View Full Version : Who thinks the Blues WILL beat the Weagles at Subi?

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 11:56
The Blues, now without Stevens, travel to Subi to take on a full strength Weagles lineup. Against the odds, will this talented young Blues lineup deliver a massive upset. No doubt JW will use their terrible behaviour as motivators this week. Inconsistency is the Blues main enemy, and their 1-2 quarter fades have been costly, but their self-belief, and exciting, attacking style of footy is just great to watch. Blues by 30 points. :)

Jeremias
19 Apr 2007, 11:58
It is unlikely, but stranger things have happened.

DapperDon
19 Apr 2007, 12:08
young team but the loss of Stevens will hurt you heaps

Weagles by 9 goals

kane249
19 Apr 2007, 12:19
The Blues, now without Stevens, travel to Subi to take on a full strength Weagles lineup. Against the odds, will this talented young Blues lineup deliver a massive upset. No doubt JW will use their terrible behaviour as motivators this week. Inconsistency is the Blues main enemy, and their 1-2 quarter fades have been costly, but their self-belief, and exciting, attacking style of footy is just great to watch. Blues by 30 points. :)

Full-Strength?

Cousins won't be there (nose related problem i hear ;) )
Fletcher will return through the WAFL most likely
Nicoski is another 8 weeks away
Butler is indefinite at this stage due to OP
and Seaby is in doubt with an ankle injury

5 of our best 22 there, hardly full strength Parrot but again not suprising considering how little you would actually know about the Eagles.

Tigeritis
19 Apr 2007, 12:24
Carlton put on a good show last time they played the Eagles but capitulated in a major way. Losing Stevens is terrible as you guys could have used his supreme fitness to subdue the WC multi-pronged midfield attack. It's certainly not beyond the Blues but I think West Coast will take out their anger on them. WC by 75 points.

Deledio2Tambling
19 Apr 2007, 13:00
Rofl!

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 13:05
Full-Strength?

Cousins won't be there (nose related problem i hear ;) )
Fletcher will return through the WAFL most likely
Nicoski is another 8 weeks away
Butler is indefinite at this stage due to OP
and Seaby is in doubt with an ankle injury

5 of our best 22 there, hardly full strength Parrot but again not suprising considering how little you would actually know about the Eagles.

Cousins is a loss. But that could have been prevented if the Weagles didn't ignore the problem. I don't rate Fletcher, or Nicoski - surely you have someone as good or better to replace them. Butler - average. Seaby is terrible - I hope he plays. Yes, you do have a few missing, but there isn't much quality among those, apart from Cousins. :)

Merv
19 Apr 2007, 13:05
parrot lives by the mantra of...

"never let the truth get in the way of a good story"

The Grover
19 Apr 2007, 14:35
I doubt it now that Stevens is out, if Judd & Kerr were below best then you never know.

As long as we play attacking footy, give the likes of Walker & Gibbs a chance to play in attacking roles.

Rounds 5-8 are the important ones for Blues:

Lions-H
Saints-A
Pies-A
Roos-A (Carrara)

If we can win 2 of those we'll be travelling well.

Ron
19 Apr 2007, 14:38
April fools day was a few weeks ago.
Blues have very little talent in their team, but the are made to look much better because the bombers couldn't go on with it last week.

Eagles are a top four side, Blues are a bottom four side. Eagles will win this by 10 goals easily.

MinerBoy
19 Apr 2007, 14:39
Probably those same Blues supporters who think Kouta had the most outstanding career of anyone to play the game in the past 15 years, rather than a spectacular 18 months with not much else either side.

Jeremias
19 Apr 2007, 14:40
I doubt it now that Stevens is out, if Judd & Kerr were below best then you never know.

As long as we play attacking footy, give the likes of Walker & Gibbs a chance to play in attacking roles.

Lions-H
Saints-A
Pies-A
Roos-A (Carrara)

2 wins is a realistic outcome.

If we can be 4-4 after 8 rounds I will be pleased.

:thumbsu:

Deledio2Tambling
19 Apr 2007, 14:42
West Coast will smash them by 10+ goals, which will leave Carlton's % in tatters. Agree that they can win 2 from next 4 though.

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 14:45
West Coast will smash them by 10+ goals, which will leave Carlton's % in tatters. Agree that they can win 2 from next 4 though.

I'm predicting a Blues win by 30 points, but it could just as easily be a Blues loss by 60 points. The Blues are either brilliant or ordinary - there is no grey-zone. Just hope the "good Blues" turn up on Sunday. :)

kane249
19 Apr 2007, 14:57
Cousins is a loss. But that could have been prevented if the Weagles didn't ignore the problem. I don't rate Fletcher, or Nicoski - surely you have someone as good or better to replace them. Butler - average. Seaby is terrible - I hope he plays. Yes, you do have a few missing, but there isn't much quality among those, apart from Cousins. :)

Again not suprising given your lack of knowledge on Eagles matters

Try watching more then 1 a year, you might learn something :thumbsu:

If Seaby can break even/beat Ruckmen such as Everitt/Jolly/Fraser and Sandilands this year, i dare say he should be able to account himself pretty well against Cloke/Hackland who are quite a few rungs lower then the players he's already faced in the Ruckmen stakes this year.

Fletcher, All Australian and handy player, nuff said

Nicoski? Well i suggest you might actually watch him when he returns to see why he's so highly taed by the Eagles fans

Ted Ed Fred
19 Apr 2007, 15:12
Can't wait to see this Cain Ackland bloke tear it up. Heard a lot about him from parrot and other Carlton supporters, the wraps are huge. Future AA ruckman I'm led to believe. Looking foward to it! :)

wally funk
19 Apr 2007, 16:19
i might be facing the wrath of many a carlton fan by saying this, but we've got little to no chance of beating WC in perth. we're simply just not as good as people have been hoping/making us out to be.

Thrawn
19 Apr 2007, 16:44
With Stevens, we were a remote possibility.

Now, no chance. Hope I'm wrong though.

delirious1
19 Apr 2007, 16:45
easily, but im also on crack
Kerr in the Ruck>Cloak/Ackland

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 17:31
With Stevens, we were a remote possibility.

Now, no chance. Hope I'm wrong though.

Damn hard without Stevens. I guess while good V Dons he wasn't actually dominant, and we still did well in the middle. Stevens actually spent a lot of time on the HF flank. He does however attract a heavy tag, so there'll be even more pressure from the Weagles midfield taggers. Will be interesting to see who the Blues choose as a replacement - going to be either Blackwell or Jackson. Grigg busting his shoulder was bad timing. His pace and height in the middle would have been great at Subi. No matter, we need to deal with injuries and move on. Another test of character for this talented young side. :)

SMFC
19 Apr 2007, 17:50
Perfect opportunity for Lynch to be taking notes on how a Full Forward should play the game when the Blues travel to town.

njac3
19 Apr 2007, 17:52
Parrot ill give you 10-1 odds on carlton beating the Weagles, min bet however $25.

You live your life in a dream:)

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 18:20
Perfect opportunity for Lynch to be taking notes on how a Full Forward should play the game when the Blues travel to town.

I'm looking forward to Setanta lining up on Lynchy. Probably the lowest talent KP forward Setanta has ever played against. Hope he doesn't drop his guard. :)

kane249
19 Apr 2007, 18:22

Kicked 3 in the grand final on Leo Barry when it mattered most so hopefully he plays against a similar no talent hack this weekend ;)

Merv
19 Apr 2007, 18:35
Again not suprising given your lack of knowledge on Eagles matters

CORRECTION
That should read

Again not suprising given your lack of knowledge

kane249
19 Apr 2007, 19:04
CORRECTION
That should read

Again not suprising given your lack of knowledge

Haha fair point :thumbsu:

m.diddy
19 Apr 2007, 19:05
fev to kick 10 on the overrated hack Glass.

Blues by 14.

m.diddy
19 Apr 2007, 19:07
Kicked 3 in the grand final on Leo Barry when it mattered most so hopefully he plays against a similar no talent hack this weekend ;)
West coast full forwards settle for just 3 goals these days? Their lack of full forwards over the years have obviously lowered the standard.

TigerGlory
19 Apr 2007, 19:25

Lions-H
Saints-A
Pies-A
Roos-A (Carrara)

I reckon you can beat the Pies and the Roos.

And you may give the Lions a run too.

3 wins could be possible for you.

whippersnipper
19 Apr 2007, 19:34
Probably those same Blues supporters who think Kouta had the most outstanding career of anyone to play the game in the past 15 years, rather than a spectacular 18 months with not much else either side.
Shane Crawford board

kane249
19 Apr 2007, 19:39
West coast full forwards settle for just 3 goals these days? Their lack of full forwards over the years have obviously lowered the standard.

On a day when only about 11 goals are kicked, i'd be happy with a return of 3 goals from my full-forward.

Not up there with the 8 he kicked on Mal Michael last year i know, but under the circumstances i'm happy he kicked 3 when it mattered most, unlike the Swans key-forward who manged a big fat 0 up the other end

Hawkie_McHawkHawk
19 Apr 2007, 20:37

**** no, You Carlton supporters get so far ahead of yourselves its not funny.

Carlton is still a bottom 3 side, and with the loss of Stevens their lack of depth will show in a big way.

Eagles by 10 goals

Bestbird
19 Apr 2007, 20:50

Thats probably because the WCE game plan dosen't revolve or is reliant on a couple of players to kick a winning score, preffering a variety of avenues instead as it makes it harder for opposition coaches to shut down the forward line

Look at the result when Scarlett beat Fev a few weeks ago as a perfect example

Ted Ed Fred
19 Apr 2007, 21:23

The standard in that game was Barry Hall (rated the no. 1 player in the comp at the start of 06 by Sheahan), who kicked a big fat duck egg in one of the most pathetic displays of big game choking seen in football :)

Scruba
19 Apr 2007, 21:31
No chance. Eagles by 80+

westcoast wizard
20 Apr 2007, 19:20
Some called Darren Glass a Hack wow. Thats a real good statement. I like to see O'Halpin keep Barry Hall, Pavlich and Rocca to 5 goals between them in three games out of which 3 came from free kicks.

Raskolnikov
20 Apr 2007, 19:39

I don't know why but a certain Supertramp song just came into my head.

"Dreamer... you know you are a dreamer".

Dk#1
20 Apr 2007, 19:58
"**** no, You Carlton supporters get so far ahead of yourselves its not funny."

We won all games in pre-season won our first game. Got simply outplayed and out classed by a team that looks like its a top 8 team. Came back from 48 points down with a forward kicking 8 after the 28th min mark of the second quater. Were up by a long way last year over there, most of us are predicting a 10 goal loss. Also coming from a team (hawthorn) that managed 44 points in 120mins in rd.1. I dont see how you can bag us who are on the same points this year.

m.diddy
20 Apr 2007, 20:21
It looks as though West coast supporters get a little up set if you say lynch is poo? interesting to say the least.

parrot
20 Apr 2007, 21:29
It looks as though West coast supporters get a little up set if you say lynch is poo? interesting to say the least.

Looking forward to Setanta playing on Lynch. Setanta has a considerable height, pace and talent advantage. Should be able to exploit him at ground level and provide some valuable rebound out of defence. :)

EagleMan87
20 Apr 2007, 22:19
Lynch>>>Fevola:thumbsu:

Oh wait, isn't this the thread where we naively overrate our own teams and players despite obvious inferiority?:confused:

Jimthegreat
20 Apr 2007, 22:50
No. Hope we make it a contest though.

stifler's mom
20 Apr 2007, 22:54
If everything goes really well for the blues, the eagles will only win by
10 goals.
If not, Walker, Kennedy etc will get new ones torn for them.

Alphanumeric
21 Apr 2007, 00:02
Eagles by 6 goals.

Thats 36 points for the Collingwood fans that can't count. Which is about 98% of them.

Killer eagle
22 Apr 2007, 21:38

You are very optimistic

Merv
22 Apr 2007, 21:53
Originally Posted by parrot http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=7276123#post7276123)

You are very optimistic

It's called delusional

Zarko
22 Apr 2007, 22:30
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Still those 24 must be pretty embarassed

Astro_
23 Apr 2007, 10:08
**** no, You Carlton supporters get so far ahead of yourselves its not funny.

Carlton is still a bottom 3 side, and with the loss of Stevens their lack of depth will show in a big way.

Eagles by 10 goals

You got one tip right- Cartlon supporters are so far ahead of themselves.

Just missed the other tip by one point!

SonOfReep
23 Apr 2007, 13:56
Yesterday:

Lynch>Fevola

Also:

"Overrated hack" Glass>Fevola - goalless when marked by Glass yesterday :)

Killer eagle
23 Apr 2007, 20:29
Come on parrot, you love coming back to these threads in the 1/10 times that you are right.

Thrawn
23 Apr 2007, 20:44
Lynch>Fevola

FFs are supposed to kick goals. Even though Fev had a bad day, he got away with one. ;)

Lynch had his chances, missed from 10m in front but in the end got none. But yeah, I have to say Lynch had a better day.

And as for Glass vs Fev, yes, Glass did beat him but head to head Fev is still in front of him. Glass needs to beat him like this a few more times to make up for his previous efforts.

Zarko
23 Apr 2007, 23:22
FFs are supposed to kick goals. Even though Fev had a bad day, he got away with one. ;)

Lynch had his chances, missed from 10m in front but in the end got none. But yeah, I have to say Lynch had a better day.

And as for Glass vs Fev, yes, Glass did beat him but head to head Fev is still in front of him. Glass needs to beat him like this a few more times to make up for his previous efforts.
When Glass was off the field.... But yes dirty days for both FF's in front of goal

parrot
23 Apr 2007, 23:24
When Glass was off the field.... But yes dirty days for both FF's in front of goal

There was only one FF playing on Sunday - Fev. That other Weagles guy is a complete joke. :)

Zarko
23 Apr 2007, 23:27
There was only one FF playing on Sunday - Fev. That other Weagles guy is a complete joke. :)
Had a better day than Fev :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Maybe next game Fev can stop pleading to the umps and get back up to try and get that ball - every competition he thought he had some sort of reason to complain, he did instead of getting up and trying to get the ball after the play continued

Killer eagle
24 Apr 2007, 09:21
Had a better day than Fev :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Maybe next game Fev can stop pleading to the umps and get back up to try and get that ball - every competition he thought he had some sort of reason to complain, he did instead of getting up and trying to get the ball after the play continued

Yep.

In one occasion he had a very good chance at taking a short for goal after going to ground, but instead of going after the ball he started arguing with the umpire while play was going on. Even the commentators were calling him an idiot.

Astro_
24 Apr 2007, 09:39
Awesome player but Fev complains to the men in white far to often now. He thinks he is untouchable and has a gold pass to free kicks.

Soon becoming the new Matty Lloyd.