View Full Version : Ellinbank Football League
gippslander
21st July 2006, 20:18
The ellinbank league is getting pretty interesting in the lead up to the finals, which clubs are going to give it a big shake this year?
Pluggeroo
1st November 2006, 20:05
Ellinbank and District Football Club Nilma Darnum have been busy recruiting new players and coaches to the club.
Andrew Patterson, new president of the Nilma Darnum Football and Netball Club has announced the appointment of Brad Sinclair as a non-playing senior football coach for the next 2 years. Brad brings to the club a wealth of playing and coaching experience and has a high degree of professionalism. He once played AFL reserve grade football and last year he was the High Performance Development Coach at AFL club St.Kilda and Assistant Coach of the Casey Scorpions. He will be moving to the area to take up this position.
Jamie Cann has been appointed as a playing Assistant Coach for the next 2 years. Jamie was drafted to AFL club Melbourne in 1998 where he played 25 reserve games. He has since played over 100 VFL games and was a senior player at the Casey Scorpions this year. He was twice runner up Best and Fairest with the Preston Bullants and in 2005 coached Balranald in the Central Murray League where he came 3rd in the league medal.
Brad and Jamie are looking forward to meeting all past and present players and any footballers who would like to be part of the future. Contacts can be found at the website linked below.
The first in a major coup for the club is Brisbane Triple Premiership player Mal Michael. Mal's involvement at the club will be minimal at this stage and will most likely be restricted to a specialist coaching role. There is a buzz around the club about Mal and it is hoped that he may be able to don the guernsey for a game or two.
Another 20+ players have been interviewed and should things work out, there will be a solid team of experience players to help with the younger brigade of players the club has coming through the ranks.
To keep up with developments, go to www.darnumfc.asn.au (http://www.darnumfc.asn.au)
goodie
7th November 2006, 18:16
Go The Darnos :d:d:d:d:d
Seth
24th November 2006, 17:23
The first in a major coup for the club is Brisbane Triple Premiership player Mal Michael. Mal's involvement at the club will be minimal at this stage and will most likely be restricted to a specialist coaching role. There is a buzz around the club about Mal and it is hoped that he may be able to don the guernsey for a game or two.
[/URL]
Not any more. Like this was ever going to happen. He's a mercenary.
Andyt30
24th November 2006, 21:44
I heard Mal Michael Being signed up by Essendon on a 2 year Deal>?
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=307570
goodie
25th November 2006, 16:42
hmmm interesting. it seams he wasnt picked up in the draft. is it possible to just sign some one with out trading and or draft.
Pluggeroo
25th November 2006, 18:11
hmmm interesting. it seams he wasnt picked up in the draft. is it possible to just sign some one with out trading and or draft.
Well Goodie, the AFL are about to investigate that very question.
Ozguy
25th November 2006, 20:01
He wasn't going to be picked up in the National Draft. It is going to be the PSD.
Andyt30
29th November 2006, 19:14
he's going to be Essendons new Fullback player and move dustin fletcher chb
the gloved 1
29th November 2006, 19:22
Ellinbank and District Football Club Nilma Darnum have been busy recruiting new players and coaches to the club.
Andrew Patterson, new president of the Nilma Darnum Football and Netball Club has announced the appointment of Brad Sinclair as a non-playing senior football coach for the next 2 years. Brad brings to the club a wealth of playing and coaching experience and has a high degree of professionalism. He once played AFL reserve grade football and last year he was the High Performance Development Coach at AFL club St.Kilda and Assistant Coach of the Casey Scorpions. He will be moving to the area to take up this position.
Jamie Cann has been appointed as a playing Assistant Coach for the next 2 years. Jamie was drafted to AFL club Melbourne in 1998 where he played 25 reserve games. He has since played over 100 VFL games and was a senior player at the Casey Scorpions this year. He was twice runner up Best and Fairest with the Preston Bullants and in 2005 coached Balranald in the Central Murray League where he came 3rd in the league medal.
Brad and Jamie are looking forward to meeting all past and present players and any footballers who would like to be part of the future. Contacts can be found at the website linked below.
Another 20+ players have been interviewed and should things work out, there will be a solid team of experience players to help with the younger brigade of players the club has coming through the ranks.
To keep up with developments, go to www.darnumfc.asn.au (http://www.darnumfc.asn.au)
was this on the website or in print media as well. i love how clubs go shooting thier mouths off saying they have this bloke, that bloke, all the other blokes. all i can say is suck ********e this smells like canns doing wanting announcements made before they are signed sealed delivered. i remember him saying he was gonna take about 8 blokes from Tassie to Balranald with him among them at least 3 ex AFL players. how many went you ask - 0.00%
Pluggeroo
29th November 2006, 21:37
was this on the website or in print media as well. i love how clubs go shooting thier mouths off saying they have this bloke, that bloke, all the other blokes. all i can say is suck ********e this smells like canns doing wanting announcements made before they are signed sealed delivered. i remember him saying he was gonna take about 8 blokes from Tassie to Balranald with him among them at least 3 ex AFL players. how many went you ask - 0.00%
Well, gloved 1. As it was at the time, Mal Michael's best mate in Melbourne, the coach's right hand man, organised for Mal to come to the club in a specialist coaches role. As I said, we would have loved to have had him play a game or 2. Unfortunately, as we all know now, he will be at Essendon in 2007, all things being equal. It was a disappointment for all at the club, but Mal will still do a sportsman's night, maybe attend a training night or 2 as well as a game or 2, hopefully, so I'm told.
As for Jamie Cann, he had nothing to do with Mal Michael. We have had 2 training nights already and he has been very professional up to this point. You just sound like a disgruntled former team-mate or supporter. Everyone deserves a shot and we are giving him one. What has happened at other clubs is water under the bridge as far as we are concerned.
Your attitude beggars belief. I have played at Nilma Darnum for 8 of the last 11 years. Sure, there have been players that have done the wrong things in that time. Disruptive players mostly. Big wraps that have turned sour. I would never, ever sound them out here on this board. Particularily without stating my real name. It is just gutless. Go see some other board if you are going to be like that.:thumbsd:
bigbadmal
11th December 2006, 14:19
Nilma Darnum have announced the signings of Justin Oppenlander, Lachlan Fletcher, Jason Anthony, Adrian Partridge as key position players for 2007. The Darnos should be able to get off the bottom of the ladder with these blokes along with Jamie Cann.
FOOTYBOSS
11th December 2006, 14:49
Nilma Darnum have announced the signings of Justin Oppenlander, Lachlan Fletcher, Jason Anthony, Adrian Partridge as key position players for 2007. The Darnos should be able to get off the bottom of the ladder with these blokes along with Jamie Cann.
Is Adrian Partridge a guy from Tassie and played a year at the Northern Bullants?
bigbadmal
11th December 2006, 19:44
Yes. Adrian Partridge played with East Devonport for the past few years and has just shifted to Melbourne with his cousin Jason Anthony and both will be pulling on the boots for Nima Darnum.
bigbadmal
10th April 2007, 00:19
What is all the mail for the upcoming season?
Cora Lynn have recruited well and look like starting flag favourites this year. Tough first up game against last years wooden spooners Nilma Darnum who have recruited well in the off season. Should be a cracker of a match.
Mobbenfuhrer
10th April 2007, 11:40
Does a Foote bloke still play for Catani (have I got the right league?).
bigbadmal
11th April 2007, 14:01
My Predicted Ladder for 2007 (flag odds in brackets) -
1) Nyora (5/2)
2) Cora Lynn (3/1)
3) Longwarry (4/1)
4) Nilma Darnum (6/1)
5) Bunyip (6/1)
6) Catani (8/1)
7) Buln Buln (12/1)
8) Poowong (12/1)
9) Nar Nar Goon (16/1)
10) Warragul Industrials (25/1)
11) Lang Lang (33/1)
12) Koo Wee Rup (50/1)
13) Neerim Neerim Sth (66/1)
14) Ellinbank (100/1)
goal sneak
11th April 2007, 16:15
Cora Lynn is the team to beat i reckon. They have recruited heavily over the off season and are probably a MPNFL standard team. I think Longwarry will challenge again should be a top 2 side. Nyora will drop but will still make the 6 as will Buynip. The big faller will be Kooweerup who will be happy not to win the spoon after the mass exodous of players with Peter Bastinac taking the likes of Peter Doll and Scott Morrison with him to Pearcedale.
Of the sides to miss out from last years top 6 the big improvers look like being Lang Lang, Nar Nar Goon and Nilma Darnum. Lang Lang has picked up 7 senior MPNFL players in Clint Evans, Rhys Nisbett, Jason Kelly, David Williams, Dale Robinson and his younger brother Brett as well as Blake Batt. These inclusions couples with there talented youngsters should see the tigers make the 6 but probably won't be strong enough to challenge COra-Lynn and Longwarry. NarNarGoon have the best list of youngsters and they should improve while last years basket case Nilma will be competive in 2007.
MY LADDER
1 - Cora Lynn
2 - Longwarry
3 - Nyora
4 - Lang Lang
5 - Nar Nar Goon
6 - Buynip
7 - Poowong
8 - Catani
9 - Buln Buln
10 - Nilma Darnum
11 - Warragul Industrials
12 - Ellinbank
13 - KooWeeRup
14 - Neerim Neerim South
goal sneak
11th April 2007, 16:23
Round 1 matches with my predictions in bold
Longwarry Vs Ellinbank
Nyora Vs Catani
Kooweerup Vs Bunyip
Nar Nar Goon Vs Buln Buln
Warragul Industrials Vs Poowong
Neerim Neerim South Vs Lang Lang
Nilma Darnum Vs Cora Lynn
I think the match of the round will be the star studded Cora Lynn up against Nilma Darnum. Both teams have been sprouting about there chance so it will be interesting to see who will deliver. Cora Lynn should be able to prevail given they have been playing practice matches for a month now.
goodie
11th April 2007, 18:16
Round 1 matches with my predictions in bold
Longwarry Vs Ellinbank
Nyora Vs Catani
Kooweerup Vs Bunyip
I think the match of the round will be the star studded Cora Lynn up against Nilma Darnum. Both teams have been sprouting about there chance so it will be interesting to see who will deliver. Cora Lynn should be able to prevail given they have been playing practice matches for a month now.
quote me now, cora lyns selfish me me me football will be their down bringing this year, when they come up against well drilled fast moving teams. their form in the round robin thing was good but they need to play like a team more
Longwarry Vs Ellinbank
Nyora Vs Catani
Kooweerup Vs Bunyip
My tips. Darnum to beat cora lyn in a surprise win by 4 goals.
Ellinbank will win the spoon, followed closely by NNS
top 6 in no order
Cora Lyn
Darnum
Catani
Nyora
Longwarry
Bunyip
bigbadmal
11th April 2007, 22:30
My Round 1 Tips (odds in brackets)
Longwarry (1.05) Vs Ellinbank (15.0) by 90pts
Nyora (1.5) Vs Catani (2.6) by 24pts
Kooweerup (5.0) Vs Bunyip (1.15) by 54pts
Nar Nar Goon (2.1) Vs Buln Buln (1.7) by 12pts
Warragul Industrials (2.0) Vs Poowong (1.8) by 6pts
Neerim Neerim South (2.5) Vs Lang Lang (1.5) by 18pts
Nilma Darnum (2.2) Vs Cora Lynn (1.6) by 24 pts
goal sneak
12th April 2007, 08:09
Goodie what are you thinking not having the cobras in the 6??? They have the best list by a long stretch. I don't care if you think they are selfish or undisiplined but to have Nilma above them is stupid. The Darnos would have needed to have recruited about 15 senior players to make the finals as last year they had about 2 players of senior standard.
goodie
12th April 2007, 10:04
Goodie what are you thinking not having the cobras in the 6??? They have the best list by a long stretch. I don't care if you think they are selfish or undisiplined but to have Nilma above them is stupid. The Darnos would have needed to have recruited about 15 senior players to make the finals as last year they had about 2 players of senior standard.
yes, sorry that was a mistake on mybehave, post edited.
i just think that we are going to win this week. i just have a feeling, we really have nothing to lose. Cora Lyn does, being flag favourites, the pressure is all on them.
goal sneak
12th April 2007, 10:38
Yeah you might be right. All reports coming from Nilma are positive which is great because they were embarrasing last year. The first goal for Nilma this year would have to be to be competive, something they weren't able to do last year.
goodie
12th April 2007, 10:51
Yeah you might be right. All reports coming from Nilma are positive which is great because they were embarrasing last year. The first goal for Nilma this year would have to be to be competive, something they weren't able to do last year.
yeah your spot on goal sneak, we were good in our practice matches, beating heathmont and trafalger, The team is quite young, we have recruited about 6 experiecned players, the rest are young guns, league medal winner Chris Weller, Rhett O'hara etc. We will go ok this year, Brad Sinclar is a great coach, he has done wonders with most of the players from last year, actually tought them to play. Jamie Cann the new assistant is also great, all the youn guys (like me) at the club love him, he is a good bloke and a good leader, i dont care what the other on here say, he has been a blessing in disguise for the club.
My money is on catani for the flag.
goal sneak
12th April 2007, 12:05
How are the tassie blokes? Will they be good players for you guys?
goodie
12th April 2007, 12:23
yeah the tassie blokes are sensational, Parto, Lippa and chook are all going to be an important part of the team this year, the professionalism they have brought is unbelivable, Darnum has recruited well. would be disapointed if we dont make top 6, the imporvment out of last years players has been the biggest shock this year.
MadMan V1.2
12th April 2007, 12:33
How is young toppas fitting in??
and also whats Daics's role around the club??
goal sneak
12th April 2007, 12:39
I think the top 6 would have to be a bit of a stretch given that other sides which were a lot better than Nilma last year have also picked up 5 or 6 players. (NarNarGoon, Lang Lang, Poowong, Dusties)
goodie
12th April 2007, 12:44
I think the top 6 would have to be a bit of a stretch given that other sides which were a lot better than Nilma last year have also picked up 5 or 6 players. (NarNarGoon, Lang Lang, Poowong, Dusties)
dusties wont push for the finals this year, the only got two real recruits, my brother and Micheal Santo (from darnum), Don't see NNG making it either, this year though the whole standard of the league is going to improve, which should be a good thing.
Toppa is a star. abseloute gun best or second best on in our last praccy match, do you know him?
i have no idea who diacs is full name maybe???
dustinmal
13th April 2007, 11:42
My tips for ellinbank league round one -
Longwarry Vs Ellinbank
Nyora Vs Catani
Kooweerup Vs Bunyip
My Ladder -
Cora lynn
Nyora
Catani
Longwarry
Bunyip
Buln Buln
-------------------
Nar Nar Goon
Nilma Darnum
Warragul Industrials
Poowong
Lang Lang
Neerim Neerim South
Koo Wee Rup
Ellinbank
Hoggwash
13th April 2007, 12:07
My tips for ellinbank league round one -
Longwarry Vs Ellinbank
Nyora Vs Catani
Kooweerup Vs Bunyip
My Ladder -
Nyora
Cora Lyn
Catani
Longwarry
Bunyip
Buln Buln
-------------------
Poowong
NNG
Lang Lang
Nilma Darnum
KWR
Warragul Industrials
Neerim Neerim South
Ellinbank
Should be another good season, nyora lost a few but replaced them well, they were a mile better then any team last year, the 2nd semi showed that. Tough on ballers and chuck tootoo in there makes it even better. Potent forward line, almost unstoppable. Cora lyn and catani have picked up and should be next, bunyip and longwarry have lost a few but should be there abouts.
About a 10 goal gap b/w top 5 and the next 7, Another 10 goals to the bottom 2.
goal sneak
13th April 2007, 12:54
Lets hope there is no massive gulf between the top sides and the others last year. It is not great to watch when the top sides pump the middle range sides by over 100 points. I cannot really see that happening this year as the middle range sides such as NNG, Lang Lang + Nilma have recruited well and should be able to match the top sides this year.
Hoggwash
13th April 2007, 13:33
Nyora beat those sides by 30+ goals last year so they would need to improve dramatically to get close. Cant see nilma improving much, they have lost santo and carr who were the only players i reckon capable of playing seniors in a good side. May win about 6 games but wont get near the top sides.
bigbadmal
13th April 2007, 14:44
Dont underestimate Nilma Darnum Hoggwash. They will be playing finals football this year. Have signed 5 former VFL players who are all cleared to play and have a couple more in the pipeline that will appear a few rounds in. There is some big bets going on to suggest they will be big improvers this year. Their test will be tomorrow against Cora Lynn.
goal sneak
13th April 2007, 14:55
Nyora beat those sides by 30+ goals last year so they would need to improve dramatically to get close. Cant see nilma improving much, they have lost santo and carr who were the only players i reckon capable of playing seniors in a good side. May win about 6 games but wont get near the top sides.
But it makes a huge difference when the bottom 8 players are replaced by top-liners. + the improvement from the younger players especially at Nar Nar Goon and Lang Land which would both have close to 10 guys under 20 in their sides.
Hoggwash
13th April 2007, 14:56
I got no doubt they will improve dramactically but they were that far behind the comp they shouldnt expect too much. 6 wins would be a huge year considering where they came from. If they get within 10 goals of cora lynn it will be a good result for the darnos. Would love to take the 1.60 about cora lyn, way over the odds.
dustinmal
13th April 2007, 15:01
Prob have to wait til after round 8 to judge nilma, they will have played cora lynn, nyora and longwarry by then and will know where they are at compared to these definite finalists.
goal sneak
13th April 2007, 15:55
Lang Lang is defiantely being undersold. Should make finals. When you look at the 5 sides they play twice they have a very good draw. (They play Neerim, KWR, Dusties, NNG and Nyora twice.) If they are able to beat those first 4 teams twice they will probably only need to win another 3 games to make the finals.
Hoggwash
13th April 2007, 16:43
I reckon 99% of ppl would say Nyora, Cora Lynn, Catani, Longwarry and Bunyip will make the finals so the rest are playing for 1 spot. Lang Lang have a favourable draw which might help them, buln have picked up a few and poowong as well so i reckon out of them for 6th. NNG should go ok but havent really studied the draw, they just have to keep there good kids.
Pluggeroo
13th April 2007, 17:43
Jeez Hoggwash. I hope all the teams we play this year think the same way you do about Darnum. By the time they realise the talent that runs through this side is actually on the park, they will be 10 goals down and it wont even be half time.
Im gonna put this page in my favorites for future reference, I think.
I like it that people will write us off. It makes it sweeter when we succeeed. And we will.
You actually have no idea of capabilities of our new recruits, coupled together with the newfound skill and fitness of last years crop of players that you think were not senior players. A solid game plan, an excellent coach, VFL quality players, player fitness (the likes of which haven't been seen at the club for years), self belief and the knowledge that you are only 1 bad game away from the Magoos will ensure that we are far more competitive than in previous years.
Make no mistake. We will catch some teams by suprise this year. Because the Darnum of yesterday, that started terribly and got worse, is gone. Without giving too much away, I will say this:
If we are within 5 goals at 3/4 time, all those opposition blokes are gonna wonder what happened when they find that their margin is being erased simply by the sheer running power and fitness of this club, this year. I hope they are fit. They will need to be fit enough to play 5 quarters of footy. Because we are.
Having said all that, clubs will have a bad day. Both us and the opposition. Thats the nature of the game.
Write us off at your peril.
Let the games begin..............
Pluggeroo
13th April 2007, 17:48
How is young toppas fitting in??
and also whats Daics's role around the club??
Toppa is excellent, mate. He was named in the seniors for this weekend's game against Cora Lynn. His work ethic is fantastic and will be a real suprise packet for this comp.
Daics (or Talj) has been fantastic. He has been to a number of training nights and attended the camp 2 weeks ago. He just has a bit of a chat to the guys who might be having a bad night or other problem.
But his main roll will be on a Saturday, as Head Tactician, in the Box with Brad Sinclair. He will also keep some stats, I believe as well as some other fairly minor things.
Hope that helps, mate
themonkeybutlers
13th April 2007, 19:45
Any info on how Ellinbank are looking? I played there a couple of years ago and am disappointed to see that most people are writing them off. What are the in's and out's etc?
On a side note i just found out about jason davenport playing in the VFL (I know i am probably really, really behind). I must admit i was a little surprised but congratulations to him. He is a top bloke and has plenty of potential. Is there any further news about him?
bigbadmal
13th April 2007, 20:12
Ellinbank are odds on to win the spoon this year. It will be a 3 horse race with them, Neerim Sth and Kooweerup. It is unfortunate but i remember the days they were invincible so it is probably good to see the gun sides of yesteryear struggling. The competition is getting stronger since the introduction of all of the west gippsland sides. The standard of the league would be a lot closer to west gippsland/latrobe now that what it has ever been. It is a well run competition with clubs run by hard working people and good sponsors. This year seems to be one of the closest between the top tier of teams than ever before. It would not surprise to see any of about 8 clubs win the flag.
Jason Davenport was rookie listed to Geelong after a year in the VFL with them. He played a season at Nilma Darnum in 2005 after playing juniors at Ellinbank. Ben Hughes (also Nilma Darnum) is rookie listed to the Kangaroos. Ben Ross (Bunyip) is on the Kangaroos senior list and Lachlan Hansen (Nar Nar Goon) is also on the Kangaroos senior list and has played a senior game already.
themonkeybutlers
13th April 2007, 20:43
Thanks for that. I played for ellinbank in 2004, 2005 and really enjoyed the league. I thought that its strength was the overall eveness of the teams (except nilma/darnum). Have ellinbank lost some players? or is it just the case that the other teams are improving?
bigbadmal
13th April 2007, 21:49
Yes the league has been even over a long period of time apart from Nilma Darnum being the easy beats. The league continues to get stronger with most teams recruiting heavily every season. Ellinbank's great players have just gotten old and moved on. They have struggled to attract junior players for several years now (Dont have a 5ths side this year) and this is starting to show. Because of their small population and location being close to Warragul, which is milked for players by several clubs, means their success is hard to come by. They will probably find that it will get worse for a long period of time while they lack junior players.
goodie
13th April 2007, 22:32
Dont underestimate Nilma Darnum Hoggwash. They will be playing finals football this year. Have signed 5 former VFL players who are all cleared to play and have a couple more in the pipeline that will appear a few rounds in. There is some big bets going on to suggest they will be big improvers this year. Their test will be tomorrow against Cora Lynn.
possibly 6 now ;) i agree with pluggero, i dont think anyone understands the talent that we do have running on the ground tomorrow at 2pm. dranum to win by 4 goals and upset the league.
goodie
13th April 2007, 22:33
Thanks for that. I played for ellinbank in 2004, 2005 and really enjoyed the league. I thought that its strength was the overall eveness of the teams (except nilma/darnum). Have ellinbank lost some players? or is it just the case that the other teams are improving?
yes, ellinbank have lost players and gained no one, wooden spoon, easily.
goodie
13th April 2007, 22:37
I got no doubt they will improve dramactically but they were that far behind the comp they shouldnt expect too much. 6 wins would be a huge year considering where they came from. If they get within 10 goals of cora lynn it will be a good result for the darnos. Would love to take the 1.60 about cora lyn, way over the odds.
This is the worst post i have ever read on here. The quallity of players we have picked up (and still are ) is far better than that of any other club, 5-6 ex VFL players mate, have a real think about what you just said you idiot.:rolleyes:
goal sneak
13th April 2007, 23:30
The amount of rubbish being posted about the darnos. The Cobras will smash them by close to 100 points tomorrow.
bigbadmal
13th April 2007, 23:36
The amount of rubbish being posted about the darnos. The Cobras will smash them by close to 100 points tomorrow.
You can have a million to one on that.
I think Cora Lynn will be in for a little bit of a shock tomorrow.
Hoggwash
14th April 2007, 00:07
I am with you goal sneak, cobras easily. Hey goodie wait till you do something b4 you go pumping ya self up. I hope darnos go well, would be good to see a more even comp but last year they were hopeless so it will take more than 6 players to match nyora, cora lynn etc. Cora lynn have recruited and were 20 goals better then darmun last year, no way you have made that up! Your top 6 might match or beat some other sides but its the bottom 10 that win games and premerships, remember that. You dont have 1 player left from last year that would have played seniors at any of the top 3 sides. If darnos want to suceed get ya juniors back that won all the flags 4 odd years ago, thats the future, not a bunch of ring ins.
goodie
14th April 2007, 19:40
the cobras by only 5 goals or something, 100 points my ass. we were winning mid way through the 2nd term ;)
dustinmal
15th April 2007, 05:28
the cobras by only 5 goals or something, 100 points my ass. we were winning mid way through the 2nd term ;)
its always good to be up at some stage in the 2nd quarter...who cares who gets up after the whole 4.
dustinmal
15th April 2007, 05:34
Lang Lang is defiantely being undersold. Should make finals. When you look at the 5 sides they play twice they have a very good draw. (They play Neerim, KWR, Dusties, NNG and Nyora twice.) If they are able to beat those first 4 teams twice they will probably only need to win another 3 games to make the finals.
maybe not. they got done by the lowly neerim so may strruggle against others.
bigbadmal
15th April 2007, 09:06
2 upsets in the opening round. Was shocked to see Neerim Sth win. Nar Nar Goon downing Buln Buln by a big margin was also a surprise. Other results were predictable. Bunyip may struggle this year on first round result against KooWeeRup. They had 3 of their former guns playing on permit (will be for first 3 rounds before returning to Grovedale) and they didnt win by most would think. Although early top 4 will be clear cut - Nyora, Cora Lynn, Catani, Longwarry. The next group fighting out 2 spots in the finals will be Bunyip, Nar Nar Goon, Nilma Darnum, Poowong. Looking forward to a great year of footy in the Ellinbank League.
Pluggeroo
15th April 2007, 09:24
2 upsets in the opening round. Was shocked to see Neerim Sth win. Nar Nar Goon downing Buln Buln by a big margin was also a surprise. Other results were predictable. Bunyip may struggle this year on first round result against KooWeeRup. They had 3 of their former guns playing on permit (will be for first 3 rounds before returning to Grovedale) and they didnt win by most would think. Although early top 4 will be clear cut - Nyora, Cora Lynn, Catani, Longwarry. The next group fighting out 2 spots in the finals will be Bunyip, Nar Nar Goon, Nilma Darnum, Poowong. Looking forward to a great year of footy in the Ellinbank League.
Yeah Mal. We were good against Cora Lynn yesterday. We got out to nearly 5 goals up in the 2nd quarter yesterday. Maybe the players that have been around a while were a little shocked that they were in a side that was in the lead and have just forgotten how to go on with it. Wont take long to rectify that. Then we fell asleep and went in a couple of goals down at half time. A couple of injuries didnt help us either, but we have a pretty good idea of where we are at. Things are bright at the club at the moment. The form of the young blokes (we had 3 17 year olds in the side yesterday) was exciting to watch and encouraging.
The league does look to be a bit more even this year, judging by results yesterday. This is a good thing. I guess what you want is a situation where anybody can beat anybody on any given day. Not too sure we are there yet, as a league, but we are getting pretty close.
Just on the Cobras: The moved the ball very well at times. Darren Sheen kicked 11 goals and the way they fed it to him, he was unstoppable. I reckon with pressure on the ball, and numbers attacking the ball carrier, they are suspect. Thats how we got out to 4 goals in the first place.
Looking at what I played against yesterday, if that was the best game they play all year, Nyora and Catani will beat them. If they have more to give, then it will be a good game when they meet them.
Anyhow, thats just my take after 1 round. I didnt see the other games so Im not qualified to say anything.
Cheers
bigbadmal
15th April 2007, 18:30
Good effort to get within 7 goals of Cora Lynn. Last year they beat you by 200 points and they have picked up heaps of players. This means that Nilma Darnum have improved big time. Its way to early to predict end of season standings after round 1 but my updated predictions with flag odds in brackets are as follows -
1 Nyora (5/2)
2 Cora Lynn (4/1)
3 Catani (5/1)
4 Longwarry (6/1)
5 Bunyip (7/1)
6 Nar Nar Goon (12/1)
7 Poowong (16/1)
8 Nilma Darnum (16/1)
9 Buln Buln (20/1)
10 Neerim Sth (50/1)
11 KooWeeRup (50/1)
12 Lang Lang (66/1)
13 Warragul Industrials (66/1)
14 Ellinbank (100/1)
Hoggwash
16th April 2007, 11:40
Well done to nilma, got closer then i expected and on that effort should win a fair share of games this year. Ellinbank did better as well, i thought longwarry would win by 20 goals. Nyora and catani must have been a great game, 17 goals kicked in the last quarter, catani have improved on last year with mounsey, murphy, youle and tenisilli all good players so it shows both teams with be right there at the end of the year.
Mobbenfuhrer
16th April 2007, 12:03
Just remembered his first name ... Michael Foote, Catani, couple of years early 2000s where they didn't quite win a flag then the season I think they did. Is he still playin' for 'em?
dustinmal
16th April 2007, 12:20
Round 2 tips
I know its early in the week but i dont think i will be changing any of these tips.
Catani v Longwarry
Bunyip v Nyora
Buln Buln v Koo Wee Rup
Poowong v Nar Nar Goon
Lang Lang v Warragul Industrials
Cora Lynn v Neerim Neerim South
Ellinbank v Nilma Darnum
I only got 4 right for round 1 (thought buln and dusties had improved on last year and was not sure about their opponents Poowong and NNG - looks like they have picked up some handy players)
Nilma should be celebrating their first win in ages on saturday.
Catani v Longwarry should be a good one.
Lonie_from_50
16th April 2007, 12:22
How'd new Goon recruit Brenton Cowell go on the weekend? Anyone know?
Can't get in contact with him
dustinmal
16th April 2007, 12:34
How'd new Goon recruit Brenton Cowell go on the weekend? Anyone know?
Can't get in contact with him
From edfl site - got one goal and listed as 5th best
http://edfl.vcfl.com.au/competitions.asp
bigbadmal
16th April 2007, 12:47
My Round 2 Selection with odds in brackets are -
Catani (1.6) v Longwarry (2.2) by18pts
Bunyip (2.1) v Nyora (1.7) by 12pts
Buln Buln (1.5) v Koo Wee Rup (2.5) by 30pts
Poowong (1.8) v Nar Nar Goon (2.0) by 6pts
Lang Lang (2.0) v Warragul Industrials (1.8) by 6pts
Cora Lynn (1.2)v Neerim Neerim South (4.0) by 54pts
Ellinbank (3.0) v Nilma Darnum (1.35) by 42pts
Very close round on paper. 5 games that could go either way without surprising. Cora Lynn and Nilma Darnum should both win.
dustinmal
16th April 2007, 15:02
[quote=bigbadmal;7225692]Bunyip may struggle this year on first round result against KooWeeRup. They had 3 of their former guns playing on permit (will be for first 3 rounds before returning to Grovedale) and they didnt win by most would think. quote]
I noticed on the transfer list that mumford and davenport were cleared to grovedale and then back to bunyip - who is the third player?
Lonie_from_50
16th April 2007, 15:45
From edfl site - got one goal and listed as 5th best
http://edfl.vcfl.com.au/competitions.asp
thanks mate, tried to search but only got last years site.
bigbadmal
16th April 2007, 16:14
I noticed on the transfer list that mumford and davenport were cleared to grovedale and then back to bunyip - who is the third player?[/quote]
I must have had my wires crossed. They were the only two.
goodie
16th April 2007, 16:39
I noticed on the transfer list that mumford and davenport were cleared to grovedale and then back to bunyip - who is the third player?
I must have had my wires crossed. They were the only two.
yeah grovedale hasnt started playing yet, and mumford got omitted from the geelong VFL side, i personally dont think they will be much chop this year.
dustinmal
17th April 2007, 11:21
Just remembered his first name ... Michael Foote, Catani, couple of years early 2000s where they didn't quite win a flag then the season I think they did. Is he still playin' for 'em?
Not entirely sure, but it doesn't look like it.
Mobbenfuhrer
17th April 2007, 11:22
Not entirely sure, but it doesn't look like it.
Ok thanks mate :)
Hoggwash
17th April 2007, 11:26
Michael Foote played for poowong but didnt play in there last flag which was in 2003, tall bloke. Is that who ya thinking of??
Mobbenfuhrer
17th April 2007, 11:34
Michael Foote played for poowong but didnt play in there last flag which was in 2003, tall bloke. Is that who ya thinking of??
Well tallish, possibly 6.2, was forward flank I think, just someone I worked with in Melbourne. Was sure it was Catani not Poowong but maybe I'm getting wires crossed. Used to ask how he was going.
EDFL follower
17th April 2007, 11:53
Does anyone think its a bit dodgy Bunyip using players from other clubs for the first few weeks of the season. I realise these blokes played for Bunyip last year. Seems to me everyone could get players from leagues that start a few weeks later. It could turn the first few gmaes into a farce. For example Moe has the bye last week in WGFL. What is to stop clubs using Moe players for the first game then clearing them back to Moe.
EDFL follower
17th April 2007, 11:57
Michael Foote born and bred Poowong, never played for Catani. Won league goalkicking in 94. Was still playing 2nds for Poowong 2 years ago. May have even played last year. Yes he is about 6 foot 2.
Mobbenfuhrer
17th April 2007, 12:03
Michael Foote born and bred Poowong, never played for Catani. Won league goalkicking in 94. Was still playing 2nds for Poowong 2 years ago. May have even played last year. Yes he is about 6 foot 2.
Hmmm ok ... he never mentioned being a gun in earlier years!
Mobbenfuhrer
17th April 2007, 12:05
Does anyone think its a bit dodgy Bunyip using players from other clubs for the first few weeks of the season. I realise these blokes played for Bunyip last year. Seems to me everyone could get players from leagues that start a few weeks later. It could turn the first few gmaes into a farce. For example Moe has the bye last week in WGFL. What is to stop clubs using Moe players for the first game then clearing them back to Moe.
Yeah its a curly one, in my role looking around the Regional Leagues boards, its not the only case of it. Interesting situation. Damn drought.
goal sneak
17th April 2007, 12:07
No. Mumford has played for Bunyip his entire life. Only reason he is not this year is that he has gone to try his luck in the VFL for Geelong. Not sure who the other player was that played?
dustinmal
17th April 2007, 12:10
You wouldnt be too happy having to play a team who has done this but it probably doesnt happen that often - most clubs wouldnt let a player go and play for another club in another league for a week or two then come back, they might get injured or suspended. The bunyip players had already been cleared to grovedale and then had to get permits/cleared to play on the weekend for bunyip. If they were more organised they could have waited till round 2 or whenever grovedale starts and then put in for a clearance. Wouldnt look dodgy then.
Hoggwash
17th April 2007, 12:24
Other player was peter davenport, has played for a few clubs but been mainly a bunyip player. Its a bit dodgy but if any club had mumford for a few games i am sure they would play him, was very important player for them last year in the finals.
bigbadmal
17th April 2007, 12:46
Im sure Buln Buln would wish the rule wasnt in place. Dore is on loan from Frankston and kicked 11 against them for NNNG on the weekend.
dustinmal
17th April 2007, 13:02
Im sure Buln Buln would wish the rule wasnt in place. Dore is on loan from Frankston and kicked 11 against them for NNNG on the weekend.
yeah that could cost a finals place, either the 4 points or the percentage - so this happens regularly? or is it just this year with the delayed start to some leagues?
Hoggwash
17th April 2007, 13:12
Dore is from NNG and he will always play there when not at frankston, he played a few games for NNG last year. I reckon kurt batt will still play for lang lang if doenst get a game at box hill.
EDFL follower
17th April 2007, 13:20
Any ideas who might win the league goalkicking this year. I can think of a few chances off the top of my head.
Ablett - Bunyip
Osler - Nyora
Sheen - Cora Lynn
Donaldson - Longwarry
Fitzpatrick - Catani
My tip is Osler. He has the best second efforts of any full forward I've seen.
goodie
17th April 2007, 13:29
The roughie from darnum will be jason anthony, kicked 6 against cora lyn, thats if he plays forward for the whole year :D
bigbadmal
17th April 2007, 13:33
Can also add Whelan from NNS to that list. The EDFL has some gun full forward but surprisingly very few decent ruckman. If you take away Mumford from last years list of Ruckman then they are all pretty mediocre.
Hoggwash
17th April 2007, 13:35
Going to need about 120 to win it. I reckon donaldson or ablett, nyora have osler, langley and alger and catani have fitzpatrick, mounsey and entwistle so will prob share the goals around more. Osler def the best second efforts for a full forward, kicks a lot more goals from general play then other full forwards.
goal sneak
17th April 2007, 13:55
SHeen should win the goalkicking with the amount of supply he will get. Had 19 shots at goal on the weekend.
bigbadmal
17th April 2007, 14:11
Im tipping 6 goalkickers to score a ton with Ryan Ablett to top the list. Only doubt being that i dont think Bunyip will be a top 4 side which might favour Osler, Donaldson and Sheen.
goal sneak
17th April 2007, 14:21
Im tipping 6 goalkickers to score a ton with Ryan Ablett to top the list. Only doubt being that i dont think Bunyip will be a top 4 side which might favour Osler, Donaldson and Sheen.
Not sure about 6. Sheen, Donalson, Ablett and Osler should but i don't think that the big O or Wheels will crack the ton. Maybe about 70 each. Owie plays at CHF so to kick a ton from there would be a huge effort and Whelan doesn't have the side to kick a ton.
bigbadmal
17th April 2007, 14:50
yeah 6 might be pushing it but a bloke like Jason Anthony for Nilma Darnum is capable of kicking a ton if he plays FF all year. The ironic thing about him is that he has never been out of the backline throughout his career at East Devenport and has lined up at FF for the first time last week. I think 4 will definately crack the ton and another 4-6 will be 80 plus.
dustinmal
17th April 2007, 15:41
Does anyone think that the EDFL should have the same points systems as other leagues (mpnfl and wglfl) to encourage clubs to develop their own young players and to stop the poaching of players.
I hear that many mpnfl clubs are not happy that the edfl clubs can offer big money to lure their good players away. The points system would limit the amount of recruits edfl clubs could get from other leagues.
points system explained here;
http://wglfl.vcfl.com.au/extra.asp?id=11534&OrgID=392
Hoggwash
17th April 2007, 16:03
I reckon cora lynn might be in a bit of trouble if they introduced the points system. Leave it how it is at the moment, the league is getting better each year and no team seems to be really struggling financially or for numbers. Nilma look like they have turned the corner, lets hope they can stay competitive for a few years, something they havent done for a long time. The huge growth in the casey-cardinia is helping the edfl, there are too many players in berwick, pakenham, narre etc so they have to play somewhere. The points system would mean a lot of these ppl would miss out on a game of footy and teams in our league would then struggle for numbers. If there was a points system it would have to be generous and still give these teams the option of recruiting players. Nyora had about 15 in there premiership side that played juniors at the club and the rest "recruits" so it shows teams in our league can still suceed with mainly local players.
dustinmal
17th April 2007, 16:16
But what happens to a club like nilma or cora lynn if their money runs out? They should be ok if they also develop their juniors, but if not and the paid players all leave they may not have enough players to field ones and twos.
bigbadmal
17th April 2007, 16:24
I agree with Hoggwash. Why should teams be restricted on who they can recruit. Nilma would also be in trouble with the points system as they have 5-6 ex VFL players and from what i hear are about to sign another couple in the next few weeks. The standard of the EDFL is catching up to the stronger leauges such as west gippsland latrobe and casey cardinia. If clubs want to spend money let them. Football is a business these days and if clubs are backed by big sponsors and they have the coin to spend then they shouldnt be restricted.
What should be changed are the competitions. Clubs should be put into a big competition and split into divisions. The Ellinbank, Mid Gippsland and some west gippsland latrobe sides should be merged into say 30 teams and have 3 divisions. Each year the top 2 go up and the bottom 2 go down to keep the competition even within each division. That would eliminate alot of the one sided games.
Hoggwash
17th April 2007, 16:27
Nilma have always had strong juniors so whats happened to all the players that won the 3rds and 4ths flags around 2000. You would think these guys would all be around 20-23 and should be the best players at the club but where are they now. Is there 1 player left at nilma that played in those sides? You need a blend of players to succeed, i dont think anyone can win with all locals but ya dont want to have all recruits either or you have no future and locals will leave, this is happening at cora lynn. If they win the flag how many will stick around? They have about 4 or 5 locals playing in the ones.
dustinmal
17th April 2007, 16:40
Nilma have always had strong juniors so whats happened to all the players that won the 3rds and 4ths flags around 2000. You would think these guys would all be around 20-23 and should be the best players at the club but where are they now. Is there 1 player left at nilma that played in those sides? You need a blend of players to succeed, i dont think anyone can win with all locals but ya dont want to have all recruits either or you have no future and locals will leave, this is happening at cora lynn. If they win the flag how many will stick around? They have about 4 or 5 locals playing in the ones.
Good point, I agree that you need both locals and recruits to be successful.
dustinmal
17th April 2007, 16:41
I agree with Hoggwash. Why should teams be restricted on who they can recruit. Nilma would also be in trouble with the points system as they have 5-6 ex VFL players and from what i hear are about to sign another couple in the next few weeks. The standard of the EDFL is catching up to the stronger leauges such as west gippsland latrobe and casey cardinia. If clubs want to spend money let them. Football is a business these days and if clubs are backed by big sponsors and they have the coin to spend then they shouldnt be restricted.
What should be changed are the competitions. Clubs should be put into a big competition and split into divisions. The Ellinbank, Mid Gippsland and some west gippsland latrobe sides should be merged into say 30 teams and have 3 divisions. Each year the top 2 go up and the bottom 2 go down to keep the competition even within each division. That would eliminate alot of the one sided games.
That could work too
Pluggeroo
17th April 2007, 23:24
For years the EDFL had Under 17s, Hogwash. What we found at Darnum was that once the kids got to the stage that they had to move into the senior ranks, they were opting to go to Warragul, Yarragon, Traf etc to get an extra year at junior level. This was all done on the proviso that they would return the following year to play Senior/Reserves footy.
Unfortunately this rarely/never happened. They stayed where they went. This decimated our club, and perhaps others like Neerim Sth, Ellinbank, etc. Now in 2007, the EDFL finally voted to extend junior footy to Under 18s to fall in line with the other leagues in the district.
So this means it will be a number of years before we see the fruits of this decision. in 2011-12 we will see those 20-23 year olds making up the senior bunch. Unfortunately for me, I probably wont be playing by then. Will be 40 years old....bugger.
EDFL follower
18th April 2007, 14:42
What does everyone think about the standard of the top EDFL teams compared to WGLFL and Casey. I reckon the side Nyora had last year would have beaten Warragul who finished 3rd after home and away matches in WGLFL. How would the top sides this year go in WGLFL or in Casey?
goal sneak
18th April 2007, 15:22
We saw in the practice matches that Cora Lynn (propably close to the best EDFL team for 2007) lost to Pakenham and Doveton, drew with ROC and beat Berwick.