View Full Version : Cairns AFL

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

tamba
14 Jan 2008, 14:14
good looking web site from those south cairns boyz , way too go fellows

tamba
14 Jan 2008, 14:18
Seen Sharpy @ VT23 21st Donna, and can confirm Sharpy will be in Victoria in 2008, whether VT get him or not is a different story. Currently training with Benalla

Matty had a great year in 07 , will be sad to see him and his talent leave the area. all the best for him if indeed he leaves the Far North :thumbsu:

ofalltime
16 Jan 2008, 15:51
Rumour has it Noodle Canard is heading back down south to vic? Any truth?

Just heard and spewin, Robbie Douglas has re signed with Seymour will be huge loss to us.

blueeyes
17 Jan 2008, 17:52
Just heard and spewin, Robbie Douglas has re signed with Seymour will be huge loss to us.
0nce again ofalltime your mail would be correct,your network of mail must cover the length and breath of this football world, i have no doubt that robbie douglas would have signed with seymour. though he would miss the sun, sand, weather and of course the girls:thumbsu::cool:

Fretwell Park
21 Jan 2008, 15:53
Rumour has it Noodle Canard is heading back down south to vic? Any truth?

Noodles Cannard is going no where, he now runs Hedleys and wont be long until hes buying the company . :thumbsu:

Fretwell Park
21 Jan 2008, 15:55

Great photo of me on it Fretwell Park.

LEEMA
21 Jan 2008, 16:07

Not true just yet , he is training down here with the lions and has not made his mind up yet. Would be a big loss for Port and Coxy if he does stay in Melbourne . Have heard Port have signed some gun players for this year so to loose chippa would be a shame . How are the Hawks and Saints going with recruiting and have they lost any players?

Fretwell Park
21 Jan 2008, 16:21
Not true just yet , he is training down here with the lions and has not made his mind up yet. Would be a big loss for Port and Coxy if he does stay in Melbourne . Have heard Port have signed some gun players for this year so to loose chippa would be a shame . How are the Hawks and Saints going with recruiting and have they lost any players?

Mate i have heard Hawks have lost a few , but they will just go out pick more up . Saints have lost some good players also, but Kenno would be down in Ballarat as we speak recruiting , Cutters , we are no diffrent we have lost Sharpy and Bailey. All the talk around at the moment is Port Douglas and what they have picked up. North Cairns could be the sleeping giant , did hear they have recruited well . Cobras i dont even think they have a coach yet?

LEEMA
21 Jan 2008, 16:31
Mate i have heard Hawks have lost a few , but they will just go out pick more up . Saints have lost some good players also, but Kenno would be down in Ballarat as we speak recruiting , Cutters , we are no diffrent we have lost Sharpy and Bailey. All the talk around at the moment is Port Douglas and what they have picked up. North Cairns could be the sleeping giant , did hear they have recruited well . Cobras i dont even think they have a coach yet?

Fretwell, i did notice you didnt say who you have picked up ??? I know your coach quite well and the way he works, care to give us some names ?

ofalltime
21 Jan 2008, 21:34
Fretwell, i did notice you didnt say who you have picked up ??? I know your coach quite well and the way he works, care to give us some names ?

Very quiet down there at Fu..wit park. Have heard they tried to get a few boys from Seymour but non want to come and that's why robbie douglas will not return to Port Douglas. Had enough up there which is a real shame as we know he enjoyed himself but one can only ponder why he is returning to Victoria, maybe the money, can't blame him, maybe missing family etc. What ever he does we wish him well.

Wear The Fox Hat
22 Jan 2008, 08:48
Very quiet down there at Fu..wit park. Have heard they tried to get a few boys from Seymour but non want to come and that's why robbie douglas will not return to Port Douglas. Had enough up there which is a real shame as we know he enjoyed himself but one can only ponder why he is returning to Victoria, maybe the money, can't blame him, maybe missing family etc. What ever he does we wish him well.

Spoke to chippa last night at training, and hes also talking about going to Adelaide maybe with his brother . Cutters chased no one from Seymour ofalltime , Matty O was looking at maybe heading up to Cairns with SJ but because of personal reasons in the end will stay . :thumbsu:

tamba
22 Jan 2008, 09:41

Heard a couple of old water boyz are coming out of retirement to help out ,recruiting hasn't been well ,maybe some of the old dirty dozen will be available as well :D

Doona2
22 Jan 2008, 10:00

Spoke to chippa last night at training, and hes also talking about going to Adelaide maybe with his brother . Cutters chased no one from Seymour ofalltime , Matty O was looking at maybe heading up to Cairns with SJ but because of personal reasons in the end will stay . :thumbsu:

Settle down fella's it is highly likely Chippa will be back up at Port Douglas in 08 and I reckon ya's know it. As ofalltime pointed he did enjoy it, has made some great friends and depsite what u think money wont come into it!!!

