View Full Version : B.Deledio, R.Tambling, A.Raines V's D.Thomas, S.Pendlebury, H.Shaw

njac3
19 Apr 2007, 12:16
Who would you rarther in your side?

Keep in mind richmonds side are a year advanced in terms of their development, but which 3 would you want at your club?

Jeremias
19 Apr 2007, 12:19
Deledio>Thomas
Tambling<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<Pendelbury
Shaw>Raines (closest of the lot)

Based on the above, I'd take Collingwood's

Tigeritis
19 Apr 2007, 12:30
Another poll using RFC's youngster's as the measuring stick eh?

Deledio has Thomas covered.
Raines just pips Shaw - see Rising Star last year.
Tambling like Pendlebury are unknown quantities yet. Both have shown bits but not enough for a solid comparison.

Richmond by a head.

njac3
19 Apr 2007, 13:00
Another poll using RFC's youngster's as the measuring stick eh?

Deledio has Thomas covered.
Raines just pips Shaw - see Rising Star last year.
Tambling like Pendlebury are unknown quantities yet. Both have shown bits but not enough for a solid comparison.

Richmond by a head.

I think Deledio and Pendlebury are better liked players, and Deledio may just be infrount.

Thomas rips tambling a new a hole

And you must be joking about raines and shaw, shaw by an absoloute mile.

Deledio2Tambling
19 Apr 2007, 13:04
Good comparison. Although I am growing tired of the 'kick Richmond while they're down' threads. I have to say Richmond's guys because I support them through and through, but honestly it is very close.

Shaw has had a better year than Raines so far, based on 3 games, but Raines was better than Shaw last year. So I'd call that even.

Deledio is better than Thomas by about the same margin that Pendlebury is better than Tambling. Make of that what you will.

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 13:12
Richmond by a light year or 2. I still think Deledio has a lot of work to do on his game, but he has a mile more natural ability than any of those Pie trio. I'd even rate Tambling ahead of Thomas. Tambling may not be brilliant yet, but unlike Thomas, he does get his own ball, is a lot faster than Thomas, and has much better kicking skills. Raines is good, but not as good as many think. He needs to spend more time in the middle, to allow him to develop his game. Pendlebury has been a disappointment so far. Looks composed, but gets run down because of a lack of awareness, and he takes ages to get boot to ball, and sprays them. I don't rate Shaw at all - just one of those BP battler Shaw types that we've seen over the past decade or so. :)

Deledio2Tambling
19 Apr 2007, 13:14
Richmond by a light year or 2. I still think Deledio has a lot of work to do on his game, but he has a mile more natural ability than any of those Pie trio. I'd even rate Tambling ahead of Thomas. Tambling may not be brilliant yet, but unlike Thomas, he does get his own ball, is a lot faster than Thomas, and has much better kicking skills. Raines is good, but not as good as many think. He needs to spend more time in the middle, to allow him to develop his game. Pendlebury has been a disappointment so far. Looks composed, but gets run down because of a lack of awareness, and he takes ages to get boot to ball, and sprays them. I don't rate Shaw at all - just one of those BP battler Shaw types that we've seen over the past decade or so. :)

HOLY CRAP! Is that you parrot? :)

I might have to stick up for you more often!

doppleganger
19 Apr 2007, 13:17
H.Shaw miles in front of Raines, H.Shaw dominates games and leads the side on the park, Raines is a shut down player with average skills

Pendlebury looks the goods as a ball winning midfielder, Deledio prob the best comparison to him, ie the bigger midfielders.......think both sides would keep the respective player

Thomas already has done more than Bling, both spectacular type players with flair, Thomas has an advantage in that he also throws himself at the footy which is a great sign for such a stick of a kid, when he bulks up he could be a great winner of the footy, tambling will always be an outside d.wells type who looks great when he goes on his big runs, but only does it a couple of times a game

Much happier with the woods players

Coughlan
19 Apr 2007, 13:20
LOL at SHaw being better then Raines.
Kidding yourself boys

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 13:23
...Thomas already has done more than Bling,...

Thomas has done zip, apart from having his picture plastered all over the HUN Collingwood newsletter on an almost weekly basis. He is fast becoming an ultra-soft ineffective front-running-handbreaking-receiver type joining the Didak-Davis club. He makes Ryan Houlihan look like J Brown. Tambling has a mile more natural talent plus ticka. :)

Deledio2Tambling
19 Apr 2007, 13:27
Thomas has done zip, apart from having his picture plastered all over the HUN Collingwood newsletter on an almost weekly basis. He is fast becoming an ultra-soft ineffective front-running-handbreaking-receiver type joining the Didak-Davis club. He makes Ryan Houlihan look like J Brown. Tambling has a mile more natural talent. :)

Lol that reminds me of the game last Friday Night. All the Collingwood westy women in the crowd creamed themselves when he got it. 'Go Dale', 'Go Dale', lol a Tiger player would tackle him fairly and you would hear "GET OFF HIM YOU PRICK!"

Then when Schulz got knocked out one of their intellectus suggested that he was a soft, part of the female anatomy and he was weak.

You gotta love 'em :thumbsu:

black_hart
19 Apr 2007, 13:30
Tough as i think pendlebury has loads of potential but don't rate the others as highly. Probably take the richmond trio.

Richo83
19 Apr 2007, 13:32
Parrot has twice, TWICE complemented Tambling. Is that you parrot? Did someone hack into your account?

Tristagi
19 Apr 2007, 13:33
Deledio >> Thomas
Tambling <<Pendlebury
Raines < Shaw

Collingwood by one <

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 13:43
Parrot has twice, TWICE complemented Tambling. Is that you parrot? Did someone hack into your account?

Just calling it as it is. Drafting Tambling over Franklin, was a monumental draft clanger - no doubt about that. But I have never said Tambling is a complete dud, or not worth a top-10 pick. Disappointing, yes, but he does have talent and heap more upside than the Collingwood trio. The Pies list management has been a complete and utter disaster for well over 5-7 years now. Overlooking Ellis was just plain stupid, and shocked almost all professional recruiters at the time. :)

vinnie_vegas69
19 Apr 2007, 13:43
He is fast becoming an ultra-soft ineffective front-running-handbreaking-receiver type joining the Didak-Davis club
You mean an All-Australian, Copeland Trophy winner?

We'll take it.

doppleganger
19 Apr 2007, 13:50
Thomas has done zip, apart from having his picture plastered all over the HUN Collingwood newsletter on an almost weekly basis. He is fast becoming an ultra-soft ineffective front-running-handbreaking-receiver type joining the Didak-Davis club. He makes Ryan Houlihan look like J Brown. Tambling has a mile more natural talent plus ticka. :)

Didak is an AA, Thomas not at that level yet......will be in the future tho, good to see u agree:thumbsu:

thegrach
19 Apr 2007, 13:55
Just calling it as it is. Drafting Tambling over Franklin, was a monumental draft clanger - no doubt about that. But I have never said Tambling is a complete dud, or not worth a top-10 pick. Disappointing, yes, but he does have talent and heap more upside than the Collingwood trio. The Pies list management has been a complete and utter disaster for well over 5-7 years now. Overlooking Ellis was just plain stupid, and shocked almost all professional recruiters at the time. :)

The argument could be put that Hawthorn drafting Roughead before Ryan Griffen is a monumental blunder as well. Had a look throught the top 10, pretty good list of players, except for John Meesen. Who the hell is he, and what rock is he hiding under?:)

benny_furs
19 Apr 2007, 13:58
Parrot has always said Tambling would be a very good player, he's just been very vocal about us making a mistake taking him before Buddy ;)

Last night I read a few threads from 2004 and couldn't believe how seriously hyped up Tambling was. Hawthorn supporters were getting shit BIGTIME that they had passed up on Judd for Hodge all over again.

As for the comparison, it is a good thread. Deledio vs Thomas - Lids wins by quite a bit. Thomas will be great but Lids is one of a kind rare talent who can do absolutely anything.

Tambling vs Pendlebury - Bling's slow start to his career means Pendles is winner by default. Potential wise Tambling is more of a risk, but after last week we may start seeing him reach it sooner rather than later.

Raines vs Shaw - Shaw wins here imo. Raines was great last year, had career high 26 possies against West Coast and played tough old school football. I have always had serious doubts on him because he simply can't kick a footy, he runs into trouble 3 times a game and he is a straight line player making a midfield role difficult in the future. He has been carrying a knee injury this season and said the other night that he is now finally fully fit, so imo his season starts now.

Thomas and Pendles look good, but Deledio and Tambling will form one of the fastest most skillful midfields in ages. Raines and Shaw will only ever be solid players and don't have the natural talent the other two do.

While ATM Pendles > Tambling and Shaw > Raines, I think they are both close decisions. Along with Tambling's limitless "upside", Deledio >>>>>>>>>> Thomas is a great enough difference to make me choose Richmond's kids. That's nothing against Thomas by any means, Deledio is just a superior unique player.

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 13:59
Didak is an AA, ...

Bowden and Glass got AA also i.e. AA has zero cred nowdays. Didaks handbreaking has cost the Pies big games. :)

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 14:00
Parrot has always said Tambling would be a very good player, he's just been very vocal about us making a mistake taking him before Buddy ;)...

Correct. :)

njac3
19 Apr 2007, 14:00

Parrot some questions for you....

Parrot do you think Thomas or Pendlebury are worthy of a top 10 pick?

and do you think they would get a game at carlton?

how can you say Ellis has more upside when no one has seen him yet?

Did carlton make the right decision in 03' in pickin up Walker insted of silvia or Brock?

And even you know that Tambling is a dud, your not that stupid.

Lets see how deliousional you actually are:)

Deledio2Tambling
19 Apr 2007, 14:09
Here's a question to add to the Roughead/Griffen comment. Now we all know that Griffen has been good, but why are there no threads comparing Griffen to Franklin? Doggies could have had buddy at Pick 3 with there severe lack of quality tall forwards.

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 14:17
Parrot some questions for you....

Parrot do you think Thomas or Pendlebury are worthy of a top 10 pick? ...

Pendlebury: YES. Thomas: NO. Pendlebury has a lot of work to do though, and how he goes will depend a lot on the quality of the Pies development. The Pies have a shocking track record at developing younger players, so I'm not that confident. :)

njac3
19 Apr 2007, 14:20
hahahaha, you are as stupid as you sound, and the other questions?:)

Ron
19 Apr 2007, 14:25
Overlooking Ellis was just plain stupid, and shocked almost all professional recruiters at the time. :)

Not as much as drafting professional spuds like Walker and Kennnedy, wasting top ten draft picks on VFL plodders.
Wonder who the Blues will waste their #1 pick on this year. :)

Deledio2Tambling
19 Apr 2007, 14:29
Not as much as drafting professional spuds like Walker and Kennnedy, wasting top ten draft picks on VFL plodders.

LOL Like Billy 'Jonathon Brown' Morrison?

Kennedy will be a star, and Walker is beginning to click. Big blokes take a while to mature mate. Cloke hasn't even done that yet.

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 14:36

Walker has been sensational this year. Did you actually see him V Dons last week? Kennedy is struggling at the moment, but we know he has a bucketload of ability, and are happy to persist with him. Very hard to get your leads honored by the midfielders, when you have a gun like Fev ripping defenders apart all over the place. :)

doppleganger
19 Apr 2007, 15:08
As for the comparison, it is a good thread. Deledio vs Thomas - Lids wins by quite a bit. Thomas will be great but Lids is one of a kind rare talent who can do absolutely anything.
id compare pendles to deledio as they are both the tall type midfielders, who are both gun athletes as well as footy players.....deledio has 2 years on pendles due to pendles missing last year with illness, but both teams would be very happy with each player

Tambling vs Pendlebury - Bling's slow start to his career means Pendles is winner by default. Potential wise Tambling is more of a risk, but after last week we may start seeing him reach it sooner rather than later.
id almost compare c.egan to tambling, in that both have 'unlimited upside' both have played a couple of great games, both flashy outside types, but both are very very inconsistent

thomas is a different type player, he does the flashy stuff, but also does the 1%........his first year he showed more than egan and tambling have to date

Raines vs Shaw - Shaw wins here imo. Raines was great last year, had career high 26 possies against West Coast and played tough old school football. I have always had serious doubts on him because he simply can't kick a footy, he runs into trouble 3 times a game and he is a straight line player making a midfield role difficult in the future. He has been carrying a knee injury this season and said the other night that he is now finally fully fit, so imo his season starts now.
agree, Raines looks limited to a BP, he reminds me of R.Cole

Thomas and Pendles look good, but Deledio and Tambling will form one of the fastest most skillful midfields in ages. Raines and Shaw will only ever be solid players and don't have the natural talent the other two do.
H.Shaw last year was top5 in the Copeland, he is a level above Thomas & Pendles at this stage, and is a potential Collingwood captain in the future, some massive underselling of H.Shaw going on

While ATM Pendles > Tambling and Shaw > Raines, I think they are both close decisions. Along with Tambling's limitless "upside", Deledio >>>>>>>>>> Thomas is a great enough difference to make me choose Richmond's kids. That's nothing against Thomas by any means, Deledio is just a superior unique player.
Deledio > Pendles, only because he has been in the system longer
Thomas > Tambling, even tho Tambling been around for longer
H.Shaw > Raines, Raines will be the next S.Tuck, what tigger fans saw last year is the best footy Raines will produce......H.Shaw has continued to take his game to new levels

doppleganger
19 Apr 2007, 15:16
LOL Like Billy 'Jonathon Brown' Morrison?

Kennedy will be a star, and Walker is beginning to click. Big blokes take a while to mature mate. Cloke hasn't even done that yet.

to be fair Billy 'Jon Brown' Morrison wasn't a top10 pick

Funny that Cloke who plays as a hit up CHF this year is averaging 7.3 marks a game, he is on track to take 150 marks for the season and yet is still playing poor footy!!

for a bloke in his third season he is progressing very well, he just gets marked harder than anybody else because he is a Cloke, and plays for Collingwood

perfect example being c.cloke, who played the same type of footy for the pies in 2005 that he is playing for carlton in 07, yet he was a dud when at the pies, and now is doing ok at the blues!

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 15:27
t...perfect example being c.cloke, who played the same type of footy for the pies in 2005 that he is playing for carlton in 07, ..

Cloke is playing a lot better at Carlton than he ever did at Collingwood and you know it. The Reasons:

1. Playing in a younger, more talented player group destined for success
2. Better fitness coach at Carton. Lost a heap of weight and improved his endurance out of sight
3. Better ruck coach. Some of his tap work has been sensational
4. Better skills training. Needed a lot of work after years of neglect at Collingwood.
5. 100% support from the coach. Denis has backed Cloke, something Malthouse never did.

I am the first to admit I was never a fan of Cloke and was disappointed when he first came to Carlton, but in hindsight I grossly underestimated the toxic deskilling effects the Collingwood Football Club can have on a player. Early days though, and he still has a lot to prove. :)

doppleganger
19 Apr 2007, 15:39
Cloke is playing a lot better at Carlton than he ever did at Collingwood and you know it. The Reasons:

1. Playing in a younger, more talented player group destined for success
2. Better fitness coach at Carton. Lost a heap of weight and improved his endurance out of sight
3. Better ruck coach. Some of his tap work has been sensational
4. Better skills training. Needed a lot of work after years of neglect at Collingwood.
5. 100% support from the coach. Denis has backed Cloke, something Malthouse never did.

I am the first to admit I was never a fan of Cloke and was disappointed when he first came to Carlton, but in hindsight I grossly underestimated the toxic deskilling effects the Collingwood Football Club can have on a player. Early days though, and he still has a lot to prove. :)

ur reasons are hilarious

1. he just has nobody to compete with in the ruck, even the pies had other rucks who kept him out of the side!!
2. Better attitude realising it is his last chance to make it at AFL, this happens to the majority of players who change clubs, they have a good first year and then drop back into the same old habits
3.his tap work in 05 was good, he beat s.king and ottens in a game at the dome, better than anything done this year
4.eh he has always been a thumping kick, still shanks em tho
5.dennis has to back him, as no other ruck options

u simply see the jumper and not the player, but knew that a long time ago:thumbsu:

andypie
19 Apr 2007, 15:49
Who would you rarther in your side?

Keep in mind richmonds side are a year advanced in terms of their development, but which 3 would you want at your club?
pendlebury swings it for mine to the pies. i reckon he is pretty special. if i was to rate them in order i would go as follows.
1. deledio
2.pendlebury
3.thomas
4.shaw
5. raines
6. tambling

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 15:54
pendlebury swings it for mine to the pies. i reckon he is pretty special. if i was to rate them in order i would go as follows.
1. deledio
2.pendlebury
3.thomas
4.shaw
5. raines
6. tambling

Ranking:
1. Deledio
2. Tambling
3. Raines
4. Pendlebury*
5. Thomas
6. Shaw

*if the Pies don't stuff up Pendlebury's development (a big "if"), he might reach the #3 spot. :)

Drizt
19 Apr 2007, 16:03
Ranking:
1. Deledio
2. Tambling
3. Raines
4. Pendlebury*
5. Thomas
6. Shaw

*if the Pies don't stuff up Pendlebury's development (a big "if"), he might reach the #3 spot. :)

Why do you bother posting in any thread that has collingwood or carlton players in it???

Obviously you have no idea about your own teams lack of skills, and even if collingwoods playing list was swaped with the eagles you would still rant and rave about their lack of skill and 'raw' talent.

Coin_Toss
19 Apr 2007, 16:43
Pendlebury has been a disappointment so far. Looks composed, but gets run down because of a lack of awareness, and he takes ages to get boot to ball, and sprays them.

Pendlebury is evasive, he doesn't get run down, and he doesn't spray them. Have you seen him play this year? I wouldn't think so by the looks of things.

Pendlebury, at #5 overall, has proved an inspired choice as opposed to Josh Kennedy.

FWIW, Raines is just a BP. It's common discrepancy to compare Thomas and Deledio, as Thomas and Tambling are similar types, and Pendlebury is a centreman as he does his work at the centre bounces.

Ranking (as they currently stand):

1. Deledio
2. Shaw
3. Raines
4. Thomas
5. Pendlebury
6. Tambling

Scott Pendlebury and Dale Thomas will leapfrog Andrew Raines, IMO.
In a nutshell, Collingwood's trio for mine.

doppleganger
19 Apr 2007, 16:47
Pendlebury is evasive, he doesn't get run down, and he doesn't spray them. Have you seen him play this year? I wouldn't think so by the looks of things.

Pendlebury, at #5 overall, has proved an inspired choice as opposed to Josh Kennedy.

FWIW, Raines is just a BP. It's common discrepancy to compare Thomas and Deledio, as Thomas and Tambling are similar types, and Pendlebury is a centreman as he does his work at the centre bounces.

Ranking (as they currently stand):

1. Deledio
2. Shaw
3. Raines
4. Thomas
5. Pendlebury
6. Tambling

Scott Pendlebury and Dale Thomas will leapfrog Andrew Raines, IMO.
In a nutshell, Collingwood's trio for mine.

spot on, except that i would add that tambling may also leapfrog Raines!!

tigerT
19 Apr 2007, 16:51
Tambling was BOG in the first half and was one of if not the most effective players on the ground last week, only made 1 clanger and laid about 8 tackles. - in short, his best game to date and a sign that he is starting to realise his talent.

By seasons end he'll leapfrog everyone bar deledio on that list. His confidence is starting to rise.

doppleganger
19 Apr 2007, 17:06
Tambling was BOG in the first half and was one of if not the most effective players on the ground last week, only made 1 clanger and laid about 8 tackles. - in short, his best game to date and a sign that he is starting to realise his talent.

By seasons end he'll leapfrog everyone bar deledio on that list. His confidence is starting to rise.

yeah he had a good game against us, but rnd 1 & 2 were ordinary.

even c.egan has had consecutive games at the end of 06 where he kicked 3 goals and had 15+ disposals playing as a HF/FP, which is more than Tambling has ever done!!

and thomas for the woods kept going for 4 quarters, picking up 25 touches for the game, just the difference in where they are at i spose, we expect thomas to contribute, if tambling does it is a surprise

parrot
19 Apr 2007, 17:06
Pendlebury is evasive, he doesn't get run down, ....

Did you actually watch the Tiges and North games? Amazing. Go watch them again. :)

njac3
19 Apr 2007, 17:15
What I find the most humbling factor about Parrots Carlton is that they have had every opportunity in the world to develop their list Finishing (02’-16, 03’-14, 04’-11, 05’-16, 06’-16) And draft good young kid to really push for a finals berth yet the club has been nowhere near it and realistically is 5 years of their premiership window. In that time collingwood was playing finals and grand finals yet are in a better position than Carlton today.
Why is that parrot? You talk about recruiting and your recruiting would undoubtedly be the worst in the AFL. The thing that has hampered you club the most is the people like you. You are full of some false optimum and cant come to the realization that your club is weak. You can talk all you want cos talk is cheap, but at the end of the day you will see the fact that carlton from the top down are full of shit

benny_furs
19 Apr 2007, 17:15
id compare pendles to deledio as they are both the tall type midfielders, who are both gun athletes as well as footy players.....deledio has 2 years on pendles due to pendles missing last year with illness, but both teams would be very happy with each player

Pendles is 19yo right? In that case they're the same age.

Everyone forgets how young Deledio is.

id almost compare c.egan to tambling, in that both have 'unlimited upside' both have played a couple of great games, both flashy outside types, but both are very very inconsistent

You seriously don't know a thing about Tambling. Bling is NOT outside, he wins his own ball bigtime. He isn't just 'flashy' as an 18yo he was a high possession, high clearance, high tackling player who kicked multiple goals in games. Don't stereotype him just because he's aboriginal :thumbsd:

Btw Tambling is not inconsistent, he is consistently average atm and is starting to step up now. ;)

H.Shaw last year was top5 in the Copeland, he is a level above Thomas & Pendles at this stage, and is a potential Collingwood captain in the future, some massive underselling of H.Shaw going on

Andrew Raines finished second in our Best and Fairest last year. Who is being undersold?

Tambling had 9 tackles btw and was the most effective Tiger with 117 ranking points.

He will even leapfrog Deledio by the end of the year, and according to TW Blinger will reach superstardom within 12 months :thumbsu:

tigerT
19 Apr 2007, 17:21
yeah he had a good game against us, but rnd 1 & 2 were ordinary.

even c.egan has had consecutive games at the end of 06 where he kicked 3 goals and had 15+ disposals playing as a HF/FP, which is more than Tambling has ever done!!

and thomas for the woods kept going for 4 quarters, picking up 25 touches for the game, just the difference in where they are at i spose, we expect thomas to contribute, if tambling does it is a surprise

not a surprise for me, Ive always had faith that tambling will come good and show his worth. It may surprise most of the muppets on BF though who talk garbage about him. Tambling had 5 goal assists. Showed an all round game of tackling, marking, goalkicking and assists that will blow past the likes of Thomas and pendlebury by seasons end. Very big impact player. lol @egan, contrary to what u may have heard around here, tambling has had his share of decent games to date, dont believe all thr tripe from horks supporters

Ron
19 Apr 2007, 17:38
I love how Tambling went missing in the second half when the pressure was turned up.
looked good when he had players to feed him the ball but really struggled when the pies took control in the middle.
The very definition of a down hill skier

doppleganger
19 Apr 2007, 17:39
Pendles is 19yo right? In that case they're the same age.

Everyone forgets how young Deledio is.

was referring to years in the AFL system

Pendles first year was ruined by illness, so this is almost his first proper season.....Deledio into his third proper season

You seriously don't know a thing about Tambling. Bling is NOT outside, he wins his own ball bigtime. He isn't just 'flashy' as an 18yo he was a high possession, high clearance, high tackling player who kicked multiple goals in games. Don't stereotype him just because he's aboriginal :thumbsd:

Btw Tambling is not inconsistent, he is consistently average atm and is starting to step up now. ;)

Sounds like D.Thomas to me, hence my comparison between the two was spot on, just like D.Thomas who the pies supporters see him do all the 1%er but oppo supporters only see his highlight tapes, i guess i fell for that trap with Bling

Andrew Raines finished second in our Best and Fairest last year. Who is being undersold?

As i said, like S.Tuck.....that is as good as he will be, he has too many issues to continue to improve....................H.Shaw is an on-field leader, and potential future captain, has stepped up his game further from 06 to 07.

Tambling had 9 tackles btw and was the most effective Tiger with 117 ranking points.

He will even leapfrog Deledio by the end of the year, and according to TW Blinger will reach superstardom within 12 months :thumbsu:

according to TW, well i wouldn't want to be banking on things he has to say

Richo83
19 Apr 2007, 18:22

Fair enough. What you're saying is that Tambling will be very good but never as good as Franklin. The blunder exists yet he still could become a very good player.

The Thomas pick was surprising but the professionals don't get it right all of the time. There has been some surprises as well concerning others that people thought we're bad picks yet they've turned out alright. Conversely for example Hawthorn thought they made a huge blunder in not picking Tambling yet things have worked out okay with Franklin.

dave_27
19 Apr 2007, 18:59
This is a very good poll.

Tough one to call, based on Pendlebury's form atm I'll go with the inbreds.

benny_furs
19 Apr 2007, 21:30
Sounds like D.Thomas to me, hence my comparison between the two was spot on, just like D.Thomas who the pies supporters see him do all the 1%er but oppo supporters only see his highlight tapes, i guess i fell for that trap with Bling

I thought you said Tambling should be compared to Egan who is "very very outside". Tambling is anything but that!

according to TW, well i wouldn't want to be banking on things he has to say

Considering Brown has been returning "next week" for the past 4 weeks I probably wouldn't really back him either lol

But Tambling will be a star :thumbsu: :D Can't wait to see him play tomorrow night!

OneEyedHawk
19 Apr 2007, 21:47
Parrot has always said Tambling would be a very good player, he's just been very vocal about us making a mistake taking him before Buddy ;)

Last night I read a few threads from 2004 and couldn't believe how seriously hyped up Tambling was. Hawthorn supporters were getting shit BIGTIME that they had passed up on Judd for Hodge all over again.

Good impartial post, benny. Nearly fell of my chair.;)
Deledio >> Thomas
Tambling <<Pendlebury
Raines < Shaw

Collingwood by one <
That's how I see it too. The Collingwood trio by a whisker.

sante
19 Apr 2007, 21:50
parrot has jumped on the Tiger bandwagon of late :thumbsu:

OneEyedHawk
19 Apr 2007, 22:28

There's plenty of room. :thumbsu:

Hodge2Franklin
20 Apr 2007, 04:37
Thomas > Deledio
Tambling = Pendlebury
Raines = Shaw

Which is why I said the Collingwood trio :thumbsu:

Ron
20 Apr 2007, 09:48

No its more that he never says anything good about the Pies. If you compared this pies trio to anything he would vote against the pies players.

doppleganger
20 Apr 2007, 10:34
I thought you said Tambling should be compared to Egan who is "very very outside". Tambling is anything but that!

said that my view on tambling was that he was a flashy outside player, i admit i dont see every richmond game and perhaps get caught up in the flashy runs he goes on, so admitted that i may have got it wrong......just like many oppo supporters do with thomas, they see his highlight tapes and think he is a soft outside bloke, but he also does the little one percenters and inside stuff, but u would only see that if u watched all pies games, not just the highlights or occasional game.

Thomas is like Tambling tho, no idea where the thomas v deledio thing started anyway?

Considering Brown has been returning "next week" for the past 4 weeks I probably wouldn't really back him either lol

But Tambling will be a star :thumbsu: :D Can't wait to see him play tomorrow night!

TW is a great salesman, hopefully the Bling turns into a star, he is exciting to watch

Magpie Mick
20 Apr 2007, 18:42
The pies kids EASILY

toommy
20 Apr 2007, 19:42
parrot is an arse clown

jasrocks
21 Apr 2007, 10:41
Thomas is a girl and a mamas girl at that. I like S.Pendlebury and H.Shaw and wouldn't mind having them over here, but Richmond's three are a little better.

DonMania#5
21 Apr 2007, 10:43
Deledio > Thomas
Raines = Shaw
Tambling < Pendlebury

Equal imo.

makethat2
21 Apr 2007, 11:50
Deledio at the moment is better that Pendlebury altough Deledio isn't playing much in the middle. Thomas is alot better than tambling throughout there short careers and will mostly likely stay that way. The Shaw Raines one is funny i reckon. Raines beat Shaw by a vote in the NAB rising star which surprises me. Shaw constantly was in Collingwoods best last year in a year where we finished 5th as Raines was in a team that Finished 9th(I think). Shaw kicked alot great goals last year some up to 60m out on the run. Shaw is playing alot better this year as well.

dipper86
21 Apr 2007, 22:15
Another tick for Thomas today in the wet.

The ferals have a very good player on their hands,

I like him. :thumbsu: the kid can play.

Magpie Mick
21 Apr 2007, 22:20
Another tick for Thomas today in the wet.

The ferals have a very good player on their hands,

Today i was turned, i like him. :thumbsu: the kid can play.

Pendlebury was very good today also - very impressed with his skills...

Palmer Stoat
22 Apr 2007, 00:12
Kidding yourself boys

Comfortably better.

Palmer Stoat
22 Apr 2007, 00:17
Raines and Shaw will only ever be solid players and don't have the natural talent the other two do.

Heath Shaw is a LOT more talented than many people seem to realise. He may not look classy, but he is. He's already, IMO, one of Collingwood's top five players, and has a lot of room for improvement. I'm not at all convinced that Thomas or Pendles will be better than him -- and that's not a knock on them.

doppleganger
22 Apr 2007, 01:19
thomas and pendles were standouts in the wet, their ball handling was brilliant.........class

they also both threw themselves at the ball, tackled well

two absolute guns

and heath shaw is having a brilliant season

doppleganger
25 Apr 2007, 19:19
the pies trio keep producing

how could anybody prefer Raines over H.Shaw??

hawka_fan
25 Apr 2007, 19:43
The pies by a looooooooooooooooooooooong way

The Royal Sampler
26 Apr 2007, 21:38
I don't rate Shaw at all - just one of those BP battler Shaw types that we've seen over the past decade or so. :)
Kidding yourself boys
Raines and Shaw will only ever be solid players
Oh dear. :thumbsd:

Incidentally:

Deledio > Thomas
Raines < Shaw
Tambling < Pendlebury

Pies.

benny_furs
26 Apr 2007, 23:37
Shaw had a great game in the spotlight so he'll be Big Footy's love child for a month... then he'll be called an overrated hack (which won't be warranted but that is what happens on this site).

Pendelbury is bloody impressive this year. Cmon Tambling it's time for a BOG against West Coast this week!

Collingwood have drafted extremely well... apart from these 3 there is still Toovey, Dick, Brown and Ried etc... they've got a few good years coming up I'm sad to say.

The Royal Sampler
26 Apr 2007, 23:41
I can't wait for Wellingham, Goldsack and Clarke to show their stuff too, Sharrod already has three or four BOG efforts for the Pies/Williamstown and he's only just arrived at the club. :)

Magpie Mick
28 Apr 2007, 13:50
I'd even rate Tambling ahead of Thomas. Pendlebury has been a disappointment so far. Looks composed, but gets run down because of a lack of awareness, and he takes ages to get boot to ball, and sprays them. I don't rate Shaw at all - just one of those BP battler Shaw types that we've seen over the past decade or so. :)

These quotes show just how much Parrot knows about footy!