View Full Version : Cairns AFL

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

freelance
23 Mar 2008, 13:23
Did Gez Liddell commit to play with Coxy?
looking at the transfer last week g.liddell cleared from barooga to kyneton and rattrays clearance has been rejected by barooga???????

Goalsquare Clapper
24 Mar 2008, 17:10
With the CAFL 2008 season fast approaching,talk is rife of gun recruits signed,gruelling pre seasons completed and which teams are challenging for premiership favourtism.Plenty of unknowns in there.During an illustrious football career,GC has played many matchwinning roles on some fine arenas,and finds it hard to say which was the best. What i do know is my opinions of all the footy venues in FNQ.......so here it is.
Watsons Oval.North Cairns
A rather unremarkable oval that is neither good or bad.It seems this venue lacks atmosphere,and this combined with the tigers fortunes of late paints a bleak picture.Makeshift grandstand in the pocket is good for away supporters,whilst the clubhouse did a good job serving GC ice cold beer one evening recently.I must say though,that it seemed the stereotypical north supporter would be more appreciative if the bar was filled with more woodstock tall bourbon cans.Cant comment on the tuck shop offerings as i was too keen to get to shenannigans for beer,babes and burgers.5/10

Centrals Trinity Beach.
The first thing that strikes you about this ground is its immense size...the far forward pocket is in a different postcode.Many a CAFL coachs well laid plans have come undone by teams taking the longest route to goal.This combined with the bulldogs trademark tenaciousness makes wins here well earned.Goalsquare clapper could also imagine the dogs having some great post game revelry in their impressive social club,plenty of bars, memorabilia and pokies.Have heard some very positive feedback on the parma and chips,on which some elderly patrons nearly choked on last year when a streaker graced the field during a game.6/10

Cazalys.
The first time i had the pleasure of strolling over the manicured surface of Cazalys,my comrade said that my face had turned pale.I merely explained that was due to an abundance of blood rushing to my nether regions,such was my delight in the condition of the grass.Ahh,finally a soft landing for my 2-3 hangers each time i played here.Without doubt an absolute honour to run out onto this ground,with the old carrara grandstand and awesome social club completing the picture.Although finals here are generally wind affected,it still doesnt detract from what is simply a brilliant venue.Also,after trying some of the bbq fare being cooked by a hawks stalwart in the grandstand,The Clapper was left in no doubt about how and why Jamie Scrymgours thighs are so large. 10/10

Port Douglas.
Im sure many an unfocused footballer has been distracted looking for white pointers on the various beaches on the way to croc territory.Upon arriving at the ground,one is met by a social clubhouse that wouldnt look out of place in the film "Caddyshack".A perfect sized arena that also comes with large crowds of vocal supporters,the croc pit can be a fairly tough venue to take 4 points back down the cook highway.Cars parked all around the embankments around the ground add to the atmosphere to footy games in this tourist town.Rumours also abound that some of the best hot dogs north of townsvile are sold at the canteen here.8/10

South Cairns.

The cutters have a well sized ground with good grass cover,although at one end it seems you are looking up quite a steep hill.Situated in the southern 'burbs of cairns,it has good facilities but literally no warm up area.Goals also seem easier to come by at the social club end,which has a rather large smattering of supporters in red and white shirts.Unfortunately,every time Goalsquare Clapper has attended fixtures here,the football has been accompanied by mindless rantings from the drunken members of the red and white army in the terraces,regardless of the scoreboard.Did i hear a banjo playing in the background......As yet i havent sampled any of the cutters tuck shop options,perhaps this year 7/10

Holloways beach
Halfway through my healthily salted bucket of chips in the scaffold grandstand down at snakeland,my enjoyment of the game (and my spilt diet coke)was rudely interupted by virgin flight dj 647 flying what seemed like 30 metres above my head.Apart from being in this direct flight path, the home of the cobras is quite a good oval.Perfect length, rather wide,good grass and social club on the wing are all pluses.One would imagine that after a good win ,the xxxx gold would flow into the wee hours on the lawn area in front of the club.8/10

Cairns saints

Perhaps the smallest ground in the CAFL,this oval sometimes has average grass cover.Commission type houses at one end and construction site at the other doesnt do much for the look either.All this makes it even harder to snatch a win against the perennially strong saints.Although somewhat critical of this venue,its still not a bad ground to play at.Also have to comment that when i wasnt witnessing some Matt Walsh acrobatics, i saw some of the most attractive female canteen attendants ive ever seen work here.These lasses were of such a standard that Goalsquare Clapper was observed one day hovering around the kiosk,ordering one dimmy with soya sauce on 9 different occasions.6/10
Well there it is,criticise,congratulate or concur.
And if none of those,just bring on the footy!!

