View Full Version : Anyone else...
...concerned about the quality of opposition we've beaten so far? 2 wins in a row is fantastic, and certainly helps to build a winning feeling around the club. But the Dees and Roos are undoubtedly the weakest sides in the League atm, and neither win was massively convincing (one very good thing, tho, was the way we were challenged strongly in both games but ended up meeting and defeating those challenges). If we beat the Catters next week I'll be feeling alot better. Wadda ya think?
Nightwolf
16 Apr 2007, 15:50
Na..
The crap ive had to sit through since 04, ill take any win at all..
Enjoy it while it lasts mate..
hawkstars
16 Apr 2007, 15:52
...concerned about the quality of opposition we've beaten so far? 2 wins in a row is fantastic, and certainly helps to build a winning feeling around the club. But the Dees and Roos are undoubtedly the weakest sides in the League atm, and neither win was massively convincing (one very good thing, tho, was the way we were challenged strongly in both games but ended up meeting and defeating those challenges). If we beat the Catters next week I'll be feeling alot better. Wadda ya think?
I think it is great we got over these sides because the weaker teams bring you down to their level and it was good we didn't buckle. Once the hawks play better sides that love playing man on man then you will see how good we really look.
We can only beat who we are opposed to each week.
What I would like to see is the team putting up better performances against the better sides. Geelong is a good test next week and I hope the boys are salivating at the thought.
We should be able to play attacking football and give our forward line plenty of opportunties. Also our defence has been pretty good so far and hopefully will be able to keep Geelong in check.
philhawk
16 Apr 2007, 16:27
That's what makes this weekends match all the more important.
Finally our chance to prove our wares against a half-decent side.
MinerBoy
16 Apr 2007, 16:35
While defeating those challenges was a good thing, it was disappointing that we let them happen in the first place. I am really looking forward to the game when we establish our dominance early in the game and then press that advantage home to register a resounding win.
We are probably going to be in the 8-11 range this season, so percentage is crucial. I think we let two 45+ point wins escape us over the past two weeks.
It is good to win though, but my expectations of this group are growing.
A win is a win. Don't question them, enjoy them.
MinerBoy
16 Apr 2007, 16:44
A win is a win. Don't question them, enjoy them.
I enjoy every win. But a win isn't simply a win - It is also a means to an end. That end hopefully being finals football, which is the ultimate goal, not just to play a season and enjoy some random wins along the way. Aim high to achieve high. Aim low and you get what you aim for.
cschreuder61
16 Apr 2007, 16:50
Would have been more concerned if we had lost to poorly performing teams. Beating teams we should beat is a step in the right direction.
Doesn't mean we are world beaters, but certainly means we continuing in the right path.
MinerBoy
16 Apr 2007, 16:56
There is no doubt that winning again is great and personally I am happy with the fact that I expect more. It shows we are heading in the right direction. Now lets get down to Tassie and rip the Catters a new one this weekend. They appear in awfully similar form to when we ruined their season last year. How about a repeat performance on our second home deck....
cambo39
16 Apr 2007, 17:34
would rather have beaten who we have beaten compared to Geelong's wins
bring on a repeat of Round 4 last year, when we beat them at Geelong and started their rot
flukeyluke
16 Apr 2007, 18:20
Tend to agree. Opposition to date has not been great and on current form both Kangas and Dee's are likely to fill the lower rungs of the ladder.
hyperswivel
16 Apr 2007, 18:31
Funnily enough, the Cats have only downed a severely undermanned Melbourne and Carlton... two nobodies themselves.
We have every right to feel confident this weekend.
hawkaz1
16 Apr 2007, 18:32
We can't play like we have in the last 2 rounds against Geelong. We have had a few really bad quaters in the last 2 games but we have been able to get away with it. From the 1st bounce we have to play good attacking football like we did in the second half against the Roos.
I agree with the OP, however last year I think we would've lost the last two games.
Cheeseman
16 Apr 2007, 18:53
Good teams will win even when playing poorly, guess that makes us a good team right? ;)
kolchak
16 Apr 2007, 19:07
We should do okay against Geelong, we match up well and have the HG advantage, so if we beat Geelong and they don't win another game for 5 rounds does that mean they are not good opposition, if Melb or North win their next five that means they were good oppostion. There aren't really any easy wins anymore.
The Kipster
16 Apr 2007, 21:02
Wins build confidence, it doesn't matter who they are against and the more you string together the better that feeling....
cradle of filth
16 Apr 2007, 23:57
Still early days yet but i think any kind of win is good.
toomanysquibs
17 Apr 2007, 00:04
Wadda ya think?
Yes, these wins are a real concern.
keefriffhard
17 Apr 2007, 14:07
I enjoy every win. But a win isn't simply a win - It is also a means to an end. That end hopefully being finals football, which is the ultimate goal, not just to play a season and enjoy some random wins along the way. Aim high to achieve high. Aim low and you get what you aim for.
I agree with you totally. But for me the last 2 wins have been sensational. I took my 5 yo to 4 games last year and he never once got to hear the club song at the end of the game. Watching him ring home and hold up the phone so his mother could hear the song after we beat the Dees was unreal. Last night I got home from the Gym and he was asleep in bed with his Hawks footy. A successful convert.
While I hope our form continues to climb, the victories along the way should all be savoured. Just as the bitter feelings after games like round 1 should be remembered to contrast them with. While playing finals is the goal of every club's season, to watch our young Hawks develop as a team is just as relishing. I am not aiming low, just enjoying the ride.
MinerBoy
17 Apr 2007, 14:33
I agree with you totally. But for me the last 2 wins have been sensational. I took my 5 yo to 4 games last year and he never once got to hear the club song at the end of the game. Watching him ring home and hold up the phone so his mother could hear the song after we beat the Dees was unreal. Last night I got home from the Gym and he was asleep in bed with his Hawks footy. A successful convert.
While I hope our form continues to climb, the victories along the way should all be savoured. Just as the bitter feelings after games like round 1 should be remembered to contrast them with. While playing finals is the goal of every club's season, to watch our young Hawks develop as a team is just as relishing. I am not aiming low, just enjoying the ride.
Fair enough. I took my 5 y.o to the Melbourne game and it was only his second game and first win. He knows the song word for word and hasn't stopped singing it since, so I know where you're coming from. I'm sure he doesn't know why yet, but he already loves Hodgey, Crawf, Croady and Dicko in particular and the badge collection has started. Going to buy him a new jumper at Super Saturday next week (28th April) to start wearing at Auskick too.
This is what is really exciting for me. The fact that my boy is now starting to take a real interest and passion in MY club at a time where the club itself is developing a group of players to ignite his love of the game/club. Should be some great father/son moments over the next 5-10 years.:thumbsu: