View Full Version : Hawthorn v. Geelong
catzfan
16 Apr 2007, 19:05
Hawthorn have been our bogey team and knowing Geelong we're due for a lose however we've got some good talls now what are your thoughts on the game, matchups?
hyperswivel
16 Apr 2007, 19:31
My greatest hope is that Robbie Campbell puts Millburn into a coma.
He's one dirty piece of shit.
catzfan
16 Apr 2007, 19:37
i hope for his sake he doesnt otherwise Hawkins might eat his babies
philhawk
16 Apr 2007, 19:44
i hope for his sake he doesnt otherwise Hawkins might eat his babies
I think Campbell is the one and only player on our list who could match it with Hawkins for size. ;)
Ask me again in a few years and it could be another story!
Pessimistic
16 Apr 2007, 19:49
One factor might be that although york park is new to the cats, it might 'feel' like kardinia
A bit of swirly wet weather would be helpful too.
We should hve hd a chance to look at and cover the ablett and 'plugger 2' influence
cradle of filth
16 Apr 2007, 21:08
Roughead on Hawkins and Gilham on Cam Mooney. Maybe Sewell on Gary Ablett Jr while Brown can take Chapman.
I also think Dawson will be brought into the side to play on Nathan Ablett if Croad can't play again.
Roughead on Hawkins and Gilham on Cam Mooney. Maybe Sewell on Gary Ablett Jr while Brown can take Chapman.
I also think Dawson will be brought into the side to play on Nathan Ablett if Croad can't play again.
If Croad comes back we will just drop Jacobs for Dawson:rolleyes:
Fabulous
16 Apr 2007, 23:24
The only way we will win the game is to create confusion and get an advantage early. Start Franklin, Campbell back on Mooney, Hawkins. Jacobs and Guerra to mop up. Brown and Sewell tagging. Hodge in midfield. Start Williams in the goal square and all other forwards wide leading into the hot spot with Willo leading into their leftover space. The Cats will adjust but hopefully it will be too late.
Obviously Franklin will eventually go forward. Assuming Croad is not playing.
Our midfield must have the best rotating through to stop delivery into Geelong's forward line and provide ours with open opportunity. Forget contested football tactics. Neither side are any good at that. It will be a shoot out.
cradle of filth
16 Apr 2007, 23:55
If Croad comes back we will just drop Jacobs for Dawson:rolleyes:
If only....
If only....
May I ask, who has the most marks in the comp? Who was our experienced defender that has a POSITIVE influence on the back 6? Was it Mr Negetive?:eek: :rolleyes:
Partridge
16 Apr 2007, 23:59
Obviously Franklin will eventually go forward. Assuming Croad is not playing.
Our midfield must have the best rotating through to stop delivery into Geelong's forward line and provide ours with open opportunity. Forget contested football tactics. Neither side are any good at that. It will be a shoot out.
I hope so - we suck at trying to bottle it up. From my point of view, Geelong have to play Scarlett on Williams, as he's played on him once and beat him (in 2005). Williams has given both Johnson and Hunt trouble so I wouldn't take the risk. Give Egan first crack at Franklin. Obviously though the most important thing is the middle of the ground. If we get smashed there like we were twice last year against you guys we don't have a prayer. If we can get enough of it, and move it quickly to Mooney and co. we might have a chance.
As promising as Hawkins is, I'm not expecting too much. He's still a very raw kid. And Nathan Ablett may not even play. Add our terrible record interstate and my normal cloud of pessimism descends rapidly!
lethalselbow
17 Apr 2007, 07:38
Are people forgetting that we pumped the Cats twice last season? I think you'll find that Hawthorn are a far better running team and play the ground extremely well.
bigbol069
17 Apr 2007, 09:43
Are people forgetting that we pumped the Cats twice last season? I think you'll find that Hawthorn are a far better running team and play the ground extremely well.
Spot on!
We match up well against Geelong and the boys will not have forgotten the two great wins from last season. So 'Tomahawk' is becoming the one to watch? Well the kid hasn't filled out one hand with the amount of games he has played and perhaps has not been looked at by opposition coaches carefully enough as yet. I would expect from this point there will be very few easy touches for the kid upcoming this season as coaches wise up. Let's give the kid a couple of years before he get's hit with massive expectation to develop or become a match winner(from a Geelong point of view).
Hawthorn by 17 points, Williams 4 goals, Franklin 5, Boyle 3. (Hawkins 2)
BOG Crawford/Franklin
Hawkins has done fantastically the last couple of weeks. Didn't think he'd have such a pronounced and immediate impact, but can I ask how much respect has been shown to him? Who have his opponents been?
Just a query, I haven't really caught him in action yet. Seems dangerous.
I think for the most part, we match up really well on the Cats. Plus we're playing at our regular ground, which will be good.
I'd rather if Dawson wasn't brought in, I've lost confidence. Gilham is more than capable, and it'd be great if Croad was available.
Davo-27
17 Apr 2007, 12:44
either of murphy/dawson/thurgood will have to come in to cover the extra tall that geelong have up forward and it would be good to see chance rip it up in tassie..........
cradle of filth
17 Apr 2007, 14:03
May I ask, who has the most marks in the comp? Who was our experienced defender that has a POSITIVE influence on the back 6? Was it Mr Negetive?:eek: :rolleyes:
I don't think i have to repeat what i've already said. If you really have a problem with it then go read what i wrote in that other thread but otherwise just keep it to yourself.
cradle of filth
17 Apr 2007, 14:04
either of murphy/dawson/thurgood will have to come in to cover the extra tall that geelong have up forward and it would be good to see chance rip it up in tassie..........
exactly right! i would think Dawson will come through
noosa hawk mad
17 Apr 2007, 15:28
Croad out 3 weeks .We had no plomblem,s last year we will attack the footy and start there downhill slide we started last year again :thumbsu: :thumbsu: GO HAWKS
Rockford
17 Apr 2007, 15:50
Hawkins has done fantastically the last couple of weeks. Didn't think he'd have such a pronounced and immediate impact, but can I ask how much respect has been shown to him? Who have his opponents been?
I think for the most part, we match up really well on the Cats. Plus we're playing at our regular ground, which will be good.
I'd rather if Dawson wasn't brought in, I've lost confidence. Gilham is more than capable, and it'd be great if Croad was available.
Whitnall matched up on him and got squarely beaten, that doesn't say much these days though. Carroll matched up on him and was getting beaten before the Dees started to play two defenders on him in the second half.
Croad out 3 weeks .We had no plomblem,s last year we will attack the footy and start there downhill slide we started last year again :thumbsu: :thumbsu: GO HAWKS
You'd hope so, unfortunately I fear this Geelong side isn't the same as the '06 model...
rdangelo
17 Apr 2007, 16:41
Brent Renouf going to debut this week?
hawkstars
17 Apr 2007, 16:44
I don't know about Dawson that kid is toooo casual like he has played 250 games and it is all abit too easy for him. He walks around with this arrogance that should only be shown when you do great things week in week out. Not get 8 kicked on you for 3 weeks in a row and then be banished to box hill. Don't get me wrong he will be a good player but please Zac show everyone first and then you can strut. Hawks will win by 22
Partridge
18 Apr 2007, 14:16
You'd hope so, unfortunately I fear this Geelong side isn't the same as the '06 model...
We don't have Kingsley anymore.........that must help us. Having Croad out helps us of course, otherwise I don't know. We've still got a pretty inexperienced forward line and Thompson is still liable to do stupid things like play Ottens up forward (should never be moved from the ruck).
He smashed Whitnall and he smashed Carroll. Daniher was forced to play 2 men on him in the 2nd half.
lethalselbow
18 Apr 2007, 17:30
We don't have Kingsley anymore.........that must help us. Having Croad out helps us of course, otherwise I don't know. We've still got a pretty inexperienced forward line and Thompson is still liable to do stupid things like play Ottens up forward (should never be moved from the ruck).
Fair dinkum, Kingsley got far too much of the blame for 2006. Whole club had a shocker.
Hopefully it's a good game on the weekend. Geelong do look bloody tall though, with King and maybe Nathan Ablett back in. I'm surprised that King is back in though. Thought the Blake / Ottens combination was going great guns and King would be a backward step.
Partridge
18 Apr 2007, 17:57
Fair dinkum, Kingsley got far too much of the blame for 2006. Whole club had a shocker.
Hopefully it's a good game on the weekend. Geelong do look bloody tall though, with King and maybe Nathan Ablett back in. I'm surprised that King is back in though. Thought the Blake / Ottens combination was going great guns and King would be a backward step.
Yeah it's convenient to blame Kingsley (and fun). But starting with round 3 last year, he kicked 2 goals in 8 games. Not good enough from full forward. He wasn't the only one in a slump but a big reason nonetheless.
King's an interesting one. I don't really want the 3 of them in the same team. Ottens looks so much better in the ruck, and last week showed 2 tall forwards can be enough if you use it properly. I'm a little concerned about stacking the side with big guys and then get exposed for mobility.
Rockford
18 Apr 2007, 18:04
Yeah it's convenient to blame Kingsley (and fun). But starting with round 3 last year, he kicked 2 goals in 8 games. Not good enough from full forward. He wasn't the only one in a slump but a big reason nonetheless.
King's an interesting one. I don't really want the 3 of them in the same team. Ottens looks so much better in the ruck, and last week showed 2 tall forwards can be enough if you use it properly. I'm a little concerned about stacking the side with big guys and then get exposed for mobility.
I share your concerns re: all 3 of them being in the same team. Suggests that Ottens is going to get played forward. King has no mobility, that is true. Blake while not fast does cover a lot of ground though. Ottens in short stretches has no problems with his movement, if he is played forward as a replacement for Nath then we'll especially need him to fire.
lethalselbow
18 Apr 2007, 18:15
I share your concerns re: all 3 of them being in the same team. Suggests that Ottens is going to get played forward. King has no mobility, that is true. Blake while not fast does cover a lot of ground though. Ottens in short stretches has no problems with his movement, if he is played forward as a replacement for Nath then we'll especially need him to fire.
Not trying to be funny or anything, but we all know that King will be alright for a couple of games and then break down. Geelong looks so much better without him. Ottens looks a gun in the ruck and then you can just rest him down forward. Blake has looked the goods too.
Big Nasty
18 Apr 2007, 18:40
Geelongs only using ottens as a forward this week to replace Nablett and King and Blake will share the ruck.
Big Nasty
18 Apr 2007, 18:41
Not trying to be funny or anything, but we all know that King will be alright for a couple of games and then break down. Geelong looks so much better without him. Ottens looks a gun in the ruck and then you can just rest him down forward. Blake has looked the goods too. your spot on.
Davo-27
18 Apr 2007, 20:41
I don't know about Dawson that kid is toooo casual like he has played 250 games and it is all abit too easy for him. He walks around with this arrogance that should only be shown when you do great things week in week out. Not get 8 kicked on you for 3 weeks in a row and then be banished to box hill.
it's called laziness, i hope he grows up quick.................
Partridge
19 Apr 2007, 15:55
Not trying to be funny or anything, but we all know that King will be alright for a couple of games and then break down. Geelong looks so much better without him. Ottens looks a gun in the ruck and then you can just rest him down forward. Blake has looked the goods too.
Mate you've just displayed more tactical sense than our coach - wouldn't want his job by any chance? :)
lethalselbow
22 Apr 2007, 16:54
We're a happy team at Hawthorn
We're the Mighty Fighting Hawks.
(sing it Cat fans... you hear it every time we play you)
We love our Club, and we play to win,
Riding the bumps with a grin (at Hawthorn).
Come what may, you'll find us striving
Team work is the thing that talks,
One for all and all for one
Is the way we play at Hawthorn.
We are the Mighty Fighting Hawks.
Once more with spirit...
We're a happy team at Hawthorn ...
afl genius
22 Apr 2007, 17:01
Just cant beat you guys, played our worst and almost got it. Still not good enough though
Bennycoff
22 Apr 2007, 17:04
We still haven't played good footy this season yet are 3-1. good signs.
GNCLongJack
22 Apr 2007, 17:07
Roughy must serve a fair dinkum apprenticeship at BH. Not an opportunity to kick goals for the BHFC Ressies. Murphy or Renouf please. On an accountability basis, it has to be Murphs, who displayed last year against the Blues that he can play back and still pinch-hit in the fwd. Can't have both Roughy and the Boyler both trying to find their feet at the same time, and I'd Most definitely go with the confidence of Tim at the moment.
Roughie
22 Apr 2007, 17:08
Just cant beat you guys, played our worst and almost got it. Still not good enough though
Did you guys play your worst? Or did we not allow you to play effective football?
People need to weight up losses arent because of your team performance, its your opponents ability to shut you out of the game.
But I guess every loss always needs an excuse
Big Nasty
22 Apr 2007, 17:11
Congrats guys, The Hawks may finally get some respect they deserve.
I just don't get what this crap towards Hawkin's is after three games, from the main forum. I'm sure Buddy took awhile to develop into an excellent player.
lethalselbow
22 Apr 2007, 17:20
Was Hawkins out due to injury? :rolleyes:
"Just cant beat you guys, played our worst and almost got it." - Humble stuff.
Hawthorn didn't look the goods today and still won. Great stuff! GO HAWKS!!
tin can sam
22 Apr 2007, 17:22
Did you guys play your worst? Or did we not allow you to play effective football?
People need to weight up losses arent because of your team performance, its your opponents ability to shut you out of the game.
I know what you're saying, but in this instance we just played terrible footy, you guys weren't to crash hot either.
hawker11
22 Apr 2007, 17:25
I know what you're saying, but in this instance we just played terrible footy, you guys weren't to crash hot either.
Both teams played in the same windy conditions which does bring the standard of the game down a notch. The Hawks won - deal with it :)
CatmanForever
22 Apr 2007, 17:28
Congratulations on your win, the Hawks have some good players and are looking good this season. Until next time!
Roughie
22 Apr 2007, 18:36
Congratulations on your win, the Hawks have some good players and are looking good this season. Until next time!
You geelong folk are classier then I thought.... Hahaha
Go The Mores # 2
22 Apr 2007, 18:40
You geelong folk are classier then I thought.... Hahaha
Thats not being humble thats being soft. Who loses a gut rencher by 4 points and comes and "congratulates you on ur win" ???? Obviously doesnt give a rats about the result pure hand bagger geelong
Hit the nail on the head roughie. Hawthorn's tackling was first rate today. Well done. Today wasn't good but I'll take a loss like that rather than what we dished up last year. You guys wouldn't want King on a regular basis would you by any chance? ;)
Roughie
22 Apr 2007, 18:43
Hit the nail on the head roughie. Hawthorn's tackling was first rate today. Well done. Today wasn't good but I'll take a loss like that rather than what we dished up last year. You guys wouldn't want King on a regular basis would you by any chance? ;)
I think our tackling is always needed against Geelong, for example in our first win last season against you it was a highlight of our game. I think Geelong is a team you cant allow to run or they will hurt you with your disposal as seen on a couple occasions with spot up leads to both Abletts.
Big Nasty
22 Apr 2007, 18:47
Damn straight about King.
lethalselbow
22 Apr 2007, 19:02
What was the Ottens story?
Partridge
22 Apr 2007, 20:26
Not with me - if you lose it means the opposition were too good, and your own team wasn't good enough. There is never an excuse for losing.
I can't understand how some fans are arguing about the style of play. Didn't think it was that bad from either team. Playing one guy each behind the ball isn't flooding as far as I'm concerned.
Ultimately Hawthorn took their chances better and deserved to win. Doesn't mean I don't want King and Byrnes sent to Siberia however (and Thompson too come to think of it).
Roughie
22 Apr 2007, 20:28
I can't understand how some fans are arguing about the style of play. Didn't think it was that bad from either team. Playing one guy each behind the ball isn't flooding as far as I'm concerned.
Ultimately Hawthorn took their chances better and deserved to win. Doesn't mean I don't want King and Byrnes sent to Siberia however (and Thompson too come to think of it).
^ Agreed, I think it was a laugh to see Bomber criticise us all week, then admitt in the pre game interview were a running team.
But it was a good game, and geez when is Djekurra getting a run? I would rather see him or Varcoe in over Byrnes at the moment, I cant see him playing in 08.
Partridge
22 Apr 2007, 20:34
^ Agreed, I think it was a laugh to see Bomber criticise us all week, then admitt in the pre game interview were a running team.
But it was a good game, and geez when is Djekurra getting a run? I would rather see him or Varcoe in over Byrnes at the moment, I cant see him playing in 08.
Some of us fans suspect Byrnes has compromising photos of Thompson, that's the only logical explanation for his continued selection. He can find the ball, but his disposal is consistently abysmal.
I watched the game with a mate who's a Hawthorn fan, and I predicted Byrnes would miss his shot for goal in the second quarter. He was amazed at how badly he missed it. I wasn't.
Number 24
22 Apr 2007, 22:12
Well done, NIL right. Maybe the match committee know more than they are given cedit for.
hyperswivel
23 Apr 2007, 04:57
I am a very, very happy man...
RustyHawk
23 Apr 2007, 10:56
I am a very, very happy man...
You can walk tall and with pride around Geelong in your Hawthorn jumper.... right up until the time they stone you to death....lol.
Well done Hawks:
Tackling was paticular impressive given that last year you were the worst tackling side in the league. I liked the look of Clinton Young, I think you have unearthed a good player there.
Bomber should never have left a player like Hodge loose. His left foot is too damaging.
Until we can fix our clearance problems I think the Hawks are going to consistently beat us. Pisses me off, Hawthorn is the side I hate losing to most.