Simon the Pieman
24 Mar 2008, 22:31
can anybody tell me the name of that big gumby playing for norths that wears the black wrist bands, he needs to learn how to play, was playing ruck in the pre season cup

Mr_X
25 Mar 2008, 19:03
pieman is a god name, word has it u dont mind the occasional pie.....or 20

freelance
25 Mar 2008, 22:18
With the CAFL 2008 season fast approaching,talk is rife of gun recruits signed,gruelling pre seasons completed and which teams are challenging for premiership favourtism.Plenty of unknowns in there.During an illustrious football career,GC has played many matchwinning roles on some fine arenas,and finds it hard to say which was the best. What i do know is my opinions of all the footy venues in FNQ.......so here it is.
A rather unremarkable oval that is neither good or bad.It seems this venue lacks atmosphere,and this combined with the tigers fortunes of late paints a bleak picture.Makeshift grandstand in the pocket is good for away supporters,whilst the clubhouse did a good job serving GC ice cold beer one evening recently.I must say though,that it seemed the stereotypical north supporter would be more appreciative if the bar was filled with more woodstock tall bourbon cans.Cant comment on the tuck shop offerings as i was too keen to get to shenannigans for beer,babes and burgers.5/10

Centrals Trinity Beach.
The first thing that strikes you about this ground is its immense size...the far forward pocket is in a different postcode.Many a CAFL coachs well laid plans have come undone by teams taking the longest route to goal.This combined with the bulldogs trademark tenaciousness makes wins here well earned.Goalsquare clapper could also imagine the dogs having some great post game revelry in their impressive social club,plenty of bars, memorabilia and pokies.Have heard some very positive feedback on the parma and chips,on which some elderly patrons nearly choked on last year when a streaker graced the field during a game.6/10

Cazalys.
The first time i had the pleasure of strolling over the manicured surface of Cazalys,my comrade said that my face had turned pale.I merely explained that was due to an abundance of blood rushing to my nether regions,such was my delight in the condition of the grass.Ahh,finally a soft landing for my 2-3 hangers each time i played here.Without doubt an absolute honour to run out onto this ground,with the old carrara grandstand and awesome social club completing the picture.Although finals here are generally wind affected,it still doesnt detract from what is simply a brilliant venue.Also,after trying some of the bbq fare being cooked by a hawks stalwart in the grandstand,The Clapper was left in no doubt about how and why Jamie Scrymgours thighs are so large. 10/10

Port Douglas.
Im sure many an unfocused footballer has been distracted looking for white pointers on the various beaches on the way to croc territory.Upon arriving at the ground,one is met by a social clubhouse that wouldnt look out of place in the film "Caddyshack".A perfect sized arena that also comes with large crowds of vocal supporters,the croc pit can be a fairly tough venue to take 4 points back down the cook highway.Cars parked all around the embankments around the ground add to the atmosphere to footy games in this tourist town.Rumours also abound that some of the best hot dogs north of townsvile are sold at the canteen here.8/10

South Cairns.

The cutters have a well sized ground with good grass cover,although at one end it seems you are looking up quite a steep hill.Situated in the southern 'burbs of cairns,it has good facilities but literally no warm up area.Goals also seem easier to come by at the social club end,which has a rather large smattering of supporters in red and white shirts.Unfortunately,every time Goalsquare Clapper has attended fixtures here,the football has been accompanied by mindless rantings from the drunken members of the red and white army in the terraces,regardless of the scoreboard.Did i hear a banjo playing in the background......As yet i havent sampled any of the cutters tuck shop options,perhaps this year 7/10

Holloways beach
Halfway through my healthily salted bucket of chips in the scaffold grandstand down at snakeland,my enjoyment of the game (and my spilt diet coke)was rudely interupted by virgin flight dj 647 flying what seemed like 30 metres above my head.Apart from being in this direct flight path, the home of the cobras is quite a good oval.Perfect length, rather wide,good grass and social club on the wing are all pluses.One would imagine that after a good win ,the xxxx gold would flow into the wee hours on the lawn area in front of the club.8/10

Cairns saints

Perhaps the smallest ground in the CAFL,this oval sometimes has average grass cover.Commission type houses at one end and construction site at the other doesnt do much for the look either.All this makes it even harder to snatch a win against the perennially strong saints.Although somewhat critical of this venue,its still not a bad ground to play at.Also have to comment that when i wasnt witnessing some Matt Walsh acrobatics, i saw some of the most attractive female canteen attendants ive ever seen work here.These lasses were of such a standard that Goalsquare Clapper was observed one day hovering around the kiosk,ordering one dimmy with soya sauce on 9 different occasions.6/10
not a bad assessmement clapper a bit hard on souths though.;)

Wear The Fox Hat
26 Mar 2008, 15:52
Did Gez Liddell commit to play with Coxy?

Gez Liddell was really not welcome back at Seymour ,[ and i have heard to diffrent stories to why] so after not being welcome back to Barooga either he is now building his brothers house near Bendigo , and will play with his brother until the house is built. Then I was told he is going to head up and play with Coxy at Port Douglas. Im hearing that this little pony seems to up set people where ever he plays .

freelance
26 Mar 2008, 17:33
Gez Liddell was really not welcome back at Seymour ,[ and i have heard to diffrent stories to why] so after not being welcome back to Barooga either he is now building his brothers house near Bendigo , and will play with his brother until the house is built. Then I was told he is going to head up and play with Coxy at Port Douglas. Im hearing that this little pony seems to up set people where ever he plays .
i dont no if thats true fox youd have to talk to the port recruiting manager. the famous scotty "surebet" ewert????:cool::cool:

raidrboy
26 Mar 2008, 22:18
Cairns Cobras have picked up a guy named Grant Corcoran from Wodonga Raiders. He is a very good player who has played most of his games for us in the back half, can also play forward. If one of you guys could give me a report on how he goes that would be appreciated.

kicktheballlong
27 Mar 2008, 12:03

Centrals Trinity Beach.

Cazalys.

Port Douglas.

South Cairns.

Holloways beach

Cairns saints

Great review. I reckon Holloways Beach is the best venue. Great ground and facilities and usually you beat them. South Cairns would be the worst. It always rains there. Cold and wet.
Tips
Souths by 10g
City's by 3g
Hawks by 2g

tamba
27 Mar 2008, 23:21
[quote=kicktheballlong;10450973]Great review. I reckon Holloways Beach is the best venue. Great ground and facilities and usually you beat them. South Cairns would be the worst. It always rains there. Cold and wet.

How can u say Holloways is the best , it is a dust bowl all year , Griffith Park is a better ground and that is cr-p what with the pot holes ( will give them this , top tucker ), even Watson oval pees all over it and that has a dead pocket ,

for atmosphere really , no one can go pass the Croc's home , when those boyz are in fine tune well look out all comers , toooo bad the cheer squad don't travel

Mr_X
28 Mar 2008, 10:42
Cairns Cobras have picked up a guy named Grant Corcoran from Wodonga Raiders. He is a very good player who has played most of his games for us in the back half, can also play forward. If one of you guys could give me a report on how he goes that would be appreciated.

u want to know about corcs? but wat about the dud pendagast? had enough of living in his brothers shadow did he. or probaly jsut ran out of freinds at raiders

Wear The Fox Hat
28 Mar 2008, 12:21
i dont no if thats true fox youd have to talk to the port recruiting manager. the famous scotty "surebet" ewert????:cool::cool:

The Great Man , I here he is the Mare and runs Port Douglas nowadays. We do miss his head around the Den .

freelance
29 Mar 2008, 07:50
just reading between the lines fox hat im guessing you have a couple of alias names on this site. by the way mate what did g.liddel do to you. that was quite a damning report you posted.

smelvin agg
30 Mar 2008, 03:12
u want to know about corcs? but wat about the dud pendagast? had enough of living in his brothers shadow did he. or probaly jsut ran out of freinds at raiders

I think you mean Pretender gast . knib high rules

robbie green
30 Mar 2008, 11:31
Manunda hawks wont win anything this year souths or port all the way

Wear The Fox Hat
31 Mar 2008, 13:17
just reading between the lines fox hat im guessing you have a couple of alias names on this site. by the way mate what did g.liddel do to you. that was quite a damning report you posted.

You are so right freelance , I have about about 5 alias, when im in a good mood im wear the fox hat , unhappy fromthebackline , sledging big time im Mr X and political i like to be Fretwell Park or Podier . And the little pony is a good fella , I was told he wasnt really welcome back at the den , and he caused trouble at Barooga , why Is that a damning report ? :cool:

Mr_X
1 Apr 2008, 15:07
You are so right freelance , I have about about 5 alias, when im in a good mood im wear the fox hat , unhappy fromthebackline , sledging big time im Mr X and political i like to be Fretwell Park or Podier . And the little pony is a good fella , I was told he wasnt really welcome back at the den , and he caused trouble at Barooga , why Is that a damning report ? :cool:

u wish u were me

toquick
1 Apr 2008, 15:41
I was at a 21st in Barooga last year and watched one of Liddel's team mates smash his ( Liddel ) head into a poker machine. I have never heard one person at the Barooga footy club say good things about him.

blueeyes
1 Apr 2008, 16:16
u wish u were me
obviously you are in the sledging mood today,if that is the case,you've made a complete and utter ''GOOSE'' of yourself by stating that you have about 5 alias's and then replying to your own quote's''ONE BEGINS TO WONDER''why...to many CHEECH and CHONGS one would think.

Mr_X
1 Apr 2008, 17:27
obviously you are in the sledging mood today,if that is the case,you've made a complete and utter ''GOOSE'' of yourself by stating that you have about 5 alias's and then replying to your own quote's''ONE BEGINS TO WONDER''why...to many CHEECH and CHONGS one would think.

i am not that wanker

phantom 309
1 Apr 2008, 22:56
the lions put an offer on tha table and it was not up to his likeing $ do motivate him very much these days, I have never heard anyone dick him and the times i have meet him he seems ok.

freelance
2 Apr 2008, 16:56
Manunda hawks wont win anything this year souths or port all the way
you forgot saints robbie . picked up some top-line recruits and will still be hurting from 2007 .

WeHateTheDrummer
3 Apr 2008, 10:34
Hows our boy Matty Dwyer fitting into the Saints?

Wear The Fox Hat
3 Apr 2008, 10:43
u wish u were me

i am not that wanker

Thats a bit harsh :(

The Donk
3 Apr 2008, 13:27
Now that we've got that out of our system guys.... This weekends games should be rippers. Souths should defeat the Bulldogs at Fretwell(Both A's and reserves) and I reckon Saints will beat the Hawks at Cazza's.:)

Fretwell Park
3 Apr 2008, 14:26
Now that we've got that out of our system guys.... This weekends games should be rippers. Souths should defeat the Bulldogs at Fretwell(Both A's and reserves) and I reckon Saints will beat the Hawks at Cazza's.:)

Hey little Donk , what about Cobras and Norths?

The Donk
3 Apr 2008, 15:00
Hey little Donk , what about Cobras and Norths?

Sorry "LITTLE" Fretwell, da.... Norths I think should take care of the Cobras, unless they've done some recruiting.

Cheers

true ay
3 Apr 2008, 21:44
well first round is only a few days away!
wats the tips for the w/e?

freelance
4 Apr 2008, 00:03
true ive changed my mind i think centrals will beat souths not because i think there better but i think souths are a bit cocky norths to beat cobras saints to beat hawks

CatsMad
4 Apr 2008, 10:19

Souths to beat Centrals by 3 goals
Norths to beat Cobras by 5 goals
Hawks to beat Saints by 2 points

tamba
4 Apr 2008, 10:27
true ive changed my mind i think centrals will beat souths not because i think there better but i think souths are a bit cocky norths to beat cobras saints to beat hawks

Having two bob either way are we ?????? No fence sitting allowed cough up who will take the points in your view

for mine Souths boyz from what I hear are travelling good enough to snatch a win in a close one

waterboyz always have their ears to the ground :rolleyes:

ace10
4 Apr 2008, 10:35
Geez I've heard the Cairns Saints have recruited very well along with South Cairns. Surely those 2 teams would have to be favourites. Saints apparently have a fella called Eagle from Mildura, kicked 90 goals in Sunraysia league last year...an absolute gun...can anyone confirm that??

The Donk
4 Apr 2008, 10:53
for mine Souths boyz from what I hear are travelling good enough to snatch a win in a close one

waterboyz always have their ears to the ground :rolleyes:[/quote]

Water boys, strappers, runners and all the hard workers behind the scene should get more of a mention. Without these hard working volunteers any team would be alot worse off. Onya Guys.... Souths by 4 goals in both grades....;)

Poiderr
4 Apr 2008, 11:14
Check out our web site, www.southcairnsafl.com.au (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au) results, photo's, post match interviews (Souths Games)will be available Sunday nights to keep the faithfull well informed...

fromthebackline
4 Apr 2008, 17:09
Souths by 54pts
Nths by 21 pts
Saints/Hawks draw, with a massive controversy with Saints kicking a goal well after the siren. The Hawks faithful go mad, screaming for heads and stuff. The feel cheated and they are. Hawks lodge protest only to be denied during the week at a special hearing. Verdict "As the umpires did not signal that the game was over, the siren means nothing, the game is not over until it is signalled by the umpires, therefore the score will stand and the match is declared a draw." The shattered Hawks re group for their next encounter, which you wouldn't like to be playing against them the following week.

Anyway that's football.:thumbsu:

tamba
5 Apr 2008, 09:57
Saints/Hawks draw, with a massive controversy with Saints kicking a goal well after the siren. The Hawks faithful go mad, screaming for heads and stuff. The feel cheated and they are. Hawks lodge protest only to be denied during the week at a special hearing. Verdict "As the umpires did not signal that the game was over, the siren means nothing, the game is not over until it is signalled by the umpires, therefore the score will stand and the match is declared a draw." The shattered Hawks re group for their next encounter, which you wouldn't like to be playing against them the following week.

Anyway that's football.:thumbsu:

Very interesting summary Backline but please dont get the umpy's off side this early in the season . But for mine would love to see some good old fashion footy between these two plenty of hard hip and shoulders and running at each other taking NO prisoners hurting the cr-p out of each other :eek:

tamba
6 Apr 2008, 10:07
What a game those Souths boyz had 22 18 150 - 12 8 80 they were good , saw Saints coach in the crowd checking them out , the new bar looking good as well , will enjoy my travels there through out the season as I go a wandering around the grounds sampling the tucker and amber liquid. :thumbsu:

escherichia24
6 Apr 2008, 22:39
I hope you were all there to see the Donk have a blinder on Saturday in the ressies. He is fast becoming a cult figure down at Fretwell.

fromthebackline
6 Apr 2008, 23:13
Geez I've heard the Cairns Saints have recruited very well along with South Cairns. Surely those 2 teams would have to be favourites. Saints apparently have a fella called Eagle from Mildura, kicked 90 goals in Sunraysia league last year...an absolute gun...can anyone confirm that??

I watched the Eagle soaring above packs, kicking goals, class act. I must say though the Eagle was playing against sparrows not Hawks, not a very even contest. In fairness to Manunda they had many players out and some others to come in, so I'm told and I hope this is the case because if they haven't they are gone already. Knowing the boys at Manunda they will have many to come in. Don't be fools and right them off, they will bounce back. One game doesn't make a season. Having said that, gee Saints looked good. New jumpers new recruits they have it all just like boogey and bacall starring in their own late late show. They will face a much stiffer opposition this week but they will still be the ones to beat. Wasn't it great to see Norths have their first win in over a year, well done fellows. Looks like we are in for a great season in Cairns. Can't wait for next week. Bring it on.

Fretwell Park
7 Apr 2008, 13:26
I hope you were all there to see the Donk have a blinder on Saturday in the ressies. He is fast becoming a cult figure down at Fretwell.

The little Donk is not fast becoming he has come a cult figure at Fretwell :rolleyes:

The Donk
7 Apr 2008, 14:13

Hi Escherichia24, good to see you back on the Big Footy, Don't know about the blinder or the cult figure biz, but I certainly was kept busy on Saturday in the ressies. Guess I was way wrong with my Cutters beating the Dogs at Fretwell in ressies prediction... we got our butts kick.... DOH!

Saw the Escherichia37, playing in the big Full-back position on Sunday and doing very well......

Cheers

fromthebackline
8 Apr 2008, 01:00
Hi Escherichia24, good to see you back on the Big Footy, Don't know about the blinder or the cult figure biz, but I certainly was kept busy on Saturday in the ressies. Guess I was way wrong with my Cutters beating the Dogs at Fretwell in ressies prediction... we got our butts kick.... DOH!

Saw the Escherichia37, playing in the big Full-back position on Sunday and doing very well......

Cheers

The Donk is ficticious totally. If this DONK keeps up the cr.p he is going on with it is only a matter of time before we work out who it is. Comeon DONK who are you. We might support you if you are true.

fromthebackline
8 Apr 2008, 01:03

Cheers

I think u mean th w.nk not the donk. people dont like your type of forum change it to reason and people will respond.

Fretwell Park
8 Apr 2008, 09:31
The Donk is ficticious totally. If this DONK keeps up the cr.p he is going on with it is only a matter of time before we work out who it is. Comeon DONK who are you. We might support you if you are true.

The Donk is not ficticious , he is a cult figure at the Cutters, played well on Saturday in the Ressies, was one that payed his Subs .:cool: Have heard the cult figure will not be playing this week is this true little Donk ?????

The Donk
8 Apr 2008, 10:02
The Donk is not ficticious , he is a cult figure at the Cutters, played well on Saturday in the Ressies, was one that payed his Subs .:cool: Have heard the cult figure will not be playing this week is this true little Donk ?????

Well thats just great isn't it, the Donkster is out there bust'en his hump for the Cutters and all he gets is flake "Fromthebackline". Had "Fromthebackline" actually been in the backline perhaps he would have seen me.

Onya Little Fretwell! at least your a believer..... The Donk would give his right gonad to play against the Saints this weekend... can he or can't he, that is the question?

The Donk
8 Apr 2008, 10:23

What say you "DC Dog" is "The Donk" real or is he a figment of everyones imagination?

tamba
8 Apr 2008, 11:21
What say you "DC Dog" is "The Donk" real or is he a figment of everyones imagination?

:cool::rolleyes::cool::rolleyes::confused::confused:;)

Fretwell Park
8 Apr 2008, 14:28
:cool::rolleyes::cool::rolleyes::confused::confused:;)

That would have to be one of the most inteligent posts that I have read for some time , keep up the good work tamba .

Fretwell Park
8 Apr 2008, 14:34
Well thats just great isn't it, the Donkster is out there bust'en his hump for the Cutters and all he gets is flake "Fromthebackline". Had "Fromthebackline" actually been in the backline perhaps he would have seen me.

Onya Little Fretwell! at least your a believer..... The Donk would give his right gonad to play against the Saints this weekend... can he or can't he, that is the question?

No need Little Donk to hand over your little gonad :p

shootist
9 Apr 2008, 11:06
[/b]

No need Little Donk to hand over your little gonad :p

Very little gonad. Go the Donk.

Mr_X
9 Apr 2008, 17:53
North Cairns to be a bit of a smokey thins year?? anyone comment on their game on sat?

shootist
10 Apr 2008, 17:04
North Cairns to be a bit of a smokey thins year?? anyone comment on their game on sat?
Yeah saw the game. North were good, not outstanding. Played some kids and did well. Cobras were not a full strength I'm told there are several to come back in. Both sides will not be a threat this year but it was good to see Norths finally win won.

freelance
11 Apr 2008, 07:07
Yeah saw the game. North were good, not outstanding. Played some kids and did well. Cobras were not a full strength I'm told there are several to come back in. Both sides will not be a threat this year but it was good to see Norths finally win won.
yea well done to norths. but i still think they have a way to go. tips for this week. saints with walsh ,eagle, and kennedy up fwd. 5 goal winners. hawks to beat centrals in a close game. port by 3 goals over cobras

tamba
11 Apr 2008, 14:05
tips for this week. saints with walsh ,eagle, and kennedy up fwd. 5 goal winners. hawks to beat centrals in a close game. port by 3 goals over cobras

for what it is worth here are mine , bear in mind I am running LAST in Cairns AFL tipping comp.

Centrals to bite the tail out of the Hawks

Souths to carve up Griffith Park

Cobras to sink the fangs in the Crocs

shootist
11 Apr 2008, 18:12
for what it is worth here are mine , bear in mind I am running LAST in Cairns AFL tipping comp.

Centrals to bite the tail out of the Hawks

Souths to carve up Griffith Park

Cobras to sink the fangs in the Crocs

Centrals by 23pts

Port by 42pts

Souths by 33pts:thumbsu::)

Manboobssafrez
11 Apr 2008, 20:15
Can anybody tell me if Big Darryl "The German" TAYLOR is going around again for The Crocs? Is it true he had leading role in the movie "Fools Gold" And is it true he has opened up a 24 hour "Red Rooster" where Mango Jam use to be??:D

The Donk
12 Apr 2008, 03:13
Can anybody tell me if Big Darryl "The German" TAYLOR is going around again for The Crocs? Is it true he had leading role in the movie "Fools Gold" And is it true he has opened up a 24 hour "Red Rooster" where Mango Jam use to be??:D

24hour "Red Rooter?", "Fools Gold?" who cares?... Going to be a tough one between the Saints and Cutters this weekend... go the Cutters!

Live Bait18
12 Apr 2008, 11:49
Hey little Donk, I here you are not playing today, your cult following will be very dissapointed! Go the Cutters!:D

The Donk
12 Apr 2008, 20:26
Hey little Donk, I here you are not playing today, your cult following will be very dissapointed! Go the Cutters!:D

Thanks, my cult following came with me on holidays, how'd the Cutters go? onezies and twozies...

tamba
12 Apr 2008, 20:56
Todays result was interesting Souths put the cleaners thru Saints multipul cannings across the game park .

blueeyes
12 Apr 2008, 22:08
Thanks, my cult following came with me on holidays, how'd the Cutters go? onezies and twozies...
hey... pee wee donk, who really cares about your ''HOLIDAY'S''

Poiderr
13 Apr 2008, 08:10
Cutters got home quite easily in the end, 23.10.148 to Saints 16.15.11, Goal kickers for Souths Marcus McMillan & Steve Davies 5 each, Pat Ratray 4, Billy English 3, and a hand full of 1's & 2's..................:thumbsu:

shootist
13 Apr 2008, 13:08
Cutters got home quite easily in the end, 23.10.148 to Saints 16.15.11, Goal kickers for Souths Marcus McMillan & Steve Davies 5 each, Pat Ratray 4, Billy English 3, and a hand full of 1's & 2's..................:thumbsu:

Yeah very good win to the Cutters. Can anyone tell me who the young fellow is that was stretched from the ground with an ankle injury? Hope he is O.K:thumbsu:

Poiderr
13 Apr 2008, 13:44
Match report for the Cutters win Over Saints http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/football.html :) http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/results.html

shootist
13 Apr 2008, 16:40
Match report for the Cutters win Over Saints http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/football.html :) http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/results.html

Just went to the web site for the first time. Well done Souths it is great. Your club is really leading the way this year. Keep up the good work.I went to the game yesterday and would have to say it is probably the quickest home and away game I've seen up here. It had the lot.:thumbsu:

SWANNEES
14 Apr 2008, 15:21
still playing

shootist
15 Apr 2008, 15:26
Interesting round this week. Hawks in all sorts if they loose this week and I think Norths to win by 24 pts.

Cutters travelling well and to have a big win by 88 pts over the Cobras.

Saints will be smarting over last weeks loss and even though they play at port, Saints to win by 31 pts.:p

freelance
16 Apr 2008, 07:07
Interesting round this week. Hawks in all sorts if they loose this week and I think Norths to win by 24 pts.

Cutters travelling well and to have a big win by 88 pts over the Cobras.

Saints will be smarting over last weeks loss and even though they play at port, Saints to win by 31 pts.:p
hawks to bounce back,with there first win for 08, cutters to smash cobras in what will be a spiteful game??? port and saints toss of a coin port by 6 points.

Martin Mattner
16 Apr 2008, 20:28
hay just wondering how the saints are traviling up there got a few players from down my way wondering if they playin good footy jason eagle and warren crisera both flag players.. also a few dedini boys also great players??

17 Apr 2008, 09:03
hay just wondering how the saints are traviling up there got a few players from down my way wondering if they playin good footy jason eagle and warren crisera both flag players.. also a few dedini boys also great players??

Yeah their playing good footy alright, but just not good enough at the moment. Saints went down to the Cutters on the weekend....

Martin Mattner
17 Apr 2008, 10:40
Yeah their playing good footy alright, but just not good enough at the moment. Saints went down to the Cutters on the weekend....
will they be a finals team?? and how the mildura boys adapting? eagle should be creating problems one of the best full fowards in our leauge

17 Apr 2008, 11:28
will they be a finals team?? and how the mildura boys adapting? eagle should be creating problems one of the best full fowards in our leauge

Saints are always a chance to be in the finals, but we're a fair way off yet.... Most of the sides up here have picked up new talent from down south, some of them get home sick, some don't like the heat.. time will tell.
As for Eagle, he's doing alright, but one man does not an AFL team make.

The Donk
17 Apr 2008, 11:34
Saints are always a chance to be in the finals, but we're a fair way off yet.... Most of the sides up here have picked up new talent from down south, some of them get home sick, some don't like the heat.. time will tell.
As for Eagle, he's doing alright, but one man does not an AFL team make.

Yeah what the Cat said... takes 18 players to make up an AFL team.... I didn't get to see the match but I'll be keeping an eye out for this Eagle dude.....

shootist
17 Apr 2008, 16:09
Yeah Eagle can play. Did very well the first week but played on a kid. Last week was beaten comfortably by his opponent. Will get better as he settles in. saints are a good side and just had an off day. Their coach and his staff are very astute and will be much better as the season wears on.;)

Fretwell Park
17 Apr 2008, 16:18
Yeah what the Cat said... takes 18 players to make up an AFL team.... I didn't get to see the match but I'll be keeping an eye out for this Eagle dude.....

I thought a team was 22 players Little Donk :thumbsu:

Fretwell Park
17 Apr 2008, 16:20
Yeah Eagle can play. Did very well the first week but played on a kid. Last week was beaten comfortably by his opponent. Will get better as he settles in. saints are a good side and just had an off day. Their coach and his staff are very astute and will be much better as the season wears on.;)

Totally agree shootist , they will be one of the teams to beat:thumbsu:

Fretwell Park
17 Apr 2008, 16:24
Just went to the web site for the first time. Well done Souths it is great. Your club is really leading the way this year. Keep up the good work.I went to the game yesterday and would have to say it is probably the quickest home and away game I've seen up here. It had the lot.:thumbsu:

Was a quick game , and great standard , hope Kaineys okay and back playing shortly .

Martin Mattner
17 Apr 2008, 16:35
thanks boys.. best of luck 4 the season il b poping up 2 c the progress here and there all the best

The Donk
18 Apr 2008, 09:02
I thought a team was 22 players Little Donk :thumbsu:

Bla Bla Bla..... sorry Tiny Little Fretwell, 18 on the oval at anyone time....:cool:

shootist
18 Apr 2008, 16:29
Hey Donk, we knew what you meant about 18 on the field. Anyway what's your predications this weekend, winners and margins please. Remember you are the guru.:thumbsu:

The Donk
18 Apr 2008, 17:02
Hey Donk, we knew what you meant about 18 on the field. Anyway what's your predications this weekend, winners and margins please. Remember you are the guru.:thumbsu:

Thanks mate, don't know about the guru bit but I like the way your thinking. For what its worth my prediction for this weekend is

Seniors - Saints to defeat Port by 5 goals
Cutters to defeat Cobras by 12 goals
Norths to defeat Hawks by 2 goals
Reserves- Saints to defeat Port by 8 goals
Cutters to defeat Cobras by 4 goals
Hawks to defeat Norths by 5 goals

Had to put in the reserves... they are people too!:)

shootist
20 Apr 2008, 14:02
Tell you what Donk, your predictions were very close, the only one that got away was the margin re cutters senior and reserve grade. As you are the Guru can you give me the winner of the 5th in Melbourne this Saturday? :thumbsu:

Truck
20 Apr 2008, 20:40
How are to Boys from Wyche going up there with the saints???

The Donk
21 Apr 2008, 09:37
Tell you what Donk, your predictions were very close, the only one that got away was the margin re cutters senior and reserve grade. As you are the Guru can you give me the winner of the 5th in Melbourne this Saturday? :thumbsu:

Yeah sorry about the margins, will have to re-calibrate the crystal ball.
The Cobra's Senior side had a few players out so apparently had to steal six from their reservers.... Lets hope that they get them back soon.:)
Cheers

Fretwell Park
21 Apr 2008, 11:35
What happened to Port Douglas on the weekend . Did there big recruits play Smith and Shaw ?

21 Apr 2008, 11:58
What happened to Port Douglas on the weekend . Did there big recruits play Smith and Shaw ?

Don't know what happened to Port, Saints lost the "Eagle" early in the first quarter had a few of their good players out and still won easily...:thumbsu:

shootist
21 Apr 2008, 13:04
The Cobra's Senior side had a few players out so apparently had to steal six from their reservers.... Lets hope that they get them back soon.:)
Cheers

Didn't realise you had crystal balls.:p

shootist
21 Apr 2008, 13:06
Bla Bla Bla..... sorry Tiny Little Fretwell, 18 on the oval at anyone time....:cool:
Does anyone know the extent of the Eagles wounded hip. Hope he is ok want him playing rep etc and back at the mighty saints.:thumbsu:

Live Bait18
21 Apr 2008, 14:19
Cheers

I heard cutters had a few out on the weekend also, but you can only go with what you've got hey donk. Saw you star at full back on sat then miss an absolute sitter when moved forward, back to the backline for you.

The Donk
21 Apr 2008, 15:32
I heard cutters had a few out on the weekend also, but you can only go with what you've got hey donk. Saw you star at full back on sat then miss an absolute sitter when moved forward, back to the backline for you.

What can I say.... I was only up forward for 10minutes, took good grab about 25 metres out on a 45 angle and kicked a point.... Doh! Man I was just happy to be there....:p Saw the Live Bait in the seniors come charging through the centre... tell us what happened?

Fretwell Park
21 Apr 2008, 16:06
Does anyone know the extent of the Eagles wounded hip. Hope he is ok want him playing rep etc and back at the mighty saints.:thumbsu:

The Saints have the bye this week . and the Eagle should be right for the Cobras in two weeks time .:thumbsu:

Fretwell Park
21 Apr 2008, 16:10
What can I say.... I was only up forward for 10minutes, took good grab about 25 metres out on a 45 angle and kicked a point.... Doh! Man I was just happy to be there....:p Saw the Live Bait in the seniors come charging through the centre... tell us what happened?

Chest Mark , 5 Metres out in the square and hit the Post :p

Fretwell Park
21 Apr 2008, 16:12
Don't know what happened to Port, Saints lost the "Eagle" early in the first quarter had a few of their good players out and still won easily...:thumbsu:

Cheers Geelong , :thumbsu:

freelance
22 Apr 2008, 07:41
i wouldnt think 18 points was an easy win, by all acconts the game was close all day . can anyone else who was at the game let us know what they thought, standard of game etc.

The Donk
22 Apr 2008, 08:52
Chest Mark , 5 Metres out in the square and hit the Post :p

What was that Little Fretwell? ... you took it on the chest 5 metres out in the square and hit the post? No wonder you had to give the footy away.... Makes me feel better already:D

Maxy5
22 Apr 2008, 09:02
Standard of the game was very good. Saints backmen shut down Port's big fella's and the Saints onball brigade of Hose, Dwyer and Coatsworth ran all over them. Eagle's injury didn't affect the Saints too much with Walsh, Turner and Noonan finishing off their hard work. Port looked okay though and got in touch by a goal midway through the last quarter. A tough, hard fought game.

Live Bait18
22 Apr 2008, 09:10

Probably on my way to the bench, that would be the only time I storm through the centre.

Poiderr
22 Apr 2008, 11:18
North Cairns and the South Cairns Cutters play this friday 25/4/2008 in the inaugural Anzac Cup clash, which should be an absolute cracker.
Both senior teams are undefeated so we should see some good competitive footy.
Reserves kick off at 1.30pm and seniors at 3.30pm.
Both games will have the traditional Anzac ceremonies.
Come along and support both of these clubs.:)
http://southcairnsafl.com.au/anzacday.html

Maxy5
22 Apr 2008, 13:00
Yeah shaw and smith played even though you wouldn't have known....they don't do much when they have good opposition.

22 Apr 2008, 16:46
Yeah shaw and smith played even though you wouldn't have known....they don't do much when they have good opposition.

So whats the preditions for this weekend? Centrals and Port should be a toughy.....:thumbsu: