View Full Version : Cairns AFL
Pages :
[
8]
ark n go
16 Sep 2008, 15:20
congrats to coatsworth, a deserved win if u ask me.
dont think the south player that got done last year was a king hit. if u had of seen the incidents before that u may understand why he did what he did and was near the ball. not saying that what he did was right.
good luck to all sides playing this week, hope its a cracka!
No Heart
16 Sep 2008, 16:48
Sj you wise old bald headed fat F#*^k , is there a side that you havernt coached to a Grand Final . Congrats Champ hope all goes well for you and your club this week and you can get over Saints . Coxy my old mate as much as you would have loved to beaten the great man , you should be happy with your efforts for the year.
kenji urban
16 Sep 2008, 18:47
congrats to coatsworth, a deserved win if u ask me.
dont think the south player that got done last year was a king hit. if u had of seen the incidents before that u may understand why he did what he did and was near the ball. not saying that what he did was right.
good luck to all sides playing this week, hope its a cracka!
mmmm dont know about that. I Argree it wans't a king hit. But it was an elbow to the head of a player who didnt see the the souths player running for 40m to stoppage to clock him on the jaw. I played in that game and the bloke who was struck copped it cause he was tagging Matty Sharpe. By the way Centrals won that game and Sharpy was well and truely dominated by box that day. That suspended player got what he desreved
well done to all lads who won awards last night ,3 in a row to Saints in the best and fairest Seniors .
Great for Kayden Flecther in Souths reserves for his medal win with 13 points , thats Souths boyz 4 in 6 years (Les O'Neil 03, Pete English 05 , Luke Anning 06)
ark n go
17 Sep 2008, 08:55
mmmm dont know about that. I Argree it wans't a king hit. But it was an elbow to the head of a player who didnt see the the souths player running for 40m to stoppage to clock him on the jaw. I played in that game and the bloke who was struck copped it cause he was tagging Matty Sharpe. By the way Centrals won that game and Sharpy was well and truely dominated by box that day. That suspended player got what he desreved
yeah centrals did win that day. i dont think he did it because sharp was getting tagged, thats all part of the game now, i think it was the head high treatment that another souths player copped that game as he was getting targeted.
anyway off that subject, does anyone know the outcome of last nite?
Poiderr
17 Sep 2008, 11:09
yeah centrals did win that day. i dont think he did it because sharp was getting tagged, thats all part of the game now, i think it was the head high treatment that another souths player copped that game as he was getting targeted.
anyway off that subject, does anyone know the outcome of last nite?
Ty Harrison (Souths) pleaded guilty (dont know what the charge details exactly) suspended sentence, free to play this week. Port Douglas did not present to tribunal but more than 20 charges laid I believe.
golden days
17 Sep 2008, 11:24
Ty Harrison (Souths) pleaded guilty (dont know what the charge details exactly) suspended sentence, free to play this week. Port Douglas did not present to tribunal but more than 20 charges laid I believe.
For those of us not there can anyone let us know what actually happened, I know there will be two sides though.
ark n go
17 Sep 2008, 11:33
For those of us not there can anyone let us know what actually happened, I know there will be two sides though.
from what i seen no 3 for souths got king hit then harrison come in and got the offender.
only second hand this one but i heard that most of ports chargers were against there coach
Poiderr
17 Sep 2008, 11:38
from what i seen no 3 for souths got king hit then harrison come in and got the offender.
only second hand this one but i heard that most of ports chargers were against there coach
From what I heard Coxy, was quite vocal & in the umpires face, also went into the umpires change room after the game. Will be interesting to see the outcome.
golden days
17 Sep 2008, 12:11
For those of us not in the area, what happend, I know there will be two sides.
From what I heard Coxy, was quite vocal & in the umpires face, also went into the umpires change room after the game. Will be interesting to see the outcome.
from a source of mine , nine charges against Coxy, the rest against various members of P D . Ty didnt get the hitter of No. 3 , he pushed someone else,with an open hand ,yes he pleaded guilty and that help him with his honesty , apparently the alledged player in question owned up under cross examination last night as to why the melee started , they all front next week , will be interesting how much fine the club gets for the alledged offences against the umpires
kicktheballlong
17 Sep 2008, 14:39
Ok, Ive been a Cutters boy for a few years now and Im going to put on my neutral hat. This is why I think South Cairns will win on Saturday.
1, Saints rely on 2 goalkickers. Stop Walsh & Eagle and they dont kick many goals. We saw that in the 2nd semi.
2, Coastworth will have a Crathern Medal hangover. he hasnt had big games against us anyway.
3, Billy & Hayden cant be stopped. They are to fit to be tagged.
4, Motor has now had 5 games back and is running into his early season form. He is refreshed. Expect him to kick a bag
5, Lock is back and getting better
6, Shaw is unstoppable on the wing or down forward.
7, Davies has kicked a couple of bags against them
8, the Cannard boys ooze class
9, Ty is ok to play. Put him down for 4g
10, we have the master coach.
Souths by 5g.
Ok, Ive been a Cutters boy for a few years now and Im going to put on my neutral hat. This is why I think South Cairns will win on Saturday.
1, Saints rely on 2 goalkickers. Stop Walsh & Eagle and they dont kick many goals. We saw that in the 2nd semi.
2, Coastworth will have a Crathern Medal hangover. he hasnt had big games against us anyway.
4, Motor has now had 5 games back and is running into his early season form. He is refreshed. Expect him to kick a bag
Souths by 5g.
love your reasoning me old mate, I could come up with 22 reasons but will keep it down till the game starts then out comes my voice
For those of us not in the area, what happend, I know there will be two sides.
it started with Souths No.3 getting king hit from behind in the centre of the field and then it moved over to the boundary area , will say more after the tribunals in the fairness of presumed innocense
Souths by 5g.
Your kidding aren't you buddy? Neutral????
You keep telling yourselfs those things all week but once that siren goes its back to reality which is:
1. Eagle is to strong, althetic, quick and classy for any defender in this league. I pity any Cutter defender that gets in his way this week - keep the stretcher ready cause the big sea Eagle is fired up.
2. Walsh please read above, except he wont clean anyone up.
3. Our midfielders have kicked plenty of goals this year with Mick Dedini, Coatsworth, Hose and Kbia and kicking bags of 4's and 5's throughout the year. Put Mick Dedini down for at least 4 this saturday.
4. Your mention English and Foss. They are your 2 A grade midfielders, we have the 4 blokes mentioned above plus others who are in that A grade catergory. Your super coach would struggle to figure out who to tag out of about 5 tagable blokes in the Saints midfield.
5. You have at least 4-5 cats playing in your team who were found out 2 weeks ago and will be found out this Saturday. Saints have blokes in their 2's who are better players than your bottom 4 players. We have 22 quality players out there you guys have passengers you cant deny that.
6. Stinkin red head Couch has beaten Big Fat Motor convincingly 2 times this year.
7. Our back flankers need to be tagged, Kennedy and Dwyer both have GF BOG medals and are big game players and will both be in our best 5 players Saturday.
8. Your boy Shaw should concentrate on being more accountable than how pretty he's look because Kabia will run rings around him unless he's careful.
9. You have no decent ruckman.
10. I'll finish on this because i could go on all night but i feel this is a very important fact - we have more red heads than you.
Honestly Cutters you'll have to admit this fact - If both teams play their best footy, which i hope they do, Saints have to much depth and class for you. Grand finals are funny things and you better pray the Saints play a shocker because that is the only way you will win. But, being a GF, this could happen....Our 2's will win too they have blokes running around that would be walk up starts with every other club in the league including the Cutters..
blueeyes
18 Sep 2008, 00:43
from a source of mine , nine charges against Coxy, the rest against various members of P D . Ty didnt get the hitter of No. 3 , he pushed someone else,with an open hand ,yes he pleaded guilty and that help him with his honesty , apparently the alledged player in question owned up under cross examination last night as to why the melee started , they all front next week , will be interesting how much fine the club gets for the alledged offences against the umpires
what a load of crap. your a souths man tamba. you were obviously at the game so you dont need a source. yes g.liddell did clean up s.davies late and admited to the jury. ty harrison run from fullforward at a reasonable pace and collected the little fella with a clinched fist and landed a couple of others for keep sake. as per usual the umpiring and the judiciary panel have been very inconsistient all year, and i bet g.liddell will get weeks for one blow and ty harrison has got of for a king hit, so he can play in a grand final.
Poiderr
18 Sep 2008, 11:13
Hey there Blueeyes, any news on Coxy? Has he been signed on to coach again in 2009? What was the reason of his outburst after the prelim final?
BenBal Plugger
18 Sep 2008, 11:35
Moving to Bendigo in 2009?
Sandhurst Dragons, Bendigo Football League, looking for interested key position players.
Fantastic facilities, team of trainers and dedicated club doctor, good social club and best ground in central Vic - Bendigo Bombers (VFL) use it, so up to AFL standard.
Send any queries to my mailbox.
blueeyes
18 Sep 2008, 11:45
Hey there Blueeyes, any news on Coxy? Has he been signed on to coach again in 2009? What was the reason of his outburst after the prelim final?
coxy and family are heading home to seymour at the end of the year. he and his wife have been invaluable to both the senior and junior clubs for the past 2 years and will be sadly missed, the so called outburst was just a way of showing his frustrations at the umps for there lack of protecting the players through out the game.
No Heart
18 Sep 2008, 12:04
coxy and family are heading home to seymour at the end of the year. he and his wife have been invaluable to both the senior and junior clubs for the past 2 years and will be sadly missed, the so called outburst was just a way of showing his frustrations at the umps for there lack of protecting the players through out the game.
G'day blueeyes. Do you know if Robbie Douglas and Gezza Liddell will be sticking around next year or heading back down south with Coxy?
Poiderr
18 Sep 2008, 13:33
Can anyone tell me how the AFL Cairns coach of the year is determined? The statistics as I see them (And correct me if you must) just dont stack up...
Mark Kennedy : Coached his team into the AFL Cairns 2008 Grand Final.
Steve Daniel : Coached his team into the AFL Cairns 2008 Grand Final.
Coached Qld State Country side to win division 2 in the National Country Championships, the most successful Qld State Country side ever, in doing so Qld State Country side will play in division 1 at the next championship in 2010.
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-4711-0-0-0&sID=57357
kicktheballlong
18 Sep 2008, 13:41
[quote=Poiderr;12494528]Can anyone tell me how the AFL Cairns coach of the year is determined? The statistics as I see them (And correct me if you must) just dont stack up...
Coached Qld State Country side to win division 2 in the National Country Championships, the most successful Qld State Country side ever, in doing so Qld State Country side will play in division 1 at the next championship in 2010.
I hear you Poider. Lets just say the winner of the GF is the best coach. Congrats SJ. Your the winner.
Foss will win the Howard Kennedy Medal. Motor will be right behind him.
Saints choked in 2007. Walsh struggled in last yrs GF. The umps had a shocker in the 2nd semi. Its all over, we win. 5 goals
On a lighter note, lets hope that North Cairns B Grade dont charge over after the national anthem.
kicktheballlong
18 Sep 2008, 13:50
Your kidding aren't you buddy? Neutral????
You keep telling yourselfs those things all week but once that siren goes its back to reality which is:
1. Eagle is to strong, althetic, quick and classy for any defender in this league. I pity any Cutter defender that gets in his way this week - keep the stretcher ready cause the big sea Eagle is fired up.
2. Walsh please read above, except he wont clean anyone up.
3. Our midfielders have kicked plenty of goals this year with Mick Dedini, Coatsworth, Hose and Kbia and kicking bags of 4's and 5's throughout the year. Put Mick Dedini down for at least 4 this saturday.
4. Your mention English and Foss. They are your 2 A grade midfielders, we have the 4 blokes mentioned above plus others who are in that A grade catergory. Your super coach would struggle to figure out who to tag out of about 5 tagable blokes in the Saints midfield.
5. You have at least 4-5 cats playing in your team who were found out 2 weeks ago and will be found out this Saturday. Saints have blokes in their 2's who are better players than your bottom 4 players. We have 22 quality players out there you guys have passengers you cant deny that.
6. Stinkin red head Couch has beaten Big Fat Motor convincingly 2 times this year.
7. Our back flankers need to be tagged, Kennedy and Dwyer both have GF BOG medals and are big game players and will both be in our best 5 players Saturday.
8. Your boy Shaw should concentrate on being more accountable than how pretty he's look because Kabia will run rings around him unless he's careful.
9. You have no decent ruckman.
10. I'll finish on this because i could go on all night but i feel this is a very important fact - we have more red heads than you.
Honestly Cutters you'll have to admit this fact - If both teams play their best footy, which i hope they do, Saints have to much depth and class for you. Grand finals are funny things and you better pray the Saints play a shocker because that is the only way you will win. But, being a GF, this could happen....Our 2's will win too they have blokes running around that would be walk up starts with every other club in the league including the Cutters..
ok Kiethy, how about a $1000 on the result. You cant possibly be a Senior player or you wouldnt be giving away all the gos on the side. You must be a Reserve grade hack. Not good enough hey.
If you cant afford $1000 how about a keg. Just deliver it to the clubrooms on Sun arvo. Vice versa if you win. Do we have a deal.
ok Kiethy, how about a $1000 on the result. You cant possibly be a Senior player or you wouldnt be giving away all the gos on the side. You must be a Reserve grade hack. Not good enough hey.
If you cant afford $1000 how about a keg. Just deliver it to the clubrooms on Sun arvo. Vice versa if you win. Do we have a deal.
Kick the ball stop making assumptions about things they are really embarressing you and the Cutters, I'd hardly call my previous post giving away the goes... if you guys can take anything out of it that helps on Saturday be my guest..
No need for stupid bets there's enough at stake as it is. Just to clear up one thing, I'll be playing against you guys on Saturday. Best of luck Cutters hope it's a cracker game nothin worse than a GF fizzer.:thumbsu:
blueeyes
18 Sep 2008, 15:17
G'day blueeyes. Do you know if Robbie Douglas and Gezza Liddell will be sticking around next year or heading back down south with Coxy?
robbie douglas is on the move, gezza liddell will more than probably stay up north, the eastern block and the european country's find him attractive at the moment,most of the locals can't pinpoint why they do though.
Wear The Fox Hat
18 Sep 2008, 15:41
[quote=Poiderr;12494528]Can anyone tell me how the AFL Cairns coach of the year is determined? The statistics as I see them (And correct me if you must) just dont stack up...
Should have been Coxy , shit reported 9 or 10 times ha ha , mate we miss you back here hope ya back for the lions GF , going for 4 in a row. SJ all the best champ , hope you bring home another flag . Coach of the year they might go of the team that finished top at the end of the home and away season like a few leagues down here .:thumbsu:
Wear The Fox Hat
18 Sep 2008, 15:46
robbie douglas is on the move, gezza liddell will more than probably stay up north, the eastern block and the european country's find him attractive at the moment,most of the locals can't pinpoint why they do though.
Ha Ha the little pony , he has them hanging of him here in lions ville as well . I still carnt believe the little pony king hit someone last week , are you people for real, the pony couldnt knock the rice of a rice pudding.
