View Full Version : Cats may play ugly
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
18 Apr 2007, 13:22
Cats may play ugly
18 April 2007 Herald-Sun
Scott Gullan
FORGET about the free-flowing, high-scoring dominant Geelong outfit of the past fortnight because that is not what will be on display against Hawthorn on Sunday.
Cats coach Mark Thompson yesterday took a swipe at the Hawks playing style by saying his team would have to get down and dirty at Aurora Stadium in Launceston if it wanted to turn around a recent poor record against Alastair Clarkson's outfit. "It is going to be more of an ugly game than a fashionable, pretty game because that is just the way Hawthorn tends to set up so we need to set up that way," Thompson said.
"We probably won't win the game kicking 18 or 16 goals, we will hopefully win the game kicking a lot less.
"It might end up being a 10-goal-all game because of the way Hawthorn plays and the way we are going to have to adjust to them."
The Cats were comprehensively beaten by Hawthorn twice last season, by 54 points in Round 3 at Skilled Stadium and by 61 points at Telstra Dome in Round 22.
"I remember Round 22 last year and Round 3 last year where the Hawks absolutely smashed us because we tried to move it quick but unfortunately you just can't do it this week," Thompson said.
"It is unfortunate for the fans but that is just the way you have to play against the Hawks."
Another major concern for the Cats coach is that his team has never set foot on Aurora Stadium -- particularly given the club's poor interstate travel record.
"We have been planning for this trip for a little while," Thompson said.
"We want to go down to Tasmania and win, but it is a pretty big ask.
"We've been to Canberra (last year) and I think it will have the same sort of crowd level and ambience in this stadium, although we didn't perform that well in Canberra so it is a real challenge for us.
"They play well at the ground. It is a really big ground, extraordinarily large and I think it is as wide as the SCG is long.
"I'm not sure why we have to play on these sorts of grounds where the dimensions are so different.
"I find it staggering but that is just the game we play now."
The Cats are set to go in with a tall line-up after Thompson confirmed former skipper Steven King, who played his first game for the season in the VFL at the weekend, would return on Sunday and youngster Mark Blake, who played the best game of his career against Melbourne, would retain his spot.
"Blake will play and King will play," Thompson said.
"Kingy playing in the VFL was planned as part of his re-introduction into footy.
"He is still our No. 1 ruckman and Blakey has been in terrific form and doesn't deserve to go out."
Throw Brad Ottens, Tom Hawkins and possibly Nathan Ablett into that mix and it is the land of the giants.
The youngest Ablett, who was a late withdrawal against the Demons because of a back spasm, has yet to train this week but will attempt to prove his fitness tomorrow.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21576129%255E20322,00.html
This could be a dead set shocker.
Phil McCreviss
18 Apr 2007, 13:30
Cats may play ugly
18 April 2007 Herald-Sun
Scott Gullan
FORGET about the free-flowing, high-scoring dominant Geelong outfit of the past fortnight because that is not what will be on display against Hawthorn on Sunday.
Cats coach Mark Thompson yesterday took a swipe at the Hawks playing style by saying his team would have to get down and dirty at Aurora Stadium in Launceston if it wanted to turn around a recent poor record against Alastair Clarkson's outfit. "It is going to be more of an ugly game than a fashionable, pretty game because that is just the way Hawthorn tends to set up so we need to set up that way," Thompson said.
"We probably won't win the game kicking 18 or 16 goals, we will hopefully win the game kicking a lot less.
"It might end up being a 10-goal-all game because of the way Hawthorn plays and the way we are going to have to adjust to them."
The Cats were comprehensively beaten by Hawthorn twice last season, by 54 points in Round 3 at Skilled Stadium and by 61 points at Telstra Dome in Round 22.
"I remember Round 22 last year and Round 3 last year where the Hawks absolutely smashed us because we tried to move it quick but unfortunately you just can't do it this week," Thompson said.
"It is unfortunate for the fans but that is just the way you have to play against the Hawks."
Another major concern for the Cats coach is that his team has never set foot on Aurora Stadium -- particularly given the club's poor interstate travel record.
"We have been planning for this trip for a little while," Thompson said.
"We want to go down to Tasmania and win, but it is a pretty big ask.
"We've been to Canberra (last year) and I think it will have the same sort of crowd level and ambience in this stadium, although we didn't perform that well in Canberra so it is a real challenge for us.
"They play well at the ground. It is a really big ground, extraordinarily large and I think it is as wide as the SCG is long.
"I'm not sure why we have to play on these sorts of grounds where the dimensions are so different.
"I find it staggering but that is just the game we play now."
The Cats are set to go in with a tall line-up after Thompson confirmed former skipper Steven King, who played his first game for the season in the VFL at the weekend, would return on Sunday and youngster Mark Blake, who played the best game of his career against Melbourne, would retain his spot.
"Blake will play and King will play," Thompson said.
"Kingy playing in the VFL was planned as part of his re-introduction into footy.
"He is still our No. 1 ruckman and Blakey has been in terrific form and doesn't deserve to go out."
Throw Brad Ottens, Tom Hawkins and possibly Nathan Ablett into that mix and it is the land of the giants.
The youngest Ablett, who was a late withdrawal against the Demons because of a back spasm, has yet to train this week but will attempt to prove his fitness tomorrow.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21576129%255E20322,00.html
This could be a dead set shocker.
Pretty stupid thing to say really. We may not have the prettiest game style but we also have the youngest list. You don't see Clarkson commenting on Geelong's gameplan that brought them so much success last year.
Says a lot about Thompson as a coach. Reckon the Cats need and deserve better than him.
The Hulkster
18 Apr 2007, 13:34
Not real happy with these comments by Mark Thompson. It makes me get very worried about this weeks game. Remember the NAB cup game when Brisbane flooded us and we had no idea what to do. Thompson said he let the players try to figure it out so they would learn. Now he says he will resort to playing that style.
My thinking is that he has no idea how to combat it. Not good enough.
We have been playing a fantastic style of footy the last 2 weeks and should beat Hawthorn, but if we shy away from playing our natural game then i think we could lose.
Mark you need to coach well this week. This game will be a true test of your coaching skills. Lets see how he goes.
TheTimeCometh
18 Apr 2007, 13:56
different dimensions???? WTF????
what bout KP then?
Sunovagun
18 Apr 2007, 14:10
What a tool. Why would bomber say that? He is either just playing mind games or truly is a clueless fool...i suspect the latter
Would you prefer to win ugly or risk (The odds would still favour you) winning pretty?
kriso182
18 Apr 2007, 14:33
Mind games. Dont mind it actually. Bomber will now be hoping Hawks come out with a free-flowing game plan. Thats the game style we love. We are not good at holding onto the footy and slowly moving it forward.
darren forssman
18 Apr 2007, 14:37
Move.....the....ball....quickly
Thurmus
18 Apr 2007, 14:42
What a tool. Obviously he doesn't think he can win.
Last week North started with 7 in defence and moved on to 8 after half time. When the opening bounce happened Jacobs was wandering around CHB looking for an opponent.
We have not flooded this year. In round one the Lions did. We kicked it to them and then it came straight back to us. We didn't have time to flood because we could not get the ball past half way.
Against Melbourne even when they were coming back Clarko didn't put a loose man back .He said in his press conference that he didn't because he knew he would be hammered by the media.
After half time when we worked out how to get around the flood we blew the Kangas out of the water with run and carry football.
Should be a good game this week. Geelong crumble under anything resembling pressure and considering they have beaten nobody (like us) it will be a pretty even contest.
I bet you guys are going on the asumption that bomber said those words in that context. For all we no he said more but the media chose those words out of that sentence ;)
Mooney_d'King
18 Apr 2007, 14:57
I don't see any problem with what Bomber said. I reckon good on him. He's right.
Thurmus, maybe flooding is not the right term, but you guys do get a LOT of blokes behind the ball. That's what's being countered - that kind of mini-flood or ball swarm.
I think Geelong will win this week.
Against Melbourne even when they were coming back Clarko didn't put a loose man back .He said in his press conference that he didn't because he knew he would be hammered by the media.
Maybe Clarkson is the tool. He is putting his teams success at stake just because he is scared of a little media attention...
Thurmus
18 Apr 2007, 15:03
Maybe Clarkson is the tool. He is putting his teams success at stake just because he is scared of a little media attention...
We won thus proving we don't need to flood to win.
Phil McCreviss
18 Apr 2007, 15:48
Not trolling here guys. I reckon the Cats are going places this year. But Thompson's summary, in whichever context, is out of line. If he thinks Clarkson will fall for something that obvious its an insult to the Hawks coaching staff's intelligence.
One of the great attributes with Geelong v Hawthorn games is that they played it tough on field but it was a great rivalry. This just shows no respect for your opposition and lacks class on a pretty low level.
I would be pretty dissapointed if Clarkson had a crack at Geelong's gameplan. Fix your own backyard before mouthing off about the opposition. I don't think Thompson is in any position to disect and make public comments on opposition gameplans after his performance thus far with a supposedly finals ready list.
year of the cat
18 Apr 2007, 16:20
Not trolling here guys. I reckon the Cats are going places this year. But Thompson's summary, in whichever context, is out of line. If he thinks Clarkson will fall for something that obvious its an insult to the Hawks coaching staff's intelligence.
One of the great attributes with Geelong v Hawthorn games is that they played it tough on field but it was a great rivalry. This just shows no respect for your opposition and lacks class on a pretty low level.
I would be pretty dissapointed if Clarkson had a crack at Geelong's gameplan. Fix your own backyard before mouthing off about the opposition. I don't think Thompson is in any position to disect and make public comments on opposition gameplans after his performance thus far with a supposedly finals ready list.
Don't think you will get too many arguments on that one. I just don't know why you would give a team any more motivation to win than they already have?
Having said that I reckon Bomber is probably correct that it will be a tight closed down game on Sunday.
I think Bomber Thompson is a great player coach and we will beat the hawks easily. Let him say what he wants and let the media disect it however they wish, cos Bomber is so confident about our prospects in 07 that the mind games are beginning
scottydeewah
18 Apr 2007, 16:40
If he thinks Clarkson will fall for something that obvious its an insult to the Hawks coaching staff's intelligence.
Interesting, according to one of your mob he fell for it last week...
He said in his press conference that he didn't because he knew he would be hammered by the media.
Keep in mind we are not Melbourne...
TheTimeCometh
18 Apr 2007, 16:51
why can't he explain what the cats are gonna have to do to get the job done? the hawk posters seem a tad sensitive.
just the comments on the differing field dimensions are a lil odd.
cschreuder61
18 Apr 2007, 17:02
Too highlight our game plan over others seems a little strange. I've Geelong drop numbers back, I've seen every club do it. Laidley did a massive flood against us last year.
Lots of team actually do it to us to stop our running game.....
Don't understand Thompson highlighting Hawthorn over some other teams that play. Especially considering how attacking we played last time we met and kicked over 130 points.
Dimensions...... KP.?? York Park and MCG dimensions aren't that different anyway..... Sydney's is small, West Coast larger... what are the point of these statements. It sounds like he's nervous bout playing at York Park the first time...?
I rate Geelong's chances this year.... but the comments just seemed odd and out of place considering Hawthorn would have been looking forward to this contest already... why add fire to it. Clarkson wont say anything to the media I don't think, but have no doubt it'll add some spite to the contest..
Anyway, bring on the weekend, should be a good game hopefully.
CatmanForever
18 Apr 2007, 17:05
I think it is good to hear that those loses to the Hawks last year hurt him. I also think it is good to know he is going into the game with a few other tactics up his sleeve for the day. This game will be a real tester for us and if there was a side we should have played in the rivalry round it was this one.
chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 17:10
I think it is good to hear that those loses to the Hawks last year hurt him. I also think it is good to know he is going into the game with a few other tactics up his sleeve for the day. This game will be a real tester for us and if there was a side we should have played in the rivalry round it was this one.
Hurt me watching it, that's for sure!
The Round 3 loss was a shocker, but most of us thought we would get back on the horse.
The Round 22 loss was simply embarassing.
TheTimeCometh
18 Apr 2007, 17:15
cs61 - yes, the dimension thing has been covered.
If I hear or read Thompson calling Steven King our number one ruckman again I will get extremely upset.
He is currently a clear number three and all those who want to talk about what he did back prior to 2003 and use that to counter my claim will get banned. ;)
Seriously, he hasn't been any good, due to injuries predominantly, since 2002. His ruckwork does not come close to Otto's - he can't jump for starters. His around the ground play is non-existent as he can't get out of a painfully slow jog. He has no presence anymore, and some could argue he never really had any presence during his good seasons and he can barely play a half of footy without picking up another month-long soft tissue injury.
Maybe Bomber's love for him comes from a form of guilt due the fact that he has contributed in ruining his career by playing him as our sole ruckman for so long, before the arrival of Ottens.
chapmanmagic35
18 Apr 2007, 17:19
If I hear or read Thompson calling Steven King our number one ruckman again I will get extremely upset.
He is currently a clear number three and all those who want to talk about what he did back prior to 2003 and use that to counter my claim will get banned. ;)
Seriously, he hasn't been any good, due to injuries predominantly, since 2002. His ruckwork does not come close to Otto's - he can't jump for starters. His around the ground play is non-existent as he can't get out of a painfully slow jog. He has no presence anymore, and some could argue he never really had any presence during his good seasons and he can barely play a half of footy without picking up another month-long soft tissue injury.
Maybe Bomber's love for him comes from a form of guilt due the fact that he has contributed in ruining his career by playing him as our sole ruckman for so long, before the arrival of Ottens.
Can't disagree with most of that.
TheTimeCometh
18 Apr 2007, 17:34
Can't disagree with most of that.
hahaha! yeah, otherwise you'd be banned!!!;)
Rockford
18 Apr 2007, 17:59
I think it shows that he's at least thinking about the way the Hawks will play against us. Which I think is more than we can say for last season.
WE Are Geelong
18 Apr 2007, 20:59
First point you are missing is that alot has been said about the Geelong game plan of last season behind the scenes at Hawthorn...and Bomber is putting it in the public forum where it belongs now...if Hawthorn want to come clean about it and not be all 'who me?' Xavier College style then I guess we could respect them for it. You are talking about a club and its culture that behind the scenes ridiculed the Kangaroos for taking on a clinically depressed Hay for two first round draft picks...classy club.
A follow on issue is that this is just about competing at the highest level. Hawthorn unravelled our game plan last season and Bomber is stepping up to the plate and saying lets try that again shall we...Hawthorn posters on here are being incredibly naive and sensitive over this article for what reasons are best known to themselves.
The third point at hand is that Clarkson has a genuine glass jaw when it comes to things written about him in the press. His efforts with Mark Robinson last weekend were very unprofessional and unacceptable from a guy who has been in the senior coaching gig for as long as he has. Bomber is trying to tweak that nerve while it is still raw.
The fourth point is that this isnt just about this weekends match...Bomber must see Hawthorn as a future threat as he should as they are the only Victorian club who has drafted as well or close to as we have over the past 3 years.
The fifth point is that Hawthorn do play a cr@p ugly style of footy...so if Bomber has chosen to be open in this interview at least he is right on the money about it.
Hawk-in-syd
18 Apr 2007, 21:30
The third point at hand is that Clarkson has a genuine glass jaw when it comes to things written about him in the press. His efforts with Mark Robinson last weekend were very unprofessional and unacceptable from a guy who has been in the senior coaching gig for as long as he has. Bomber is trying to tweak that nerve while it is still raw.hahhhahahhh short memory -Bomber to the whole media confrence re Ottens. "all of you all or you" boo hoo cry cry, then he walks out.:D :D :D
catempire
18 Apr 2007, 21:37
I think BT's comments have been misinterpreted.
For one thing, Hawthorn supporters should take it as a compliment. BT is effectively admitting that Hawthorn's game was too good for us twice last year and it's up to him to find a way of changing that.
Secondly, I'm relieved that he is finally showing signs of a realisation that his plan A isn't going to win him every game and he is going to have to come up with a plans B-Z to combat anything and everything that can be thrown at us.
nananana catman
18 Apr 2007, 21:40
Maybe he is trying to bluff Hawthorn into playing an open style of footy because he knows we are better suited to that, rather than beating the flood.
catempire
18 Apr 2007, 21:48
Maybe he is trying to bluff Hawthorn into playing an open style of footy because he knows we are better suited to that, rather than beating the flood.
I've heard a few people say that but isn't it a bit bloody obvious?
Hawthorn knows we struggle with the flood. We know we struggle with the flood. Would they really change their game just because BT goaded them?
nananana catman
18 Apr 2007, 21:51
I've heard a few people say that but isn't it a bit bloody obvious?
Hawthorn knows we struggle with the flood. We know we struggle with the flood. Would they really change their game just because BT goaded them?
I know it is a tad fanciful, but I cant see any other reason he would say it other than to bait them to play an open style of game.
WE Are Geelong
18 Apr 2007, 21:53
hahhhahahhh short memory -Bomber to the whole media confrence re Ottens. "all of you all or you" boo hoo cry cry, then he walks out.:D :D :D
The two things arent 'related' you idiot...
Bomber Thompson was defending a player...Clarkson was just defending himself and blew his cork as he has done on a number of occasions when just asked the usual questions by the media...
Although I see your point the Tassie Hawks will become more familiar with such strange 'relationships' in the future wont they?
Copernicus
19 Apr 2007, 00:29
Ah well, just the usual mind games. Nothing for Hawks fans to get worked up about, really. I just hope that Bomber is ready for anything the Hawks throw at us, the flood included. I haven't been able to watch any of their games so i really can't comment about the style of play, but last year when they smashed us I can't imagine it was because they were flooding. You can't score 130 odd points by playing a mega-flood, due to its defensive nature. It doesn't make for high scoring encounters on either side.
sarah.13
19 Apr 2007, 00:36
Teams don't need our game strategies given to them, Thompson just tell's them!
grantyc77
19 Apr 2007, 06:43
[quote=Thurmus;7266017]What a tool. Obviously he doesn't think he can win.
Now thats funny, He was just talking it up, we will win by 6 goals, Ottens to kick 5, mark my words.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
19 Apr 2007, 11:02
It's going to be hard for the Hawks to play their possession game on Sunday, the Bureau is predicting rain and 16 degrees.
thejester
19 Apr 2007, 11:09
It's going to be hard for the Hawks to play their possession game on Sunday, the Bureau is predicting rain and 16 degrees.
Jimmeh to back up his perfomance last week, then.
cat in sydney
19 Apr 2007, 11:30
Jimmeh to back up his perfomance last week, then.
Jimmeh, Jimmeh, Jimmeh!!
He'd be up there in the Brownlow at the moment, I'd reckon!
A few more wet games this year, and he's a shoe in!:thumbsu:
Rockford
19 Apr 2007, 12:45
Jimmeh, Jimmeh, Jimmeh!!
He'd be up there in the Brownlow at the moment, I'd reckon!
A few more wet games this year, and he's a shoe in!:thumbsu:
I hope so, got a 50 on him at 126-1 if I remember correctly.
Hawk-in-syd
19 Apr 2007, 13:21
The two things arent 'related' you idiot...
Bomber Thompson was defending a player...Clarkson was just defending himself and blew his cork as he has done on a number of occasions when just asked the usual questions by the media...
Although I see your point the Tassie Hawks will become more familiar with such strange 'relationships' in the future wont they?
You must be forgeting. Bomber was not just defending the player, he was defending himself and justifying his decision to bring Ottens over from Rich for ($$$$) when you desperatly needed a forward and ended up getting a second string ruckman. He was defending his own thin skin because he couldn't handle being proved wrong or the presure with the other personel issues going on at the club.
Clarkson had a go at one reporter who kept going on about the players poor disipline. Bomber berated a whole media confrence, every single person in the room, balmed them all for putting too much pressure on poor Ottens then stormed out.. The worst AFL media performance EVER!
Idoit:eek:
TheTimeCometh
19 Apr 2007, 13:27
your coaches tanty was better than our coaches tanty!
bleh...
Rockford
19 Apr 2007, 13:49
You must be forgeting. Bomber was not just defending the player, he was defending himself and justifying his decision to bring Ottens over from Rich for ($$$$) when you desperatly needed a forward and ended up getting a second string ruckman. He was defending his own thin skin because he couldn't handle being proved wrong or the presure with the other personel issues going on at the club.
Clarkson had a go at one reporter who kept going on about the players poor disipline. Bomber berated a whole media confrence, every single person in the room, balmed themall for putting too much pressure on poor Ottens then stormed out.. The worst AFL media performance EVER!
Couldn't care less about what either coach says to the media. I wouldn't rate Ottens as a second string ruckman though.
Dippers_Mullet
19 Apr 2007, 14:24
Couldn't care less about what either coach says to the media. I wouldn't rate Ottens as a second string ruckman though.
Technically that's what he is.
Blake is the your first choice ruck, whereas Ottens plays a fair amount of the game in the forward line.
thejester
19 Apr 2007, 14:40
What total bollocks. You seem to be conveniently forgetting that after Bomber took the media to task over crucifying Ottens he actually did play quite well, and when he didn't Bomber was happy to say so. Normally I hate crucifying 'the media' (as if there one homegenous organisation) over political stuff etc...but when it comes to football it is astounding how much **** and crap they can spill over their pages. The hype about Hawkins after the Carlton game being a perfect example.
Technically that's what he is.
Blake is the your first choice ruck, whereas Ottens plays a fair amount of the game in the forward line.
If you want to play stupid semantical games he is. While Blakey is coming on in leaps and bounds, Ottens is probably a better ruckman and certainly a better all-round footballer than him. Calling him a 'second-string ruckman' suggests he is in the side purely so Blake/King can have a rest on the pine...a fact that is clearly not true. Ottens is not the next Gazza - no-one said he would be. But he can take a mark up forward, can kick a goal, and can ruck. He's a bloody good player and Geelong would be in some strife if we didn't have him.
CatmanForever
19 Apr 2007, 15:46
Looking here and Bay 13 the dorks supporters are really going to town on this one at the moment. I think we must have them scared or something because most Cats supporters have been fairly even about the game saying it will be tough to win. But the dorks supporters are frothing at the mouth and beating their chests with their fists.....what a bunch of losers!
Catman, I am very much a visitor in your Geelong room, and I really just came over to get a different perspective on the match this weekend.
I'm not going to defend the Hawks supporters, because just like your Geelong_Crazy, we have our own Hodge2Franklin posters...guys who appear to live for trolling. I just thought I'd put in my two cents worth.
Why has Thompson said what he has? No idea.
However, I think the reason most Hawks guys are "frothing at the mouth", as you put it, is because this would be a fair breakdown of our three matches so far:
(a) Brisbane vs Hawks: Easily one of the worst Hawks games I've ever seen...Brisbane put on a flood across the middle of the ground, and we just went chip, chip, chip across half-back until inevitably coughing it up, and losing BADLY. Disgusting game plan, no excuse whatsoever.
(b) Hawks vs Melbourne: Tentative start, but Hawks start running and attacking, and as pointed out earlier in the thread, refused to put an extra man bad to maintain the lead. We went on to win. No flooding.
(c) Kangaroos vs Hawks: Again, no flooding by the hawks, but instead hard running, high possession and attacking footy. Bit wayward with the kicking, but in fact it was the roos who put players back for a mini flood. After the match, we are blamed for the flood by Laidley.
We do cop the flood comment quite a lot. If we'd been flooding and losing each week, i'd be right with you, but i think the Hawks fans are keen to remonstrate with this assertion, 'cos since we got our act together in round 2 and 3, it hasn't happened.
As usual, it'll be a good match this weekend, looking forward to it.
Phil McCreviss
19 Apr 2007, 16:49
Its funny how all the Geelong supporters are saying us Hawk supporters are being ultra sensitive about Thompson's comments. Well wouldn't you if Clarkson said the same stupid things about your club? If this was Clarkson's thoughts I would be embaressed as a Hawk supporter.
The reality is that what Thompson has said is just brainless. He is trying to hedge his bets just in case the Cats lose. He will blame the ground dimensions, Hawks flooding, the weather, global warming, the state of the economy etc on the loss. Everything to deflect his incompetence as a coach. The amazing aspect of all this is that he didn't even know if he would have a job at the end of last year and now he is the self confessed messiah of coaches.
Refer back to my previous posts. Thompson comes from Essendon. There is no way a Geelong person would have come up with garbage like this. In all of the Hawks v Cats games the players have gone hard but the coaches have at least been decent off the field. Hence the reason I said the Cats need and deserve a better coach than what you have.
Grow up Thompson. All the best to your players this weekend but you are weak!
WE Are Geelong
19 Apr 2007, 17:32
Its funny how all the Geelong supporters are saying us Hawk supporters are being ultra sensitive about Thompson's comments. Well wouldn't you if Clarkson said the same stupid things about your club? If this was Clarkson's thoughts I would be embaressed as a Hawk supporter.
The reality is that what Thompson has said is just brainless. He is trying to hedge his bets just in case the Cats lose. He will blame the ground dimensions, Hawks flooding, the weather, global warming, the state of the economy etc on the loss. Everything to deflect his incompetence as a coach. The amazing aspect of all this is that he didn't even know if he would have a job at the end of last year and now he is the self confessed messiah of coaches.
Refer back to my previous posts. Thompson comes from Essendon. There is no way a Geelong person would have come up with garbage like this. In all of the Hawks v Cats games the players have gone hard but the coaches have at least been decent off the field. Hence the reason I said the Cats need and deserve a better coach than what you have.
Grow up Thompson. All the best to your players this weekend but you are weak!
What is it about Hawthorn posters being able to stick to the point?
I quoted you and said that Clarkson and other Hawthorn officials and players have made lots of comments about last seasons Geelong game plan behind the scenes...Thompson just decided to not be weak about it and bring it into the open forum...
Most people dont get what Thompson is saying because you arent smart enough to read between the lines. Last season Hawthorn made an issue about wanting to train on our ground before last years round three match obviously making issue of the unique size of the Geelong ground as being a reason they wanted/needed to get a feel for it ...they requested it and were successful in being granted the ability to train there before the match...This is why Thompson is making direct reference to the size of the ground in Tassie...its just a little reminder to the Hawks this hasnt been forgotten and its game on.
So many dumb posters on here going on about why Thompson says this..why does he say that...just use your head and work out he is giving a very definitive message to the Hawthorn footy club based on the circumstances that transpired between the two clubs on a number of levels.
Another issue here is that Hawthorn gave mixed signals to our spies in that same training session at Skilled and it obviously worked in fooling us into what sort of game plan they might bring on the day...once again Thompson is just returning the favour by giving mixed signals about our game plan this time round and wanting to train at the ground before the match similarly to throw them off about what we might do on the day too.
Care to discuss the issue being raised here or just side skirt the issue all day like the rest of you Hawthorn people?
My point is you are being gullible and naive...taking things at face value without using any intelligence to work out what the real underlying message is here. Avoiding it just makes you look even dimmer.
WE Are Geelong
19 Apr 2007, 17:41
Clarkson had a go at one reporter who kept going on about the players poor disipline. Bomber berated a whole media confrence, every single person in the room, balmed them all for putting too much pressure on poor Ottens then stormed out.. The worst AFL media performance EVER!
You are a mind reader are you now? Well dont give up your day job because you are not a very good one.
Thompson is renowned for supporting his players in the media throughout his tenure as coach. Ottens was not the first time and it wont be the last. He has made a habit of it and he will continue to do it as a way of supporting the players and as a way of cultivating some trust and positive input into getting the individual player back into form....and guess what it works. Recently he defended Ling in the papers in a similar way and in the last couple of weeks he has been in pretty good form...
So there it is..Bomber has a tactical reason for doing what he does and it has worked effectively...
Clarkson as I said just blows off steam, shows he has a glass jaw...and most significantly nothing changes as a result of him doing it. So its not tactical...there is no premeditation...and its just downright embarrassing.
Idiot;)
Phil McCreviss
19 Apr 2007, 18:02
You are a mind reader are you now? Well dont give up your day job because you are not a very good one.
Thompson is renowned for supporting his players in the media throughout his tenure as coach. Ottens was not the first time and it wont be the last. He has made a habit of it and he will continue to do it as a way of supporting the players and as a way of cultivating some trust and positive input into getting the individual player back into form....and guess what it works. Recently he defended Ling in the papers in a similar way and in the last couple of weeks he has been in pretty good form...
So there it is..Bomber has a tactical reason for doing what he does and it has worked effectively...
Clarkson as I said just blows off steam, shows he has a glass jaw...and most significantly nothing changes as a result of him doing it. So its not tactical...there is no premeditation...and its just downright embarrassing.
Idiot;)
At least we dont look at the footy world through rose coloured glasses. I will be the first to admit Clarkson isn't the best coach going around. His gameplan occasionally stinks and makes us look stupid. And playing this silly chip chip game gets me more agro than the opposition supporters. But when he is wrong we call a spade a spade.
If you read some other posts from your own supporters, they dont get what Thompson has said either. This is not a cloak and dagger approach. Its out and out disrespect for your opposition. And if Thompson had the brains to be a good tactician, he wouldn't have underachieved as he has dismally for the last 2 seasons. Your list is a lot better than where that poor excuse for a coach has taken you.
WE Are Geelong
19 Apr 2007, 18:25
At least we dont look at the footy world through rose coloured glasses. I will be the first to admit Clarkson isn't the best coach going around. His gameplan occasionally stinks and makes us look stupid. And playing this silly chip chip game gets me more agro than the opposition supporters. But when he is wrong we call a spade a spade.
If you read some other posts from your own supporters, they dont get what Thompson has said either. This is not a cloak and dagger approach. Its out and out disrespect for your opposition. And if Thompson had the brains to be a good tactician, he wouldn't have underachieved as he has dismally for the last 2 seasons. Your list is a lot better than where that poor excuse for a coach has taken you.
Dont confuse rose colours and insight or the lack of it...and as nicely as I can put this you still havent dealt with the issues I raise but I really couldnt care less I just discovered....you want to look at footy face value all the time thats up to you sport...
Thompson was a poor tactician last year so you are right...but throughout his coaching tenure he hasnt always been a poor tactician. Read into that what you like.
Sean Sheep
20 Apr 2007, 11:35
I think its pretty obvious why Thompson said what he did... he's hoping by putting the Hawthorn gameplan under the microscope that they might allow a free flowing contest in which he backs our players to win. No big deal... its not as if Hawthorn are going to listen.
cat in sydney
20 Apr 2007, 11:38
I think its pretty obvious why Thompson said what he did... he's hoping by putting the Hawthorn gameplan under the microscope that they might allow a free flowing contest in which he backs our players to win. No big deal... its not as if Hawthorn are going to listen.
Exactly right. Clarkson has already admitted to not putting men back against the Kangas because of the media... and so Bombers just putting it under the spotlight, as you say.
I wouldn't be so sure that they won't listen. Maybe Clarkson's going to read it as a dare, thinking that maybe we have a game plan figured out now to beat the flood, and Bomber's jsut daring him to try it. So it may be a double bluff... or something.
Thurmus
20 Apr 2007, 17:32
Now thats funny, He was just talking it up, we will win by 6 goals, Ottens to kick 5, mark my words.
Now that I want to see. Will have to have a fair run up to kick 5 from his couch in Geelong.
cat in sydney
20 Apr 2007, 17:36
[quote=grantyc77;7274937]
Now that I need to see. Will have to have a fair run up to kick 5 from his couch.
grantyc77 is in Cairo... news travels slowly over there.
Make it Hawkins will kick 5.;)
Phil McCreviss
22 Apr 2007, 23:12
Dont confuse rose colours and insight or the lack of it...and as nicely as I can put this you still havent dealt with the issues I raise but I really couldnt care less I just discovered....you want to look at footy face value all the time thats up to you sport...
Thompson was a poor tactician last year so you are right...but throughout his coaching tenure he hasnt always been a poor tactician. Read into that what you like.
You were right mate. Thompson is a gun tactician coach who deserves another 20 years to bring home that elusive premiership to the Cattery.
Oh and I am quite happy to look at things on face value now. I think face value would mean you were not only outcoached today but you were also beaten by a bunch of schoolkids.
P.S This post is for "We Are Geelong" who unlike the rest of you Cats supporters, has no concept of logic.
Thanks for the win Mark Thompson. You gave it to us before the game started with your plethora of excuses.
For Gods sake, bring back some of the Cat greats to the club. Thomspon is taking you nowhere fast
Tonycam*
22 Apr 2007, 23:21
You were right mate. Thompson is a gun tactician coach who deserves another 20 years to bring home that elusive premiership to the Cattery.
Oh and I am quite happy to look at things on face value now. I think face value would mean you were not only outcoached today but you were also beaten by a bunch of schoolkids.
P.S This post is for "We Are Geelong" who unlike the rest of you Cats supporters, has no concept of logic.
Thanks for the win Mark Thompson. You gave it to us before the game started with your plethora of excuses.
For Gods sake, bring back some of the Cat greats to the club. Thomspon is taking you nowhere fast
Hate to say it but TRUE
Outcoached badly.
delirious1
22 Apr 2007, 23:24
:o:o:o