View Full Version : Capricornia league
stmookeyj
13 Sep 2008, 04:44
Has the Brett still got long hair?
Nah he had the #2 blade (it looked like a number 2) a couple of weeks ago. Slight improvement (but not by much).
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
13 Sep 2008, 04:45
Haven't seen Brett in ages. Is he still a brickie?
thedaz47
14 Sep 2008, 12:39
IIRC I was counting his stats, and it was 9 kicks, 2 HB's, 1 free conceded when he finally decided to get angry with 10 minutes to go and the game shot. But as I said earlier, it was that boring so I did start counting.
2 50m penalties... one resulting in a goal.
brothers had their best and fairest last night with john cotton taking out the ressies and bendy o'brien the a grade. scott smithwick polled well in the first few games he was back for and made up a lot of ground but bendy polled the same number of votes in the last 5 rounds as scott and managed to hold him off. adam williams was named best backman and player's player.
aaron_barrett1980
14 Sep 2008, 17:00
we had our b and f too, Richie Spittal won the ressies from John Terrick (Nugget) and in the A grade young fella Ben Coles won the count with Charlie Johnstone second.
Panthers have their B&F night this weekend, so it'll be interesting to see. As an aside and actually fairly unrelated, the Bundy/Wide Bay league had their grand final on Saturday, Across The Waves (Bundy team) beating Hervey Bay Bombers by a point.
Panthers have had their B&F night, Ben Kneen getting the gong with Lyle Clifford runner up in seniors while Stephen Conaghan won the ressies award.
Hella Dank
14 Oct 2008, 18:22
Is jason dunett still playing?
Yeah mate, Jayson plays with us at Panthers, had a pretty good year too and has transformed from a half forward flanker to a backman pretty well.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
14 Oct 2008, 20:02
Where abouts did Brett McAllese finish in the B & F.
Anyone know when his wedding is?
Also, could anyone PM me his mobile number?
Would be much appreciated, he sent me a text a few weeks before his engagement party back in May, but i lost my phone about a week before the party so i couldnt remember where the party was. I dont live in rocky so it was hard to find out.
Havent spoken to him in ages.
aaron_barrett1980
14 Oct 2008, 22:43
So guys whats happening round the other clubs at this boring time of year. Im glad im on the commitee other wise id be going crazy missin footy, the other sports just dont match up.(lol) Anyway guys hope all have a great off season remember the bigger stronger faster you get the better for the comp. Dont know about you lot be we would love the same high level of competition that we had all year. No easy game had to wrk hard for every win and odviously should have worked harder in the ones we lost. Again good luck to all with recruiting, coaches and all other off field matters (but not too much good luck) leading up the 2009 season. Undoubtedly I will catch up with you all.:)
Hella Dank
15 Oct 2008, 17:26
Yeah mate, Jayson plays with us at Panthers, had a pretty good year too and has transformed from a half forward flanker to a backman pretty well.
Oh cool..I'm from rocky actually played 6 years with the bulls through to about lower age U/14's and real good mates with Tyson Payne.. Anyways i was just wondering whether he was still playing its good to hear he is hew as a pretty good junior footy player..
Yeah fair while until the start of season '09, but given that it'll be a a big preseason, it'll pass quickly. Gonna be lots of pain in that time though.:o
aaron_barrett1980
20 Oct 2008, 23:02
Yeah fair while until the start of season '09, but given that it'll be a a big preseason, it'll pass quickly. Gonna be lots of pain in that time though.:o
pre season gotta love it
aaron_barrett1980
17 Nov 2008, 22:01
League Meeting @ Raglan gun club 26th November @ 7:00pm. Just for those that didn't know all ready!!!:thumbsu:
Before we know it, it'll be the 2009 season, finally getting back into it and I can't wait, injuries suck.
aaron_barrett1980
2 Dec 2008, 11:05
So season to kick off 28 March.
BITS vs Panthers @ Bits
Gladstone vs Glenmore @ Gladstone
Yeppoon vs Brothers @ cant remember sorry!!
Rest of the draw not confirmed but that looks to be first round anyway!!
geez you are on the ball
Same as round 1 in AFL
aaron_barrett1980
3 Dec 2008, 23:55
Was just informed that the draw may not be as stated in previous post but it is still the likely date.
stmookeyj
14 Dec 2008, 07:56
I'm surprised they have even done a draw, normally it doesn't come out until about late January although we have an idea from the previous year where the away trips are (think it's 1 to Yeppoon and Gladstone and 2 to Boyne next year if previous years are the indication, but this year was the first time in too many years where we've played twice in Yeppoon and Gladstone).
Last week of "unofficial" pre-season this week before the real pre-season slog begins January 6 for us. Fortunately I'm working at that time so my legs are saved for now!
calccaws
17 Dec 2008, 18:27
does anyone know a Paul Caveny Plays for bits and wears number 34
i used to play with him down south in vic and he was a handy backman
can you let me know
aaron_barrett1980
18 Dec 2008, 13:56
Yeah I think most would know Paul, is still a handy backman,
CQTiger
19 Jan 2009, 20:41
the draw is supposed to be finalized on Wednesday Can someone post it here when it becomes available
AaronRussell
2 Feb 2009, 11:47
Hey all, does anyone know where dasher is heading? is still playing elsewhere or has he completely retired. He could still easily play if he wished im sure.
AaronRussell
2 Feb 2009, 12:02
Well at least I got that right,(my post 20-08-08) I didn't think the Bulls would have the goods against Panthers, they r young inexperienced and with Aaron Russell breaking his leg last week they were always going to struggle. Woosnams old head got them the minor premiership but finals footy always brings out your weakness. Commiserations to Glenmore and Congrats to BITS and Panthers. Still think Panthers in the a grade but you just never know.
Hey Azza, yeah injuries killed us...we had 5 out for our panthers game after the bits hitout. Then panthers seemed to have the same issue when they played bits the following week. Taking no credit away from bits though. They are always a tough and worthy winners.
I have to say i totally agree with your opinion on the votes, its hard enough for a umpire to umpire then to note whos playing well. Nobody knows better than opposition players or even opposition coach who is hurting them more on the field. They would probably have a more accurate account for the B & F voting. Club B & F players rarely tally in the league??? Go figure???
OnceWereWarriors
4 Feb 2009, 20:21
Can anyone tell me about the Swans up here? I've just moved to Yeppoon from Vic, and I'm looking for a club. Have coached around Vic Country for about 8 years but I've heard lots of different things about different clubs. Obviously answers will be biased depending on who replies!!
AaronRussell
5 Feb 2009, 12:18
Hey mate, how are you. Obviously yeppoon swans would be your closest club. I believe they have been in need of a good coach of recent times as its been left up to their capatain coach wes hawke who is a strong leader but may be left under less pressure if he didnt have to coach aswell. Clearly you would be welcomed at any club im sure. I myself am a glenmore bulls senios player. If you are chasing any contact details i would be happy to chase for you.
aaron_barrett1980
5 Feb 2009, 22:25
Wow been a bit of traffic on here since I was last on, Is good to see!!
How's the leg coming along Aaron R, I heard it was a pretty bad break, I hope it's all heading in the right direction.
Dasha as far as I know is heading to Airlie Beach and I'm sure one of the clubs up there would love to have him if he wants to play.
And to Once Were Warriors all clubs in this comp are fantastic and all are probably capable of winning this years flag if all goes well, if your in Yeppoon go to Yeppoon, they have alot of talent and I'm sure like all clubs would appreciate any help they can get:)
Just for the record I am from Gladstone so as you can see my opinion is very unbiased. Good Luck wherever you go I hope to meet you along the line.
aaron_barrett1980
5 Feb 2009, 22:26
Hey mate, how are you. Obviously yeppoon swans would be your closest club. I believe they have been in need of a good coach of recent times as its been left up to their capatain coach wes hawke who is a strong leader but may be left under less pressure if he didnt have to coach aswell. Clearly you would be welcomed at any club im sure. I myself am a glenmore bulls senios player. If you are chasing any contact details i would be happy to chase for you.
Oh yeah I thought Brett Motton coached Yeppoon last year?
Borgsy05
6 Feb 2009, 09:59
Azza, you boys got any preseason games planned if so who are you playing??
AaronRussell
6 Feb 2009, 11:24
Wow been a bit of traffic on here since I was last on, Is good to see!!
How's the leg coming along Aaron R, I heard it was a pretty bad break, I hope it's all heading in the right direction.
Dasha as far as I know is heading to Airlie Beach and I'm sure one of the clubs up there would love to have him if he wants to play.
And to Once Were Warriors all clubs in this comp are fantastic and all are probably capable of winning this years flag if all goes well, if your in Yeppoon go to Yeppoon, they have alot of talent and I'm sure like all clubs would appreciate any help they can get:)
Just for the record I am from Gladstone so as you can see my opinion is very unbiased. Good Luck wherever you go I hope to meet you along the line.
Yeah mate the leg is coming along perfectly been training for a while now and in full swing better than expected considering. Yeah apparently the initial contact was only a fracture then when i went back out on the ground i broke it, didnt look pretty but ahwell.
Hoping to another close exciting year. Yeah dash will be missed by all. How are yous looking?
AaronRussell
6 Feb 2009, 13:10
Oh yeah I thought Brett Motton coached Yeppoon last year?
Yeah my bad, your right azza not sure what i was thinking but yeah either way oncewerewarriors would be still welcomed to the swanies
aaron_barrett1980
9 Feb 2009, 11:41
Azza, you boys got any preseason games planned if so who are you playing??
Actually mate I am about to contact your higher powers to see if we can play you boys on the 28th March, other than tha we are going down to Bundy twice once on the 7th March and then on the 21st March. With the coaching accreditation being held on the 14th of March the 28th is the only day left so we will see what happens.
Oh by the way how's the knee mate you'll be back this year for sure hey?
aaron_barrett1980
9 Feb 2009, 11:51
Yeah mate the leg is coming along perfectly been training for a while now and in full swing better than expected considering. Yeah apparently the initial contact was only a fracture then when i went back out on the ground i broke it, didnt look pretty but ahwell.
Hoping to another close exciting year. Yeah dash will be missed by all. How are yous looking?
Good to hear mate but have to say I am glad I didnt see it, my knee is bad enough when that pops out let alone a big snap. We're not looking too bad you know how it is lose a couple, gain a couple but I am sure we will be stronger than last year ecspecially when we play away from home. I thought we had an appauling away record last year and hopefully I have the right coaching staff and playing list to ensure we are competetive away aswell as at home.
What about you blokes, had a young team last year if you kept them all I am sure you guys will be strong again, should really be favourites for the minor premiership, all though I can see Brothers improving and definately they are going to be hard to beat, but I honestly think it will be again a really close season gonna have to earn every win.
Borgsy05
9 Feb 2009, 11:56
Actually mate I am about to contact your higher powers to see if we can play you boys on the 28th March, other than tha we are going down to Bundy twice once on the 7th March and then on the 21st March. With the coaching accreditation being held on the 14th of March the 28th is the only day left so we will see what happens.
Oh by the way how's the knee mate you'll be back this year for sure hey?
Yeah the boys are heading down to bundy as some stage for a game, not sure what else we have planned at this stage. should be another cracker of a season, all teams appear to be stronger then last year should make for another close comp.
yeah knee is coming along pretty well, been doing most things at training, just havent jumped into any high contact yet. At this stage will be aiming for first game of the season if all goes well.
Hella Dank
9 Feb 2009, 12:57
hey fellas heard toby payne is going to adelaide and tyson is off to brissy, used to play in rocky all my junior days for the mighty bulls just seeing if that was the case..Jak Johnston
stmookeyj
9 Feb 2009, 23:23
Actually mate I am about to contact your higher powers to see if we can play you boys on the 28th March,
Apparantly we're (brothers) heading up to Airlie that weekend for the Mackay lightning. Probably would have went last year but their schedule started too early for us.
aaron_barrett1980
10 Feb 2009, 13:50
Apparantly we're (brothers) heading up to Airlie that weekend for the Mackay lightning. Probably would have went last year but their schedule started too early for us.
Yeah I know I wanted to play you blokes on that weekend but unfortunately you bloke are heading up to Airlie. We just couldn't get enough players wanting to travel to Airlie.
aaron_barrett1980
10 Feb 2009, 13:57
yeah knee is coming along pretty well, been doing most things at training, just havent jumped into any high contact yet. At this stage will be aiming for first game of the season if all goes well.
Well Good Luck mate I hope it is all good for the start of the year and stays that way for the remainder of your career. I am waiting on my second reco but if they make me wait too long I will chuck the boots on again this year, why not been playing on it for the last 2 years can't do anymore damage...... I hope!!!:)
Borgsy05
13 Feb 2009, 09:55
Well Good Luck mate I hope it is all good for the start of the year and stays that way for the remainder of your career. I am waiting on my second reco but if they make me wait too long I will chuck the boots on again this year, why not been playing on it for the last 2 years can't do anymore damage...... I hope!!!:)
Cheers mate, hopefully i get a full season in, was so tough playing only 3 games last year and having to watch the rest of the year. im sure you know the feeling. hope you get in soon mate i was lucky enough to get in straight away otherwise i would have missed another year.
thedaz47
14 Feb 2009, 10:59
all, have made an afl cap league on supercoach. anyone who is into that kind of stuff should get amoungst it. league code is 377791. dunno how strong my team will be this year, only internet access i have is dodgy cafes out here in mt shiza so the team will be pretty rushed. just putting the excuse out there early.
have a good one and look forward to catching you all around for season and preseason games
stupid
stmookeyj
18 Feb 2009, 16:10
We're also playing Eastern Swans at home on the 21st of March, so it appears we have a pretty decent pre-season schedule (so long as 25 of us head up to Airlie!)
Gymnorhina tibic
20 Feb 2009, 21:43
Can anyone tell me about the Swans up here? I've just moved to Yeppoon from Vic, and I'm looking for a club. Have coached around Vic Country for about 8 years but I've heard lots of different things about different clubs. Obviously answers will be biased depending on who replies!!
Great club full of quality people, I too am from Vic originally and played there for the past 2 years (now giving SA a go). You and your family will be welcomed and more than comfortable in the environment. The team is up and comming with many talented youngsters, last year they tore teams apart at times but also had some dissapointing results due to the smaller body fatigue. Someone who enjoys footy and coaching couldn't find a better club at a better time in its history, ready take the next step.
CQTiger
24 Feb 2009, 21:50
The draw is out for those interested
First Round
April 4th
BITS v Panthers BI
Glenmore v Gladstone SP
Brothers v Yeppoon KP
Rnd 2 - April 18th
Panthers v Glenmore RCG night game
Yeppoon v BITS Sw
Gladstone v Brothers CP
May 2nd - Rnd 3
Labour Day Long Weekend
Saturday Games
BITS v Gladstone BI
Yeppoon v Panthers Sw
Brothers v Glenmore KP
Rnd 4 - May 9th
Brothers v BITS KP
Gladstone v Panthers CP
Glenmore v Yeppoon SP
Rnd 5 - May 16th
BITS v Glenmore BI
Gladstone v Yeppoon CP
Panthers v Brothers RCG
Rnd 6 - May 23rd
Panthers v Glenmore RCG
Gladstone v BITS CP
Brothers v Yeppoon KP
Rnd 7 - May 30th
BITS v Brothers BI
Yeppoon v Panthers Sw
Glenmore v Gladstone SP
Rnd 8 - June 13th
Glenmore v BITS SP
Panthers v Brothers RCG
Gladstone v Yeppoon CP
Rnd 9 - June 20th
Panthers v BITS RCG
Yeppoon v Glenmore Sw
Brothers v Gladstone KP
Rnd 10 - June 27th
BITS v Yeppoon BI
Panthers v Gladstone RCG
Glenmore v Brothers SP
Rnd 11 - July 11th
Gladstone v BITS CP
Glenmore v Panthers SP
Yeppoon v Brothers Sw
Rnd 12 - July 18th
Brothers v BITS KP
Panthers v Yeppoon RCG
Gladstone v Glenmore CP
Rnd 13 - July 25th
BITS v Glenmore BI
Brothers v Panthers KP
Yeppoon v Gladstone Sw
Rnd 14 - Aug 1st
BITS v Panthers BI
Glenmore v Yeppoon SP
Gladstone v Brothers CP
Rnd 15 - Aug 8th
Yeppoon v BITS Sw
Panthers v Gladstone RCG
Brothers v Glenmore KP
hands_in_the_back
24 Feb 2009, 22:04
Looks good!! Bring on the season
CQTiger
22 Mar 2009, 20:28
are there any practice games played in the Rocky area next weekend??
good luck to everyone tomorrow:thumbsu:
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
5 Apr 2009, 03:11
Is Brett McAlleese still playing in this comp?
Was ment to get to his engagement party last year but lost my phone the week before after i drunk a "dirty thirty" and therefore i lost his number and the text message telling me where the party was. Haven't been in contact with him since?
Is he still playing for Panthers?
Someone tell me the story about him leaving half way through the game because the umps were pissing him off?
AaronRussell
16 Apr 2009, 09:41
yeah as far as im aware he is still playing, yet to play against them yet so dont know for sure but havent heard otherwise.
Is anyone doing the game reports in this forum this year? i know you were doing a good job last year herbs, doing it again or?
Unfortunately I can't make it to many games this year as work has pretty much taken over my life, but I'll do as many game reports as I can. But anyway, looking forward to the night game against you guys, even though I'll be just a spectator.:thumbsu:
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
16 Apr 2009, 14:51
BITS the favourite to take out the flag this year?
CQTiger
19 Apr 2009, 21:25
Excellent contested game under lights at the RCG despite the insects. Glenmore got up by a point over the Panthers with the lead changing several times in the last quarter
Bit ordinary on our part, didn't run out the game well enough and Glenmore pinched it in the end. The ressies game was wet weather footy, without the rain, it was that scrappy. Plenty to work on from our point of view.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
26 Apr 2009, 04:15
Anyone got a fixture for this season?
thedaz47
27 Apr 2009, 00:40
hmmmm, seems CQTiger did. lol
The draw is out for those interested
First Round
April 4th
BITS v Panthers BI
Glenmore v Gladstone SP
Brothers v Yeppoon KP
Rnd 2 - April 18th
Panthers v Glenmore RCG night game
Yeppoon v BITS Sw
Gladstone v Brothers CP
May 2nd - Rnd 3
Labour Day Long Weekend
Saturday Games
BITS v Gladstone BI
Yeppoon v Panthers Sw
Brothers v Glenmore KP
Rnd 4 - May 9th
Brothers v BITS KP
Gladstone v Panthers CP
Glenmore v Yeppoon SP
Rnd 5 - May 16th
BITS v Glenmore BI
Gladstone v Yeppoon CP
Panthers v Brothers RCG
Rnd 6 - May 23rd
Panthers v Glenmore RCG
Gladstone v BITS CP
Brothers v Yeppoon KP
Rnd 7 - May 30th
BITS v Brothers BI
Yeppoon v Panthers Sw
Glenmore v Gladstone SP
Rnd 8 - June 13th
Glenmore v BITS SP
Panthers v Brothers RCG
Gladstone v Yeppoon CP
Rnd 9 - June 20th
Panthers v BITS RCG
Yeppoon v Glenmore Sw
Brothers v Gladstone KP
Rnd 10 - June 27th
BITS v Yeppoon BI
Panthers v Gladstone RCG
Glenmore v Brothers SP
Rnd 11 - July 11th
Gladstone v BITS CP
Glenmore v Panthers SP
Yeppoon v Brothers Sw
Rnd 12 - July 18th
Brothers v BITS KP
Panthers v Yeppoon RCG
Gladstone v Glenmore CP
Rnd 13 - July 25th
BITS v Glenmore BI
Brothers v Panthers KP
Yeppoon v Gladstone Sw
Rnd 14 - Aug 1st
BITS v Panthers BI
Glenmore v Yeppoon SP
Gladstone v Brothers CP
Rnd 15 - Aug 8th
Yeppoon v BITS Sw
Panthers v Gladstone RCG
Brothers v Glenmore KP
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
27 Apr 2009, 01:59
Sorry, cheers anyway.
combaning
26 Jun 2009, 15:23
gday,
i was wondering if i could get a bit of feedback on the comp around rockhampton and quality of footy?
how many clubs are there based in rockhampton? what club is recommended for a bloke in his young 20's moving to rocky indefinately in 2010? With previous 4 years at a uni club and looking for a good time socially and playing some decent footy, and get pretty involved with a club. also, are there netball clubs affiliated with the footy club like nsw and vic and juniors? any other information would be useful like winning and/or social cultures would be handy.
cheers
Combaning: The competition is really close here now and the standard is improving each year, of course, if you come from Vic metro comps or the like you'd immediately be a top player in our comp, we're not that good, not yet anyway.:) There's 4 clubs based in the Rockhampton area, there's Rockhampton Panthers (who I have played with - great people, I think you'd like it with us), Glenmore Bulls, who are always competitive, Brothers Roos, who are competitive again after a bad year a couple of years ago and Yeppoon Swans, who have a great young side. I'm not going to comment on the culture of other clubs, it's not my place to do that so I won't. At Panthers we've contested the last 2 grand finals against Boyne Island, winning the '07 A grade flag - they did us over last year though.
As for netball, our clubs aren't affiliated with the netball comps, there's a big netball comp up here, really popular, a mate's missus is pretty heavily involved in it but I don't know the details exactly.
If you have any questions regarding Rockhampton Panthers, just shoot me a PM and I can put you in contact with our club president and coaches and you can get the lowdown from them.
Cheers,
Herbs.
thedaz47
29 Jun 2009, 20:03
Brothers Roos wear North colours, Panthers with what is basically a Pies strip and Glenmore Bulls wear the Lions colours. I study at the local 'university' and play for Brothers; we train and play right next to the airport. If you're up by the 19th July then let me know, as we have a function you would be welcome to come to and meet us... Just putting our hat in the ring too, as new players are welcome at all of the clubs up here in a league dominated area.
stitty11
30 Jun 2009, 20:53
Hey,
I used to play in the Capricornia league but now live in Brisbane (and play for Coopooroo Kings). I played for Brothers and am willing to say that they are a fantastic club with a great group of players and volunteers willing to do anything to make the club the best in Central Queensland.
Cheers,
Stitty.
Tis Just Me
30 Jun 2009, 22:11
I'll second that Stitty. Started my footy in South West Vic, followed by stints in Melbourne and Brisbane whilst at uni then back to Vic. Moved here last year and have joined Brothers following a chance meeting with one of the boys. Have not looked back. One of the best clubs I have played for and have loved every minute of being around the club. Have been in the game for a long time, and Brothers has been my favourite of them all.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
1 Jul 2009, 03:01
McAlleese still playing in that CQ comp?
Gun player.
McAlleese still playing in that CQ comp?
Gun player.
Yeah he is, why do you keep asking? I'd be a bit freaked out if I were him.:p
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
7 Jul 2009, 16:04
Just haven't seen him for a while, I went to school with him.
Has he got married yet?
Went and watched him play a game in 2007 and he was lying down the goal square, the other team was so shit, Panthers always were in attack.
Pure gold.
thedaz47
8 Jul 2009, 14:25
i went to school with gavin urquhart and paul o'shea but you don't see me spamming the doggies and north boards asking how they're going every 3 days...
Time for an update, we got pantsed last week against Glenmore, pretty ordinary effort all round. But yesterday against Yeppoon we pulled the rabbit out of the hat with about 15 seconds left, Jayson Dunnett goaled to put us a point up - gutsy win with 8 ressies guys stepping up to the A's and performing well. For reasons only known to him, Wes Hawke cracked the sads and stormed off at the end, apparently too good to shake hands with anyone.:confused: Also heard that Gladdy beat Glenmore, don't know about Boyne vs Brothers.
thedaz47
20 Jul 2009, 02:01
BITS beat us but we put in a good show... once again we were in it until some time during the fourth quarter. Whether it's a lack of fitness or bunch of younger kids coming through we don't seem to be able to finish, but there is promise. We could cause some headaches yet in the last three games, and are looking forward to a push for finals next year.
FWIW i've no problem with hawkey and don't understand the bad wrap alot of people give him. The actions described above are unforgivable but i've personally had no issue with the guy (every time i played on him they were up by 10-15 goals and he had no reason to be upset i suppose). In fact, i'll go as far as to say he seems like a great bloke who i have a lot of time for (provided it's not a close game).
I just think he doesn't know how to act in certain situations, hell of a player but a hard one to work out what goes in inside his head.
thedaz47
21 Jul 2009, 00:54
oh totally, in a tight game he'll snap every time without fail... but outside of that he seems quite approachable
Went down and watch my first game of the year at stenlake park for the Panthers V Glenmore a couple of weeks ago. Panthers just didn't look them selves and certainly dropped thier bundle. Though Glenmore looked far from impressive also. hopefully they can both turn it around for the finals, if glenmore make it. (I honestly don't know the ladder)
Was great to get out to the football again, missed the last few weeks due to work, Hope to get down to the last few of the year.
learmonth
12 Aug 2009, 13:37
I see finals are starting this week, can anyone let me know whos playing? How did Gladstone go this season?
CQTiger
12 Aug 2009, 21:28
Gladstone finished out of the finals with problems fielding a full team in the end.
this Saturday sees BITS host Glenmore in the 1st semi
next week Yeppoon at home to Panthers in 2nd semi
Preliminary at panthers and GF glenmore
Grand final will be between Yeppoon and Boyne Island next Saturday in A grade, ressies will be Panthers vs Yeppoon.
thedaz47
30 Aug 2009, 19:01
Good effort from Yeppoon, wasn't long ago that they were struggling a bit, but they've got 15's in as well i'm pretty sure.
Plus it could be argued that they have this year's B&F winner leading them, what's everyone's opinion on that... fwiw cameron cloke, eddie betts, and jeff garlett are all still eligible for brownlow ;)... hawkey is veeeeeeery stiff
I'll go down and have a look on the weekend. I always go down and check out the final, Hopefully glenmore, will do a good job hosting.
Hawkey is unlucky, but I don't beleive he was the best and FAIREST. Just my opinion.
thedaz47
31 Aug 2009, 17:00
so because the club suspends him he misses out on a league award??? would make more sense to me if he missed out on their club b&f
I don't know the story your talking about. I have next to nothing to do with this league anymore other then going and watching a few games this year.
But if this own club suspends him then yes he should miss out on the club B&F and pending why he was suspended, yes he should also miss out on the league B&F!
I didn't think that club suspension had any bearing on a league count though. (It should IMHO) Care to fill in the blanks why he was suspended?
thedaz47
31 Aug 2009, 20:07
he mooned the crowd and was suspended by the club, while the league supported the decision they didn't enforce it. and yeh i totally agree with you, club b&f should be out, but seeing as he had a clean record with the league and its tribunal i think he's got reason to feel aggrieved. as i said earlier, rhan hooper's suspension may have been supported by the players association at the beginning of the year, but he's still eligible for brownlow... not that you'd have money on him
So he mooned the crowd after a game? Sorry I don't beleive that he should get the award if he did that at a league game. If he had of done that at the pub after the game away form the ground then I may have a different opinon.
This is just my opinion on the matter. As I have said I don't have a great deal to do with this league any more, so there may be other factors involved. EG an umpires match report, not player report. I just don't know.
He should be rewarded with a premiership, if they can keep their form together, not a bad consulation prize.
thedaz47
1 Sep 2009, 16:15
my understanding was that it was during a game... and my point of view is that he should have been suspended by the league, but as he wasn't that he should be eligible for B&F... on the GF front, BITS only have one team in seniors this year and will be stronger for it, the swans kids have stood up well and made up for their lack of experience with speed and fitness, but they're going to have to step up again... will be an intriguing encounter
Well the Capricornia footy season is now done and dusted, Yeppoon are the '09 premiers in A grade after, well, a rather disappointing match in regards to a spectacle, I ended up leaving at half time.:o Final score was 119 - 47 the Swans way.:eek: Beforehand I thought Boyne were in with a shot, but I was woefully off the mark. In the ressies game Panthers made it 3rd time lucky, keeping Yeppoon at arm's length all game to win by 32 points if I remember correctly. No doubt that we were helped by Wes Kelly's brain explosions, all 3 of them,two yellows then a red card for doing absolutely stupid crap.:rolleyes: But it was an excellent team performance by Panthers - no passengers.:)
forthaloveofit
15 Nov 2009, 10:30
:thumbsd: Panthers are so over rated only gain players by stealing from other teams.
Living in Dysart messed with your brain that much eh?:)
At the very least, it's good to know that you care for us so much.:thumbsu:
johnross
20 Nov 2009, 17:53
Living in Dysart messed with your brain that much eh?:)
At the very least, it's good to know that you care for us so much.:thumbsu:
i'm looking to have a crack at afl in rocky. sorry, i have a few questions. if you have any time could you please answer some of these?
what teams are there and who needs players? and what kind of players? i've heard of the bulls or something from a mate but is there anymore? i'm guessing this is the right place to ask?
has anyone started preseason training yet? who has the best coach? do any players get paid? do any of the clubs have affiliations with any other clubs eg. netball clubs or basketball or something like that? and are there any social functions in the year for any clubs?
has anyone made any star recruits for 2010 yet like ex-afl players? sorry i do not know much. just interested. looking for a change this is all.
thanks for your time.
JR
stmookeyj
20 Nov 2009, 22:33
Most clubs are one off organisations that don't pay players. There are 3 clubs in Rockhampton, Glenmore Bulls located near the Uni, Panthers located near the river, and Brothers located a stone's throw from the airport.
As an ex-Brothers 2's skipper I can say we've started PS training although it's only 1 night a week organised training and a lot of the program will need to be up to yourself. Not sure of the coaching situation at the other clubs but our coach (PM me for a number if interested) I believe has Level 2 qualifications and after a few years coaching our 17's side steps up to the senior role for the 1st time this year. (Don't ask me about a 2's coach, may find out more this weekend)
Our needs.....midfielder won't go astray, neither would an experienced ruckman. We look as though we'll have a youngish side this season.
New players are always welcome, PM me if you want to know anything more about Panthers, we've got preseason going on, but it'll get more serious after new year's. As Mookey said, the clubs stand alone in our comp, but we have guys who are also involved in local basketball, touch footy etc. I won't bother with the best coaches and all since it's a rather subjective area, Panthers have a new senior coach, though I don't have all the details just yet. By all means, come on down to the Rocky Cricket Grounds and get the lowdown when we're on the training track. As for the standard of the comp, it's always improving, but if you have played at say, Vic metro level, you'd immediately be a top player in this comp. The Capricornia league probably is just a bit behind the Mackay league, but we're ahead of the Bundaberg/Wide Bay area.
swanstars
21 Nov 2009, 14:37
hey john ross, i would have to agree with herbs there although the cap league is a bit stronger than the mackay league atm althouh they are very even. There are plenty of quality players in this league although the main difference to vic leagues etc is the depth. If your from brisbane it would be fair to say that the league here would be on par with the top sides in this league would be level if not better than the top sides in the state association league div 1 in brisbane. Although as herbs said it is ever improving with alot of young talent coming through, all teams would be happy to have new blood, there are two teams in the gladstone region one team down the beach at yeppoon and 3 in rockhampton. As far as coaches go it would be fair to say glenmore have had the best coach of recent times in dean woosnam who is also a very very good player coming from SANFL for sturt. Yepoon won the flag this year with a very fast side and all other teamss where fairly competitive. Have you played before John? where?
thedaz47
22 Nov 2009, 11:30
The league has so far produced three AFL players; with Gavin Urquhart from North playing a few years for Glenmore while his old boy was the Area Development Manager, Paul O'Shea getting a few years with the doggies - as a supreme athlete who unfortunately didn't work out and was delisted this year - from Brothers, and Zac Smith who signed up with the GCFC team and played TAC with them last year. Rugby League is the sport of choice up here for most and that means AFL teams find it more difficult to get support. As a result, I don't think many teams are in a position where they can justify paying a player. There is speculation over the motivation for several players' movement to one club a few years ago but I'll leave my emotions out of it for the time being.
I also play for Brothers and would suggest that up here footy is a very social thing, and that aside from specific positions every team would love another active and sociable club member to have a few drinks with after the game. If you like kickin about with the boys and don't mind helping out around the club then rest assured that all six clubs will have you in a heartbeat.
forthaloveofit
2 Dec 2009, 18:55
Don't listen to herbie he is barely keeping his head above water, he is a product of the Panthers ground being next door to the Sewerage Farm in rocky.
:cool:
Side by Side they steal players
like black and whites do
there a pitiful lot down at panthers
so are the magpies too
I think you need to get that chip off your shoulder.
forthaloveofit
7 Dec 2009, 16:18
Are you ok foo foo do you need a tissue, let's see who ends up with a chip on their shoulders next year when we meet.
Herbs Got NoNothing
Little Buuny Foo Foo
thedaz47
8 Dec 2009, 15:37
the way it all went down cut a lot of people deep herbs, you'll have to accept that not everyone has moved on
CharlieSlim
17 Jan 2010, 22:40
So who is going to win the league this season?
thedaz47
18 Jan 2010, 08:29
yeppoon won't have dropped away much i'd think... most of their players are quite young and seem to all be from the same friendship circle, so they will all be back
thedaz47
20 Jan 2010, 22:03
had my first run at preseason tonight cos i finally got a job at a barinstead of bludging on centrelink... and let's just say it was about what you'd expect on your first night at training after zero through summer... might be a few votes in the ressies for me if i can't get to a few more sessions D=
sharp shooter
2 Feb 2010, 15:10
Can anyone inform me as to where gladstone play there footy (steet names). Im new to Qld and looking for somewhere to play football this season
stmookeyj
2 Feb 2010, 15:27
It's down the road from the airport if you know where that is.
Corner Aerodrome drv and Dawson Hwy
stmookeyj
24 Feb 2010, 20:39
http://www.sportingpulse.com/get_file.cgi?id=680953
The likely final draw for the season.
sharp shooter
26 Mar 2010, 12:50
Are any clubs playing practice matches this weekend? Also what teams are they playing? Just moved to the area this weekend from Victoria and imlooking for somwhere to have a kick. Play at CHF of CHB and Ruck Rover
CQTiger
28 Mar 2010, 20:29
Are any clubs playing practice matches this weekend? Also what teams are they playing? Just moved to the area this weekend from Victoria and imlooking for somwhere to have a kick. Play at CHF of CHB and Ruck Rover
Yeppoon and Glemore played on Saturday The others I think have practice matches outside Rocky. All the teams are looking for players Check out the AFLCap website which has links to club websites
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-3393-0-0-0