Douglas home to Broadford Im told ;)
[quote=Poiderr;12494528]
Coach of the year they might go of the team that finished top at the end of the home and away season like a few leagues down here .:thumbsu:
been like that for a while now you finish top after home and away you get coach of year, plus there is a few conflicts of interest in the league
who will play fox and hound in the papers on friday , are the umpys ready to let the teams have a free flowing game or pull it up as one main one does , let the game begin
well done to Kayden in winning the Reg Dean Medal (reserves afl cairns)
Poiderr
19 Sep 2008, 00:49
Good luck to the Cutters this weekend, passionate & proud... The Cutters have named their side for Saturdays Grand Final... Go you good thing..
http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/index.html :thumbsu:
kicktheballlong
19 Sep 2008, 09:55
who will play fox and hound in the papers on friday , are the umpys ready to let the teams have a free flowing game or pull it up as one main one does , let the game begin
well done to Kayden in winning the Reg Dean Medal (reserves afl cairns)
can someone tell Jace Kelly to wear the right socks for our team photo.
The ones he wears are shockers.
Glen Quagmire
19 Sep 2008, 10:06
As a Cutters supporter I am personally embarassed by the cocky disrepectful crap that some of you boys are carrying on with and I'm sure our coach would be too. Tamba and kicktheballong pull your head in people like you are not true supporters you just make us sound like a bunch of w/@k@rs.:thumbsd: Thoughts Fretwell? :cool:
NATUEREISAMOTHER
19 Sep 2008, 10:38
As a Cutters supporter I am personally embarassed by the cocky disrepectful crap that some of you boys are carrying on with and I'm sure our coach would be too. Tamba and kicktheballong pull your head in people like you are not true supporters you just make us sound like a bunch of w/@k@rs.:thumbsd: Thoughts Fretwell? :cool:
To true, Played for the Cutters for 12 years we a have great culture but it only takes a few bad bananas to spoil the bunch. I check scores on the Cutters website every week from down south. But I cringe at some of the crap that gets posted on here. Good luck on Saturday Boys will be on the phone checking scores.
When in doubt, mumble. When in trouble ,delegate
what cocky disrepectful crap do I post?
and what I do say of no business of yours this is a free site to say what we like- if you dont like it dont read it -as for a true supporter what is a true supporter in that case?? some of us work are butts of for the lads hail or shine we are there before the games and long after they have gone home stilling working so dont try and lay sh-t on me :thumbsd:
Duff Man
19 Sep 2008, 13:32
can someone tell Jace Kelly to wear the right socks for our team photo.
The ones he wears are shockers.
Never mind the socks. If anything will ruin your team photo it will be his ugly dial. ;)
kicktheballlong
19 Sep 2008, 14:55
im with you tamba. Go blow Quagmire.
ark n go
19 Sep 2008, 17:12
Never mind the socks. If anything will ruin your team photo it will be his ugly dial. ;)
Duff man is spot on!
freelance
20 Sep 2008, 11:26
yes he was quite vocal towards the umps. i spoke to him the other day , he said he was frustrated by the lack of control from the 3 umps. they could of stopped what happened after the initial incident. he also said all coaches in the cafl league were mystified by the umpires throughout the year. if you remember last year s.j got yellow carded and reported and this year he got a 500 dollar fine for abusing umpires for their lack of control. as for going into the changerooms this is simply not true.
Poiderr
20 Sep 2008, 11:54
yes he was quite vocal towards the umps. i spoke to him the other day , he said he was frustrated by the lack of control from the 3 umps. they could of stopped what happened after the initial incident. he also said all coaches in the cafl league were mystified by the umpires throughout the year. if you remember last year s.j got yellow carded and reported and this year he got a 500 dollar fine for abusing umpires for their lack of control. as for going into the changerooms this is simply not true.
Agree, the quality of umpiring is the most talked about point of every AFL game here in Cairns. Who's your tip for today, and more importantly who would you like to see win...:)
Firstly I'd like to start with bad luck to the Cutters and Norths, the league made it hard for you...
1. Kicktheballlong do not ever write anything on this forum again it will be treated as spam by the big footy mods.
2. You were told to pull your head in your own clubman, hope tonight is great for all and sundry at Fretwell Park.
3. Did Foss and English even play?
4. Motor? change his nickname to wind up childrens toy because he was not worth a pinch of shite today.
5. You would have spent 3 times the money, actually,no sorry, 5 times the money on payments to CATS (see earlier post). Saints pay Kenno to coach and that is it FACT. Silly, silly, silly...
6. You were measured, you were weighed, and you were found wanting...
7. I apologise to everyone else on this foram, even Quagmire and Tamba and the rest of the Cutters, we are actually very very very humble in victory...I just cant stand the bullshit that was on here last week.
8. The league did you no favours making the prelim on a sunday giving u a 6 day week.
9. Walking off while the presentations were still going was rude, rude, rude. You will never earn respect with that sort of behavior. Not sure you've even givin it a second though but we all noticed it and it was bad! :thumbsd:
I'm done, 2 flags to the 2 best teams, i'll reply to any stupid replies to this post on thursday when i sober up.....
To the Cairns Saints AFL club, well done on a fantastic year in both grades. You deserve your wins as you played the most exciting footy by any club over the whole season. You were well coached from the start and were the best team in the comp by a country mile, but that what happens when you have talent all over the park each week.:thumbsu:
To Kiethy, and from Catsmad (previous comments) I agree with your comments about the dribble that was expressed recently and a few weeks back on this blog. The 'select' few who do seem to waffle on will volunteer and help try and remove the 'monkey' or should I say 'gorilla' that is now hanging from the backs of the red, white & green jumper.
