View Full Version : Round 4: West Coast V Carlton
kane249
16 Apr 2007, 17:20
Well we're up to round 4 and the Eagles remain the last team standing without a loss so far this year
The Eagles are coming off another win, and another week of controversy. The Eagles had in the end a comfortable win against Freo, with the Braun/Selwood incidents unfortuantley shadowing what was a good win for the Eagles against their arch rivals
Carlton performed a Lazarus type recpvery to beat Essendon after coming back from 48 points down. Fevola fired for the blues kicking 8 goals
The irony of it being a 48 margin Carlton came back from last week cannot be overlooked either with Carlton blowing a 48 point lead against the Eagles last year at Subiaco, to eventually lose the match.
Chad Fletcher looks likely to reutrn for the Eagles, with Mitch Brown also a strong chance to return for the disappointing Ashley Hansen who seems to be lacking match fitness at the moment.
I will leave it up to the Blues fans for any potential In's and out's.
crackers111taz
16 Apr 2007, 20:48
I can confidently say this much.....
"If we are fortunate enough to be 48 points in front at any stage this weekend.........we WILL NOT lose".....
I think we're better than last year,but that being said,I seriously doubt West Coast will be underestimating us again........
I'll be stoked to see a close game to be honest.....
Even more so if it's a Carlton victory.....:thumbsu:
bluesforever
17 Apr 2007, 20:34
I can't even believe I can even say this but I am actually confident we can beat West Coast...
Fev to kick another bag and Stevo, Murph and the kids to rip it up like last year.
Blues by 15.
MUST STOP KERR AND/OR JUDD TO WIN.
..Chad Fletcher looks likely to reutrn for the Eagles, with Mitch Brown also a strong chance to return for the disappointing Ashley Hansen who ..
Fletcher, Brown and Hansen are all pretty ordinary footballers, and won't have an impact on the game. The Weagles fate relies on Judd, as always. The key will be how Walker or Jordon Russell will go on Judd. I also have no doubt Glass and JW will be desperately trying to find a way to restrict Fev. He'll probably have the usual 3-4 opponents. He's kinda used to it. The young Blues have nothing to lose, and I hope they go out their and back themselves, because they do have the raw talent to humble the Weagles. Regardless of the result, it will be a great learning experience for our talented young side. :)
Corrosion
17 Apr 2007, 21:08
We need to leave our line-up like it is. It's working great for us.
I'd like to see Pagan stick Lappin in the pocket for the whole game, and have the forward line of
Betts Fevola Lappin
Wiggins Whitnall Kennedy
That's 3 tall targets up front with 3 good crumbers.
Houlihan and Scotland need to provide us with the brilliant run off of the half-back flanks again, if we want to make this game a contest.
It'll be hard for Ackland and Cloke to win in the air, however, Cloke is a very agile man, and will most likely contest the ball again if it goes straight to ground. Murphy, Stevens, Bentick and Gibbs will need to play well to negate the mid-field influence of West Coast.
I'd like to see Russell take Judd, and Walker to take Kerr.
Can't wait for this game.
Bombers1234
17 Apr 2007, 21:35
Fletcher, Brown and Hansen are all pretty ordinary footballers, and won't have an impact on the game. The Weagles fate relies on Judd, as always. The key will be how Walker or Jordon Russell will go on Judd. I also have no doubt Glass and JW will be desperately trying to find a way to restrict Fev. He'll probably have the usual 3-4 opponents. He's kinda used to it. The young Blues have nothing to lose, and I hope they go out their and back themselves, because they do have the raw talent to humble the Weagles. Regardless of the result, it will be a great learning experience for our talented young side. :)
Fletcher and Hanen would be in the top 5 players at carlton, says alot about ur list if u think their shite
crackers111taz
17 Apr 2007, 21:35
Betts Fevola Lappin
Wiggins Whitnall Kennedy
Can't wait for this game.
IMHO
Fisher Whitnal Kennedy
Betts Fevola Lappin
would be a touch more potent
ditto on the final statement:thumbsu:
crackers111taz
17 Apr 2007, 21:36
Fletcher and Hanen would be in the top 5 players at carlton, says alot about ur list if u think their shite
They would tie for the B&F at Essendon then :D
Fletcher and Hanen would be in the top 5 players at carlton, ...
You are joking. Fletcher has an ordinary skill set and is slow and old - sounds like a perfect match for the Dons midfield. Hansen is uncoordinated, and low on talent - bit like Keppler. :)
IMHO
Fisher Whitnal Kennedy
Betts Fevola Lappin
Our forwardline has been going through an interesting restructure in recent weeks. Kennedy, Waite, Fisher and Lance have been rotating the CHF duties. Carazzo and Walker have been used as medium forwards for significant periods as well, and have been effective. We were reminded of Matty Lappins brilliant goal-sneak skills on Saturday. Fisher is in sensational form at the moment. With the Weagles likely to put 3-4 players on Fev to help Glass, Fisher might sneak in with a bag. Wiggins has also been good in recent weeks. He plays the role of a strong enforcer type medium forward, and messed the Weagle defence up last time they met. The Blues also used Stevens and Gibbs on the HF flank for brief periods in recent weeks. There's a lot of options for Denis. This list has a bucketload of versatility and talent. The midfield matchup wil be key. If we can get some quality clearance, the Weagles defense has a tendency to crumble and panic, especially if Fev turns it on. :)
Corrosion
17 Apr 2007, 23:12
IMHO
Fisher Whitnal Kennedy
Betts Fevola Lappin
Oops! I was supposed to say Fisher instead of Wiggins :o :o :o
bzparkes
18 Apr 2007, 00:08
You should be a politician. Pump up your team's chances of winning, then subtly hint the underdog status and then lay the disclaimer at the end if you lose. Nice work :rolleyes:
... the underdog status...
Well given the Weagles finished 1st and we finished 16th in 2006, I don't think saying the Blues having underdog status is unreasonable. We have nothing to lose. The Weagles do. :)
kane249
18 Apr 2007, 13:58
Parrot's got this notion just hammered in his head that it's the West Coast Judd's and thats it
Considering one of the definitions of Parrot is:
To repeat or imitate, especially without understanding.
It pretty much sums up Parrot really
Parrot's got this notion just hammered in his head that it's the West Coast Judd's and thats it...
Well, the post-Judd talent taper is just so extreme. I guess Cox is great at the centre bounce, but a little unco elsewhere. Kerr plays real well when Judd is in the team, but can look ordinary without Judd. Fletcher is ordinary. Cousins was good, until the Weagles were forced to make his long-standing drug problem public. Struggling to find any elite quality after Judd. Hunter has been great when moved in the forward 50, but terrible in defence. JW has developed a tough, consistent team, based around Judd. They are especially good at combating other defensive teams like the Swans. :)
kane249
18 Apr 2007, 22:31
Well, the post-Judd talent taper is just so extreme. I guess Cox is great at the centre bounce, but a little unco elsewhere. Kerr plays real well when Judd is in the team, but can look ordinary without Judd. Fletcher is ordinary. Cousins was good, until the Weagles were forced to make his long-standing drug problem public. Struggling to find any elite quality after Judd. Hunter has been great when moved in the forward 50, but terrible in defence. JW has developed a tough, consistent team, based around Judd. They are especially good at combating other defensive teams like the Swans. :)
Perhaps your oppinion would count for more if you actually viewed more then 1 eagles game per year?
Looking forward to my one man band tearing Carlton a new one. :)
35 touches, 19 contested, 10 clearances, 5 tackles, 3 goals straight.
Stevens out a huge loss for Carlton.
WCE by 35.
Perhaps your oppinion would count for more if you actually viewed more then 1 eagles game per year?
Nope, it wouldnt. :thumbsu:
Looking forward to my one man band tearing Carlton a new one. :) ...
Looking forward to hear what remarks Selwood comes up with this week. Anything goes at Weagleland it seems. :)
Yep.
Good for us hey? :thumbsu:
Yep.
Good for us hey? :thumbsu:
Not really. The behaviour of your players is absolutely pathetic. :)
Deal with it.
More to the point, perhaps the Weagles should deal with it. Weagles have lost a lot of respect. Your team is basically viewed as a pack of head-cases by the rest of the football community and the broader public. :)
Too bad for us hey?
The rest of the football community and broader public will deal with it and move on to the next issue.
WC will still be around. :thumbsu:
Too bad for us hey?
The rest of the football community and broader public will deal with it and move on to the next issue.
WC will still be around. :thumbsu:
But you have no respect. As a supporter, you should feel pretty ashamed of your players behaviour. Although it's pretty easy to bleat the JW "..they're all against us..." game-day-motivation- mantra. Just pathetic. :)
Why should I say anything to you about how I feel?
You dont listen.
Who do we need respect from?
We have it amongst our own circles, which at the end of the day is all that counts thanks.
Im sure that game day-motivation-mantra will come in very handy this week against a weakened Blues outfit.
It seems to make us play better. :thumbsu:
Crissy_v
19 Apr 2007, 00:28
so what your saying is that the Blues list has talent that far outways that of the Eagles, ba ha ha ha ha ha ha:rolleyes:
JKCeagle
19 Apr 2007, 01:51
Well given the Weagles finished 1st and we finished 16th in 2006, I don't think saying the Blues having underdog status is unreasonable. We have nothing to lose. The Weagles do. :)
Don't care about the 4 premiership points up for grabs then mate? ;)
Meh, no one expects us to win more than 4 games let alone this one. So we don't. ;)
kane249
19 Apr 2007, 21:26
WEST COAST
B: David Wirrpanda, Darren Glass, Brett Jones
HB: Beau Waters, Adam Hunter, Shannon Hurn
C: Matt Rosa, Adam Selwood, Michael Braun
HF: Daniel Chick, Brent Staker, Tyson Stenglein
F: Andrew Embley, Quinten Lynch, Mark Seaby
FOLL: Dean Cox, Chris Judd, Daniel Kerr
I/C (from): Steven Armstrong, Mitchell Brown, Jaymie Graham, Ashley Hansen, Rowan Jones, Mark LeCras, Matt Priddis
In: Brown, Graham, LeCras
Out: -
CARLTON
B: Joe Anderson, Setanta O’hAilpin, Bret Thornton
HB: Andrew Walker, Jarrad Waite, Heath Scotland
C: Bryce Gibbs, Adam Bentick, Ryan Houlihan
HF: Andrew Carrazzo, Lance Whitnall, Eddie Betts
F: Brad Fisher, Brendan Fevola, Matthew Lappin
FOLL: Cain Ackland, Marc Murphy, Kade Simpson
I/C (from): Luke Blackwell, Cameron Cloke, Adam Hartlett, Ryan Jackson, Josh Kennedy, Jordan Russell, Simon Wiggins
In: Anderson, Blackwell, Hartlett, Jackson
Out: Nick Stevens
New: Joe Anderson (Darwin), Adam Hartlett (West Adelaide)
kane249
19 Apr 2007, 21:27
Mitch Brown is a big chance to come in for Ash hansen who looks like he needs a run in the WAFL at the moment to get some form up
Jaymie Grayam will likely come in for Seaby should he also not make it
Mitch Brown is a big chance to come in for Ash hansen who looks like he needs a run in the WAFL at the moment to get some form up
Jaymie Grayam will likely come in for Seaby should he also not make it
Damn, I was hoping Seaby would play - a shocking footballer. :)
WEST COAST
B: David Wirrpanda, Darren Glass, Brett Jones
HB: Beau Waters, Adam Hunter, Shannon Hurn
C: Matt Rosa, Adam Selwood, Michael Braun
HF: Daniel Chick, Brent Staker, Tyson Stenglein
F: Andrew Embley, Quinten Lynch, Mark Seaby
FOLL: Dean Cox, Chris Judd, Daniel Kerr
I/C (from): Steven Armstrong, Mitchell Brown, Jaymie Graham, Ashley Hansen, Rowan Jones, Mark LeCras, Matt Priddis
In: Brown, Graham, LeCras
Out: -
CARLTON
B: Joe Anderson, Setanta O’hAilpin, Bret Thornton
HB: Andrew Walker, Jarrad Waite, Heath Scotland
C: Bryce Gibbs, Adam Bentick, Ryan Houlihan
HF: Andrew Carrazzo, Lance Whitnall, Eddie Betts
F: Brad Fisher, Brendan Fevola, Matthew Lappin
FOLL: Cain Ackland, Marc Murphy, Kade Simpson
I/C (from): Luke Blackwell, Cameron Cloke, Adam Hartlett, Ryan Jackson, Josh Kennedy, Jordan Russell, Simon Wiggins
In: Anderson, Blackwell, Hartlett, Jackson
Out: Nick Stevens
New: Joe Anderson (Darwin), Adam Hartlett (West Adelaide)
With Joey Anderson looking set to debut, I can't see us including Blackwell, Hartlett or Jackson at this stage. Need to keep the team together. Hartlett is however very close to replacing Josh Kennedy. Happy if either play - both are huge, talented KP forwards. Wiggins, Russell, and Cloke will definitely play. How well we can contain Judd will determine this game. Andrew Walker of Jordon Russell are both excellent matchups. :)
If Seaby is shocking, what is Ackland?
What do you think of Mitch Brown parrot?
Not much. :)
What do you think of Ash Hansen? :)
McDougall Mk 2. :)
kane249
20 Apr 2007, 00:19
If Seaby is shocking, what is Ackland?
Hackland doesn't qualify as a footballer so is automatically void from the conversation
I can tell.
Silence speaks volumes. :thumbsu:
Would be funny if he dominates.
(he won't)
westcoast wizard
20 Apr 2007, 09:35
I love how Carlton and everyother team focuses on Chris Judd and Kerr and Cousins (when he was playing). It is awesome news. Judd did not dominate the game last week and we still won. So go all out place your whole team on Judd if you want.
It just frees up Kerr, Braun, Stenglein, Embers, Rosa, Priddis, Waters, Selwood, Hurn, Cox, Amstrong and Co.
bigboyblue
20 Apr 2007, 10:35
I love how Carlton and everyother team focuses on Chris Judd and Kerr and Cousins (when he was playing). It is awesome news. Judd did not dominate the game last week and we still won. So go all out place your whole team on Judd if you want.
It just frees up Kerr, Braun, Stenglein, Embers, Rosa, Priddis, Waters, Selwood, Hurn, Cox, Amstrong and Co.
Only fools underestimate that bunch (see any of parrot's posts). I reckon Braun and Stenglein are right up there in the comp's best (in terms of the roles they play, not as individuals). And as for cox... Anyone who says the eagles are a one man team is kidding themselves.
I just wish someone would tell our midfield that we're not a one-man forward line. It's fine when fev's on fire like last weekend, but against the cats they were kicking it to him when he was against three or four blokes. If we can use our multi-pronged forward line well, we may be able to limit the damage to 20-30 points. We can't realistically hope to contain your midfield so i reckon we just do what we did last time and go for broke. Boil-over unlikely but not impossible. Well, mostly impossible... Anyway, go Blues.
Only fools underestimate that bunch (see any of parrot's posts). I reckon Braun and Stenglein are right up there in the comp's best (in terms of the roles they play, not as individuals). And as for cox... Anyone who says the eagles are a one man team is kidding themselves.
A sensible post, well done. :thumbsu:
I love how Carlton and everyother team focuses on Chris Judd ...
Because Judd carries your team. Has done so since the start of 2006. May not in 2008 though, and that is why you're so desperately trying to play down his importance. Quite funny. :)
The quality of your trolls is just so low now, its sad to see what you have become. Calling Cox unco, umm ok that couldnt be any more wrong really. M.Brown is not good. Probably has more kicks and marks then Josh Kennedy has in his whole career and hes played 10 less games. :rolleyes:
stickman11
20 Apr 2007, 12:59
Fevola carries your team. No fev, no carlton.
The thing is theres no truth about what he says anymore. Before there used to be. Like Kerr only plays well when Judds in the team. Kerr got 3 votes and played the best game of his career versus Geelong when Judd was missing
What is funny is your gradual decline in quality of your posts.
What used to be insightful is now just plain rubbish.
You repeat the same point over and over and over AND over again.
I really hope Juddy destroys Carlton so you can bring up the same points over and over AND over again. :thumbsu:
Have Melbourne actually won a game this year? :)
The thing is theres no truth about what he says anymore. Before there used to be. Like Kerr only plays well when Judds in the team. Kerr got 3 votes and played the best game of his career versus Geelong when Judd was missing
Without Judd, the Weagles would finish 5-6 spots lower at least. No mystery there. Expecting pretty much the same old Weagles gameplan on Sunday i .e. several heavy tags on our midfielders, and lots of blocks in the middle to allow Judd to run into space. It was very effective in 2006, and still is in 2007. Looking forward to seeing whether JW employs his mini-flood to combat Fev. I expect he will. I doubt JW will have the ticka to have a one-on-one shootout with this brilliant young Carlton side. They tried that for 3 quarters at Subi last year, and were 40+ points down well into the third. The Weagles will do what they do best - a Judd centered gameplan, and ultra-defensive tactics. After their terrible publicity this week, JW will be desperate not to lose this one. From the Blues point of view, we'll just go out there and continue to play our usual direct, attacking and exciting style of footy. This young side is fearless, loaded with talent, and back their ability against anyone. Hope they do well. They have nothing to lose. :)
Archimedes
20 Apr 2007, 14:33
Eagles easy. With all of this weeks antics they will be fired up and miles too good for Carlton. Eagles by 40 points.
Blah blah blah blah.... They have nothing to lose. :)
Yes, you do.
4 crucial premiership points.
Yes, you do.
4 crucial premiership points.
Pressure is all on the Weagle. No pressure on the Blues. :)
stickman11
20 Apr 2007, 17:40
Have Melbourne actually won a game this year? :)
Would Carlton if Fev didn't play?
Disagree.
With the Carlton playing group coming so close last year they will be determined to win this year.
If not why bother playing at all.
Disagree.
With the Carlton playing group coming so close last year they will be determined to win this year.
If not why bother playing at all.
You have to make your mind up. You keep saying how we're the worst team in the competition yet I detect a little concern. For the record, everyone knows the Blues finished 4-5 spots lower last year because Denis insisted on playing a lot of young players that weren't physically ready for AFL. It turned out to be a masterstroke, because it no doubt accelerated their development over the pre-season, plus we got the best #1 pick in the past 25 years. The Blues now have the most raw talent in the AFL. I advise the Weagles to not have a shoot-out with the Blues, because you'll get killed. Stick to the mini-floods, and the blocking tactics and just "give it to Judd". Goal-square dives always yield 2-3 goals for the Weagles at Subi - the crowd just love them. Should get you across the line easily. But you never know. This is a development year for our young side, and any result is a win. :)
Misquote if I ever saw one.
How do you detect anything with such a closed mind?
Richmond is easily the worst team in the comp.
Any result is not a win.
A win is a win. :thumbsu:
westcoast wizard
20 Apr 2007, 19:04
Wats funny is the crap that you post. Mate we beat Sydney a premiership team withoug Cousins, Cox, Embers, Butler and a host of other premiership teams.
We played 4 games with Judd out the team last year and we won three out of four games. PROVE A POINT OR TWO.
How many games would Carlton win without Fevola, Whitnall, Murphy, Walker and Stevens? I dont think many?
But hey stick with your theory put 10 players on Judd, that way it works well for us.
Wats funny is the crap that you post. Mate we beat Sydney a premiership team withoug Cousins, Cox, Embers, Butler and a host of other premiership teams.
We played 4 games with Judd out the team last year and we won three out of four games. PROVE A POINT OR TWO.
How many games would Carlton win without Fevola, Whitnall, Murphy, Walker and Stevens? I dont think many?
But hey stick with your theory put 10 players on Judd, that way it works well for us.
You miss the point. Of course every team has star players, but at Weagleland, Judd is so much more talented than anyone else on your list, JW has actually developed his gameplan around Judd. It was a successful strategy. But we haven't seen a team as reliant on one player since perhaps Carey at North in the 90's. The talent taper post Judd is just massive. Many of the Weagles so called "midfielders" (e.g. Stenglein, Selwood etc), are primarily defensive taggers, whose role is to support Judd, provide blocks etc. :)
Judd is so much more talented than anyone else on your list
Not just our list love.
The whole comp.
Dennis Pagan would have much the same game plan I would think. :thumbsu:
Cant wait to see it in effect this weekend.
By the way did you happen to catch the intraclub match by the freagles last weekend.
Judd dominated. :rolleyes:
Not just our list love.
The whole comp.
Not necessarily. He is the best performing player in the AFL and very talented. But not the most talented. As you'll see over the next few years. :)
They are saying that this crop coming up will be the best ever so you may be right.
BUT we are talking about now arent we?
They are saying that this crop coming up will be the best ever so you may be right.
I'm not talking about a crop, I'm talking about one player. :)
Of course you were.
Chris Judd.
Of course you were.
Chris Judd.
No. :)
Arcadion
21 Apr 2007, 00:33
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=7099565&postcount=23
What made parrot change his mind? :)
Arcadion
21 Apr 2007, 00:36
No pressure to avoid yet another spoon? No of course not. :)
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=7099565&postcount=23
What made parrot change his mind? :)
Done nothing since. Hopefully won't be as pathetic as the Weagles other failed KP forward experiments. :)
Blue Dawn
21 Apr 2007, 00:57
Would Carlton if Fev didn't play?
We'd still beat your Dees my friend.;)
JKCeagle
21 Apr 2007, 02:52
You miss the point. Of course every team has star players, but at Weagleland, Judd is so much more talented than anyone else on your list, JW has actually developed his gameplan around Judd. It was a successful strategy. But we haven't seen a team as reliant on one player since perhaps Carey at North in the 90's. The talent taper post Judd is just massive. Many of the Weagles so called "midfielders" (e.g. Stenglein, Selwood etc), are primarily defensive taggers, whose role is to support Judd, provide blocks etc. :)
You do realise that the ONLY Carlton onballer who would get a game with the Eagles is Murphy...and he'd be about our 5th choice in the midfield ;)
Blue and Gold Blood
21 Apr 2007, 03:51
Gotta hand it to you parrot, even if you dont believe your own dribble, i have to admire your positivity considering youve won the spoon the last 2 years. And you got in a little troll to boot :p
One trait that is very prevalent in your posting, is that all your comments come before a game, and once its been played - you are no where to be found :D
Id hate to think how much this would turn around if Carlton were actually a decent side. Id definitely have you on ignore, But at the moment, yourself and Pav_for_AA are great value as your sides are struggling :)
You do realise that the ONLY Carlton onballer who would get a game with the Eagles is Murphy...and he'd be about our 5th choice in the midfield ;)
The young Blues midfield cut the Juddless Weagles midfield up last year. Murph would be your #2 midfielder at this stage, although his delivery into the forward 50 is already better than Judd. Judd does have a tendency to "long bomb and hope" - one of his few weaknesses, together with overhead marking. Look, the Weagles midfield are overall very good, it's just that the reliance on Judd is extreme, and many of the others are extremely over-rated because of Judd, and can get exposed when they need to play attacking, rather than defensive roles. Without Judd, the Weagles are barely a top-8 side. :)
Funniest post yet.
Keep it coming.
Milkman
21 Apr 2007, 16:08
Your trolls used to work because there was a smidgen of truth burried underneath all the bollocks. Now you're just making it all up. It just doesn't have the same irritating effect that compels people to respond. :)
Less than 24 hours till game time
And already 78 posts...
Yeh well - that`s Parrot for you. He will do his usual and go into hiding once the game gets started though.
And already 78 posts...
That would be my fault Im afraid.
Cant let parrot believe her own garbage.
kane249
21 Apr 2007, 18:49
That would be my fault Im afraid.
Cant let parrot believe her own garbage.
What's the saying Big Man?
never argue with an idiot, he'll bring you down to his level, then beat you with experience
What's the saying Big Man?
never argue with an idiot, he'll bring you down to his level, then beat you with experience
Thats the one K. :thumbsu:
However her trolls are so far off the mark it isnt funny, well sometimes it isnt funny. :D
AlecDuncan
21 Apr 2007, 19:05
Well, the post-Judd talent taper is just so extreme.
<groan>
I'm afraid we just don't have the required guns in the midfield to take this game. Kouta, Stevo and even Grigg out hurts us a lot. If we lose by less than five goals I'll be relieved. There's a reason we're paying $5.75.
JKCeagle
21 Apr 2007, 21:22
Refresh my memory...who won the game mate? ;)
Freo fans have learnt that saying "we win derbies" counts for nothing when the other team wins the premiership...likewise, you'll need to learn that "we won the midfield battle" counts for nothing when the other team wins the game :)
And already 78 posts...
Parrot brings in the crowds. And tops it off with an excellent display of fishing.
I think every single Carlton game this far has had bigger threads than most other games. As for my thoughts on this game, we most likely won't win (of course, hope I am wrong here), but I'll be happy with a close loss. It maybe ugly without Stevens, but if they try for four quarters and match it with them then they will take a lot out of this game - confidence and sel-belief, something we need to win. To take on the best and have a good showing might set us up well for next week.
I'm looking forward to Sentanta vs Lynch. O'hAlpin is becoming one of my favourite players because he has so much passion, the fella never gives up. I hope it can spread to his team mates, though. Murphy will get the hardest tage for sure, but didn't he last year? Regardless I reckon he's got the capacity to beat any tag. I don't think we can stop Judd or Kerr, give Walker Carazzo a crack at it (but I'm betting we'll need Walker playing an attacking role due to the loss of Stevens).
Glass vs Fevola is worth the price of admission alone. Fevola's good record on him probably won't matter, Glass is in great from and would want to seek redemption from last year. The ball might not even go down there enough if we lose the midfield battle (and most likely we will), so he may not kick a bag. I'm expecting attacking football, and a free flowing game... we've been playing that style all year, this is why our Points For is high and is 5th or 4th in the league. Even when we were thumped by Geelong we still managed to score highly (without Fev's input). But the problem is that we'll get a lot of Points Against playing this style too, and a thumping if the midfield battle does not go our way.
Still better than flooding though, we're not expecting finals so might as well play attacking footy, take some risks. I'm expecting the Eagles to win by 30 points, but the Blues to force a strong challenge. Fev to kick 4. BOG will be Hunter.
Freo1995
22 Apr 2007, 10:29
The Blues will win if they play like they did against the Bombers.
JKCeagle
22 Apr 2007, 16:28
The Blues will win if they play like they did against the Bombers.
They won't - no Stevens.
Less than an hour to go baby!!!!
I`ve Just realised it`s delayed isn`t it.
No Foxtel D?
Delayed on FTA yes.
bluesforever
22 Apr 2007, 17:18
If the delivery to Fev and co is good enough we'll be close to pulling off a victory, looking forward to it:thumbsu:
Lynch takes a mark
22 Apr 2007, 17:18
Storm is about to hit
getting thunder about 1km WSW of subiaco
http://img95.imageshack.us/img95/305/untitledes2.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
Carn West Coast. None of this pussy footing around come from behind bollocks. Lets have a great game and a good win.
Cracking thunder is happening atm.
Will we get hit with a storm tonight?
Tight contested footy around the packs should fall into our favour, just.
Raining very hard right now and Im abot 30 mins north of Subi.
Cant wait for this game. :thumbsu:
bzparkes
22 Apr 2007, 17:43
Wirrpanda!
A Living God
22 Apr 2007, 17:43
Goal Wirrpanda
Good start Wirra and now Embers to line up.
WCE 1.1.7 Blues yet to score
bluesforever
22 Apr 2007, 17:44
Playing all over us early.