View Full Version : Have you ever bought an entire album for one song?

clucas91
4 Apr 2002, 18:50
I used to do that, now I just download them...:cool:

M29
4 Apr 2002, 18:59
Not for 1 song. I was going to buy one of 1927's albums at JB the other day, but I liked at least two songs on the cd. One was the greatest hits and the other was "ISH". Probably end up buying both of them next week though.

Sly77
4 Apr 2002, 19:27
A few years back I brought the Fugees CD just for their version of Killing Me Softly. The chick at Sanity told me they weren't releasing it as a single and convinced me the rest of the album was great.

Stupidly I brought it - it was crap............

Oh and then there was Vanilla Ice - I brought that just for Ice Ice Baby - about a week later I was so ashamed of myself that I threw it to the back of my wardrobe..........

Macca19
4 Apr 2002, 19:30
I probably have but i usually end up liking the rest of the cd anyway

Darky
4 Apr 2002, 20:15
Originally posted by clucas91
I used to do that, now I just download them...:cool:

Same here, until Napster etc came along.

Worst case was when I bought an album by the band Masquerade for one song "Suffering".... searched high and low on Napster and all its contemporaries, downloaded different search satellites etc.. couldn't find it. Bought the album on import, took 6 weeks and $38 to get it, for four minutes of music. The rest of the album is very bland.

aggels
4 Apr 2002, 21:15
Once. I was 11 years old and bought one of those 100% hits cds for Meatloaf's "I would do anything for love". That was the first cd I ever bought for myself.

But not anymore. If I like one song, I might download a few others to see if I like the album, then I might buy the album.

Nic
4 Apr 2002, 22:08
Yeah but ususally only if it was on sale or something. I'm pov.:D

jod23
5 Apr 2002, 05:23
Originally posted by Sly77
A few years back I brought the Fugees CD just for their version of Killing Me Softly. The chick at Sanity told me they weren't releasing it as a single and convinced me the rest of the album was great.

Stupidly I brought it - it was crap............

Oh and then there was Vanilla Ice - I brought that just for Ice Ice Baby - about a week later I was so ashamed of myself that I threw it to the back of my wardrobe..........

I love that Fugees album. One of my favourite rap/hip hop albums.

Squeak
5 Apr 2002, 08:34
I've bought/burnt a few albums having only heard one song, but I end up liking all the songs anyway.

311 - Soundsystem
Lit - A Place In The Sun
Barenaked Ladies - Stunt

And others.

Danny Chook Fan Club
5 Apr 2002, 08:51
I bought an album based on half a song. I caught the end of a Stereophonics song on that ABC show they used to have after Rage one morning.

Excellent decision too.

Shinboners
5 Apr 2002, 09:09
Yep - I've done that a few times, although more often that not, I end up liking most of the album anyway.

I've even bought many CDs without actually hearing any of the songs.....I've bought stuff on the basis of a friend's recommendation and/or from reviews.

Tredders#16
5 Apr 2002, 13:32
Fuel - Sunburn

only cost 50c though at a Sanity sale...on tape!

Tredders#16

clucas91
5 Apr 2002, 14:01
I once bought the Apollo Four Forty album for "Heart go boom" ended up about 5 other songs were good, but at least 3 are just embarrasing to listen with other people to.

Another one would have been the Gorillaz CD for "Clint Eastwood"
the rest of the songs on that CD sucked.

Lets not forget the Travis CD for "Why does it always rain on me?"

Ahhh, yes then there was Cypress Hill's old one "Black Sunday" that I bought for "Insane in the Brain".

want more? I sure have wasted a lot of money.

Malibu
5 Apr 2002, 14:20
I purchased "Where have all the Merrymakers gone" by Harvey Danger cause I couldn't get the single "Flagpole Sitta" - rest of the CD was crap and the dog at my house obviously thought so too, when I found out he ate the CD! :eek:

Danny Chook Fan Club
5 Apr 2002, 14:55
Originally posted by clucas91
Lets not forget the Travis CD for "Why does it always rain on me?"I content that Writing To Meet You, As You Are, Driftwood, Slide Show and the bonus track are all far superior to Why Does It Always Rain On Me?

madboy
5 Apr 2002, 14:56
I bought the Cranberries' "No need to argue" based on Zombie. I was a little disappointed when I found out the rest of the album was completely different to that song, but I got over it because the album was still pretty good.

RoosLuver
5 Apr 2002, 16:00
I used to when i was young but now i dont

clucas91
5 Apr 2002, 17:23
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
I content that Writing To Meet You, As You Are, Driftwood, Slide Show and the bonus track are all far superior to Why Does It Always Rain On Me?

I did like Driftwood actually...sorry Travis.

mentalgrind
5 Apr 2002, 18:24
If I hear a song from a band that I have never heard of before and I quite like that song, I go and look for more of thier stuff on the net and if I like it I buy the album.

Once I like a band I go and buy all thier albums even if I've heard no songs off that album. Bad move in the case of Orgys' "vapor transmission", "Candyass" was an awsome album and I was waiting for "vapor transmission" to be released for months, only for it to be a big let down. How crap is that album ?

M29
6 Apr 2002, 13:48
Oops. I have done it. Got the supergrass album for Moving. Although I had already downloaded it. Ha ha. Mind you, I'm glad I bought it now!

lioness
6 Apr 2002, 20:03
Yeah HEAPS!!!!!!!

Bought Paul McCartney's latest, 'Driving Rain' for the song 'Freedom', but discovered I actually like one other song. YAY. :D

Bought Wilson Phillips' self-titled first album for the song 'Hold On' (don't know if anyone remembers that one). I would have liked them more if Carnie Wilson had been given a few more leads!!!!!! :mad:

Bought another Paul McCartney album, 'Press To Play' for one song, 'Press'.......and yeah again, only like one other song on the album!!!!!!!!!

There's just a few examples.

blues^rock
6 Apr 2002, 21:11
yeah i have.. but i dpon't exactly buy the album for one song.... i buy the album KNOWING only one song and hoping that becaus ethat song is so good, the rest will be aswell... and you know hwat, i don't think i've been dissappointed yet...

PowerGirl36
7 Apr 2002, 00:01
Yeah, I usually buy a CD nowadays after not hearing many songs (say 2 or so) but never fail to love all the songs...and end up playing it to death :)

mandy
7 Apr 2002, 20:48
Most of my cd collection would have been bought on the basis I liked one song. I'd say maybe 80% of the time I end up liking the other tracks too.

I have a cd burner, but no clue how to use it...............:confused:

blues^rock
7 Apr 2002, 21:16
Originally posted by mandy5

I have a cd burner, but no clue how to use it...............:confused:

lol.. i dunno if i'm weird or whatever... but i really don't like teh whole CD burning thing... the reson u buy an album is because you like the band, and you like the music, and you want them to continue to make that music. by buying the CD u support the band... almost all australian bands aren't making enough monewy on CD sales (besieds Powderfinger) even Something for Kate who sold a hell of a lot still owe money to their manager or whatever.. .i dunno i just don't like it...

jod23
8 Apr 2002, 03:54
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
I content that Writing To Meet You, As You Are, Driftwood, Slide Show and the bonus track are all far superior to Why Does It Always Rain On Me?

Top album and a good band, i liked Sing off the album the best, just love the banjo work. Wanna get my hands on a banjo so i can play it.

jod23
8 Apr 2002, 03:56
Originally posted by madboy
I bought the Cranberries' "No need to argue" based on Zombie. I was a little disappointed when I found out the rest of the album was completely different to that song, but I got over it because the album was still pretty good.

Very good album...fave tracks off that have to be the title track, No need to argue and Twenty One is good too. Had the album for a while but now i have lost it... :(

Will have to buy it again.

BomberGal
9 Apr 2002, 14:12
Yeah...back in my pop stage (*shudders*) I got Destiny's Child just for "Survivor", and Craig David just for "Walking Away". I also got a burnt copy of Train, just for "Drops Of Jupiter," even though I really didn't want the CD. Also, I got "Silver Side Up" by Nickelback just for "How You Remind Me," but by the time I bought it I'd also heard a few other songs from it anyway. The same goes for Lifehouse. At least Train, Nickelback and Lifehouse were worth it, unlike Destiny's Child and Craig David! :S

BomberGal
9 Apr 2002, 14:13
Originally posted by blues^rock

lol.. i dunno if i'm weird or whatever... but i really don't like teh whole CD burning thing... the reson u buy an album is because you like the band, and you like the music, and you want them to continue to make that music. by buying the CD u support the band... almost all australian bands aren't making enough monewy on CD sales (besieds Powderfinger) even Something for Kate who sold a hell of a lot still owe money to their manager or whatever.. .i dunno i just don't like it...

Aww, yeah, but some of us are just too poor to buy all the great CDs that are out there!! :D

blues^rock
9 Apr 2002, 21:12
Originally posted by BomberGal
Yeah...back in my pop stage (*shudders*) I got Destiny's Child just for "Survivor", and Craig David just for "Walking Away". I also got a burnt copy of Train, just for "Drops Of Jupiter," even though I really didn't want the CD. Also, I got "Silver Side Up" by Nickelback just for "How You Remind Me," but by the time I bought it I'd also heard a few other songs from it anyway. The same goes for Lifehouse. At least Train, Nickelback and Lifehouse were worth it, unlike Destiny's Child and Craig David! :S

OMFG.. besides the pop ****.... that is like MY CD collection!!!
bought Train for my sister, then burnt a copy for myself... bought Lifehouse and burnt Nickelback :eek: thats freaky...

Grimace
9 Apr 2002, 21:39
i thought you didn't like burning CD's. :confused:

happy_in_hell
9 Apr 2002, 22:07
recently bought the Toxicity album just for "Chop Suey!"
The album kicks some serious @ss!

blues^rock
10 Apr 2002, 09:28
Originally posted by Grimace
i thought you didn't like burning CD's. :confused:

well... i don't... not australian bands definately... but the train CD was not really worth buying TWICE and there was no way i'd be able to steal it from my sister evn though she didn't even like it that much:rolleyes: stubborn bitch :eek:
Nickelback... i dunno... i spose coz my friends were getting it burnt, and it was only for one song... i just thought "hey why not"
but not any more.. that is the last CD i got burnt... and i'm hoping not to burn anymore... since i have BOUGHT five for fighting and Silverchair... both albums i love... and spent money on :D of course i only buy from JB-hi-fi and pay under $24... but what can i say? i'm stingy :D

Danny Chook Fan Club
10 Apr 2002, 11:36
Originally posted by lioness22
Bought Wilson Phillips' self-titled first album for the song 'Hold On' (don't know if anyone remembers that one).Remember it?! Classic!

Heard it on the radio last night. Had to sing along. They followed it up with Funky Town. I was in dag heaven.

BomberGal
10 Apr 2002, 14:09

OMFG.. besides the pop ****.... that is like MY CD collection!!!
bought Train for my sister, then burnt a copy for myself... bought Lifehouse and burnt Nickelback :eek: thats freaky...

:eek: :D Do you have Motor Ace and Incubus as well?

Oh and don't worry, I do NOT listen to any of that pop **** anymore!! Anyone wanna buy it? :D

Carlos
12 Apr 2002, 13:13
Originally posted by happy_in_hell
recently bought the Toxicity album just for "Chop Suey!"
The album kicks some serious @ss!

Same! And ****ing oath it kicks!! Hard! I was blown away by Chop Suey first time i heard it, bought the album that day and now actually think Chop Suey is one of the weekest songs on Toxicity. I strongly recomment you get their first, simply titled System of a Down. Its even better dude!

I also had the misfortune of buying The Strokes album ( i think its called "this is it") on the strength of the single "last night". Very bad decision. Shyteful!

GoEagles
12 Apr 2002, 18:12
Originally posted by aggels
Once. I was 11 years old and bought one of those 100% hits cds for Meatloaf's "I would do anything for love". That was the first cd I ever bought for myself.

But not anymore. If I like one song, I might download a few others to see if I like the album, then I might buy the album.

Oh my! I'm ashamed to say this, but I think I have the same album your referring to. I actually have the Meatloaf album with the "I would do anything for love (but I dont do that)" song and it goes for about 8 minutes! Be thankful that the 100% hits version only goes on for 5 minutes. LOL:p

The Hitman
12 Apr 2002, 19:11
Once. I bought Grace by Jeff Buckley after the first time I heard Last Goodbye. Great decision. :) That was in '95.

The Hitman

Sue
12 Apr 2002, 23:21
Yes.................. "All That You Can’t Leave Behind" is the Album. The song is............ Elevation

daicos4ever
13 Apr 2002, 02:49

I tend to find listening to a CD i bought than a CD i burned more enjoyable. Perhaps this is because I forked out for it, so it seems more rewarding.

As for the original question, yes, on a few occasions. Like most people I ended up playing the wholoe album to death.

blues^rock
15 Apr 2002, 22:36
Originally posted by BomberGal

:eek: :D Do you have Motor Ace and Incubus as well?

Oh and don't worry, I do NOT listen to any of that pop **** anymore!! Anyone wanna buy it? :D

i have motor ace... well close enough... my sister has motor ace... but it may as well live in my room ;) Incubus is one of those CD's that i kept saying 'i'll buy it when i have the money' and never bought... should i??