Let’s just hope that the opposition clubs can recruit well, promote their juniors (well done Hawks, Tigers this year for doing so) and ensure that the 2009 comp can be allot closer and more competitive than it was this year.
kicktheballlong
22 Sep 2008, 11:06
To the Cairns Saints AFL club, well done on a fantastic year in both grades. You deserve your wins as you played the most exciting footy by any club over the whole season. You were well coached from the start and were the best team in the comp by a country mile, but that what happens when you have talent all over the park each week.:thumbsu:
To Kiethy, and from Catsmad (previous comments) I agree with your comments about the dribble that was expressed recently and a few weeks back on this blog. The 'select' few who do seem to waffle on will volunteer and help try and remove the 'monkey' or should I say 'gorilla' that is now hanging from the backs of the red, white & green jumper.
Let’s just hope that the opposition clubs can recruit well, promote their juniors (well done Hawks, Tigers this year for doing so) and ensure that the 2009 comp can be allot closer and more competitive than it was this year.
To the Saints, to good. All season you have dominated. Well done.
To everyone (Tamba, Poider, Kiethy, Maxy etc) that contributes to this chat. Well done
To SJ, thanks for the 2 years. Best of luck in the future.
To the umpires, it aint about you. Let the game flow.
To the goal umpires and Cairns Post. Saints had 5 goalkickers not 3. You have muffed up the goalkickers all year.
and finally bring on 2009. It will be a bumper year.
Poiderr
23 Sep 2008, 11:25
With the 2008 season done & dusted, apart from the odd hang over or two to get over. Can the AFL Cairns announce on this forum for discussion, it's plans for 2009 and the introduction of the points system regarding interleague player recruitments.:thumbsu:
WeHateTheDrummer
23 Sep 2008, 12:37
Someone let me know who BOG in granny?
Reserves & Seniors?
ark n go
23 Sep 2008, 13:19
seniors was big eagle
ressie was noonan i think
both saints boys
escherichia24
23 Sep 2008, 19:37
Aaron Noonan in the Ressies.
sniff12
25 Sep 2008, 15:16
To the Saints, to good. All season you have dominated. Well done.
To everyone (Tamba, Poider, Kiethy, Maxy etc) that contributes to this chat. Well done
To SJ, thanks for the 2 years. Best of luck in the future.
To the umpires, it aint about you. Let the game flow.
To the goal umpires and Cairns Post. Saints had 5 goalkickers not 3. You have muffed up the goalkickers all year.
and finally bring on 2009. It will be a bumper year.
1 Has SJ re-signed for next year
2 Will "tough stickers" Cannard be welcome at the club next year after his behaviour on the weekend
3 what happened to S Shelley?
4 what is the new "points" system the league is introducing
5 What was "Coxy" so upset about?
ark n go
25 Sep 2008, 15:56
thought SJ had signed for next year
not sure what cannards behaviour was like, care to share?
Shelley did his shoulder again and went back to vic to get a reco
South Cairns B&F tomorrow night, who will win ? good season by most
any tips anyone in both resy's and seniors
NATUEREISAMOTHER
26 Sep 2008, 12:13
South Cairns B&F tomorrow night, who will win ? good season by most
any tips anyone in both resy's and seniors
Weidner or Roar in the ressies
Heard Dubya had a good year hopefully a local will take it out
Poiderr
30 Sep 2008, 11:25
Congratulations to all the Cutters 2008 award winners, see all the winners at http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/
Thanks to all for looking at the web site this year, we are nearing 1,000 unique visitors this month, a great achievment for our first year online. Remembering we only have a relatively small football community, so 1,000 is a great number. We are working at an even better site next year, a new look and with more content from more people around the club.
Dont forget the Cutter Social Club is open 7 days a week, the bistro is opening again very soon, Chinese & Australian cuisine I believe. Call down for a coldie, hope to see you there.
PS: If you are interested in starting / joining a pool / darts competition see Dave, social club manager to discuss ideas / options.:thumbsu:
NATUEREISAMOTHER
2 Oct 2008, 17:42
Weidner or Roar in the ressies
Heard Dubya had a good year hopefully a local will take it out
I see iwasnt far off the mark , Congrats to Dubya, and Wanders in the ressies and Weidner for R/up B7f
Hi Guys good to see the same bitching goes on here as it does on the canberra site, its good fun. I played with centrals back in 93 and 94, how did they go this year, also what is sj's real name, just interested, i now play for yass in the canberra comp and we won our first premiership this year, also the mighty hawthorn hawks had a win too, two premierships in one year, i can retire now and go and umpire, sounds like you need a few good umpies up their as well
golden days
7 Oct 2008, 17:25
Congratulations to all the Cutters 2008 award winners, see all the winners at http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/
Thanks to all for looking at the web site this year, we are nearing 1,000 unique visitors this month, a great achievment for our first year online. Remembering we only have a relatively small football community, so 1,000 is a great number. We are working at an even better site next year, a new look and with more content from more people around the club.
Dont forget the Cutter Social Club is open 7 days a week, the bistro is opening again very soon, Chinese & Australian cuisine I believe. Call down for a coldie, hope to see you there.
PS: If you are interested in starting / joining a pool / darts competition see Dave, social club manager to discuss ideas / options.:thumbsu:
Its been a geat site for Vic people like myself as well as this thread, very informing for myself & son (3rds O & M Captain & senior player) who may just be up that way next year !;)
Wear The Fox Hat
8 Oct 2008, 11:49
Hi Guys good to see the same bitching goes on here as it does on the canberra site, its good fun. I played with centrals back in 93 and 94, how did they go this year, also what is sj's real name, just interested, i now play for yass in the canberra comp and we won our first premiership this year, also the mighty hawthorn hawks had a win too, two premierships in one year, i can retire now and go and umpire, sounds like you need a few good umpies up their as well
SJs real name, could have some fun here , Dik Wad , Camel Jockey , Dog Starver , Bald Headed c#@t , but people that dont know him its Steve Daniel .:thumbsu:
Wear The Fox Hat
8 Oct 2008, 12:03
Its been a geat site for Vic people like myself as well as this thread, very informing for myself & son (3rds O & M Captain & senior player) who may just be up that way next year !;)
Totally agree , well done , :thumbsu:
Wear The Fox Hat
8 Oct 2008, 12:08
Have heard they are shocking up there , same umpires from a Saturday umpire the juniors on a Sunday .
Its been a geat site for Vic people like myself as well as this thread, very informing for myself & son ;)
We at the Cutters are greatful you check out our sites , not only ours but all clubs :thumbsu:, if you have anything you want to see or have sujestions on how the site can be improved :cool: don't forget to drop the IT section a line ,the address is in the web site , as a contributer to the site I need that extra help ;)
Is it time for the season to start yet - I hate gardening :eek:
ark n go
22 Oct 2008, 09:28
any news from any clubs on possible recuits or coaching changes? anyone signed any new players to look for?
Got a bad knee
27 Oct 2008, 15:14
Hello all,l have just moved up this way and would like to get in with a team as a trainer,is anyone is interested.
sniff12
27 Oct 2008, 16:26
Eagle won Saints B&F, Goalkicking & Best In Finals On Saturday Night
Poo Came Runner Up (3rd year in a row) and Walshy came 3rd
In the 2nd's
Dunga Dunstan won easily from stubby noonan and Drew "SOK3" Turner
Player of the finals was Burty cockfield
Well Done to all involved!!!
Hello all,l have just moved up this way and would like to get in with a team as a trainer,is anyone is interested.
drop me an email on this site or at it@southcairnsafl.com.au in the meantime check out our site southcairnsafl.com.au
Eagle won Saints B&F, Goalkicking & Best In Finals On Saturday Night
Poo Came Runner Up (3rd year in a row) and Walshy came 3rd
In the 2nd's
Dunga Dunstan won easily from stubby noonan and Drew "SOK3" Turner
Player of the finals was Burty cockfield
Well Done to all involved!!!
Good to see some results from other clubs well done all , bad luck Poo :( maybe next year ???:D 4th time lucky ???:confused:
CatsMad
29 Oct 2008, 12:59
Hi Got a Bad Knee - contact the Manunda Hawks Football Club, President Wayne Bowes on 0401 003 672 or email wbowes@magnitudefp.com.au - best facilities in the league!
Cheers
the points allocation awarded for players next season, interesting to say the least, will keep a few clubs checking their lists, and how are the league to manage it, what will happen if a club goes over the 38 points on the day , will a lose be given on the Monday ???
Poiderr
31 Oct 2008, 11:38
Well Well Well, the AFL has again decided to bypass Cairns for a NAB cup match in 2009. I for one am sick & tired of their crap attitude to Cairns. Through torrential rain, cyclones, humid heat I have gone to every sanctioned game, even when they fixtured Brisbane Lions all the time. Lets face it who wants to watch the Lions 8 out of 10 time? not me thats for sure. The question now needs to be asked WHY? What has changed? Is the CAFL doing everything in it's powers to bring this sport to Cairns? Where are we failing? The people who support this sport in Cairns deserve an answere....
I got to see Power once up here, (dont like Colliwobbles) , agree why are we treated this way can't they do some more to attract these games and also fed up with watching Brisbane all the / most time , you would think after what Qld Country did in the inter-league games they would want us more :eek:
I thought it was quiet simple. People are not supporting these events with their feet so why should they come back every year. It is the same people who year in year out support these events. Mind you they hardly advertise the event as much as they should.
This goes for the cricket as well. Two state sides come to town and they attract only 3k people. The cost of getting them here would be fairly high I would imagine the gate takings would not have covered the airfares to get them here.
I would not be surprised if the AFL experiment with a NAB challenge game in Townsville in the next couple of years since they now have a suitable venue to play at. Townsville people (as much I hate to say it) do support their sporting events and it would be interesting to see what sort of a role up they would get.
As to the caliber of sides that come to town, I think it would be very rare if you got a high profile sides like Collingwood or Essendon playing here when they (AFL) know darn well they will attract a crowd of 25K plus playing back in Melbourne or other capital cities.
Unfortunately something needs to happen as in my 17 years in Cairns, I have seen attendances drop not only in AFL preseason games but in the local league games as well.
The population is growing, but the interest is dwindling. What is this telling us..........
Goalsquare Clapper
2 Nov 2008, 01:23
the points allocation awarded for players next season, interesting to say the least, will keep a few clubs checking their lists, and how are the league to manage it, what will happen if a club goes over the 38 points on the day , will a lose be given on the Monday ???
Yeah , most clubs would find it very interesting Tamba. Youre quite a constructive contributor to this reasonably quiet forum, but its rather interesting you bring this topic up when perhaps north cairns and cobras would take serious issue over this subject with regards to cutters recruiting methods( read rep coach getting rep players from lowly clubs to cross over.)..............Oh thats right,they approached you, my bad....
News & information regularly updated on the South Cairns Cutters web site, footys finished but there's still things happening around the club. www.southcairnsafl.com.au (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au) The bistro is open again, you can find a takeaway menu on the site, of course you can also dine in with more choices available including Chinese & Australian cuisine. The CAFL's point system coming into affect in 2009 is also explained on the site. Cheers, Poider......:thumbsu:
BenBal Plugger
5 Nov 2008, 14:38
Moving to Bendigo in 2009?
Sandhurst Dragons, Bendigo Football League, looking for interested key position players.
Fantastic facilities, team of trainers and dedicated club doctor, good social club and best ground in central Vic - Bendigo Bombers (VFL) use it, so up to AFL standard.
Send any queries to my mailbox.
ark n go
7 Nov 2008, 07:59
just wondering who will be coaching all sides this year if there is any changes. who has recuited the best so far or is everyone keeping there cards close to there chest.
kicktheballlong
7 Nov 2008, 12:05
I thought it was quiet simple. People are not supporting these events with their feet so why should they come back every year. It is the same people who year in year out support these events. Mind you they hardly advertise the event as much as they should.
This goes for the cricket as well. Two state sides come to town and they attract only 3k people. The cost of getting them here would be fairly high I would imagine the gate takings would not have covered the airfares to get them here.
I would not be surprised if the AFL experiment with a NAB challenge game in Townsville in the next couple of years since they now have a suitable venue to play at. Townsville people (as much I hate to say it) do support their sporting events and it would be interesting to see what sort of a role up they would get.
As to the caliber of sides that come to town, I think it would be very rare if you got a high profile sides like Collingwood or Essendon playing here when they (AFL) know darn well they will attract a crowd of 25K plus playing back in Melbourne or other capital cities.
Unfortunately something needs to happen as in my 17 years in Cairns, I have seen attendances drop not only in AFL preseason games but in the local league games as well.
The population is growing, but the interest is dwindling. What is this telling us..........
Great email. You hit the nail on the head. If people dont support events like the footy & cricket then Townsville will get them. I can see us all driving to Townsville in 2010 to watch the NAB Cup.
This yrs Richmond v Melb game had bugger all publicity. From my recolection there was no dinner/sportsmen night open to the public at Cazalys. Surely that could attract 200 people. I didnt see any school visits in the Cairns Post. It was a marketing nightmare.
Plus the Brisbane Lions are partly to blame, they dont do much promotion up here at all. Lets hope the Gold Coast get on board.
They say thay had 3000 at the cricket. Yeah right, more like 1000. I was there.
ark n go
8 Nov 2008, 15:20
see i todays post that norths have appointed a coach in, Brett Oakley (ex port player and assistant coach at cobras and centrals).
will mcguane stay on as a player??
see i todays post that norths have appointed a coach in, Brett Oakley (ex port player and assistant coach at cobras and centrals).
will mcguane stay on as a player??
Good pickup has done time as assistant coach was a handy player for the Crocs hope Troy stays around and kick the leather another year , I see they like many clubs Norths are having troubles attracting committe members (volunteers) to give fresh ideas, anyone out there please help your respective clubs, some off the current ones are getting burnout
looking forward to a revitalised tiger outfit in the comp.
Goalsquare Clapper
8 Nov 2008, 21:16
Good pickup has done time as assistant coach was a handy player for the Crocs hope Troy stays around and kick the leather another year , I see they like many clubs Norths are having troubles attracting committe members (volunteers) to give fresh ideas, anyone out there please help your respective clubs, some off the current ones are getting burnout
looking forward to a revitalised tiger outfit in the comp.
Agree Tamba, good appointment for the tigers, the sort of help they need. A club that has struggled big time since '04 (karma?) they need quality people helping out , some of their ex players would fit this bill. Brett Oakley's comments in the paper that his appointment erases all bad blood between port and north I consider only partly true. Another huge step in this direction would be an ammendment to the norths website, which states "2004 Premiers, North cairns." Some would see this move as a confirmation that the club has accepted responsibility for their actions in that debacle. Especially considering the AFL and AFL Cairns ruled the game a no result. On Troy McGuane, I may be Brian Naylor with the late news, but im hearing rumours of a move to coach down the road.
kicktheballlong
18 Nov 2008, 14:25
Agree Tamba, good appointment for the tigers, the sort of help they need. A club that has struggled big time since '04 (karma?) they need quality people helping out , some of their ex players would fit this bill. Brett Oakley's comments in the paper that his appointment erases all bad blood between port and north I consider only partly true. Another huge step in this direction would be an ammendment to the norths website, which states "2004 Premiers, North cairns." Some would see this move as a confirmation that the club has accepted responsibility for their actions in that debacle. Especially considering the AFL and AFL Cairns ruled the game a no result. On Troy McGuane, I may be Brian Naylor with the late news, but im hearing rumours of a move to coach down the road.
if your suggesting that Troy is going to coach Manunda then he will be a 8 point player. Im pretty sure he spent only 2 yrs with the Tigers. Even if its 3 yrs then he is a 4 pointer. Going to be hard to fit him with all there new recruits attracting 2 points. I see Willie Alick back in town. He will be a 2 pointer not 1 going by the rules as his original club was North Cairns.
Also keen to see what category Darwin comes under. Is it grouped with WAFL & SANFL. Where are QAFL players rated.
A lot of teething problems coming up.
Also keen to see what category Darwin comes under. Is it grouped with WAFL & SANFL. Where are QAFL players rated.
A lot of teething problems coming up.
Can see a few telstra bills being rung up getting the nitty ,gritty sorted out
Mes thinks Darwin would come under WAFL &SANFL points allocation and throw in QAFL as well
reasoning all classed as interstate and in the case of QAFL a higher league interested in comments on this
Heard the Hawks have signed someone other than Troy can't remember his name though
also heard Cobras are struggling , would like to see Redlynch juniors being allocated to them :eek:
Two points
- A player who has played no more than two senior games with an AFL Cairns club in the preceding year.
-A player from another league
pulled this from souths web site this might answer any thing that comes up
it looks like Darwin and QAFL will be under this points as I read it
open to be shot down though
;)
Wear The Fox Hat
20 Nov 2008, 11:37
Congrats to SJ for being named Queensland coach of the year , rumour has it, he will be apart of the Gold Coast in 2010 ??
Bloodly hell 09 season or pre-season hasn't even started and here we are with rumors for '10 :mad: give us a break and talk about the upcoming season , not what may or may not happen in the future not even SJ knows what is occurring this season :confused:
Congrats to the big man on his award :thumbsu:
Fretwell Park
21 Nov 2008, 08:13
We love rumours , where did you hear this one?
Wear The Fox Hat
21 Nov 2008, 16:00
We love rumours , where did you hear this one?
Shaun Hart :eek:
Fretwell Park
24 Nov 2008, 14:44
Shaun Hart :eek:
Fair enough ! What was the reason behind Hawks getting rid of Purcell does anyone no , 2 flags rep coach , doesnt seem to add up:rolleyes:
heard a rumor he will coach the "Doggies" at Centrals next year ,and Hawks wanted a change at the top now that the pres stood down from re-election
only heard that whilst out and about :cool:
come on 09 season
ark n go
27 Nov 2008, 09:00
any news on actual coaching appointments, player signings, start of pre-season etc.
heard a rumor he will coach the "Doggies" at Centrals next year , only heard that whilst out and about :cool:
Well well was shot down on that one :( my insider was wrong :eek: so you know where to get sh-t tips from :thumbsu: just see olde tamba
bring on 09 season at least i know the Cutters are training already
robbie green
6 Dec 2008, 09:15
seen doggies have new coach ,so no pursell for them this year,heard purcell was takin a year off , is that the way it goes u win back to back flags next year not so bad still played finals footy then u get let go i wonder what all the players at hawks reckon on that any idea who the new coach is have not heard a great deal about him,,,
ark n go
6 Dec 2008, 12:06
How many sides still need a coach? would have thought everyone should have one by now and recruiting would b well under way
aaron_barrett1980
6 Dec 2008, 13:43
www.mudcrabs.aflq.com.au (http://www.mudcrabs.aflq.com.au)
PLAYERS WANTED!!!!!!:)
Rumour has it Mr Purcell is going surfing in Indo with his banchong mates for the next 3 months.
who have south cairns gone out and recruited this season heard they have done very well????
Can let you know who has left , we were told after yesterdays AGM
Steve Shaw , Jace Kelly , and looks like Hayden Foss all back to Vic.
you'll have to wait and see like the rest of us not even the committe knows who S J has recruited yet :cool:
robbie green
30 Dec 2008, 08:47
when are all teams back pre season
sniff12
30 Dec 2008, 12:59
few clubs running on esplanade pre xmas I know saints wont be back untill at least mid jan as most of us are back home for holidays
With some teams back in training from the 19th the interest will be on who has signed with who , at what budjet has been used plus how will the teams line up, will the lower teams from previous years put up a challange with their new superstars , have Saints the side to carry on , all will be revealed soon.
Australia Day at Fretwell Park free sausage sizzle , chat with the players a possible scratch match cricket game with Mulgrave , all welcome
Is there a draw out yet ? If so where ? Or when does the season start ?
Draw is now out pre-season comp 14th and 21st Mar 09
Round 1 28th March Saints have the bye for the first round ,
the rest is, home game first named
Centrals v Port Douglas
Souths v Hawks
Cobras V Norths
www.southcairnsafl.com.au (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au) will have this full draw up by tomorrow
(the league may have it up now) :thumbsu:
calnortonjnr
23 Jan 2009, 09:09
Why is it that at this time every year, the players,coaches, members & supporters of the South Cairns Football Club manage to convince themselves that they are dead certs?
Every other club in the league including the strugglers must just love it!
South Cairns AFC "March Champions ---- September Strugglers!"