View Full Version : Capricornia league
swanstars
31 Mar 2010, 18:56
Are any clubs playing practice matches this weekend? Also what teams are they playing? Just moved to the area this weekend from Victoria and imlooking for somwhere to have a kick. Play at CHF of CHB and Ruck Rover
Hey Sharp Shooter, mate if you would like to come down and have a kick and are living in rockhampton feel free to call me and i can give you some more information. 0400739656 or pm me your number and i can call you back, we could use a CHF especially
Been a while since I last visited, but here we go anyway, the first round of the AFL Capricornia comp was held yesterday, with Glenmore scoring a win against Panthers in the night game. The reserves match saw Panthers take the chocolates against the Bulls. Any more results out there?:)
stmookeyj
11 Apr 2010, 20:46
BITS def Yeppoon by 5 goals, Gladdy beat us (Brothers) by 2 goals.
CQTiger
12 Apr 2010, 09:48
BITS def Yeppoon by 5 goals, Gladdy beat us (Brothers) by 2 goals.
Other way around stmookey Yeppoon def Bits 109 to 62
thedaz47
14 Apr 2010, 13:16
and apparently a scoreboard error means we actually only lost by 5 points... makes my lost footing in the goalsquare with a minute to go kind of a big moment in the game D=
Hows it all going whos winning so far
thedaz47
29 Apr 2010, 17:34
brothers beat panthers on the weekend for their first win... yeppoon afaik are undefeated and glenmore also. gladstone and bits i think may only have the one win also, but can't be sure
thanks sd hows your game going, still up forward
thedaz47
29 Apr 2010, 23:36
no, a bit of everywhere atm... starting off the bench
is this a new profile for CQTiger?
No it's Cliff
i'm like a plastic bag in the wind u never know where i'll turn up :thumbsu:
CQTiger
30 Apr 2010, 13:19
is this a new profile for CQTiger?
there are more than one Tiger supporters on here Daz ..we are just not as vocal when our team is playing like crap:cool:
Hey Hey with an attitude like that no wonder, ahh who am i kidding.
But seriously I have a FIVE year plan!!!
thedaz47
30 Apr 2010, 16:40
not that i'm really an adam sandler fan... but in this moment his words seem so profound
what is it... don't die?
What's going on there is mickey j still playing
thedaz47
10 May 2010, 14:52
yeh he's still around... doesn't get to training anymore cos he has a job sorting mail at the post office
gotta love alan kennedy in the bulletin. last week he was saying how brothers would be first pick for the wooden spoon and that our win over the shiteaters was a surprise, now he has us and yeppoon in the final \=
Daz your a maniac, on the dancefloor.
I thought Kennedy was dead, damn poms.
So the roos are on the way up?
thedaz47
11 May 2010, 12:34
couple of new faces hasn't hurt... aiden coulburne is back and sharing the ball though and that's probably our biggest acquisition. bookmark him as a contender for league B&F... kicked 7 against BITS. four new blokes up from victoria and stiffy is running around for us again after 'retiring' at the end of last year so things are looking pretty good. could still use a tall bloke though, poor ol jason dawson is stuck as our only ruck option atm... though we have a big guy in the magoos who might be a good option after a few more weeks learning.
ressies are also going quite well with a few old boys back... a forward line consisting of Liam O'Connor, Jezza, and Schimma would rival Yeppoon's for... ahm... experience (age d=)
Quality stuff daz can't believe that Channel 10 wouldn't give you that commentary gig.
As long as the Blue n White are pushing forward.
Show the peckerheads up 4 a while.
thedaz47
17 May 2010, 11:33
Brothers with two emphatic wins in both grades, but the 17s was the game worth watching. In a memorial match for young Anthony Ngata both teams shared an emotional minute silence and played in great spirit. A couple of indigenous players with that silky skill only they can possess was great to watch.
In the scooby doos we had a good win, with yours truly getting a few kicks after travelling to Brisbane to watch the Freo drubbing and displeasing the coach. With the inclusion of those mentioned above it may be difficult to get back in now. The A's also finished with a pleasing margin, though after the Bulls kicked the first two goals it looked like a different story. Michael 'the man mountain' Moore was good to watch as he proved too strong for the Glenmore backline when up there, kicking 4 goals in the process. Super fit Steve played a great game to control the centre square also.
I understand that Yeppoon beat Panthers and BITS got over the Muddies. Is this correct?
That would leave Panthers winless in A grade, no wonder we haven't heard from Herbie.
Is there any tissues on the Northside?
thedaz47
18 May 2010, 00:02
couple of players would appear to have skipped preseason imo... few other important players aren't around anymore (only saw one Roati, no Robes, no Kauffman, no Smartie)
the paper keeps giving mention to their 'young' players... but the players he names are only average at best
thedaz47
18 May 2010, 00:04
sorry, thought that said issues not tissues, will read earlier at night next time
Good post Daz you could get Kennedy's job, with stuff like that.
Robes went to Briz?
Young players at Panthers, they stealing bodies again?
Hows Mailman playing?
Good to see the boys getting some points, may be there this weekend good luck. Go the Roos
thedaz47
18 May 2010, 12:54
no, they are their own which is probably the problem. Jayson Dunnett is an honest footballer but never going to be a worldbeater, Matt Ryan would be good in a good side but doesn't seem to win his own ball and copped an absolute towelling by our own outside playing excitement machine last we met, and Sam Gudgeon is a ****ing dog who needs to keep on his toes next game (punched one of our first year seniors while sitting on his chest in the ressies and then sharpened his elbows for the A's and sent Ryan Spellman up the hospital with one to the back of the head).
Mailman headed to Bundy at the end of last year and is no longer playing for us D=
I remember Sam i might have to make a comeback next Panther game.
That's a big loss MM gone good experience nice bloke.
Good to see your still on ya toes see you at the ground on SAT v Muddies.
some good stuff on here.
sorry could'nt make it car broke down.
thedaz47
28 May 2010, 10:19
brothers v yeppoon at the beach this weekend.
few good ins in the coming weeks for us, one Brendan Ridgeley has made himself available to us again.
You see Paul O'Shea is blitzing them with Redlands, i watched them on tv a couple of weeks ago jeez he played well.
You win v Muddies?
CQTiger
28 May 2010, 16:22
brothers v yeppoon at the beach this weekend.
when was the last time these 2 teams were top of the table playing in the match of the round?? Should be a good game
Who do you follow CQ Tiger?
Daz you get up to seniors yet or just chillin back kicking goals in the ressies?
CQTiger
28 May 2010, 17:40
I follow the mighty Tigers of course but up here I will be waving the flags when Daz kicks one of his many goals tomorrow ;).
thedaz47
28 May 2010, 22:09
haha i only played the one game back in ressies. stuck on the bench in a grade tomorrow. probably changing into the backline, so lets hope aiden and co can get those flags waving... if we're relying on me there's trouble
Gotta love them Tigers, Dancing Daz in the backline what did you do?
Come on Roos, get it over them swans.
CQTiger
29 May 2010, 20:06
Tigers and Brothers come home with the chocolates. Fantastic game at the beach Think Daz will be celebrating tonight:D
thedaz47
30 May 2010, 12:18
assignments D=
was a very good win though
Go Roo Boys
Gotta love the Roos club song, sing it loud.
Dancing Daz picks the team up from the ashes.
Tigers wipe mud in the Faces of the pretending Magpies.
thedaz47
30 May 2010, 12:26
i wouldn't go as far as to say it was all me cliffy...
matt pollock with a nice bump
charlie ampt with some good work through the middle
cam adam with a good pair of hands up forward
and jamie searle with the sense to just bang the ball forward with a few important clearances in the last quarter... after we'd tried to be a bit cute with our handpasses at times
for them jason akermanis was good and impossible to tackle
Good news Daz, matty playing good games, nice, boys getting carried away yet?
Assignments back at school mate, thought you would have learnt all you could.
Wolfmother still playing?
thedaz47
30 May 2010, 19:59
finish this year
nah, he's down in bris again working his way through all the nurses at whichever hospital he's with now... have to start calling him dr love
Dr Lurve career in nurseology.
You get any jared brennan marks, how'd mickey go?
thedaz47
31 May 2010, 01:22
poor old mickey j is still just running the water for us. i really feel for the bloke
and yeh, when you've got the goods you might as well use em... and ****mother is certainly doing that by all reports
Me thinks mickey j is just waiting for the finals then he will be right to play.
thedaz47
31 May 2010, 10:11
nah, too many people wanting a game and he's missing out cos he's still a big boy and can't train due to work...
That is F2kt up mate we were there when that club was nothing, Mickey was playing 2 games nearly every week for that club.
Mickey was the damn reserves captain and he is a decent person.
Polloock strikes again.
thedaz47
31 May 2010, 14:20
Roy West is in charge of the twos. We're building a pretty strong reserves side and getting ~40 people at training. Unfortunately you can't not train and expect a game these days.
you played a lot of double ups to there was a few of us, and the 17's in ressies ah the bad old days:thumbsu:
thedaz47
31 May 2010, 19:46
yeh, don't think we have any U17s kids playing seniors anymore... bunch of 18-23 year olds now though
and yes, they were the bad old days... i wonder what don palmer's doing these days lol
Not out this way still coaching Panthers?
gow is the Rose's doing?
thedaz47
31 May 2010, 21:15
last i heard the shiteaters didn't want him even for their ressies
they're alright... ethan has come along nicely and michael is still reliable, but to be fair a little overshadowed by his little brother... something i know all too much about D=
What the mighty all conquering Dancing Daz has a sibling?
I thought they would have broken the mould when you were hatched.
Is he a footballer?
thedaz47
2 Jun 2010, 00:23
step brother... mungas
will probably finish top 3 for our B&F on current form. Just one of those players you can't help but notice.... shocking disposal but a great grab and loves a hanger and is brilliant around his ankles.
Player I can think of that he most resembles would probably be jared brennan (who just so happens to be my favourite player, so that's a huge wrap)
thedaz47
4 Jun 2010, 16:39
trolling through reveals alot of people who aren't posting anymore
what happened to everyone?
Deafening Silence
She sits and stares,
eyes unfocused
yet piercing my soul.
Her silence fills my ears.
"Say something" I yell at her,
only to see
a solitary tear
dampen her cheek.
I fall to her feet
begging for forgiveness,
but all I hear
is the pounding
of my own heart,
and the breaking of hers.
Hi all,
Just wondering if you guys could give me some info on the Capricornia league. I'm starting a job at CQU in September, too late for this footy season but looking to have a game somewhere next year.
I currently play in the Southern Football League in Tassie, and have played a fair bit of statewide league and in a few representative teams. I'm wondering if anyone can compare the standards between Tassie footy and Capricornia league if they've ever seen a game/played down this way?
Particularly interested in the time requirement of players - ie do most teams train 2/3/4 nights a week, do big pre-seasons etc? I'm used to doing that stuff but don't know how much time I'll have free in my new job. Also do blokes get paid to play up there?
Any other info you think is relevant would be great, cheers guys.
Hi all,
Just wondering if you guys could give me some info on the Capricornia league. I'm starting a job at CQU in September, too late for this footy season but looking to have a game somewhere next year.
I currently play in the Southern Football League in Tassie, and have played a fair bit of statewide league and in a few representative teams. I'm wondering if anyone can compare the standards between Tassie footy and Capricornia league if they've ever seen a game/played down this way?
Particularly interested in the time requirement of players - ie do most teams train 2/3/4 nights a week, do big pre-seasons etc? I'm used to doing that stuff but don't know how much time I'll have free in my new job. Also do blokes get paid to play up there?
Any other info you think is relevant would be great, cheers guys.
Mate how are you, firstly lets start by saying the comp is of a fairly good standard, between Southern league and Hobart Ammos, training mostly 2 nights tue thur most games saturday, seniors and ressies.
Not really a big pre-season depends on clubs, also money depends on clubs?
Are you working for anyone who sponsors one of the clubs?
Who do you play for down south?
Clubs in Rocky are Brothers Rockhampton Roos, Rockhampton Panthers,
Glenmore Bulls. Yeppoon Swans are a 45 minute drive away, Gladstone Mudcrabs and BITS Saints are over an hour away.
Mate how are you, firstly lets start by saying the comp is of a fairly good standard, between Southern league and Hobart Ammos, training mostly 2 nights tue thur most games saturday, seniors and ressies.
Not really a big pre-season depends on clubs, also money depends on clubs?
Are you working for anyone who sponsors one of the clubs?
Who do you play for down south?
Clubs in Rocky are Brothers Rockhampton Roos, Rockhampton Panthers,
Glenmore Bulls. Yeppoon Swans are a 45 minute drive away, Gladstone Mudcrabs and BITS Saints are over an hour away.
Cheers mate thanks for getting back to me. I play with Lindisfarne down here in the SFL, originally from Launceston so played most of my footy with North Launnie.
You obviously know a bit abut Tassie footy, did you play down here? How do the boys from the southern states adapt to the heat up there?
Sounds like the standard is what I'm after though, didn't want anything too professional as I might be a bit limited to how much I can train and stuff. I'm working at the uni in Rockhampton but the missus wants to live in Yeppoon - so I'd probably be looking at Yeppoon or one of the Rocky clubs.
Not too fussed about money, we get paid ok down here but I realise it varies from place to place - mainly just keen to have a kick with a good bunch of blokes.
Thanks again for the info!
No worries mate. The blues hey my uncle is an old hobart boy with the tigers before they became the lions then tigers again.
If you look up AFL capricornia on the net it has all the info like club contacts etc.
Swans have a pretty good set up, they won the premiership last year 2009 and are on top this year.
Yeppoon is a nice place around 25000 people nice beaches etc it could suit you nicely.
Good luck old mate.
Carntas
13 Jul 2010, 05:44
Anyone know if ol' mate Brett McAlleese is still playing?
Is he married yet to the daughter of his boss?
Anyone know if ol' mate Brett McAlleese is still playing?
Is he married yet to the daughter of his boss?
He was last year. Daz do you know?
Been ages since I last rocked up here, but anyway, McAleese isn't playing anymore. Yesterday Panthers ended up winning comfortably over a depleted BITS side, while I think Brothers beat Yeppoon by 12 points or so. In Gladstone the Mudcrabs apparently won over Glenmore.
Go Roos the one true Rockhampton club back on top where it deserves to be, Hello.:thumbsu:
1st Semi Final 14/8/10 Stenlake Park::
Loser of games is out
Seniors... BITS 12.7.79 d Panthers 8.12.60
Ressies... Brothers Roos 11.9.75 d Panthers 5.5.35
2nd Semi Final 21/8/10 Swan Park::
Winner into Grand Final
Seniors... Brothers Roos V Yeppoon
Ressies... Yeppoon V BITS
2nd Semi Final 21/8/10 Swan Park::
Winner into Grand Final
Seniors... Brothers Roos 13 / 8 / 86 Def Yeppoon 8 /10 / 58
Ressies... BITS 7 / 11/ 53 Def Yeppoon 8/ 4 / 52
Prelim Final 28/8/10 Kele Park::
Seniors... Yeppoon V BITS
Ressies... Brothers Roos V Yeppoon
O Oh three posts in a row.
CQTiger
28 Aug 2010, 20:13
...and BITS just beat Yeppoon in the A grade preliminary
You going next week CQTiger?? Whoever you are i'll make the trip across.
So A grade is Brothers V BITS 2 trips in 2 weeks to rocky??
Is it at Cricket grounds?
CQTiger
28 Aug 2010, 21:23
certainly will be there waving he flags at RCC
Really good contested game today
Brothers were winners in the Ressies
Prelim Final 28/8/10 at Kele Park::
Seniors... Yeppoon 12/ 11/ 83 Def By BITS 17/7/109
Ressies... Yeppoon 10/ 2/ 62 Def By Brothers 10/ 9/ 69
GRAND FINAL 4/9/10 at Rockhampton Cricket Ground::
Seniors... Brothers Roos V Boyne Island Tannum Sands Saints
Ressies... BITS V Brothers
U17... Gladstone V Yeppoon
U15... Yeppoon V Glenmore
U13... BITS V Gladstone
Congratulations to Brothers taking out the double - Ressies and A grade over BITS
....and Daz even snapped a goal over his shoulder:D
Congratulations to Brothers taking out the double - Ressies and A grade over BITS
....and Daz even snapped a goal over his shoulder:D
Ahh it was a great day Mysterious CQTiger, i'm off to update wikipedia.
PS well done Aiden League Best and Fairest A grade, and most goals think it was 75.:thumbsu:
thedaz47
4 Oct 2010, 23:19
back again... i see my mate lions then daylight has mucked up in the cricket boards again. he'll be back asking about butters under a different alias next year i'm sure.
what a goal it was CQTiger... lucas loved it, got the pistols out bigtime
thedaz47
4 Oct 2010, 23:20
also, if any of you are on facebook then navigate to the 'brothers needs a new guernsey' group and tell me what you think of the designs i've come up with so far... any ideas or feedback is greatly appreciated.
Maroochydore will once again host a pre season round robin "lightning carnival". Dates are the 12th and 13th of March. This year will see the comp hopefully expand to Saturday and Sunday, with 12 teams in the mens comp, and 5 in the ladies comp.
All capricornia teams are welcome to register. Final details are still being worked out, but a cash prize of around $1000-$2000 is expected for the winners, and a social function organised for the Saturday night, it is looking like being a good weekend of football and socialising.
Register your clubs interest with at info@maroochyroos.com
thedaz47
12 Jan 2011, 20:14
Cheers mate, I've passed that on to the club for their consideration.
For anyone interested, Brothers have started off lightly after Christmas and despite the rain. We're meeting at the Rocky Golf Course at 5:45pm on Monday, Wednesday, and Fridays for a predominantly fitness based regimen. We're hoping to call on the expertise of some outside sources to bring some variation to the pre-season. All past players and anyone interested in having a game with last year's senior and reserve grade premiers is encouraged to come along.
PM me for details.
footy fumbler
27 Feb 2011, 18:05
Cheers mate, I've passed that on to the club for their consideration.
For anyone interested, Brothers have started off lightly after Christmas and despite the rain. We're meeting at the Rocky Golf Course at 5:45pm on Monday, Wednesday, and Fridays for a predominantly fitness based regimen. We're hoping to call on the expertise of some outside sources to bring some variation to the pre-season. All past players and anyone interested in having a game with last year's senior and reserve grade premiers is encouraged to come along.
PM me for details.
Going for 2 in a row, that's more in a row than St Kilda.
thedaz47
1 Mar 2011, 10:35
In the Ressies... Living in Middlemount now.
coolblue
9 Mar 2011, 13:57
What's news in Rocky how are all the clubs going with recruiting and retaining players.
i hear gladstone are going OK as well as the Swans. Boyne have a few new faces as well , "Beware of the wounded saint". Boyne Ground is in the condition it has ever been. not that it has ever been bad. How are the other grounds ??
coolblue
10 Mar 2011, 22:39
Saints are going to play Across the Waves in Bundy this weekend, Two games A, & B grade 6 out of last years GF side didn't make the side and are playing B's, 8 new faces faces including Adam Rudus,Darren White in A grade , two very well regarded country Vic players. Welcome to Nick Stanza on his first game with the club, Saints have played the eagles every year for nearly ten years and never won ! lets see what the weekend brings ?? 48 players travelling great effort, should be a great night to !!
thedaz47
11 Mar 2011, 08:03
Sounds like some good pickups then. I'm not looking forward to the follow-on effects in their ressies. Should be a tough side to beat.
thedaz47
14 Mar 2011, 09:13
Brothers had a hit-out against themselves in the wet on the weekend. A few familiar faces stood up and a few old faces were back and looking fit for their age. Will see how we go in round one.
coolblue
15 Mar 2011, 14:25
Yes, was a huge weekend for the saints, 47 players travelled to Bundy. We won in both grades with A grade most impressive, A 16 goal football lesson was handed out by the saints. Waves had good numbers and most of there grand final side in I was told. Saints showed where they at with there fitness level by getting stronger each quater. Golf day this saturaday and then of to Bundy again next weekend. Should be another good couple of weekends.
thedaz47
22 Mar 2011, 13:13
For those who play SuperCoach, please feel free to join my league (579154).
stmookeyj
1 Apr 2011, 23:42
Season starts for 4 of the 6 this weekend, Brothers vs Gladstone is postponed to probably July due to resurfacing at Kele Park and a world game carnival at Gladstone.
Gee the thread's still going.:) Was a lovely day for wet footy. Panthers beat Glenmore in ressies but A grade was a different story.
Glenmore
6 Apr 2011, 14:53
After a strong preseason Glenmore had a good opening round in wet conditions agaisnt the Panthers.
Glenmore Bulls 14.8.92 (Tyson Payne 4, Toby Payne 4, D. Payne 3, J. Williams, D. Mangan, S. Fowler goals) def Rockhampton Panthers 8.5.53 (S. Gudgeon 3, B. Bell, H. Davidson, M. Ellis, J. Littlehales, M. Ryan goals).
Full match report at http://www.themorningbulletin.com.au/story/2011/04/06/payne-brothers-kick-goals-rockhampton-rules/
Boyne def Yeppoon
BITS Saints 15.15.105 (N Stanley 3, J Beirouti 3, A Rakip 3, A Philp 2, C Shipard, L Tennant, D Boase, K Bilston goals) def Yeppoon Swans 11.3.69 (J Downir 3, D Watkin 3, L Cossens, Lee Gribble, S Nicholls, R Robinson, S Price goals).
thedaz47
6 Apr 2011, 17:46
Hahahaha. Maxi's Yeppoon career was short.
stitty11
8 Apr 2011, 12:00
First game of the year for Brother's tomorrow. Keen as. Hi Daz, long time no talk :)
colts4life
23 Aug 2011, 10:08
Any chance anyone knows the finals results, juniors and seniors ???
Local web page is piss poor for that stuff
stmookeyj
26 Aug 2011, 03:51
PRELIM FINALS (This Saturday)
SENIORS: Glenmore vs Yeppoon [Winner plays BITS]
RESERVES: Brothers vs Panthers [Winner plays BITS]
UNDER 17's: .................. vs ........ [Winner plays .......]
UNDER 15's: ............. vs ............... [Winner plays .......]
UNDER 13's: Yeppoon vs Brothers [Winner plays Glenmore]
colts4life
7 Sep 2011, 21:26
Anyone got all the G F scores, all grades?
local webpage weak as piiiiiisssss
coolblue
8 Sep 2011, 12:39
A grade ///// B.I.T.S Seniors 17.13-115 def. Yeppoon AFC Seniors 9.11-65
Res grade ///// B.I.T.S Reserves 11.11-77 def. Brothers AFC Reserves 5.2-32
Sorry all i know
Web site is shit, those guys get paid to do this ??
anyway up the "saints" / Home Grown !!
stmookeyj
15 Sep 2011, 00:34
I don't believe they do get paid to do it. Yeppoon I'm certain won Under 17's which was cut short because of an injury (and stuffed up our warm up, not that it was going to help a lot).
telstra101
20 Oct 2011, 14:11
was wondering if anyone could give any information on Adam Rapik who won the league medal last yr?
thedaz47
21 Oct 2011, 22:52
Do you want to know what type of player he is or is this an old acquaintance checking in on his time in the sunny state?
any recruitment news from the capricornia league? surely with the gladstone region booming with work a few new recruits will pop up. i know bits are looking to recruit heavily already have up to 10 new players from the gippsland region coming up for work etc. i really hope other clubs can recruit to bolster stocks from last season.
also any other clubs started pre-season bits started 3 weeks ago attracting good numbers around the 20 mark.
thedaz47
5 Dec 2011, 08:46
Brothers have started, but I haven't been and can't report on numbers. We had our Movember fun run a few Sundays ago though, and were able to attract about 50 people, including 20 or so from the club.
It looks like another good year for BITS then. That smelter has been quite the boon for you guys.
smelter has been a good avenue for bits but got to remember gladstone is booming at the moment for workers plenty more recruits to come im sure.
on a sour note the club looks almost likely to lose league b&f, Club b&f and john round medal winner Adam Rakip who has repordetly signed with with Horsham Distrcit side Laharum Demons down in Country Victoria.
thedaz47
6 Dec 2011, 08:39
The same happened to us after 2010. Charlie and Goose headed back to Melbourne after their year in the sun. That's the lot of an AFL club in Central Queensland, it would seem - people are bound to get homesick, and they're often our better players.
John Birouti aka Animal has announed he will be playing at Gladstone this up coming season with the loss of rakip, poss (Scott Muller) there goes over 200 goals from last season
stmookeyj
7 Jan 2012, 00:33
Reportedly he has a good relationship with the new Muddies coach from his days in WA (4 days a week training pre-season, hella serious almost OTT but there you go). Mind you Boyne will probably find those goals somewhere with new smelter employees.....
thedaz47
7 Jan 2012, 09:25
I've heard the new Muddies coach is ex-WAFL, Mick. Can you or Az shed any more light?