View Full Version : Richie Douglas

SpringChoke
17 Apr 2007, 19:51
Just wondering how people see this kid. I am amazed, and also glad, there's not more hype about him. He has really impressed me. IMO you can always tell when a youngster has the X factor when from day 1 they show no hesitation to throw their body into every contest. But this kid isn't just a fearless workhorse, he has the skills and footybrain to be a very, very good player.

When he fills out abit more, he will really cause some damage to the opposition at the bottom of the packs ie Mark Bickley. I actually think Stephen Rowe has got one right. This kid looks a better all round footballer than Gibbs. Don't get me wrong, I think Gibbs will be a very good player, in time. But even last year, I saw no signs of hesitation in the smaller bodied Douglas that Gibbs has shown to date.

We may not have "the next" Kerr, Judd etc but in our young small/midsize players in Douglas, Van Berlo, Knights, Porp, Pfeiffer there's a hell of alot
to look forward. BTW I included Pfeiffer in this list because IMO he will be a player. In the little I have seen of him, he looks to be a nice little package -
hard at it, smooth mover, a touch of genuine class.

Thoughts.

bus24
17 Apr 2007, 19:54
Yep, thats why I got onboard the bandwagon early. Doesn't seem like the kind of kid to head back home, which is good, obviously.

Superstar in the making, definite leadership qualities.

RoosterLad
17 Apr 2007, 20:04
He certainly is a good player and has only played a handful of games so far so he will improve and it's hard to see him getting dropped at this stage which sometimes happens to the young blokes. We have some classy kids in the side who are coming along nicely

bus24
17 Apr 2007, 20:05
We have to give these young kids as many chances as possible. They are the future and at this stage, none of them deserve to be demoted to the SANFL.

topjars
17 Apr 2007, 20:09
I think it was WW that questioned why I pumped Dougys tyres up a couple of weeks ago.:p

He has a red hot go, thats what I like.
He'll fill out and improve his foot skills and it'll be too late for WW to hop on coz the wagon 'll be chockas;)

He'll be alright and got Bicks number to live up to as well....the old Mr 1 %er

Carl Spackler
17 Apr 2007, 20:16
We have to give these young kids as many chances as possible. They are the future and at this stage, none of them deserve to be demoted to the SANFL.
I agree 100% but the reality is that in the next month Bode, Ricciuto, Shirley and Johncock and will return to our line up. Depending on injuries it is likely that at least some of the 22 that played against Port Adelaide will need to go back to the SANFL. Who are the ones that will go?

Wayne's-World
17 Apr 2007, 20:18
I think it was WW that questioned why I pumped Dougys tyres up a couple of weeks ago.:p

He'll fill out and improve his foot skills and it'll be too late for WW to hop on coz the wagon 'll be chockas;)

He'll be alright and got Bicks number to live up to as well....the old Mr 1 %er

nah .....already a fan ....no doubt he'll be a good one but i was saying not pump him up too early until his performances match the hype of expectation.

I've seen this with Frazer from Collingwood where he was exalted .....yet was only getting 4-5 possessions per game ......really unfair on the guy and IMO held back his development a few years.

Douglas's performances in the first couple of games were very average .....last week was much improved but again not to the level of the hype.

He'll be good but still a long way to go ......and I'll be a leading member of his fan club ;)

- PC -
17 Apr 2007, 20:28

Unlike say the Walls?

topjars
17 Apr 2007, 20:33
Unlike say the Walls?

Ya lost me:confused:

Drummond
17 Apr 2007, 20:35
Good call WW. Douglas is good, but over hyped by Crows fans. He shows a touch of class, but his decision making and skills under pressure are suspect. And why hasn’t he built up in the slightest during his 18 months at the AFC?

- PC -
17 Apr 2007, 20:37
Ya lost me:confused:

Of Jericho

topjars
17 Apr 2007, 20:40
:D gotcha

topjars
17 Apr 2007, 20:42
And why hasn’t he built up in the slightest during his 18 months at the AFC?

Im sure he has - ask Chad Cornes.

bus24
17 Apr 2007, 20:44

I'm pretty sure when he got here, he was 68kg. He's now 74.

and I'll be a leading member of his fan club ;)

But you can't be THE leading member, that mantle has already been assumed :p

Carl Spackler
17 Apr 2007, 21:00
Good call WW. Douglas is good, but over hyped by Crows fans. He shows a touch of class, but his decision making and skills under pressure are suspect. And why hasn’t he built up in the slightest during his 18 months at the AFC?
Whilst he has chosen some poor options at times I like the fact that he doesn't hesitate or second guess himself. He seems to back his instincts at all times. I think it will take a realtively small number of games being exposed at this level before his decision-making is up to scratch. Has a touch of self belief about him that is hard to teach.

King Elvis
17 Apr 2007, 22:07
Looked a little lost up the ground, but looks very confident and comfortable in the backlines - certainly has performed to a level that makes you very happy with his future prospects.

fightingdreamer88
18 Apr 2007, 21:01
Just one little concern I have with Riche right now: he seems to lack a bit of balance/ability to keep his feet when he puts the afterburners on to chase a player or run away from one. He slips over as a result quite a bit. Could it be the adrenalin or what?

- PC -
18 Apr 2007, 21:20
Brain working quicker than his body

fightingdreamer88
18 Apr 2007, 21:24
Brain working quicker than his body

That's a possibility. If that's the case, it's a huge positive for him in the long term. Good football brains go a long way.

bus24
18 Apr 2007, 22:21
http://afc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4417/Default.aspx?newsId=41453

Richard Douglas is aiming to cement his place in the Adelaide side this season. “Sitting down at the start of the year with Alan Stewart we didn’t put any limits on me this year,” Douglas said. “If I’m playing well, I don’t see why I can’t play all games this year.” After debuting late in 2006, Douglas has continued to develop and has impressed in Adelaide’s first three matches. Although being groomed as one of Adelaide’s long-term midfield prospects, Douglas has embraced the learning experience of playing in defence. “It has been good,” he said. “I played a bit of football down back in the under-18’s so it’s not all strange to me. The boys down there are great – it’s a team within a team. Guys like McLeod, Rutten, Bassett - they’re All-Australians and it’s great to learn off them. They give plenty of feedback. It’s great.” Throughout the NAB Cup and the early rounds of the premiership season Douglas’ development has again been fast-tracked by lining up on Eagles star duo Chris Judd and Daniel Kerr along with Western Bulldogs recruit Jason Akermanis. “It’s great to get a role in the team anywhere,” Douglas said. “Ideally, I’d like to play in the midfield when I get more experience and a bit bigger. But I’m enjoying my time down back.”

RoosterLad
20 Apr 2007, 14:53
Another article in today's Tiser.

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,21588629-21543,00.html

Douglas pulls his weight

ANDREW CAPEL

April 20, 2007 02:15am
Article from: The Advertiser

RICHARD Douglas has noticed the difference.
"It's definitely helped my game," the impressive second-year Crows' utility says of the 9kg he has stacked on since joining Adelaide at the end of 2005.

Arriving at West Lakes at a paper-thin 68kg, Douglas now weighs a healthy 77kg and is finding he is no longer being easily pushed off the ball.

"Playing a few games last year to now I've noticed a big difference," he said of his heavier physique. "I feel stronger and a lot fitter."

A permanent fixture in the Adelaide line-up so far in 2007 after playing three games in his rookie season, Douglas wants to increase his weight to "the low 80s" with another pre-season of gym work behind him.

In the meantime, the classy 20-year-old - who already has played as many AFL games this season as he did last year - wants to establish himself in the Crows' line-up.

"I definitely haven't cemented my spot yet," Douglas said. "Sitting down at the start of the year with Alan Stewart (development coach) we didn't put any limits on my game this year and, if I'm playing well, I don't see why I can't play all 22 matches this year."

Douglas makes no secret that he wants to be a topline midfielder. "When I get more experience and get a bit bigger," he added.

However he is enjoying his early-season stint at half-back, where he is getting a bird's eye view of the Crows' best player, Andrew McLeod.

"Dare I say it but he's probably the best (half-back flanker) in the league and to be able to learn from him is just fantastic for my development," Victorian Douglas said. "In under-18s (Calder Cannons) I played a bit down back, so it's not all that strange to me, but to be able to learn off Andrew and the other blokes down there - Ben Rutten and Nathan Bassett are All-Australians - is fantastic."

Douglas already has learnt plenty by himself this season. His opponents have included 2001 Brownlow Medallist Jason Akermanis (against the Bulldogs), 2004 Brownlow winner Chris Judd (in a pre-season game against West Coast) and current Brownlow favourite Daniel Kerr, also of the Eagles.

"I'm always looking at opposition players and trying to take a little bit from their games to add to mine," Douglas said.

So who will he get against grand finalist Sydney at AAMI Stadium tomorrow night?

"I'm not sure," he said. "Because we've got so many players in doubt (because of injury) I probably won't find out until Friday (today)."

Stay tuned.

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5454379,00.jpg
Richard Douglas ... filling out his frame with plenty of work in the weights room.

The young man has stacked on 9kg so far, that is a bloody top effort!!

macca23
20 Apr 2007, 14:58
We've got a good 'un in this young lad - a real good 'un. :) :thumbsu:

One thing Bones McDermott has got right is that this lad will be a 200 gamer for the Crows. :thumbsu:

bus24
20 Apr 2007, 14:59

One thing Bones McDermott has got right is that this lad will be a 200 gamer for the Crows. :thumbsu:

Try 350 :thumbsu: :D

RoosterLad
20 Apr 2007, 14:59
The Crows 2nd 400 gamer after VB?

bus24
20 Apr 2007, 15:00

He's put on 9kg :thumbsu:

RoosterLad
20 Apr 2007, 15:03

When I read that article while eating my weet-bix this morning I did remember that quote by Drummond, I didn't realise he had put on so much bulk.

bus24
20 Apr 2007, 15:05
When I read that article while eating my weet-bix this morning I did remember that quote by Drummond, I didn't realise he had put on so much bulk.

I think we forget just how skinny he was when he came over.

Crow Envy
20 Apr 2007, 15:16
I think we forget just how skinny he was when he came over.

We should get him cooking for Mackay

Drummond
20 Apr 2007, 15:39
I don't see the evidence...

macca23
20 Apr 2007, 16:22

Then you're blind. ;) :p

Drummond, he was stick figure when he came here - a skilful one but nevertheless a stick figure.

He's smallish in height but he's no longer skinny. Next year he plans to bulk up somewhat to get more strength.

PS If he played for Norwood he'd look like Arnold Schwarznegger!! :p

RoosterLad
20 Apr 2007, 16:33

He may not look massive now but 9kg is 9kg, with strength you don't have to look huge to be strong(er).

crowsarethebest
20 Apr 2007, 17:56
He looks tiny still but putting on 9 kg is great. Hopefully most is muscle:D. He's going to be a great palyer.

bus24
20 Apr 2007, 18:02
If you wish..... you may sign up to my Richard Douglas fan club. :D

Crow-mo
20 Apr 2007, 19:03

what were you expecting to see?

a half naked torso in Blue magazine?

fightingdreamer88
20 Apr 2007, 20:46
Dougie has DEFINITELY put on weight looking at him this year. By next season I'd expect him to have more or less an AFL body. He's about McLeod's height so not very tall but hey, Kerr is shorter than Dougie and he's arguably the best player in the comp right now (is by some margin in my opinion).

King Elvis
21 Apr 2007, 11:43

His attitude seems fantastic.

I'm very, very happy that the Crows recruiting theme now includes the character and attitude of a player - excellent direction IMO.

Drummond
21 Apr 2007, 21:14
Poor first quarter by Douglas. Plenty of panicking under pressure.

Crow-mo
21 Apr 2007, 21:29
Poor first quarter by Douglas. Plenty of panicking under pressure.

still haven't answered the weight gain question :)

Drummond
21 Apr 2007, 21:48
still haven't answered the weight gain question :)
If you seriously think I'm going to answer your ridiculous comment, you are dreaming. I know you are dependant on getting into arguments with everyone but give it a rest. :rolleyes:

Crow-mo
21 Apr 2007, 22:24
If you seriously think I'm going to answer your ridiculous comment, you are dreaming. I know you are dependant on getting into arguments with everyone but give it a rest. :rolleyes:

that's the way, duck and shirk the issue. very jericho like.

if you want to quote yourself, don't ignore your stupid claim that he hadn't put on any weight?

can't have your cake and eat it too.

Drummond
21 Apr 2007, 22:35
Boy, Douglas has been less than impressive tonight; really struggling under the pressure. Can’t explain why Craig has him out there every minute of the game, when he shouldn’t even be in the team. And late in the second and early in the third Craig had him playing on O’Keefe. Worst match-up in history.

Crow-mo
21 Apr 2007, 22:43
Boy, Douglas has been less than impressive tonight; really struggling under the pressure. Can’t explain why Craig has him out there every minute of the game, when he shouldn’t even be in the team. And late in the second and early in the third Craig had him playing on O’Keefe. Worst match-up in history.

you are BF's Luke Jericho, shirking every contest.

Drummond
21 Apr 2007, 23:19
you are BF's Luke Jericho, shirking every contest.
Look mate, whatever! :thumbsu:

I said I don’t see much evidence to suggest he’s bulked up 9kg because to me he’s still an extremely skinny young lad. I walked past him at Norwood Oval last year and he was very thin, and he still is 12 months down the track. Yes he’s bulked up, but he would be the skinniest guy in our 22 and he’s still got a ways to go.

And it was good to see Craig start Douglas on the bench in the last quarter because he was struggling out there.

Fudd
22 Apr 2007, 00:21

I agree with some of your comments in that Douglas definitely struggled tonight and the Okeefe match up was a bit baffling, but to say he shouldnt be inthe team is a bit harsh dont you think? The kid is still finding his feet but he is doing enough each week to warrant a game, and who would you suggest he make way for, such as our injury list is at the moment?
I apologise if im wrong but werent you one for keeping Knights in the side last year no matter how little he was doing because ' he's the future and is too good to be playing SANFL'?
Consider aswell Dougie is being played out of position since he came into the side.

crowsarethebest
22 Apr 2007, 00:32
I agree with Drummond. Panicked under pressure and fumbled a bit. Wasn't his best display of football.

King Elvis
22 Apr 2007, 00:33

Less than impressive tonight, probably true; but he played a lot of minutes against the most intense, pressure driven side in the League.

While he may not have been great tonight, he'll definitely be better for the experience.

macca23
22 Apr 2007, 00:48
Less than impressive tonight, probably true; but he played a lot of minutes against the most intense, pressure driven side in the League.

While he may not have been great tonight, he'll definitely be better for the experience.

Totally agree!! :thumbsu:

It was his 7th league game for god's sake.

Overall he's doing fine IMO - tonight will teach him as much or more than the nights when all goes well for both him and the team.

Drummond
22 Apr 2007, 00:54
Totally agree!! :thumbsu:

It was his 7th league game for god's sake.

Overall he's doing fine IMO - tonight will teach him as much or more than the nights when all goes well for both him and the team.
I honestly don’t think everything is as rosy as you make it out to be. Sure he’s shown some decent signs this season, but overall he hasn’t been all that impressive. The bottom line is he panics under pressure and makes poor decisions. He seems to always be rushed and one thing I’ve noticed is that he seems to constantly lose his footing. I think fightingdreamer88 pointed this out last week also. Why is this?

bus24
22 Apr 2007, 00:57
Whats your problem with Douglas Drummond?

All your comments on him have been bagging the kid. Jee wiz, give him some time. You're expecting far too much of a young kid who has played single figure games.

As for your 'shouldn't be in the team'. He is a key part of our future and where else do you want to pluck a player from. The cupboard is just a tad bare. Ideally, with a fit squad, he wouldn't be playing.

My advice for him - Get some new boots, falls over a bit too much for mine.

King Elvis
22 Apr 2007, 01:18
I honestly don’t think everything is as rosy as you make it out to be. Sure he’s shown some decent signs this season, but overall he hasn’t been all that impressive. The bottom line is he panics under pressure and makes poor decisions. He seems to always be rushed and one thing I’ve noticed is that he seems to constantly lose his footing. I think fightingdreamer88 pointed this out last week also. Why is this?

Maybe, but you don't improve your decision making and learn how to cope with AFL pressure by playing in the SANFL. At the moment, he isn't perfect, but he has played less than 10 games. His decision making may not be perfect, but it isn't costing us anything, and his performances have been good enough that (especially with our depleted list) he deserves to be in the side.

I'm sure Craigy is working on his decision making, as we all know how important he considers it, and having him play down back is giving him time to develop that aspect of his game where he can still be a good player.

Knights is a good example - we all knew he had a hell of a lot of ability, but had some obvious weaknesses. In the few games he's played this Season, he has taken some massive steps forward and really improved his game and established himself.

Gets!
22 Apr 2007, 01:25
Drummond, stop being ridiculous, seriously.

- PC -
22 Apr 2007, 01:28
I was thinking of something along these lines tonight

I judge players differently ( or try to ) based on levels of experience. I think the ''youngsters'' ie under 20 games can come along at a certain level and as long as the coaching staff are happy with them playing then so am i.

If they get dropped I wont be calling for heads either

Richie will have more bad games than good for a while, but as noted above he has now transcended SANFL and will learn more and more quickly playing AFL...and while we have injuries and can carry him , he should play

fightingdreamer88
22 Apr 2007, 02:07

It's his running action I reckon... hard to describe but he seems to run without lifting his feet all that far above the ground which is asking for trouble. I actually noticed this right back in his first game for us (the showdown last year).

He's shown good presence of mind in certain plays but on the same token he's been awfully exposed at times. Tonight he played on some of the league's best players and will learn a lot. His game against Port Adelaide was quite impressive, tonight not so much, but he'll benefit muchly from tough games like this. I also think that he probably more or less played McLeod's role as a junior, which he's been forced to relinquish at AFL level. He probably doesn't feel quite so comfortable playing a slightly more stagnated defensive role. Overall we're seeing the good and the bad; this is a development year for him so I say lets back him and hope he continues to improve.

Wayne's-World
22 Apr 2007, 09:04

I don't think this is the case .....IMO it's the opposite ......the kid is obviously super confident and it's this confidence that he SLACK with his disposals ......IMO too casual.

It's the signs you look for in a good player but ATM with his level of experience and the pace of AFL it's causing him some problems.

That'll be sorted out by the club .....don't worry about that ;)

crows98
22 Apr 2007, 10:47
FFS have we forgotten that the Sydney Swans are one hell of a side and have the ability to consistently beat the West Coast?

They have been good enough to make the last 2 Grand Finals (so only the West Coast Eagles have an equal side in the last 24 months) so it’s not like we were playing some up start that was getting a bit of media attention for there good form, this team are the real deal.

Anyone who watched the game last night could see Richard Douglas was struggling with the pace of the game but a bit of perceptive with whom we were playing.

Richard Douglas will learn more about the game and his own ability from playing and losing his position against the Sydney Swans than he would if he got 30 touches against the 15th or 16th side. That’s why he stayed on the ground.

maccas_no1
22 Apr 2007, 10:54
FFS have we forgotten that the Sydney Swans are one hell of a side and have the ability to consistently beat the West Coast?

They have been good enough to make the last 2 Grand Finals (so only the West Coast Eagles have an equal side in the last 24 months) so it’s not like we were playing some up start that was getting a bit of media attention for there good form, this team are the real deal.

Anyone who watched the game last night could see Richard Douglas was struggling with the pace of the game but a bit of perceptive with whom we were playing.

Richard Douglas will learn more about the game and his own ability from playing and losing his position against the Sydney Swans than he would if he got 30 touches against the 15th or 16th side. That’s why he stayed on the ground.

*As much as it pains me to say it*

You are right I thought the work of Vince and Knights and even Griffen was far better than Douglas, he seemed a little lost at times and got caught with the ball...........but also in saying that the kid still has alot of good qualities and has a bright future ahead of him with the AFC.........time and patience is what it will take:thumbsu:

SpringChoke
22 Apr 2007, 10:57
Terrible timing my me. Poor kid had an absolute shocker last night. One of those days where everything you touch turns to brown.

Markthirtytwo
22 Apr 2007, 13:08
It's a learning thing. You just can't get it without playing at the top and I would still have him in the side until we get a few of our top injured players back. He needs to know that the coaching panel have faith in him so that he doesn't drop his bundle. NC will impress on him not to do so.

Confidence is the key here and I'm sure he possesses the nouse to learn from it.

Even the great VB has had the occassional shocker............but can anyone remember it. :p

fightingdreamer88
22 Apr 2007, 13:57

Haven't forgotten that at all. It both baffles and haunts me every day....why the heck can't we knock off the Eagles if Sydney can, yet we beat Sydney?

RoosterLad
22 Apr 2007, 14:23
That's footy for ya mate.

fightingdreamer88
22 Apr 2007, 14:29
That's footy for ya mate.

I would be in some sort of mood if we got over the Eagles this year. :)

RoosterLad
22 Apr 2007, 14:52
I would be in some sort of mood if we got over the Eagles this year. :)

I would go mental.

Carl Spackler
22 Apr 2007, 20:02
Maybe, but you don't improve your decision making and learn how to cope with AFL pressure by playing in the SANFL. At the moment, he isn't perfect, but he has played less than 10 games.
Douglas 2007=van Berlo 2005

VB played about a dozen games in that year. Didn't do much but showed a bit of promise. Learnt plenty. We are reaping the rewards now.

Drummond
29 Apr 2007, 18:52
I am now a believer. :D

Great second quarter; his play on the wing against 3 Docker opponents was nothing short of brilliant. Keep it up Douglas.

bus24
29 Apr 2007, 18:53
I can't remember a player of his age at our footy club, so willing to put his body on the line.

Top notch half of football Richie, keep it up :thumbsu:

bus24
29 Apr 2007, 18:54
Haha I just bumped the old thread. Good to see you've come around.

I'm offering a range of fan club membership packages.

Gets!
29 Apr 2007, 18:55
Awesome effort.

If he keeps it up will get the rising star nomination this week.

Dandy_GO
29 Apr 2007, 18:57
That was a ****ing sensational effort.
I now have a raging boner.

Stiffy_18
29 Apr 2007, 19:03
I can't remember a player of his age at our footy club, so willing to put his body on the line.

Top notch half of football Richie, keep it up :thumbsu:

Errr... Nathan van Berlo! ;)

But yeah, sensational half by Douglas.

bus24
29 Apr 2007, 19:03
That effort brought a tear to my eye. It really did.

Stiffy_18
29 Apr 2007, 19:04
Gun!!!!! :D

Markthirtytwo
29 Apr 2007, 19:08
That was brilliant. Thought they were going to score. He now has to make sure he doesn't panick under pressue.

But his skills are very good.

bus24
29 Apr 2007, 19:09
His disposal was first rate that half. He'd been struggling a bit with that over the last couple of weeks, but seems to be more confident in his ability to distribute.

Divado
29 Apr 2007, 19:16
I am now a believer. :D

Great second quarter; his play on the wing against 3 Docker opponents was nothing short of brilliant. Keep it up Douglas.

Good to see you've joined the bandwagon, the kid is courageous.:thumbsu:

Drummond
29 Apr 2007, 19:42
Good to see you've joined the bandwagon, the kid is courageous.:thumbsu:
Might have dropped straight off after his third quarter. :p

bus24
29 Apr 2007, 19:42
Since you brought up NVB. He's set to crack the 20 mark. Has 19 at 3/4 time.

Mr_Smooth
29 Apr 2007, 19:43
Dougie = poor man's Van Berlo

still a gun :thumbsu:

bus24
29 Apr 2007, 19:44
Might have dropped straight off after his third quarter. :p

He didn't really do anything bad, other than one stuff up handball.

His defensive work was pretty good, and I liked when he came up to Doughty after he'd mucked up and gave him some encouragement. Great leadership qualities.