View Full Version : Best Ruckman in The APS
davo#55
15 Apr 2007, 22:50
Coming into the new school football year id say that the ruck division would be dominated by a recruit from haileybury but there is an amazing story emerging. James Ullbrick the young year 11 xavier is proving himself to be amongst the competitions elite ruckman with a another best on ground performance. Ullbrick the young sensation accumulated 27 possessions and 21 hitouts in a truly dominating performance. Hes amazing speed and evasive skills combined with his silky skills are making football lovers believe that Ullbrick could possibly be the best ruckman in the APS. This amazing burst of form that ullbrick is showing is due to his big pre-season where he did not go out at all and just focused on his footy. In my opinion he is one of the best and most valuable players in the APS and to watch out for a scintillating year. Any thoughts on who may be able to take the best ruckman in the APS crown away from this phenonemal talent.
THE BRICKMAN
15 Apr 2007, 22:55
Coming into the new school football year id say that the ruck division would be dominated by a recruit from haileybury but there is an amazing story emerging. James Ullbrick the young year 11 xavier is proving himself to be amongst the competitions elite ruckman with a another best on ground performance. Ullbrick the young sensation accumulated 27 possessions and 21 hitouts in a truly dominating performance. Hes amazing speed and evasive skills combined with his silky skills are making football lovers believe that Ullbrick could possibly be the best ruckman in the APS. This amazing burst of form that ullbrick is showing is due to his big pre-season where he did not go out at all and just focused on his footy. In my opinion he is one of the best and most valuable players in the APS and to watch out for a scintillating year. Any thoughts on who may be able to take the best ruckman in the APS crown away from this phenonemal talent.
I agree, i am lucky enough to share some classes with this kid and the kids a genious which obviously helps with his footy brain on the field. Another fine point to this kid is that he is so modest and commited, hardly goes out and stays away from alcohol and cigarettes, will be a dominant ruckman going into this year.
Take Down King
15 Apr 2007, 22:55
I played in the 2nd for assumption today and if that number 23 is James Ulbrick holy shit other schools better watch out cause this kid can seriously play, you really have to see it to believe it. He won every hit out today pretty much and he is size and strong hands make a deadly combination.
Maybe not the best ruckman by definetly a talent, does the kid play tac he must do for sure
davo#55
15 Apr 2007, 23:13
listen aquaman, not only is ur name more relevant to water sports but u have no clue what ur talking about. Davo#5 has proved himself as the king but as you will see in weeks to follow i will take that title from him. i have been watching aps football all of last season and no more than anyone in this field. feel free to reply davo
Take Down King
15 Apr 2007, 23:17
why are you number 55 cool number
Take Down King
15 Apr 2007, 23:18
hang on if you know everything tell me who 23 for Xavier was today he was BOG shouldent be to hard for you
Everybody wants to be like Davo!
However, if you saw the chick I pulled last night you might not wanna be.
Had better Saturday successes.
Didn't seem like quite as good idea as it did last night after a few jimmies.
Never mind!
Back to the footy.
Ulba - class act.
What impressed me most was his disposal. He uses the ball like a midfielder around the ground. Great in the centre with the taps - not sure how he will go in that area against a big body. Was speaking to Ian Aitken today who said that he has come along way just with a few pointers and apparently James will receive instruction from Jim Stynes. Is that correct or was he pulling my leg. Man you blokes must have some cash if you are bringing guys like Ian and Jim in. Much better investment than a couple of scholarships which ruin the system anyway. Can you tell I was once dropped for a $ kid?
davo#55
15 Apr 2007, 23:34
mmm it amazes me that your happy to drive to kilmore to watch an aps game of football davo. thats commitment first hand but one would question your intentions. Ullbrick's number 1 attribute today was his ability to read the play and provide a constant option in all parts of the ground. the big man's hands were quite exceptional and thats why he was getting so much of the ball. Who would u have put in xaviers best Davo?
Read the other thread champ, you're a bit behind the pace!
And don't get too excited pal, got paid to watch today.
Although I spent it talking into a dictaphone through all of it.
Very impressed with Lees - good prospect.
Wynne and Kennedy were as expected - very good.
Still amazed that they played without Sanfillipo, Booth etc.... and still anihilated ACK who have a few really good players.
davo#55
15 Apr 2007, 23:44
mm sorry mate im a bit new to this hole big footy seen. ur a recruiter or a scout of some sort i gather. i think uve ignored a few realli good games from thomas and o'sullivan. Is it that u forgot about them or they didnt impress as much as the others.
Thomas was good.
O'Sullivan was good.
Hannebery was good.
Haven't ignored them, just waiting for Francis to email me back with the numbers.
Thought Thomas ran back into traffic a few times. But that is being picky. He had the ball on a string.
O'Sullivan was gutsy. Took some freakish marks and has a very good kick on him.
Both are excellent prospects. Just wasn't expecting to see that Lees kid play with such desparation and flare!
P.S - not a scout mate.
Just taking stats for recruiters that have earmarked a few of your lads.
One was Sanfillipo who didn't play today.
Didn't play all that well for Knights yesterday either.
Surprised he would have missed this game - usually makes the paper.
davo#55
15 Apr 2007, 23:50
could u post the stats when u get them, id be interested to see how many hannabery got in the last quarter. i think your a bit harsh on thomas, i thought that he evaded his way out of traffic. would u say that xavier would be close to the best tackling side in the APS. the desperation and intensity was umbelievable and ACK could not get any valuable run. whats ur thoughts.
Good call on the tackling.
Very impressive at schoolboy level.
In fact, I'm not sure what your coach has said about your style of play - but you were a lot like Sydney today with your tempo football. ACK were winning the stoppages early and you got on top of them with your tackling and numbers in good places as the game wore on. In fact, it looked at times as if you had 2-3 more players at stoppages for the majority of the game. Impressive coaching. Kennedy has you playing a good brand.
could u post the stats when u get them, id be interested to see how many hannabery got in the last quarter. i think your a bit harsh on thomas, i thought that he evaded his way out of traffic. would u say that xavier would be close to the best tackling side in the APS. the desperation and intensity was umbelievable and ACK could not get any valuable run. whats ur thoughts.
Dude, I think you missed my point - I said he turned into traffic.
Yes, he managed to evade it, but it was his decision making that I query. Against better opposition he may get caught.
f00ty-1S-L!fe
16 Apr 2007, 20:06
Kastrikum will be the best when he gets to yr12, possibly even as a yr11
decent player, maybe as a year 12 but certainly not next year. Vickery has this title for the net two years. AIS ruckman, what else can i say.
BLOODS!
16 Apr 2007, 21:13
luke davey from haileybury.
easy.
then.... tim bradford from haileybury..
then... ziada from haileybury..
then maybe tyrone
love_the_punt
16 Apr 2007, 21:15
easy.
then maybe tyrone
davey easily best ruckman in the aps
easy.
then maybe tyrone
im sorry but ziad has everyone covered! quite clearly the best tap ruckman in the APS without a shadow of a doubt...watch his skill and grace...and u'll agree...the guy is a man-mountain, and can leap tall buildings in a single bound...but talking to him ud never no....so so modest!!!...trust me, a definite afl prospect in '08...davo, id get ur dad to come out and watch this kid!
davo#55
17 Apr 2007, 21:47
ive seen luke davey play, and he is not the best ruckman in the A.P.S. The title is very much up for grabs this year and no one will reli know until the season gets underway. My hot tip is James Ulbrick the youngster from xavier, extremely impressive.
f00ty-1S-L!fe
17 Apr 2007, 21:51
ive seen luke davey play, and he is not the best ruckman in the A.P.S. The title is very much up for grabs this year and no one will reli know until the season gets underway. My hot tip is James Ulbrick the youngster from xavier, extremely impressive.
are you serious!!! up for grabs!! your kidding mate. tyrone vickery without a doubt. not only the best ruckman in the APS but one of the best in the country and possibly the best for his age in the country.
davo#55
17 Apr 2007, 21:58
Nah i am serious mate, will see how ur love child goes up against some passionate teams.
I'm afraid he's right.
Ulbrick is better than Vickery mate.
Peninsula are spewing he left to go to Xavier.
Huge get - he plays like Dean Cox (tall midfielder)
He had over 30 possessions against Assumption.
Absolute gun and still only Yr 11.
Let me put it this way. He's better than John Shaw who rucked for them last year. And that bloke was the best ruckman (arguably along with Chris Dawes) in the APS last season.
Pity Chris Dawes didnt ruck
Take Down King
18 Apr 2007, 15:08
Word from the Xavier boys is that Ulbrick turned down the Western Jets and the chance to play vic metro this year is there any truth to that statement??????
THE BRICKMAN
18 Apr 2007, 15:13
yeh i heard that aswell, one would question that desicion as it could show that he is not as dedicated to going somewhere with his football as other young guns.
The BRICKSTER
18 Apr 2007, 15:16
yer i also herd that and its a good point you make, maybe some clubs have already spoken to him about been drafted in one of the later rounds in this years draft and therefore want to keep him hidden away from the U18 Carnival, could be a wise move if he keeps playing the way he did against assumption, from all accounts he murdered them.
Beware the Ziada. All ruckmen pale into insignificance.
is all this banter about ulbrick true? i have noticed that the brickman, and the brickster seem to be taking the piss out of him in all threads, but i was just wondering if ulbrick did actually turn down the jets, because if he did, i wouldnt quite call it a smart move as a tac cup team gives oppurtunities that aps doesnt
gormanisahack
18 Apr 2007, 19:54
ulbrick did not turn down an offer from the western jets. it is these fools just taking the piss once again.
davo#55
18 Apr 2007, 22:52
look that is bulshit about the western jets offer, ulbrick has started well but he has to back it up now during the season. There is some bloody good ruckman out there and lets just wait for the season to unravel.
my pick would have to be Tyrone V from Haileybury one of the best going around in the country
BLOODS!
19 Apr 2007, 21:08
look that is bulshit about the western jets offer, ulbrick has started well but he has to back it up now during the season. There is some bloody good ruckman out there and lets just wait for the season to unravel.
mate you think you are an expert at everything dont ya.?
you always have your little spiels to add and you probs wont even play ones footy this year. are you one of those blokes who just hangs around all the footy boys but they dont like you?
gormanisahack
19 Apr 2007, 21:15
mate hes completely right about this issue. he is an expert.
davo#55
19 Apr 2007, 21:21
mate you think you are an expert at everything dont ya.?
you always have your little spiels to add and you probs wont even play ones footy this year. are you one of those blokes who just hangs around all the footy boys but they dont like you?
seeings i was the one who started the thread on ulbrick, one can only imagine that i know a lot about him. it is bulshit about the western jets offer and its bulshit that u had the audacity to post on my thread. this is a thread of factual posts not pitiful attempts at downgrading credibility. go back to the haileybury 6ths thread where u will be able to talk first hand about how the team will go this year.
I have decided not to post anymore.
This tool Davo 55 - aka Robert Follacchio who will play 3rds for Xavier this year, has everyone thinking its me, so I'm signing off.
Good luck to all and to all a good night.
i think everybody here is forgetting about the reigning premiers from down the highway. They may have lost some stars in Reece Cordy and Tom Stienfort but into the lineup to fill the void come the pair of Hoevenaars and Ayce Cordy, Cordy already being talked up as a future father-son to the bulldogs and Hoevenaars quite clearly a star in the making.
This pair will blow any other rucking duo away this year, with there all round ability at the bounce and their ability to play like a midfeilder when the ball hits the deck.
I hear Hoevenaars has put in a big pre-season as well...look out...he is a deffinate prospect for the '08 draft
i think everybody here is forgetting about the reigning premiers from down the highway. They may have lost some stars in Reece Cordy and Tom Stienfort but into the lineup to fill the void come the pair of Hoevenaars and Ayce Cordy, Cordy already being talked up as a future father-son to the bulldogs and Hoevenaars quite clearly a star in the making.
This pair will blow any other rucking duo away this year, with there all round ability at the bounce and their ability to play like a midfeilder when the ball hits the deck.
I hear Hoevenaars has put in a big pre-season as well...look out...he is a deffinate prospect for the '08 draft
yea totally mate these guys r really going to trouble an australian ruckmen (t.vickery) not
has T.Vickery been linked to any AFL clubs? no. Unlike the son of Brian Cordy, Ayce Cordy, who was recently mentioned in an article in the Herald Sun and has been freguently talked about in the Western Bulldogs section of BigFooty
has ayce cordy gone overseas to play for australia??? if he was the best then he would have but he isnt thats why he didnt play for australia
The only reason cordy didnt play for austrlia is because hes been dogged with ostietis pubis for the last 6 months. hes had a big pre-season and is set to dominate the APS competion like he will dominate AFL with the bulldogs.
jbrown_16
23 Apr 2007, 22:22
i dont know of any afl ruckman that are first of all 197cm, and plus a ruckman that weighs only 72kg, tyrone vickery is a ****in gun ruckman and i can say that not even being from hbaileybury, he is a freak but still a stupid call saying he is ne of the best in australia..
for a start cordy is 200cm tall and yes he may be skinny but he is a deadset gun and he will fill out like his brother started to around the same age.
luke darcy is 196cm
there are plenty shorter than cordy
maybe u should do ur reserch before you make statements like that are totally inaccurate.
jbrown_16
23 Apr 2007, 22:32
for a start cordy is 200cm tall and yes he may be skinny but he is a deadset gun and he will fill out like his brother started to around the same age.
luke darcy is 196cm
there are plenty shorter than cordy
maybe u should do ur reserch before you make statements like that are totally inaccurate.
I agree with the fact there are players smaller than him, but he is 72kg and he is 197cm because i play TAC cup against him and it say in the booklet and on the internet so i have done my research, not to mention he is a dud, hasnt gotten better since u15 vic
mad dawg 1
23 Apr 2007, 22:34
i think tyrone demonstarates his ability by not only staring in the last quarter comeback against scotch in the grandfinal last year. he kind of is in the AIS and represtened australia vs ireland in the junior international rules??
i dont think they come much better.
well look i was talking to him the other day and hes grown since the details were entered. He's also put on plenty of weight since they were entered and everyday he seems bigger and more physically mature. im sure this guy is good and congrats against playing against ireland but cordy is a state 800m runner, as well as being a state high jumper. Hes not only a athlete but has an oustanding footy brain and has skills the equal or better to any big man ive ever seen.
What i also find somewhat amusing is how you can consider him a "dud" when hes being mentioned as a future prospect at one of teh most exciting victorian teams, the Western Bulldogs. Tell me if i'm wrong but last time i check, AFL dont usually look at duds when considering their future lists.
gormanisahack
23 Apr 2007, 22:55
Vickery is better. A lot better.
fiveonenine
23 Apr 2007, 23:51
I agree with the fact there are players smaller than him, but he is 72kg and he is 197cm because i play TAC cup against him and it say in the booklet and on the internet so i have done my research, not to mention he is a dud, hasnt gotten better since u15 vic
your a wan.ka mate. your research is obviously terrible, i play with him and i am mates with him and he is 200 cms, check any site you want,check the falcons site, tac site, any of them. and the only reason he is 72 kg is because in the last year he has seriously grown about 20cm...no exageration, he used to be a decent sized onballer, now he is massive.let him develop mate, and he can play too!!!
mainboardboycotter
24 Apr 2007, 00:59
Ulbrick/Allman combination is the best in the league.
fluro_puma
24 Apr 2007, 13:10
Will Myer from MGS. i dont no him personally, but watching him against caufield, he had a huge leap, and didnt loose a tap out. took marks down back, and had a lethal left foot up forward when he snuck down forward.basically a extra midfielder/back/forward for mgs
Bryant_H
24 Apr 2007, 14:00
Ulbrick/Allman combination is the best in the league.
ah im pretty sure the combination of jones and haslam that Carey ghas is unbeatable! I get a hard on just thinking about their skills! Who wouldnt!
The BRICKSTER
25 Apr 2007, 19:17
ulbrick is better
vickery dominates them all
wickers
25 Apr 2007, 21:53
vickory = gun
will dominate them all
love.for.the.sherrin
25 Apr 2007, 22:46
Vickery!!
Footy010
25 Apr 2007, 23:31
John Syme from scotch will dominate if his knees hold up
mate i dont think anyone from scotch or any other school for that matter will even come close to t.vickery
DirtyHeardy
27 Apr 2007, 15:04
mate i dont think anyone from scotch or any other school for that matter will even come close to t.vickery
who's vickery? give us some background on him. i don't have ny background on ulbrick before xavier but i know he can play. where did haileybury poach him from?
love.for.the.sherrin
27 Apr 2007, 18:13
not sure where he came from.
vic metro u16 ruckman then picked in the AIS squad that just returned from South Africa.
Great tap ruckman and can also be sent forward and play as a tall forward pocket.
Great player!!
197cm
80kg
gormanisahack
27 Apr 2007, 18:42
not sure where he came from.
vic metro u16 ruckman then picked in the AIS squad that just returned from South Africa.
Great tap ruckman and can also be sent forward and play as a tall forward pocket.
Great player!!
197cm
80kg
How long has he been at Haileybury?
almostfootylegend
27 Apr 2007, 18:44
sandilands. sengstock
Number 8
27 Apr 2007, 21:37
I think MGS would have the best ruckman in the aps if oly wurm was playing for them. He would also have the recruiters fighting to wipe his ass he could be that good. Although only 190cm he has a great vertical jump and is a state champion over 400m this year. For not many ruckman could boast that. He is also young for his year level (turns 18 in feb 08 i think) It is a shame he has concentrated on running because i think he could have gone a long way in footy
almostfootylegend
27 Apr 2007, 21:54
i agree, ollie could go a long way. he has all the attributes, speed, size, build, skills and has shown to have a footy brain in the 10a's
Well after all this talk about Ulbrick and Vickery Xavier played Geelong College. I have never seen this Ulbrick guy play apart from saturday but Cordy absolutely smashed him and pretty much won every tap. Ulbrick not to good for the best ruckman in the APS
i agree with fredy
there have been big raps on Ulbrick all pre season and i know that GC got killed by Xavier but Cordy was dominant.
i have already posted my views that he is the best ruckman in the comp and his domination on Saturday further strengthens my claim
gormanisahack
6 May 2007, 22:42
What year is Cordy in?
Alan Smith
7 May 2007, 19:00
well look i was talking to him the other day and hes grown since the details were entered. He's also put on plenty of weight since they were entered and everyday he seems bigger and more physically mature. im sure this guy is good and congrats against playing against ireland but cordy is a state 800m runner, as well as being a state high jumper. Hes not only a athlete but has an oustanding footy brain and has skills the equal or better to any big man ive ever seen.
What i also find somewhat amusing is how you can consider him a "dud" when hes being mentioned as a future prospect at one of teh most exciting victorian teams, the Western Bulldogs. Tell me if i'm wrong but last time i check, AFL dont usually look at duds when considering their future lists.
plentyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy of failed recruiting in the AFL mate, you can probably think of some for yourself.
Ulbrick was well beaten against Geelong.
im not saying he will get drafted im saying he is being considered
and yes he did dominant ulbrick
and yes he is good
all you people that say ulbrick is better than vickery are idiots and have no idea what you are talking about. vickery is ais and easily the best. he will dominate anyone put up against him, ulbrick isnt good he is knowhere near vickery
never seen vickory play but ulbrick got talked up heaps on this site and cordy tore him to shreds...vickory better be able to pull his weight or the underrated ayce cordy will have another day out
bigjohnny
7 May 2007, 20:03
i really dont think anyone realises the talent in ruckmen that carey have... although they r not the best side in the APS richard jones kills every1 in the ruck... last year as a year 11 averaged 21.5 hitouts and dominated and didnt lose to any one i think u shood b looking at him... the melbourne grammar ruckman was suposed to be good u have got to be kidding me it looked like he was standing still... have a look at this talent
How long has he been at Haileybury?
since year 10 and he will dominate when he play against xavs and alike
Its All About Ayce Cordy
Ayce has got Nothing on T.Vickery mate ayce is a joke compared to vickery but then again who isnt
yeh he should dominate against ulbrick he is a deadset gun
its all about ayce cordy
only ruckman with any afl credentials in the comp
yeh he should dominate against ulbrick he is a deadset gun
its all about ayce cordy
only ruckman with any afl credentials in the comp
lol do you know who t.vickery is cause i dont think ayce cordy played for australia and just came back from south africa like vickery did so if anyone has got afl credential its vickery this ayce cordy is a joke compared to vickery
yeh look a slight oversight by me
one of the two*
i have never seen vickory play...i will soon enough
cordy is easily the best ive seen so far
the raps were big on ulbrick he got dominated
maybe the same will happen with vickory
point is should be a good dual
yeh look a slight oversight by me
one of the two*
i have never seen vickory play...i will soon enough
cordy is easily the best ive seen so far
the raps were big on ulbrick he got dominated
maybe the same will happen with vickory
point is should be a good dual
if you havent seen everyone and especially the best in the aps then dont make outragous comments about individuals who got no chance
specialedition
12 May 2007, 17:50
All this Ulbrick talk: was at the CGS vs XC game today and he got his box absolutely smashed by Brent Crawley.
Is Brent Crawley number 24?
Ulbrick played well today considering he is trying to play through shin splints. Won like every hit out so dont know what your on about there.
vickery is better than ulbrick thats wat we are on about here
TheFinalSay
13 May 2007, 14:20
I'll tell you what. Will Myer(mgs) is one of the most improved players in the APS and is now one of the best ruckmen going around, absolutely dominated yesterday, took about 10 pack marks around the ground aswell as dominating the hitouts.
love_the_punt
13 May 2007, 15:54
I'll tell you what. Will Myer(mgs) is one of the most improved players in the APS and is now one of the best ruckmen going around, absolutely dominated yesterday, took about 10 pack marks around the ground aswell as dominating the hitouts.
will myer didnt dominate the hit outs
haileybury ruckman luke davey did well and won more than half of them
scrumrugby1
13 May 2007, 22:12
Roweeey! and he has a mint brother!!
doesnt mtter how improved the guy is hes got nothing on haileyburys Ruckmen in vickery
love.for.the.sherrin
15 May 2007, 15:38
Vickery is a quality ruckmen who can play forward or back as well!
TheFinalSay
15 May 2007, 22:04
Mate vickery is a top player im not denying that but who cares about vickery as he and most of haileybury are all selfish and coulndt care about school football and would rather play tac or watever. hitouts are not everything,even though i beleive he won hitouts 60-40, did u not see how many marks will had. he took about 10 marks of which 8 were contestant.
suspect1
16 May 2007, 10:55
ulbrick is very over rated Crawly was very good but sengstock is thier no 1 ruckman so ulbrick couldnt beat a 2nd ruckman ...Given crawly is good in his own right. From what i see xavs have really overated thier guys a lot which is vindicated by none of them being selected in state try outs.
Bryant_H
16 May 2007, 11:00
ulbrick is very over rated Crawly was very good but sengstock is thier no 1 ruckman so ulbrick couldnt beat a 2nd ruckman ...Given crawly is good in his own right. From what i see xavs have really overated thier guys a lot which is vindicated by none of them being selected in state try outs.
Look clearly the best ruckman in the history of the sport would be haslam from carey, but the coach wont let him play there, hes to good for it!
and ur clearly a joke and idiot
scrumrugby1
17 May 2007, 16:17
tom ROWE FOR SURE!!!