View Full Version : Capricornia league

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7

aaron_barrett1980
20 Jul 2008, 21:32
yeh so that's two close ones in two weeks for glenmore. definitely a nailbiter against them last week cq. they came at us really strong in the third and we were fortunate to have a few experienced players stand up. yesterday in gladdy we came away with another close win. jason dawson in our backline was awesome amd is another young player who looks like they could form the backbone of our team in a few years. huge wraps from stiff on him after the game.

we are out of last now too so hopefully we can keep it that way =D

You wern't too bad yourself yesterday Daz stood up when you had too. Must be nice though to pass Yeppoon on the ladder after the 200 point hiding earlier in the year. Dont think anyone saw that coming. On to our dreadful performance yesterday a few lads need to take a good look at themselves was ours to win Brothers just wanted it more and IMO thats the worst way to lose, when your blokes just dont seem to be trying. Am sure we will come out a different side against the Bulls this week.

thedaz47
20 Jul 2008, 22:41
thanks for the compliment dude... i was about to ask you to let me get a spoil in next time we play instead of burning me and taking the mark with me 5 metres behind. lol. your forward line changes a fair bit with the resting midfielder was hard to keep up with at tiems.

stmookeyj
22 Jul 2008, 00:07
Must be nice though to pass Yeppoon on the ladder after the 200 point hiding earlier in the year.

It certainly helps a lot when you can field a side that you know is good enough to beat anyone. That day against we had just about everyone double up like the debacles of last year, last week there were 5 plus 3 17's.

Just quitely it also helps when blokes like myself don't have to go round and round, although I was hoping to double up and get more than 1 minute that I got in the 1st clash and 2 minutes in the 2nd.

Herbs
27 Jul 2008, 21:56
Sounds like a great game on the weekend for Brothers Daz I guess its a bit 'too little to late" but you will at least keep the top four honest.
Where was the rest of your team on Saturday Herbs certainly not at Boyne. It appeared a bit frustrating for the guys that did make the long trip.

Yeah it was disappointing for all of us but especially so for me, I was hoping to make my comeback from injury in that game but my back's flared up again so my year's over. To be standing by the bench watching it and not being able to get out there and do something about it sucks arse.

Onto yesterday's games, Panthers again didn't play well enough in a lake to get a result against Brothers. Brothers wanted it more, were always in for the smother, tackled well and were disciplined, we weren't. Of course it didn't help that Butters decided to pack it in and walk off to leave us in the lurch, so that matter is being dealt with as we speak. Also, although it wasn't the cause for our loss, the umpiring was decidedly ordinary, but shit happens. Our ressies team had a pretty good day, scoring 110 or so points and keeping Brothers scoreless. But it must be said that the Roos' ressies side was severely undermanned.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
27 Jul 2008, 22:04
Yeah it was disappointing for all of us but especially so for me, I was hoping to make my comeback from injury in that game but my back's flared up again so my year's over. To be standing by the bench watching it and not being able to get out there and do something about it sucks arse.

Onto yesterday's games, Panthers again didn't play well enough in a lake to get a result against Brothers. Brothers wanted it more, were always in for the smother, tackled well and were disciplined, we weren't. Of course it didn't help that Butters decided to pack it in and walk off to leave us in the lurch, so that matter is being dealt with as we speak. Also, although it wasn't the cause for our loss, the umpiring was decidedly ordinary, but shit happens. Our ressies team had a pretty good day, scoring 110 or so points and keeping Brothers scoreless. But it must be said that the Roos' ressies side was severely undermanned.

Did one your players just leave during the game?

thedaz47
28 Jul 2008, 01:39
yeh it was your good friend mcaleese oasis fan. shows the nature of the player herbs... glad it's your problem and not ours. i was also very disappointed to see steve in number 11 for you guys after he had trained with us this season and said he wanted to play for us... though clearly never signed on the line. have the finals locations been anounced yet? i heard we might be in line for the granny which would be a great financial boost... though i'd have thought either glenmore or panthers would get it as they have grandstands

aaron_barrett1980
28 Jul 2008, 17:13
Chris Murphy from the Bulls has to be the biggest loser to ever play this game, I have never seen any player that comes on the field with one intention in mind every single time he runs out. Even his own team mates cant stand the crap he does according to blokes I spoke to on the weekend. Strangest thing though he was named as one of the best players on the weekend with all of his 2 disposals, leaves me to come to only one conclusion........ he has been sent out to do that by his coach. But onto some good things though another win to the roo boys (look out my boys hey).

Who's the money on for the league best and fairest in both grades?
A grade I reckon is wide open the winner might poll between 15 and 20 votes, would be suprised if anyone polls much more than that, Maybe Alex Totton (BITS), Ben Byrnes (Bulls), Lyle Clifford (Panth). Will be hard to pick though with the comp so even and so many close games where even the losing side could pick up 3 votes.

Ressies I dont know much about the other teams but I would say Richie Spittal (Muddies) would have to be the favourite. Fantastic season all year amongst the best every week.

thedaz47
28 Jul 2008, 19:05
yeh we still have 2 games to win and if you guys win against boyne (a team you appear to have the wood over) then you are safe aaron. please explain more about this glenmore dude.

with regards to our best and fairest contenders i'd probably say that peter o'brien (bendy) and adam williams (ranga guy up from vic this year) from our backline will have picked up some votes and also scott smithwick since his return. though i don't think he could poll enough in only half a season.

richie spittal is the one with the tatts yeh? he annoys the **** out of brothers lol. one of those menacing players who you have to man up on. but also loves to complain to the umpires from what i've noticed. i'd agree that he'd be one that gets noticed. maybe shaun mclure from bits has he been playing well? i've also seen barry stanley in panthers magoos at least once... herbs might be able to tell us if he has played enough games to go well in that count

Herbs
28 Jul 2008, 23:19
Thing is Boyne have got a few really good players back now, so they're a tough gig. I've been told that the Granny will either be at Glenmore or at the Cricket Grounds, I'd say we'll get it since it was at Stenlake Park last year. As for Butters, the ball is in his court as to what happens now, personally I think it's pretty obvious what will happen now with him.
As for B&F, I think our best chance is Liam Kronk, he seems to get votes but I dunno, we've had trouble getting two sides the same from week to week, we've had lots of injuries and blokes out with work commitments.

As an aside, I wonder what a prospective spoon would feel like for Wes Hawke because it's coming. Heh.

thedaz47
28 Jul 2008, 23:25
we still have to beat them this week yet herbs. they can overtake us still if we lose our last two and they win theirs.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
28 Jul 2008, 23:26
Herbs, did Butters just have a shot at goal, walk off, and then shower and leave or what?

Was he being sledged?

What is the go?

thedaz47
29 Jul 2008, 22:57
oasis fan you wouldn't happen to be a girl would you? was he being sledged? of course he was. i can't believe that in your pms and on this board you think that we aren't entitled to. and that we should apologise is a rofl.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
29 Jul 2008, 23:37
oasis fan you wouldn't happen to be a girl would you? was he being sledged? of course he was. i can't believe that in your pms and on this board you think that we aren't entitled to. and that we should apologise is a rofl.

I'm not saying that your not allowed to sledge. Not at all. Im just saying that after a constant barrage of taunts, no doubt some cutting pretty close to the bone, it doesn't surprise me that Brett decided to leave the game and rightly so. He is the type of guy that won't put up with nonsense, the fact he has played your mob before under the panthers jumper and had no problem seems to indicate that either his tolerance has run out, or Brothers maybe have gotten a bit big for there boots and kept mouthing off due to the closer contest. Brett is the type of guy that would only put up with that crap (more akin to an school yard game rather then grown adults) for a certain amount of time before telling everyone to get stuffed.

As soon as i heard about Brett leaving after a shot at goal that he missed, i immediately thought that no doubt as he was lining up for a shot, someone has gone to far, and said something personal or whatnot, and Brett has just said 'enoughs enough'.

As i said, the old pack mentality seems to be evident, if Brett left brothers after a falling out, so what? He wouldn't be the first player to leave a club after a falling out, but from what i heard the whole incident which cause Brett to leave was on a two way street.

But no, Brothers decide to get stuck into a guy when each of them on their own probably wouldn't say a peep. I would love to see Panthers play Brothers in a final, and Brett to stream forward from CHB and provide an option, to then unload from 50 to win the game with seconds left, and then to run past the Brothers bench and give the big one armer.

Fair dinkum, the fact that Brett left more then a year and a half ago and Brothers still haven't gotten over it seems to reflect badly on Brothers rather then Brett.

thedaz47
30 Jul 2008, 13:38
actually no, he seems to have something on every time we play him. we hated frag and rusty too... felt sorry for smarty... but they have all gone. this is the first time he has played us at full strength from what i can recall. and watch collingwood play sydney next time and tell me that after a year we should get over it. are collingwood over nick davis' departure yet? when you do the dirty on a club you have to live with the repercussions for the rest of your career, not just a game or two. he left us and we will never ever have more regard for him than a **** stuck to your shoe.

Herbs
30 Jul 2008, 20:36
We should probably move on, there's gonna be some great matches this weekend. It's going to be all on the line in both grades between Panthers and Glenmore at the cricket grounds while the Gladdy derby will also be interesting. Also Yeppoon will be trying to avoid the spoon at home to Brothers. While we're on Yeppoon, they really need to clean out that stormwater drain next to the ground, apart from dead pushies and other general rubbish, who knows what is in there?............:eek:

Bull4Life
31 Jul 2008, 08:42
Chris Murphy from the Bulls has to be the biggest loser to ever play this game, I have never seen any player that comes on the field with one intention in mind every single time he runs out. Even his own team mates cant stand the crap he does according to blokes I spoke to on the weekend. Strangest thing though he was named as one of the best players on the weekend with all of his 2 disposals, leaves me to come to only one conclusion........ he has been sent out to do that by his coach. But onto some good things though another win to the roo boys (look out my boys hey).

He may have only had 2 disposals, but kept is opponent to next to none....

Now....should we discuss the major contreversy from our game....you know...the bit where one of your players spat blood on the face of a bulls player....

Worst thing i have ever seen on the football field....

thedaz47
31 Jul 2008, 15:49
sounds like an interesting clash then? so we have chris murphy is a toss and gladstone spitting blood... are the two related and who is chris murphy sorry?

aaron_barrett1980
31 Jul 2008, 22:06
He may have only had 2 disposals, but kept is opponent to next to none....

Now....should we discuss the major contreversy from our game....you know...the bit where one of your players spat blood on the face of a bulls player....

Worst thing i have ever seen on the football field....
Mate sorry didnt see that incident first hand so I would preffer not to comment on whether or not it happened. One thing I do know is that the bloke who got reported for that fronted the tribunal and is free to play. Whether that was due to a not guilty verdict I am not sure but I would assume that was the case. Like I said though I didnt see it. I apologise if you do not agree with me about Murphy, but I have no respect for players like him, then again though cant get a kick himself so I guess he has to do something. Not too hard to keep a 44 year old bloke quite ecspecially after you've just given him 15 stiches in the lip. But thats just my opinion!!!!!!!

aaron_barrett1980
31 Jul 2008, 22:09
Oh by the way you got a first name mate so we all know who we are talking too.

Bull4Life
31 Jul 2008, 23:03
Sure Aaron....Ben Janetzki is my name and i was standing next to you when the incident occured.....actually i was standing next to you all day....;)

I have heard the verdict and although i dont agree...lets just hope something like that never happens again....

Bull4Life
31 Jul 2008, 23:05
Some huge games this weekend....

Bulls vs Panthers has to be the biggest....followed closely by Gladstone vs BITS....Brothers/Yeppoon is a bit of a dead rubber....

Which way will they go??

thedaz47
1 Aug 2008, 16:11
he might be 44 but flash can still play lol. i'd be happy if he was my opponent and i kept him quiet that's for sure... but instead i get stuck on az and he runs me ragged =(

i'll tip muddys to get up against boyne and unfortunately shut the door on us having any chance at finals.

glenmore might get up over panthers imo but i'd still think safe money is on parkhurst. i'll tip panthers but not be surprised if they go down.

hopefully we can get up over yeppoon. a lot will depend on shutting down hawkey and the drive from midfield if he is at full forward. good luck all

Herbs
1 Aug 2008, 19:36
I reckon we'll give it a decent shake this weekend, will be a lot better than last week for sure.

aaron_barrett1980
1 Aug 2008, 19:56
MUDDIES over bits
BULLS over panthers
ROOS over swanies

Good Luck All!!!!!

aaron_barrett1980
2 Aug 2008, 21:35
What the results guys?
BITS got up over us by 5 points in the A grade awesome game again two very evenly matched sides. 132 to 127 in a high scoring match.
Our boys knocked off BITS in the magoos pretty convincingly I think.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
2 Aug 2008, 23:58
Did McAlleese line up?

Gymnorhina tibic
3 Aug 2008, 10:04
Swans got up by a kick after the siren. Wes Hawke took a grab in the square with seconds to go and 2 points down. Swans ressies by a comfortable margin against a very undermanned Brothers side.

Herbs
3 Aug 2008, 13:17
Did McAlleese line up?

Yeah mate, he's back, him and the team had a chat this week and Butters has made a commitment to us. He did have a decent game yesty as well. Unfortunately Panthers had a dud 2nd quarter which meant we had to play catch up for the rest of the game, had a crack and almost came back over the top of Glenmore near the end, but not quite. It didn't help that Jamie Waasdorp (aka Dujon) injured his knee only a few minutes in and wasn't able to continue. So that means that our A grade team will finish in 3rd, irrespective of what happens next week in Gladstone. Onto ressies, we had a great day, winning by 97 points I'm pretty sure, only problem is that Gladstone have upset the apple cart by beating Boyne ressies so it's all on the line for us next week. Win and we finish 2nd, lose and we're in 5th. Pretty damn close eh?

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
3 Aug 2008, 17:48
Who do Panthers play next week?

Herbs
3 Aug 2008, 18:14
Who do Panthers play next week?

Gladstone in Gladstone.

aaron_barrett1980
3 Aug 2008, 21:19
Good Luck too you with that one Herbs. I think we are kinda in the same boat in the 2's and being a home game am sure we will field strong side. Has to be match of the round in both grades. A preview of the minor semi in the A's.
Good win by 97 points in the reserves though mate, Bulls have been good this year. Did they have a few out?

Herbs
3 Aug 2008, 21:48
Good Luck too you with that one Herbs. I think we are kinda in the same boat in the 2's and being a home game am sure we will field strong side. Has to be match of the round in both grades. A preview of the minor semi in the A's.
Good win by 97 points in the reserves though mate, Bulls have been good this year. Did they have a few out?

Glenmore did have a few guys out, or should I say, up in the A's as they were going all out for that one, still, what they had out there was a decent side. Not entirely sure what their full forward was thinking though, bagging the umpires incessantly is one thing, but his own players? Not understanding that one.:confused:

Herbs
6 Aug 2008, 00:39
Heard today that Glenmore are appealing the tribunal finding on the blood spitting incident, see what happens with that.

CQTiger
6 Aug 2008, 17:07
have the finals locations been anounced yet? i heard we might be in line for the granny which would be a great financial boost... though i'd have thought either glenmore or panthers would get it as they have grandstands
looks like you will have to settle with the first semi at Kele Daz

aaron_barrett1980
6 Aug 2008, 17:39
They are appealing but on what grounds I'm not sure. If previous appeals in the league are anything to go by it will get thrown out. They don't like anyone telling them they made a mistake and whether or not they have has little impact. Things like this would be avoidable if the umpires did their job properly as the umpires statement (or should I say vague interpretation of events) at the tribunal from what I know was a deciding factor. Anyhow can only wait and see I suppose.

Herbs
6 Aug 2008, 19:40
Just seen on the news that Glenmore's Zac Smith has signed some sort of contract with the new GC 17 club.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
6 Aug 2008, 19:51
Here is the article.

http://www.themorningbulletin.com.au/storydisplay.cfm?storyid=3780779

Gymnorhina tibic
6 Aug 2008, 21:10
Good on him..in the few games I saw him play last year he was a standout, and I was suprised when told it was his first year as he played the ruck position well, being 204cm at his age is an avantage!! BTW this in the same week as Urquart is nominated for the NAB Rising Star, they must be doing something right in CQ AFL!

aaron_barrett1980
6 Aug 2008, 21:29
About time is all I can say.
Congratulations to all who played roles in getting the Capricornia League noticed finally.

Herbs
6 Aug 2008, 21:33
Yeah I remember watching him in the u 17s and thinking how the hell a junior player could be that freakin tall. Sounds like he could go pretty far, there'll be more kids come from our league to the higher levels in the coming years too.

Herbs
10 Aug 2008, 16:52
Had the trip to Gladdy yesty and it was a bittersweet day for Panthers. Our A grade side disappointingly lost to Gladstone by not playing a full 4 quarters of footy, but credit to the Muddies, they were too good on the day, while our ressies side had a good win over the Mudcrabs. This means that with Glenmore ressies beating Yeppoon (A bit unexpected) that Panthers will meet Gladstone in both grades in the elimination final next week at Kele Park. Gonna be fun.

CQTiger
10 Aug 2008, 17:15
I hear Brothers got up Is that true??

Herbs
10 Aug 2008, 18:05
I hear Brothers got up Is that true??

Dunno, I haven't got the other scores.

CQTiger
10 Aug 2008, 18:10
I do know
Glenmore 150
Yeppoon 30
and heard BITS went down to Brothers...If so Daz is probably still celebrating:thumbsu:

thedaz47
10 Aug 2008, 23:15
brothers indeed got up... i'm not sure how many other teams managed to as well but boyne were the only team we hadn't beaten so we actually got a win over every team this season which is pretty good. four blokes played their last game for us yesterday so yeh didn't get home til about 6pm today. no mad monday as such, had it today cos guys can't get off work. big weekend. very sore. we actually went to watch the old guys at stenlake park. great fun. congrats to gladdy on their win, it made us feel a little less bad about our loss last weekend to eventual wooden spooners. see a lot of you next weekend for the final. two teams playing in both grades will be interesting. the reserves game will show the depth of both clubs. have a good one all. sorry about the wall of text.

stmookeyj
12 Aug 2008, 01:53
FULL SCHEDULE FOR THIS SATURDAY (I won't be attending, watching the Doggies belt Brizroy...)

8:45: U/13 Panthers vs Glenmore (Could go either way, perhaps Panthers narrowly)
9:55: U/15 Glenmore vs Brothers (Bulls favorites, but we have the home ground advantage and hopefully a full side to challenge)
11:15: U/17 Yeppoon vs Gladstone (Swans easilly for mine, clearly 3rd best this year)
12:45: RES Gladstone vs Panthers (lot depends on senior selections, just think Panthers in Rocky)
2:30: SEN Panthers vs Gladstone (Not sure if Panthers were foxing last week, but I reckon they'd need to lift on what we've seen. Again selection will be the key, and just which Gladstone will turn up)

NEXT WEEK (23/8) AT BOYNE

8:45: U/13 Yeppoon vs BITS (Think BITS at home just)
9:55: U/15 Yeppoon vs Gladstone (If Yeppoon can stop the O'Grady train they'll just about get up)
11:15: U/17 BITS vs Brothers (Traditional rivals at this age level, Roos can certainly win if they maintain focus on footy from the Friday night before the game but possibly missing full-back Jase Dawson with a busted wrist which could be the difference)
12:45: RES BITS vs Glenmore (Suspect BITS should win with their midfield the key, and FFS lads S.McClure [#6] always goes right!)
2:30: SEN BITS vs Glenmore (Bulls need to find other avenues to goal other than Woosnam, can't see it happening).

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
12 Aug 2008, 07:49
Was reading the Monday Bulletin and saw McAlleese was best on ground for the Panthers, great effort by Brett to put last weeks incident behind him. Typical of the man to come back firing.

thedaz47
12 Aug 2008, 15:33
two weeks ago

Herbs
12 Aug 2008, 21:25
Well Butters had a pretty good game against Glenmore too, he's come back better.

thedaz47
13 Aug 2008, 00:41
haha the president of oasis/butterbean fanclub copped a card.

CQTiger
15 Aug 2008, 10:55
good luck to all involved in tomorrows games-should be a cracker. Great to see same teams in reserves and A grade to even things out and ensure a good crowd

thedaz47
15 Aug 2008, 17:08
yeah everyone come down and drink our piss so we can have nice shiny sherrins next year lol... and look out for the watermelon helmets =D... my tip is gladdy in the ones and panthers in the magoos.

give em hell az and co

aaron_barrett1980
15 Aug 2008, 23:38
My tips Gladdy in both but you just never know. I unfortunately will be missing the semis for the second year in a row due to injury. Got a nice dislocated elbow against Panthers last week hasn't quite come up for the weekend, last year broke my wrist gotta love footy!!!!!!! We have the best side all year so should be cracking games in both grades can't wait.
Carn the Crabbers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thedaz47
16 Aug 2008, 01:14
dislocated elbow sounds fun

thedaz47
16 Aug 2008, 19:51
well done panthers... though it was a very scrappy game. just wondering herbs, did you guys know butterbean would only play the first half or has he done it again?

aaron_barrett1980
17 Aug 2008, 00:55
Yes well done to panthers, good game in the magoos but were a class above in the firsts. Should be a good finish to the year.

Herbs
17 Aug 2008, 10:08
Butters had to go to Mackay in the arvo, so he stuck around as long as he could and played really well in the first half. Our A grade guys really turned up to play so we're really happy with the result. Chris Heaslip got something like 9 goals and Clinton Evans returned to his best. Funny moment of the match: Gladdy player has the ball on the half back flank, one of our guys calls out "boundary!" Muddies player kicks to the boundary, straight to Chis. Oops.:o As for ressies, we had a couple of late withdrawals, being our fullback and centre half back (kinda important) So we had to make do with what we had. Bluey the skinny ranga did well rucking all game (tho he still butchers the ball lots, but hey, all good) Little Herbie Anderson worked his arse off again and Sos, despite being an old fella, killed em in the backline.

So to next week's games, going to be very interesting viewing.

thedaz47
17 Aug 2008, 14:50
selecting a player for a final who can only play the first half??? not many in our league would command that and i really didn't think butters would be one of them... woos, hawkey and maybe a few others imo.

CQTiger
17 Aug 2008, 15:20
Gladdy player has the ball on the half back flank, one of our guys calls out "boundary!" Muddies player kicks to the boundary, straight to Chis. Oops.:o .
Had to admit Chisholms call of boundary was quite amusing. Never seen a dummy 'sold' from such a long distance:D

Herbs
17 Aug 2008, 18:20
selecting a player for a final who can only play the first half??? not many in our league would command that and i really didn't think butters would be one of them... woos, hawkey and maybe a few others imo.

Sometimes you have to make do with what you've got. Not ideal, but that's the way you have to take it sometimes.

CQTiger
18 Aug 2008, 15:26
Herbs there is an amusing photo of 'Chis' doing a celebratory dance in Bully today:D

Herbs
18 Aug 2008, 18:05
Yep, breakin' out a few moves.:) Hopefully more to come. But onto this week, who's our tips for this weekend? I'm tipping Boyne in both grades, but you never know.

aaron_barrett1980
20 Aug 2008, 02:05
I'll give my tip for the flags now
Bits are still the one to beat in the 2's, I don't think Panthers or Glenmore will trouble them too much if they get full side.
In the A grade I think you will see the young inexperienced Bulls side struggle this weekend against the experience of Bits. If Panthers play like they did against us I think they will beat Glenmore also. Grand Final will be good either way but If it is Panthers vs Bits I would have to say Panthers. Whether it is that Bits have some mental problem when it comes to playing the Muddies I thought Panthers were are tougher opponent all year. Beat us easily 3 times out of 4.
So there you have it Bits in the 2's
Panthers in the 1's

Herbs
23 Aug 2008, 21:22
Went for a bit of a drive down to Boyne Island today to sit back and watch some footy. A pretty good day. Boyne got up in both grades (as expected) so it'll be Glenmore vs Panthers at Stenlake Park next Saturday. Gonna be a huge day.:thumbsu:

aaron_barrett1980
25 Aug 2008, 03:48
Hey all just wondering what you opinion is of the League Best and Fairest awards? Now this is just my opinion but I dont rate the awards very highly. Y you might ask. Well Ive been to quite a few league counts over the last few years and the voting just never seems to go where you think it will go. That combined with the fact that it is the umpires alone who vote me personally I would much rather win a club B and F, or better yet a players choice MVP like they do with the AFL. One thing I will never quite understand is how an umpire can give votes to a player who was sent off the field during the game which happened last season and I would just about put money on it happening again this year with one particular game. Bloke plays top game granted but if he is sent off the field for fighting or whatever the reason not Best and FAIREST is he, and should not get any votes regardless of the game he plays. Just my opinion what do you guys think.:)

Herbs
25 Aug 2008, 17:49
Depends on the umpires, most I think vote in the spirit of it, but there are a couple of umpires around who have enough trouble officiating a game, let alone deciding who the best players are.

aaron_barrett1980
25 Aug 2008, 23:02
Thats exactly my point mate!!! if they dont know them they dont vote for them, if they do know them and dont get along great they dont vote for them, seems like the only way to win these awards is to be an ass kisser. No offence to any player who has won it before. Ill give an example to look out for. Tim Mackerill from the Bulls 2 out of three game against us this year he was clearly best on ground bet he doesnt get the votes though. Lucas Hall was best on ground in our last game against BITS didnt even get named in the best 6. Last year wasn't bad though Kronky was deserved winner last year, reckon its gonna be close this year though. It should be seeing how the season has panned out.

stmookeyj
26 Aug 2008, 02:33
Well I can't say too much myself because I haven't been to any in 8 years of senior football, but when umpiring junior games the league B&F is really an afterthought that is only discussed in the last 1/4.

Herbs
28 Aug 2008, 21:30
Well I guess you were right Aaron, the league B&F awards are indeed a bit of a joke. Although Ben Burns is a worthy winner of the A grade award, there's a lot of players in both grades who have played outstanding games yet haven't even got a vote. Really it's ludicrous.

aaron_barrett1980
28 Aug 2008, 22:57
Yep went through our votes before, every game Charlie Johnstone got votes Joey was the umpire, there was 4 games that the 3 vote getters were not named in the best 10 or 12 players (you know the 6 each side has in the paper) How is that possible? Ben Byrnes Congratulations though.

thedaz47
28 Aug 2008, 23:32
yeh but i hear scott smithwick only missed out by one vote after rocking up in rd7. i think that might be the third time he has finished a bridesmaid though LOL!!! i found out too late to go but i hope everyone had a good night.

Herbs
29 Aug 2008, 00:35
If I may bring up an example from Panthers, Lyle Clifford only got 2 votes and our highest was Clinton Sutton I think with only 6 or so votes. how the hell does a team that plays in the finals poll so poorly? In ressies Steve Conaghan has practically destroyed teams yet didn't even get a vote. I mean WTF?:confused: Onto other things, the Panthers website is being updated as we speak;), gonna take a while to get it to the way I want it though.

aaron_barrett1980
29 Aug 2008, 11:45
Yep same with us in the magoos Richie Spital (tattoos) kicked 8 goals twice from the flank and simply like Conaghan absolutly destroyed sides and no votes UNBELEIVABLE. I know he mouths off a little but really in this comp who doesn't. Maybe we should suggest a players choice MVP award for next season. Each player in the comp does a survey 3,2,1 votes for their best opposing players for the year (not each round) player with the most votes wins the MVP. I know I would rather that award than anything decided by the morons (woops I mean Umpires)

stmookeyj
30 Aug 2008, 19:23
Umpires don't have much of a clue about the game generally, so expecting them to find the best players is well and truly beyond them. Panthers vs BITS in both Senior and Reserve GF's, Panthers would really want to lift to beat BITS in either grade. BITS vs Brothers in U/17's, Gladstone vs Yeppoon in U/15, didn't get U/13's but I heard Glenmore won today.

aaron_barrett1980
30 Aug 2008, 22:08
Well at least I got that right,(my post 20-08-08) I didn't think the Bulls would have the goods against Panthers, they r young inexperienced and with Aaron Russell breaking his leg last week they were always going to struggle. Woosnams old head got them the minor premiership but finals footy always brings out your weakness. Commiserations to Glenmore and Congrats to BITS and Panthers. Still think Panthers in the a grade but you just never know.

Herbs
30 Aug 2008, 23:28
Yep, a pretty good day for us at Panthers, just scraping through in ressies and apart from Glenmore having a good period of play in the 3rd quarter, we were in control of that one too, winning by about 60 or so. Chris Heaslip booted 7 goals while at the other end Robbie Sander kept Woosnam to 2 or 3 goals, so a definite victory to the 'Colonel'.;) A big week coming up and a lot of work to do. Boyne are a well drilled and disciplined team in both grades, but we really want this one, being at our home ground. Gonna be a real cracker.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
30 Aug 2008, 23:42
Is the Big Mac (McAlleese) playing next week in the Grand Final. Also, has he cut his hair? I haven't seen him for ages.

Herbs
31 Aug 2008, 00:32
Is the Big Mac (McAlleese) playing next week in the Grand Final. Also, has he cut his hair? I haven't seen him for ages.

Yeah, played today and will front up next week of course, everyone, come on down to the grand final at the Rocky Cricket Grounds, gonna be lots of fun. Aww yeah. Be there or be square, or some shit like that.

CQTiger
31 Aug 2008, 20:01
Herbs that was a nice run into goals in last quarter , I have never seen anyone kick it to themselves 3 times in a row without anyone else touching it.
Racking up the stats??:D good luck next week

30 plus one
31 Aug 2008, 20:34
Yeah. While we're on umpires, wtf was Donovan thinking giving a free kick to glenmore for an "illegal shepherd" only 2 metres off the ball? Still, bad calls went both ways Go the Panthers next week

thedaz47
4 Sep 2008, 09:54

ask him yourself... you seem to get on so well, after all you know his whole life story. and so do i now, thanks to you. seriously, if you are as close as you like to think with him why are you always on here asking about him?

Ermie
4 Sep 2008, 11:08
Ryan Gurton anybody?

aaron_barrett1980
4 Sep 2008, 11:36
Hey CQ Tiger, (Goal Umpire right) You were a bit quiet during the discussions of the league b and f. As an umpire Im sure you would have an opinion on the matter. I know the goal umpires dont have a say on the votes, but you would have seen alot of games and Im just wondering if you agree with the voting. I'm going to try to get a players MVP going for next season(League Permitting). Also do they have any umpiring awards? Maybe that could also be something to look into for next year, Umpire of the year.

Herbs
4 Sep 2008, 22:09
Thing is who would decide who the best umpires are? A players mvp would be a nice idea. Can't wait until Saturday, hopefully the rain will now stop (it should, so the weather beureau says) so the ground will be as good as it can be.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
4 Sep 2008, 22:31
Will Brothers be there childish selves again and turn up to support BITS. Hope the Panthers get up on the Weekend. I know a couple of the guys who are playing, Brett McAlleese, Lucas Hall, Shaun McClure, is Grant Mccalister still playing?

If the game is half as good as last year then it should be a great afternoon.

CQTiger
5 Sep 2008, 13:50
Being locked away at the goals I tend to mainly know the backs and forwards. Also some umpires who have only been in Rocky a short time simply dont know alot of players by name (like me) and this places them at a disadvantage when choosing B&F and therefore rely on long standing field umpires some of who are ex players and seem to know everyone.
I wouldn't want to say anymore about the vote casting but alot of time is spent discussing it post match but I guess some players stand out more than others for various reasons (not necessarily their playing skills). I think a player voted MVP is an excellent idea as they do it in the AFL. Good luck to all tomorrow.
The umpires have their awards night tomorrow night and have an award for the 'umpires umpire' similar to the MVP voted only be umpires in a 3,2,1 system. Brett Lord won last year.

aaron_barrett1980
5 Sep 2008, 15:58
Nice Reply mate. Still though the long standing umpires of the comp granted know the players names better, problem from my end is knowing the players name shouldn't matter, hence the number on the back of the jumper and the requirement of team sheets to be signed by the umpires. I still think the umpires would like to be recognized by the players and coaches of the comp which could be done in the same way as the MVP, by a single poll (end of season) 3,2,1 vote by players and coaches. I know if I was umpiring it would be great to be voted as the best for the year by the players. Let Roundy know I will help to organise it, if they would like to get it going.

thedaz47
5 Sep 2008, 19:55
Will Brothers be there childish selves again and turn up to support BITS. Hope the Panthers get up on the Weekend. I know a couple of the guys who are playing, Brett McAlleese, Lucas Hall, Shaun McClure, is Grant Mccalister still playing?

probably... you have to support one team. feel free to wave your big mcaleese banner so we know who you are.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
5 Sep 2008, 20:19
Are you threatening me?

One thing is for sure anyone from Brothers would have to have about 20 guys next to them to even speak up.

30 plus one
5 Sep 2008, 22:22

Yep. I agree. It's one thing to support a team, but to don their warpaint? Then to cheer the other team in panthers faces? come on boys, have a look at yourselves and ask why people leave you

aaron_barrett1980
6 Sep 2008, 01:24
Come now Gents, really whoever goes where, leaves who, barracks for what team sledges who for what its all good as long as we can all shake hands, have a beer and a laugh afterwards thats what footys supposed to be about.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
6 Sep 2008, 01:37
Yeah me and Daz47 are just having a bit of sly banter, i took his suggestion that i should turn up with my "McAleese banner so he knows who i am" as a indirect threat. My comment that anyone from Brothers wouldn't do anything unless they had a belly full of stale beer and 20 guys around them to back em up was just a bit of banter but still probably not far from the truth.

Just a bit of friendly banter.

stmookeyj
7 Sep 2008, 04:49
So the story of the day was that I was asleep and missed the Under 13's (though from the sounds of it Yeppoon managed to win). Arrived for the thrilling conclusion of the 15's where young man O'Grady kicked I believe his 99th or 100th for the season with the last kick of the day to break Yeppoon hearts.

Then BITS won the other 3 matches. Got a couple of late ones to knock off Brothers in the 17's, then simply had too much experience when it mattered in the reserves (although the Panthers 44 really should watch the elbows, almost got instant retribution courtesy of 2 of the McClures). Senior game really was wrapped up early when BITS scored the first 4 goals of the game very early and simply coasted from there. It was rather dull and boring to be truthful; it was as flat as I had seen a crowd at a GF for a long time if not ever. But it was a nice way for old timer Darren "Dasher" Boase to bow out. His brother Danny (Daisy) won the BOG game ball. Panthers simply could not hit a target to save themselves up forward and that cost them big time.

But there's one person who I'd really like to abuse the crap out of, the #1 Panthers supporter Alan Kennedy. Wonder what he'll write on Monday?

As for the whole us and Panthers thing....it's been happening for years, well before the recent events of the past. I still remember back at the start of the decade when they somehow managed to nab a junior co-ordinator and tried to secure clearances for a number of our juniors (which we believed to be illegal, although a comprimise was quickly worked out). And even before then it stemmed to when they had a massive oversubscription of talent in the mid 90's and the Roos basically relied on the folding of the old Parkana club to turn things around. And to be frank we pretty much get on better with BITS and to a lesser extent Gladstone than we do with anyone else, some of whom we've known for years and are reasonably close.

Just for the record, there were 4 ex-Roos in the 2007 squad (Ennis, Smart, McAleese, Barry Morris who left because he and Clinton Evans are best mates and always have been, plus he spent a year or 2 in Brisbane), and we believed at the time that at least 2 of those (the first 2) left for money, and the 3rd basically walked out on us when he saw how desperate the situation had become at a training session early last year. He wasn't the only one (There's a bloke who now plays for Moranbah in the Mackay league who got sick of it and simply went to play Union), but like most players who leave a club (particularly in pro ranks) they would expect to get some "attention" from their ex-teammates on and off the park. And yep, I would expect it if this ever happened to me, so long as it wasn't racial abuse which has no place anywhere. And of course we all would like to just leave it on the field, and if he chooses just to walk away, then that's how I guess he deals with it.

That is my version of events, you can choose to take it or leave it. Hell I don't care if you want to bag it, it's not really my problem. Now we can all take a breath for a month or so as the club presentation nights take place (barring BITS, they already had theirs and Alex Totton won their B&F), and the AGM's take place before we all convene for Pre-Season stuff later in the year.

CQTiger
7 Sep 2008, 09:58
I still think the umpires would like to be recognized by the players and coaches of the comp which could be done in the same way as the MVP, by a single poll (end of season) 3,2,1 vote by players and coaches. I know if I was umpiring it would be great to be voted as the best for the year by the players. Let Roundy know I will help to organise it, if they would like to get it going.
Funny you should mention that it has been discussed at umpires awards night and may come to fruition next year.
As for yesterdays game I agree it was quite a lack lustre game which resulted in the crowd being very subdued. At least the reserves was a pearler and could have gone either way.

Herbs
7 Sep 2008, 19:27
As far as the games go, disappointing, although we gave BITS a real hurry up in the ressies and it was a cracker of a game. We were flat in the A's, but not much we can do about it now, Boyne were deserving winners. For any Boyne fellas that may read this, thanks for the pizzas today, delicious.;) I'll have to pay that one, nice work. So onto our presentation nights and footy trips for a winddown after a big season for the league. I just hope to christ that I don't have any serious injury concerns in the next year.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
7 Sep 2008, 19:42
How did McAlleese go?

30 plus one
7 Sep 2008, 21:40
stmookeyj. I'm not trying to perpetuate the niggling agro thing, i was just stating what i saw last year. In a previous post i stated it was good to see you boys coming back, and next year will be interesting. Still, the rivalries make for a fun season.
Anyway, onto yesterday's disaster. Bits difinitely had the wood on us in a's, Ressies was exciting though, had 'em in last 1/4 by 4 points then they showed us how it's done. good to see Dasher go out on a high. talent like him will be missed but the hole will be filled by their depth.
Hopefully next year we'll be fitter. Well done Bits. (kills me to say that!)

30 plus one
8 Sep 2008, 18:22
Forgot to thank BITS for the pizzas. yum yum.

stmookeyj
13 Sep 2008, 04:21
How did McAlleese go?

IIRC I was counting his stats, and it was 9 kicks, 2 HB's, 1 free conceded when he finally decided to get angry with 10 minutes to go and the game shot. But as I said earlier, it was that boring so I did start counting.

LIONS then DAYLIGHT
13 Sep 2008, 04:32
Has the Brett still got long hair?