Hey wear The Fox Hat who are you mate? Spoke to him at training last night u say . . . . . never realised you were one of my boys ;) I too spoke with Chippa after training at Broadford last night, and told him that unless he gets offered a dynamite job to stay locally around Broadford/Seymour he'd be mad not to go back for another season.

Wear The Fox Hat
22 Jan 2008, 10:46
Settle down fella's it is highly likely Chippa will be back up at Port Douglas in 08 and I reckon ya's know it. As ofalltime pointed he did enjoy it, has made some great friends and depsite what u think money wont come into it!!!

Hey wear The Fox Hat who are you mate? Spoke to him at training last night u say . . . . . never realised you were one of my boys ;) I too spoke with Chippa after training at Broadford last night, and told him that unless he gets offered a dynamite job to stay locally around Broadford/Seymour he'd be mad not to go back for another season.

Very true Doon , lets just say i was at the plumbers house directly over the road from your oval ??????:thumbsu:

Navy2005
23 Jan 2008, 15:12
Guys Glen Bailey (former South Cairns) is the new coach of the Twin City Lions in Townsville Can anyone tell me anything about him?

Fretwell Park
23 Jan 2008, 15:17
Guys Glen Bailey (former South Cairns) is the new coach of the Twin City Lions in Townsville Can anyone tell me anything about him?

Good player , and a good bloke great pick up for your club .

Navy2005
23 Jan 2008, 15:36
[quote=Fretwell Park;9927268]Good player , and a good bloke great pick up for your club .[/quote

Thanks for that info whats his background though position etc?

Poiderr
23 Jan 2008, 16:14
[quote=Fretwell Park;9927268]Good player , and a good bloke great pick up for your club .[/quote

Thanks for that info whats his background though position etc?

Anywhere in the corridor, got some grunt too, wont take no S**t on the paddock.:thumbsu:

ofalltime
23 Jan 2008, 21:49
[quote=Navy2005;9927462]

Anywhere in the corridor, got some grunt too, wont take no S**t on the paddock.:thumbsu:

Just had a look at the new cutters web site, well down down there it is very good.:thumbsu:

tamba
24 Jan 2008, 08:58
[quote=Poiderr;9927852]

Just had a look at the new cutters web site, well down down there it is very good.:thumbsu:

Not finished yet - :D more toooooo come - keep coming back :)

tamba
24 Jan 2008, 09:03

Made Souths team of the 2nd 25 yrs , Great bloke , took them to two Grand Finals whilst coach , Give him a position he'll play it very well , will not take crap from anyone , bag him on the ground at your peril , it only lifts him to higher levels. good pick up sorry to see him leave .

Bing
24 Jan 2008, 11:20

As an independent observer of the league here and not for one specific club, Bailey will be a handy pickup. The only thing he needs to improve on is his temper and his behind the play incidents... Not a very good tribunal record up here....

LEEMA
24 Jan 2008, 12:09

[quote=tamba;9931950][quote=ofalltime;9930411]

Tamba my freind , good looking web site from the South Cairns boys and then not finished yet more to come . I think you might of just got busted pumping your self up , did you put the web site together ???????????????

tamba
24 Jan 2008, 12:58
[quote=tamba;9931950][quote=ofalltime;9930411]

Tamba my freind , good looking web site from the South Cairns boys and then not finished yet more to come . I think you might of just got busted pumping your self up , did you put the web site together ???????????????

only wish :(, I'm an old waterboy :thumbsu:not really in for that thing , just know the chappie putting it together we have a few suds and chats

knackers22
24 Jan 2008, 15:23
saints would have to be the ones to beat this year wouldnt they again along with hawks?

walsh to kick 100+, and the new ballarat recruits will only strengthen a very formidable team.

is angwin going around again anyone?

fromthebackline
24 Jan 2008, 15:31
saints would have to be the ones to beat this year wouldnt they again along with hawks?

walsh to kick 100+, and the new ballarat recruits will only strengthen a very formidable team.

Yeah Cutters. So is Shaw.

LEEMA
24 Jan 2008, 16:31
[quote=LEEMA;9933233][quote=tamba;9931950]

only wish :(, I'm an old waterboy :thumbsu:not really in for that thing , just know the chappie putting it together we have a few suds and chats

No the web site has came up all right dude .

Navy2005
26 Jan 2008, 17:49
Made Souths team of the 2nd 25 yrs , Great bloke , took them to two Grand Finals whilst coach , Give him a position he'll play it very well , will not take crap from anyone , bag him on the ground at your peril , it only lifts him to higher levels. good pick up sorry to see him leave .

Why was he not given the South Cairns job again after taking thgem to 2 Grand Finals?

fromthebackline
26 Jan 2008, 20:36
Why was he not given the South Cairns job again after taking thgem to 2 Grand Finals?

Quite simply he moved to Townsville at the end of 2006.

Navy2005
26 Jan 2008, 23:25
Quite simply he moved to Townsville at the end of 2006.

OK well that makes sense. Looking forward to playing footy ith him then.

Zillmere Eagles
29 Jan 2008, 19:47
Anyone interested in a change of lifestyle and coming down to Brisbane to play for the Zillmere Eagles in the State League competition (AFLQ) please contact me privately.

The club has a terrific history and are a young club on the rise after playing in the 2006 AFLQ Grand Final and last season winning the Reserve Grade Premiership. One of the top 5 clubs Australia Wide for players drafted.

Club has been involved in some off field issues which have now been resolved but have found ourselves slow out of the blocks from a recruiting point of view. The club is seeking recruits who feel they have something to offer at this level and would like to take the oppurtunity to live in Brisbane or Sunshine Coast and play in the AFLQ.

dunkarob
29 Jan 2008, 21:13

who are the new recruits from ballarat and is gareth house from redan still up there and how he going last year?

Fretwell Park
30 Jan 2008, 09:46
who are the new recruits from ballarat and is gareth house from redan still up there and how he going last year?

Denkarub , Gareth Hose is still playing up here mate , was assistant coach of the saints last year , and is again this year . Unfortunatly got injured towards the end of the year and missed the Grand Final great player and fella .:thumbsu:

Poiderr
30 Jan 2008, 10:06
Denkarub , Gareth Hose is still playing up here mate , was assistant coach of the saints last year , and is again this year . Unfortunatly got injured towards the end of the year and missed the Grand Final great player and fella .:thumbsu:

Fretwell, you sure know a bit about the Saints, wondering why you are not named Griffith Park :confused:

Fretwell Park
30 Jan 2008, 15:17
Fretwell, you sure know a bit about the Saints, wondering why you are not named Griffith Park :confused:

Griffith Park doesnt have the same ring to it as Fretwell Park, plus I do know a couple of people from the Saints , as I do the Hawks , Crocs , Cobras and North Cairns . And of course I know whats going on at Fretwell Park hence the name. :D:D:D

dunkarob
31 Jan 2008, 21:18

must agree with the top bloke part, thats a couple of years in a row he's missed finals due to injuries. hopefully he can get the body right to finish this year in style...what was the injury this time mate?

Fretwell Park
1 Feb 2008, 09:05
must agree with the top bloke part, thats a couple of years in a row he's missed finals due to injuries. hopefully he can get the body right to finish this year in style...what was the injury this time mate?

No he hasnt had much luck the last couple of years , in 06 while coaching Beulah he did his hamstring and missed the second semi and Prelim and his side went out in straight sets. And last year he broke his scafoid in the last game of the season , but didnt know it at the time and played in the second semi, a couple of days later it was in plaster . Where are you from anyway, and how do you know Hosey ? :thumbsu:

ofalltime
2 Feb 2008, 11:05
No he hasnt had much luck the last couple of years , in 06 while coaching Beulah he did his hamstring and missed the second semi and Prelim and his side went out in straight sets. And last year he broke his scafoid in the last game of the season , but didnt know it at the time and played in the second semi, a couple of days later it was in plaster . Where are you from anyway, and how do you know Hosey ? :thumbsu:

The word is that Mr Hose is gun shy of finals or just pathetic excuses Hosey. The name HOSEY sounds like a girls name, maybe that's why he didn't play finals both leagues found out that he is actually a girl:p

Goalsquare Clapper
2 Feb 2008, 16:13
The word is that Mr Hose is gun shy of finals or just pathetic excuses Hosey. The name HOSEY sounds like a girls name, maybe that's why he didn't play finals both leagues found out that he is actually a girl:p

Look out people,it seems the"Peter Hore" of bigfooty is back.

ofalltime
3 Feb 2008, 16:06
Look out people,it seems the"Peter Hore" of bigfooty is back.

Dear Goalsquare Flapper, Hosey would have a very good idea who most of us are on this site. It is by play, we are actually friends, grow up and get a life. All you do FLAPPER is sit back read and then have a go at others. Be inventive for once, you know you might actually find that you enjoy it. Bye for now FLIPPER, FLAPPER oh sorry CLAPPER. CLAPPER now that word makes one think.:)

Goalsquare Clapper
4 Feb 2008, 07:21
Dear Goalsquare Flapper, Hosey would have a very good idea who most of us are on this site. It is by play, we are actually friends, grow up and get a life. All you do FLAPPER is sit back read and then have a go at others. Be inventive for once, you know you might actually find that you enjoy it. Bye for now FLIPPER, FLAPPER oh sorry CLAPPER. CLAPPER now that word makes one think.:)

Youre right offal,it makes me think why you would use a public forum to show your love for one another.Why dont you start your own thread and have a bit of privacy?

ofalltime
4 Feb 2008, 09:33
Youre right offal,it makes me think why you would use a public forum to show your love for one another.Why dont you start your own thread and have a bit of privacy?
Now now crapper lighten up.

Fretwell Park
4 Feb 2008, 12:35

ofalltime , heard what happen to your van ?:thumbsu:

ofalltime
4 Feb 2008, 13:20
ofalltime , heard what happen to your van ?:thumbsu:

Think you might have the wrong person.:cool:

Duff Man
7 Feb 2008, 10:25
Yeah Cutters. So is Shaw.

Cutters , should be hard to beat this season the way they have recruited , a forward line of Angwin , Shaw , Mc Millan , and Ratray that would be potent in the GVFL or any major League .And Coxy has done quite well for himself picking up a number of quality players at Port Douglas . Great to hear the big Meat Tray [ Ratray ] is training the house down , can play the boy . A player has come down here to play at Mansfield from up there, the saints [ I think ] Daniel Dai what can anyone tell me about him .

Doona2
7 Feb 2008, 10:33
Cutters , should be hard to beat this season the way they have recruited , a forward line of Angwin , Shaw , Mc Millan , and Ratray that would be potent in the GVFL or any major League .And Coxy has done quite well for himself picking up a number of quality players at Port Douglas . Great to hear the big Meat Tray [ Ratray ] is training the house down , can play the boy . A player has come down here to play at Mansfield from up there, the saints [ I think ] Daniel Dai what can anyone tell me about him .

Did Gez Liddell commit to play with Coxy?

fromthebackline
7 Feb 2008, 12:19

He goes well. Very quick and good skilss. Run all day.

CatsMad
8 Feb 2008, 15:34
Anybody have any idea how the Premiers are looking (Hawks)? Heard they have lost a few... Seem to not hear too much about them considering they've won 2 in a row...

Poiderr
8 Feb 2008, 16:08
Check out the South Cairns Cutters WWW site, now has a forum of its own www.southcairnsafl.com.au (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au) :thumbsu:

Glen Quagmire
14 Feb 2008, 17:11
Can anyone tell me how Cairns Saints are travelling this year? Recruits? Saw Matt Walsh running the esplande the other day looks as though he has been in the gym and bulked up!!! Also saw cutters look as though they have recruited well? Any other big name signings from any other clubs?

DCdog
15 Feb 2008, 11:02
Can anyone tell me how Cairns Saints are travelling this year? Recruits? Saw Matt Walsh running the esplande the other day looks as though he has been in the gym and bulked up!!! Also saw cutters look as though they have recruited well? Any other big name signings from any other clubs?

Cairns Saints have lost few big names, but have landed a big signing in Luke Parsons from Redan - will be one to watch! Have heard that Centrals have recruited well from Darwin, don't know any names.

knackers22
15 Feb 2008, 15:21

Massive unit!

http://www.pcimagenetwork.com/muscle/muscle14.jpg

Fretwell Park
15 Feb 2008, 15:59
Yeah walshy still playing for south. kicked 5 on weekend. his hammy is finally right so plenty of bags to come.

Best forward in the league by a mile!
Superstar!

I see Matt Walsh back with 6 goals on weekend on top of 5 from last weekend.

The boots are back on, look out everyone!

Didnt Matt Walsh from Saints win it last year as well as kicking 100 goals?

Kennedy won previous year i believe.

Matt Walsh again amongst the goals.

Must be one the best forwards to ever play in Cairns surelly?

Knackers22 have you got a soft spot for Matty Walsh?????????????????

fromthebackline
17 Feb 2008, 17:08
Knackers22 have you got a soft spot for Matty Walsh?????????????????

No doubt Matt Walsh outstanding player. Cops a lot of attention and never has a winge just gets on with kicking goals.:thumbsu:

Glen Quagmire
20 Feb 2008, 13:30
Cairns Saints have lost few big names, but have landed a big signing in Luke Parsons from Redan - will be one to watch! Have heard that Centrals have recruited well from Darwin, don't know any names.

Thanks DCdog haven't heard of him but will keep my eye out. Saints have lost some big names... Who? Will they be able to cover these losses?

DCdog
20 Feb 2008, 16:00
Thanks DCdog haven't heard of him but will keep my eye out. Saints have lost some big names... Who? Will they be able to cover these losses?

Saints have lost Josh Dicketts, Craig Nunn and Charlie Dixon - All 3 played in the ruck and up forward. Dicketts and Nunn were excellent players for the Saints last year. Not sure if they can cover this height, but will still have a good bunch of medium running type players. Will be interesting to see if they will be as good as last year.

damochandler
20 Feb 2008, 17:26
are those 2 gf sides in 2004, still struggling for numbers

chaddles
21 Feb 2008, 17:42
I was just wondering if anyone could give me an idea of the standard of the Mackay league? I was hoping someone on this site might know a little about it. I know the Cairns League is a pretty strong comp, but if someone could give me a comparison that would be great.
I may be moving there for work from Melbourne- I currently play 1's in SFL Division 1 comp, just curious to how good (or bad) the comp is in Mackay to help me with my decision.

Cheers.

fromthebackline
21 Feb 2008, 20:15
Back in the days when southern had 5 divisions, I would say the mackay league was about div 5 standard. In respect to sourthern div 1 which I saw last year and was not that impressed with I would say it is very low div two southern on todays standards probably even lower. Each side will have 2-3 good players but most would be reserve grade standard to what you are used to. Hope your move goes well. What I will say is that Mackay is a great place. Top beaches etc and a good place to bring up a family or even create one. All the best and u the way who did you play for in southern.:)

Kiethy
27 Feb 2008, 12:20
Back in the days when southern had 5 divisions, I would say the mackay league was about div 5 standard. In respect to sourthern div 1 which I saw last year and was not that impressed with I would say it is very low div two southern on todays standards probably even lower. Each side will have 2-3 good players but most would be reserve grade standard to what you are used to. Hope your move goes well. What I will say is that Mackay is a great place. Top beaches etc and a good place to bring up a family or even create one. All the best and u the way who did you play for in southern.:)

Was told Saints signed Nick Preston, key position forward and very good player. Not sure of the other recruits but he will certainly make them stronger.

kicktheballlong
27 Feb 2008, 14:19
I hear that Cairns Saints look a lot like a Ballarat A grade team this year. Heaps of recruits but have lost a heap. Saints have choked the last few yrs when they were favoured.
City's & Norths will fight out last. Citys have a new coach who is recruiting hard says the local paper. They have lost a few from 2007 to South Cairns
Centrals will make the 4 this year. lots of Darwin players. Sounds like $$$
South Cairns from what I read in the Cairns Post look the team to beat. Awesome. They have raided City's & North Cairns and picked up some guns. They have already played a practice game.
Port Douglas have spent a fortune and will be top 2. Port seem to spalsh out the cash every few yrs dont they.
Manunda have lost a lot of players with no recruits mentioned. Might be hard for them in 2008. Dont write them off.

Any one have any thoughts on a ladder

Fretwell Park
27 Feb 2008, 15:30
I hear that Cairns Saints look a lot like a Ballarat A grade team this year. Heaps of recruits but have lost a heap. Saints have choked the last few yrs when they were favoured.
City's & Norths will fight out last. Citys have a new coach who is recruiting hard says the local paper. They have lost a few from 2007 to South Cairns
Centrals will make the 4 this year. lots of Darwin players. Sounds like $$$
South Cairns from what I read in the Cairns Post look the team to beat. Awesome. They have raided City's & North Cairns and picked up some guns. They have already played a practice game.
Port Douglas have spent a fortune and will be top 2. Port seem to spalsh out the cash every few yrs dont they.
Manunda have lost a lot of players with no recruits mentioned. Might be hard for them in 2008. Dont write them off.

Any one have any thoughts on a ladder

Port Douglas / Picked up Shaw and Smith both over 6,4 and more
South Cairns / Recruited well lost sharp and Bailey
Cairns Saints / Done well with Ballarat recruits , lost Dickets and Nunn
Manunda Hawks / lost heaps but will go out and buy up

Cetrals / will pick a few up but cant see them in the 4
Cobras / lost some good players and cant see them any higher
North Cairns / love to see them win a few games

Fretwell Park
27 Feb 2008, 15:44
Was told Saints signed Nick Preston, key position forward and very good player. Not sure of the other recruits but he will certainly make them stronger.

Saints are recruiting very well indeed , and keeping there cards very close too there chest . Might have to change my ladder and put Saints top????

Duff Man
27 Feb 2008, 15:53
Saints are recruiting very well indeed , and keeping there cards very close too there chest . Might have to change my ladder and put Saints top????

Mate , Saints could be the dark horse , talking to Coxy[ coach of Port ]:thumbsu: the other night and he thinks Saints will be Ports big danger this year.

blueeyes
27 Feb 2008, 16:34
forget about all the other teams, theres only one ''SOUTH CAIRNS'' with the qld state coach and budget that is at least double any other club, they would have to be clearly on top as early favourites, steve daniels knows what it takes to win, and after spending a season finding his feet,anything bar a premiership would be a failure.SJ is a very astute coach and recruiter.

Duff Man
28 Feb 2008, 06:56
forget about all the other teams, theres only one ''SOUTH CAIRNS'' with the qld state coach and budget that is at least double any other club, they would have to be clearly on top as early favourites, steve daniels knows what it takes to win, and after spending a season finding his feet,anything bar a premiership would be a failure.SJ is a very astute coach and recruiter.

Yes a very good coach is SJ, but how much of their budget did he give you to post this testimonial (or are you sleeping with him)?:eek:

blueeyes
28 Feb 2008, 12:14
mmmmm.good comeback duffman,i guess you owe me that one,though SJ does'nt do that much for me,he's not my type,and i doubt that they would be wasting any of the budget on having there tyres pumped up,what's left of the budget would be going towards the players that'll be coming up before mid season clearances close, just to add to there already''STAR'' list. though if there is anything left and they need a bit mid-season motivating, i would be available for a very heavy FEE$$$ i dont come cheap... so i would fit in down at ''SOUTH CAIRNS'' very nicely.

Kiethy
28 Feb 2008, 12:27
mmmmm.good comeback duffman,i guess you owe me that one,though SJ does'nt do that much for me,he's not my type,and i doubt that they would be wasting any of the budget on having there tyres pumped up,what's left of the budget would be going towards the players that'll be coming up before mid season clearances close, just to add to there already''STAR'' list. though if there is anything left and they need a bit mid-season motivating, i would be available for a very heavy FEE$$$ i dont come cheap... so i would fit in down at ''SOUTH CAIRNS'' very nicely.

In terms of match payments, do all the clubs pay their players per game or are most incentive based payments

kicktheballlong
28 Feb 2008, 12:28
i was down Roberts Rd last week and popped in and saw Souths train. Very impressive. Long way advanced than Manunda who i saw the other day. The coach has them very fit and I would expect them to win the preseason cup. Thats always a very good lead in to the season proper.

so how are clubs going with training numbers this yr considering the wet we are having. I saw Souths have about 40 and hear Manunda 20 & Saints 30. What about Port, City's & Norths. The preseason cup is only a week away.

Duff Man
28 Feb 2008, 13:55

Na just having fun champ , SJ is a great mate and I hate seeing people pump the fat bald headed #$@%^ up , we are hoping on the bye down here [Seymour ]to come up to Cairns and watch South Cairns play and catch up with the great Man.:)

fromthebackline
28 Feb 2008, 15:20
Na just having fun champ , SJ is a great mate and I hate seeing people pump the fat bald headed #$@%^ up , we are hoping on the bye down here [Seymour ]to come up to Cairns and watch South Cairns play and catch up with the great Man.:)

Let me know if you guys are heading North during your bye. Will arrange luncheon etc if it is our home game. Also go to www.southcairnsafl.com.au (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au) to keep up to date with what is happening at the Cutters. Hope to hear soon.:thumbsu:

Duff Man
28 Feb 2008, 20:27
Let me know if you guys are heading North during your bye. Will arrange luncheon etc if it is our home game. Also go to www.southcairnsafl.com.au (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au) to keep up to date with what is happening at the Cutters. Hope to hear soon.:thumbsu:

Cheers ftb...I might just take you up on that offer. Checked out the website and will need a pair of the dress shorts and club shirt. SJ Fatty-Boomba will cover the cost and also know my size, but no need for the training top as I don't want to scare anyone away with my white chicken arms.

A couple of requests when I arrive:-

a) make sure Lippy is there cause I want to chalk up all my VB's on his slate
b) give Billy from Piccones a bit of notice as he cooks the best burgers
c) be good if Meat-Tray, Shawry & Sheepy all play deep in the forward line that day
d) be great if McMillan can turn it on.....I've seen him play before but SJ cok smoker is very keen for him to have a big year.

After match function can be at the members bar.......you know the address;)
Happy to let Pete Cheners come along if he's got rid of that silly beard:D

Kiethy
29 Feb 2008, 12:52
i was down Roberts Rd last week and popped in and saw Souths train. Very impressive. Long way advanced than Manunda who i saw the other day. The coach has them very fit and I would expect them to win the preseason cup. Thats always a very good lead in to the season proper.

so how are clubs going with training numbers this yr considering the wet we are having. I saw Souths have about 40 and hear Manunda 20 & Saints 30. What about Port, City's & Norths. The preseason cup is only a week away.

Can someone from each club do an ins and outs for season 2008?

Stinger43
29 Feb 2008, 13:05
Have heard that Centrals have been shopping with some success in Darwin. They have apparently picked up about 5 definite players and there are about 3 or 4 others that are highly probable.

Berg is also returning to play for the Bulldogs again. This guy is a jet.

If any Central supporters have names and details of the players that they have picked up and lost from last season it would be appreciated if you could post some details. They were not that far off the money last year. Assuming they have not lost many players from last years list, they might be there abouts this year.

Are Benny Chalmers :D and Heath Barnett :thumbsu: having another run this year?

Is the Yack still at the helm? :cool:

Poiderr
6 Mar 2008, 10:07
Really itching for some footy this weekend! anybody know if XXXX pre-season cup is going ahead this weekend?:)

CatsMad
7 Mar 2008, 08:44
Games still going ahead from reports, unless of course the weather up there turns bad again! Any ideas on the outcomes of the pre-season? Winners Losers? Anyone actually playing their full side?

tamba
8 Mar 2008, 19:25
Well what a good day at headquarters small crowd but interesting games ,
first up North Cairns beat Manunda fairly well

then South Cairns beat Norths in a good tussle but ran over them in the end

last game Souths beat Hawks fairly well

umpires well done in a hard , warm day ,

from what I hear it will be

Souths Versus Saints at headquarters next week

Poiderr
9 Mar 2008, 18:55
Well done to the Cutter Boys, good luck for next weeks XXXX pre season final, for game results & post match interviews go to the cutters web site.:)

http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/football.html

Harries08
9 Mar 2008, 22:46
Gday lads how is the footy going up there it has been a couple of years since I played with the mighty Mununda Hawks. Unfortunately I played with them before they were good. It has been great to rad about teir success on this forum. Just a few questions for you is badger still running around and did he get a game in the premierships i hope so and patty from darwin man you were awsome I would love to give you some cash to come and play for me down south Geoff Collier I could get him out of your hair for a year. Cheers Cocky

Fretwell Park
10 Mar 2008, 14:44
Well what a good day at headquarters small crowd but interesting games ,
first up North Cairns beat Manunda fairly well

then South Cairns beat Norths in a good tussle but ran over them in the end

last game Souths beat Hawks fairly well

umpires well done in a hard , warm day ,

from what I hear it will be

Souths Versus Saints at headquarters next week

Well great to have the footy back on the weekend wasnt it . I was really impressed with North Cairns against us on the weekend , they have picked up some handy players from the Ovens and Murry and they will not finish on the bottom this year . One of the Manunda high rollers was heard saying after being beating by Norths wait to we get our ten players from Darwin here and then see how you go . Something tells me the Hawks do not like it when things dont go there way or should i say one gentleman in particular . Hawks might have ten to come in but on this day Norths won and due respect must be given, and what happend to Port Douglas on the weekend.? was expecting them to win there side of the draw with the big recruits in Shaw and Smith . Did they play and if so how did they go . :thumbsu:

sniff12
10 Mar 2008, 15:42
shaw played smith didn't port mostly played kids lot of two's players running around for all 4 teams something tells me there might only be one club taking these games so seriously!!

Fretwell Park
12 Mar 2008, 12:24
shaw played smith didn't port mostly played kids lot of two's players running around for all 4 teams something tells me there might only be one club taking these games so seriously!!

sniff12 , Must be Saints your refuring to , because Souths and Hawks played mainly Kids and Reserves and Norths played a load of new fellows and Ressie players from last year . :thumbsu:

The Donk
12 Mar 2008, 13:21
No doubt Souths and Saints will be putting their best teams forward for this Saturdays match. Should be an exciting game to watch.

LEEMA
12 Mar 2008, 17:14
No doubt Souths and Saints will be putting their best teams forward for this Saturdays match. Should be an exciting game to watch.

Whats the prize money for your xxxx Grand Final , Im sure both sides would want to do alright if there is money up for grabs.

tamba
12 Mar 2008, 18:22
Prize money for XXXX Pre- Season Cup Winner $1000 plus Trophy

Runner Up $500

Third $300

Fourth $150

The Donk
13 Mar 2008, 10:15
Cazalys got hammered by some pretty heavy rain on Wednesday, but should recover for Saturdays big match if the rain eases.

Didn't get to see the Saints in action last weekend, but for my money I'd have to back the Cutters for the up and coming clash. The Cutters will be playing "Big Motor" along with some new guns that didn't play last week. Saints get back the "Hose" who is recoving from a nasty wrist ingury, and its rumoured that "Keno" might even play... so it should be a good game.

If the Cutters don't lose any players during the season their reserve side should be very stong and do well.

Delray
14 Mar 2008, 10:27
Theres a group of about 5 country victorian footballers comming up that way. All senior footballers. Has a club stiched them all up??? if so who are the playing for.

Poiderr
14 Mar 2008, 11:04
Theres a group of about 5 country victorian footballers comming up that way. All senior footballers. Has a club stiched them all up??? if so who are the playing for.
Your going to have to list some names big fella, Cairns is very transient, many come & go.:confused:

Mr_X
14 Mar 2008, 12:58
Word has it that Norths has picked up a talented back pocket who is a spitting image of Flower from Meerkat Manner. Lets just hope he doesnt suffer the same fate and can help set up tony soprano down forward

Fretwell Park
17 Mar 2008, 14:29
Cazalys got hammered by some pretty heavy rain on Wednesday, but should recover for Saturdays big match if the rain eases.

Didn't get to see the Saints in action last weekend, but for my money I'd have to back the Cutters for the up and coming clash. The Cutters will be playing "Big Motor" along with some new guns that didn't play last week. Saints get back the "Hose" who is recoving from a nasty wrist ingury, and its rumoured that "Keno" might even play... so it should be a good game.

If the Cutters don't lose any players during the season their reserve side should be very stong and do well.

The Little Donk , Cazalys did get hammered with rain but it held up all right . The game was a slog, but Saints showed they are going to be a handy side even with the loss of Dicketts , Nunn , Hodges, Killen and Dai to name just a few. They still have Walsh , Watt , and Ryan to come back in. Souths didnt help them selfs in the first half when at one stage they had kicked 2.6 to 1.1 . But it was great to see some youngsters playing for the Cutters , one of the kids Kieran Johnson is only 14 years old great effort . Was great to see "The Hose man" back after his wrist injury and getting his hands on the ball even if he was handballing it to the opposition ? Well only 3 weeks until the real stuff is up and going and round one should be a ripper. Tips are -

Souths v Centrals
Norths v Cobras
Saints v Hawks

Delray
17 Mar 2008, 14:35
Your going to have to list some names big fella, Cairns is very transient, many come & go.:confused:

Names i have are:

Jason Eagle
Ash Dedini
Warren Crisera

does that help any1 up there.

Wear The Fox Hat
17 Mar 2008, 14:43
Names i have are:

Jason Eagle
Ash Dedini
Warren Crisera

does that help any1 up there.

Yes they are going to the Saints I think :thumbsu:

The Donk
17 Mar 2008, 16:38
The Little Donk , Cazalys did get hammered with rain but it held up all right . The game was a slog, but Saints showed they are going to be a handy side even with the loss of Dicketts , Nunn , Hodges, Killen and Dai to name just a few. They still have Walsh , Watt , and Ryan to come back in. Souths didnt help them selfs in the first half when at one stage they had kicked 2.6 to 1.1 . But it was great to see some youngsters playing for the Cutters , one of the kids Kieran Johnson is only 14 years old great effort . Was great to see "The Hose man" back after his wrist injury and getting his hands on the ball even if he was handballing it to the opposition ? Well only 3 weeks until the real stuff is up and going and round one should be a ripper. Tips are -

Souths v Centrals
Norths v Cobras
Saints v Hawks

Yo Fretwell, Whats this "Little" biz? I have you know that "The Donk" is regulation size..... nothing little about him.

Yep the game was a bit of a slog in the damp conditions, so it will be interesting to see both sides at full strenght on a good day. Big "Ratray" was a bit green around the gills and threatened to chunder on me at half time, I don't know whether it was something he ate, drank or he was just sick. He was obviously off his game, unlike "Foss" who tore up the centre.

Doona2
17 Mar 2008, 17:30
Yep the game was a bit of a slog in the damp conditions, so it will be interesting to see both sides at full strenght on a good day. Big "Ratray" was a bit green around the gills and threatened to chunder on me at half time, I don't know whether it was something he ate, drank or he was just sick. .

Spoke with Patty Friday arvo and he said he felt he was coming down crook - give him benefit of the doubt this time round as I'm pretty sure it wasn't a self inflicted illness as when I spoke to him yesty he still sounded rough :thumbsu:

Kiethy
17 Mar 2008, 18:05
Spoke with Patty Friday arvo and he said he felt he was coming down crook - give him benefit of the doubt this time round as I'm pretty sure it wasn't a self inflicted illness as when I spoke to him yesty he still sounded rough :thumbsu:

Saints young Ruckman Matt Kane looked handy on Saturday, his mobility and strength around the ground will be an asset to the Saints this season.

freelance
21 Mar 2008, 14:25
tips 4 rnd. 1 souths too strong 4 centrals cobras to thrash norths saints over hawks by under 2 goals

fromthebackline
21 Mar 2008, 14:57
Tips for round one:
Souths by 16pts over Doggies

Cobras by 21 pts over Norths

Saints by 32 pts over Hawks.

freelance
21 Mar 2008, 15:33
Tips for round one:
Souths by 16pts over Doggies

Cobras by 21 pts over Norths

Saints by 32 pts over Hawks.
dont write the hawks off a little irishman tells me they be just fine.

phantom 309
22 Mar 2008, 18:52

Maybe not selfe inflicted this time but it will be befor to much time passes. But he can play.

freelance
22 Mar 2008, 21:47
hasnt played agood game since 2005:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd: