26 Mar 2007, 19:49
Cairns AFL

Herbs
27 Mar 2007, 22:16
Has it started yet?:confused:

Up There Cazalys
28 Mar 2007, 08:38
Has it started yet?:confused:

Started alright. seen it all the go down south thought id start one for up there. Who are the teams looking the goods at the moment. ?

LEGO MAN
29 Mar 2007, 17:30
Can any of you guys tell me when the season kicks off up there and are there any reports on the practice match form of Port Douglas and Sth Cairns? Both Clubs being coached by blokes from Seymour in the Goulburn Valley League and by all accounts have both taken some pretty handy recruits.Rob Douglas will be a stand out at Port Douglas.

lucy_the_dog
2 Apr 2007, 12:12
Dont know about this noodles charector, but i would think the one and only James 'Poo' Coatsworth would be the standout again.

shagga16
2 Apr 2007, 16:30
Cannard was absoultly flying pre-season on and off the filed. should be in for a cracka

Sockit151
2 Apr 2007, 16:31
Matt Walsh still playing up that way?

The fatman
3 Apr 2007, 02:29
how are the manunda hawks looking this year after last years sucess

VT#23
3 Apr 2007, 12:03
any one tell me the goal kickers and best players from the souths game on the w/e?

LEGO MAN
3 Apr 2007, 22:17
Luke 'NOODLE' Canard will be the standout player this year up there in Cairns.. Dominated the victorian country leagues. Tough as nails and a heart of gold. The poor bloke is no oil painting but huge package.
Not familiar with Noodle and not really interested in the size of his package (LOL).Would be interseted to know what Country league's he dominated in Victoria and who He's playing for in Cairns.Sounds like there may be some handy players running around up there this year and I'd be grateful for any info on pre season form etc.
As for Rob Douglas, He won a B&F in a GVFL premiership team at 19yrs. A very handy player and a ripping bloke as well.

Doona2
3 Apr 2007, 22:54
any one tell me the goal kickers and best players from the souths game on the w/e?

cant remember the site just search for queensland afl and you'll get there :thumbsu:

localfootyguru
3 Apr 2007, 23:30
Always some good footy in the competition and played on bloody big grounds that never get muddy.

Will be interested to see how Port Douglas go this season, they are always there abouts and also have Leon Baker (ex Essendon) involved with the club again.

South Cairns and Manunda will be the teams to beat once again with Cairns City to improve.

box_16
4 Apr 2007, 12:38
how will trinity beach go this year???

fromthebackline
4 Apr 2007, 19:04
Centrals are tipped to be the big improvers this year with many from country vic. Hawks and souths played on weekend and was top game. I thought Sths should have won but missed to many easy goals. Some told me that the Port Douglas side was the worst Port side he had ever seen.

fromthebackline
4 Apr 2007, 19:33
cant remember the site just search for queensland afl and you'll get there :thumbsu:

Shaw kicked four and was one of Sths better players. Sharp was head and shoulders above anyone for Sths. Angwin was OK and hopgood was pretty good.

fingered
4 Apr 2007, 23:36
hows troy mcguane go up there....from norths aint he

Up There Cazalys
5 Apr 2007, 18:13
how are the cairns saints looking this year, they were their abouts last year i think ?

VT#23
6 Apr 2007, 18:05
where do you go to find the results on the internet, is it just me or does the afl cairns results page not work?

fromthebackline
8 Apr 2007, 22:36
how are the cairns saints looking this year, they were their abouts last year i think ?

Yeah they will be there abouts this year as well. They say they have pace to burn. I think they will go close. They have recruited well from Redan. Talking to one of their coaches and the say they have Manundas cover and Sth Cairns, Centrals is their concern though. Time will tell

all-eyes-on-me
9 Apr 2007, 14:42
heading up to cairns for a cricket trip on the 26th april. will there be any games on boys and where would i find it?

fromthebackline
9 Apr 2007, 18:51
Games will be played on 28th April and 5th May, check AFL Cairns web site for fixture.

BODZY#32
11 Apr 2007, 16:46
Can anyone fill me in on a few new boys at south cairns are going? Matt Sharp, Sean "Frank the Tank" Horsburgh and Shannon "Shags" Laidlaw?

