View Full Version : Have you travelled interstate to watch the Eagles?
Fletchers Girl
18th April 2007, 21:39
Hey guys
I was just posting something in another thread and thought it would be interesting to see how many of us have travelled interstate to watch our boys play.
I have been to Perth a couple of times - loved being in the majority for once :p and I have also been to Sydney.
eaglerock
18th April 2007, 21:49
seen them twice gabba 2003 when juddy kicked 5 goals in a half and 2002 against the bulldogs.:)
Juddyzthebest
18th April 2007, 22:14
went to the kangaroos game at telstra dome in 2005.
atmosphere was so crap. I think the eagles suporters outnumberd that of the roos supporters
TurboHead
18th April 2007, 22:29
Went to Melbourne in 2004 and saw the Blues thump the Eagles at Optus Oval and then later in the same year travelled to Sydney and watched the Eagles get pumped by the Swans.
FiveStrings
18th April 2007, 22:50
Saw them get smashed by the Bulldogs at the MCG in 2005, saw them beat Hawthorn on the same ground last year in a game famous for Kerr's love-tap on Mitchell, Fletcher and Waters welcoming Buddy Franklin to the big league and Nicoski doing his ankle.
Oh, and I was at the MCG on Sept 30 last year :D
bzparkes
18th April 2007, 23:44
I was going to ask if it counted if you lived in another state and they played there. Apparently not :p
Stenglein's a Champ!
19th April 2007, 00:13
Well, Subi's inland from where I live, does that count?
3Judd3
19th April 2007, 00:31
Ive seen the Eagles play in Melbourne a few times.
Most recent being last year at the DOME against the Saints
ohhh and um *cough* the last Saturday in September in 06 :D
Cuzz09
19th April 2007, 09:04
My first game travelling to see the Eagles was in 1992 round 12 (I think) against NorthMelbourne at the MCG on a freezing, wet Friday night. Im ppretty sure it was the first Carey Vs Jako game and Carey got 1 week for striking big Glen. We won by 44 points and Kempy kicked one of the goals of the year.
Haven't seen them in Sydney but have travelled to Perth 5 times to see them play... only seen 2 wins out of those 5 games at Subi which is VERY dissapointing considering our form at the ground. But always seem to watch us play a SA team who have OK records against us there.
Seen Eagles play:
MCG, Dome, AAMI, Subi, Optus Oval, Victoria Park, Skilled Stadium and Waverley.
I am really hoping that in 2008 we get drawn to play the Kangaroos at the Gold Coast because I would love to make a week around that game up there :thumbsu:
Mrs. Cousins
19th April 2007, 09:47
yeah once
sept 30th @ MCG last year :D
Magnum27
19th April 2007, 13:51
Went to Brisbane and Perth last year, went to Sydney rd1, going to Tassie to watch the hawks game and will be in South Australia for 1 game this year, most likely against Port.
Eagles Gal
19th April 2007, 16:23
went to the kangaroos game at telstra dome in 2005.
atmosphere was so crap. I think the eagles suporters outnumberd that of the roos supporters
I went to that game too , what a coincidence. It was the first interstate match I'd been to. I agree, the Eagles supporters were in the majority, It was very bizarre.
I also remember this trip well, because the Eagles were on the same plane as us, travelling the Thursday before.
We're going to the St Kilda game at Telstra in late August, so I cant wait.
Sharpy
19th April 2007, 17:44
i ve been to a interstate game it was at subi...not one to remmeber... we drew aginst the dogs :S
Alphanumeric
23rd April 2007, 11:24
I've watched the Eagles play at every ground part from 2. The ones in Perth!
nibbles
24th April 2007, 20:34
saw them beat Hawthorn on the same ground last year in a game famous for Kerr's love-tap on Mitchell, Fletcher and Waters welcoming Buddy Franklin to the big league and Nicoski doing his ankle.
i was at that game, 2nd tier - directly infront of cousins kicking that freak goal
bloody ripper game in the end after a frustrating start - went over with my old man and my brother, was one of the best weekends of my life - strange, considering i spent it with family :confused:
the crowd was smallish - probably more eagles supporters than hawthorn supporters - but i was lucky enough to be seated right behind the mouthiest hawthorn supporter in the whole ground - ended up having a royal running battle with him - thank f**k we won - he was alright in the end, we shook hands after the game and thats when he spilled his beer over his wife's lap and copped a whack :D - hahaha
spent the whole night walking around with our scarves and such on, and nearly everyone was pretty nice to us - a few jerks but they bit their tongue - me, my dad and bro aren't the types you'd wanna bump in to in a dark alley - my dads tanked, im bigger, and my little bro is massive
everywhere we went that night (which was a lot of places, as we decided to drink at every bar we came across) blokes would just come up and talk footy with us, i have to say it was great meeting people who were as equally passionate about footy as us
met some tops people, one guy a richmond supporter who wouldn't stop buying us drinks - another guy who went to school with james hird - and another guy a north supporter - all abandoned their families to come to our table and talk footy and have a yarn, really genuinely nice people - i have to say, thumbs up to melbourne :thumbsu:
we had so much fun, we've decided to make it a tradition now to go over every year in to enemy territory (as well as tear one off in melbourne, just the lads) - not sure who we're gonna see this year - but we're thinking either essendon, doggies, roos or saints at the dome - all depends on the timing...
Pablo_Jackson
24th April 2007, 23:29
Been twice myself once think it was 97??? vs Essendon at The G.
Matera kicked 7 goals:thumbsu:.
The other was some game last year at the G against Sydney.:D
tweece
25th April 2007, 10:59
I've had a few experiences.
Went to perth for the first 2 finals in 2006 against Sydney and then the Dogs. Love been in the majority, such a different experience.
i dont know whether or not going to geelong counts for me, but been there a few times, last year i sat in the Geelong Members! Worst situation at half time but im sure by the end most of the section wanted to kill me.
and a few weeks back i flew up to sydney for round one. A bloody great experience ill tell you that. Sydney supporters are heartless, just before half time when we were smashing them they started the mexican wave, first time i have ever seen that at a football match.
Magnum27
26th April 2007, 06:57
I've had a few experiences.
Went to perth for the first 2 finals in 2006 against Sydney and then the Dogs. Love been in the majority, such a different experience.
i dont know whether or not going to geelong counts for me, but been there a few times, last year i sat in the Geelong Members! Worst situation at half time but im sure by the end most of the section wanted to kill me.
and a few weeks back i flew up to sydney for round one. A bloody great experience ill tell you that. Sydney supporters are heartless, just before half time when we were smashing them they started the mexican wave, first time i have ever seen that at a football match.
What i thought was worse at that game was em leaving 10 mins into the last quarter, the game was just starting to get interesting and they leave, don't get that.
Mr Eagle
26th April 2007, 17:07
Been to a couple at the SCG, and finally going to my first Eagles game at the 'G this weekend. Second visit to the 'G ever, after the 2003 GF.
Juddism
30th April 2007, 19:30
MCG, AAMI..don't get many weekends off to travel interstate so I stick to the Perth games each weekend we're here.
Eagles Gal
1st May 2007, 16:44
I'm off to Melbourne for the Eagles V St Kilda round 21
Cuzz09
1st May 2007, 20:57
Went on Saturday to the G for the West Coast v Richmond game. WHATAN AWESOME STADIUM!!!!
Not a bad game - It was great to see all the blue and gold around behind the goals at the city end.
Got a little tense at the end there but when big Ash has the ball in his hands insoed 50 you start to get a but more confident.
Anyway.... My next "travel" game will be when the boys play Essendon at the Dome on Fridaym June 8th. Im driving over with my sister who is a bombers fan so it rivalry round for us!
GO YOU EAGLES!!!! :thumbsu:
*Mystique*
2nd May 2007, 18:45
Went on Saturday to the G for the West Coast v Richmond game. WHATAN AWESOME STADIUM!!!!
Not a bad game - It was great to see all the blue and gold around behind the goals at the city end.
Got a little tense at the end there but when big Ash has the ball in his hands insoed 50 you start to get a but more confident.
Anyway.... My next "travel" game will be when the boys play Essendon at the Dome on Fridaym June 8th. Im driving over with my sister who is a bombers fan so it rivalry round for us!
I was there too and there was so much blue and gold, great to see :thumbsu:
Also are you driving down from Perth? How long would that take?
Juddlove
2nd May 2007, 18:58
Living in Sydney it is difficult to see the boys.. (Maybe once or twice a year-Boo!)
This year, I managed to see my first game Subi (Round 2 against Collingwood) and last weekend I flew down to Melbourne to see them at the G.
2006 - Privileged enough to see the Grand Final... You Beauty!
Round 4 - Manuka Oval v Kangaroos
Round 20 - Gabba v Brisbane
2005 - Saw the Grand Final - Boo!
(Can't remember the rounds)
Saw them at the SCG and Telstra
Saw them in Melbourne playing Collingwood
I don't even want to think about the money I have spent on them! But I do it for the love! :D :) :thumbsu:
Cuzz09
4th May 2007, 11:43
I was there too and there was so much blue and gold, great to see :thumbsu:
Also are you driving down from Perth? How long would that take?
Nah Im from Adelaide - drive, bus or fly as much as possible (work etc)
I really wanna drive over to Perth one day to see a game and make a couple of weeks of it.
Im thinking of possibly driving over next year when we have that block of 3 games in a row at the start or end of the year and making a holiday of it and hopefully seeing 3 great wins!
Killer eagle
4th May 2007, 19:26
I was there, was a shitload of Eagles fans.
Law355
10th May 2007, 20:01
Going over in June to watch wce V ess at dome (got sum coperate tix in the medallion club ) n then coll V melb at the G on queens bday should be a good weekend
bluey17
17th May 2007, 15:59
in 96 went to eagles v ess semi final when I was 9
in 2000 i went to eagles v geelong and eagles v melbourne
eagles v roos at dome in 05
05 and 06 grand finals
JUDDanaut
17th May 2007, 23:05
Went to the Dome i believe in either 2000 or 2001 to watch eagles/essendon when we got smashed. We were right in front when Sheedy did the cut-throat thing to i believe someone in the eagles, remember very little bits.
Eagles/St Kilda at the Dome in 2004 when we got smashed again lol.
2005 Grand Final - worst day of my life.
2006 Grand Final - best day of my life.
Cuzz09
18th May 2007, 10:47
Hurry Up June 8th!!
Im heading up the highway from Adelaide to Melbourne with my sis (ess fan :thumbsd: ) and her boyfriend for the Essendon Vs West Coast game!!
Cant wait to beat the Dons at that horrible ground again!! (hopefully) ;)
Meeting mates over there who go for Port and were goin' to the "blockbuster" Carlton Vs Port @ Telstra Dome on Saturday night - Im mainly going to drink :D
Anyway..... like 21 days to go...... :thumbsu: