View Full Version : Capricornia league
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Sep 2007, 00:36
Any chance of players getting drafted from this comp this year?
Glenmore may have had some A grade players yesterday but at least their players were not stolen from other Capricornian Football Clubs. It cost Glenmore nothing for their Premiership, that can't be said for the Panthers.
Stolen? You are a total muppet. The other clubs (Brothers and Yeppoon especially) only have themselves to blame for not retaining players with their poor culture. Besides, only a few Panthers players were from other clubs. Do you forget the fact that a few years ago, these very same clubs, green with envy at Panthers success this year, poached Panthers best players, leaving the club in deep shit? Short memories eh? I suppose that you think that Panthers pay their players. With what I ask? The jealousy among the other Rocky clubs is laughable at the moment.
Any chance of players getting drafted from this comp this year?
No idea, but there are some good junior players out there, Boyne Island and Gladstone are producing really good talent, they're probably the pick of the crop overall.
So here's the scores:
A grade:
Panthers:..............16.9.(105)
BITS:....................13.5.(83)
Clint Ennis scored 7 goals for Panthers, Liam Kronk getting BOG for the game. Panthers were behind at 3 qtr time, but exploded with a 7 goal to 2 final quarter to seal the win. Scott Muller carried BITS' attack with 8 goals.
Reserve grade:
Glenmore Bulls:.........10.6.(66)
Panthers:.................6.10(46)
Glenmore led at every break, but Panthers failed to take their opportunities in the third, then Glenmore ran away in the last.
U17:
Glenmore Bulls:...........12.8.(80)
BITS:........................3.7.(25)
BITS U17's were supreme the whole year, thrashing Glenmore a couple of weeks ago, but fell over badly at the final hurdle. Glenmore says thankyou very much to BITS.
U15:
Gladstone Mudcrabs:.....6.9.(45)
BITS:.........................4.6.(30)
U13:
Gladstone Mudcrabs:.....17.6.(108)
BITS:..........................0.0.(0)
Ouch, now that's comprehensive. Gladstone appear to have some really good kids coming through the ranks.
Also significant is that BITS made 4 grand finals on the day and lost all of them, quite a change for the team that expects trophies every year.
CQTiger
15 Mar 2008, 23:13
Good wrap of the year as it was in 2007 Herb. Pity I just found the thread. More info then the AFL Cap website. Bring on the new season 5/4/08
Cheers mate, I'll be continuing on this thread for the upcoming season, not long until the opening bounce now. April 5 is when round one brings us back to local footy. There'll be a grand final rematch between Panthers and BITS at the Rockhampton Cricket Grounds where Panthers will unfurl the '07 flag. Should be a cracker. Plenty of teams have recruited strongly, so the word is, so the league should be more competitive this year. Heard that Brothers were chasing good players from all over the country for this year so that'll be interesting.
lion_39
20 Mar 2008, 19:42
Congratulations to Zac Smith on making the 33-man QLD Scorpions Squad. Great to see Capricornia represented.
stmookeyj
21 Mar 2008, 15:26
Congratulations to Zac Smith on making the 33-man QLD Scorpions Squad. Great to see Capricornia represented.
I spent 5 minutes on him in a game last year. Probably needed to add a little weight to his frame but height is his biggest asset.
CQTiger
21 Mar 2008, 19:16
Brother website have a link to the 2008 draw to download
http://www.sportingpulse.com/pics/51/55/5155352_firstfileFILE.pdf
stmookeyj
22 Mar 2008, 00:00
Brother website have a link to the 2008 draw to download
http://www.sportingpulse.com/pics/51/55/5155352_firstfileFILE.pdf
I was hoping you'd give me the draw personally mail....
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
22 Mar 2008, 03:06
How are panthers looking this year, brothers were shocklingly bad last year, hopefully this year they can be a bit stronger, overall, it should be a good season.
CQTiger
22 Mar 2008, 16:57
I was hoping you'd give me the draw personally mail....
those color cartridges are too expensive to print too many copies :)
thedaz47
26 Mar 2008, 15:06
herbs, apparently rusty has gone... any truth to this?
thedaz47
26 Mar 2008, 19:10
Rumours around the traps suggest they're paying looking at paying players to come up from Victoria, dunno where they'd get the cash though, this is not a professional league, I'm not even sure that paying players would be a good idea, what would their teammates (who aren't getting paid) think of that? But that rumour could be a load of shit, who knows?
haha, may i remind everyone that this comment comes from a panthers player. roflcopter
thedaz47
26 Mar 2008, 19:20
Gladstone Mudcrabs:.....17.12.(114)
Yeppoon Swans:...........6.8.(44)
Yeppoon smashed. Questions will be asked about the brawl that happened, apparently Yeppoon supporters were baying for some fights, and decided that the Gladstone bench was a good target to start with, then it all went downhill. Not sure about some of the other details, but ugly incidents seem to follow Yeppoon around.......
FYI, my mail has it that a player got sent off from gladstone and then wes hawke's dad had a go at him. to keep it short they were exchanging words and i believe that hawky's dad might have crossed the spectator exclusion line and got a bit too close. then a gladstone player ran from the centre square and crash tackled him, starting the fight. ricky windridge (sent off player) got a few and nathan steff (crash tackler) got 30. it was his first game back after 16 weeks off for deliberate contact with an umpire so his record def wasn't in his favour.
not sure of the accuracy but that's what i've heard.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
26 Mar 2008, 19:23
FYI, my mail has it that a player got sent off from gladstone and then wes hawke's dad had a go at him. to keep it short they were exchanging words and i believe that hawky's dad might have crossed the spectator exclusion line and got a bit too close. then a gladstone player ran from the centre square and crash tackled him, starting the fight. ricky windridge (sent off player) got a few and nathan steff (crash tackler) got 30. it was his first game back after 16 weeks off for deliberate contact with an umpire so his record def wasn't in his favour.
Sounds colourful, needless to say.
haha, may i remind everyone that this comment comes from a panthers player. roflcopter
Hey mate, what are ya trying to say? As for Rusty, first I've heard of that rumour, guess I'll find out for myself.
thedaz47
27 Mar 2008, 10:27
well it's just the first that i have heard of us playing players... on the other hand, every club except panthers knows what goes on over there 'mate'.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
27 Mar 2008, 17:32
Should be up in rocky to see the opening round next week with Panthers taking on BITS. One of my mates plays for panthers so normally he kept me in the loop when he was playing and whatnot, this year its good to get a hard copy of the draw. Should be a great rematch of last years Grand Final.
well it's just the first that i have heard of us playing players... on the other hand, every club except panthers knows what goes on over there 'mate'.
Nice attitude you're bringing here. As for paying players, the president of Brothers appeared on Win news last year and SAID TO THE CAMERA that they were looking at the idea of semi professionalism/paying players. So don't come on here and accuse me of making shit up on the spot. But yeah, you're ultimately right, my next mail order Russian bride is being sponsored by the club, gee it's so great having all these deals.*
*In case you haven't got it figured, I'm taking the piss here.:)
thedaz47
28 Mar 2008, 10:07
believe what you want bloke, we aren't the ones that hold the juniors on a friday night three out of four weeks... that's a lot of canteen money coming in that no other club gets (except yeppoon once a month), and you must admit that it's interesting that what 5 players all decided to change clubs to panthers one off-season. peter penai was rumoured to have told people he was better off playing for panthers cos it paid better than comets... seeing as comets had a winning bonus which he clearly never got. i've also heard that cronky got 'fuel money' and that rusty and smarty's clearance were paid, which considering the time that they were at our club and the number of seasons i wouldn't be surprised if they didn't pay that could be quite a lot too.
kinda like chris judd starting work for dick pratt, it's still extra money he wouldn't have gotten at wce.
*edit: chis being flown back for finals too?
I'm impressed, that's some excellent rumourmongering. I have to say that I've never seen such petty jealousy- not since primary school anyway. How about we just get to some footy?
Teams will have their respective pre season games this Saturday then it'll be all on the following weekend.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
28 Mar 2008, 18:01
I'm impressed, that's some excellent rumourmongering. I have to say that I've never seen such petty jealousy- not since primary school anyway. How about we just get to some footy?
Teams will have their respective pre season games this Saturday then it'll be all on the following weekend.
How is panthers shaping up this year? Will they still be as strong as they were last year? Any young guns coming through?
Looking ok so far, it'll be harder this year, being the hunted (and having the undefeated 2007), but should still be up there. Picked up a couple of players as well so we're pretty happy. There's some good young players coming up too, but they might spend a bit more time in the ressies like last year. See what happens.
CQTiger
31 Mar 2008, 21:47
were any practice games played on weekend??
Not sure about the other sides, but Panthers played an intraclub game, 2 full sides pretty much, tried out some new ideas, you know, the usual preseason stuff.
thedaz47
1 Apr 2008, 12:16
brothers played in boyne and took a full side down. score wasn't kept but boyne got up, not by 250. plenty of good signs to come out from the game and it looks that we are in a far better position than the same time last year... will be good to see what happens this weekend against glenmore, i work with one of the glenmore boys so bragging rites will last a while for whoever wins.
stitty11
1 Apr 2008, 14:09
Howdy all.
Counting down the minutes until the first bounce...... Go the roos.
thedaz47
1 Apr 2008, 14:15
Howdy all.
homo fag... except not. good to see some brothers players on here, maybe we can try and stop the propagation of bs stemming from certain posts.
stitty11
1 Apr 2008, 14:20
homo fag... except not. good to see some brothers players on here, maybe we can try and stop the propagation of bs stemming from certain posts.
Lol intehdeed. Better not get done for trolling huh daz.
By the way all you brothers fans out there head to http://footy.castitt.com/ :thumbsu:
peace
thedaz47
1 Apr 2008, 14:25
if i get banned for trolling it will only be because i am a troll... and post deliberately inflammatory posts to insight argument (brothers are crap, brothers wanna pay players, the brothers reserves are only worth playing for an easy hitout before finals, brothers should fold/merge etc) which are usually not based on truth. oh i am such a troll.
btw my pokemon yellow still hasn't arrived off ebay, not pleased.
Howdy all.
Strewth another Richmond supporter in Rocky-I thought I was the only one.
Go the Tigers-we will smash Collingwood on Sunday
stitty11
1 Apr 2008, 14:27
Strewth another Richmond supporter in Rocky-I thought I was the only one.
Go the Tigers-we will smash Collingwood on Sunday
haha yeah go the tigers. Your not working to hard now are you mail? That's assuming that is mail.
stitty11
1 Apr 2008, 14:29
if i get banned for trolling it will only be because i am a troll... and post deliberately inflammatory posts to insight argument (brothers are crap, brothers wanna pay players, the brothers reserves are only worth playing for an easy hitout before finals, brothers should fold/merge etc) which are usually not based on truth. oh i am such a troll.
btw my pokemon yellow still hasn't arrived off ebay, not pleased.
Fair enough to. Brothers are the bomb! every team has a time when they are down and out. Just think back oooooo about 3 years ago?
thedaz47
1 Apr 2008, 14:37
doubt it is mailman or he would have known you followed them stitty. lost all faith in richmond after this weekend... only got5/8 in the tips... pies by 5 goals imo.
stitty11
1 Apr 2008, 14:49
Yeah thats what i just thought. but read an earlier post and mick thought it was mail as well. Anywho, buy players? lol
thedaz47
1 Apr 2008, 14:59
i bought a heap of players this offseason in supercoach... does that count? marc murphy = gold...
haha yeah go the tigers. Your not working to hard now are you mail? That's assuming that is mail.
Dont assume anything:rolleyes:
stitty11
1 Apr 2008, 15:11
I bought jonothan brown... cost like 400 thousand.. thats spare change really.
Well i will find out if that is mail or not in a few days time.
fromthebackline
2 Apr 2008, 23:25
Dont assume anything:rolleyes:
Tigers, yeah what a joke, more like pussy cats. They will finish second bottom another poor year for them. The only good thing about that will be finally they will get rid of Terry Wallace. He has got to be the most over rated coach in the past 20 years. I mean, as a coach what real success has he had. Virtually none. For the tigers fans sake I hope this does happen as they have a great club and tradition down there at tigerland. Wallace move aside and bring back Sheedy. Now there's a thought. Would Sheedy do any better than Wallace. The answer is simple,.. yes. If Sheedy had been with the tigers over the past few years they would be in a far better position than they are today. Yep that's it for mine, Sheedy is the man.:thumbsu::)
gee I thought this was AFLCap thread. If I wanted to read about Tiger bashing I'd go to the Essendon or Carlton forums where I think you should head.
I hope your team does well with their new coach (another ex Richmond champion)
Well Panthers played like absolute crap yesterday, in A's and ressies, so we've got some work to do. But credit to Boyne, they turned up with a purpose and played very well. The word is that Gladstone beat Yeppoon and that Glenmore beat Brothers. Will post scores and confirmation tomorrow.
aaron_barrett1980
6 Apr 2008, 22:52
What happened Herbs, Boyne looking good or did you boys just have a bad day. Saturdays paper said they had picked up 10 players.
must be premiership hangover:rolleyes:
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
7 Apr 2008, 00:04
Any brawls to report
thedaz47
7 Apr 2008, 10:42
small scrap in brothers v glenmore game. didn't appear to be a great deal of clean hits and it didn't escalate... hardly worth reporting
aaron_barrett1980
7 Apr 2008, 12:39
Gladstone vs Yeppoon was a great game played in great spirit by both clubs. It was a credit to both clubs for the proffesionalism shown and I suppose some restraint too. It does seem as though both clubs are heading in the right direction for the good of the game. Lets hope it stays that way!!!!!!!!1
What happened Herbs, Boyne looking good or did you boys just have a bad day. Saturdays paper said they had picked up 10 players.
Bit from column a, bit from b. We were ordinary, didn't have enough run and got smashed in most places around the ground. But Boyne really were on it, looks like they've been training hard since last year's granny and will be right up there (not that that should be a surprise) Yeah sure, we've lost a couple of players, but that's not the point, we should've been better.
So here's some scores:
BITS: 18.9.117
Panthers:8.3.51
Gladstone: 11.9.75
Yeppoon: 10.12.72
Glenmore: 17.17.119
Brothers: 7.10.52
Quick turnaround to round 2, this weekend. Panthers play Yeppoon at the Rocky Cricket grounds, BITS vs Glenmore down at Boyne Island and Brothers vs Gladstone at Kele Park.
:thumbsu:
thedaz47
7 Apr 2008, 17:31
full credit to boyne though herbs... i know your a panthers player so you will probably be more concerned with what you guys did wrong... but boyne look to be in some good form, we played them last week in a practice game and a lot of their kids look to be in great form. unfortunately i read in the paper today a lot about how panthers lost. yeah but boyne also won if you get my drift, though we already know that the bulletin lacks competent or professional contributors so that is no surprise.
do you have yeppoon next week? that could be a very good game too.
aaron_barrett1980
7 Apr 2008, 17:47
at least the bulliten had right scores and results should have seen the Gladstone Observer said bits played yeppoon aswell as muddies playing yeppoon. All in the 1 article mind you, scores wrong players names wrong, would be nice to get some comprehensive and CORRECT results from our local media!!! Ha I suppose we can keep dreaming right.
thedaz47
8 Apr 2008, 09:55
haha, best bet would be to get on here for your scores... herbs generally seems to get them right. maybe a little panthers biased at times but at least he doesn't do a 3/4 page write up on them while what sounds like a cracking game between yeppoon and gladdy barely gets a mention. i'm sure at times they would be able to get a more comprehensive wrap of the afl from their bogus 'sms the editor' column than what this alan kennedy guys produces at times.
aaron_barrett1980
8 Apr 2008, 12:41
tips for aflcap games this week
A-Grade
GLADSTONE vs brothers
BOYNE ISLAND vs glenmore
PANTHERS vs yeppoon
Reserves
GLADSTONE vs brothers
boyne island vs GLENMORE
panthers vs YEPPOON
aaron_barrett1980
8 Apr 2008, 12:43
Oh yeah Gladstone to go unbeaten in the 15's all year. Man we got some good kids coming through here.
which teams are shown in photo on AFLcap (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-3393-0-0-0&sID=56347&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5282277§ionID=56347)site?
full credit to boyne though herbs... i know your a panthers player so you will probably be more concerned with what you guys did wrong... but boyne look to be in some good form, we played them last week in a practice game and a lot of their kids look to be in great form. unfortunately i read in the paper today a lot about how panthers lost. yeah but boyne also won if you get my drift, though we already know that the bulletin lacks competent or professional contributors so that is no surprise.
do you have yeppoon next week? that could be a very good game too.
Yeah of course, Boyne look to be strong in both A's and ressies, hell, I was rucking (first time ever in the ruck- quite a learning experience) for a while in the ressies game against a Boyne bloke who regularly plays in the A's. You can tell that Boyne have had a really focused and intense preseason.
The game against Yeppoon will be interesting in both grades, it really should be a cracker. As for the Bully, do any of the journos actually go to any games? I know that Win TV make some appearances, they rocked up to our training session tonight, the lady reporter was a bit of alright.:)
thedaz47
9 Apr 2008, 09:30
no i'm pretty sure that if all the clubs wanted to play a trick then they could have alan kennedy believe that brothers beat gladdy by 300 next week after we miraculously recruited chris judd and jon brown who kicked 40 goals between them. i dare say he just rings people from each club to get his story... too busy with nrl to worry about getting the story right i dare say.
haha in the ruck? how tall are you? ol don palmer comes out with some crackers hey, i was in the ruck for brothers a bit last year and barely top 180cm. needless to say at the presentation night opposition ruckmen took top votes in two of those three games i think.
aaron_barrett1980
9 Apr 2008, 11:37
Now I have the same opinion, they are SUPPOSED to be sports reporters but they only get info from clubs rather then getting off their buts and getting down to the games (even if it is only the match of the round) and actually do some real journalism. Must say though coverage of AFL has been getting better over the years compared to what it used to, when I first got up to QLD.
Daz,
I'm 6 ft 2 so I wasn't dwarfed in the ruck contests, just takes a bit of getting used to. Considering our collective inexperience on the day with our ruckmen, we did ok in that area. I might start a campaign for Roanne Johnson to cover the Aussie Rules for Win TV, she's pretty bloody hot.:thumbsu: I admit that I've seen a Bully photographer at our games before, but never that Alan Kennedy bloke.
Gymnorhina tibic
9 Apr 2008, 21:32
Gday, just noticed your thread for this year, good stuff, keep it up:thumbsu: will be fronting up for the Swannies reserves this week, will have to let the coach know the opposition have an inexperienced ruckman ;)
aaron_barrett1980
9 Apr 2008, 23:11
Good to see we are starting to get a few people on the thread keep getting the word out guys. Much better for all local footy the more we get on here. By the way we just got the Muddies website up and running for this year go to the sporting pulse homepage for afl capricornia and get the link through there. Let me know what you guys think of it please.
stmookeyj
10 Apr 2008, 00:08
haha in the ruck? how tall are you? ol don palmer comes out with some crackers hey, i was in the ruck for brothers a bit last year and barely top 180cm. needless to say at the presentation night opposition ruckmen took top votes in two of those three games i think.
Well it was either you or me......
Oh yeah Gladstone to go unbeaten in the 15's all year. Man we got some good kids coming through here.
Same with our 17's if they can keep their fingers out of their asses.
which teams are shown in photo on AFLcap (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-3393-0-0-0&sID=56347&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=5282277§ionID=56347)site?
Looks to be a U/18 rep trial photo....
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
10 Apr 2008, 00:46
Whats the best footy oval going around in Capricornia?
aaron_barrett1980
10 Apr 2008, 09:51
Has to be Stenlake Park (Glenmore), although they are all getting better except for the cricket pitch area at Gladstone. Gladstone cricket decided to rip up the pitch then take 3 months to re turf it.
stitty11
10 Apr 2008, 11:46
Has to be Stenlake Park (Glenmore), although they are all getting better except for the cricket pitch area at Gladstone. Gladstone cricket decided to rip up the pitch then take 3 months to re turf it.
Stenlake is alright but i think the best ground would have to be Boyne Island's.
thedaz47
10 Apr 2008, 11:59
Stenlake is alright but i think the best ground would have to be Boyne Island's.
/signed, boyne is the only ground with cars
thedaz47
10 Apr 2008, 12:05
Same with our 17's if they can keep their fingers out of their asses.
Then all we need them to do is play seniors next year instead of disappearing forever
CQTiger
10 Apr 2008, 12:23
Good to see we are starting to get a few people on the thread keep getting the word out guys. Much better for all local footy the more we get on here. By the way we just got the Muddies website up and running for this year go to the sporting pulse homepage for afl capricornia and get the link through there. Let me know what you guys think of it please.
Website is coming together well. Good to see Brothers and Glenmore also updating theirs regularly-what about Panthers' Herbs?
They were going to give me that job, but I think someone else has ended up wih it. I'll probably end up doing it eventually.
stitty11
10 Apr 2008, 15:33
yeah check out footy.castitt.com for the brothers forum... Panthers have their own site outside of aflq. I know the fella that designed it. rockhamptonpanthers.com or something.
CQTiger
10 Apr 2008, 16:59
Brothers forum looks good must have taken awhile to setup and as you say it is good if you can get people to post photos etc on the sites to get everyone interested in revisiting.
I saw the Panthers site which hasn't been updated for over a year which is a pity. :(
It is usually luck of the draw if some one at the club has the time AND expertise to maintain the clubs site so congrats to those doing it and keep it up, it is all goes towards promoting the game in this region.
Gymnorhina tibic
12 Apr 2008, 11:45
Fairly accurate account, I was an eyewitness. Two events that lead up to it were Gladstone sniping Yeppoon's kids (if swans want to stack their A grade with U17's then it's gonna happen), and that idiot umpire Joey not doing anything about it. Yeppoon spectators kept passing the Muddies bench to get to the bar and with every beer got more bravado. Bottom line is swans supporters should have shut their mouth and Gladstone bench should not have gotten physical. Both teams are now still suffering with suspensions at the start of '08.
Noticed last week they have moved the bench! game was played in good spirit but that Joey idiot hasn't changed, only difference is players from both sides have learnt to igore the goose and enjoy the games when he is not involved.
Anyways, I'm off to have a crack at the Panthers, apart from these unfortunate incidents it really is fun! Good luck to all involved 2day:thumbsu:
Ah yes, Joey, everyone loves him............or not. Panthers and Yeppoon played a tight game yesterday, although Panthers kicking for goal was well, woeful. But Panthers managed to pull off the win despite kicking 9 goals 23 behinds, yeah that's right folks, 9.23.:o The ressies game was good value too, Panthers winning that one comfortably in the end. Must I say, it was bloody hot out there, I was ready to die at the end of the ressies game. In the other games, from my mail, Glenmore had a good game against BITS but came up short, while Gladstone beat Brothers. Will post full scores tomorrow.:thumbsu:
aaron_barrett1980
13 Apr 2008, 14:09
Just a question, who is still serving suspension from Yeppoon due to the incident last year? Wes Hawke played last week and if any Yeppoon player should have been suspended it should have been him. He was allready suspended and should have not have been anywhere near our bench or their bench and he was on the field coaching at the breaks. Two week suspended sentance thats was a joke considering we had 1 guy cop 4 weeks for swearing. Yes thats right swearing, no other charge just swearing. You are right though umpires lack of control/action is what caused the events and you are right again in Saturdays game great game both teams played the ball umpiring was again shit but I guess we just have to get used to that.
Unless I'm very much mistaken, Wes Hawke should've been serving a suspension then for his punch on Rusty after we played the Swans in Yeppoon last year when the fracs happened in Gladdy?
But anyway, onto more positive things.
thedaz47
15 Apr 2008, 09:48
He was allready suspended and should have not have been anywhere near our bench or their bench and he was on the field coaching at the breaks.
I was under the impression that a player/coach could still go onto the field to complete their coaching duties while suspended. Look at it as though they are only suspended from playing (which is fair enough imo).
aaron_barrett1980
15 Apr 2008, 11:44
No mate you are not allowed on the field at all, you are not even allowed to run water and anyone with the responsibility of coaching that is involved in altercations like that should automatically lose their coaching accreditation..........But thats just my opinion!!!!!!!!!
Hey by the way were you at the game on Saturday? What was your thoughts on the umpiring? Free kick count 29 to 11 (We had game taped) You guess which way the count went.
aaron_barrett1980
15 Apr 2008, 11:46
Oh by the way you guys seem to have improved a bit from last year. Might sneak a few wins this year if other clubs arnt careful and switched on when they come to play.
thedaz47
15 Apr 2008, 13:17
yeh i was the kid still learning how to play back pocket that went to mick keller (for about half of the first quarter). didn't fare too well but i learnt a bit about where forwards lead... cos he hit space a lot and i will hopefully know for next time.
with regards to the umpiring, we knew we were getting a fair few, but i wouldn't be surprised if it evened up a bit more once you took out a handful of backchat calls against you guys. i know i got one from chergs in the back pocket after he had something to say to the ump about my batting the ball to the boundary.
thedaz47
15 Apr 2008, 13:21
No mate you are not allowed on the field at all, you are not even allowed to run water and anyone with the responsibility of coaching that is involved in altercations like that should automatically lose their coaching accreditation..........But thats just my opinion!!!!!!!!!
tbh i disagree... in such a small league, we are flat out finding coaches and if a player wants to coach then that's both very common and something we should encourage. a suspended player should still be able to take the field at 0.25 and 0.75 time provided they are named as the team's coach imo. i had a chat to ross laycock about it too and must have got the wrong impression from what he was saying cos i thought he was agreeing with me... lol
stitty11
15 Apr 2008, 15:42
Yeah i am the one looking after the brothers forum. It isn't all that difficult. check it once or twice a day and just update it on a sunday night with game news etc. Great place for ppl to discuss the club. It's easy to set up (if you know how).
That would be a first time in a long time that we have had a free for count like that. Shows what keeping quiet can do.:thumbsu:
Sorry about the delay in results, rather busy atm. So here they are.
A grade:
Rockhampton Panthers: 8.23.(71)
Yeppoon Swans: 7.10.(52)
Not too bad a game, but as you could tell, straight kicking was not on the agenda. Panthers get a much needed win after a disappointing opening game. Lyle Clifford had a good game for Panthers, while D. Watkin bagged 3 goals for the Swans.
BITS Saints: 16.7.(103)
Glenmore Bulls: 13.10.(88)
Very good effort from Glenmore to push Boyne all the way, Darren Boase scored 6 goals for the winning Saints while Dean Woosnam kicked 8 goals for the Bulls, fair effort that.
Gladstone Mudcrabs: 15.7.(97)
Brothers Roos: 8.10.(58)
Looks to be encouraging signs for Brothers, seem to be doing better than last year while Gladdy continue their good start to the year.
Reserve grade:
Rockhampton Panthers: 11.14.(80)
Yeppoon Swans: 5.2.(32)
BITS Saints: 16.14.(110)
Glenmore Bulls: 3.4.(22)
Gladstone Mudcrabs:18.11.(119)
Brothers Roos: 3.3.(21)
So there we have it, another quick turnaround to round 3 this coming weekend. Panthers play Brothers at the RCG, Boyne vs Yeppoon down at Boyne Island and Glenmore vs Gladstone at Stenlake Park.
Cheers:thumbsu:
CQTiger
16 Apr 2008, 21:14
Couldn't complain about winTV coverage this week. Footage of the weekends games(well at least Panthers v Yeppoon) last night and and even bigger segment tonight on Glenmore at training. :thumbsu:
Round 3 was completed on Saturday so hre's some scores:
Glenmore Bulls: 13.12.(90)
Gladstone Mudcrabs: 7.8.(50)
Glenmore put in a good performance to down the Muddies comfortably, Dean Woosnam kicked 6 goals for the Bulls to continue his good form in front of the posts.
Rockhampton Panthers: 24.15.(159)
Brothers Roos: 6.7.(43)
Big margin in this one, even though Panthers let up on the pedal at times, but Brothers can take heart that they're a bit more competitive this year. Adam Kaufmann bagged 6 majors on his return to A grade footy while Brett Fragiacomo, Jason Chisholm (among many others) had excellent games.
BITS Saints: 10.15.(75)
Yeppoon Swans: 8.11.(59)
Pretty close result here, Yeppoon has had a tough start to the season, but they'll be happy that they're finally getting a home game in round 4. To run Boyne that close is a decent effort.
Reserve grade:
Glenmore Bulls: 6.10.(46)
Gladstone Mudcrabs: 5.2.(32)
Rockhampton Panthers: 20.14.(134)
Brothers Roos: 3.4.(22)
BITS Saints: 11.13.(79)
Yeppoon Swans: 6.4.(40)
Two week break (edit: actually 3 weeks, but 2 spare weekends inbetween, you know already I'd assume) until round 4, but on Saturday week there'll be a rep game between Capricornia and Wide Bay, though I've got NFI which ground it'll be at.:confused:
thedaz47
21 Apr 2008, 23:27
where did you play herbs?
aaron_barrett1980
22 Apr 2008, 00:17
rep game to be played at Boyne Island.
I played in the ressies up in the forwardline, but only got one goal, should've got one or two more (especially after getting a couple against Yeppoon) but, something to correct for next time.
As for the rep game, I was going to go and check it out, but it being at Boyne, I won't be able to make it because of work most probably. Bugger.
Also, Alan Kennedy has NFI when reporting on any Aussie Rules news, there's so many simple errors in all of his pieces that it's embarrassing. Brent Staker plays for Port Adelaide now?:rolleyes:
thedaz47
23 Apr 2008, 09:55
yeh i'm pretty sure i saw you... provided you have like three different colours in ya hair.
as for alan kennedy, he doesn't write the afl writeups, only that afl cap ones. like everything else in the paper, the national stories are just bought from someone else (usually aap)... making an already skinny paper look even worse. to think it is basically the same price as the courier
CQTiger
23 Apr 2008, 10:06
rep game to be played at Boyne Island.
I thought they'd have it in Rocky but I suppose it is closer for the Wide BAy team to travel to.
As for Alan Kennedy I wonder who supplies him the info and photos on local scene-must be the teams via AFL Cap admin Cant imagine him visiting the games and getting the scoop like Hutchy in Melbourne does:rolleyes: I doubt they ever leave their computers.
thedaz47
23 Apr 2008, 12:19
tbh if he went to any games it would be rugby league. he clearly rings clint evans every week and probably gets his info from frag or someone at afl cap. wouldn't be surprised if he just reads the media sheet lol.
yeh i'm pretty sure i saw you... provided you have like three different colours in ya hair.
as for alan kennedy, he doesn't write the afl writeups, only that afl cap ones. like everything else in the paper, the national stories are just bought from someone else (usually apl)... making an already skinny paper look even worse. to think it is basically the same price as the courier
My hair is black, and only black (not an emo):)
Alan Kennedy did an opinion piece along with that bloke who calls himself "The Guru":o while Ol' Al referred to Staker as playing for Port Adelaide.:rolleyes:
Cq Tiger; They rotate the rep games around the area, I suppose that the next rep game here in 2 years time will be in the Rocky area, next year's will be in the Wide Bay region somewhere, maybe Bundy, last year it was in Hervey Bay if I remember correctly.
stmookeyj
2 May 2008, 16:51
REP SQUAD (apparantly they're playing 22 per half, with 2 of the 22 from the first half being replaced at HT by another 2 which I think is total crap)
PANTHERS: Liam KRONK (Herbs can answer why there aren't more interested....)
BROTHERS: Brad BURNS (depending on work in Biloela), Andrew LONG, Matthew COLEMAN, Steven SMITHWICK (Assistant Coach)
GLENMORE: Toby PAYNE, Shane FOWLER, Greg PIGGOTT, Ben BURNS, Tyson PAYNE, Tim MACKRILL
YEPPOON: Cam WATKINS, Charlie QUERRO, Wes HAWKE (Captain)
BITS: Darren BOASE, Danny ANDERSON, Hayden COLEMAN, Adam DICKENSON (Vice-Captain), Daniel HARVEY, Damon STEBBINGS, Scott MULLER, Alex TOTTEN
GLADSTONE: Aaron BARRETT, Nick STANLEY, Dan TAYLOR
COACH: Al WATKIN
Well, got a couple of blokes injured, Frag is in Brisbane, another couple have work commitments, Butters is off to another bloody wedding then there's a couple who have other places they need to be.
Thats a strange interchange setup
I guess being at BITS a few will find it a long trip and it depends on how you view rep footy and where you are in your footy career.
For the fourth straight year, Capricornia has beaten Bundaberg Wide Bay in the rep game, this time at Boyne Island. The final score being 17.13.(115) to 12.10.(82) Not too sure about this score, going off the paper who can't get their maths right again so it could be different.:rolleyes: Ol' Al Kennedy says 12.10.(70).............:p It could be 10.10.(70). Panthers player Liam Kronk once again shines, picking up BOG for Capricornia. Wide Bay player Corey Goldie bagged 6 goals for his team while leading goalscorer for Capricornia was Glen Piggot with 5.
Back to club footy now with round 4 on Saturday. Been a big break so it'll be ace to get back into it.:)
EDIT: Also there's gonna be a 150 years of Aussie Rules display at Kershaw Gardens in Rocky this weekend, Richard Champion will be there, will be interesting to check out.
stitty11
9 May 2008, 16:00
Al kennedy :thumbsd: had another right up about the panthers game.... but what can you do. Just wish he would get to some other clubs, or at least make some more contacts.
there was a good write up in todays Bully previewing 'rivalry round' tomorrow.
I guess any articles they write virtually have to be supplied ie with text and photos.
They do look for local sport to include but wont go out to get it -you have to give it to them. Of the 3 local teams Panthers seem to be flavour of the year that attract the publicity- a bit like collingwood:thumbsd:
Hey it's not our fault. But anyway, the game between Glenmore and Panthers will be a cracker, unfortunately I won't be lining up in the ressies game due to injury:( But the A grade game will be a good one in particular. Win tv are a bit better than the paper, but at least the game is getting publicity in amongst the league and rah rah shit.
thedaz47
10 May 2008, 09:49
and in fitting with collingwood they claim to have nothing to do with it... it's a very biased rag and surely he could do a write up on glenmore especially (they are travelling well this year) every now and then. from a brother's point of view i feel like he has something against us, cos the one game panthers haven't had a big writeup on was against us. brothers definitely get the rough end of the stick with regards to media.
So with that logic, Brothers are the masters of the victim mentality?;)
But anyway, I digress, Today Panthers just got up over Glenmore by a few points while Gladstone have upset BITS which is rather interesting. Dunno how the Yeppoon-Brothers game went, except they might have had fun on Swan Park with the extra dodgy new turf they've just put down. So it looks like the competition is really evening up.
CQTiger
11 May 2008, 10:22
Bit of a whitewash at yeppoon with Hawkey getting 11 goals Swannies must have had home ground advantage and knew where all the dodgy turf was:rolleyes:. Ground was in a pretty bad state after those idiots had done burnouts on most of the surface:mad:, The centre had to be moved sideways about 20 metres . Alot of money was spent repairing it but the weather at the time prevented the lawn from seeding properly.