FootyFat
12 Apr 2007, 17:02
Luke 'NOODLE' Canard will be the standout player this year up there in Cairns.. Dominated the victorian country leagues. Tough as nails and a heart of gold. The poor bloke is no oil painting but huge package.
Very true this, lock up your daughters lock up ya wife cos this bloke is a big roota has a bad head but is full of surprises

fromthebackline
12 Apr 2007, 22:00
Apparently Sharp was BOG in first game. Horsborough was Ok as was Laidlaw. Luke the noodle Cannard well he is killing them on and off the field.:eek:

Duff Man
14 Apr 2007, 04:01
Apparently Sharp was BOG in first game. Horsborough was Ok as was Laidlaw. Luke the noodle Cannard well he is killing them on and off the field.:eek:

Hows the great man SJ going up there FTBL , Heard his side { sharpys } got beat round 1 . Must admit i thought he should have not gone up there ,hes to good to be coaching at that level, { no disrepect }. And hows Steve Shaw going good player and i beat the chicks are loving him ?

No Heart
20 Apr 2007, 10:56
Hows the great man SJ going up there FTBL , Heard his side { sharpys } got beat round 1 . Must admit i thought he should have not gone up there ,hes to good to be coaching at that level, { no disrepect }. And hows Steve Shaw going good player and i beat the chicks are loving him ?

Keeping an eye on some old freinds are we Duffy, spoke to sj last night and he informed me hes lost Angwin for the year.

No Heart
20 Apr 2007, 11:02
[QUOTE=. And hows Steve Shaw going good player and i beat the chicks are loving him ?[/QUOTE]

Shawry broke a lot of hearts in seymour , Great bloke , Dumb as shit , but i hope hes going really well up there.

superfreak
23 Apr 2007, 14:43
Shawry broke a lot of hearts in seymour , Great bloke , Dumb as shit , but i hope hes going really well up there.

Shawry is the ultimate 'Chick Magnet'. Played with him at Chelt last year. Awesome bloke too. Hope he is doing well both on and off the field!!!

VT#23
24 Apr 2007, 12:02
any one care to give a run down of last weekends games?

Ringo
24 Apr 2007, 16:10
where do you go to find the results on the internet, is it just me or does the afl cairns results page not work?

the elusive website is cairns.aflq.com.au:thumbsu:

Wear The Fox Hat
24 Apr 2007, 18:00
Keeping an eye on some old freinds are we Duffy, spoke to sj last night and he informed me hes lost Angwin for the year.

Hows Coxy going ,I heard he played last week ? And thats a shame about Lawrie if thats true.

danielkerr
24 Apr 2007, 22:51
been training down the house, AFL cairns is a very high quality of football that i think i can dominate once accustomed to the humidity. kerr out...

Archie Threadbo
25 Apr 2007, 13:01
Is a bloke by the name of 'Rolly' still dominating for Cairns Saints?

Third Qtr. Spray
26 Apr 2007, 10:48
Hows Coxy going ,I heard he played last week ? And thats a shame about Lawrie if thats true.

Have heard that Coxy was a bit of a gun in his younger days but I would have thought he may be getting a tad old for the game nowadays. Was it part of his appointment as coach that he would play or is it other issues at the club e.g. injuries?

Why is Angwin out for the year?

fromthebackline
26 Apr 2007, 23:40
Angwins shoulder not as bad as first thought according to a couple of Souths players last weekend. Looks like Angwin will be back playing in about four weeks. I saw the game that COXY played in and he lasted about ten minutes, did his hammy. He is way past it. To slow, no disrepct as I saw him play in his hey day and he was very good but to old now. One of the reasons Steve Daniels came to Cairns was to get a job in footy full time. Spoke to him at last weeks game and he has just started at an elite sports school for the indiginous. Good job and full time. I don't think he would have that in Vic. Last weeks games Port beat Saints by about 8pts. Hawks beat Centrals by 5gls and Souths beat Nths by about 10gls.:cool:

No Heart
27 Apr 2007, 09:30
Angwins shoulder not as bad as first thought according to a couple of Souths players last weekend. Looks like Angwin will be back playing in about four weeks. I saw the game that COXY played in and he lasted about ten minutes, did his hammy. He is way past it. To slow, no disrepct as I saw him play in his hey day and he was very good but to old now. One of the reasons Steve Daniels came to Cairns was to get a job in footy full time. Spoke to him at last weeks game and he has just started at an elite sports school for the indiginous. Good job and full time. I don't think he would have that in Vic. Last weeks games Port beat Saints by about 8pts. Hawks beat Centrals by 5gls and Souths beat Nths by about 10gls.:cool:

Who does South Cairns play this week , and how did Chipper Douglas play in the game you watched .

fromthebackline
27 Apr 2007, 13:11
Souths play City Cobras in the match of the round. Chipper played well, class act will be one of the league medal favs I would say and will only get better for us.:cool:

No Heart
1 May 2007, 07:57
Souths play City Cobras in the match of the round. Chipper played well, class act will be one of the league medal favs I would say and will only get better for us.:cool:

How did Souths go in the match of the round against Cobras , and Chipper is a gun ftb , he won the B+F In Our Premier Ship year 2005 and was third last year. Great bloke to have around your club too , Theres another bloke up there from seymour as well , chooka Barton hes playing with SJ at Souths hows he going.:thumbsu:

Lenny29
1 May 2007, 20:56
Does Steve Diehm still play at the Cobras? And is Dan McGrath still running around somewhere up there?

fromthebackline
1 May 2007, 23:01
Cobras flogged South Cairns. I am told thought that souths had eight players out. Not that it is any reason to loose but I'm sure that had something to do with it. In the other games Port beat Norths by a long way as did saints angainst centrals. I was at the Port game and Robbie Douglas was a class above.:rolleyes:

stanleyy
2 May 2007, 17:04
can anyone confirm whether "noodle" cannard has already kicked goal of the year?:thumbsu:

Gadget
2 May 2007, 17:39
can anyone confirm whether "noodle" cannard has already kicked goal of the year?:thumbsu:
How's the cobras going this year, Is Aaron Nesbitt coaching them this year or just playin? Played in Ballarat League but injuries took over, when fit is a very tough footballer.

mates33
6 May 2007, 23:01
gday everyone! could anyone tell me how i can get footage of the north cairns tigers v port douglas crocs grand final 2004 fight on the net??? looked everywhere, havent seen it since that day and heard people talk bout it.. would love to see it again, thanks

knackers22
9 May 2007, 16:21
Yeah walshy still playing for south. kicked 5 on weekend. his hammy is finally right so plenty of bags to come.

Best forward in the league by a mile!
Superstar!

Matt Walsh still playing up that way?

CattyBossDog
14 May 2007, 00:45
How's the cobras going this year, Is Aaron Nesbitt coaching them this year or just playin?

Just got thumped by Manunda and lost top spot. Willo is coaching them again this year. Should play finals for the first time in about 6 years.

Poiderr
14 May 2007, 14:23
Good win on the weekend Cutters :thumbsu: , starting to come together.
Lets finish off well against Centrals this week before the break.
Come out fresh hopefully take it up to the manunda hawks....:D

CattyBossDog
14 May 2007, 21:09
http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/8079/footycairnspost14507ce5.jpg

Poiderr
15 May 2007, 11:20
Can any body post a link to the Cairns AFL site for the video footage of goal & mark of the year, I have looked hard but can't find it on their site....Many thanks..:)

Goldenboy
16 May 2007, 12:26
Hey what are Trinity Beach's hopes of winning the flag this year? Off to a shakey start will they come good? What happened to all their money from the pokies? Who did they blow it on?

knackers22
16 May 2007, 17:45
I see Matt Walsh back with 6 goals on weekend on top of 5 from last weekend.

The boots are back on, look out everyone!

Hey what are Trinity Beach's hopes of winning the flag this year? Off to a shakey start will they come good? What happened to all their money from the pokies? Who did they blow it on?

CattyBossDog
20 May 2007, 00:22
Hey what are Trinity Beach's hopes of winning the flag this year?

They'll finish above Norths, and that's as high as they'll go. Be lucky to win 6 games for the year.

disco19
20 May 2007, 16:53
Yeah walshy still playing for south. kicked 5 on weekend. his hammy is finally right so plenty of bags to come.

Best forward in the league by a mile!
Superstar!

walshy plays for saints not souths:thumbsu:

disco19
20 May 2007, 16:59

i spoke to mr steve at school. he sais he wont finish the season because he hates the standard in cairns. what can we do to keep him here bbecause he is a cool teacher. if he goes what will the club do for a coach?

danielkerr
28 May 2007, 21:18
i spoke to mr steve at school. he sais he wont finish the season because he hates the standard in cairns. what can we do to keep him here bbecause he is a cool teacher. if he goes what will the club do for a coach?

I have to agree, the standard of footy is not all that great, im thinking of heading home to play for nyah in the central murray league, for a bit more of a challenge....

No Heart
29 May 2007, 14:44

Disco19, you and SJ have something in common , spelling . He wont be going anywhere , hes just sold his house and is moving his family up , and besides hes not coming back until Iget up there and have a holiday.:thumbsu:

hayesy_27
29 May 2007, 22:07
I think its a bit harsh saying that Cairns AFL is of a very poor standard. I have just come up to Cairns from down Hampden League one of the strongest in Victoria and have been very impressed with the standard. I came up here with the thought of it being a soft league. Once coming up here it is very challenging, the heat, the humidity through the pre-season and not to mention the speed of every game up here. Its so fast. Cairns AFL is in great shape with some fantastic young locals come up through the junior ranks. I think you are being a bit hard on a league which is about as far as you can get away from footy's home land of Vic. Some great players up here and is a very professional and good standard league.

Sockit151
30 May 2007, 12:37
I have to agree, the standard of footy is not all that great, im thinking of heading home to play for nyah in the central murray league, for a bit more of a challenge....
Well hurry up Mr Kerr, we could use a player of you calibre at the moment!! Once you suspension is over of course!!

Dingo - Alpha
31 May 2007, 11:56
Could any tell me if the following people are still playing footy in Cairns

Ben Meadows
Levi Meadows
Asher Meadows
Nat Bown
Lyle Bown
Richard Manning
Mat Manning
Ryan Haw

Goldenboy
6 Jun 2007, 21:26
Can anyone tell me how Mark Kennedy is going this year, league medal winner last year, but not much has been said after the all the hype going into the 2007 season.

Goldenboy
6 Jun 2007, 21:35
Would be fair to say the mighty hawks will go back-to-back this season, two games clear with a relevantly easy run home and coach Michael (Micky) Purcell has got them playing a good brand of football!

localfootyguru
6 Jun 2007, 23:53
I think its a bit harsh saying that Cairns AFL is of a very poor standard. I have just come up to Cairns from down Hampden League one of the strongest in Victoria and have been very impressed with the standard. I came up here with the thought of it being a soft league. Once coming up here it is very challenging, the heat, the humidity through the pre-season and not to mention the speed of every game up here. Its so fast. Cairns AFL is in great shape with some fantastic young locals come up through the junior ranks. I think you are being a bit hard on a league which is about as far as you can get away from footy's home land of Vic. Some great players up here and is a very professional and good standard league.

As someone that has been around the traps I agree about the high standard of the league. Has certainly come ahead in leaps and bounds and will continue to improve due to the improved popularity and higher participation rates of junior players. Things are looking good for the league which is relatively even as well which is also a bonus.

Third Qtr. Spray
7 Jun 2007, 11:59
Whats the go with the Cutters at the moment? Are they ravaged with injuries or just not quiet up to scratch? When is Angwin due to play again and who are the blokes playing well at the moment? How is Chip Douglas going with the Crocs? Any info would be gr8 as the Cairns AFL website does not have a lot of info on it.

sparra
8 Jun 2007, 11:00
Whats the go with the Cutters at the moment? Are they ravaged with injuries or just not quiet up to scratch? When is Angwin due to play again and who are the blokes playing well at the moment? How is Chip Douglas going with the Crocs? Any info would be gr8 as the Cairns AFL website does not have a lot of info on it.

Was up there on sat and watched cutters play hawks - good standard - Angwin played his first game and played well - hawks are a very well drilled team and move the ball well out of the back line - cutters aren't far of the mark and will improve - their better players were Shaw (FF) Hopgood(W) Jace Kelly (onball) and Angwin who rucked all day - fair crowd, great conditions, great facilities, well run league although umpiring left a little to be desired

Third Qtr. Spray
9 Jun 2007, 12:46
Was up there on sat and watched cutters play hawks - good standard - Angwin played his first game and played well - hawks are a very well drilled team and move the ball well out of the back line - cutters aren't far of the mark and will improve - their better players were Shaw (FF) Hopgood(W) Jace Kelly (onball) and Angwin who rucked all day - fair crowd, great conditions, great facilities, well run league although umpiring left a little to be desired
Thanks Sparra for the info. Will be heading up that way a bit later in the year to have a look at the standard. Maybe around finals time where the best of the footy will be on display. Cheers :thumbsu:

knackers22
12 Jun 2007, 14:00
Didnt Matt Walsh from Saints win it last year as well as kicking 100 goals?

Kennedy won previous year i believe.

Can anyone tell me how Mark Kennedy is going this year, league medal winner last year, but not much has been said after the all the hype going into the 2007 season.

fromthebackline
17 Jun 2007, 00:22
Angwin was best on by a mile today and will only get better. The Cutters didn't play well but still won. They have a fair way to go and need to string a few wins in row together. Saints smashed Port by 15 goals and have picked up three new players, all guns. Hawks took Centrals to the cleaners. Hawks and Saints are the teams to watch. Both sides have spent big, although both say they dont pay their players, laughable really.Was up there on sat and watched cutters play hawks - good standard - Angwin played his first game and played well - hawks are a very well drilled team and move the ball well out of the back line - cutters aren't far of the mark and will improve - their better players were Shaw (FF) Hopgood(W) Jace Kelly (onball) and Angwin who rucked all day - fair crowd, great conditions, great facilities, well run league although umpiring left a little to be desired

acuguy
5 Jul 2007, 01:13
IS Angwin so far gone that he will never tempt recruiters again, i mean the bloke is a massive talent, i guess he may go down with the Cupido's of this world. Does anyone know what happened with Willie Broome in Cairns?

knackers22
9 Jul 2007, 17:57
Matt Walsh again amongst the goals.

Must be one the best forwards to ever play in Cairns surelly?

Poiderr
10 Jul 2007, 11:16
Matt Walsh again amongst the goals.

Must be one the best forwards to ever play in Cairns surelly?
Steve Shaw for the Cutters looks a treat aswell, another 8 on the weekend.

No Heart
11 Jul 2007, 16:01
Steve Shaw for the Cutters looks a treat aswell, another 8 on the weekend.

Speaking to the great SJ last night , and was shocked to here about Lawrie and his team mate , must have been a fair hit . Great to see shawry playing well and the Cutters traveling along okay at the moment . :thumbsu:

Third Qtr. Spray
17 Jul 2007, 17:54
Heard a rumour about the Saints coach (Mark Kennedy) getting thrown out of a pub the other night for having a go at a couple of blokes from the cutters while he was blind spastic drunk. Also had a crack at a few of his own blokes which is pretty shit on his behalf. Not very professional to be spastic and then mouthing off at your own players. Is this the norm up there or is it just a one off incident. I heard this league was better than that.

Swooper 33
18 Jul 2007, 22:22
Is it true Matt Walsh will be heading back to his hometown of Kyabram to take up the coaching role in 2008.

Wear The Fox Hat
19 Jul 2007, 17:34
Is it true Matt Walsh will be heading back to his hometown of Kyabram to take up the coaching role in 2008.

Walsy 10 just got himself engaged up in Cairns and from what hes told me he wont be going anywhere in a real hurry , hes happy as larry. :thumbsu:

hayesy_27
21 Jul 2007, 11:12
Yep herd same thing. Captain of a great club sitting second at the moment why go anywhere else

ace10
29 Jul 2007, 12:37
I don't think Walshy will be going anywhere either. I've heard the Kyabram rumour also, but I've heard from a friend of a friend who is up in Cairns that he has just bought a place up there. Don't think he would be up to playing in the Goulburn Valley League anyway.

Johny Utah
31 Jul 2007, 10:35
Heard a rumour about the Saints coach (Mark Kennedy) getting thrown out of a pub the other night for having a go at a couple of blokes from the cutters while he was blind spastic drunk. Also had a crack at a few of his own blokes which is pretty shit on his behalf. Not very professional to be spastic and then mouthing off at your own players. Is this the norm up there or is it just a one off incident. I heard this league was better than that.

Get ur facts right before u post ur slander.

This is CLASSIC TALL POPPY SYDNROME.

I have known Kenno for 15 yrs & have never seen him throw a punch coz it isn't in his nature.

He is A gun player & coach..his record speaks for itself.
I have been out on the piss with him many times & he is a love not a fighter.

Kenno was the victim of an unprovoked cheap shot from an opposition player who popped him after he said hello. Clearly this hero was after Kenno's scalp...WELL DONE.

As for him abusing his own players that is apsolute crap.

Third Qtr. Spray
31 Jul 2007, 12:24
Get ur facts right before u post ur slander.

This is CLASSIC TALL POPPY SYDNROME.

I have known Kenno for 15 yrs & have never seen him throw a punch coz it isn't in his nature.

He is A gun player & coach..his record speaks for itself.
I have been out on the piss with him many times & he is a love not a fighter.

Kenno was the victim of an unprovoked cheap shot from an opposition player who popped him after he said hello. Clearly this hero was after Kenno's scalp...WELL DONE.

As for him abusing his own players that is apsolute crap.

Well now, let us get our facts right as you put it.

I did not question his ability as a player or a coach.

You say you have been out with him on many occasions but were you with him on the night in question?

So he just said "HELLO" and this bloke belted him you reckon. Does not sound right to me, but if you "WERE" there and know the truth then who am I to argue. I only heard this from someone that "CLAIMED" they werethere.

Could not believe this when I heard it, as I don't think he would be that unprofessional, so just wanted some clarification.

Cheers:thumbsu:

Johny Utah
31 Jul 2007, 14:42
Well now, let us get our facts right as you put it.

I did not question his ability as a player or a coach.

You say you have been out with him on many occasions but were you with him on the night in question?

So he just said "HELLO" and this bloke belted him you reckon. Does not sound right to me, but if you "WERE" there and know the truth then who am I to argue. I only heard this from someone that "CLAIMED" they werethere.

Could not believe this when I heard it, as I don't think he would be that unprofessional, so just wanted some clarification.

Cheers:thumbsu:

I was not there but I wish i had been & know someone who was there on the night.My information is rock solid.

The bloke who popped him was drinking with a saints player & Kenno said hello to both of them.. & the hero told Kenno to fcuk off .
Kenno asked him what his problem was & then was punched.
Then the bouncers intervened & ejected both of them.

hayesy_27
1 Aug 2007, 00:35
With 5 weeks to go till finals. What are ur predictions on the top 4 and who will win the premiership in the seniors and the reserves
?

No Heart
1 Aug 2007, 16:46
I don't think Walshy will be going anywhere either. I've heard the Kyabram rumour also, but I've heard from a friend of a friend who is up in Cairns that he has just bought a place up there. Don't think he would be up to playing in the Goulburn Valley League anyway.

From what Ive heard , Walshy would be a gun in GVFL .:thumbsu:

Cutterboy
6 Aug 2007, 16:37
With 5 weeks to go till finals. What are ur predictions on the top 4 and who will win the premiership in the seniors and the reserves
?

Well ive been watching the footy the last few weeks and i predict Manunda Hawks to play South Cairns in the grand final. Manunda & Souths have players coming back each week and will peak at the right time.
In the B's, Ccentrals will win as they will have a strong reserves side late in the season. They always do.

big tony
9 Aug 2007, 10:34
will matt sharp(south cairns) win the league medal?

forty one
9 Aug 2007, 19:19

No one goes back to Ky when they have left. Mongrel of a club.

fromthebackline
10 Aug 2007, 17:38
No one goes back to Ky when they have left. Mongrel of a club.
Matt Sharp to win the league medal, will go close. Each time I have seen him he has been best on. Walshy will probably win the goal kicking but it will be close with Shaw from Souths right there. This incident with Kennedy at the night club, guys leave it alone it was no big deal and the people concern in the incident are all goods blokes, so there must be more to it than that but lets stick to talking footy and no go slandering others. This site is not designed for sh*t comments.

Hawks are still favourites but I think Saints will give it a shake and wouldn't write Souths off, they will have a few things up there sleeve with their coach. :thumbsu::rolleyes:

Creeker35
13 Aug 2007, 14:10
Can someone please tell me whatever happened to Souths Balaclava? Played with them many years ago. Are they now known as South Cairns or did they fold or merge? The other clubs played against are still there such as Norths, Centrals & City. Some feedback would be appreciated.

fromthebackline
14 Aug 2007, 15:39
Can someone please tell me whatever happened to Souths Balaclava? Played with them many years ago. Are they now known as South Cairns or did they fold or merge? The other clubs played against are still there such as Norths, Centrals & City. Some feedback would be appreciated.

It was around the mid 80's when Sth Cairns and Balaclava merged. One team had the players and no money and the other had the money and no players, this is what bought about the merger and the team today is known as South Cairns. Hope this has been helpfull. You can get updates from the League web site. Simply go to AFL Cairns and follow the prompts.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Rednecknow
14 Aug 2007, 15:43
Slightly off topic here but i have been told there is a womens footy comp in Cairns. Anyone seen a game or two to comment.

hayesy_27
14 Aug 2007, 17:35
yeah its played during the summer with most games at night time i think. North Cairns are a dominant force and have a few girl in the state and national team i think.

Creeker35
14 Aug 2007, 17:39
It was around the mid 80's when Sth Cairns and Balaclava merged. One team had the players and no money and the other had the money and no players, this is what bought about the merger and the team today is known as South Cairns. Hope this has been helpfull. You can get updates from the League web site. Simply go to AFL Cairns and follow the prompts.:thumbsu::thumbsu:
Some more homework may have to be done here "fromthebackline" as the team I played for was Souths Balaclava(one team) and checking website I see they had some success as single entity into the 90's before they disappear. One can only assume they may have been renamed South Cairns? Thanks anyhow, maybe you can ask the question of some locals?:thumbsu:

fromthebackline
15 Aug 2007, 22:38
Some more homework may have to be done here "fromthebackline" as the team I played for was Souths Balaclava(one team) and checking website I see they had some success as single entity into the 90's before they disappear. One can only assume they may have been renamed South Cairns? Thanks anyhow, maybe you can ask the question of some locals?:thumbsu:

Yeah you are correct to a point. The merger and name was sth balaclava but the club became Sth Cairns this was done agreement for I think it was three years and the both teams that merged decided to just call it Sth Cairns. Hope this clears it up for you. :thumbsu:

Cutterboy
16 Aug 2007, 13:45
no merger. The club just moved to the growing areas. They were at Cazalys.

Yeah you are correct to a point. The merger and name was sth balaclava but the club became Sth Cairns this was done agreement for I think it was three years and the both teams that merged decided to just call it Sth Cairns. Hope this clears it up for you. :thumbsu:

Cutterboy
16 Aug 2007, 13:48
The girls have a very storng comp played over summer. 2 Cairns girls recently toured Ireland with Aust. Jo Butland is Captain of Aust I see.

quote=Rednecknow;8407066]Slightly off topic here but i have been told there is a womens footy comp in Cairns. Anyone seen a game or two to comment.[/quote]

Creeker35
16 Aug 2007, 16:59
no merger. The club just moved to the growing areas. They were at Cazalys.
Just a name change then? We used to wear red & white like old South Melbourne. At least I know who my "old" side is now.:thumbsu:

Swooper 33
21 Aug 2007, 14:26
Is there a Andrew Seriakowski playing in Cairns

ace10
21 Aug 2007, 15:01
Yeah Sierakowski is playing at Centrals. Has had a pretty good year.

I see Matt Walsh is on 94 goals, is that a good effort for the Cairns League? How would he go down here in Vic in the division one leagues?

DCdog
22 Aug 2007, 10:43
Matt Walsh would go well in the division one leagues down in Vic. He has already represented the VCFL and Queensland country at state championships. He is quick, very good leap, strong hands and a good kick. I'd imagine his opponents in div 1 leagues may be tougher, however he has still had some good opponents up here.

No Heart
26 Aug 2007, 00:02
Matt Walsh would go well in the division one leagues down in Vic. He has already represented the VCFL and Queensland country at state championships. He is quick, very good leap, strong hands and a good kick. I'd imagine his opponents in div 1 leagues may be tougher, however he has still had some good opponents up here.

Walsh has been bagged down in Vic , but after speaking to the great SJ he will get a game in any side in the GVFL . :thumbsu:

No Heart
26 Aug 2007, 00:07
will matt sharp(south cairns) win the league medal?

Matty Sharp is a gun Big Tony , I only hope he stays at the cutters where he is respected as a player and a great bloke and the coaches love him. :thumbsu:

tigerjack
28 Aug 2007, 18:15
Matty Sharp is a gun Big Tony , I only hope he stays at the cutters where he is respected as a player and a great bloke and the coaches love him. :thumbsu:

Absolute champion footballer and an even bigger champion bloke hope to see him around for a while to come

the bird man
29 Aug 2007, 19:23
can someone tell me if jimmy hopgood plays in this league