View Full Version : Massive game this week vs the Cats
philhawk
15 Apr 2007, 21:59
Absolutely critical game this week for us if we're to prove our wares as a genuine Top 10 team of the competition.
Our inexperienced backline will be pushed by the strength and size of the Cats forward line, whilst out midfield could struggle against a group of midfielders who are in red hot form.
That said, we have a fantastic record against them and are at 'Hawk Park' - a ground we know so well.
I just hope Croad is back for this match.
Roughie
15 Apr 2007, 22:03
They have a potent forward line and we really need to watch Chappy, Ablett's, and Hawkins.
Its a genuine must win game. They have a very good backline and we have to try exploit them with multiple threats, I think Dixon and Boyle really gotta kick a few to try free up Williams and Smooth. Franklin should do what he does and be a very hard match up
hyperswivel
15 Apr 2007, 22:10
All the pressure will be on the Cats next weekend, and not the Hawks.
The Cats will be expected to come away with the win, despite the fact that it's in Launceston and the fact that they have a shaky record against us, particularly last year.
It's also generally accepted that the Cats fold faster than Superman on laundry day under such pressure.
3 on the trot is sweet, against the Cats? I'm likely to find myself in a diabetic coma.
philhawk
15 Apr 2007, 22:13
All the pressure will be on the Cats next weekend, and not the Hawks.
The Cats will be expected to come away with the win, despite the fact that it's in Launceston and the fact that they have a shaky record against us, particularly last year.
It's also generally accepted that the Cats fold faster than Superman on laundry day under such pressure.
3 on the trot is sweet, against the Cats? I'm likely to find myself in a diabetic coma.
You, more than most, would love to see us beat the Cats i'm guessing, Hyper. :D
Bennycoff
15 Apr 2007, 23:14
We can win it but need to play our best footy.
We need Croad back and Bateman.
Gary Shadforth
15 Apr 2007, 23:21
The Cats are second on the ladder with 2 wins, 1 loss. Our match results are the same but percentage has us in eighth possie.
I thought our defence was excellent today, especially in spoiling and annulling some of North's forward talls at contested attempts to mark. Actually I thought our backlines worked hard against Brizzie at the Gabba even though our game appeared to be rotten to the core. Our defenders were excellent last week against the Dees and they continued their excellent work today when the team started to combine better over the last two stanzas.
Ongoing improvement, lifting the bar even higher next week at York Park will see our side eclipse the Cats. Also consider we are their nemeses by spoiling their finals chances last year with an absolute thrashing.
The Hawks by 20 points is my early prediction.
HawkFan15
15 Apr 2007, 23:52
Will see where we are as a side in the next 2 weeks. I think we can beat the cats as long as bateman,croad,ladson all play and we play our best footy. I dont think we can win playing bad footy whereas i think the cats can win by not playing there absolute best. Hopefully the hawks continue to be geelongs bogie team.
Nightwolf
16 Apr 2007, 00:00
Im headin down to Tassie to run amok with the a) Pubs b) Ladies..
Im also going to watch a game of footy sometime in the middle..
What are the chances Croad plays this match? I think we will have to be at our best to beat the in-form Cats, but I reckon we can pull it off.
Hawks by 13 for me.
Our entry forward will have to fire early & for 4 quarters, If we dish up tonights offering to geelongs quality defence we will lose.
Franklin is a worry for us. The only person I can see matching him is Max Rooke except he isn't fit.
Who would Clarkson likely play on Chappy and Gaz?
Roughie
16 Apr 2007, 00:21
Franklin is a worry for us. The only person I can see matching him is Max Rooke except he isn't fit.
I think sewell will get Garry Ablett, and by the looks of Ozzies performance today he should play on Chapman
philhawk
16 Apr 2007, 00:22
Ladson and Sewell probably (providing Ladson is fit).
Sewell looks to be the man most likely to play on Gablett.
hyperswivel
16 Apr 2007, 00:25
Surely when Geelong lose, they wont be allowed back to the mainland.
I can't imagine what the Geelong Advertiser will be like tomorrow. Traffic will be chaos with the ticker-tape parade that is no doubt scheduled.
Partridge
16 Apr 2007, 00:30
Surely when Geelong lose, they wont be allowed back to the mainland.
I can't imagine what the Geelong Advertiser will be like tomorrow. Traffic will be chaos with the ticker-tape parade that is no doubt scheduled.
That's for those who live within 50 miles of the place. For those of us who don't, I couldn't give a s**t.
HawkFan15
16 Apr 2007, 00:56
Sewell for chapman and brown/ladson for ablett.
flukeyluke
16 Apr 2007, 00:56
Cats have kicked 113 more points to date - thats another 6 goals a match better than us.
We will have to have Croad back to be a chance.
The Silencer
16 Apr 2007, 01:21
Im headin down to Tassie to run amok with the a) Pubs b) Ladies..
Im also going to watch a game of footy sometime in the middle..
What's the plan? Masquerade as their brothers?
Partridge
16 Apr 2007, 11:15
Cats have kicked 113 more points to date - thats another 6 goals a match better than us.
We will have to have Croad back to be a chance.
Forgive the intrusion guys, but remember we've only played Carlton and a depleted Melbourne. We've still got a long way to go. Historically we don't travel well and we don't have a great record against you guys. You'd have to quite rightly fancy your chances.
Ideally Croad will come up and N.Ablett misses.
Bennycoff
16 Apr 2007, 11:29
We need Croad to play and need some more leg speed so hopefully Bateman comes up.
Probably Roughead and Ellis would make may if those two guys were fit, otherwise no changes.
Midfield battle will be entertaining and it will be interesting to see who we play on Hawkins.
They don't have anyone for Williams or Franklin so hopefully we make the most out of these oppurtunities.
afl genius
16 Apr 2007, 12:21
We need Croad to play and need some more leg speed so hopefully Bateman comes up.
Probably Roughead and Ellis would make may if those two guys were fit, otherwise no changes.
Midfield battle will be entertaining and it will be interesting to see who we play on Hawkins.
They don't have anyone for Williams or Franklin so hopefully we make the most out of these oppurtunities.
Scarlett to give Williams a bath as you would expect
but Frankin might be a worry. Egan will get first crack
Brown n Gold
16 Apr 2007, 14:52
Scarlett to give Williams a bath as you would expect
but Frankin might be a worry. Egan will get first crack
Who did Scarlett bath last season when Willo kicked 8?????
Hawk Dork
16 Apr 2007, 16:36
He stunk that day
Partridge
16 Apr 2007, 16:54
Who did Scarlett bath last season when Willo kicked 8?????
Well spotted. You can thank Mark Thompson for that as he saw fit to start Scarlett in the forward line, then put him on Barker. Meanwhile D.Johnson and Hunt got torn up by Williams.
Full credit to Williams, he played a blinder, but I'd rather see our regular full back on him. He played on him in 2005 and kept him to 2. I'd take that again.
philhawk
16 Apr 2007, 16:57
If Scarlett plays against us like he did against Fev in Round 2, then we could be in alot of strife.
He's such a good Full-Back, wish he played for us.
deadfish
16 Apr 2007, 17:53
Scarlett has been playing well the last few weeks, but it has to be put into perspective. The kicks inside 50 for Carlton were absolutly terrible. Long bombs are exactly what geelong want to see.
The big issue for me will be if the hawks can supply the forwards with good oppurtunities to take a mark. geelongs been fairly good at that the last two games.
Should be an interesting match. Especially after last years results.. i was at the round 3 match and it was probably the worst display i have seen from Geelong. Hope its not a repeat of that game..
Pessimistic
16 Apr 2007, 20:01
Geelong might take us seriously this year.
rd 3 last year they were discussing the subsequent weeks' game agaisnt the 'bulldogs' as a top of the table clash.
In r22 they just looked forward to 2007
Partridge
17 Apr 2007, 00:02
Geelong might take us seriously this year.
rd 3 last year they were discussing the subsequent weeks' game agaisnt the 'bulldogs' as a top of the table clash.
In r22 they just looked forward to 2007
Maybe, either way Hawthorn were far too good on both occasions. I'm already dreading Sunday.
lethalselbow
17 Apr 2007, 07:45
Hawks ran the legs off the Cats twice last season. They may have quite a few big bodies, but expect the Hawks to run at every opportunity!
Big ground, big game, and definitely winnable.
As for Hawkins, he may be big, but I there will be a match up for him. Roughead or Croad will get the nod. Playing Campbell on him would be hugely negative.