might make a difference to the side. Troy is looking fit and is getting his knee cleaned out sometime soon.

Trueblueroo
14 Jan 2008, 08:22
Big couple of losses indeed if this in fact happens - but Im sure all those involved at Violet Town will be quietly getting excited down below if ya know what I mean :D

Seen Sharpy @ VT23 21st Donna, and can confirm Sharpy will be in Victoria in 2008, whether VT get him or not is a different story. Currently training with Benalla

Poiderr
14 Jan 2008, 10:05
New web site for the South Cairns Cutters, www.southcairnsafl.com.au (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au) check back regularly as this site is under construction and new info will be added.:thumbsu: