View Full Version : Cairns AFL
Pages :
[
7]
Things down here are ok, although only 5 deg. and F**king freezing today!!!
Todays weather here in the tropics is raining and cold by our standards :( injurys not good for the big redhead lad and Motor :thumbsd:
sniff12
14 Jul 2008, 20:16
my, haven't all the souths boys piped down on these boards lately!!!
CatsMad
15 Jul 2008, 09:28
What does everyone think of the Matches this week? Can the Hawks continue their winning streak and beat Saints? Are Souths ready to get back on track against Centrals? And well, who's going to come away with the wooden spoon in Cities and Norths?
Poiderr
15 Jul 2008, 11:12
Not much to brag about these days sniff, but the boys we have are having a go, so we will see what happens!!:thumbsu:
Are the saints a chance at finishing with a flag this year
Havent heard from any of the other clubs - gloating or anything :eek: the season isnt finished yet. besides I'm at night school and working at the same time :( so havent been able to get on line
now Ive blown it , you know who I follow now , as if it wasnt evident
www.southcairnsafl.com.au (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au) ;)
Are the saints a chance at finishing with a flag this year
They'll be up there having a crack against ------- SOUTHS
robbie green
19 Jul 2008, 00:01
Now that Rattray is out is Preston for saints the ugliest man in the comp,and who has the biggest head Saints Eagle or Adrian Powell from Hawks?
Good win against the odds today 'Cutter' boyz over 'Bulldog' lads , some might just front up tho , bad hits and late doggies , but then again that is their usual style of play if you cant win knock out what you can , the Resy's had a fantastic win but then again the opposition team was not stacked for a change :eek:
The Donk
19 Jul 2008, 23:00
Good win against the odds today 'Cutter' boyz over 'Bulldog' lads , some might just front up tho , bad hits and late doggies , but then again that is their usual style of play if you cant win knock out what you can , the Resy's had a fantastic win but then again the opposition team was not stacked for a change :eek:
Onya Cutters! Thats right The Donk is back on BF..... and missing AFL now he's out west. Onya lads keep up the good work.:thumbsu:
Welcome back on site Donk have missed seeing you at training , the boyz had a 57 point win in resy's great effort dont forget the web site for your fix www.southcairnsafl.com.au (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au) see ya back for the semis'
Live Bait18
22 Jul 2008, 11:14
Good to see you back on BF Donk. Hows life out west, any footy out there?
ark n go
22 Jul 2008, 13:56
any one got any tips for league b&f this year?
escherichia24
22 Jul 2008, 14:09
Sheepy
they can beat saints no problem
Hawks didn't even get close to Saints on the weekend and were an absolute disgrace at how dirty they were. Maybe they would be a better team if they focused on the ball and not the man. Definitely a few reports to come out of the game.
Anyone see other teams getting close to the Saints this year?
The Donk
22 Jul 2008, 22:11
Good to see you back on BF Donk. Hows life out west, any footy out there?
Thanks Live Bait! .... just found out that Mt Isa has 4 AFL teams... Crickie...bet their oval isn't anything like Fretwell. Saw you played for seniors again.. did they give you a full match this time?:thumbsu:
Live Bait18
23 Jul 2008, 16:45
Thanks Live Bait! .... just found out that Mt Isa has 4 AFL teams... Crickie...bet their oval isn't anything like Fretwell. Saw you played for seniors again.. did they give you a full match this time?:thumbsu:
Nah mate couldn,t take a clean grab early and got dragged. Young Moppa played very well though, playing on Cippa Douglas as well.
The Donk
23 Jul 2008, 19:45
Nah mate couldn,t take a clean grab early and got dragged. Young Moppa played very well though, playing on Cippa Douglas as well.
Yeah know how ya feel, did I tell you about my uncle Luigi? the bridge builder?
Young moppa is good, but I reckon you should be getting a full game, go back and star in the ressies at the very least you get match fit and maybe pick up some awards..... :thumbsu:
Rockman
24 Jul 2008, 14:00
How's it goin livebait, i see u made it home ok. What happened to the phone call on Sunday ? a bit crook were we :p:thumbsu:. Pity we couldn't have had a few more brews and a chat on sat'dy but hopefuly we can take care of that when i get up there for some REAL fishing and relaxation, catch up and oh yeh..... BA ! :D.
kicktheballlong
24 Jul 2008, 16:26
Tips for Saturday
Souths by 2g. Im hearing that Eagle is out plus the Qld players. Also a few are injured after last weeks game.
Port by 10g
Manunda by 8g.
robbie green
25 Jul 2008, 17:06
Hawks will struggle this week warren , powell brothers are out , they will struggle without them , who said hawks where a disgrace last week last i heard it was a physical game they play these days , play cricket if its to bad ,,, centrals by 1 goal , port by 6 , saints by 8 ......
The Donk
26 Jul 2008, 14:49
Hawks will struggle this week warren , powell brothers are out , they will struggle without them , who said hawks where a disgrace last week last i heard it was a physical game they play these days , play cricket if its to bad ,,, centrals by 1 goal , port by 6 , saints by 8 ......
There is physical and there is physical, taking out someone just because you can't beat them with skill is just bad sportsmanship. If those Wan@k$rs are so tough, why don't they go play rugby? ooh that's right in ruby they can usually see you coming.:D Go the Cutters!
robbie green
27 Jul 2008, 16:36
Hey donk learn how to spell, what's ruby? Just on the physical side, if they are between you and the ball as far as I'm concerned they're fair game!
The Donk
28 Jul 2008, 17:42
Hey donk learn how to spell, what's ruby? Just on the physical side, if they are between you and the ball as far as I'm concerned they're fair game!
Thats just the point, if your both going for the ball I haven't got a problem with that, hardest man at the ball usually comes out best. What I have a problem with is gutless wa@kers that go the man because they haven't got the skill to go the ball. They and their supporters are the pri#ks that give AFL a bad name. Last years grand final was a typical example, one key Saints player was taken out "off the ball" by a Bumunda Hawk... He was taken to hospital, and if you reckon thats good then you should get a life..... thats not AFL(and I don't give a F@ck how you spell it!).
escherichia24
28 Jul 2008, 21:13
The incident in the Saints/Hawks game involved a Saints player going for the ball with head down, and a Hawks player bumping him front on, making no attempt at the ball, and knocking him out. It was gutless and unnecessary, and the Hawks player deserved at least the two weeks' suspension he received.
Thats just the point, if your both going for the ball I haven't got a problem with that, hardest man at the ball usually comes out best. What I have a problem with is gutless wa@kers that go the man because they haven't got the skill to go the ball. They and their supporters are the pri#ks that give AFL a bad name. Last years grand final was a typical example, one key Saints player was taken out "off the ball" by a Bumunda Hawk... He was taken to hospital, and if you reckon thats good then you should get a life..... thats not AFL(and I don't give a F@ck how you spell it!).
Quite agree with you Donk, they are gutless going the man it is happening tooo much in our league now, and with no player protection coming from a few of our men in orange. It is about time the league tightens up on suspensions and give these thugs more off field time to contemplate their stupidity.And if my spelling is wrong I dont give a toss :eek:
CatsMad
29 Jul 2008, 10:15
Last years Grand Final - have people still not gotten over that yet? I was up in Cairns for the game to watch a mate of mine who plays for Manunda and saw the incident clearly, and what few people seem to know is that there were TWO Manunda Hawks players and one Saints player involved in the collision, yes Dicketts from Saints did need to be taken to hospital, but so did the Manunda Player of Willy Allick, who sustained a fractured skull with air on the brain - CLEARLY Weetra would not have intended to smash his own player (who then failed to take part in the rest of the game) and the incident was purely accidental - HENCE why the tribunal found him NOT GUILTY... So its simply a matter of - Get over it!
As for the hardness of this years competition - why does everyone seem to single Manunda out at the so called "thugs"? I myself have seen players from ALL teams put a hard hit on the opposition, and sorry but isnt this a PHYSICAL sport? Constantly you can hear the crowd screaming at the Umpires that "It's not Netball!" - every club has had players hit hard and concussed this year, INCLUDING Manunda, every club has sustained injuries, its simply the nature of the game... Go back 25 years or so and the game was played allot harder than it is now...
How about instead of personally attacking the skills of individual players who are playing Senior Football, you concentrate on your own clubs performance and lets face it - harden the F up! And once again its Manunda's supporters who are being targeted, when ANYONE who is involved in AFL in Cairns would know there are ALLOT worse than them...
The funniest thing to come out of ALL of this, is that the players from ALL Senior Teams in AFL Cairns do generally get along off the field - the people that seem to have the biggest problem with the hits being hard and physical are the ones that ARENT EVEN WEARING A JUMPER - So if the players can hack it, why cant you?
That's my say.
Rockman
29 Jul 2008, 13:58
Heard a whisper that former Seymour dual premiership winning and current sth.cairns coach Steve Daniel has had numerous approaches and has not ruled out a return to the Goulburn Valley next season. Can my old mate Livebait or anyone else confirm or deny this please :thumbsu:.
kicktheballlong
29 Jul 2008, 15:16
I agree with Donk & Tamba. Players who dont play the ball shouldnt be in our comp. It happened in last yrs Grand Final as well. Well done boys for speaking up.
Live Bait18
29 Jul 2008, 15:33
Heard a whisper that former Seymour dual premiership winning and current sth.cairns coach Steve Daniel has had numerous approaches and has not ruled out a return to the Goulburn Valley next season. Can my old mate Livebait or anyone else confirm or deny this please :thumbsu:.
Yeah mate I've already heard the rumours and would have to say the great man is pretty comfy in the 28 degree weather up here. You'll see on your next big fishing trip mate, he is just "LIVING THE DREAM".
No Heart
29 Jul 2008, 16:30
Heard the whispers as well , and after what hes done for Queensland at the carnival and all Australian selection im sure he will be chased far and wide, :thumbsu:
freelance
2 Aug 2008, 13:04
Heard the whispers as well , and after what hes done for Queensland at the carnival and all Australian selection im sure he will be chased far and wide, :thumbsu:
sure he's not starting them himself noheart. i've heard steve has already signed for south cairns for 2009.
Poiderr
13 Aug 2008, 09:06
Well I may as well break the ice, as this forum has gone flat...... This weeks winners to be..
Seniors
Souths over Norths by 10 Goals (Fresh after the bye)
Port Over Centrals by 6 Goals
Hawks Over Cobras by, friggin lots....
Reserves
Souths over Norths by 7 Goals (Fresh after the bye)
Port Over Centrals by 10 Goals
Hawks Over Cobras (Cobras to forfeit again)
ark n go
13 Aug 2008, 09:23
hows everything on the injury front?? will they have bearings on the finals??
whats the feeling like down at fretwell poiderr, sj would be happy for couple of tough games before finals while willo may be a little bit worried play 2nd, 3rd and 5th in there last 3 games with only a 4pt buffer.
Poiderr
13 Aug 2008, 11:19
hows everything on the injury front?? will they have bearings on the finals??
whats the feeling like down at fretwell poiderr, sj would be happy for couple of tough games before finals while willo may be a little bit worried play 2nd, 3rd and 5th in there last 3 games with only a 4pt buffer.
I dont get down to training much, did go last thursday and was impressed by the numbers there seeing we were going into a bye. Seniors looking at getting afew back in Peace, Campbell & Billy English, they will have to pass fitness tests, with the return of these hopefully willow will have some players filter back down to ressys and boost his side. Interesting three weeks coming up, hopefully some September action for both sides.:o
The bad boy from Broadford Knackers a chance to qualify for the two's finals?
I see Eagle kicked the ton on the weekend...seems like no team can stop him. He's surely the best forward seen in Cairns for a long time???? With him, the Saints are going to be hard to stop. Can anyone see other teams getting close to the Saints?
Poiderr
14 Aug 2008, 11:14
I see Eagle kicked the ton on the weekend...seems like no team can stop him. He's surely the best forward seen in Cairns for a long time???? With him, the Saints are going to be hard to stop. Can anyone see other teams getting close to the Saints?
No doubt this bloke is quality, but you know the old saying " Stop the feed and you will stop the goals" Some pressure on the midfield, thus not allowing clean delivery forward will help immensly. I'm sure most teams will have new plans for September, interesting to see if any can be implemented with success.:p
blackjack44
14 Aug 2008, 12:03
How's Craig 'Turbo' Parsons going this year playing for Centrals Trinity Beach?
Got back down to training last night after three weeks away , the boyz were great, plenty of numbers in both reserves and seniors , looking fresh the team selected is not bad either feel sorry for the tigers this weekend for me they will go away with 2 loses from fretwell park . Come sept. 'cutters' will shake up the comp but one game at a time Norths this week , then the fast finishing Hawks away at H Q, and P.D at Fretwell ;)
BULLET!
15 Aug 2008, 18:59
can anyone tell me how josh mahaer is going, before he left our league, he was in awesome form, played seven or eight games and people still think he can win the league he was playing so good.
freelance
17 Aug 2008, 05:46
can anyone tell me how josh mahaer is going, before he left our league, he was in awesome form, played seven or eight games and people still think he can win the league he was playing so good.
overweight, overrated and undisciplined.
freelance
17 Aug 2008, 05:56
Got back down to training last night after three weeks away , the boyz were great, plenty of numbers in both reserves and seniors , looking fresh the team selected is not bad either feel sorry for the tigers this weekend for me they will go away with 2 loses from fretwell park . Come sept. 'cutters' will shake up the comp but one game at a time Norths this week , then the fast finishing Hawks away at H Q, and P.D at Fretwell ;)
yes tamba i think the cutters will be cherry ripe come september; but old mate keep a lid on it don't get too carried away.
BULLET!
17 Aug 2008, 18:06
why you think that
ark n go
18 Aug 2008, 15:17
anything special to come out of the weekends games to report or is it going to be another quiet week
Centrals have bitten the dust , now down to 4 , first and second are set in cement , not that it matters but P D and Hawks can swap possies 3rd or 4th , 4th or 3rd . mes think (and it hurts me head :eek:) it might be pride where you finish .
Good to see Ray the umpire's HAMMY last the game :thumbsu:
CatsMad
20 Aug 2008, 09:49
With finals fast approaching and the final four decided, who are everyones tips to be in the GF, and the winner of the 2?
BULLET!
20 Aug 2008, 10:57
has he been playing good footy ? whats he been like
With finals fast approaching and the final four decided, who are everyones tips to be in the GF, and the winner of the 2?
Souths v Saints Seniors GF :cool:
Souths v Saints Reserves GF :cool:
With Saints being by far the best team in the 2's you can't go past them , but anything can happen in a G F, no one can be complacent (big word for little olde me :eek:)
;)
ark n go
22 Aug 2008, 09:09
hey guys, any news from the selection tables last nite. should b a cracka of a game hawks v cutters this weekend. who will get that mental edge coming into finals??
freelance
22 Aug 2008, 15:23
Souths v Saints Seniors GF :cool:
Souths v Saints Reserves GF :cool:
With Saints being by far the best team in the 2's you can't go past them , but anything can happen in a G F, no one can be complacent (big word for little olde me :eek:)
;)
is marcus mcmillan back this weekend vs hawks , has the coach re-signed for 2009 season. cutters would be almost back to full strength. any word on rattray. cutters to win by a big margin over hawks 40 points plus.
The big fellow booted a 6 pack against the Hawks , Sheepy did 3 , Roo chimed in with 3 , Barnesy as usual was in the mix with one and poor olde Doddsy who is the Reserve grade leading scorer all teams (AFL Cairns stats) got one . Another blow to the lads, Peacey out for the season .will someone stop kicking that Bloody black kat .
this week the olde water boy says Souths by 21 points against Port next weekend (seniors)
dont like what I'm hearing for reserves but then again we have to let the P D juniors have their GF on the Sunday
well done to souths u/12 , u/14 and go for it in next weeks Grannie
Can anyone please tell me if there have been any 2 players in the same teamto kick a ton in the one season? I see Walsh is getting close and Eagle already has his. Would be some kind of achievement for the Saints if it happens. I've never heard of it happening.
freelance
29 Aug 2008, 09:00
The big fellow booted a 6 pack against the Hawks , Sheepy did 3 , Roo chimed in with 3 , Barnesy as usual was in the mix with one and poor olde Doddsy who is the Reserve grade leading scorer all teams (AFL Cairns stats) got one . Another blow to the lads, Peacey out for the season .will someone stop kicking that Bloody black kat .
this week the olde water boy says Souths by 21 points against Port next weekend (seniors)
dont like what I'm hearing for reserves but then again we have to let the P D juniors have their GF on the Sunday
well done to souths u/12 , u/14 and go for it in next weeks Grannie
tips for last round of 2008 saints seniors and reserves to both win by 100 points plus over norths. centrals the same over cities. cutters 5 goals plus over port seniors. with port ressies still a chance for second spot im predicting a huge upset port to win this encounter in a nailbiter........
kicktheballlong
29 Aug 2008, 15:45
im tipping
Souths by 7g
Saints by 15g.
Citys by 5g. (i see CTB didnt kick a goal last week)
Cant wait for next weeks semis. Souths V Saints will be a beauty. Toss a coin. If Motor is 100% fit then Souths.
Hawks v Crocs might be quite physical. Hawks by a few goals.
with port ressies still a chance for second spot im predicting a huge upset port to win this encounter in a nailbiter........
Sorry my good man ;) but as Port have said they might forfit the game, (letter tabled at the presidents meeting last week) but now with late news out of Cairns AFL HQ today they are playing elderly lads like yours truely :eek: ,cant see them a winning and Souths to get the second bite at the cherry in Reserves they have a good % Seniors by 8 goals
Saints by 14 goals
Centrals may go down in a tight one Go Cobras :D
sniff12
30 Aug 2008, 09:52
im tipping
Souths by 7g
Saints by 15g.
Citys by 5g. (i see CTB didnt kick a goal last week)
Cant wait for next weeks semis. Souths V Saints will be a beauty. Toss a coin. If Motor is 100% fit then Souths.
Hawks v Crocs might be quite physical. Hawks by a few goals.
You souths blokes are unreal aren't you beat an understrength hawks and you are back into it!!!
What you yapping about Souths been under strenght most of year look at our injury list we lost 2 the last time we played them and then they had the nerve to be rude and try to stick it to us at our home ground as they walked off , plus bad manners in not having a drink with the opposition at the end off the game at least Souths lads go back and have a drink and are not dis-repectful and up themselves and don't need to poach to win . what is it 8 players from souths over three years ????? :eek:
kicktheballlong
1 Sep 2008, 12:42
Let me tell you now Hawkies. Tamba is right (as usual). You aint going to win a 3rd flag. You will be lucky to beat Port next week and have no chance of beating Saints or Souths the week after. Speaking of us, Im getting excited. Should have beat Port by 150. (lets keep the lid on it)
freelance
1 Sep 2008, 14:32
Let me tell you now Hawkies. Tamba is right (as usual). You aint going to win a 3rd flag. You will be lucky to beat Port next week and have no chance of beating Saints or Souths the week after. Speaking of us, Im getting excited. Should have beat Port by 150. (lets keep the lid on it)
just be happy with your 90 point win. you spruiking about should of winning by 150 points is not keeping a lid on it. this sort of talk by you and your coach (CAIRNS POST TODAY) will come back to haunt you. we all know your recent finals history.win gracefully boys. i was told yesterday port had no less than 6 players double up . maybe had something to do with the result
What you yapping about Souths been under strenght most of year look at our injury list we lost 2 the last time we played them and then they had the nerve to be rude and try to stick it to us at our home ground as they walked off , plus bad manners in not having a drink with the opposition at the end off the game at least Souths lads go back and have a drink and are not dis-repectful and up themselves and don't need to poach to win . what is it 8 players from souths over three years ????? :eek:
So what happened after the round 16 loss at griffiths? my mail is that only 1 player went in for a beer. (perhaps because SJ was away) As for not poaching I think Norths & Cobras might think otherwise!!
escherichia24
2 Sep 2008, 10:53
Just thought it worth a mention that a certain M Walsh managed to kick 17 on the weekend, bringing up his ton and joining J Eagle in the 100 club. Well done both, and well done Saints for getting the ball to them so often!
This weekend should be very interesting in both grades. We'll find out where these clubs really are!
Was wondering how Walshy got his hands on the ball that many times, makes me think that all game plans went out the window to ensure this happened?? Are they so cocky that the flag is already theirs and have a different agenda than the other finalists?:confused:
Just thought it worth a mention that a certain M Walsh managed to kick 17 on the weekend, bringing up his ton and joining J Eagle in the 100 club. Well done both, and well done Saints for getting the ball to them so often!
This weekend should be very interesting in both grades. We'll find out where these clubs really are!
Was wondering how Walshy got his hands on the ball that many times, makes me think that all game plans went out the window to ensure this happened?? Are they so cocky that the flag is already theirs and have a different agenda than the other finalists?:confused:
Hasn't the bloke kicked 300 odd goals in the last three years! If it is not in their game plan to kick it to him as often as possible then it probably should be. Just a stupid comment really! :thumbsd:
ark n go
2 Sep 2008, 11:29
agree with that sniff. plus with top spot already taken why not allow for personal milestones to be reached
So what happened after the round 16 loss at griffiths? my mail is that only 1 player went in for a beer. (perhaps because SJ was away) As for not poaching I think Norths & Cobras might think otherwise!!
I'm not getting into a bigger pissing match with you but get your facts right souths didn't poach from those clubs they didnt offer them money to come over , both approached souths last season with the view to moving and were told to wait till the season was over , not the other way so how is that poaching . some of the lads went into saints rooms for a drink , the others had a prior function AND SENT IN AN APOLIGY BECAUSE I DELIVERED IT TO THEIR PRESIDENT Hawks openingly poach souths lads a few years ago and I seem to remember one ungreatful player saying what have you done for me after one member dug his hands in his pocket to help him
Interesting report in the Cairns Post this morning, but cant the paper wait till he gets here and talks to all clubs :cool:
Souths can't afford to pay his asking price. :(
Who has deep pockets in this league ??? :D
What would a player of this calibre cost ?? leave this question open to all my learnered scribes :confused:
Haven't seen the article but I take it you are talking about Ablett?
And if you are it would be typical of the Cairns Post! He has openly said that he wants to go to the gold coast to do a builders apprenticeship. Every shithouse newspaper in the land is probably running with the same story, similar to when Ben Cousins was looking to play outside the AFL
Wear The Fox Hat
4 Sep 2008, 13:41
Haven't seen the article but I take it you are talking about Ablett?
And if you are it would be typical of the Cairns Post! He has openly said that he wants to go to the gold coast to do a builders apprenticeship. Every shithouse newspaper in the land is probably running with the same story, similar to when Ben Cousins was looking to play outside the AFL
In the Herald Sun down here in Melbourne today sniff , it says hes going to Cairns on page 3 . Also good luck to my good Mates SJ and Coxy in the finals boys hope all goes well for you both and your club . :thumbsu:
Wear The Fox Hat
4 Sep 2008, 13:43
Interesting report in the Cairns Post this morning, but cant the paper wait till he gets here and talks to all clubs :cool:
Souths can't afford to pay his asking price. :(
Who has deep pockets in this league ??? :D
What would a player of this calibre cost ?? leave this question open to all my learnered scribes :confused:
Souths could afford too , just take 40k of SJ wages,:thumbsu:
No Heart
4 Sep 2008, 15:22
just be happy with your 90 point win. you spruiking about should of winning by 150 points is not keeping a lid on it. this sort of talk by you and your coach (CAIRNS POST TODAY) will come back to haunt you. we all know your recent finals history.win gracefully boys. i was told yesterday port had no less than 6 players double up . maybe had something to do with the result
SJ spruiking like to see that , usually plays everything down. Have heard Coxy is coming back to Seymour next year , great to have the little rat back , all the best Coxy , SJ , Shawry, Sheepy and Chippa Douglas in the finals.
No Heart
4 Sep 2008, 15:32
Was wondering how Walshy got his hands on the ball that many times, wmakes me think that all game plans went out the indow to ensure this happened?? Are they so cocky that the flag is already theirs and have a different agenda than the other finalists?:confused:
Matt Walsh is this the one from Redan ? And if it is hes a forward , so his job is to get the ball as many times as it is deliverd into the forward 50 and score !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thats everyones F#%@$ING game plan get it to your forwards. HELLO POIDER WHAT GAME ARE YOU WATCHING.:rolleyes:
Hows Glen Couglan gone as a coach up there , our club is talking to him .
ark n go
4 Sep 2008, 16:36
Hows Glen Couglan gone as a coach up there , our club is talking to him .
not sure how long his been up here but his side centrals have missed the finals this year and last. havent heard him talk but doesnt mind yappin on the field
Cheers Arky , so when you say yappin on the field , he still plays then ? Heath Barnett and Andrew Seira , former Ky lads , did they have a good year playing.
Fretwell Park
5 Sep 2008, 10:35
Cheers Arky , so when you say yappin on the field , he still plays then ? Heath Barnett and Andrew Seira , former Ky lads , did they have a good year playing.
Yak , played a few games here and there , seniors and reserves , helping the club out when needed . They havernt played finals the last 2 seasons and Yak has been assistant coach of the rep side for the past two years . Barney had a really good year kicked about 70 goals and played rep footy for the second year ,and Seirakowski was injured for most of the year . All top blokes :thumbsu:
Matt Walsh is this the one from Redan ? And if it is hes a forward , so his job is to get the ball as many times as it is deliverd into the forward 50 and score !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thats everyones F#%@$ING game plan get it to your forwards. HELLO POIDER WHAT GAME ARE YOU WATCHING.:rolleyes:
Great fishing spot this one !! Hook, line & sinker..... Thanks Champ:thumbsu:
ark n go
5 Sep 2008, 13:32
good to see big daniel lock back playing ones for south cairns after stint over seas. adds bit to the forward and releases shaw to play up the ground. will be very important this finals series.
Tips Souths by 5 points
Port D by 3 goals
Res. A nail biter Souths an upset 1 point
Norths 5 goals
Tips Souths by 5 points
Port D by 3 goals
Res. A nail biter Souths an upset 1 point
Norths 5 goals
Close but no cigar!!!
I think I would have got 3 out of 4
Fretwell Park
8 Sep 2008, 17:03
Close but no cigar!!!
I think I would have got 3 out of 4
Yer close , but not good enough in the end Cutters , how good is Eagle and Walsh will be hard who ever gets in the Granny to beat the Saints in the big one .:thumbsu:
ark n go
8 Sep 2008, 17:27
Yer close , but not good enough in the end Cutters , how good is Eagle and Walsh will be hard who ever gets in the Granny to beat the Saints in the big one .:thumbsu:
didnt they turn it on when the pressure was on. hard to see anyone getting one past the saints boys
freelance
9 Sep 2008, 07:34
didnt they turn it on when the pressure was on. hard to see anyone getting one past the saints boys
yeah have to admit saints unbeatable. interesting game this week prelim cutters vs crocs any tips . any injuries out of weekends games
ark n go
9 Sep 2008, 15:00
dont think the crocs can beat cutters. either way i think it will be a physical contest that will help the saints out further.
freelance
9 Sep 2008, 16:22
SJ spruiking like to see that , usually plays everything down. Have heard Coxy is coming back to Seymour next year , great to have the little rat back , all the best Coxy , SJ , Shawry, Sheepy and Chippa Douglas in the finals.
what about g.lidell heard he kicked abag of 6 in the elim. final not bad for a bloke who's been out injured for the best part of the year.
No Heart
9 Sep 2008, 16:36
what about g.lidell heard he kicked abag of 6 in the elim. final not bad for a bloke who's been out injured for the best part of the year.
Sorry who ?
freelance
10 Sep 2008, 21:11
Sorry who ?
dont no g.lidell . r u sure , about that old mate , who do u think will win souths or port
freelance
10 Sep 2008, 21:19
Yak , played a few games here and there , seniors and reserves , helping the club out when needed . They havernt played finals the last 2 seasons and Yak has been assistant coach of the rep side for the past two years . Barney had a really good year kicked about 70 goals and played rep footy for the second year ,and Seirakowski was injured for most of the year . All top blokes :thumbsu:
barnett kicked closer to 90 than 70 ithink 87 good effort for an average side that only won 6 games.
golden days
11 Sep 2008, 14:09
Walsh & Eagle seem to go ok from Cairns Saints, What are their backgrounds ? Are they from up there or down Vic way ??
ark n go
11 Sep 2008, 14:16
Walsh & Eagle seem to go ok from Cairns Saints, What are their backgrounds ? Are they from up there or down Vic way ??
yeah golden think they are both from down that way. think walsh came up from redan in ballarat league couple of years ago, play in the state side this year. dont know much about big eagle but think he came from round that area as well.
No Heart
11 Sep 2008, 14:29
dont no g.lidell . r u sure , about that old mate , who do u think will win souths or port
Mate will be a good game im told , Coxy [ little rat ] is my ex prez , and SJ is my ex coach and good mate . So hope its a draw , Nah hope Coxy beats SJ by a point ??????:thumbsu:
kicktheballlong
12 Sep 2008, 10:28
Mate will be a good game im told , Coxy [ little rat ] is my ex prez , and SJ is my ex coach and good mate . So hope its a draw , Nah hope Coxy beats SJ by a point ??????:thumbsu:
SJ v Coxy. I predict SJ by 5g although i bet Coxy has a few tricks up his sleeve. I thought Cutters were going to win last week at 3/4 time. Oh well, they will get a 2nd chance.
In the ressies it appears that Tigers have a very strong side with lots of A grade expereince. To close to call. It kills me but maybe Tigers just.
Lets hope the umps have a good game and let it flow and not over umpire. The main game might be quite physical. BRING IT ON.
ark n go
12 Sep 2008, 10:58
anyone from the two clubs willing to let a few secerts out before the game because youll just get cat and mouse with sj and coxy..
will the selected side from both clubs be the way they line up??? doubt it
anyone unlucky in missing out?? whichever side wins will most likely take that side into the big one considering no injuries
It seams that the Saints have it all but stiched up, not surprising with the likes of Matt "Dogley, Scabby Dog" Dwyer roaming off half back and Matt "White man can jump" Walsh plucking everything in sight and out of reach of the average human. Best of luck lads
Shambles
14 Sep 2008, 18:37
Can anyone tell me if Tony (plugger) Pierri plays in cairns? Is he still kicking goals?
ark n go
15 Sep 2008, 09:34
big tony plays for north cairns. they started off alright but fell away badly with the big fella kicking a few before having his jaw broken.
some dogs acts from the port boys nearing and after the siren yesterday as well!
was suprised by their antics, thought better of them, specially after they were involved in the 2004 debarkeal .was funny to watch the one who started the ruckus beg for mercy off Motor , well done to Ben Koch the umpire to take the ball away and the cutters score a great goal from it , the lads will have to be on their game next week against staints no lapse in play
freelance
16 Sep 2008, 10:55
was suprised by their antics, thought better of them, specially after they were involved in the 2004 debarkeal .was funny to watch the one who started the ruckus beg for mercy off Motor , well done to Ben Koch the umpire to take the ball away and the cutters score a great goal from it , the lads will have to be on their game next week against staints no lapse in play
just be happy with your win .souths were far to good for port. port were not harder enough at the footy . and souths blew them out of the water in the second qtr. these sought of incidents have been going on for 150 years its unfortunate but they happen. i recall last year a souths player got a lengthy suspensions for king hitting a centrals player. as for ben koch he is the worst umpire going around . good luck to souths on saturday . hope its a good game.
kicktheballlong
16 Sep 2008, 11:38
just be happy with your win .souths were far to good for port. port were not harder enough at the footy . and souths blew them out of the water in the second qtr. these sought of incidents have been going on for 150 years its unfortunate but they happen. i recall last year a souths player got a lengthy suspensions for king hitting a centrals player. as for ben koch he is the worst umpire going around . good luck to souths on saturday . hope its a good game.
Bad luck to Billy English last night. he had a sensational season and should have won. SJ should have won coach of the year. He took Qld to a massive victory. He will prove it this Saturday.
Prediction
Souths by 10g. Its our time. oh yeah.
Bad luck to Billy English last night. he had a sensational season and should have won. SJ should have won coach of the year. He took Qld to a massive victory. He will prove it this Saturday.
Prediction
Souths by 10g. Its our time. oh yeah.
coach never goes to the second place on the ladder at the end of the season proper
will keep it quite but i thinks it will be a souths victory