View Full Version : Round Four - Adelaide vs. Sydney
SouthSwans
15 Apr 2007, 03:50
I'm stumped here, really could not tell who's going to win this one. I hope I can be swayed the way of my team pending on their showing vs. Brisbane tomorrow, but really a crackerjack contest coming up.
Thoughts from Crows fans??
SouthSwans
15 Apr 2007, 03:52
PS. Anyone know if it is on FTA or they are showing the Carrarra blockbuster :rolleyes: ??
Got my Tix for this one Thursday. Going with 6 mates. Should be a cracking contest.
You wouldn't think C10 would pass this one up for Kangas v Brisbane. I'd wager it would certainly be on FTA.
RoosterLad
15 Apr 2007, 04:08
criows win by 15 goals
swanniez1983
15 Apr 2007, 10:07
I'll be there. Swans by 12 points
I'm stumped here, really could not tell who's going to win this one. I hope I can be swayed the way of my team pending on their showing vs. Brisbane tomorrow, but really a crackerjack contest coming up.
Thoughts from Crows fans??
If the guide printed in the Tiser last month is true to form it should be on Channel 10.
mick_foley
15 Apr 2007, 11:11
PS. Anyone know if it is on FTA or they are showing the Carrarra blockbuster :rolleyes: ??
Channel 10 have this game on Saturday night, so it will be in HD. The Foxtel game is the BL Vs Kangaroos game from the GC.
Crows by 80 +
Sydney are our bitches.
fightingdreamer88
15 Apr 2007, 13:44
We have completely had it over Sydney for some time now. Their gameplan just doesn't work well against us and I can't see this changing on the weekend. Crows by 30+ points.
Adam BK
15 Apr 2007, 13:58
Channel 10 have this game on Saturday night, so it will be in HD. The Foxtel game is the BL Vs Kangaroos game from the GC.
Correct, it will be live against the gate as well on FTA. Ditto to the Collingwood game in 2 weeks. I will be there regardless though will be a cracker, but should be good to see the replay in HD.
macca23
15 Apr 2007, 16:05
We have completely had it over Sydney for some time now. Their gameplan just doesn't work well against us and I can't see this changing on the weekend. Crows by 30+ points.
Correct. For some reason we have always been able to overcome their game and play our own with great success.
Adelaide by 23 points.
CrowTwig
15 Apr 2007, 16:59
The umpires might have some sort of a say in the outcome of this game. I just saw the game between the swans and lions today, and boy, if I was a Brisbane supporter, I would be fuming. 3 crucial decisions by the umpires resulted in goals to Sydney.
Billythekid
15 Apr 2007, 18:15
adelaide are hitting top form so would think a victory by 6 goals.:thumbsu:
While it is true that for some reason Adelaide have been strong over the past few years when playing Sydney i dont think Adelaide will win by that much. I think it will be a very close game and im hoping that Sydney can just get over the line.
Stiffy_18
15 Apr 2007, 18:30
While it is true that for some reason Adelaide have been strong over the past few years when playing Sydney i dont think Adelaide will win by that much. I think it will be a very close game and im hoping that Sydney can just get over the line.
I agree that it usually is a very close game between the two sides and have been for some time. I think it will be another tough, hard at it game but I am hoping that Adelaide win and I believe we can.
Rutten can take on Hall. Bassett will most likely take Micky O. Haven't seen the Swans this year but going on last year you don't have an overly tall forward line which would allow us to keep Stevens in the forward line for 3rd week running.
Should be a good game and there is nothing better than a night game at Football Park. Night games are the best.
ok.crows
15 Apr 2007, 18:45
The umpires might have some sort of a say in the outcome of this game. I just saw the game between the swans and lions today, and boy, if I was a Brisbane supporter, I would be fuming. 3 crucial decisions by the umpires resulted in goals to Sydney.
The Crows are quite used to this.
In yesterday's showdown, Port got three or four goals from free kicks in their forward line, while the Crows got none.
Unlike Brisbane, the Crows won the game anyway.
Should be a good game and there is nothing better than a night game at Football Park. Night games are the best.
Yep :thumbsu:
If I'm not mistaken we have 3 home night games in the next 4 weeks?
2 Saturdays and a Friday?
Stiffy_18
15 Apr 2007, 18:51
Yep :thumbsu:
If I'm not mistaken we have 3 home night games in the next 4 weeks?
2 Saturdays and a Friday?
Rd 4 Vs Sydney (night)
Rd 5 @ Freo (I think this one is twilight game)
Rd 6 Vs Collingwood (night)
Rd 7 @ Brisbane (night)
Rd 8 Vs Richmond (Friday night)
If relapse messages me I will be taking my son to the game ..
Allefgib
15 Apr 2007, 20:39
Adelaide to win but it won't be a blow out.
We seem to handle Sydney better than any other side handles Sydney.
Rutten and Bass are in great form and as Stiffy said should take their most damaging forwards. Who will play on Goodes though?
I'm loving Stevens up forward last few weeks as it stretches opposition defences. However,I don't think we want to get too comfortable with it because at some time we are going to need him back in defense I would think.
When is Kenny Mc due back again?
fightingdreamer88
15 Apr 2007, 20:44
I agree that it usually is a very close game between the two sides and have been for some time. I think it will be another tough, hard at it game but I am hoping that Adelaide win and I believe we can.
Rutten can take on Hall. Bassett will most likely take Micky O. Haven't seen the Swans this year but going on last year you don't have an overly tall forward line which would allow us to keep Stevens in the forward line for 3rd week running.
Agreed. Night games are awesome. Can't wait to get down there and flash my first ever season ticket again. :D
We seem to handle Sydney better than any other side handles Sydney.
I wonder why that is.
fightingdreamer88
15 Apr 2007, 20:53
I wonder why that is.
The Crows are probably the only side out there with the big bodies to absorb the pressure you put on, which imo is the main advantage Sydney has over other sides.
What gets me is how Sydney's gameplan works well against the Eagles yet the latter are the Crows' bogey side.
Sydney are our bitches.
Exactly...
Weren't we the only team to beat the Swannies by more than a few goals in their premiership season?
Crows by 42pts
The Crows are probably the only side out there with the big bodies to absorb the pressure you put on, which imo is the main advantage Sydney has over other sides.
Thats probably true. While im not 100% on the size of the Adelaide players the Sydney players on average are very big.
What gets me is how Sydney's gameplan works well against the Eagles yet the latter are the Crows' bogey side.
Ive always wondered that. When Sydney are playing well West Coast cant touch us (2nd half of round 1) where the swans scored 47 points to West Coasts 12. But for unfortunately that is not the case for Adelaide. For us to win Sydney must come out of the blocks quickly and keep in touch with Adelaide until the final quarter at which time Sydney should beable to catch up.
P.A.F.C
15 Apr 2007, 21:57
Battle of the boring as **** teams
fightingdreamer88
15 Apr 2007, 21:58
Battle of the boring as **** teams
Sour grapes. :D
I hate these types of '' we will piss it in'' comments. Yes we should win as we have been the better team agaisnt Sydney over the last 2 years... yet we thougth we were going to pound Essendon...
Carl Spackler
15 Apr 2007, 23:56
I love night games as well which is why I'm PISSED that I have a 21st to go to on Saturday night and will miss it. Don't people consult the AFL fixtures before planning birthdays and other events? Selfish, selfish people. Pocketnews will be getting a workout.
mick_foley
16 Apr 2007, 00:03
I love night games as well which is why I'm PISSED that I have a 21st to go to on Saturday night and will miss it. Don't people consult the AFL fixtures before planning birthdays and other events? Selfish, selfish people. Pocketnews will be getting a workout.
Please, what Ben Cousins prescription have you been using? (just joking) :rolleyes: Go to the footy and you will be at the 21st no latter than 10:45 and if it only just slowing down, it not a good 21st. 21st kick on until late. :thumbsu:
the footy will start at 7:00pm and be finished by 10:00 pm, drive to the game and you can get anywhere in Adelaide with in 45 mins, even out of AAMI stadium.
I would still go to the footy and put in an apology until 10:45. :thumbsu:
Carl Spackler
16 Apr 2007, 00:07
I would still go to the footy and put in an apology until 10:45. :thumbsu:
Would do but, how should I put this? ... I'm trying to get in her pants. So need to put in a bit of groundwork. We all have to make sacrifices.
Stiffy_18
16 Apr 2007, 00:14
Would do but, how should I put this? ... I'm trying to get in her pants. So need to put in a bit of groundwork. We all have to make sacrifices.
That just means we have to barrack on two front on saturday night. The Adelaide Crows front and the Carl Spackler front :D :thumbsu:
Go get her tiger, some things ARE better than footy :p
mick_foley
16 Apr 2007, 00:20
Well that’s a brand new ball game (no pun intended) so I guess on this occasion the footy must wait. Good luck CS and may the force be with you.
Carl Spackler
16 Apr 2007, 00:28
Thanks guys, will try and post some pics on here...
macca23
16 Apr 2007, 00:46
You are a very noble man. ;) :D :D
SouthSwans
16 Apr 2007, 00:59
We've got O'Keefe and Everitt down there. With Mick and Barry down there its reasonably tall. Davis coming back helps us.
Mr Hankey
16 Apr 2007, 01:34
Priorities mate, some things are better than footy
Good luck
Mr Hankey
16 Apr 2007, 01:37
On the actual subject,
I recon this will be a close call, hopefully our young guys can produce the goods again and you don't see too many times where both Edwards and Goodwin have two below par games in a row.
Crows by 17
CrowHop
16 Apr 2007, 08:43
Thanks guys, will try and post some pics on here...
Pics of the game or pics of her ? :D
Coopers
16 Apr 2007, 11:20
AAAAAaaaanyway...
Goodes has gone on a rampage the last few times we played sydney.
Still, the crows have come out on top.
Would be nice to see someone play on him, but I don't know who can.
Torney?
Mattner?
Burton? :) (commentators would love that)
I still think the crows will get up.
How is Hall's Knee? Rutten will knock him around.
Everitt will be... interesting. Not sure what the crows can do if he's resting in the forward line. I'd be scared leaving Griffen on him, just cos he needs that extra 10kg's (ah, next preseason).
Still, unless we're forced to play Stevens in defence (on... Everiitt?) I don't see sydney being able to stop the Stevens/Bock/Perrie/Welsh/Burton onslaught.
I'd say it's a battle of both coaches egos.
I would've thought that Stevo would've gone back to defence last week on Ports tall forwardline, but he didn't.
He'll at least start up forward, can always go back if need be.
Pics of the game or pics of her ? :D
www.myfuturegfnakedforbf.com.au
AAAAAaaaanyway...
Goodes has gone on a rampage the last few times we played sydney.
Still, the crows have come out on top.
Would be nice to see someone play on him, but I don't know who can.
Torney?
Mattner?
Burton? :) (commentators would love that) Aerobically BUrton has matched up quite well on Goodes before, but Goodes is quality and the secret is to not let him hurt you as much as usual. Mattner would be an interesting one as that seems to be the role NC has in mind for Martin... should be a nice conundrum for NC
I still think the crows will get up.So do I , but not as confidently as some
How is Hall's Knee? Rutten will knock him around.Rutten to run off Hall and set up while Bassett runs down the other side
Everitt will be... interesting. Not sure what the crows can do if he's resting in the forward line. I'd be scared leaving Griffen on him, just cos he needs that extra 10kg's (ah, next preseason).Maybe drop Bassett on Hall and Rutten to Everitt?
SWANNIES RULE
16 Apr 2007, 14:45
Should be a good game. Hall to kick 10.
Points?
betterthanu
16 Apr 2007, 14:53
Whats the most goals Benny Rutten has had kicked on him in a game???? Im thinking 4 by Hall a year or 2 ago.
Stiffy_18
16 Apr 2007, 14:56
Whats the most goals Benny Rutten has had kicked on him in a game???? Im thinking 4 by Hall a year or 2 ago.
5 by Neitz last year and 5 by Lynch back in 2004 debacle at the GABBA
I've noticed over the past couple of years Benny plays better on the superstar forwards, than your average one.
For example, I think Lynch from West Coast has had the wood on him, despite not being that good.
betterthanu
16 Apr 2007, 16:11
Truck Rutten
16 Apr 2007, 17:04
Would do but, how should I put this? ... I'm trying to get in her pants. So need to put in a bit of groundwork. We all have to make sacrifices.And they say chivalry is dead :D
Good luck my man :thumbsu:
swanniez1983
16 Apr 2007, 17:14
For the swans to win, they need to stop your run out of defense. This has been a good sign for the crows in the last two games. I was at the showdown and the way the crows were running out of defense in the first half remined me of what adelaide used to do in their premiership years.
Didn't Darcy kick 6 on him last year? Or maybe the year before?
2005, before we got our act together.
I remember that year, we were 4-4 and 5 goals down in the first quarter to the Saints.
Turning Point - Radar's long bomb and Craigy's barrage at quarter time.
crowugoodthing
16 Apr 2007, 17:59
Is it time to give Hinge a game?
He played well on the weekend and was named as an emergency so he's not too far away.
With the team full of confidence and with the current level of experience down back (Macca, Bassett, Truck, Torney) I feel now is the right time to bring him in against Sydney instead of waiting for injuries etc that may unbalance the team too much resulting in him being thrown to the wolves.
Sydney's not a team with a midfield full of players that we need an extra run-with player so perhaps Doughty makes way, with Douglas taking his midfield role.
Out: Doughty, Vince
In Hinge, Bode
If it aint broke.
Although I would like to see Bodey back in.
pjcrows
16 Apr 2007, 18:51
Are you seriously considering dropping Doughty for Hinge?
pjcrows
16 Apr 2007, 18:53
By the way: Huge game. Very pumped for it. Adelaide by 19 points.
CarnCrows
16 Apr 2007, 19:01
Looking forward to this one.
After last weeks umpiring wooes I looked at the stats (Yes the same one I generally bag) and surprise surprise we are last on the av 'free kick for' count (14). More noticeably for this game - we are also LAST on the tackle count :eek: and yes Sydney are first. I would of never guessed this, but hopefully we can pick this up as it will be a must against Sydney.
Southerntakeover
16 Apr 2007, 19:17
Looking forward to this one.
After last weeks umpiring wooes I looked at the stats (Yes the same one I generally bag) and surprise surprise we are last on the av 'free kick for' count (14). More noticeably for this game - we are also LAST on the tackle count :eek: and yes Sydney are first. I would of never guessed this, but hopefully we can pick this up as it will be a must against Sydney.
Our tackling stats are low because we win the contested ball. You cant be tackled if you dont have it...
crowugoodthing
16 Apr 2007, 19:28
Are you seriously considering dropping Doughty for Hinge?
Yes! Not taking his position however. Did you read what I wrote?
Why wait until you have to put him in. Quotes like "If it aint broke" is very short sighted and not looking at the big picture.
Doughty is only just travelling at the moment and a full game back at SANFL will not hurt him and I don't see it effecting the Crows greatly either. Hinge would get some valuable experience at the top level which can only benefit him and the team down the track.
pjcrows
16 Apr 2007, 20:48
Yes! Not taking his position however. Did you read what I wrote?
Why wait until you have to put him in. Quotes like "If it aint broke" is very short sighted and not looking at the big picture.
Doughty is only just travelling at the moment and a full game back at SANFL will not hurt him and I don't see it effecting the Crows greatly either. Hinge would get some valuable experience at the top level which can only benefit him and the team down the track.
I'm not suggesting we take on a "if it aint broke" attitude. But there is no need to drop Doughty. Hinge is playing well, but at this stage we need to establish the team for the year, not tamper with it. Hinge will be a solid player for us one day, but not at the moment. It's not the time to bring in youngsters for the sake of playing them. I would agree that if Doughty doesn't perform over the next 3 weeks then he'd be in trouble. But it's not the time to flirt with youngsters. If we're 10-1 at the break then yeah, maybe. But not at 2-1 with a huge game against Sydney.
macca23
16 Apr 2007, 21:17
Can't see Doughty being dropped.
He was only on the ground for 50% of the time and tagged well when on. Disposal was excellent.
Selection is going to be tough for the club this week though as there are plenty of contenders for spots.
RoosterLad
16 Apr 2007, 21:50
I wouldn't put Hinge yet, we don't need to give him a game to give him experience to help him and the team out further down the track. We need to pick a player who will help get us the 4 points this week. I also don't think Doughty should be dropped.
thegossip
16 Apr 2007, 22:18
it should be a very good game both, the reason i think the crows have had the wood over the swans in last couple of years is defensivly both play about the same sort of game. The diffence is the way both teams attack, the crows play the turn and burn style where swans will try find a loose player and not afraid to slow play down until a target presents. I wil go with the swans by 10points to break the trend of late.
bleeding red and white
17 Apr 2007, 01:55
Going to be a cracker of a game, crows have had the wood over the swans for the past 3 years dating back to round 15 2004 was the last time the swans were able to knock the crows off. Came close in 2005 at AAMI leading by most of the game but went down by 7 points.
Of course it's going to be tough game to win, especially over in Adelaide but I believe the swans have enough effort in themselves to come home with the 4 points.
Swans By 9 Points :thumbsu:
Came close in 2005 at AAMI leading by most of the game but went down by 7 points.
Was at that one. Your boys really should've got the job done. I remember Goodes and Davis missing a few simple shots in the last quarter. I also remember my man Radar banging through a crucial long bomb, well I think so anyway.
Markthirtytwo
17 Apr 2007, 09:51
Just been announced that ch10 will telecast against the gate again.
This will test the Crows fans and more no shows? :eek:
I will be there, rain , hail or dark.
fightingdreamer88
17 Apr 2007, 11:53
I'm loving this youth policy, hopefully it continues this week. It's early in the year, we're in a pretty good position at 2-1, it will be a terrific experience for guys like Knights, Douglas, Porps, Vince and Griff to get a crack at what shapes as a strong Swans outfit.
21knights
17 Apr 2007, 11:54
I'm going to this one. :) Can't wait! Hope Rutten plays.
maccas_no1
17 Apr 2007, 12:26
Crows by 37pts....................Sydney are our bitches:)
grimlock
17 Apr 2007, 12:27
Crows will smash us. We'll still spluttering, producing a quarter or two or good footy but the rest is absolute trash.
Adelaide by 4 goals.
RoosterLad
17 Apr 2007, 12:43
Crows will win by about 8 goals. North have a bye this week so I won't have to do any rushing, probably a few beers and a bbq during the day with the boys then head off to footy park. It's about time we got a night game, they are awesome.
landers
17 Apr 2007, 12:44
Crows will smash us. We'll still spluttering, producing a quarter or two or good footy but the rest is absolute trash.
Adelaide by 4 goals.
Swans are finishing games well, If where still within couple of goals by 3/4 time should be able to get home. I'm thinking it gonna be another close game.
Swans by 5 Pts
RoosterLad
17 Apr 2007, 12:58
If you are within a few goals at the last break "you should be able to get home"? What a load of biased dribble "landers" if that is your real name. What if you are kicking into the wind? You do realise it's at footy park, our home, so our crowd will be cheering our boys home. We also finished the game quite well against our "faster" rival on Saturday. Try again.
SWANNIES RULE
17 Apr 2007, 13:18
If you are within a few goals at the last break "you should be able to get home"? What a load of biased dribble "landers" if that is your real name. What if you are kicking into the wind? You do realise it's at footy park, our home, so our crowd will be cheering our boys home. We also finished the game quite well against our "faster" rival on Saturday. Try again.
Did you learn that line from Gunnar?
RoosterLad
17 Apr 2007, 13:20
Did you learn that line from Gunnar?
Champ, you better hope you do beat us or all that trolling where you bag Adelaide will come back and bite you pretty hard.
Cheer Red Blood
17 Apr 2007, 13:34
I read in the age Davis "needs another week" which subsequently should mean Heath Grundy, whom we drafted from Adelaide will stay in the team.
Grundy's played fairly poorly this season although he had a back injury throughout the pre-season and was shoved into the round two team without even playing a reserves game. Very mystifying.
Hall's knee is fine. I didn't see the game on the weekend but he kicked 4 goals 4 and had no problems moving at all according to people who saw the game. So forget Rutten running off him.
Jared Crouch, another Adelaide boy will most likely be included for his first seniors match since his record run of games was broken last year. He had a good showing for the reserves last week. Sean Dempster will make way for him due to injury.
Adelaide by 3 goals.
RoosterLad
17 Apr 2007, 13:41
Grundy and Crouch are both ex-Norwood aren't they? Drummond will be pleased.
landers
17 Apr 2007, 14:09
criows win by 15 goals
Just saying Swans have been playing there best footy in last quarter this year of course wind and crowd will play part but i think its a bit more obj than crows by 15 goals IMO. Swans have scored 85 points and only conceded 18 so far in last quarters this year. anyway looking forward to see how swans go against crows there 1 of few teams in comp that seems good at counteracting numbers round the stoppages.
grimlock
17 Apr 2007, 14:11
O'Loughlin, Fosdike, Grundy, Crouch, Schmidt all from South Australia.
We might as well bring back Stephen Doyle to make it one big reunion!
Dandy_GO
17 Apr 2007, 14:31
Might be a toughy despite our record. Our injury list is still pretty ridiculous, and you can't expect our youngsters to perform as well as they did against Port every single week. Will be close.
jokiKan
17 Apr 2007, 14:32
Mate go to the football and turn up when it's finished. She'll think you couldn't care less about her and that football or wherever you were is more important than seeing her. (If she actually knows you exist) , your chances of getting into her pants have doubled.
Adam BK
17 Apr 2007, 15:03
This has been known for over 4-8 weeks (was an Advertiser article I think from memory), the Collingwood game in 2 weeks on a Saturday Night will be shown live against the gate as well in SA in HD just like this weeks match. The Crows Home Showdown will also be shown in HD later in the year but I am not sure if it will be live against the gate in SA.
Should be good to watch the replay in HD on the big tv. Neverless nothing like being there so I will be @ footy park, love night games. Pity no interstate Saturday Night games of the crows will be in HD.
EDIT: But your right it should be interesting to see the crowd attendance, should be able to see if these live against the gate games will hurt the attendances significantly.
Crow Envy
17 Apr 2007, 16:32
Champ, you better hope you do beat us or all that trolling where you bag Adelaide will come back and bite you pretty hard.
Swannies Rules will be right, he will just hide for a week and then pretend the game never happened.
jokiKan
17 Apr 2007, 17:11
Crows will win by about 8 goals.
So you're predicting the worst Swans loss in nearly 3 years?
You're a gimp.
RoosterLad
17 Apr 2007, 17:16
That 15 goal prediction was made after getting home from town following the Crows heroic and inspiring Showdown victory over the Enemy. I was fair sloshed to be honest. But i think we can win by 8 goals, go **** yourself jokiKan, just because Sydney haven't lost by that much in a while doesn't mean it won't happen this week. We regularly trounce you, you are our little bitches.
So you're predicting the worst Swans loss in nearly 3 years?
You're a gimp.
Remind us once again who that last big loss was...oh wait Crows by 43 points ..wasnt it
jokiKan
17 Apr 2007, 17:49
rightio...
Anyway, the thing is this Swans team plays best when not expected to win. Its so frustrating watching them strangle the life out of crappy teams rather than put them away as everyone expects. Its like they need intensity in a game to play their best - so you see many times when they're losing they lift the intensity and find a way to win.
The Crows are a well drilled & coached team and will bring intensity. It will be a good & close game. Sydney will bring their A game, watch out. :thumbsu:
beartoo
17 Apr 2007, 19:06
ISo forget Rutten running off him.
Why? He runs off everyone else.
Think this will be a close game. I expect us to get up in a tight one. Home ground advantage and the fact that we are finishing games running should see us over the line.
Don't be surprised to see Mcintyre play...or be very close to doing so this week.
RoosterLad
18 Apr 2007, 10:36
Who would he replace? Rutten?
crowugoodthing
19 Apr 2007, 18:11
Crows to wait on Rutten
1 hours, 40 minutes ago | Back (javascript:history.go(-1);)
for Adelaide Football Club
Source AFC website
News
Adelaide will give full back Ben Rutten until Saturday morning to prove his fitness for Saturday’s night’s clash with Sydney.
Rutten, who has not trained this week because of a corked calf, has been named in an unchanged Crows 22. So, too, have Nathan van Berlo (hamstring tightness) and Jason Porplyzia (corked thigh), who were rested from Wednesday’s main training session.
Upgraded rookie Andrew McIntyre was named as one of the emergencies.
Adelaide trains on Friday morning from 10am at AAMI Stadium.
The team is:
B: Richard Douglas, Ben Rutten, Nathan Bassett
HB: Andrew McLeod, Scott Stevens, Michael Doughty
C: Brett Burton, Simon Goodwin, Martin Mattner
HF: Bernie Vince, Nathan Bock, Brent Reilly
F: Jason Porplyzia, Ian Perrie, Scott Welsh
1R: Ben Hudson, Tyson Edwards, Scott Thompson
Int: Jonathon Griffin, Nathan van Berlo, Jason Torney, Chris Knights
Emerg: Luke Jericho, John Hinge, Andrew McIntyre
fightingdreamer88
19 Apr 2007, 18:42
Crows to wait on Rutten
1 hours, 40 minutes ago | Back (http://javascript%3Cb%3E%3C/b%3E:history.go%28-1%29;)
for Adelaide Football Club
Source AFC website
News
Adelaide will give full back Ben Rutten until Saturday morning to prove his fitness for Saturday’s night’s clash with Sydney.
Rutten, who has not trained this week because of a corked calf, has been named in an unchanged Crows 22. So, too, have Nathan van Berlo (hamstring tightness) and Jason Porplyzia (corked thigh), who were rested from Wednesday’s main training session.
Upgraded rookie Andrew McIntyre was named as one of the emergencies.
Adelaide trains on Friday morning from 10am at AAMI Stadium.
The team is:
B: Richard Douglas, Ben Rutten, Nathan Bassett
HB: Andrew McLeod, Scott Stevens, Michael Doughty
C: Brett Burton, Simon Goodwin, Martin Mattner
HF: Bernie Vince, Nathan Bock, Brent Reilly
F: Jason Porplyzia, Ian Perrie, Scott Welsh
1R: Ben Hudson, Tyson Edwards, Scott Thompson
Int: Jonathon Griffin, Nathan van Berlo, Jason Torney, Chris Knights
Emerg: Luke Jericho, John Hinge, Andrew McIntyre
This is his chance. You have to show something now Jezza; you've got your assets, if you were hard at the footy you could become something. Give it a crack!!
He is an emergency... thats what ambulances are for.
Break out the defibrillator
fightingdreamer88
19 Apr 2007, 18:51
He is an emergency... thats what ambulances are for.
Break out the defibrillator
*giggles like a girl guide*
Having three players in doubt, odds are we will probably have to use one emergency. Depends who doesn't pull up in that case - if it was Porplyzia/VB I reckon Jericho would come in. If it was Rutten then it would likely be a battle between Hinge and McIntyre (although personally I perceive more potential in the latter than the former). Ideally you'd like them all to pull up, but on the same token there is a huge opportunity for those untried blokes/Jericho.
Dont get me wrong, if Jericho was to run out Saturday night I would groan, but I would also be hoping he has a great game... to shut me up and to show himself he can do it
betterthanu
19 Apr 2007, 19:02
i cant see Jericho playing well against Sydney of all sides but i hope he does if hes needed. Need to be hard at the ball when playing the swans
RoosterLad
19 Apr 2007, 19:15
If Rutten doesn't play then McIntyre will play, it wouldn't even be a contest between him and Hinge.