View Full Version : Geelong players: Finest game!

chapmanmagic35
17 Apr 2007, 22:53
I found this idea on the Melbourne board.

Basically, the idea is to try and figure out each player's best game ever.

Below is a list of every player on the list - I will update the list once we come to a consensus on what was each player's best game over their career.

Nathan Ablett
Gary Ablett
Jimmy Bartel
Mark Blake: Round 3, 2007 Vs Melbourne
Shannon Byrnes
Tim Callan
Paul Chapman
Joel Corey
Matthew Egan
Corey Enright
Ryan Gamble: Round 22, 2006 Vs Hawthorn
Charlie Gardiner
Tom Harley
Tom Hawkins: Round 3, 2007 Vs Melbourne
Josh Hunt
David Johnson
Steve Johnson
James Kelly
Steven King
Cameron Ling
Tom Lonergan
Andrew Mackie: Round 6, 2007 Vs Richmond
Darren Milburn
Cameron Mooney: Elimination Final, 2005 Vs Melbourne
Brad Ottens
Henry Playfair
Brent Prismall: Round 3, 2007 Vs Melbourne
Max Rooke: Semi-Final, 2005 Vs Sydney
Matthew Scarlett
Joel Selwood: Round 5, 2007 Vs Kangaroos
Matthew Spencer
Mathew Stokes: Round 15, 2006 Vs Port Power
Kane Tenace
Travis Varcoe: Round 5, 2007 Vs Kangaroos
David Wojcinski

For the sake of the exercise, I have eliminated the players yet to play a senior game.

Enjoy! Should be good debate!

Ricketts
17 Apr 2007, 23:01
Prismall and Hawkins both round 3 2007
Varcoe round 2 2007
Ryan Gamble round 22 2006
Mark Blake round 3 2007
Max Rooke 2006 v Sydney at SS?

martyk
17 Apr 2007, 23:05
Wojcinski Round 2 2007....

Great idea... will demand plenty of research though ;)

tin can sam
17 Apr 2007, 23:07
James Kelly - 2005 semi final vs Sydney
Gary Ablett - 2004 semi final vs Essesdon

not 100% on the jnr one though

Tristagi
17 Apr 2007, 23:07
Nathan Ablett - round 2 2007
Jimmy Bartel - round 3 2007
Rooke - the game against Syd at SS last year

thehoff
17 Apr 2007, 23:08
I found this idea on the Melbourne board.

Basically, the idea is to try and figure out each player's best game ever.

Below is a list of every player on the list - I will update the list once we come to a consensus on what was each player's best game over their career.

Nathan Ablett - Carlton - This Year.
Gary Ablett - Fremante Last year or Kangaroos at skilled in 2004 (two late goals).
Jimmy Bartel - Port Adealiade - Last Year (wet game)
Mark Blake - Carlton - This YEar.
Shannon Byrnes - Never!
Tim Callan - No Idea.
Paul Chapman - Essenon - 2004 Finals.
Joel Corey - Essedon 2005 - 38 touches.
Matthew Egan - Brisbane - Last Year on J.Brown.
Corey Enright - Hrmmmm
Ryan Gamble - Hawthorn - Only game.
Charlie Gardiner - Brisbane - 2004 - Pre-lim Final.
Tom Harley - Can't recall.
Tom Hawkins - Melbourne - This YEar.
Josh Hunt - Can't recall.
David Johnson - Brisbane - 2004 Pre-lim. Towled Aker up...again!
Steve Johnson - Brisane - 2003 - 6 Goals.
James Kelly - Can't recall.
Steven King - Anything 2002.
Cameron Ling - Cant recall.
Tom Lonergan - Melbourne - Last Year.
Andrew Mackie - Cant recall.
Darren Milburn - Carlton (when he smashed sos)
Cameron Mooney - West Coast - Last Year.
Brad Ottens - Fremantle - Last year
Henry Playfair - Pffft!
Brent Prismall - Melbourne - This Year
Max Rooke - West Coast - 2005 - Kept Judd to 13 touches.
Matthew Scarlett - Syndey - Elimination Final - 2005.
Joel Selwood - Melbourne - This year
Matthew Spencer - Essendon Game. The ball only hit him in the face twice that night!
Mathew Stokes - Port Adelaide - Last YEar.
Kane Tenace - Freamante - First Season.
Travis Varcoe - Carlton.
David Wojcinski - Carlton - This YEar.

Tristagi
17 Apr 2007, 23:09
one good trend so far it that most are 1 or two years ago.. so our players are really at the peak/peaking now

finrod
17 Apr 2007, 23:10
Shannon Byrnes would be vs West Coast 2005 at Subi, round 1 or 2 I think...

Kegs44
17 Apr 2007, 23:11
nath Ablett round 2 2007? or maybs the game he got rising star nomination, or at least i think he did, wen he kicked 4 in first half, was against west coast i think at ss.

Byrnes wen he got rising star nomination aswell also against west coast a few years back at subiaco. had 24 touches i think

Selwood against melbourne last week?

Scarlett has played many awesome games, one that i rem is against Adelaide at SS wen he kept his opponent to no goals and had 30 touches from full back. We won by 4 points, i think it was 2005, or even last year!

chapmanmagic35
17 Apr 2007, 23:19
Ottens: Round 5 2005 - Port Power

Tonycam*
17 Apr 2007, 23:20
There are likely others but two that stick in my mind for Coreys are.

Joel Corey , round 1 last year against Brisbane ,think he was best on ground , that game sticks out for me he got 30something disposals at Geelong.

Corey Enright big one that I remember was also from last year against the Western Bulldogs where we won by 1 point. Boris was in amazing form that day. I think Joel was also that day.

Those two stand out for me for these guys

thehoff
17 Apr 2007, 23:22
Ottens: Round 5 2005 - Port Power

Yes, totally agree.... .. I forgot about that game. He was great against Fremantle last year though.

iameviljez
17 Apr 2007, 23:25
Oooh... I love this idea!
Some that come to mind...
LING: PF vs Brisbane Lions, 2004 - Not the amount of touches that he won, but instead how good he was with them and how much of a driving force he was in the middle. Has, IMO, gone backwards since with his ball usage and where he wins the pill - a cruel shame.
G.ABLETT: Rd.20, 2004 vs Fremantle - The only player to actually handle the footy cleanly on a VERY slippery day. We tripled Freo's score and Farmer got hypothermia. Good, tough footy.
BARTEL: Rd.19, 2004 vs Richmond - The day Jimmy arrived with about 35 touches. A dominant performance on an ordinary team day.
BYRNES: Rd.2, 2005 vs WCE - We lost to a very good midfield but Byrnes was quick, and good. Shows what he can do when you give him time on the ball - he's NOT a natural forward!
PLAYFAIR: Rd.12, 2005 vs Adel - Henry was the only decent, marking tall timber on a day where shocking football was the norm. Got injured later in the game.
GARDINER: Rd.6, 2005 vs Bulldogs - Took a few marks, actually looked like a marking forward.
S.JOHNSON - Rd.22, 2004 vs Hawthorn - Easy game, but was clearly a matchwinner as he tore the Hawkers a new one and truly buried them as a team. Some great goals in his performance and makes me ache to get him back. Potentially the best small foward in the comp... but we all know what small forwards are like.
KELLY: Rd 3, 2004 vs Sydney - Had a number of touches and kicked three goals from the middle on a fairly dirty night for the team. Hasn't hit the same heights after breaking his leg.
MILBURN: Rd 18, 2004 vs StKilda - One of the best Geelong games I've ever seen, Dash provided great run through the middle and was the difference between winning and losing.
SCARLETT: Rd.12, 2005 vs Adel - Since when has a fullback had 30+ touches, keeping his FF to under five?
MOONEY: EF, 2005, vs Melbourne - THAT is how Moondog should play! Great drive on-ball, great work down back. Well done Moons.

Can't/won't think of any more. yet.

Glassjaw
17 Apr 2007, 23:40
SCARLETT: Rd.12, 2005 vs Adel - Since when has a fullback had 30+ touches, keeping his FF to under five?

I believe it was Scott Welsh, and he had 1 kick and 2 handballs for the game.

Tonycam*
17 Apr 2007, 23:47
Hoff that match against Brisbane in 2004 final was great I forgot how good David Johnson was in that one. I do remember Johnno being fantastic against Brisbane also last year at the Gabba , think it was round 18. He loves playing Brisbane.

I agree with that wet game against Port for Bartel last year , he was wonderful that day, likely his best.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 00:59
I believe it was Scott Welsh, and he had 1 kick and 2 handballs for the game.

And none until 3/4 time.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 01:04
Just added four on, ones that everyone seems to be in agreement upon.

Let us know if you think they aren't right!

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 01:05
As someone said, Charlie's best game IMO was Round 6, 2005 Vs Dogs. Are we in agreement?

Cat in Newcastle
18 Apr 2007, 02:07
Definetly

thejester
18 Apr 2007, 08:58
I know it's technically correct, but isn't it a bit disingenious to claim that Gamble's finest game was his only one? I mean, the whole concept suggests that there's range to choose from. Anyway, my selections:

Tim Callan: Rd 4, 2006.
Brent Prismall: Rd 3, 2007
Matthew Stokes: Rd 15, 2006

winty
18 Apr 2007, 10:37
Shannon Byrnes was pretty good in his first game vs Sydney in 2004. Stuck some huge tackles, that impressed even Dermie then slotted a goal from 50 on a 45 degree angle in the last quarter to give us back the lead.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 12:05
Thejester, you are probably correct. I was going to leave out Gamble but I thought seeing as he has played one game I would leave him in.

I do agree that Stokes' best game was Round 15, 2006 Vs Port Power. What do you guys think?

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 12:07
Shannon Byrnes was pretty good in his first game vs Sydney in 2004. Stuck some huge tackles, that impressed even Dermie then slotted a goal from 50 on a 45 degree angle in the last quarter to give us back the lead.

I remember that game, yes it was a pearler of a goal. he also showed alot of promise that day.

Alot seem to be saying Round 2, 2005 Vs WCE. From memory, he got a nomination for the Rising Star award.

I can't really comment on that game too much as I was overseas at the time. But from what I saw of that match he looked good.

Ricketts
18 Apr 2007, 12:31
I do agree that Stokes' best game was Round 15, 2006 Vs Port Power. What do you guys think?

No doubt about it. Add it to the list.

Sammy D
18 Apr 2007, 12:36
King probably has a had a few but the one that sticks in my mind is the game against Richmond in 2000 where he kicked 4 goals in the last quarter.

catempire
18 Apr 2007, 12:41
Mooney 2005 Elim final v Melbourne

nananana catman
18 Apr 2007, 12:54
Dog kicked 6 against Brisbane one night at the Gabba, that'd be his best game

Tom Harleys debut against Darren Jarman was pretty good if I recall.

Stokesy against port last year.

Gazza kicked 6 against Freo last year, thats a pretty good effort.

Ottens v Port was his best game.

nananana catman
18 Apr 2007, 12:56
As someone said, Charlie's best game IMO was Round 6, 2005 Vs Dogs. Are we in agreement?

His prelim v brisbane was a good one.

Lingsface
18 Apr 2007, 13:05
port or freo in the wet for bartel
steve johnson vs brisbane losing side 5 goals.
gary ablett vs freo last year 6 goals.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 13:39
King probably has a had a few but the one that sticks in my mind is the game against Richmond in 2000 where he kicked 4 goals in the last quarter.

Think it was Round 9, 2001 from memory. 2000 we got belted at the Telstra Dome by them.

I remember him getting 30 disposals in the wet against Collingwood in 2000.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 13:41
Just added Stokesy's game against Port Power. We all seem to be in agreement there. If not, let me know.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 13:43
Jimmy Bartel is an interesting one. His 3 goals and 30+ disposals in the wet (Round 16, 2005 Vs Port Power) sticks out in my mind.

Also, played a pearler in the wet against Freo in Round 20, 2004.

Manni & Ken
18 Apr 2007, 13:46
Rooke's should be that last round game vs WC a few years ago, where he towelled up Judd. 2005 I think.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 13:48
Rooke's should be that last round game vs WC a few years ago, where he towelled up Judd. 2005 I think.

Ah yes, Round 21 Vs West Coast, 2005. We thumped them that day, and Rooke kept Juddy to 15 disposals.

The day Rooke turned the corner - the week before Robbo won the game for the Dees on Rooke (even though I have no idea why he was used as a key defender, despite Harley's absence).

His game against Sydney last year (Round 20) was pretty sharp too.

keen cats fella
18 Apr 2007, 15:25
Shannon Byrnes would be vs West Coast 2005 at Subi, round 1 or 2 I think...

Yeh look i agree. I think he got a rising star nom for that. 22 touches, 2 goals and best for geelong.
dont ask why i remember!

Big_Tazz
18 Apr 2007, 17:18
Obviously you guys dont have much interest in Josh Hunts best game, let me refresh your memories. It was in 2005 in Rd 3, when we played Melbourne and we lost.. it was an unbelievable game from him. he also got a brownlow vote in that game, i remember that game well coz melbourne kicked the first 5 or 6 goals.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 17:20
Obviously you guys dont have much interest in Josh Hunts best game, let me refresh your memories. It was in 2005 in Rd 3, when we played Melbourne and we lost.. it was an unbelievable game from him. he also got a brownlow vote in that game, i remember that game well coz melbourne kicked the first 5 or 6 goals.

Was also overseas for that game. We got flogged that night.

thehoff
18 Apr 2007, 17:51

Agreed. He had a ripping game. It was a Friday night at the MCG and Josh had about 20 touches to half time. Pencil that one in.

Ricketts
18 Apr 2007, 18:07
Was that the night Jimmy got KO'd early on?

Big_Tazz
18 Apr 2007, 18:10
Was that the night Jimmy got KO'd early on?
Yep, but Brent Moloney missed him, his neck would have been much worse.. its probly why we lost the game in the end.. coz of jimmy

nananana catman
18 Apr 2007, 18:10
Ah yes, Round 21 Vs West Coast, 2005. We thumped them that day, and Rooke kept Juddy to 15 disposals.

The day Rooke turned the corner - the week before Robbo won the game for the Dees on Rooke (even though I have no idea why he was used as a key defender, despite Harley's absence).

His game against Sydney last year (Round 20) was pretty sharp too.

Rooke had 11 tackles against the Swans in our semi final loss, thatd be pretty high also.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 19:02
Rooke had 11 tackles against the Swans in our semi final loss, thatd be pretty high also.

Yep, true. Kicked a good goal also.

What does everyone think for Rooke? I think his top three were:

Eagles in 05...
Swans in 05...
Swans in 06...

See if we can get one for Maxxy boy!

afl genius
18 Apr 2007, 19:28
Bartels best game was against Port in 2005 or around then got 35 touches kicked 3 goals and had like 10 tackles

Ricketts
18 Apr 2007, 20:15
What does everyone think for Rooke? I think his top three were:

Eagles in 05...
Swans in 05...
Swans in 06...

See if we can get one for Maxxy boy!

I'd go with the semi in 05 because it is a bigger stage.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 20:18
Bartels best game was against Port in 2005 or around then got 35 touches kicked 3 goals and had like 10 tackles

Agreed. Does anyone disagree?

I'm really enjoying this topic! :thumbsu:

nananana catman
18 Apr 2007, 21:45
I'd go with the semi in 05 because it is a bigger stage.

Second that.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 21:46
Second that.

I am gunna third it soon! :p

Any objections?

thehoff
18 Apr 2007, 22:23
I am gunna third it soon! :p

Any objections?

Just do it, then people can sook.... its more fun that way.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 23:03
Rooke: Semi-Final, 2005 Vs Sydney

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 23:07
I remember Kane Tenace playing a ripper in his fourth game - Round 5, 2004 Vs Fremantle. Kicked a super goal on the run and played really well.

What do you think?

Big_Tazz
18 Apr 2007, 23:17
I remember Kane Tenace playing a ripper in his fourth game - Round 5, 2004 Vs Fremantle. Kicked a super goal on the run and played really well.

What do you think?
yep second that.. i remember that game well, we were down but never out, got as close as 2 points, but couldnt finish it, it was nice work from our young fellaz, and tenace was a big part of it, ablett wasnt playing that game, :D

Big_Tazz
18 Apr 2007, 23:19
For anyone that cares, lol, Andrew Mackies best game I THINK was in 2004, in rd 4, when we smashed the tigers, and he kicked about 4 goals, they were beauties aswell, and got plenty of touches..

GeeCat
18 Apr 2007, 23:21
^ Mackie's game against the Saints late last season was worthy as well.

crosby123
18 Apr 2007, 23:44
^ Mackie's game against the Saints late last season was worthy as well.
Agreed. Was the only shining light in a pretty miserable defeat.

chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 23:52
yep second that.. i remember that game well, we were down but never out, got as close as 2 points, but couldnt finish it, it was nice work from our young fellaz, and tenace was a big part of it, ablett wasnt playing that game, :D

Yep, I remember Beamer Moloney having a good day also.

Bobby Giovanni
19 Apr 2007, 00:58
Shannon Byrnes - Under 10's for Shepp, only had 12 turnovers and kicked 4 points. A real highlight.

thejester
19 Apr 2007, 00:59
I think it'd be fair to say that both Selwood and Prismall had their best games last week as well.

catcozmo
19 Apr 2007, 01:09
just a quick crack at it, with no research and not really reading through people's posts:

Gary Ablett - Fremante Last year or Kangaroos at skilled in 2004 (two late goals).
Jimmy Bartel - Port Adealiade - Last Year (wet game), also played rippers against Richmond at the G in the wet a couple yrs back and V Freo in the wet)
Shannon Byrnes - WCE at subi Rd 2 2005
Tim Callan - No Idea.
Corey Enright - Hrmmmm
James Kelly - not sure of best but some good ones (Sydney mid season bout 3yrs ago, 25 or so touches and 3 goals, or either final against Melb or Sydney 2yrs ago)
Cameron Ling - not sure of best but had some games when he smashed guys while taggin them, i think a game at geelong a few yrs ago, might have been on cousins or west cant recall but the commentators raved about it.
Henry Playfair - probably showing best signs in game V adelaide when broke his jaw)
Matthew Scarlett - Syndey - Elimination Final - 2005, had a good game V dogs last yr 30 touches
Matthew Spencer - Essendon Game. The ball only hit him in the face twice that night!
Travis Varcoe - Carlton.
David Wojcinski - Carlton - This YEar.

chapmanmagic35
19 Apr 2007, 10:04
Selwood and Prismall are going down for last week.

Done!

thehoff
19 Apr 2007, 10:07
just a quick crack at it, with no research and not really reading through people's posts:

Jimmy Bartel - Port Adealiade - Last Year (wet game), also played rippers against Richmond at the G in the wet a couple yrs back and V Freo in the wet)
Shannon Byrnes - WCE at subi Rd 2 2005
Tim Callan - No Idea.
Corey Enright - Hrmmmm
James Kelly - not sure of best but some good ones (Sydney mid season bout 3yrs ago, 25 or so touches and 3 goals, or either final against Melb or Sydney 2yrs ago)
Cameron Ling - not sure of best but had some games when he smashed guys while taggin them, i think a game at geelong a few yrs ago, might have been on cousins or west cant recall but the commentators raved about it.
Henry Playfair - probably showing best signs in game V adelaide when broke his jaw)
Matthew Scarlett - Syndey - Elimination Final - 2005, had a good game V dogs last yr 30 touches
Travis Varcoe - Carlton.
David Wojcinski - Carlton - This Year.

That is basically a carbon copy of mine....

chapmanmagic35
19 Apr 2007, 10:08
I think we should put Scarlett's 2005 game Vs Adelaide down. Scarlett had 32 disposals whilst Scott Welsh did not dispose of the ball until the final quarter and was helg goalless.

catcozmo
19 Apr 2007, 15:44
That is basically a carbon copy of mine....

yeah i know i copied urs as it had all the players on it already, plus the ones i already agreed with u on.

i just added little bits.

sorry i should have made note it was ur template so to speak.

azyboy
19 Apr 2007, 17:20
His prelim v brisbane was a good one.
Agree. Best game I have seen him play. Almost kept Geelong in it in second half. D Johnson very good that night also.

azyboy
19 Apr 2007, 17:24
Timmy Callan best game would be against Pies, night game in 05 I think. Kicked a running goal from just outside 50 which ignited cats in last quarter after close first 3/4s. Had been good until then as well.

chapmanmagic35
30 Apr 2007, 11:54
I need cheering up - thus I am thinking of our best games!

Any suggestions?

I reckon Callan's best was against the Pies in 04, too.

chapmanmagic35
30 Apr 2007, 14:33
Am re-adjusting Selwood's to yesterday, as I thought he was sensational.

Don't think there will be any disagreement there.

Metallica_Man
30 Apr 2007, 19:48
Varcoe - yesterday
Selwood - yesterday

chapmanmagic35
1 May 2007, 00:56
Varcoe - yesterday
Selwood - yesterday

Definitely Selwood.

What does everyone think about Varcoe?

crosby123
1 May 2007, 11:41
Definitely Selwood.

What does everyone think about Varcoe?
Varcoe's best game. Did what we want, kept the pressure up in the forward line and kicked a goal (or two?).

chapmanmagic35
1 May 2007, 12:50
Varcoe's best game. Did what we want, kept the pressure up in the forward line and kicked a goal (or two?).

Agreed - I am putting it down.

Keeop them coming, people!

Metallica_Man
7 May 2007, 17:16
the AFLs team of the week had these players in it, some might be a chance for best game

Darren Milburn (Geelong) – Super numbers down back, winning 29 disposals at an efficiency rate of 93 per cent. He also claimed 10 marks. Milburn was the second-top-ranked Champion Data player in the match against Richmond.

Andrew Mackie (Geelong) – Produced arguably his finest match for Geelong, booting four goals and winning 23 disposals off half-back. His was one of the pivotal players in Geelong's mammoth 157-point victory over Richmond.

Gary Ablett (Geelong) – Best on ground against Richmond with a dynamic performance that included 32 disposals – a career-best six marks, six clearances and seven inside 50s. On top of that, he booted three goals and had four assists.

Brad Ottens (Geelong) – Shone on return for a hip injury, particularly in the first half when his side set up its extraordinary win. Finished with 13 disposals, eight of which were contested, while he also laid six tackles and had 17 hit-outs.

Also Travis Varcoe - gets better every week!

cat in sydney
7 May 2007, 17:19
Definitely Mackies best imo.

Don't think it was his best, but great to see Otto having a good game... funnily enough spending it all in the ruck where he should be!

CatmanForever
7 May 2007, 17:42
Max Rookes best game was against Sydney last year when he towelled up Adam Goodes at Skilled Stadium in a tagging role.
Scarlett was 2004 against the Saints at Skilled Stadium, played on Gehrig and shut him down and managed to kick a goal to standing ovation which made the G Train look like an idiot.

chapmanmagic35
7 May 2007, 19:17
Definitely Mackie's finest - should I re-adjust Varcoe again? :p

Metallica_Man
7 May 2007, 20:18
Definitely Mackie's finest - should I re-adjust Varcoe again? :p
might as well just write "next game" for varcoe and leave it for the rest of his career :p

martyk
7 May 2007, 22:41
Definitely Selwood.

I have to say that even though Selwood kicked a couple of goals(which is I'm guessing why you've chosen last nights game) he was much better against the roos the week before!! He was far more effective and in a position where he had to earn almost every possession as we got smashed in the middle.

I hate to say it, but any mug playing for Geelong would / should have looked good last night. The Kangas hit us very hard and Selwood took them on almost by himself with great result. Richmonds midfield were weak, scared and uninterested(Foley not included). I think you should re-consider.

chapmanmagic35
7 May 2007, 23:30
I have to say that even though Selwood kicked a couple of goals(which is I'm guessing why you've chosen last nights game) he was much better against the roos the week before!! He was far more effective and in a position where he had to earn almost every possession as we got smashed in the middle.

I hate to say it, but any mug playing for Geelong would / should have looked good last night. The Kangas hit us very hard and Selwood took them on almost by himself with great result. Richmonds midfield were weak, scared and uninterested(Foley not included). I think you should re-consider.

That was in reference to his game against the Kangaroos.

chapmanmagic35
7 May 2007, 23:31
Henry Playfair: Round 8, 2005 Vs Carlton

Plenty of marks and three goals from CHF. Dominated on FNF.

Thoughts?

chapmanmagic35
7 May 2007, 23:32
And am about to appont Mooney's as: Elimination Final, 2005 Vs Melbourne!

catempire
7 May 2007, 23:39
Mooney 2005 Elim final v Melbourne

And am about to appont Mooney's as: Elimination Final, 2005 Vs Melbourne!

Not before time! :p

chapmanmagic35
7 May 2007, 23:43
Not before time! :p

Hehe! I had a feeling someone had mentioned it!

I'll credit you with that one :p

chapmanmagic35
7 May 2007, 23:48
Been mentioned here 'n' there thus far, but Scarlo's game against Adelaide in 2005 (Round 12) was the best I have ever seen from a key defender.

Agreed?

crosby123
8 May 2007, 10:57
Been mentioned here 'n' there thus far, but Scarlo's game against Adelaide in 2005 (Round 12) was the best I have ever seen from a key defender.

Agreed?
Agreed by me, at least. Won us the game.

chapmanmagic35
8 May 2007, 13:54
Agreed by me, at least. Won us the game.

It's going down now! :)

Keep them coming boys and girls!

Stripey PJs
10 May 2007, 00:45
Should be good debate!
Hunt: Lot of people nominating his Melbourne game, but are they forgetting Port Adelaide later in the year? Rd 16 '05. At least in that game we were the one's wielding the cane.

Charlie: He was better in Brisbane Rd 1 '06 than the prelim, which really only provided hope. Fortunately, this blunt needle's only buried in a 50 game haystack.

Ottoman: his most important match was clearly Port Adelaide Rd 5 '05, 3 goals, 20 touches and time spent in the ruck. That's when he first shone in a match winning performance. But I think his BEST game would've been Fremantle Rd 12 '06, where the Catters provided an aberration to the flat-track bully theory, stomping all over the inaccurate Dockers in the West and sticking a big sign in the ground reading "WE OWN SUBIACO". Similar game to his Port performance, but with an extra goal and good ruck support for Kingy, who -returning from injury- struggled against Sandilands. He was also very good in the game we lost to the Doggies by a point. To provide consistency with other posters, my vote's for the Port game.

Steven King: For rucking dominance you couldn't go past Collingwood Rd 2003 vs McKee and Fraser, who combined for 10 hos against Kingy's 40. Another great game was his match against the Tigers Rd 9 '01 vs Brendan Gale, that Sammy D alluded to. 20 possies, 20 odd hos + 4 sausages. The match Otto kicked his record 6 against us, yet we still won comfortably with Spriggsy buzzing around King's knees.

But for mine, his most important would've been Collingwood Rd 12 '00 vs Brad "Who?" Smith, 30 possies (25 being kicks), 33 ho and a goal, BOG as we narrowly won by 4 points in the wet.

And why are ya vacillating on Lonners? Rd 21 Melbourne '06, get 'im in there! There'll be no arguments against this one!

Nice thread, Magic.

chapmanmagic35
10 May 2007, 12:27
Hunt: Lot of people nominating his Melbourne game, but are they forgetting Port Adelaide later in the year? Rd 16 '05. At least in that game we were the one's wielding the cane.

Charlie: He was better in Brisbane Rd 1 '06 than the prelim, which really only provided hope. Fortunately, this blunt needle's only buried in a 50 game haystack.

Ottoman: his most important match was clearly Port Adelaide Rd 5 '05, 3 goals, 20 touches and time spent in the ruck. That's when he first shone in a match winning performance. But I think his BEST game would've been Fremantle Rd 12 '06, where the Catters provided an aberration to the flat-track bully theory, stomping all over the inaccurate Dockers in the West and sticking a big sign in the ground reading "WE OWN SUBIACO". Similar game to his Port performance, but with an extra goal and good ruck support for Kingy, who -returning from injury- struggled against Sandilands. He was also very good in the game we lost to the Doggies by a point. To provide consistency with other posters, my vote's for the Port game.

Steven King: For rucking dominance you couldn't go past Collingwood Rd 2003 vs McKee and Fraser, who combined for 10 hos against Kingy's 40. Another great game was his match against the Tigers Rd 9 '01 vs Brendan Gale, that Sammy D alluded to. 20 possies, 20 odd hos + 4 sausages. The match Otto kicked his record 6 against us, yet we still won comfortably with Spriggsy buzzing around King's knees.

But for mine, his most important would've been Collingwood Rd 12 '00 vs Brad "Who?" Smith, 30 possies (25 being kicks), 33 ho and a goal, BOG as we narrowly won by 4 points in the wet.

And why are ya vacillating on Lonners? Rd 21 Melbourne '06, get 'im in there! There'll be no arguments against this one!

Nice thread, Magic.

Cheers! Great post! Agree wholeheartedly with the Kingy and the Lonners one too.

Stripey PJs
21 May 2007, 12:55
Kelly's best game for a while inspired me to try and crack our flotilla of consistent blue-collar performers, Ling, Enright, Corey and Dasher.

Dasher Milburn: rarely a match winning performance amongst his 190 odd, just very good hard footy that lands him in our Top 6-8 players, week in, week out. One match stands out, one we all remember: Fremantle Rd 20 '04, Gazza's 50th in Arctic conditions. Dash entered and won a tackle-off with Hasleby, 14-13, racked up 32 possies (19 kicks) without playing loose in defence, and was frequently third man up in the ruck as Geelong throttled the beanied Shockers, restricting them to 25 points. Big Footy's selection for BOG, he and the runner-up, Bartel, were clearly streaks ahead of their team-mates. A thoroughly deserved 200 games coming up in a few weeks time.

Joel Corey: er...West Coast Rd 10 '06. I'm loathe to mention this tragic affair, but IMO this was a significant step in Corey's career. From this game onwards, opposition Coaches realised their taggers were immune from whatever disease they'd suspected Joel of carrying, and he's no longer allowed to create as much havoc as he did with his free-wheeling 36 possies in this game (11 marks, 6 tackles, 3hos). Unfortunately his engine ran out of steam, but his 14 possessions in the opening quarter matched Kerr's final term heroics...though I've a sneaky suspicion Kerr was his direct opponent. We need more options gang, suggestions?

Corey Enright: like Dasher, incredibly consistent, a passageway you could tip-toe in the dark without your bare tootsies flinching once. Difficult to select a game, but I'm going with the thumping we handed the Roos in Rd 9 '05. 30 disposals, 12 marks and a couple of goals. Big Footy's BOG, and that hasn't happened often for Boris.

Ling: how do you weigh up Cam's strangling defensive role, like his Kerr job, against his mammoth stat-driven offensive game? There may be an answer in Rd 12 '05, an ugly spectacle against Adelaide that's widely considered to be Scarlett's finest game. Ling had 37 disposals (22 kicks) +1 goal in a low scoring affair that we won by 4. Unfortunately I don't know who Ling tagged, McLeod or Ricciuto (16 and 20 ineffective disposals respectively), but the match combined both styles of his game. Ling loves dining out on the Crows, and this was cordon bleu grub, however he had to settle being runner-up BOG behind Scarlett.

Kelly: this Saturday was Ned's third most impressive outing for the club and the first time he passed the overrated 30-possie milestone. His two stand-out performances have come at the expense of embarrassing losses for Geelong, so only a weagle could accuse Kelly of downhill skiing. One was the Sydney semi-final loss of '05 (I say no more) the other was earlier in his career, a defiant performance in a loss to the Saints, Rd 5 '03. He was comfortably BOG with 26 touches, 6 tackles and 2 goals. If it's this long again between drinks, we'll be calling him Camel.

Henry Playfair: Round 8, 2005 Vs Carlton
Plenty of marks and three goals from CHF. Dominated on FNF. Thoughts?
Ya sure, Chappy?? That sounds like the Roos game the following week, coincidentally Enright's best game. I'll go along with that as H's best (Roos Rd 9 '05). Jack was sighted drooling on the day as Playfair MONSTERED the Kangas, 12 possies, 8 marks and 3 goals. He was on track to surpass that masterful performance (:D )a week off and two games later against a flooding Crows outfit, with strong marking across the half-forward line and two goals, when he broke his jaw. Or had it broken for him.
The beginning of the end.

Catters21
21 May 2007, 20:42
Shannon Byrnes - Never!
James Kelly - Can't recall.
Cameron Ling - Cant recall.
Henry Playfair - Pffft!

you are a dead set tool, firstly u are saying that all these people have never played a good game for the cats, and then u go on saying HP "pfft" how quickly we forget....he was awesome 2005 on the CHF line in absence of Graham, he marked everything that came to him, kelly, hunt, ling...all superstars in 04, hunt was a pin point kick and hunt n kelly just pure workhorses.

winty
23 May 2007, 13:46
Don't know if it's been mentioned before, and I'm on my lunchbreak so I haven't had the time to go through the entire thread, but I can remember a game we played against Port Adelaide in 2002 I think where it was pouring rain all day and we ended up getting flogged, but Scarlett had something like 30 touches and kept Tredrea goalless. Mightn't be his finest game, but would be right up there I think.

tin can sam
20 Oct 2007, 19:31
Time to re-visit.

Ottens - Prem-lim final

I was away for alot of the year, so I'll need help.

Selwood - Qualifying Final

Stokes - 5 goals vs Freo????

Stevie J - Grand Final

burto
21 Oct 2007, 00:30
Time to re-visit.

Ottens - Prem-lim final

I was away for alot of the year, so I'll need help.

Selwood - Qualifying Final

Stokes - 5 goals vs Freo????

Stevie J - Grand Final

Was also one of the best games Ive seen hunt play. the gather and run along the boundary before drilling it straight to ottens at CHF was mint.

ALM_30
21 Oct 2007, 14:05
Scarlett's best career game was Rnd 12 2005 v. Adelaide Crows at Skilled Stadium. The Cats won one of the worst games to watch by 3 points, and Henry Playfair who was in good touch at CHF broke his jaw.

Scarlett was, according to many, battling for consistency at that point of the year, and it was this game that helped him turn the corner in a big way. Facing up to a very much in form Scott Welsh, Scarlett rendered him to just 3 touches none of which registered a score (surprise, surprise). Recieving such a barbaric massacaring, Welsh was dragged mid way through the 3rd quarter.

On top of that he had 30 disposals, at that time a career high, as well as 14 marks (7 contested), he was simply impassable, it was one of the greatest games I've seen from FB in all my years watching football. I remember witnessing it at the Drysdale Pub with my dad and his best mate.

His best game of 2007 was a toss up between the Rnd 16 clash against my boys, where he not only held Rocca to 1 solitary goal, but racked up 21 disposals (20 kicks, 95% efficiency) and created 9 scores from drives he started from the D50. In a tight game he was the difference.

The other game is the GF, which pretty much speaks for itself.

cat_fanatic_21
21 Oct 2007, 20:08
Scarlett's best career game was Rnd 12 2005 v. Adelaide Crows at Skilled Stadium. The Cats won one of the worst games to watch by 3 points, and Henry Playfair who was in good touch at CHF broke his jaw.

Scarlett was, according to many, battling for consistency at that point of the year, and it was this game that helped him turn the corner in a big way. Facing up to a very much in form Scott Welsh, Scarlett rendered him to just 3 touches none of which registered a score (surprise, surprise). Recieving such a barbaric massacaring, Welsh was dragged mid way through the 3rd quarter.

On top of that he had 30 disposals, at that time a career high, as well as 14 marks (7 contested), he was simply impassable, it was one of the greatest games I've seen from FB in all my years watching football. I remember witnessing it at the Drysdale Pub with my dad and his best mate.

His best game of 2007 was a toss up between the Rnd 16 clash against my boys, where he not only held Rocca to 1 solitary goal, but racked up 21 disposals (20 kicks, 95% efficiency) and created 9 scores from drives he started from the D50. In a tight game he was the difference.

Thanks for your contribution... was it you that stood up for Scarlo in the "Egan gets the best defender" debate? I cant remember... i agree the game vs Collingwood was probably one of Scarletts best for the year. :thumbsu:

geelong_boy
21 Oct 2007, 20:13

He also wasn't bad in the PF..:D

ALM_30
21 Oct 2007, 22:50
Thanks for your contribution... was it you that stood up for Scarlo in the "Egan gets the best defender" debate? I cant remember... i agree the game vs Collingwood was probably one of Scarletts best for the year. :thumbsu:

It was me yeah...

chapmanmagic35
23 Apr 2008, 00:13
I reckon there would be a few more changes again :)

chapmanmagic35
1 Jul 2008, 02:05
I reckon there would be a few more changes again :)

...and even more!

TheTimeCometh
2 Jul 2008, 18:49
Kelly's best game for a while inspired me to try and crack our flotilla of consistent blue-collar performers, Ling, Enright, Corey and Dasher.

Dasher Milburn: rarely a match winning performance amongst his 190 odd, just very good hard footy that lands him in our Top 6-8 players, week in, week out. One match stands out, one we all remember: Fremantle Rd 20 '04, Gazza's 50th in Arctic conditions. Dash entered and won a tackle-off with Hasleby, 14-13, racked up 32 possies (19 kicks) without playing loose in defence, and was frequently third man up in the ruck as Geelong throttled the beanied Shockers, restricting them to 25 points. Big Footy's selection for BOG, he and the runner-up, Bartel, were clearly streaks ahead of their team-mates. A thoroughly deserved 200 games coming up in a few weeks time.

Joel Corey: er...West Coast Rd 10 '06. I'm loathe to mention this tragic affair, but IMO this was a significant step in Corey's career. From this game onwards, opposition Coaches realised their taggers were immune from whatever disease they'd suspected Joel of carrying, and he's no longer allowed to create as much havoc as he did with his free-wheeling 36 possies in this game (11 marks, 6 tackles, 3hos). Unfortunately his engine ran out of steam, but his 14 possessions in the opening quarter matched Kerr's final term heroics...though I've a sneaky suspicion Kerr was his direct opponent. We need more options gang, suggestions?

Corey Enright: like Dasher, incredibly consistent, a passageway you could tip-toe in the dark without your bare tootsies flinching once. Difficult to select a game, but I'm going with the thumping we handed the Roos in Rd 9 '05. 30 disposals, 12 marks and a couple of goals. Big Footy's BOG, and that hasn't happened often for Boris.

Ling: how do you weigh up Cam's strangling defensive role, like his Kerr job, against his mammoth stat-driven offensive game? There may be an answer in Rd 12 '05, an ugly spectacle against Adelaide that's widely considered to be Scarlett's finest game. Ling had 37 disposals (22 kicks) +1 goal in a low scoring affair that we won by 4. Unfortunately I don't know who Ling tagged, McLeod or Ricciuto (16 and 20 ineffective disposals respectively), but the match combined both styles of his game. Ling loves dining out on the Crows, and this was cordon bleu grub, however he had to settle being runner-up BOG behind Scarlett.

Kelly: this Saturday was Ned's third most impressive outing for the club and the first time he passed the overrated 30-possie milestone. His two stand-out performances have come at the expense of embarrassing losses for Geelong, so only a weagle could accuse Kelly of downhill skiing. One was the Sydney semi-final loss of '05 (I say no more) the other was earlier in his career, a defiant performance in a loss to the Saints, Rd 5 '03. He was comfortably BOG with 26 touches, 6 tackles and 2 goals. If it's this long again between drinks, we'll be calling him Camel.

Ya sure, Chappy?? That sounds like the Roos game the following week, coincidentally Enright's best game. I'll go along with that as H's best (Roos Rd 9 '05). Jack was sighted drooling on the day as Playfair MONSTERED the Kangas, 12 possies, 8 marks and 3 goals. He was on track to surpass that masterful performance (:D )a week off and two games later against a flooding Crows outfit, with strong marking across the half-forward line and two goals, when he broke his jaw. Or had it broken for him.
The beginning of the end.

Nice thread, Magic.

you are a dead set tool, firstly u are saying that all these people have never played a good game for the cats, and then u go on saying HP "pfft" how quickly we forget....he was awesome 2005 on the CHF line in absence of Graham, he marked everything that came to him, kelly, hunt, ling...all superstars in 04, hunt was a pin point kick and hunt n kelly just pure workhorses.

agreed.