View Full Version : Capricornia league

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

Gymnorhina tibic
11 May 2008, 19:02
Swans won by a lazy 215 points.

thedaz47
12 May 2008, 09:56
brothers reserves with a disappointing turnout, meaning 8-9 players had to play two games. hopefully we don't end up with a season similar to last year after this loss.

hawkey was taking the ball at the top of his leap every time. the whole forward line were leading away opening up the 50 for him and he was receiving excellent delivery. he could have easily kicked more but was quite the team player. our fullback kept trying all day, but hawkey would have done the same against any team with the delivery and forward line setup he had, quite the player... anyone who knows how to stop him (legally) it would be greatly appreciated.

aaron_barrett1980
15 May 2008, 00:36
Cant stop Hawkey if he's switched on mentally, have to shut down the Yeppoon midfield, but then if the Watkin boys and Johno are switched on you might have trouble doing that. The only time I've seen Hawkey play a bad game is when he's not out there worrying about playing football, but other than that it comes down to the amount of footy he gets inside forward 50. You beat their midfield Hawkey comes out of the forward line and goes in the middle so thats your best bet. But then you have him in the middle so its kinda lose lose. Just have to hope you catch Yeppoon on a bad day and perhaps away from home. I think they'll be alot stronger at home than away this year.

aaron_barrett1980
15 May 2008, 00:39
Big game this week Herbs hey. Are you playing if so what number you wear so I can know who I'm talking to on here. Both a grade sides coming off tough wins should be a great game, I'm really looking forward to it!!!!!

Gymnorhina tibic
15 May 2008, 22:18
Cant stop Hawkey if he's switched on mentally, have to shut down the Yeppoon midfield, but then if the Watkin boys and Johno are switched on you might have trouble doing that. The only time I've seen Hawkey play a bad game is when he's not out there worrying about playing football, but other than that it comes down to the amount of footy he gets inside forward 50. You beat their midfield Hawkey comes out of the forward line and goes in the middle so thats your best bet. But then you have him in the middle so its kinda lose lose. Just have to hope you catch Yeppoon on a bad day and perhaps away from home. I think they'll be alot stronger at home than away this year.
7 of the last 11 are Yeppoon home games. Heaps at training tonight - players are missing out in the reserves and no double-ups which I have never seen before in my time at the Swans. Real sense of feeling at the club and I would say the only thing holding them back is the younger bodies holding up for a whole season against the hard hits from older blokes.

Herbs
17 May 2008, 19:35
Big game this week Herbs hey. Are you playing if so what number you wear so I can know who I'm talking to on here. Both a grade sides coming off tough wins should be a great game, I'm really looking forward to it!!!!!

I didn't play today, back's still rooted so I dunno when I'll be back, I rocked up to watch the 2nd half of the ressies and the A grade game after work, I was walking around in an orange railway shirt. To the game, Panthers won the A grade game with a pretty good performance, though credit to Gladdy, they didn't lie down and they'll be there come finals time. Panthers ressies side was severely undermanned and we've got a couple more ressies players injured so that sucks big time, ended up losing by 60 odd points or something. Gladstone ressies did play a good game though so they'll be happy. Dunno how the other games have ended up as of yet.

Gymnorhina tibic
17 May 2008, 20:11
Glenmore by 1 point, came out firing and were 8 goals up at 1/4 time so Swans won 3 of the 4 quarters. Can't remember the final score but I think swans were 9.17 so I might be biased but the Bulls got away with one there. Congrats to both sides who gave an entertaining game. Bulls reserves won by about 7 goals but the game was more even than it sounds as they had a howling wind go their way in the last (not an excuse, Bullls were the better team over 4 quarters).

thedaz47
19 May 2008, 09:50
write up in today's paper was epic fail.

sorry herb's but a one point win always deserves a write up, not to be just tagged on at the end. without a doubt the glenmore/yeppoon result was more newsworthy than the panthers/gladdy game and we lost again so that's becoming old news unfortunately. headline definitely should have been bulls in a thriller or even yeppoon squanders opportunity, not panthers beat gladstone by a margin which isn't really big or small. good win to all three teams, but alan kennedy might end up with a flaming shit on his doorstep this week... i don't know about others but his bias towards panthers (whether you guys do anything to get it or not) is becoming more than a bit ridiculous imo. i mean ffs if nothing else there were two rocky teams played in yeppoon and only one at rcg, so he can't even claim that it's to do with the area teams come from.

also, what happened to your reports herb's? they weren't too bad

stitty11
19 May 2008, 15:12
Yeah that glenmore game sounds like a great game to watch.

And in regards to the paper...... I know we lost by a bit in the end, but it was not a whitewash like the paper says. we stuck it to them for most of the game and probably laid back in the 3rd quarter when we should have stuck it to them a bit more. Was still a great game and should help as we had fantastic numbers.

CQTiger
20 May 2008, 20:09
It's systematic throughout the media with WIN TV giving all coverage to Panthers v Muddies game tonight. Brothers will hopefully get some coverage next week with the only Rocky game being Glenmore v Brothers. Cant imagine WIN TV going to Boyne Is even though BITS v Panthers is match of the round. We will see:rolleyes:

thedaz47
21 May 2008, 09:35
where do you play cqtiger? have to keep an eye lid peeled for fellow time wasters on here this weekend.

CQTiger
21 May 2008, 10:40
I guess I should come clean as I know all of you guys and seen you play.(Those yellow boots stand out) I am the guy in orange waving flags between the goal posts (dont hold that against me) Too old to play but still like to be involved. Missed last weekend as went to MCG to see Tigers lose to Cats in 9 degrees and raining:thumbsd:.

thedaz47
21 May 2008, 16:51
haha yes they do stand out well, not unlike the clangers that come from them :D

Herbs
21 May 2008, 18:43
I'm finally back with a functioning computer so I'll be getting more indepth with match reports and all from now on. As for Monday's article, I'll agree, the other sides do deserve a writeup but I think it shows how much effort (or lack thereof) Ol' Al wants to put in.

Gymnorhina tibic
21 May 2008, 22:05
Yeppoon tried to get a media rep this year but no-one put their hand up, I would hope if we sent a decent write up they would print it? Don't know the bloke who does the reports or even what makes Win choose the game they cover but I guess Panthers put the most effort in this area and get the rewards. Having said that, there was a quote from the coaches there so he obviosly got more than just the scores:cool:

stmookeyj
22 May 2008, 00:21
Not only does Kennedy not put in, we've only had the junior results printed for the last 2 rounds as well. Congrats to our 17's for actually beating BITS. And I've come up with sledge of the season about catching Al Watkin having played 4 in the middle leading the 2's before coming on in the 1's. It was something like "I've played 2 games and you still can't outrun me!?" Gave their posse a laugh anyway.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
22 May 2008, 02:10
Anyone know Lucas Hall ? , and what his like as a player, plays for BITS, very handy cricketer also.

CQTiger
22 May 2008, 11:26
Yeppoon tried to get a media rep this year but no-one put their hand up, I would hope if we sent a decent write up they would print it? Don't know the bloke who does the reports or even what makes Win choose the game they cover but I guess Panthers put the most effort in this area and get the rewards. Having said that, there was a quote from the coaches there so he obviosly got more than just the scores:cool:
WIN cover the game closest to the WIN studios so this week should be Stenlake Park so all you Brothers players this is your big chance!!

aaron_barrett1980
22 May 2008, 15:37
Lucas Hall better cricketer than footballer, but that says a lot for his cricketing ability cause he's not a bad footy player. On his day will tear you apart good mark for his size and he's pretty quick.

Herbs
22 May 2008, 22:59
Al Kennedy's email address appears alongside his mugshot in all his articles doesn't it? Those who aren't happy with his efforts, maybe do a brainstorm, form a bit of a letter and send it through to him, who knows, might get an acknowledgement? They managed to bugger up the caption on a pic of one of our guys on Monday, it wasn't Adam Taylor in the pic.

Or was it?;)

Gymnorhina tibic
24 May 2008, 19:47
Gday all, Yeppoon comfortably against the Muddies today by about 10 goals, can't remember actual scores cause I had too many beers and the scoreboard was fuzzy. Trent Rapp and Adam Johnson the best, along with a number of the young lads. Ressies went Swans way in a close one, about 4 points.

CQTiger
24 May 2008, 23:39
gotta watch those beers GT :) yeppoon 101 Gladstone 55

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
25 May 2008, 00:26
What is Brett McAlleese like as a player?

Herbs
25 May 2008, 13:10

Excellent, has stepped up in the last couple of games because Smarty's out at the moment and we've needed a fullback. Smart player. As for the game between Boyne and Panthers, sorry, dunno the score, couldn't make it to the game because of other commitments, will get the lowdown in a few days. But Boyne would've been a tough gig.

thedaz47
26 May 2008, 12:29
good player, not so good human being

Herbs
26 May 2008, 20:03
Ok, so here's some scores from the weekend.

Rockhampton Panthers: 11.13.(79)
BITS Saints: 9.11.(65)

A really close game here, Panthers getting some redemption after being smashed by Boyne in round one, especially important since the game was at Boyne Island. Boyne were ahead at 3 qtr time, but Panthers ran over the top in the final stanza. A standout for Panthers being Chris Anderson-aka Herbie (that's not me) The bloke is all of 5 foot 4 and built like your average matchstick, but he always gets in at the bottom of the packs, he bagged 3 goals in his first senior game this year. Barry Stanley also got 3 goals for Panthers.

Glenmore Bulls: 17.12.(114)
Brothers Roos: 5.3.(33)

From the sounds of it, Brothers held on well early, but cometh the 3rd quarter, Glenmore skipped away and scored a comfortable win. Dean Woosnam returns with a 6 goal haul for the Bulls. I'm sure the blokes here that play for Brothers will be able to give a better account than me though.

Yeppoon Swans: 15.11.(101)
Gladstone Mudcrabs: 8.7(55)

Yeppoon get a much needed win against a Muddies side that has been travelling along quite well, Looks like the Swans were in total control from the first bounce through to the last quarter, where Gladdy got some goals.

Ladder:

Panthers: 20
BITS: 16
Gladstone: 16
Glenmore: 12
Yeppoon: 8
Brothers: 0

Another quick turnaround to round 7 with Yeppoon playing Panthers at the RCG, Glenmore vs BITS at Stenlake Park and Gladstone vs Brothers at Clinton Park in Gladstone.

:thumbsu:

thedaz47
27 May 2008, 09:40
yeh we went alright in the first half. down by two goals at the break i think. then to be honest i can't even put my finger on a single thing that changed but in the second half the game got away from us... 11 goals to one to lose by 12 goals. i just hope that we haven't become one of those teams that has forgotten how to win. everyone is probably sick of hearing it but the positives are definitely there. a few good ins for us this week and against panthers. aaron ferguson, michael moore and scotty smithwick should hopefully all run around for us.

are you playing down back still aaron?

thedaz47
27 May 2008, 09:43
Ok, so here's some scores from the weekend.
Ladder:

Panthers: 20
BITS: 16
Gladstone: 16
Glenmore: 12
Yeppoon: 8
Brothers: 0

going to be an interesting last five rounds going into the finals. most even the comp has been since i started playing in 2005... especially with yeppoon and us having a heap of home games in the run home.

Herbs
27 May 2008, 21:25
Yep, really shaping up as a ripper season, Panthers are starting to get back into form, Boyne have come back to the field, Gladstone are really capable, Glenmore have shown themselves to be right up there and Yeppoon can't be discounted. Brothers look to be on the improve too, an upset could be on the cards if they're taken lightly.

aaron_barrett1980
28 May 2008, 00:44
I agree very close this year. If you have an off day chances are you are going to get beaten and that goes for all sides no matter who they are playing or where they are playing. Slow starts have been costing Gladdy all year, only first quarter we have won is against Brothers and we wern't real good then either. A couple of guys back should help out I hope.;) I think all sides have shown a bit of form and it looks good for the comps future. Oh by the way credit to Yeppoon and Gladdy for good clean games of footy again:) and I can actually say I thought the umpiring was of the highest standard I have seen in this comp for a long time. Especially by Dean Bauer (good to see the yonger blokes throw on the orange when they finsh their footy) dont think he got one wrong all day. The other bloke wasn't too bad either (sorry don't know his name) but he was pretty good also. Didn't notice the goal or boundy umps either so they must have done there job well too.:thumbsu:

aaron_barrett1980
28 May 2008, 00:48
Is that ladder right?
I think that Glenmore is actually on 16 and Gladdy on 12
Bulls 4 and 2 I think
Muddies are 3 and 3
Not positive but am pretty sure I know Gladdy are 3 and 3 though!

CQTiger
28 May 2008, 09:52
Good if you dont notice umpires Aza :D and you are right Yeppoon Gladdy games are much better after last years fracas -played with good spirit some great overhead marking and accurate kicking to players. Wind was a deciding factor in Yeppoon getting away in first quarter. When is Andy Travers returning?
BTW I think Herbs ladder is wrong must be getting his results from Alan Kennedy:p Check AFLCap website
http://www.sportingpulse.com/comp_info.cgi?a=LADDER&round=6&client=1-3393-0-67783-0&pool=-1

aaron_barrett1980
28 May 2008, 17:40
Not sure about Andy, real bad ankle injury first round vs Swans. Looking forward to his return, Ricky Windridge has done his time too but alas training injury might keep him out for a couple more:(. Oh and I look forward to getting the Bully on Monday, might be all panthers but at least they have the results each week. The Gladdy Observer ran dribs and drabs over Mon, Tues and Wed still didnt manage to get it right. Smart I suppose from their point of veiw got everyone to buy the paper twice more looking for results. Must have been down on sales for the month!!!!!

Herbs
28 May 2008, 19:07
Yeah sorry about the ladder fellas, thought it looked a bit skeewif, but I was feeling rather slack on Monday.:o

stmookeyj
29 May 2008, 03:18
Hopefully we'll get some of our 13 out from the weekend this week. Unfortunately some others are on the injured list meaning I'll probably have to double up for the 5th time in 7 on the first bus trip of the season.

CQTiger
29 May 2008, 08:45
I see Brothers v Glenmore featured as 'Match of the Round' on Win TV yesterday. Pity they showed 2 Glenmore spectators having a beer at the bar for about 25% of the game footage:rolleyes:. And just like the Bully the scores they showed were like a dogs breakfast. They had the following score see if you can decifer it-
Yeppoon 5 8 13 101
Gladstone 1 2 4 55
no behinds recorded and 4 th quarter missing entirely. They did same thing last week :thumbsd:

aaron_barrett1980
29 May 2008, 11:12
Good luck on getting your numbers Mookey (BTW u have a real name) nothing worse than having half your side doubling up especially on a big road trip. We havn't had too much trouble so far, we were a bit short when we played you blokes up there and a bit short when we played Yeppoon on the weekend, but other than that it hasn't been too bad. (thank God) Anyway good luck on the numbers mate guess I will c ya on the weekend.:D

CQTiger
31 May 2008, 18:14
mud wrestling at Stenlake Park saw
Glenmore get up 4.6 30 to BITS 1.7 13
with no goals scored after half time.

Herbs
31 May 2008, 23:43
Well at the RCG it was Yeppoon mastering waterskiing, er, sorry, wet weather footy to defeat Panthers. The comp is insanely even now, interesting times ahead.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
1 Jun 2008, 00:00
Does anyone know the player from Rockhampton that plays for the North Melbourne, 2nd year player, i think his name is Gavin Urcart (Sp) or something like that.

aaron_barrett1980
1 Jun 2008, 00:39
Gavin Urquart use to play for Glenmore, his Dad Jim was the development manager here before John Timms and Frag. He's a really good player from what I remember, Good skills and a great mark. Finally someone has been drafted and played AFL from the Cap league.

Herbs
1 Jun 2008, 11:34
The kid had a pretty good game for North Melbourne too.

aaron_barrett1980
1 Jun 2008, 13:34
21 possesion's in AFL debut not bad going at all. Took a couple of good contested marks too.

stitty11
1 Jun 2008, 16:51
Yeah had a good game. I went to school with him and he was always focused on going as far as he could with his afl. His dad played for essendon. might have only been their reserves. not sure.

aaron_barrett1980
1 Jun 2008, 22:26
Jim played for Essendon under 19's.

thedaz47
2 Jun 2008, 10:14
Well at the RCG it was Yeppoon mastering waterskiing, er, sorry, wet weather footy to defeat Panthers. The comp is insanely even now, interesting times ahead.

panthers something something swan lake yeppoon something something home team

has he made another blunder herbs? i know that swans swapped a few games with teams. az, fyi you met me on the weekend, stmookey j is micky j from the magoos and stitty11 or whatever he goes by on here is cam stitt, blonde haired guy that played on a wing for us. is anyone else feeling a few flu symptoms after the weekend? i might not be able to work this week =(

Herbs
2 Jun 2008, 20:41
Righto, here's some scores:

Glenmore Bulls: 4.6.(30)
BITS Saints: 1.7.(13)

Big effort by Glenmore to keep Boyne to only 1 goal in the game, the grounds around Rocky turned into absolute lakes, Dean Woosnam getting 2 goals for the Bulls and the only bloke to score more than 1 goal.

Yeppoon Swans: 5.11.(41)
Rockhampton Panthers: 3.11.(29)

Yeppoon played the better footy in again, extremely wet conditions at the Rocky Cricket Grounds, Rod Chapman getting 2 goals for the Swans and Herbie Anderson getting 2 for Panthers.

Gladstone Mudcrabs: 13.11.(89)
Brothers Roos: 9.11.(65)

Gladstone come away with a needed win against a Brothers side that again, has looked to put in a fighting performance, but no cigar. I'm sure the Brothers guys and Aaron can elaborate on this better than me.

2 week break now until the next round, the Qld country U/14 championships are on in Rocky over the Queens Birthday long weekend, along with something called the Seniors-Stockman's game. Dunno anything about that as of yet.

CQTiger
3 Jun 2008, 08:37
and Glenmore are on top of the ladder! We need someone from Glenmore (and BITS ) to contribute to this forum to get the inside scoop

Borgsy
3 Jun 2008, 12:25
Yes glenmore are on top with a % of 148 compared to panthers 126.

thedaz47
3 Jun 2008, 13:32
get back to work

CQTiger
3 Jun 2008, 13:48
I have the day off:thumbsu: Who does Borgsy play for?

thedaz47
3 Jun 2008, 23:41
glenmore, i work with him

stmookeyj
4 Jun 2008, 01:47
Gladstone come away with a needed win against a Brothers side that again, has looked to put in a fighting performance, but no cigar. I'm sure the Brothers guys and Aaron can elaborate on this better than me.

along with something called the Seniors-Stockman's game. Dunno anything about that as of yet.

Firstly the Stockman's are the Qld country rep team. I know a few from here played in it a few years ago when it was played at Cararra.

As for Saturday, it was a 6 goal to 1 3rd quarter that cost us dearly. I got 2 minutes playing time, which was 1 more than I got last time we played Gladstone!

stmookeyj
4 Jun 2008, 01:48
. az, fyi you met me on the weekend, stmookey j is micky j from the magoos(

And Captain thanks very much, don't forget it or it's a large pizza after the next game from you!

aaron_barrett1980
11 Jun 2008, 17:06
Hey All, Just wonderin if any body from the other clubs has had any trouble with infections? We have had a few guys get real bad infections :thumbsd:from grass burn, tags and scratches etc, and I am wanting to know if it is happening with players at other clubs also. If so please let me know because seeing as I couldn't walk I'd love to find out the cause and prevent it happening again.
Cheers Guys:)

Herbs
11 Jun 2008, 22:05
Hey All, Just wonderin if any body from the other clubs has had any trouble with infections? We have had a few guys get real bad infections :thumbsd:from grass burn, tags and scratches etc, and I am wanting to know if it is happening with players at other clubs also. If so please let me know because seeing as I couldn't walk I'd love to find out the cause and prevent it happening again.
Cheers Guys:)

You know which grounds it's happening at?

aaron_barrett1980
12 Jun 2008, 00:03
Not sure because there is soccer that play's at our ground and they haven't had any problems neither has the juniors. 5 guys now though but all different weeks and different injuries.

CQTiger
12 Jun 2008, 08:42
soccer players never get their knees dirty:rolleyes: .Certainly sounds like a bacterial/fungal infection which may be in the soil and comes to surface after rain but you would need consistency in time and location to prove that theory and hopefully it would respond to antibiotic or antifungal creams.

Herbs
13 Jun 2008, 23:54
I'm totally expecting a quip about soccer players only ever getting their knees dirty in the changerooms........but anyway. Panthers players haven't had probs with infections, that said, we've still got a heap of other players injured and therefore unavailable.

aaron_barrett1980
14 Jun 2008, 00:01
I tell you what though guys anyone needs to fix any infection I have the best stuff possible. My brother is naturopath and told me to use Colloidal Silver. Some people use it by drinking teaspoons, but my bro said put it straight on the wound. With in a few hours there was visible improvment and swelling reduced heaps. Trust me remember the stuff "COLLOIDAL SILVER". Good luck on the weekend to all!!!
UP THE MUDDIES!!!!!

Herbs
14 Jun 2008, 22:56
Well time for a bit of a summation of this weekend's matches, first off, Panthers have put in quite possibly the most pathetic, insipid performance for ages to be basically arsewopped by Brothers, not entirely sure that we hit any targets with a handball (or kick) all day?:confused: But credit to Brothers, they had a plan, got a sniff and came away with the chocolates, we didn't. Scotty Smithwick tore us a new arsehole, everything he did turned into scoring opportunities. Onto the other games, Yeppoon had BITS at their mercy, but Boyne did the big comeback from like 6-8 goals down to win it after the siren, Boyne by 4 points. While I've been told that Glenmore and Gladstone got a draw.

thedaz47
15 Jun 2008, 18:42
but the best part about our win was that, apart from a few good additions, the nucleus of the winning team yesterday were the boys that had waited so long for it.

aaron_barrett1980
15 Jun 2008, 23:46
Congratulations on the win all you boys from brothers. Gladdy VS Glenmore top game, looked like we had them at 3 qtr time but they fought hard and managed to get the draw. Not a good day for the forwards of either side all kept pretty quite. Was the young brigade of both clubs, Eiola boys, Ben Coles for gladdy, Tim Mackerill, Tyson Payne for the bulls. All in all great game for the comp. Ressies real close too Muddies got up by four points with a goal with 10 seconds to go. Again young fellas stepping up with Aaron Monish kicking the winner.

thedaz47
16 Jun 2008, 09:49
who kicked the goal after the siren for boyne?

stitty11
16 Jun 2008, 10:21
Well time for a bit of a summation of this weekend's matches, first off, Panthers have put in quite possibly the most pathetic, insipid performance for ages to be basically arsewopped by Brothers, not entirely sure that we hit any targets with a handball (or kick) all day?:confused: But credit to Brothers, they had a plan, got a sniff and came away with the chocolates, we didn't. Scotty Smithwick tore us a new arsehole, everything he did turned into scoring opportunities. Onto the other games, Yeppoon had BITS at their mercy, but Boyne did the big comeback from like 6-8 goals down to win it after the siren, Boyne by 4 points. While I've been told that Glenmore and Gladstone got a draw.

Go the rooboys!!! Oh and btw, Scotty tends to do that to most teams so don't feel to bad.

thedaz47
18 Jun 2008, 12:01
now that we have someone from every club, wondering what some of the better nicknames of the league are. at brothers, stitty11 is also know as b-cup and has an older (bigger) brother d-cup cos their last name backwards is ttits. duane adams is snuffa like snuffalupagus from sesame street and tony boole is stink palm (as one of the kneen boys). we also have aaron feguson as s.lutmother with an explanation that's too long for me to bother with. what are some good ones at other clubs?

aaron_barrett1980
18 Jun 2008, 19:17
Nicknames, Hmmmm where do we start. Muddies have name for just about all players, Boo-yeah, Shrek, Bobby, Princess, Flash, Fiz, Filthy, Eagle, Nugget, Freo, Teach, Freeza, Stanza, Fridgehole, Killa, Dowie, Teddy, Disco, Doggy just to name few, most guys have a nickname most are self explanitory some have a bit of a story to them.:)

thedaz47
19 Jun 2008, 10:36
yeah, some stories with regards to nicknames are just too long and the creator was probably drunk at the time so daresay it doesn't even make sense now.

angie4
20 Jun 2008, 04:32
hey guys sorry for jumpin in here so surprisingly but what league are you from in the capricorn afl? any seniors in here?

thedaz47
20 Jun 2008, 11:04
there is only one league. we all play seniors, be it magoos or a-grade

angie4
20 Jun 2008, 21:23
yeah sorry :) um what team are ya from? any panthers? what's magoons? sorry for those stupid questions.

Herbs
20 Jun 2008, 23:06
yeah sorry :) um what team are ya from? any panthers? what's magoons? sorry for those stupid questions.

Panthers player here. Magoos=reserve grade.

Big games tomorrow guys, Glenmore-Panthers will be a really tight tussle in both grades with so much at stake. Should be a ripper.

angie4
21 Jun 2008, 21:52
Panthers player here. Magoos=reserve grade.

Big games tomorrow guys, Glenmore-Panthers will be a really tight tussle in both grades with so much at stake. Should be a ripper.

cool! sorry for my interruption but i'm just searching a guy whom i know of that he might be playing in the rocky panthers' team. not sure. mabye a couple of mounths only. would be seniors definetely.
i'd just like to know if you got anyone new in your team ?

hope you gave the glenmores a good fight! :cool:

Herbs
22 Jun 2008, 09:51
^^^What's his name? We've got a few new guys in the club this year.

But onto yesterday's action, Panthers come out with a reasonably comfortable win at Glenmore and make a statement after last week's loss. 24 to 30 points was the margin, somewhere around there. I would also like to say that the umpires had NFI, sending someone off because they went in too hard with their head when going for the ball? You are having a larf?:rolleyes:

Onto the other games, Gladstone beat Boyne by 4 or 5 points, shows that BITS aren't the arsekickers that they once were. While Brothers show that they are back and no one week wonders with a 4 goal win over Yeppoon at Kele Park. If Brothers win the rest of their games and other results go their way, I think they're still a chance at finals, but that'll be a tough road. Awesome for the league now, since when has it been this open to all teams?:thumbsu:

thedaz47
22 Jun 2008, 19:04
finals are definitely a possibility still for us herbs but to sound very cliched we're just worrying about getting good numbers to training and then down to boyne next week... always a hard trip. umpiring sounds like a bit of a rofl in your game if that send off was how you say, but ours was real good. yeppoon might not agree though... gym thibic might have their perspective.

Herbs
22 Jun 2008, 19:51
Yep, that's how it happened, Jamie Waasdorp was told that his head went in too hard, happened about 20 metres in front of where I was watching the action.:o But anyway, shouldn't dwell on such things. From what I've been told there's been a deplorable incident in the under 17s game between Gladdy and Boyne, a Boyne ressies player ran onto the field and started beating up a Muddies kid. Anyone confirm? We really don't need that shit in our league.

aaron_barrett1980
22 Jun 2008, 21:41
Yep, that's how it happened, Jamie Waasdorp was told that his head went in too hard, happened about 20 metres in front of where I was watching the action.:o But anyway, shouldn't dwell on such things. From what I've been told there's been a deplorable incident in the under 17s game between Gladdy and Boyne, a Boyne ressies player ran onto the field and started beating up a Muddies kid. Anyone confirm? We really don't need that shit in our league.

Regarding the 17's incident there was an altercation on the field between 2 players resulting in one or two being sin binned. One of the muddies sin binned players was then the target of some abuse and from what I know a spectator (maybe a ressies player) tried to hit him. He was about forty minutes later told to leave. From what I can gather this is a personal issue which unfortunately has been bought to the footy. But you are dead right dont need that sort of stuff at all let alone when it is juniors. On to better things though great win by Muddies in the A's nothing better than beating BITS @ BITS. Brothers recent form is great news all looks to be heading in the right direction.

Gymnorhina tibic
22 Jun 2008, 22:30
finals are definitely a possibility still for us herbs but to sound very cliched we're just worrying about getting good numbers to training and then down to boyne next week... always a hard trip. umpiring sounds like a bit of a rofl in your game if that send off was how you say, but ours was real good. yeppoon might not agree though... gym thibic might have their perspective.

Didn't catch the A Grade this week - had to leave straight after the ressies, but I'm sure the umps were spot-on with their calls as always ;). Seriuosly, with the exeption of that idiot Joey who is outright dangerous I accept that its country Qld and they do their best. Well done to the Roo's, even though my boys lost that's gotta be better for the game than the one-side debacle last time. If I can offer an excuse Yeppoon were very undermanned this week so hard to take too much out of it, give the saints a run next week and all will take notice!

Herbs
22 Jun 2008, 22:43
Haha, guess who was umpiring our game? ***

***Joey.;)

thedaz47
23 Jun 2008, 00:00
i noticed charlie, robbo (i think, ruckman) and chappie missing at least, plus some aggressive kid that i played on last game who just wanted to fight. do you play gym, in ressies?

well in light of my failed nickname talking point i'll start another, who do people like their money on for each grade's b&f awards at everyone's club?

from brothers i reckon our own stmookeyj will be a monty in the reserves.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 Jun 2008, 01:28
What position does Mickey J play?

CQTiger
23 Jun 2008, 10:57
Daz didn't realize your club song was a steal from Richmond's.(maybe I haven't heard it sung too many times:rolleyes:) Almost tempted to join in. Went home after your game and caught last quarter of Tigers v Port and definitely joined in then:D GO TIGERS

Gymnorhina tibic
23 Jun 2008, 19:39
i noticed charlie, robbo (i think, ruckman) and chappie missing at least, plus some aggressive kid that i played on last game who just wanted to fight. do you play gym, in ressies?

well in light of my failed nickname talking point i'll start another, who do people like their money on for each grade's b&f awards at everyone's club?

from brothers i reckon our own stmookeyj will be a monty in the reserves.

I think you mean Johnno rather than Robbo, and I know the kid you are talking about - he really is a nice kid but can show a bit of passion at times. There were several others but the core was there and Roos were the better on the day from what I have heard.

I play ressies when the body allows, A's hurts too much at my age.

I reckon Cam Watkin would have to be favourite for 2 in a row and in the ressies my money would be on Brendon (captain plays CHF) or big Clint (dreadlocks).

Gymnorhina tibic
23 Jun 2008, 19:44
Haha, guess who was umpiring our game? ***

***Joey.;)

I know we've already done this but that bloke should not be in charge of a contact sport, someone is going to get seriously injured because of him. Surely there is a duty of care onus somewhere?

thedaz47
23 Jun 2008, 20:00
perfect segue for me...

joey's umpiring >>>>> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W5D2pGsZhbo

what was she thinking?/

Herbs
23 Jun 2008, 20:33
Ok ok, the shitty commercial radio stations have been flogging that one like hell today. Move along, nothing to see here.;) Anyhow, Joey's umpiring leaves me speechless sometimes, I just don't know what goes on with him out there. Also, B&F for Panthers? hmmm interesting, I reckon Josh Roati would be up there in the A's, as well as Chis, not really sure as the sides have been chopped and changed lots because of player availability issues. As for ressies, Brendon Bell perhaps?

thedaz47
25 Jun 2008, 09:39
What position does Mickey J play?

pretty much slots in where needed. sometimes in the middle, sometimes on a half forward flank. great guy and everyone around the clubs that have played a game against us will know the bloke. only guy i know who is that desperate for a long sleeved jersey that he wears his own shirt underneath a normal one. must be stinkin hot.

Herbs
27 Jun 2008, 19:39
Some big games tomorrow, Panthers play Gladdy at the RCG in what shapes as a cracker, will be worth the watch in both grades. Also Brothers go down to Boyne Island to play BITS, BITS have been rather vulnerable of late and Brothers have hit a hot form patch, I'm tipping the Roos to take that, even though it's a Boyne home game. Boyne's ressies team won't have such troubles, however. While the Swans are at home to Glenmore, all 3 matchups shape up as potential classics IMO. Gonna be fun.:thumbsu:

angie4
28 Jun 2008, 04:20
herbs, do ya know anyone playing in the Brothers team ?? :D maybe he's there...:rolleyes:

Herbs
29 Jun 2008, 20:28
herbs, do ya know anyone playing in the Brothers team ?? :D maybe he's there...:rolleyes:

There's a few blokes from Brothers here, they'd know.

But anyway, onto yesty's games, I was expecting some thrillers but how wrong was I? Panthers got up over Gladdy by about 60-70 points, although admittedly the Muddies had a few out, so do we. In Yeppoon, Glenmore came out firing and knocked off the Muddies by 9 goals while Boyne made a return to form with an 11 goal margin over Brothers. So much for my hot tip.:rolleyes:

angie4
29 Jun 2008, 20:31

But anyway, onto yesty's games, I was expecting some thrillers but how wrong was I? Panthers got up over Gladdy by about 60-70 points, although admittedly the Muddies had a few out, so do we. In Yeppoon, Glenmore came out firing and knocked off the Muddies by 9 goals while Boyne made a return to form with an 11 goal margin over Brothers. So much for my hot tip.:rolleyes:

cheers, really dont wanna sound annoying...
so if anyone from the Brothers would gimme a signal that'd be just great.

as for you herbs, you might be hot but in the end it was just a tip - dont worry :cool:

aaron_barrett1980
29 Jun 2008, 21:35

Yeah we finished with 14 uninjured players:( and had 7 first graders out to begin with. Credit to panthers though they were the better side on the day. The little bald bloke "Doosh" I think they call him, was fantastic must have had 10 or 12 clearances.

Just want to make mention of the under 15's too. Muddies racked up a record score 35.15 (I think) an Cameron O'Grady kicked 21 goals:thumbsu: not a bad effort by the boys. Congratulations to young Cameron those kind of numbers in an under 15 game what more can you say, but bloody well done mate.:)

Herbs
29 Jun 2008, 21:42
Yeah, we call him 'Dujon', Jamie Waasdorp is his name, doubt that you could find a harder working player.

thedaz47
30 Jun 2008, 03:04
So much for my hot tip.:rolleyes:

yeah feel free to never tip us again herbs, you bad omen. =p

what's this guys name you are chasing angie???

angie4
5 Jul 2008, 21:34
okay obviously the guy 'i'm chasing' (:D) isnt in the brothers or panthers team as thedaz & herbs have told me.

my very last chance and question: any senior players from saints, swans and the gladstone teams in here ??

i promise i'll shut up then!

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
5 Jul 2008, 22:47
Any players been selected in the U18 Nab Queensland team from Rocky?

CQTiger
14 Jul 2008, 10:51
Sounds like a great game on the weekend for Brothers Daz I guess its a bit 'too little to late" but you will at least keep the top four honest.
Where was the rest of your team on Saturday Herbs certainly not at Boyne. It appeared a bit frustrating for the guys that did make the long trip.

CQTiger
19 Jul 2008, 18:33
Fantastic game at Stenlake Park
BITS 15. 11 101
Glenmore 15. 11 101
Some very dejected players No one likes a draw

thedaz47
20 Jul 2008, 18:39
yeh so that's two close ones in two weeks for glenmore. definitely a nailbiter against them last week cq. they came at us really strong in the third and we were fortunate to have a few experienced players stand up. yesterday in gladdy we came away with another close win. jason dawson in our backline was awesome amd is another young player who looks like they could form the backbone of our team in a few years. huge wraps from stiff on him after the game.

we are out of last now too so hopefully we can keep it that way =D

30 plus one
20 Jul 2008, 20:51
Still a hard one to tip. Panthers, Brothers and draw with Glenmore/BITS. Good to see Brothers back, too late, but next year will be interesting. Panthers had a good win over yeppoon after a mediocre start in 2nd half(always good to beat em):D Finals will be great this year as top 4 are within 6 points i think