View Full Version : is varcoe the real deal?

bombersmad75
18 Apr 2007, 21:28
watching travis varcoe over the past two years he seems that he does not want to be at geelong. I think the new fella in djkerra looks a much better player and i was amazed that he did not get a game before varcoe. What do you all think?:confused:

thehoff
18 Apr 2007, 21:31
Second year player, played 2 games.... Pretty hard to tell.

Spare me!

Big Nasty
18 Apr 2007, 22:28
watching travis varcoe over the past two years he seems that he does not want to be at geelong. I think the new fella in djkerra looks a much better player and i was amazed that he did not get a game before varcoe. What do you all think?:confused:
Yeah I reckon DJerkurra is gonna be something special. HE will probobly be a winger or defender.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
18 Apr 2007, 22:35
You've got too much time on your hands.

Herbs
18 Apr 2007, 22:38
Varcoe was injured for a lot of last year wasn't he? Bit early to pass final judgement.

thegerman
18 Apr 2007, 23:20

Give the kid a break dude.

Firstly, Travis is virtually in his first year, even though he was drafted last year. He had a broken bone in his foot, for the year previous to that, which meant that he couldn't load any weight on his foot.

With that injury it is a bit hard then to take in a pre-season and gain valuable match fitness. So last year was started with an injury, then he succumbed to a hamstring tear due to having to make up for pre-season during the year.

Djerkurra is a good player, he will be on the wing or HBF, IMO. So they are two different players in two different positions.

They worked extremely well in the forward line against Brisbane in the pre-season, they were both fantastic at creating havoc in the forward line and promoting defensive pressure.

Varcoe will be a good player for us, he has a great set shot at goal and will be pure gold around the forward line with his pace and skill.

CatmanForever
18 Apr 2007, 23:44
you have been watching him for 2 years? Really watching him? lol yeah right nick off troll

JUBJUB
18 Apr 2007, 23:56
watching travis varcoe over the past two years he seems that he does not want to be at geelong

Sheeds,is that you ?
Is this one of your puff pieces just to get some attention ?

Remember what Todd Flanders said - "Lies make baby Jesus cry"

Now run along and play under the bridge

sarah.13
19 Apr 2007, 00:27

I think Lovett should learn how to kick goals from 30 out ,straight in front, DILL!

WestCat
19 Apr 2007, 00:39

Judging by his celebrations after his 2 goals against Carlton he looked like he wanted to be nowhere but Geelong. What made you think he doesn't want to be at the Cats? He gets pumped up when he kicks a goal, does all the one percenters and looks to be really trying his guts out.

From what I've seen (last 2 games of last year in the VFL (prelim and GF) and his games this year) he looks like he's got the talent, just needs fitness and to get used to AFL football. I think he'll make an excellent midfielder/small forward one day, but he just needs game time. He'll probably be back in the VFL once Stokes comes back, but I reckon he'll be pushing for a spot towards the end of the season and would be expecting to be somewhere around the best 22 come 2008. But then again, that's my assessment of only 4 games of footy.:p

Rockford
19 Apr 2007, 00:47
Judging by his celebrations after his 2 goals against Carlton he looked like he wanted to be nowhere but Geelong. What made you think he doesn't want to be at the Cats? He gets pumped up when he kicks a goal, does all the one percenters and looks to be really trying his guts out.

From what I've seen (last 2 games of last year in the VFL (prelim and GF) and his games this year) he looks like he's got the talent, just needs fitness and to get used to AFL football. I think he'll make an excellent midfielder/small forward one day, but he just needs game time. He'll probably be back in the VFL once Stokes comes back, but I reckon he'll be pushing for a spot towards the end of the season and would be expecting to be somewhere around the best 22 come 2008. But then again, that's my assessment of only 4 games of footy.:p

I'd like to see him included on the I/C, that way if Byrnes or Stokes are having a shocker or _not_ doing the 1%ers then Bomber can put Varcoe on with the instructions: here's a chance again, do better than them. The kid has a real knack at finding the goal and his sidestepping that tackle against Brisbane after he roved the pack and before he kicked his goal showed a lot of poise, no pressure at all, which is something Byrnes lacks under pressure IMO.

sarah.13
19 Apr 2007, 00:55
Stokes not doing the 1%ers NO WAY!!:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Rockford
19 Apr 2007, 02:40
Stokes not doing the 1%ers NO WAY!!:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Or having a shocker. It can happen.

WestCat
19 Apr 2007, 02:56
I'd like to see him included on the I/C, that way if Byrnes or Stokes are having a shocker or _not_ doing the 1%ers then Bomber can put Varcoe on with the instructions: here's a chance again, do better than them. The kid has a real knack at finding the goal and his sidestepping that tackle against Brisbane after he roved the pack and before he kicked his goal showed a lot of poise, no pressure at all, which is something Byrnes lacks under pressure IMO.

Don't think you can include all 3 in the team just in case one has a shocker. I reckon there's only room for 2 of them, and at this stage it's Stokes and Byrnes, but I have no doubt that Varcoe will most likely push Byrnes out at some stage, be that later this year or in 2008.

grantyc77
19 Apr 2007, 06:34

And how many times have you seem him??? Went to watch the cats in the VFL did you? The bombers win a couple of game and all a sudden they know everything about everyone, get back in you box.

thejester
19 Apr 2007, 11:17
Not really. Djekurra could well be a better player - that one handed pick up in the wet against Port was sensational - but he also strikes me as a kid who back home could use his pace and skills to simply burn his way out of trouble...it doesn't work like that in the AFL. Varcoe spent nearly two years without playing much footy, but he's very young and has at least had time in the VFL to get some idea of the higher competitive game at this level. That, and he appears to be a genuine small forward while Djekurra is more a midfielder.

DanA
19 Apr 2007, 12:41
Not really. Djekurra could well be a better player - that one handed pick up in the wet against Port was sensational - but he also strikes me as a kid who back home could use his pace and skills to simply burn his way out of trouble...it doesn't work like that in the AFL. Varcoe spent nearly two years without playing much footy, but he's very young and has at least had time in the VFL to get some idea of the higher competitive game at this level. That, and he appears to be a genuine small forward while Djekurra is more a midfielder.

Nobody tell Wojcinski that, it is just amazing what he is doing.

I don't think anyone could ask anything more of Varcoe, He is kicking goals from the limited opportunities he gets and doing the 1%. Another preseason worth of strength, fitness and confidence and this kid could be something special.

Djerkurra looks the goods too. Does not have the goal sense Varcoe has but seems to be great below his knees and a good ball carriera hard as nails. Structure more than anything is why he isn't playing at the moment.

Add Bedford and Stokes. Why would a young aboriginal player not want to be at Geelong?

bombersmad75
19 Apr 2007, 12:51
And how many times have you seem him??? Went to watch the cats in the VFL did you? The bombers win a couple of game and all a sudden they know everything about everyone, get back in you box.
hey buddy just because i follow the bombers does not mean i cant watch other sides i live in geelong and i take my son to every game the cats vfl side play at skilled. Hop back on the pyramid and giddy up pal. have you seen a live game lately? :mad:

TheTimeCometh
19 Apr 2007, 13:05
B A M granty!

it's pretty f'k'd up that the indigenous players of the league get compared and lumped together. the thread is about varcoe - how stokes, djerkurra and lovett have to be mentioned beats me.

linelefty
19 Apr 2007, 13:53

Indeed, against melbourne when he took 4 bounces off halfback, that guy was only 1m away from him and he literally looked at him and thought I'll take you on buddy, lets go! Awesome stuff.

Tay29
19 Apr 2007, 13:56
Apart from the line about not wanting to be at Geelong, I agree with our Essendon friend. Injuries and experience aside, I think Djerrkura is going to offer us more than Varcoe. Yes, Varcoe has only played 2 senior games and Dj is yet to make a debut but to me Varcoe looks lost on the field. 3 goals is ok but in those two games we have dominated on the scoreboard and probably in possessions, yet he's only managed a total of 8 himself along with 4 tackles. Wouldn't you expect something a little more flattering considering how much of the ball we've had, even with the limited time he's had on the field?

There's lots of time of time to improve and I hope he does but I really do like what I see in Djerrkura.

DanA
19 Apr 2007, 14:04
Apart from the line about not wanting to be at Geelong, I agree with our Essendon friend. Injuries and experience aside, I think Djerrkura is going to offer us more than Varcoe. Yes, Varcoe has only played 2 senior games and Dj is yet to make a debut but to me Varcoe looks lost on the field. 3 goals is ok but in those two games we have dominated on the scoreboard and probably in possessions, yet he's only managed a total of 8 himself along with 4 tackles. Wouldn't you expect something a little more flattering considering how much of the ball we've had, even with the limited time he's had on the field?

There's lots of time of time to improve and I hope he does but I really do like what I see in Djerrkura.

Nope, he is averaging about 50% TOG so he has played wquivalent of 1 game. 3 goals 8 possessions and 4 tackles in a week is plenty flattering, even in games we are dominating.

Big Nasty
19 Apr 2007, 14:21
Nope, he is averaging about 50% TOG so he has played wquivalent of 1 game. 3 goals 8 possessions and 4 tackles in a week is plenty flattering, even in games we are dominating.
wats TOG mean.

thehoff
19 Apr 2007, 14:27
wats TOG mean.

Time on ground.

thejester
19 Apr 2007, 14:29

Woja times his runs well and gets plenty of support from his teamates. During the Brisbane game, Djekurra was playing on no matter what, and clearly backed himself to consistently beat the opposition, in situations where no player with AFL experience (except SJ) would play on. Again, seemed pretty clear to me that back home he could simply burn the opposition...he can't at an AFL level.

Apart from the line about not wanting to be at Geelong, I agree with our Essendon friend. Injuries and experience aside, I think Djerrkura is going to offer us more than Varcoe. Yes, Varcoe has only played 2 senior games and Dj is yet to make a debut but to me Varcoe looks lost on the field. 3 goals is ok but in those two games we have dominated on the scoreboard and probably in possessions, yet he's only managed a total of 8 himself along with 4 tackles. Wouldn't you expect something a little more flattering considering how much of the ball we've had, even with the limited time he's had on the field?.

I disagree. Varcoe is cleary under orders to mount as much defensive pressure as he can...and given that often he's the only guy in the forward line doing that, he does it well. He's a kid who has played a handful of VFL games and 2 AFL games. While I think he'll soon get dropped for Stokes...he'll get better.

DanA
19 Apr 2007, 14:36
Woja times his runs well and gets plenty of support from his teamates. During the Brisbane game, Djekurra was playing on no matter what, and clearly backed himself to consistently beat the opposition, in situations where no player with AFL experience (except SJ) would play on. Again, seemed pretty clear to me that back home he could simply burn the opposition...he can't at an AFL level.

Wasn't disagree, I think you are spot on.

But Wojak......wow

gus17
19 Apr 2007, 15:50
Varcoe = Superstar?????/

darren forssman
19 Apr 2007, 18:17
watchout gus17, catempire is looking to correct the incorect speling.

he/she is on a mission from GOD.

gokatz
19 Apr 2007, 21:05

I disagree. Varcoe played well against the Blues in Round 2, but he has played only two games, so I don't think it's very fair that he is judged outright on his performance in just two games. Nobody can judge any player by their performance in a couple of games, unless of course, they are dropped and never play again.
Hold on, did you say two games or two years? :confused:

Tonycam*
19 Apr 2007, 21:20
madbomber best you worry about Letta getting a kick , dont worry about our boys

catzfan
19 Apr 2007, 21:44
i think he looks like hes going to be a handy player, looks to have a good body shape for football and good skills but i think that if we were offered a good draft pick or trade by someone such as adelaide that wed take it purely because we got so many small forward ie Johnson ,ablett ,chapman ,Djidi (who looks better), stokes, bedford, kelly even prismall

bombersmad75
19 Apr 2007, 22:02
I disagree. Varcoe played well against the Blues in Round 2, but he has played only two games, so I don't think it's very fair that he is judged outright on his performance in just two games. Nobody can judge any player by their performance in a couple of games, unless of course, they are dropped and never play again.
Hold on, did you say two games or two years? :confused:
two years watched him at training and most vfl games last season and he looked like he was not interested. Hope he proves me wrong !:)

Tay29
19 Apr 2007, 22:05

Mate, you can't combine two games into one. A week difference between games, against different teams and different opponents, 2 chances to impress. Too many differences there to group that into one game. AFL records lists him as 2 games played so that's what he's played. 5 possies against Carlton, 3 against Melbourne. I couldn't find any stats for TOG so I'll have to take your word for it but fact is, if he had more influence in the games, Bomber would have left him on the ground longer.

Look, I'm not trying to shoot the guy down. He's just starting his career and obviously has a long way to go. His role is different from the role Dj will play when he gets senior games too. But on the whole at this early stage, I think Dj is going to be a better player.

Rockford
20 Apr 2007, 01:49
i think he looks like hes going to be a handy player, looks to have a good body shape for football and good skills but i think that if we were offered a good draft pick or trade by someone such as adelaide that wed take it purely because we got so many small forward ie Johnson ,ablett ,chapman ,Djidi (who looks better), stokes, bedford, kelly even prismall

Djerkurra = not a small forward
Kelly = not a small forward
Prismall = not a small forward

The great thing about having Varcoe in the squad is that we do have a lot of depth in that position for years to come. That lets us play Chappy and Gaz in the midfield where they have had a much larger impact. Look at West Coast, a fair amount of their success is down to the fact that they have goal kicking midfielders, which is where we've been lacking in the past. With Chappy and Gaz in the middle, the problem is alleviated somewhat.

CatmanForever
20 Apr 2007, 09:58
two years watched him at training and most vfl games last season and he looked like he was not interested. Hope he proves me wrong !:)

watched him at training and most vfl matches now, you are full of it.:thumbsd:

Nunga
27 Apr 2007, 01:19

I reckon Varcoe will be back in this week against the Roos

Rockford
27 Apr 2007, 01:54
I reckon Varcoe will be back in this week against the Roos

I sure hope so, the more game time he gets the better at this stage IMO. With SJ being available again as of next round I don't know how many more opportunities we'll get to see him play this season. Hopefully if he goes back to the 2's he rips it up :)

Partridge
27 Apr 2007, 11:44
I sure hope so, the more game time he gets the better at this stage IMO. With SJ being available again as of next round I don't know how many more opportunities we'll get to see him play this season. Hopefully if he goes back to the 2's he rips it up :)

Yeah that's the best option. Now that Stokes is available again it makes it a bit hard as you'd think it's that type of player he'd replace.

I think Varcoe will be really good, he's just not quite ready yet. Could do worse than play him as a tagger in the seconds. Play on onballers and run with them. His endurance and fitness will be stronger and he'll learn how to get 25 touches a game rather than 5. We have to remember too he's still only 18 or so.

WE Are Geelong
27 Apr 2007, 19:19
Thats true Partridge he is only 18 but he is the genuine future of the footy club. There is quite a gulf developing between the vfl and the afl these days. It looks like King waltzed around in his first vfl hit out and earnt senior selection on the basis of that performance and came into the seniors underdone as a result.

I prefer the Port Power approach. Once their premiership era side ended they quickly got to work re building the side. They played all the kids last year and are reaping some short term rewards for that right now but in the next 2-3 seasons I would hate to think we have fallen behind a side like this by hanging onto the past for far too long.

From what I have seen so far this season we have 5 or 6 so called rated players who I think a new coach wouldnt have that much to do with. We should make finals this season but it doesnt mean we shouldnt be re building the side also at the same time...Collingwood did it last year and so should we.

Nunga
27 Apr 2007, 21:25
Yeah that's the best option. Now that Stokes is available again it makes it a bit hard as you'd think it's that type of player he'd replace.

I think Varcoe will be really good, he's just not quite ready yet. Could do worse than play him as a tagger in the seconds. Play on onballers and run with them. His endurance and fitness will be stronger and he'll learn how to get 25 touches a game rather than 5. We have to remember too he's still only 18 or so.

Yes but he is playing deep forward and nobody is going to get 25 touches a game playing there. I don't think you can rate Varcoes game by amount of possesion he gets anyway, It's the pressure he puts thier defence under that causes turnovers or the blocks and shepards and dummy leads, all the 1% ers he is already doing, And the touches he does get are magical team lifting or at least constructive. Just watch him on Sunday.

Gogeelong
27 Apr 2007, 21:43
Deji will be good but so will Vaecoe.
How can you compare at this stage.
Varcoe has to get into the tempo of ther game and I feel he will surprise us. Give the guy time and he will prove his skills