View Full Version : Cairns AFL
Pages :
[
9]
Is there a draw out yet ? If so where ? Or when does the season start ?
visit link for 2009 fixture
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-3392-0-0-0
kicktheballlong
23 Jan 2009, 10:58
yes but this year we have Rundle, Warren. Buller & North from Manunda Hawks. All know how to win flags. They come from a winning culture.
ark n go
23 Jan 2009, 12:27
yes but this year we have Rundle, Warren. Buller & North from Manunda Hawks. All know how to win flags. They come from a winning culture.
how will all these guys plus price and morrison fit into the senior side with the new point system?
Price and Morrison are one pointers as they played last year with souths
all previously played with souths ,
Rundle, Buller , North have not signed and Warren to my knowlegde either they are looking at option in the league dont crow till / if it happens
touch footy
24 Jan 2009, 16:42
I'm interested in moving to Port Douglas at the end of February and would be looking for a successful football team.Please if you have any details that could help it would be really appreciated.I am currently in Melbourne.
Only one team in Port Douglas took this from their page listed at AFL Cairns
For Recruitment please call Scott Ewert 0414800485
good luck to you and your football, welcome to the far north
tcwaters
25 Jan 2009, 08:16
Who's gonna take it out this year boys?
robbie green
31 Jan 2009, 20:54
So if all them fellas leave hawks they will be weak this year again ,also heard weetra was headin down south big losses if its all true //// souths look good again this year tip them
ark n go
1 Feb 2009, 11:03
any truth to the rumour that a bit of inhouse fighting has started at the cutters already??
A Lot of Outs for 2009
Well its that time of year when the rumour mill is going into over drive, hes playing there , they have picked up him, and as we know its not always true? Seems to be a little diffrent this year with all the gossip about whos leaving clubs for one reason or another. No work at the moment in Cairns or Port Douglas does make it hard recruiting from down south, here are some of the names that i have heard are leaving the comp in 2009.
Port Douglas- Douglas , Smith , Pitt, M Shaw , C Shaw, Teasdale
Saints - Eagle, Coatsworth, Watt, Dedeni, Preston , Turner
Souths - Shaw, Foss , Kelly
Hawks - Warren
Norths - McGuanne
Trinity - Vis
Cobras - Not sure
A lot of quality there if all is true , Good luck to all teams
Fretwell Park
6 Feb 2009, 08:47
any truth to the rumour that a bit of inhouse fighting has started at the cutters already??
Yer , thats true Arky , about 7 of the boys are right into there boxing and the gloves have been put on out of the ring, Boys will be boys. Just on that Stevie Davies is of to Melbourne this weekend for a fight , all the best champ.:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Fretwell Park
6 Feb 2009, 08:55
Kev Rundle is staying at the Hawks :thumbsu:
robbie green
6 Feb 2009, 13:42
I thought all them guys had signed for cutters , are all the fretwell faithful lying now ,, they cant make up their minds they signed no wait a minute they havent
Fretwell Park
6 Feb 2009, 15:55
I thought all them guys had signed for cutters , are all the fretwell faithful lying now ,, they cant make up their minds they signed no wait a minute they havent
Well you must be one of those blokes Robbie that believes all the rumours going around, I have not seen on here anyone from the Cutters saying Kev Rundle has signed at South Cairns, sit back Robbie, N Ablett arrives Monday :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Have to ask kicktheballong, he's certainly succeeded in stirring the pot.
Poiderr
10 Feb 2009, 22:06
The Cutters had a practice match v Cairns under 18's last Friday. Any news of other clubs having praccy matches leading into pre-season comp 14/3 & 21/3?:)
robbie green
15 Feb 2009, 12:25
well you must be one of those blokes robbie that believes all the rumours going around, i have not seen on here anyone from the cutters saying kev rundle has signed at south cairns, sit back robbie, n ablett arrives monday :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
has n ablett arrived yet
He sure has, on the gold coast !
robbie green
24 Feb 2009, 13:59
He sure has, on the gold coast !
so fretwell was lying again
blueeyes
24 Feb 2009, 15:20
Cairns AFL
sounds as though south cairns are the only club not to feeling the pinch of the economic crisis hitting the rest of the world... it's fair to say they would be the shortest price favourites to win a premeirship in a long time..considering the loss of players from the majority of clubs and the inability to guarantee work for new players. and with souths retaining most of there guns''BUT FOR S.SHAW AND H.FOSS'' and adding some more guns,, you would think the boys down at cutterville would have there chest's puffed out and the new gold plated banjoes in full swing.
oh bugger -- now we have to watch Brisbane again at Gazalys am tired of them visiting , there are plenty more clubs around to watch
you would think the boys down at cutterville would have there chest's puffed out
yes mine is out a fair way, cause I'm training so darn hard to try to make the masters at the years end and lose some of my hard earned love fat :eek:
Whats Poo Rocks up to this year...
sounds as though south cairns are the only club not to feeling the pinch of the economic crisis hitting the rest of the world... it's fair to say they would be the shortest price favourites to win a premeirship in a long time..considering the loss of players from the majority of clubs and the inability to guarantee work for new players. and with souths retaining most of there guns''BUT FOR S.SHAW AND H.FOSS'' and adding some more guns,, you would think the boys down at cutterville would have there chest's puffed out and the new gold plated banjoes in full swing.
Not sure where you get your info from blue, but Cutters have lost a couple im told due to the bad times up there and as for other teams not doing so well all I can say is watch out for the cobras, will be top 2, huge improvement and expect Saints to be the side again with Cutters.
1. Cutters or Saints
2. Saints or Cutters
3.Cobras
4.Centrals
5.Hawks
6.Norths
8. Port
Fretwell Park
4 Mar 2009, 11:47
Not sure where you get your info from blue, but Cutters have lost a couple im told due to the bad times up here and as for other teams not doing so well all I can say is watch out for the cobras, will be top 2, huge improvement and expect Saints to be the side again with Cutters.
1. Cutters or Saints
2. Saints or Cutters
3.Cobras
4.Centrals
5.Hawks
6.Norths
8. Port
Thanks Leema for the vote of confidence,and yes we have heard Cobras will be top 2 , but can i ask, why is it you think they will be top 2 and yet you have them on your ladder as 3rd :cool::cool::cool:
Yep ya got me :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Check out the cutters new looking web site, www.southcairnsafl.com.au (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au) Interview with SJ on the season coming.:thumbsu:
get 1 up ya
5 Mar 2009, 20:54
can any one tell me how joey pacey morrison is going up there
Joeys going good, key player for the Cutters. Has pre-season under his belt and looks fit as a fiddle.:thumbsu:
get 1 up ya
6 Mar 2009, 13:07
thanks for that mate:thumbsu:
Duff Man
11 Mar 2009, 11:43
Hows Rob Montgomery going up there in Cairns, played down here in the GV,
Ok lads have we predictions for the weekend preseason games ,
on the other side in the ladies comp with no North Cairns there South Cairns in a tight one against the Bulldog Babes -----go girls
robbie green
13 Mar 2009, 15:21
who is playing who up there this week when does it all kick off for real,,, who is lookin good and bad
Poiderr
13 Mar 2009, 16:52
who is playing who up there this week when does it all kick off for real,,, who is lookin good and bad
http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/fixture.html
XXXX Preseason Comp 14/3 Hawks,Cobras, Saints & Port at Cazalys whilst Norths, Centrals & Souths at Watsons. Winner of each group face off on the 21st in the final at Cazalys.:thumbsu:
Results yesterday Cobras beat Hawks ------ Saints beat Port
in their final round robin Saints beat Cobras
in the meantime at Watson oval Norths Beat Centrals ---Souths beat Norths , then Souths beat Centrals
Ok to sum it up Next week at HQ Souths V Saints for the preseason cup
in other news South Cairns Cutters Ladies took out the Grand Final by beating Central Bulldog Babes 3-2-20 --2-6-18 well done ladies
Poiderr
16 Mar 2009, 16:49
Any one see the action at Cazaly's on Saturday? What did the Saints look like? And the others Hawks, Cobras, Port for that matter.....
CatsMad
17 Mar 2009, 17:36
Saturday at Cazalys was pretty interesting. Hawks v Cobras - Cities seemed to field a nearly full side, with the exception of Nesbit (Coach). Hawks played nearly none of their key players (Warren, Rundle, Weetra, Scrymgour, Miller & Bell - Coach plus more) all missing, not very indicative of their Season Team.
Saints v Port - Saints played an almost full team and although they outclassed Port, was definitely not their best performance. Will struggle having lost some big names and havent recruited all that well, word is maximum 35 to training when in past seasons they have been up around the 50+ mark. Port lost plenty, and with the lack of jobs available had to resort to playing young kids who still need a couple of years of development.
Hawks v Port - Hawks added a couple of their Senior side (Bell, Miller) but removed big Lukey Powell - Port couldnt make very many changes to their side with lack of options and Hawks were simply too good for them.
Cities v Saints - Didnt see much of this one - Although from all accounts it wasnt very different to their earlier matches, bit scrappy from Saints, Cobras struggled in the second half.
Predicitons for 09 Season:
Saints - May not be "the unbeatable team" this year having lost key players, and arent real big on developing Juniors so may struggle.
Cobras - Have no desire to be the cellar dwellers this year and i doubt they will be, have picked up a couple and will most likely be top 4.
Hawks - Without having key players in last weekend can only go on what previous seasons have held. Have recruited well and still have plenty more talent to showcase. Juniors are their strength as they take good care of them.
Port - Possible bottom 3 finish, new coach and inexperienced side - could take a miracle to get them to finals.
Any update on the games at Watsons? Are Souths as good as they talk themselves up to be? :-)
Saturday at Cazalys was pretty interesting. Hawks v Cobras - Cities seemed to field a nearly full side, with the exception of Nesbit (Coach). Hawks played nearly none of their key players (Warren, Rundle, Weetra, Scrymgour, Miller & Bell - Coach plus more) all missing, not very indicative of their Season Team.
Saints v Port - Saints played an almost full team and although they outclassed Port, was definitely not their best performance. Will struggle having lost some big names and havent recruited all that well, word is maximum 35 to training when in past seasons they have been up around the 50+ mark. Port lost plenty, and with the lack of jobs available had to resort to playing young kids who still need a couple of years of development.
Hawks v Port - Hawks added a couple of their Senior side (Bell, Miller) but removed big Lukey Powell - Port couldnt make very many changes to their side with lack of options and Hawks were simply too good for them.
Cities v Saints - Didnt see much of this one - Although from all accounts it wasnt very different to their earlier matches, bit scrappy from Saints, Cobras struggled in the second half.
Predicitons for 09 Season:
Saints - May not be "the unbeatable team" this year having lost key players, and arent real big on developing Juniors so may struggle.
Cobras - Have no desire to be the cellar dwellers this year and i doubt they will be, have picked up a couple and will most likely be top 4.
Hawks - Without having key players in last weekend can only go on what previous seasons have held. Have recruited well and still have plenty more talent to showcase. Juniors are their strength as they take good care of them.
Port - Possible bottom 3 finish, new coach and inexperienced side - could take a miracle to get them to finals.
Any update on the games at Watsons? Are Souths as good as they talk themselves up to be? :-)
Is Jimma Coatsworth expected to return from overseas???
Yes I agree Saints were almost at their full strength team, however premiership players in Walsh, Preston, Jeffries, Lee and Hammond were all missing and will be set to return adding a lot more firepower up forward and in the ruck. They will definitely not be "the unbeatable team" this year losing a lot of quality players which will make the competition very interesting. To be fair on the club, "The club is not real big on developing juniors" it has not had a junior club, they will be entering U'8 and 10's this year so it is something the club is obviously working on, hopefully this can improve their future.
Poiderr
18 Mar 2009, 21:35
[quote=Yes I agree Saints were almost at their full strength team, however premiership players in Walsh, Preston, Jeffries, Lee and Hammond were all missing and will be set to return adding a lot more firepower up forward and in the ruck. They will definitely not be "the unbeatable team" this year losing a lot of quality players which will make the competition very interesting. To be fair on the club, "The club is not real big on developing juniors" it has not had a junior club, they will be entering U'8 and 10's this year so it is something the club is obviously working on, hopefully this can improve their future.[/quote]
I heard that the Saints hoped to field an under 16 team this year, however lack of numbers wouldn't allow, and what they had have now joined Norths, with the coach they had organised. Any chance of getting them back next year "2010" and progressing with junior development?
As far as I know they were only ever going to field 8's, 10's and 12's, however struggled to get enough 12's. From 2010 onwards the club would be hoping to add in 14's, 16's and then eventually 18's once the kids progress through. So 2010 is definitely a chance to see more junior Saints teams.
Tips for round 1 anyone ----- here are mine
Centrals to beat Port
Souths to beat Hawks
Norths to beat Cobras
Lachrilly
27 Mar 2009, 16:21
Centrals to beat Port 35pts
Souths to beat Hawks 40pts
Cobras to beat Norths 10pts
The Donk
27 Mar 2009, 17:37
Go the Cutters!....:thumbsu:
Hey Donk long time no hear , well here are the results from yesterday
Reserves South Cairns 11.8.74 -----Manunda Hawks 2.5.17
Seniors South Cairns 22.18.150---Manunda Hawks 5.6.36
dont forget the web site now mate, write up will be on by Tues, I'm a bit slow writing it up :eek:
www.southcairnsafl.com.au (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au)
Hey Donk long time no hear , well here are the results from yesterday
Reserves South Cairns 11.8.74 -----Manunda Hawks 2.5.17
Seniors South Cairns 22.18.150---Manunda Hawks 5.6.36
dont forget the web site now mate, write up will be on by Tues, I'm a bit slow writing it up :eek:
www.southcairnsafl.com.au (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au)
Manunda Hawks 9.5.59
Centrals to beat Port 35pts
Souths to beat Hawks 40pts
Cobras to beat Norths 10pts
Lachrilly on the ball, went and watched Cobras and Norths and it was pretty scrappy. Cobras have improved on last year but did not set the world on fire,i was expecting them to beat Norths by 10 goals. There ruckman looks like he has done his collarbone. Norths fought back in the 3rd and hit the front but could not go on. How good are Centrals or are Port really bad,and who saw Hawks and Souths,how did Hawks coach go Belly?
Manunda Hawks 9.5.59
Sorry looked at the wrong page in my notes
I do apologise to the Hawks :o
Tips for this weekend?
Souths Bye
Saints over Hawks 10 goals plus
Norths over Centrals 15 points
Cobras over Port 24 points
;)
Lachrilly
3 Apr 2009, 11:47
Saints to beat Hawks 41pts
Centrals to beat Norths 26pts
Cobras to beat Port 45pts
Tips round 3
Souths by 24 points over Saints
Norths by 12 points over Port
Hawks to score their first of the year by 4 points over Cobras
Mr Moot
15 Apr 2009, 16:03
Manunda dawks must be happy they got rid of Purcell. How crap are they going?
CatsMad
16 Apr 2009, 10:41
Pretty sure Mr Moot, if you have any understanding of footy up in Cairns, playing their first two games against the two sides from last years Grand Final, along with settling into a new coach, is in no way indicative of Hawks abilities this season. Once again, if you had any brains you would know Hawks started off last year loosing nearly all of their games in the first round of 6 - to bounce back and make it to finals football. Simply bagging a team cause they got flogged twice hardly makes you a hero.
Didnt hear you bagging Souths when they choked again in yet another Grand Final last year, or are you simply a little biased...
It would actually be refreshing to have a competition this year that isnt dominated by one or two teams, so good luck to all teams this weekend, even yours you idiot.
CatsMad
16 Apr 2009, 10:47
Tips for this weekend:
Saints over Souths - close game though
Norths over Port
Hawks over Cobras - only just
Lachrilly
16 Apr 2009, 15:38
Saints over Souths in a doozy 3pts
Norths over Ports easy 40pts
Cobras over Hawks easy 50pts
Souths touched up Saints by 14 goals ,
Flea did a number on Walsh ,
must admit Kennedy play bloody well and should have a B&F vote in todays handout by the umpys
Poiderr
19 Apr 2009, 20:31
Cutters home comfortably against the Cairns Saints, read the Cutters match report www.southcairnsafl.com.au/seniorsr3.html (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/seniorsr3.html)
Interview with Cutters 2009 club captain Cam Campbell http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/footballnews.html (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/footballnews.html)
Anzac day clash. In its second year the fixtured Anzac day clash between the South Cairns Cutters & the North Cairns Tigers will be held at Fretwell Park. Last year the Cutters won out at Watsons Oval in what was a well organised tribute to our Anzacs, followed by some good footy watched by a big crowd. This year should be no different with a ceremony before the main game complete with a bugler and a minutes silence for those who gave for our freedom. Kim having served himself has some written an article giving some insight to what the day means to him. http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/footballnews2.html (http://www.southcairnsafl.com.au/footballnews2.html)
Go The Cutters.....:thumbsu:
Souths over Norths 30 points
Saints over Port landslide
Cobras over Centrals 20 points
robbie green
26 Apr 2009, 15:22
any results up that way yet
Lachrilly
28 Apr 2009, 16:57
Come on guys keep the posts up. Gives me something to do during the day. So after 4 rounds Cutters ar obviously the team to beat clearly. Saints would have to be their main concen fo sure. Centrals sit 2nd but are yet to face either of those teams. So till they do i wont count them as a threat just yet. Saints got back to some of their best after quarter time on sat. Was able to post a big score even without Walsh up forward. Still a bit away from their best i reckon
Poiderr
29 Apr 2009, 11:15
Come on guys keep the posts up. Gives me something to do during the day. So after 4 rounds Cutters ar obviously the team to beat clearly. Saints would have to be their main concen fo sure. Centrals sit 2nd but are yet to face either of those teams. So till they do i wont count them as a threat just yet. Saints got back to some of their best after quarter time on sat. Was able to post a big score even without Walsh up forward. Still a bit away from their best i reckon
Lachrilly, you must be up here on holidays seeing your Bigfooty location says Tasmania. It's said that Tasmanians have two heads but I didn't know they could be in two different states ???
If I remember correctly I do recall that the Cutters went down to Centrals last year at Trinity Beach, I recall their reserve team were a bunch of cocky buggers when full of piss. Quite a bit of banter from both camps.
One most memorable was when Centrals kicked a goal, old mate said " Will you have a look at that, and he doesn't get paid anything" Reply from Souths "Thats because he's not worth anything"
Go the Cutters, looking forward to a good contest this week.:thumbsu:
Lachrilly, you must be up here on holidays seeing your Bigfooty location says Tasmania. It's said that Tasmanians have two heads but I didn't know they could be in two different states ???
If I remember correctly I do recall that the Cutters went down to Centrals last year at Trinity Beach, I recall their reserve team were a bunch of cocky buggers when full of piss. Quite a bit of banter from both camps.
One most memorable was when Centrals kicked a goal, old mate said " Will you have a look at that, and he doesn't get paid anything" Reply from Souths "Thats because he's not worth anything"
Go the Cutters, looking forward to a good contest this week.:thumbsu:
I also remember Centrals wanted to lay some money on themselves when it got close but when out come $100 from Souths they shut up and wouldnt take bet. They also get cocky after they have thrown a few hay makers. If they had any decent players Hawks would have pinched them by now as they poach from every club possible
CatsMad
30 Apr 2009, 10:06
I also remember Centrals wanted to lay some money on themselves when it got close but when out come $100 from Souths they shut up and wouldnt take bet. They also get cocky after they have thrown a few hay makers. If they had any decent players Hawks would have pinched them by now as they poach from every club possible
Ha ha ha - would like to know where you get your information from... I think you Tamba must just have a few sour grapes because of the players who came from Souths to Hawks, and not because they were poached, simply because they had had enough of the bullsh*t that goes on out there, oh and hang on, wanted to win a premiership instead of choking each year. Speaking of cocky, havent Souths talked themselves up every year and then failed to deliver? Havent seen Centrals do that...
By the way, any Souths blokes had punch-up's over the same girl lately? Maybe THATS why Train left, wasnt allowed in on the action... Surely there are enough to go around or do these guys generally like cutting each others grass... What a great bunch of mates - thats the spirit that will win you a flag!
Tips this weekend:
Souths over Centrals
Saints over Cities
Hawks over Port
:thumbsu:
Tips this week
Souths
Saints but not by much will be close
Port to get their first win
Lachrilly
30 Apr 2009, 12:34
Just moved here a few months ago. Playing a bit for Saints. Heard a few bad things about Cutters myself. Dont seem to be the most liked club around.
Souths easy over Centrals
Saints by 5 or 6 goals over Cobras
Port in a close one over Hawks.
Port played well early last week but fell away after that.
If they can put 4 quarters together could pinch a few wins this year
Ha ha ha - would like to know where you get your information from... I think you Tamba must just have a few sour grapes because of the players who came from Souths to Hawks, and not because they were poached, simply because they had had enough of the bullsh*t that goes on out there, oh and hang on, wanted to win a premiership instead of choking each year. Speaking of cocky, havent Souths talked themselves up every year and then failed to deliver? Havent seen Centrals do that...
By the way, any Souths blokes had punch-up's over the same girl lately? Maybe THATS why Train left, wasnt allowed in on the action... Surely there are enough to go around or do these guys generally like cutting each others grass... What a great bunch of mates - thats the spirit that will win you a flag!
