View Full Version : Round 3-Best and Worst 3
cradle of filth
15 Apr 2007, 22:17
Best- Sam Mitchell, Jordan Lewis, Mark Williams
Worst- Tim Boyle, Jarryd Roughead, Xavier Ellis
Hate to put Ellis in the worst but just like last week it wasn't because he was bad, it was just that 19 other players played better. I think Boyle will have to learn to cope with more opposition pressure and Roughead was on fire for about the first 5 minutes but just faded away after that.
Sam Mitchell was a gun all day and shapes as our next captain while Jordan Lewis played one of his best games yet. Willo was also a great target up forward with 4 goals.
philhawk
15 Apr 2007, 22:24
Best:
Sewell, Ladson and Lewis (basically the same from last week).
Sewell kept Grant to only 5 touches.
Ladson had a reasonably effective game on the rebound.
Lewis - just keeps getting better every week.
Worst:
Really can't name too many off the top of my head. I thought Boyle didn't have a particularly strong game - but not necessarily a bad game from him.
Roughie was another one who was quiet tonight - though his first goal was a beauty.
A bit harsh on Ellis, cof, I thought he definitely put his body on the line when it counted. His smother in the last quarter was great for a man his size. Showed more courage than i'd attribute to a man his size.
Number 24
15 Apr 2007, 22:30
Come on, open both eyes because every player did his job tonite. What the F** k do you know about the assignments each player was given in the circunstances of the tactics the Kangaroos enployed in the game tonite.
If you have the insite, let us know, otherwise (as yo0u told me on another post SHUT UP.
This in my opinion was a very good win against a very determined opposition who were playing for keeps Our players came in and out of the game but all contributed to the overall success.
A great step forward in the development of this list....INMO
Skyfire15
15 Apr 2007, 22:33
Really good game from the youngsters tonight, thought they helped kick start the 3rd quarter 'take over' of the game...
Best - Sewell, Ladson (2nd and 3rd efforts were terrific) McGlynn
Could easily include Mitch but I thought his output was what we should expect from one of our elite. Apologies also to Gilham, Browny and Willo
Worst - Boyle & Roughead.. Ellis did little but you can't criticise a bloke too much when he gets minimal game time, his spoil late in the 3rd quarter when we were only 10 points up was key :thumbsu:
philhawk
15 Apr 2007, 22:34
Come on, open both eyes because every player did his job tonite. What the F** k do you know about the assignments each player was given in the circunstances of the tactics the Kangaroos enployed in the game tonite.
If you have the insite, let us know, otherwise (as yo0u told me on another post SHUT UP.
Huh?
What's the go, Number 24? Where did I tell you to shut up, mate?
La Vache
15 Apr 2007, 22:41
Sam Mitchell was immense. He is the reason we won the game IMO. His second half was inspirational.
I'll give my highly informed opinion as I listened to the match on the radio.
Best: Sewell (Shannon who?), Mitchell/Lewis, Ladson/Osbourne
Worst: Well I think I heard Roughead's name twice all night - it sounded like Boyle didn't do much and um...........I didn't hear Croady's name all night so he must've really sucked.
cradle of filth
15 Apr 2007, 22:56
This in my opinion was a very good win against a very determined opposition who were playing for keeps Our players came in and out of the game but all contributed to the overall success.
A great step forward in the development of this list....INMO
oh I'm sorry, i have obviously not considered that Alastair Clarkson might have told Tim Boyle to take it easy tonite and not take any marks. Oh and I'm SURE he told roughead to play well for only 5 minutes because that makes perfect sense doesn't it??
Bennycoff
15 Apr 2007, 23:09
I'll give my highly informed opinion as I listened to the match on the radio.
Best: Sewell (Shannon who?), Mitchell/Lewis, Ladson/Osbourne
Worst: Well I think I heard Roughead's name twice all night - it sounded like Boyle didn't do much and um...........I didn't hear Croady's name all night so he must've really sucked.
Croad was a late withdrawal, thats why Roughead played.
Best: Sewell, Lewis, Ladson.
McGlynn was good again, Mitchell was brillant, Williams and Franklin were good, Gilham played a ripper of a game in defense, Brown was sensational, Osborne was very good too. Basically everyone did a good job.
Some really exciting passages in the second half.
One where Brown and McGlynn ran the whole ground with a string of handballs taking on the opposition and then spearing it onto Williams chest, end result goal. That was awesome to watch.
North were desperate and we did very well to win the game, without Bateman, Clarke, Croad, Smith and Vandenberg - thats a heap of experience.
Ellis's smother in the 3rd term was very encouraging, i smiled, it was awesome to see the kid put his body on the line.
Also impressed with Birchall running the lines and Youngy again strong throughout.
McGlynn has had a very good start to the season. His skills have certainly improved, set up some goals and kicked one himself from outside 50. Still makes some silly errors but is going to be a good player I think.
Pity about that hit though, may be reported I feel. Hope not.
Soak it up, seasons gone by we would have let the last 2 matches slip, we didn't, good signs.
And how on earth are we going to fit in Croad, Smith, Clarke, Bateman, Vandenberg into this side???? Don't forget guys like Murphy and Muston are running around in the seconds. Great signs.
Geelong next week at tassie, i'm confident because we play well there and geelong don;t travel well. we have to play disciplined footy but we can do it.
Go Hawks!
hawkstars
15 Apr 2007, 23:10
The reason you didn't hear Croadies name is because he was a late withdrawel. As for the best I think a few players did really well but for me a fab night by Lewis. Great work
DynamoUltra
15 Apr 2007, 23:11
Roughead was our best at quarter time, and given the first half was played like the game against Brisbane, maybe people are being too harsh on our forwards.
Croad was a late withdrawal, thats why Roughead played.Yeah, I should've used a :p or even a ;) and most definitely a :D
Bennycoff
15 Apr 2007, 23:13
I knew you were playing, but just in case :P
Is it serious? Croady;s injury?
HawkFan15
15 Apr 2007, 23:48
Best: Brown,Sewell,Mitchell
Worst: Boyle,Roughead,Ellis (all were quiet not terrible in there use of the footy or anything)
Unlucky not to be in the best Gilham,Mcglynn(such hard running),Birchall,Lewis
shotgun_blues
15 Apr 2007, 23:52
Best : Mitch was brilliant in the 2nd half. Raffle 2nd/3rd between 5 and 6 other players.
Worst : Boyler had an absolute stinker of a game, but he'll be back.
kolchak
16 Apr 2007, 08:49
C
McGlynn has had a very good start to the season. His skills have certainly improved, set up some goals and kicked one himself from outside 50. Still makes some silly errors but is going to be a good player I think.
Pity about that hit though, may be reported I feel. Hope not.
I thought happy boots had changed his number to 22 from 9. Did some excellent work in the middle. Also thought Sammy was fantastic.
FriarTuck
16 Apr 2007, 09:36
Best 3
Lewis - hits targets and runs his guts out.
Sewell - Shagga had little effect
Brown - genuine at all times.
Worst 3
Roughie - what did he eat at quarter time?
Boiler - Lost the plot. Not tough enough.
Hodge - we need him doing more than that.
MinerBoy
16 Apr 2007, 09:47
3. Brad Sewell (BOG - by a distance too).
2. Jordon Lewis
1. Campbell Brown
Sammy was good but slightly over rated I believe. Wasted a lot of disposals.
Don't know about worst, but Boiler struggled and X looked a bit out of his depth tonight. Just looked like he still hasn't quite adatpted to the pace of the game, which I know will come with more game time.
lethalselbow
16 Apr 2007, 10:44
Woah there big fella! If you copped a bit of a spray in another thread you should have addressed it in that thread!
In a good discussion, after a great win, your outburst doesn't read favourably. Ease down, champ.
lethalselbow
16 Apr 2007, 11:02
I'd have to say the best three (rather... favorite three for the game) were
MacGlynn - hard and full of running.
Taylor - he was great in the ruck. That play in the 3rd quarter when he tapped it forward and the sharked the ball and booted it long was a huge effort.
Brown - Huge marks and smart kicking (except the cramped kick out of bounds)
* Liked Osbourne's effort on Harvey also. Two great goals. Mitchell and Buddy get enough credit. :)
Leser lights
Roughead - Wasn't great. Did bring the ball to ground when it came his way.
Boyle - Hard to be a big target against a flooding backline. Did work hard.
No real complaints.
cradle of filth
16 Apr 2007, 18:47
Yeah Taylor has been copping it on here a bit but i think he has put in some pretty good efforts and his hitout count is pretty impressive for a no.2 ruckman and don't forget only a 3 year player
At least he doesn't have a negetive influence on our players, keep him, doesn't matter how he plays as long as he is a positive player, and isn't a disease:rolleyes:
cradle of filth
17 Apr 2007, 14:06
At least he doesn't have a negetive influence on our players, keep him, doesn't matter how he plays as long as he is a positive player, and isn't a disease:rolleyes:
I think you need to get over it mate, it seems everyone else has.