Tips this weekend:
Souths over Centrals
Saints over Cities
Hawks over Port
:thumbsu:
Gee thats poor form HawksMad [ sorry looking back at your last 12 posts GIVES YOU AWAY ] Souths blokes fighting over birds etc, no team spirit, bringing up past Grand finals , you sound like the pathetic low life thats sits behind his computer and lovs to pot everyone because you are spinless. I have a couple of great mates at that club and your club and other clubs and hear alot of what goes on at clubs but never would i stoop to as low as CatsMad a spray it on big footy,yer two players had a fight over a girl, yer goes on at every club, both boys are back playing together Gee hearing a lot of bad talk about the Hawks and their coach, are you going to mention that or keep it quite. From the reports im hearing one more incident and good bye, and thats from your players who have no respect for him what so ever,talk about team spirit.You low life............Oh and on the footy side of it Centrals are a good side and will beat Souths in a ripper game, Hawks starting to get a few back and a couple arriving from Darwin will beat Port , Saints will beat Cobras [ sorry junior]to give them 3 losses and Nth Cairns will love the bye.:):):)
Its called defending your team mate... When this whole forum is practically South's dominated it certainly doesnt sit well with other clubs supporters, especially me, when Souths supporters post items such as "Centrals are cocky" - when they certainly arent, and "Hawks poach from other teams" when it simply isnt true. If you dont have the balls to defend your club on this forum then what is the point of it.
As for your comments on the Hawks Coach and "One more incident and good bye"? Would like to know where you get your facts from, cause there actually havent been ANY incidents involving the new coach, just trying to stir the pot are we? If these so called mates didnt have any respect for him, why stick around? They knew he was coaching before they signed on at the beginning of the year. I KNOW, you must have applied for the coaching position and got turned down! Thats sour grapes for you...
By the way Leema - obviously you are very passionate about your local footy, as am i... This forum is supposed to be a bit of fun banter, maybe getting some inside gossip etc etc... I'm sure the Souths guys couldnt even give a crap about what gets said on here since they are dominating on the field, surely a little bit of big footy chat isnt going to affect their game... This is all in good fun, its what most of the off field action is about. If you cant give a bit of lip to the other teams every now and then, what's the point of supporting...
Fair call,:thumbsu: I know the players in question and what happened and they have moved on, to read you post did anger me, And not going into it on here but Kev Rundle told me to my face if the coach does it one more time hes leaving........... and we dont wont that hes a ripper.
And by the way HawksMad, reading Tambas posts and tips do you really think hes got any idea about footy..................
Nice call :thumbsu:
POWER JUNKIE
1 May 2009, 11:40
Fair go Leema...give the new Hawks coach a go...bit early in the season to go sackin people, and we all know Kevy is no quitter, where footy is concerned...hard, tough and still playin freakish footy. He is like a good bottle of red...gets better with age... any way... Coach Markie has some big boots to fill replacing the big Purcell ...so lets wait til the end of round 1 at least before we start baggin the poor bloke. First 2 games are a bout gelin as a team and when you are playing the two favorites to play off for the big one, I think it is only fair we cut him a bit of slack. My thoughts...no one is gonna get close to Cutters this year
tips
Cutters
Hawks
Saints
Fair go Leema...give the new Hawks coach a go...bit early in the season to go sackin people, and we all know Kevy is no quitter, where footy is concerned...hard, tough and still playin freakish footy. He is like a good bottle of red...gets better with age... any way... Coach Markie has some big boots to fill replacing the big Purcell ...so lets wait til the end of round 1 at least before we start baggin the poor bloke. First 2 games are a bout gelin as a team and when you are playing the two favorites to play off for the big one, I think it is only fair we cut him a bit of slack. My thoughts...no one is gonna get close to Cutters this year
tips
Cutters
Hawks
Saints
Not having a go at his coaching Junkie, im not into that , I heard fom a couple of people the coach done a couple of things while intoxicated that hes wishes he didnt do, hes sorry and moved on........ so have the hawk boys. And Centrals got close to the cutters on the weekend junkie,very impressive have picked up some good players, and dont wright the Hawks off, they have a couple that are playing with the NT side that just might play a few games this year. All and all its going to be a good finals series and the 4 is all ready set,[ big call ] but I cant see Norths , Cobras or Port making it. Biggest dissapointment is Cobras a lot of talk they will finish high this year and have lost the past 3 in a row.
Ah the dreaded Cairns curse, sure gets the young blokes into a bit of strife when they first arrive! I know i sure got into a fair bit of trouble myself :) Young Markie has got himself a missus and is back on the straight and narrow, so thats good to hear, now the fellas can concentrate on the footy.
Extremely impressed with Centrals over the weekend, have been the only team so far able to even look like threatening Cutters, really have improved from past seasons. I agree Leema that the 4 is set, Port gave Hawks a bit of grief to begin with but Hawkies boys werent really switched on, hopefully this changes.
Cobras have unfortunately lost their way, was looking forward to a real competitive season from them and its disappointing to see them drop these last few games.
Tips for the weekend? Not sure about my own this week yet...
Tips this week
Norths
Centrals
Souths
Ok here goes...
Hawks over Norths (should be a great game)
Centrals over Saints (Centrals have been the only team to come close to Souths so far)
Souths over Port (Port should take allot of confidence from last weeks game but just wont be good enough)
Ok here goes...
Hawks over Norths (should be a great game)
Centrals over Saints (Centrals have been the only team to come close to Souths so far)
Souths over Port (Port should take allot of confidence from last weeks game but just wont be good enough)
Yes agree, hawks easy 10 goals, centrals to beat saints in a close one , and Souths easy over Port.
Lachrilly
10 May 2009, 18:44
Saints beat Dogs by 5 goals in a great game of wet weather footy. Close all day with the Saints running away in the last. Dwyer a stand out for the Saints with Walsh playing a grand final term to pull the saints through
jungle jim
11 May 2009, 10:36
How did Barnett go?
Who were the other Saints in the best?
Lachrilly
11 May 2009, 11:51
Looked very dangerous early.But hardly touched it after half time. Kennedy played forward and was very good along with Kabia who was dangerous all day and Canny on a wing was very good also
Centrals and Saints what a great game,Centrals when you start to play disiplined football and stop this rubbish that you dish up then and only then will teams respect you and you will beat the likes of Saints and Souths. Like the week before stupids acts and giving away 50 metre penaltys cost you.You have the players to finish top 2-3, the move to play fewkes on Walsh I thought backfired but no 9 shut down Hose very well,was great to watch a close game. Hawks and Norths must of been a ripper, Hawksmad did you see it? and it must of been a spectical Souths and Port...........
Fretwell Park
11 May 2009, 13:09
Centrals and Saints what a great game,Centrals when you start to play disiplined football and stop this rubbish that you dish up then and only then will teams respect you and you will beat the likes of Saints and Souths. Like the week before stupids acts and giving away 50 metre penaltys cost you.You have the players to finish top 2-3, the move to play fewkes on Walsh I thought backfired but no 9 shut down Hose very well,was great to watch a close game. Hawks and Norths must of been a ripper, Hawksmad did you see it? and it must of been a spectical Souths and Port...........
Must of been a good player 9 Brown to keep Hose quite, Hose would be right up there for the league medal at the moment.............:thumbsu:
Will give it to Port their never say die attitude they had some good passages of play well done sorry to see them light on with players this year
Lachrilly
18 May 2009, 17:38
Tigers defeated a completly undermanned Saints on Sat. Norths played well i will give them that but with numerous good players out of the Saints line up i wouldnt read much into it. A half hour or longer break during the first quarter for a bad injury to a Saints player which required an ambulance didnt help as the Saints were playing well up to then.
What about centrals, anyone,were they that good or seeing Hawks undermanned did they fall off. one massive quarter according to the local fish wrapper
For Whom the Bell Tolls is a famous novel by Ernest Hemingway.
"I would always rather not know. Then, no matter what can happen, it was not me that talked ."
- Ernest Hemingway, For Whom the Bell Tolls, Ch. 1
It seems that the day has finally come for the Hawks Coach, he has been sacked ,well, he was warned , and when a player comes in the change room and throws his gurnsey on the floor, disgusted, well.
The word is now the great Gabby is the new club leader on the field
Welcome Gabby --bring forth a team of footballers and consolidate them and we will see you in the finals
POWER JUNKIE
22 May 2009, 10:58
In short, Hawks have a great bunch of blokes playin for their TEAM MATES, but not for their CLUB!!!. Sacking or no sacking there is a lot the club need to learn about the correct way to go about decisions like this. Purcell didnt even get told he was sacked last year he just read in the paper there was a new coach and you can bet ya bottom dollar that this guys didnt see it coming either. Weather ya sack or not, have some respect for a guys that has move half way across the country and give him some indication to his face that he might want to step it up a bit. Sorry, but he may not have done the job he was supposed and I am dam sure Gabby will pick up the pieces and get things happening at the Hawks but communication seems to be a thing this CLUB doesnt produce in the board room........... lets hope it doesnt venture further on to the playing arena.
Good luck to the Hawks this weekend, not a Saints fan (sorry if you are) so I hope the Hawks flog em and I hope the "Bell" gets a chance to toll at least one more time for his team mates as a player before he moves on to bigger and better things.
tips this round
Souths in a landslide
Hawks to produce their best, 8 point winners
Norths by 2 goals
POWER JUNKIE
22 May 2009, 15:32
tips
Cutters......having a training run and easily
Tigers
Saints....too many boycotting from the Hawks to even have a chance against an undermaned Saints.
The four is now open to any team that can get through with no more injuries or club dramas for year......Either way it all will come down to who is gonna come 2nd to the Cutters. Suppose after the years of getting so close it may finally be their year to fly the flag at Fretwell.
Lachrilly
22 May 2009, 15:37
Agree with most tips guys
Cutters by a cricket score
Norths easily
Saints just.
The injuries keep coming for the Saints and with the week the Hawks have had anything could happen tomorrow.
Bang...................... hate to bring it up but i told ya so
half_back_flank
25 May 2009, 13:25
So what happened with Hawks coach, I thought he was making some good changes earlier this year?
CatsMad
25 May 2009, 15:20
So what happened with Hawks coach, I thought he was making some good changes earlier this year?
Thanks for reminding us all Leema... Haha... There were no "incidents" like you indicate, 99% of the people involved at the club are shocked and saddened by the decisions of the club executive (or should i say Lew Collier - as nobody elses opinion seems to matter when he is involved) to stand Bell down from his position. Unfortunately Hawks are going to lose some quality players from this, and i have to say, Hawks once again look like the laughing stock of the league. Who would sack Purcell after winning 2 flags and making finals (whom by the way, was not informed of his dismissal, he had to read it in the local rag) and then go ahead after 6 games of footy and sack his replacement. I say good luck to Marky and his missus and wish them the best in the future.
I can safely say my loyalties no longer lie with the Manunda Hawks, and will instead focus back on a real team, go the Cats! And on that note, i sincerely hope Centrals can come through this year and knock off both Saints and Souths, would be great to see a tight comp for once.
half_back_flank
25 May 2009, 16:14
Thanks for reminding us all Leema... Haha... There were no "incidents" like you indicate, 99% of the people involved at the club are shocked and saddened by the decisions of the club executive (or should i say Lew Collier - as nobody elses opinion seems to matter when he is involved) to stand Bell down from his position. Unfortunately Hawks are going to lose some quality players from this, and i have to say, Hawks once again look like the laughing stock of the league. Who would sack Purcell after winning 2 flags and making finals (whom by the way, was not informed of his dismissal, he had to read it in the local rag) and then go ahead after 6 games of footy and sack his replacement. I say good luck to Marky and his missus and wish them the best in the future.
I can safely say my loyalties no longer lie with the Manunda Hawks, and will instead focus back on a real team, go the Cats! And on that note, i sincerely hope Centrals can come through this year and knock off both Saints and Souths, would be great to see a tight comp for once.
So who coached on the weekend?
robbie green
25 May 2009, 21:14
Heard gabby weetra coached at the weekend ,how did they go ? also do believe purcell is on the way back from bali whats the chances of him be back at that club?
sraughny
25 May 2009, 21:57
QUESTION? is lou collier the full quid??????
half_back_flank
25 May 2009, 22:24
Yeah, he is.
CatsMad
26 May 2009, 10:05
Lew Collier hasnt been full quid for years...
Weetra coached Saturday and a little birdy tells me he may have hung up the boots for the year... Hawks lost by 4 goals to an extremely understrength Saints team who were beaten by Norths the week previously.
CatsMad
26 May 2009, 10:06
Heard gabby weetra coached at the weekend ,how did they go ? also do believe purcell is on the way back from bali whats the chances of him be back at that club?
With Lew Collier as President, no way in hell Purcell would return to the Hawks - might see him back at his old stomping ground at Trinity
:confused: